TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Video: TDs argue over when to start debating the IBRC liquidation bill

“Could I honourably suggest that if you want some order from the government TDs then perhaps you should close the Dáil bar.”

YouTube: Hugh O’Connell/TheJournal.ie

LAST NIGHT WAS momentous enough in Leinster House but before the debate on the legislation to liquidate the former Anglo Irish Bank even got under way there was controversy.

The debate was supposed to start at 10.30pm but was postponed until 11pm to give Finance Minister Michael Noonan a chance to brief opposition spokespersons.

When the Dáil returned at 11pm there was further unhappiness with the brief time given to reading the bill before debating it until the Taoiseach said there could be an adjournment until 11.45pm but still the opposition weren’t happy.

Selected quotes include Enda Kenny saying “I’m here all night” before pointing, school teacher-like, at each party leader asking them if they would agree to adjourning until midnight.

Unfortunately Gerry Adams did not agree and went on to say to the Ceann Comhairle:  ”Could I honourably suggest that if you want some order from the government TDs then perhaps you should close the Dáil bar. That may be a useful way to get some order here.”

Of course, then all hell broke loose.

Read: ‘Is this the Gathering?’: The very best #promnight tweets

Explainer: What happened last night? Why was IBRC liquidated? What happens now?

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Would love to see the bar reciepts from last night to see how many were effectivly drinking on the job..No health and safety legislation applies in the Dail.

• Morons

• No no, not morons. Just following the script.

These treacherous bas**ards would fit right in down in hell if there was such as place.

Rothschilds are the root of the EU, ECB and our Central Bank. ‘Our’ politicians like their predecessors have been bought and paid for.

The guards have finally seen what is happening. They need to join us now and help us take our country back.

• the one thing they are not is ” Morons ” .
      We are the Morons if these” people ” are not removed – and a peoples govt appointed .
      FG/FF/Lab- serve the Troika – that is not news . We do not live in a democracy – surely that was evident years ago .
      There was no obligation to take on Anglos debts . We must refuse to pay banks debts . Thre is no peaceful way out of this . Are not traitors hung ??

• This is a people’s government. Both government parties were abundantly clear in their positions on the troika in their manifestos. It’s called democracy. Look it up

• Why are they allowed to drink while working or supposedly making huge decisions about the country ?

And that bar should be taken out of there all together

• I am no fan of gerry but i think he might just be right about the bar

• BeeGee 07/02/13 #

Complete and utter idiots

• This is just a complete embarrassment.

• A place of work that has a bar……..only TD’s and actual bartenders could get away with this!!

• They are debating about when to start debating about IBRC. Now we are all on the journal debating about them debating about when to start debating on IBRC. I love democracy

• Another day, another debate. And still no sign of RESPECT for the People!

• A bunch of drunk farmers and schoolteachers voting in favour of a bill that will cripple the state with more debt. If it wasn’t so depressing, it would funny.

• Nothing stopping you going into politics since your so critical

• Sean
      How in the name of God do you conclude that this measure adds to our overall National debt?
      It really is disturbing to see the bar stool economists wrestling with sums and words to come up with some of the rubbish on these pages!

• Tia Audrey – I like every other citizen are “in politics”, every time we vote. You do not have to be a politician to engage in the politics of this state. And you do not have to be a politician to be afforded the right to voice concern about poor political decisions.

Richard – Because any chances of a debt write-off either now or down the line have been erased by this move. And I may not be an economist, but the economists and politicians who are actually qualified in this area like Stephen Donnelly do not accept that this move is in any way a move forward, and have commented on this very problem.

Facilitating this debt over the long term will have a direct impact on our public services for us and our children. It should be written off, it is NOT our debt. I did not produce it. And as a citizen of this Republic, I have every right to express my disgust when debt that is not ours is unequivocally transferred as sovereign debt.

• My sentiments entirely Tia. Well said

• and yet wasn’t it an urbane lawyer Brian Lenihan who betrayed us by loading the State with this debt in the first place. It is not the job they do but the attitude. If they are there for the welfare and good of the country and all its people, rather than just the Galway tent types then we will be ok in the long run.

• Itscalm 07/02/13 #

It’s time to shut the Dail bar,many TD’s from the government side looked like they were drunk.
    In any other line of work they would be sacked on the spot.

• About 5 years ago…..
    They have condemned the Irish people to a lifetime if austerity.
    The people’s party my ass

• Brian Cowen on the Dail Bar.

