TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Gerry Adams: There were some TDs intoxicated on night of promissory note debate

The Sinn Fein president told TheJournal.ie this week that while the “vast majority of TDs probably don’t take a sup at all” there were some who were drunk during the debate on legislation to liquidate IBRC.

Gerry Adams speaking to TheJournal.ie this week
Image: Screengrab

SINN FÉIN PRESIDENT Gerry Adams has claimed he knows of at least two TDs who were intoxicated on the night the Dáil debated the liquidation of the former Anglo Irish Bank as part of the promissory note deal.

Adams told TheJournal.ie this week that there were members of other parties in the Dáil chamber who were drunk and said that he wasn’t being flippant when he raised the issue on the night and asked that the Leinster House members’ bar be closed.

“There were, in the chamber on the night, members of other parties who were intoxicated and other people know that as well,” he said while stressing that “the vast majority of TDs probably don’t take a sup at all”.

“I imagine they are here to do their work. But I do think it’s an anomaly that you have a bar, you actually have two bars, in a work place,” he said.

The late-night sitting of the Dáil last month to pass legislation that would liquidate Irish Bank Resolution Corporation went on into the early hours of the morning as the government sought a deal to abolish the promissory note repayments.

Gerry Adams on alcohol and the IBRC liquidation debate:

On the night – dubbed #promnight on Twitter – TDs argued over when to start debate on the bill, which led to Adams asking the Ceann Comhairle: “Could I honourably suggest that if you want some order from the government TDs then perhaps you should close the Dáil bar.

“That may be a useful way to get some order here.”

The issue of TDs being in the members’ bar during the course of Dáil business was raised again by Adams during the debate on the Finance Bill last week when he asked that “the bar be closed or that breathalyser tests be introduced for Teachtaí entering the chamber.”

“I’m not against having a drink, don’t get me wrong. I am not a killjoy in terms of having a jar, I enjoy a jar,” Adams told TheJournal.ie adding that there was a “culture in here” referring to the Dáil.

“This is a big bubble that we have in here,” he said.

“The vast majority of people in here are good people who took up public office and who joined political parties to bring about change. But it’s quite an archaic system and quite dysfunctional system.”

Adams added that he had been in the Leinster House members’ bar “maybe once or twice” but said he didn’t think he had a drink on those occasions.

TheJournal.ie will have more from a wide-ranging interview with Gerry Adams over the course of the weekend

Video: TDs argue over when to start debating the IBRC liquidation bill

Leader Interviews: Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (165 Comments)

• jft96 02/03/13 #

Not Gerry Adams biggest fan but he’s dead right, what other place of business has a feckin bar, and a cheap one too!!!!!!!!!!!

• Any other workplace and you’d be sacked but not when you’re deciding the fate of the country. Perhaps they couldn’t do it in their right mind so they needed drink to help them chain more debt onto Ireland?

• And they have the affront to suggest that it’s the ‘young people’ who have the alcohol crisis. Shame on you all who would go to work drunk ; who is paying for the Dail bar , need I ask ?

• The man is quite right. Why on earth is there a bar in a workplace as important as the Dáil?

• I wonder how many members of the cabinet were drunk on the night the blanket bank guarantee was handed out, because there’s no way that people in complete control of their faculties would have made a decision like that!

• Rodrigo, I’m sure sure they would have. A lot of TD’s were pretty much told that if they didn’t, it would be WW3. Even Sinn Fein voted for it!!! We know now, 4 years on, that the BG was a catastrophic mistake but at the time, TD’s had a gun to their head and were told to vote for it, or else!

• Dublin Lad
      That is all HISTORY …. We know all of that BUT
      why is FG and Lab perpetrating the crime now ?
      Every body else sees the disaster it was and then to add insult to
      injury they do it again while having a laugh and alcohol at our expense !
      Asspoles !

• They should close the dail bar down.
    It’s a disgrace that elected representatives are getting drunk when important decisions that effect the citizens of this nation are been made.
    They are preaching responsible drinking to the nation yet they have a pub in their workplace,
    And take full advantage of it.
    Our politicians are a disgrace to the country they say they love.

