TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

IMF: We want property tax of 0.5 per cent. Noonan: Nope, not happening.

OH, IT’S ON (well, kind of. It’s all very civil).

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

FINANCE MINISTER MICHAEL Noonan has rejected a call from the IMF for a property tax of 0.5 per cent, saying that it would be “too high”.

In its latest review of Ireland’s bailout progress this afternoon, the IMF suggested that a property tax of 0.5 per cent would provide a “stable” source of revenue for the State if it was “suitably high”.

However speaking this evening from the Fine Gael annual think-in, Minister Noonan said that the government had “no intention” of introducing a property tax at 0.5 per cent.

Speaking on RTE Radio One’s DriveTime, the Minister refused to be drawn on any further details about the tax before it is announced on Budget Day, which he said is likely to be on the first Wednesday in December.

“We have no intention of introducing it at the rate of 0.5,” said Noonan.

That would collect a billion, and I have expressed the view that that is far too high. I have also pointed out… that the document published by the IMF which contains that advice and that piece of advice we’re not taking on board. But we are taking the piece of advice on board that there must be a property tax because that’s part of the bailout programme.

The Minister said that the Budget will be tough because “any kind of measure that could be deemed a soft option was taken in previous Budgets”.

He also said that the coalition will do its best to honour its commitment in the Programme for Government not to increase income tax in the Budget.

Separately, the Minister was broadly positive of the rest of the IMF’s latest review of Ireland’s progress under the bailout deal.

The review called on Eurozone finance ministers to get to work on putting in place a plan to separate Ireland’s sovereign debt from its bank debt.

“In relation to the ongoing challenges that the Irish economy faces, the IMF highlight the high level of public and private sector debt and we are committed to addressing these issues,” Noonan said.

In addition, the IMF emphasise that Ireland’s continued recovery will be influenced by developments in the eurozone. I will continue to work with my European colleagues to find solutions to the problems facing Ireland and the eurozone.

Read: IMF turns up heat on demands for Irish bank debt deal >

Read: Ireland making ‘such good progress on all fronts’ – Van Rompuy >

Read next:

Comments (155 Comments)

• OU812 10/09/12 #

“Introducing it at 0.5%”

Key word there is introducing.

• And this, ladies and gentlemen, is only the property tax. Let’s not even begin to discuss water charges.

• This property tax thing is actually a brilliantly thought out scheme to get the rich people in this country to pay their fair share, because they will be the only ones that will hand over a red cent. In fact the government should increase the rate to 2 or 3%. Now that would generate serious income from the wealthy classes.

• I’m sorry Rodrigo but are you actually insane. Revenue are going to collect this Tax so their is no avoiding it. If the average house costs say 150-200k and we apply your very generous 3% value tax. Hey presto, up to €6000 in property tax per year.
      So I’m guessing your living in council housing and will be looking for a waiver then.

• Manufactured disagreement to make Noonan look better?

• If I were a cynic I’d suggest that the IMF are floating the higher figure so we can all rest easy when we only had to pay 0.25% in the end. Phew, we dodged a bullet there. Thankfully our intrepid politicians were there to save us.

• So, let’s do the sums: if your house is worth €300k (I know, I know!), then 1% is €3k. Right? Then 0.25% of that is €750. That’s a rather larger figure than the €400 being spoken about, which, admittedly, was an average which means that €300k is way above the average! And the IMF wants double that, i.e., €1500 yearly on a €300k valued property. The cat is well and truly out of the bag.

• There’s a crock of something at the end of that particular rainbow, and it ain’t gold…

• I love a bit of political spin…….. Set expectations high and when the tax comes in lower we feel like we gotta bargain

• see unlike noonan and the irish government the IMF don’t have to live in ireland or the real world for that matter when making demands like this, being a filthy rich boys club association they enjoy living the high life while making everyone else pay up!

• Bren 10/09/12 #

Well that should be fun……I don’t think any house has sold in my area since the crash !!!

• Q1. Was I responsible, or did I contribute in any way whatsoever to the Irish banking crisis and wreckless lending at Anglo?
    A. No

Q2. Was I, as a citizen of the Irish State, consulted in any way, directly or indirectly when the previous Irish government, and the current Irish government accepted bailout terms and continued to accept them on my behalf?
    A. No

Q3. Will I be paying €400 next year to pay back Senior Bondholders of Anglo?
    A. Yes

• As Enda said in his address to the nation ‘let me say this to you all, you are not responsible for this crisis’. What he failed to say next was ‘but you’re bloody well going to pay for it’

• You have beautifully summed up the essence of Enda. If Enda were a sauce, this is what he would he be reduced to: something wet, slimy, and without anything resembling a bone. Apart from that, he’s doing a great job.