“…….There are a lot of anecdotes, but I just feel that the Dail Bar is the only private bar in the country that you can go into as a members’ bar. I find that we have heavy exposure, on all fronts, in terms of everybody knowing everything about us, so we should try to keep something sacrosanct. What goes on in there, in terms of craic and anecdotes, is for there, and for the members.”…..

The dail Bar is Sacrosanct.
    Sacrosanct =
    1: most sacred or holy : inviolable

2: treated as if holy : immune from criticism or violation

• Was waiting for “how about quarter to 12″

• Oh ! La ! La ! it’s good to be a politician

Freedom of Information Act figures show that between January 1 and March 31 2010, Dáil bar staff were told TDs and senators could not pay in cash for €1,837-worth of drinks.

As a result, the money was placed on the individual TDs and senators’ tabs – alongside a total of €7,171.33 in bar debt since the last general election.

According to Oireachtas officials, who have refused to reveal the identities of any of the public representatives involved, over the past three years the Dáil bar tab has risen from €3,875.94 in December 2007, to €7,171.33 by the end of March 2010.

Just 17 of the 42 TDs or senators with bar debts at the end of 2007 had paid off their tab more than three years later, with the overall drinks debt almost doubling during this period.

In one case, an unnamed public representative now owes €1,378.15, while 19 more have failed to pay off individual 2010 bar tabs ranging between €103 and €569.30 since the start of this year.

A total of 60 TDs or senators currently have debts at the Dáil bar, compared to 42 in 2007 and 45 in 2008 and 2009.

Due to Oireachtas subsidies, alcohol sold at the Dáil bar is among the cheapest in Dublin. A 2007 Leinster House audit by the Comptroller and Auditor General (C&AG) found that a pint of Guinness cost just €3.70 – 35% cheaper than the average cost in the capital at the time.

The C&AG has previously raised concerns over the slow rate at which TDs and senators pay off their bar debts and the lack of transparency involved.

However, in keeping with previous Freedom of Information requests on the issue, Oireachtas officials have refused to reveal the identities of the Dáil debtors.

Officials have also refused to clarify whether they impose any limit on the amount of money that can be owed by an individual, and whether there is any cut-off point for when a tab must be written off.

Last June the Irish Examiner revealed that one unnamed Oireachtas member owed more than €5,612.80 for restaurant food and Dáil bar drink.

A total of 12 other TDs or senators whose identities were kept secret had also failed to settle bar debts of between €1,000 and €3,000 at the time.

Overall, the June 2009 figures showed that 157 of the Oireachtas’s 226 TDs and Senators owed a total of €74,941 for meals consumed, ranging from €5,612.80 to just 22c.

Overall, 37 of the 226 members owed a total of €4,419, with the average debt working out at €127.56.

• A lot of you are condemning the agreement. As this implies you know the details , would you please enlighten the rest of us , please?

• I can’t imagine having a job where I could go have a few subsidized beers (paid for by the tax payer) then go back to work!?!

• 4 minutes and all they had to do was say yes to 12 o clock !”£!£”!$ sake becoming a joke now and gerry adams throwing a little joke in aswell they should be all sacked.

• Oh yeah, in the midnight hour
    Yeah, alright, play it for me one time now

• Typical sinn fein response to any important issue. Make a joke of it and it might go away. I’ll stick with noonan please at least he can act like an accountant and won’t be throwing everything into the party fund box.

• Noonan! did you actually watch the crap that went on last night..when barret asked a serious question about if the debt would now be sovreign debt, Noonans reply was don’t belive in conspiracy’s..are you kidding me, this shows the contempt the goverment have for elected representatives, Democracy in Ireland died last night and mainly because of Noonan, condesending bastard who put 800 people out of work at a whim and would not even garrentee there jobs while changing the rules to suit himself with a transfer of assets.

And I like others fail to see the joke,,we have aload of idiots deciding our countries fate while having afew pints inbetween breaks, if the guards did there jobs for once they should arrest them all and breathalyse them for breaking health and safety legislation about drinking at the workplace..but only in Ireland could you get away with shit like this.

• Maybe it wasn’t a joke. The Govt. backbenchers are acting like Ballooba’s for the last 2 years. Time the C.C. got off his partisan butt and sorted it out.

• Why bother having the debate at all, the government have a huge majority, just push through whatever you want lads, stop making jokes Gerry.

Add New Comment