• I have no issue with our TDs having a few jars after business is closed in the Dail. I also have no issue having a bar in the Dail – it would be unreasonable to expect people to work past midnight, without the ability to get some (non-alcoholic) refreshments/snacks to keep them going.
      I also believe that restricting opening hours or restricting alcohol licenes and other state intervention stinks of “nanny” state in ALL cases except the protection of minors.
      As is the policy in most businesses in the real world outside the Dail, it is a dismissable offence to be drunk at work. If this would require yet another constitutional change, how about a sensible alternative:
      All alcoholic drinks in the dail bar can only be purchased using a key card with the TDs identity associated. Each month, under Freedom of Information, an tot-up of alcoholic drinks bought by TD is made available to the press & public. That way, the public, who are the employers of the TDs – YES WE ARE your EMPLOYERS (not the other way around) – can monitor and censure accordingly.

• They can make do with a canteen/cafe like every other workplace. If they want a pint they can have it in their constituencies.

• They could walk over to the Shellbourne, *if* they can walk, that is.

• I worked in the Dail bar about 13/14 years ago for a few weeks helping out while they replaced 2 barmen, TD’s would sit in the bar drinking and proceedings from the Dail chamber were broadcast through CCTV to the bar so they’d know when it was their turn to go down to speak, also I was paid cash in an envelope not through the books!
    The whole kip is a joke…..

• That doesn’t surprise me. The eldest paid a visit to the Dáil and the bar, and told me that while he was there, two TD’s decided to square up to each other. Nice to know what our taxes are paying for, eh?

• Pablo 02/03/13 #

Name and shame

• Gerry is right, there shouldnt be a bar in the Dail. Its disgraceful and shows how some TD’s treat their position with disrespect

• A bunch of drunks deciding the fate of over 1,000 staff and their families – disgraceful

• Excuse me while I vomit at the sight of preaching & moral pontification from a man who has done the things Gerry Adams has done.

• Vincent,

Is it impossible for you to engage is constructive debate? Gerry is no angel, but at least address the point, if TD’s are leathered whilst debating legislation, do you not think that’s disgraceful ?

• The message is still valid Vincent, if it was FG jnr minister saying it, it would still be correct. An open bar in a place of work, way past closing hour? It beggers belief.

• Vincent
      Whatever history Deputy Adams has or not have , he is absolutely correct in this instance .
      There is no place for alcohol in the Dail.It is appalling that there were deputies under the influence of alcohol making life changing decisions for all of us, It cannot be dressed up as being ok. It was wrong and those deputies should be named and shamed

• I don’t think if the Dáil had been 100% teetotal that night, the result would not have been any different. This is Adams trying to reinvent himself as the country’s moral guardian and it turns my stomach.

• I’m no Sinn Feiner but Vincent can you not address the issue at hand here. I’d question the need for a Dail bar. These politicians are paid extortionate amounts of money because they are responsible for the lives and futures of millions of people. To have such ease of access to alcohol in the workplace is irresponsible at best. Yes tds deserve a break like us all, but there are plenty of bars in the Kildare street area that can cater for them.

• Double negative there….you know what I meant…

• You’re having a mate Vincent.

Ref!… Substitution for Mr Dolan. Needs to up his game, he’s been sluggish.

• Matthew- there’s plenty of business done in the business world over a few pints/bottles of wine.

• Vincent is a narrow minded goon who should probably live in North Korea or china where the expressions of such bull is the norm

• @chris- should you not be down at the shop getting today’s An Phoblacht so that you’re fully up to date with your masters propaganda, no?

• @Vincent I doubt much business involving a couple of billion is conducted over a few pints. Most normal employees would be sacked or at least suspended for being drunk or under the influence on the clock

• I know many a business that has a “Beer Fridge”.

The Dail has a bar and has had a bar for a very very long time because of instances where the TD’s do ultimately spend 16 hours a day in the building. They have a very important and stressful position made no easier by the trolls of this world. In the climate we are currently in i would not begrudge them a bit of a tipple after the job is done in the chambers prior to spending the night behind their desk cleaning up another parties mess and taking the brunt of the blame for it.. How little we as a people seem to remember.. IBRC was Anglo, a few years ago there was public outcry to dissolve the bank.. FF saved it.. FG dissolve it.. public outcry again.. beggars belief

Though on a night like that in the Chambers discussing the IBRC i would tend to agree with a man that i would on any other occasion say has never had a moral compass to loose and is now painting one onto his wrist to take advantage of public opinion.. The bar should have been closed at 4pm that day.