• why don’t they just keep our wages and give us pocket money

• Will we receive extra services in return for paying this extra tax???

• What a nice show they put on for us!

• ANY property tax not happening!
    F-right off Noonan you bilderberg, Stubbs muppet. No to the HHC and an even bigger NO to any property tax. When does tax become theft?! When people can’t bloody pay it!! You can take your grubby thieving hands away from the little disposable income I have left- which is safe guarded for my children’s mouths and my mortgage!

• Such a blatantly contrived stitch up between the IMF and the government. The IMF would never release a statement like that without government consultation. The whole thing is a ruse attempting to convince us to think “at least the property tax is not 0.5%”. In other words the public will be comparing the property tax with 1/2% of the property value per year rather than the €100 they paid the year before…

• Bruce 10/09/12 #

listening to Noonan on RTE. There will be a property tax. looks like everyone will pay.

what about many thousands of people unemployed but not entitled to any state assistance because they were self employed (plaintiffs, plumbers etc). where as they supposed to get money?

• alan 10/09/12 #

Why are we even discussing this, oh of course were Paddys and we just do what we’re told..what would happen if we for a change said no, like Iceland?

• Property/Real Estate Taxes Iceland (taken from http://www.nordisketax.net)

The municipalities collect real estate tax on all real estate, which is a percentage of the building’s and the lot’s real estate evaluation, and that percentage is decided by each municipality. Real estate tax ranges from 0.18% to 0.625%. Along with the real estate tax, other real estate fees are collected, such as the lot lease, garbage collection fee, etc.

• Alien8 11/09/12 #

In Iceland they pay low PAYE, a council tax, pension tax and property tax ( which add up to less than the 60% I pay every time I get some overtime). These taxes pay for universal health and municipal costs. They do not pay for bond holders lost profits.

Ireland pays PAYE, PRSI, levies and now property and water taxes. These do not pay for universal health, water or municipal services. They pay for lost bond holder profits,and will continue to do so.

Icelands politicians stood up for their people and said no. Ireland’s politicians bent over backwards to say yes.

• Looks like the kite flying is well and truly under way for December budget , the amount of BS suggestions will be as worn out as Christmas ads , they know damn well that we always fall for the oldest tricks around , suggest a higher number , minister fights for the people to get lower number , we end up paying the lower number , which I’d course is too high but they look for credit then , have the IMF got a view on how we pay people like John Delaney 360 000 a year to run the FAI circus

• all a smoke screen for the government to apply a .025% rate and look to be doing us a favour, it’ll still average at 500 euro per household, it’s just robbery in another name

• I think that we are witnessing a new version of something that has existed for a long time. Historically, young men were conscripted to fight mostly unjust wars against their will, and for very dubious reasons, ( power and wealth spring to mind ), It was occasionally for legitimate reasons of self defence, but they were the exceptions to the rule. I wonder are we now experiencing a sort of financial conscription, whereby we are all required to involuntarily hand over a percentage of our meagre individual financial resources, to facilitate another unjust ( financial ) war, except this time, most of the casualties are not wearing uniforms. The difference now is that the ammunition being used is mostly money, and media control, instead of bullets and bombs, and any likely beneficiaries of these practices are likely to be well removed from any, and every fallout, should their plans fail. This nightmarish grip is ever tightening, and time is of the essence if we are ever to break free. While we still have that strength, let’s use it!.

• I’ve had a good look at the deeds to my house and Michael Noonan’s name is not on them or any other government ministers. Yet they’ve promised the Troika they’ll get equity out of our homes! They’ve no right to do that. I can’t go into a bank looking for a loan using Enda Kenny’s house as collateral. Why not? Because it’s not mine; I’ve no equitable interest in Enda Kenny’s house and he has no equitable interest in mine.

• Mick 10/09/12 #

Snore…silly silly arguments

• Clutching. At. Straws.

How come these same legal arguments don’t apply in other jurisdictions?

• Mick 10/09/12 #

Ah sure Ryan, aren’t they all wrong except for us… :-)

• Mick and Ryan do you have any position? I would love to hear why you think I should pay for your services? I presume neither of you are home owners. Property tax is a legacy from a time when only property owners had a vote.

Maybe Mick you do have a house and are my neighbour. The one who’s never bothered much about their house but had holidays to Spain twice a year. I”ve put my money into my home and therefore into the economy. I’ve converted the garage and changed my windows. People stop to smell my flowers. But now my house is worth 50,000 more than yours so I’m meant to pay more for services than you? How am I a greater burden on society?