• @marist- I’m so sorry if an intellectual powerhouse like your good self finds me tiresome. I mean- a visionary like you. I so look up to you and can but hope that I can regain your favour. Perhaps you might reward me with one of you trademark interminable rants against religion? I ask because I’m suffering from insomnia a bit at the moment and they usually send me straight off to sleep.

• @david- spoken like a true thug Shinner. There was a time you could tar & feather me. Ah, the good old days, eh?

• @colin- that’s devastating news. You and your cohorts are people I admire greatly. Is there anything I can do to turn you around? Buy you some clothes,maybe? Some fake tan?

• Oh dear Vince do we need to resort to racial slurs now? Tut tut coming from you the bastion of well thought out arguments I’m disappointed. But in any case, since in your ignorance you haven’t realised this yet nobody gives a flying f@$% what you think Vince, now as I said back under Endas desk like a good little token troll.

• I feel sorry for you Vincent, that your hate for one man or one party can lead you to defend the indefensible (either that, or your blind love for Fine Gael). Drink in its own time and place is not an issue, but no one can possibly seek to justify intoxication when deciding the fate of an entire country!

Even you cannot defend it! Going and saying someone looks like he just came out of a halting site is repulsive to the most, not only to the person you directed the comment to, but also at anyone who actually lives in a halting site whom you suggest are in some way inferior to us settled people. Your are obviously narrow minded and bigoted, to such an extent you would shame the worst sectarian bigots in the North.

Stop trying to win an argument (which you cannot win) and try recognising the truth for once

• Vincent, I’m not surprised you can’t sleep, the sh1te you print here would stop any human being from sleeping. Take a break from the journal for a few months and give yourself and us a bit of peace…. Pleaseeeeee!

• Nice job distracting from the issue there Vinnie.
      There’ll be a pat on the head from your master later.
      One you’re back under his desk..

• Lamb 02/03/13 #

Yep, afraid he is right and I’m not a fan of his or Sinn Fein. If I turned up to work drunk I’d be out on my ear.

• @Vincent Dolan. ‘Are you Pat Rabbitte in disguise’, ‘Are you Enda in disguise’, ‘Are you Gilmore in disguise’… (Vincent, you can stop me singing this when I get to the right one)

• Gerry is absolutely right to speak out about this. It’s not only disgraceful that there r TDs in the Dail with drink in them but a Bar serving alcohol where our elected TDs are “apparently” trying to sort our country out. Laughable. Bet u wouldn’t get this in any other country. We really do live up to our stereotype

• I’m not defending it but the Dail is not the only parliament to have a bar. The House of Commons has a few bars. Is it possible to have a discussion about Ireland and it’s people without reverting back to the tired old “we deserve what we get”

• The point is, our elected representatives were leather whilst voting on a bill to wind up IBRC! Do you not think that’s wrong?

• Two of them, apparently, and no indication of party.. Where does Gerry sit in the chamber again? While i agree with the premise of the article, hell my first thought was to make a breathalyser mandatory at the chamber door, and then i got to the end and Gerry had said exactly that.. I think this is nothing more political maneuvering taking the moral high ground.. Which worries me..

• We are entitled to know who they were, so we do not vote them in again. Name them please, if you are that sure!,,

• people on here defending the GOV. for having a drink because they have 16 hour days and deserve a drink..so would it be ok for a doctor or a nurse to have a bar in the hospital for a few pints before they treat you. the subsidised bar in the dail should be closed all together.

• I was one of the fools who sat up til the wee hours looking at the debate on liquidating the IBRC. The shouting and heckling and general verbal exchanges would lead one to believe that some of the brethren had been imbibing a tad too much alcohol. In fairness to Mr. Adams he did have to stop his input so rowdy was the heckling and he did make reference then to the bar. The FoI tot of a TDs alcohol purchases may not equate to his personal consumption of same because of the ’round’ custom and also the entertaining of visitors etc.

• Adams is totally right!
    Id usually link this type of story on to my Facebook page, but it such a stereo type I’m ashamed to show my friends around the world.

Name and shame

And close down that disgraceful bar!

• Might there have been more than gargle involved ? Could they have been smoking John player indoors as well?

• louise 02/03/13 #

Crazy drinking on the job, if I or any others did that we would be sacked.
    we wonder why this country’s a mess…..

• Vincent Dolan put the keyboard away lad, your makin a fool of yourself!

• I agree with Gerry Adam’s substantive point. What other workplace has a bar, and why is a bar needed? Even if most people go there to drink coffee, they are meant to be the nation’s leaders and should set an example. Would be interested to know whether all other European parliaments have bars.

• I know it’s the usual populist sound bite nonsense but its the first time I agree with something he’s said:)

• If frequenting a bar during working hours in say a factory with machinery would there not be obvious and instant health and safety concerns?
      Should Dail standing orders not dictate that the bars be closed until after the votes are counted?
      A foreigner listening to Deputy Adams would be bemused to say the least!
      Down with that sort of thing there Ted

• Sure u could see from watxhing in on the tv a few of them had a few drinks on them

• We knew BIFFO drank like a fish but that did not stop him from running the country and crawling into the Sun set wit his fat pension

• Can’t believe I find myself agreeing with the shinners, but in this case Adams is right. A bar in an office complex is a joke. I’m sure it’s subsidised too and I for one don’t want my tax money going towards those clowns drinking habits.

• Well said Gerry

• It was obvious to anyone watching on the night that some of the TDs were rubbered. I recall Pearse Doherty telling one of the hecklers ( from Govt. benches) to ‘go back to the bar’. It explains but dosn’t excuse some of the m behaving like blackguards on the night.

• Name and shame! It’s that simple.

• Why can’t people just stick to the point? Gerry Adams is an elected official and deserves to be heard. Save your uneducated opinions on the war in NI for the pub.

• Well if Gerry had stayed in NI maybe we would have.

• Vincent does that mean that Austin Currie should have stayed in NI also?

• JOURNAL:
      Having Vincent comment just Ruins proper debate among the adults here .
      surely you can control his ramblings .PLEASE.

• So once he is up the north it doesn’t matter what he did. That’s it Vincent you just proved that the only reason you care has nothing to do with people suffering and alot to do with party politics.

• @susie- quite the Democrat, aren’t you? I’m pretty sure free speech is enshrined in our laws and while you and your SF friends would probably prefer some type of martial law- and I know bullying tactics are inherent in SF’s modus operandi, ye will have to tweak your tactics down here while ye are masquerading as a political party as we’re quite fond of that particular freedom.

• You know one of these days Vincent I am pretty sure someone on here will do you for libel

• Vincent, free speech laws don’t protect you on a privately owned website. If the Journal decided to ban you tomorrow they are more than entitled to do so. Just like I can kick you out of my home for saying something I don’t like.

• @tom- ask yourself how much I care what someone like you is pretty sure of….

• @Jason- thats true, of course. But I guarantee you that whatever I say on here about Sinn Fein pales in comparison to the vitriol directed at Eamon Gilmore, Joan Burton, Enda Kenny, Michael Noonan etc on here on a daily basis. A day doesn’t go by that they’re not accused of treachery and corruption. So I suppose the question is this: is the Journal the preserve of the left wing…a place where the disaffected can share their grievances and lament the failings of the Government- or is it an open forum where any opinion can be expressed, irrespective of how unpopular it might be to the majority on this forum. To use your metaphor, is it an open house, or invite only?

• Yes, Pablo. Bang on the mark there, son. Dail privilege works both ways.

• It says a lot about some of the commentators on here that they are so stuck in the past and so bitter and twisted in their views that they can not bring themselves to acknowledge a good and valid point when it’s brought up. It doesn’t matter if Adams is the one bringing this to light, what matters is that he is highlighting the fact that the decisions that are affecting the present and future running of this country are being made by a bunch of incompetent piss artists. That is what matters, not who is bringing it to light.

Oh yes, for all the usual trolls who condescendingly preach to us about past deeds and history would you ever change the record. I dare say that the readers of the journal are able to keep up to date with current and past affairs and I dare say that they are also able to read the odd history book or 2. We all know about Adams et al’s past so we really don’t need ye constantly going on about it like your constant stream of bile is going to bring some sort of awesome revelation to the masses. If you want to stay stuck in the past why not get a job in a museum? In the mean time the rest of us will get on with our lives and look to the future.

• @brian- you should find the nearest Fianna Fáil supporter you can find. They’re all about forgetting the past too. The reality is that when you stand for election all the voters have to go on re: assessing your character is your last deeds. So it is entirely right & proper- indeed important that candidates past be kept front & centre. And with Gerry Adams we’re not talking about a parking ticket he didn’t pay in 1973. It’s also important in the context of current issues. It’s relevant to remember when Gerry Adams is condemning the closure of Garda barracks around the country that he lobbied for the release of Garda murderers. I’m sorry that its inconvenient for Shinners that people won’t just forget the crimes they perpetrated but, em…they’ll just have to live with it.

• Vincent I am not advocating erasing peoples past, what I am saying is that good ideas, polices or in this case points should not be just cast aside because of a persons past. If that was the case then we would get no where in this world. Adams brought up a very valid point that TD’s were making extremely important decisions that affected millions of people while intoxicated and in some cases probably incapable of making rational decisions. Yet you and others seem to dismiss this based solely on Adams’s previous record and constantly lecture us on Adams and SF’s past as though the readers of the Journal were a bunch of uneducated morons who never read a news article up to the time that you deem us worthy of your knowledge! If any other TD brought up this point about drunk TD’s would your attitude be different?

If you look at the foundation of the State apply your way of thinking then how could the Gardai and the Army be set up considering that the people who were involved in becoming the Ministers for Justice and Defense and the people who served in those forces were the very people who burned down police and military barracks in the first place. How could we have recruited people into the police force when those same people were involved in arson, intimidation and cold blooded murder in the past? There comes a time when you have to recognize that whatever a persons past actions and failings that if they are genuinely intent on following the rule of law and conformity with the rest of society then you have to just get on with it.

• Absolutely no idea why we even need a bar in our national parliament, if they really want a drink there’s plenty of bars around

• I really worry for the future of our country . There is so much hatred and vitriol from the very people whose party is in power this very day . All the comments from the blue shirts here are downright disgraceful and could only be discribed as being full of hate. Not one of of you has any shame . How can any of you justify drinking alcohol while making these life changing decisions for us.
    If a man driving a bus, a taxi, a truck, was driving under the influence of alcohol ,he would lose his job and Face court appearances.
    There is no justification for the td’s to have drink taken that night or any other time in Leinster House. Shame on them and you for justifying it.

• People may disparage Gerry Adams past but he wasn’t a drunk sell out traitor that make up the major ranks of FG/LAB/FF who sold out this countries natural resources or the people to emigrate in larger numbers than the famine.

• Actually, people disparage Gerry Adams because he personally, and his party are associated with Garda murderers, bank robbers, bombers, extortionists and thugs.

• Vincent,

The words ‘Record’ &’Broken’ come to mind. Zzzzzzzzzz

• Tell that to the bereaved. It’s not old news to them.

• So what about previous Governments failure to stop the abuse in the Catholic Church, The Magdalene laundries. You see the world through tinted windows, Vincent. Anything Sinn Fein do is bad, anything! Yet your failure to acknowledge that all political parties in this country have blood on their hands makes you a bloody hypocrite!

• Vincent you support a party that was created on the nazi model. Your partner in government is led by a man who opposed the solidarity movement that freed the people of Poland.
      Many of the top rank in labour have IRA History.
      If you don’t understand that Gerry Adams was the most important in the whole peace process you don’t know your history.
      If you think its right that members of our government have a few drinks before deciding the faith of our people well I guess there’s no hope for you really.

• Thanking Gerry Adams for his part in the peace process is like thanking an arsonist for letting you borrow his hose when your house is half burnt down.

• Vincent I am not a shinner but I do know alot about Irish history and you have been misleading people with the way you describe the events of the past. You still cling on to the censored media view that we had back then.Instead of wasting time arguing here go look into it.
      Just one more thing, it was a fight to obtain people civil rights and stop them being tortured on their own country every day just because of their religion.

Now your financial terrorists ruining people lives for one reason only for their own greed and selfishness.

The two are very different, but I can’t figure which is worse. I guess the actions of the financial terrorists, we still have not seen what will be the full affect of that.

• I was just thinking how many people across the country get paid for drinking , and what is the normal going rate?.

• Shock horror anyone surprised?

• Yet another example of low standards in high places.
    And yes we continually perpetuate our own stereotype of drunken irish.
    Pathetic.
    Harping back to Roy Keane – we need to change our mentaility. Where the pride gone?

• It is a fact that most criminals are under the influence when committing a crime. In this case, it is no different.

• Wasn’t there a write up here a while ago how the dail bar was Being closed and the fruit juice bar was being implemented ???.

• John 02/03/13 #

Vincent, I don’t understand you at all as you are the top backer for the useless shower that are in power. I wonder did you know that with the red thumbs on your comments you are not doing your party any favours. You need to cut down on red thumbs and this might drum up a little more support for FG/L. Of course you’d need to hurry up because FG,L haven’t much time left.

• @john- 1). It will be a cold day in hell when I pay a blind bit of notice of thumbs on here, red, green, pink or otherwise. 2). Its not my job nor my intent ,nor my desire to promote the Government.

• Sure maybe they should have a legalized brothel in the chambers as the lads are clearly stressed and lonely with all the hours they must spend away from home.

• @ vincent’ get back to the Bar were you belong!!!! But, my advice to you would be, stop running away from the truth, just shout out loud ……. ” my name is vincent i am an alcoholic”. and we will try and help you…..

• Good man Gerry. He enjoys a jar he says. Nice

• Why is there a bar there at all?

Its not dutch courage the FG/LAB government need its German courage!

• TD’s have a bar in the Dáil for the same reason that MP’s have one in the Palace of Westminster . It is simply that most TD’s and MP’s view their respective parliaments as exclusive private members clubs that exist purely to service their own personal needs.
    The notion that they would put the interests of the people before their desire to have a subsidised ‘drink or twelve’ is laughable to them.
    Their greedy and selfish attitudes will do nothing to help Ireland recover from the disastrous criminal policies of the previous Fianna Fail/Green government.

• Gerry was drinking Jäger bombs!

• I’m so glad that Journal commentators no longer want to dwell in the past. So can we expect people to comment on the articles themselves when the next FF article is posted?
    I’m looking forward to that now.

• Gerry has a valid point but I hate the idea of he being the moral compass for TDs.

• No one is an angel, Sean. He’s had a sketchy past at best but his point is 100% valid. To come back with a response, “Well, you’re one to talk” is just childish.

• “Sketchy”?

• Dublinlad anything that involves you in murder shouldn’t be referred to as having a “sketchy past”.

• hahaha.. sketchy is putting it mildly.. by all rights he should be in portlaoise with his mates

• Lisa,

War is murder. People were killed, yes, some rightfully, some wrongfully, no one is denying that. I just find it funny that we in the Republic seem to be on a moral high ground when it comes to the north. We never had to put with they did, ie car bombings, shootings, random attacks at night merely because you were Catholic of Protestant. I can completely understand why someone would choose to join the IRA, INLA, UVF, UDA, UFF etc etc. anyone who says any different is just kidding themselves or being completely naive. My point was that Gerry does have a sketchy past, blood on their hands, but Gerry Adams is not unique in that sense, lads, our bloody political parties rose from a bloody war!! Until we have can a sensible debate on issues, we’ll never move on. Always stuck in the past of mindless bickering!

• Eh, of course we had to put up with it.

• Ah yes, it must have been terrible to watch it on the news and read in the papers. How did we survive…

Come off it lad.

• Censored bias news, trust me I have studied Irish history. Yer ignorance will be yer downfall. I’m a FF supporter and even I am starting to think SF are the best option.

Irish history will serve SF well, we will be the generation that kept voting in the corrupt fools ( in years to come we will have alot more info as to what the other 3 have been up to) which led to the total destruction of our economy.

• Do I, as a Monaghan man really need to get into the ins and the outs of this with somebody calling himself “DublinLad” or are you really that stupid?

• And there’s a sweet smell off my farts.

• They were all liquidated drunk!

• I remember thinking that some of the TDs were drunk when I was watching the debate. If my memory serves me well I think that was the same night as the Ireland V Poland friendly. 6-2-2012

• i tink enda and frends are on the piss all the time. free drink they do not pay for it

• Did he bring his teddy?

• Wasn’t it said that some of his own TDs were also in the bar on the night in question? Seems like more populist nonsense.

I assume thejournal will do wide ranging interviews with other party leaders to be balanced?

• Just because you are in a bar doesn’t mean you have to drink alcohol.

• The Fine Galers cant engage in a point that anyone makes except a Banker.Drunken politicians id get pissed too i suppose if i was putting my constituents and their children into a endless cycle of debt to Banksters.Your conscience would eat at you how many were drunk how many voted in favour at least the drunk ones had shame. TheTaxpayers Tab gets the giddy .

• This revelation is an absolute disgrace. What’s going on with TDs in Leinster House? Next we’ll be hearing some of them were in the IRA.

• BMJF 02/03/13 #

Name those were drunk Gerry! Show some spine

• OOCH. An iron bar

• Gerry doesn’t kill joy… Really?

• First question ..were you in The IRA..depending on the answer we will then know if the interview is a load of bollocks or not

• I’m always amazed at the lengths the shinnerbots will go to defend the indefensible…
    Vincent…
    well done
    like yourself I will continue at each and every opportunity to remind the people of this wretched man’s past and his unquestionable links to terrorism.
    If you looked closer at the article you can see the typical Adams responce to a question when he says ” I was in the bar about and I dont “THINK” I had a drink in it.
    Or maybe thats the Sinn Feinn automated responce to every question??? “We’re you a senior member of the terrorist group the IRA??” ….. I dont think so …..

• You and Vincent are great craic I’d say!

• Kevin I am amazed at the lengths that you and others of your ilk will go to so as to attack Adams and SF. For instance in an article on the Journal headed ““We are hopeful”: Cochlear implants campaign gets boost http://www.thejournal.ie/cochlear-impants-ireland-billy-cairns-809361-Feb2013/ “Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams is supporting the campaign to have children fitted with two cochlear implants….” You unashamedly hijacked an article on children with hearing disabilities to spout your poisonous bile and cause immense upset to the parents of those children. One wrote ” you are all taking away from the story today that we are trying to get across, not only for my son Billy but for all the other children who are deaf . Gerry adams is the only one who has taken our story toTheDail..” another commented “For gods sake it’s an article about a little boy who has no hearing & having to face a second operation in his short little life. You people disgust me taking over comments regarding Gerry Adams, it’s about Billy & his journey.”

In this case your exploitation of a story on deaf children for your own twisted viewpoints in completely indefensible even though you tried to squirm out of out by saying..
      “Of course this is an important story regarding the health of some of our weakest members of our society, our children and I wish you and your son and indeed all children effected by this condition the very best and that you do receive what you are seeking.
      However my comments on Jerry Adams and the political wing of the terrorist organisation that he represents I will always make reference to when ever he or his party appear in any forum where public dialoge and public comment can be given. least we forget !!!!!!”

Firstly you acknowledge that the story was about some of the weakest members of society yet you go on to affirm that you have no problem in exploiting their woes for your own ends, Not only that but you can’t even spell Gerry Adams name properly! People are educated enough to know about Adams’s past without you or anyone else condescendingly preaching down upon high to us. Although considering your exploitation of children with disabilities it’s more like society will be looking down at you and your exploitation of disabled children with disgust.

• Nice to know Brian that the fas course you got on basic pc skills wasn’t wasted on you and that your yes we can all see how profesiant you are at cutting and pasting word docs..
      I see maybe a future minister of education in you when the shinners reach a full majority…
      Just about 5 minutes after hell freezes over and 2 minutes after “Gerry” regails us all with his past deeds in the IRA….

• A. I’ve never been on a FAS course.
      B. I’m not affiliated to any particular party.
      C. I C&P’d your comments from a web page and not a word doc
      and finally
      D. I can use spell check properly so that I don’t spell proficient as “profesiant”. There’s a FAS course for that, you should try it.

Of course what stands out is that you didn’t address one single thing in my comment but then again if I were you I I wouldn’t try to defend the indefensible either.

• And every day I will successfully educate people that times have moved on and that twisted bitter nasty arrogant hate mongering people like you and the odious Vincent are on the way out….

• Please Gerry tell us your IRA senior council were sober when they decided to bomb women and children to pieces.

• What’s Gerry’s beef (or horse) with the Dail bar? Has he been barred or something? If he’s going on about these characters let’s have some names please!

Westminister has numerous bars so nothing unusual about Dail Eireann. I would have thought that with a sitting going into the small hours it would be the place to get food and drink (of the non-alcoholic type).

• 2 points I’d like to make Gerry says the people who were drunk were within ear shot which makes me think opposition td or freshman Goverment back bencher. I was in the Dail Bar on Wednesday and saw 20 odd Members of LH I think only one of these had a alcohol drink. I see no problem with the bar in Leinster house as its use for networking. I wud rather see the Dail closed as a standard hour say 9 rather then staying open till all business in the houses is finished

• Would it have made a difference if they were sober?

Add New Comment