Ryan I think if you are a home owner you probably live on the wrong side of the river than me. You are in the exact same house and we have kept the houses in the same repair but your house is worth 100,000 less because of location. Again do I place a greater burden on services? Should I have to pay more than you? Why?

Lads if you have an arguement will you let us know.

• Mick 10/09/12 #

Yep, own a nice house in a nice area…as do plenty people across europe…don’t have a prob with the tax…it’s wat other successful countries do so would like to contribute to getting Ireland successful again…

• But Mick I’ve taken better care of my house than you have and so mine is worth more. Why should I pay more or be basically fined for having more pride in my home and more kerb appeal. I still don’t think I put more pressure on services than you do.

• Mick 10/09/12 #

So, ur advocating a flat tax are you so that a crappy house will be taxed the same as a millionaires house is it?

• Ann is a secret Fianna Failer I reckon.

• Mick 11/09/12 #

@ Anne, no response, no substance

• Spin and BS, wouldn’t buy any of that! They are trying to look good, to make us swallow the spit that’s coming our way! They won’t last after the Budget, If at all before it? The Backlash will be huge, Labour are scared and FG are worried! Roll-out the Guillotines, heads must roll and Tim Jacksons hands!

• What’s new ?
    It’s spin.
    That’s it.
    Happens every day with these self serving spin doctors.
    The dogs on the street could see this kind if statement coming a mile off.

• Feb 2011 Fine Gael manifesto pg 59-60; Fine Gael do not believe an annual recurring tax on the family home is fair. You do not have a mandate to do anything that isn’t in your manifesto Michael Noonan so you can FG off now and take Labour with you.

• Paul
      The country didn’t vote for Fine Gael in the last election. They voted for a Coalition where the Policies were not agreed in advance. Additionally Property Tax was a part of the Bailout conditions which predates the election. Am I wrong?

• Strange that.
      I dont recall a box on the ballot paper to be ticked that said Coalition

I still love the aul “Coalition where the Policies were not agreed in advance” bullcrap! There’s an excuse for everything! It wasnt us, it was the previous gubbermint… Its a coalition, all policies off the table,,,
      Its not us, its the Troika….. well we must honour previous agreements

Christ on a stick! Bullet Dodgers, that should be the name of this coalition

• @Mick Collins with the greatest of restraint I ask you why you think the people voted for a coalition?

• I don’t think that many people thought they were voting for a particular government, they were mainly focused on voting FF out of power. What we ended up with was the default alternative.

• Bren 10/09/12 #

Is the tax based on purchase value of your house or what your house is valued at now ?

• I’d still love to know how exactly they propose to value property in a market that is still falling and in which there are large areas which have had almost no property transactions at all since the bubble burst!

• You can’t fool all of the people all of the time, well this government is making a damn good try at it. They are nothing but a shower of liars and spinsters who conned and misled their way into goverment (FG’s 5 point plan anyone) at a crucial and critical time in our history. They are traitors and are becoming more hated with each new tax they introduce and levy they apply. They didn’t only go Frankfurts way, they paved the route to Draghis walnut office with the worry and stress of each and every Irish worker with their clever new tax proposals while the elephant shakes his head in the corner. Maybe they will go in December, maybe they won’t. Maybe they will continue to insist we pay our way, maybe they won’t. Truth is that between two governments, they have utterly destroyed this country. God help us.

• So the IMF think property tax should be set @.5% of a home and the government think it should be .25%. That’s ok but considering we have all be getting the value of property so so badly wrong for the last decade how the hell are the government or any other group going to come up with the perfect formula that can accurately place a value on property. Imagine the bureaucracy (all on high salaries) employed to value something so subjectively determined. Rich or poor this tax is a double taxation scam (without extra services) and an invasion on individual property rights. When we all finish paying our mortgages we then pay more tax/rent to government till we die and then we leave our kids a bill. So much for thinking you could own something in ireland! What this is amounting to is inheritance tax for our kids.

• Don’t worry Noonan, there’s still a few soft targets left.

• This story is spin to make noonan look like he is somehow sticking up for the hard pressed ripped off property owners by stating ‘it’s too much ‘ how did he bloody manage …

• Have house in US , taxes ,

1. Property Taxes. $3,700 year ( was $6550 )

2. Water charge $147 per month.

3. Bin collection $ 24 per week.

4. Library , fire brigade , school subscription, $ 11 week .

In USA this money goes to where it is designated for , in Ireland pays off banks , bond holders , politicians , and public sector fat cats .

• Una Dev 10/09/12 #

But Ireland isn’t America and we already pay the lions share of tax on PRSI, Stamp Duty, VAT, etc.

• Eadster, unfortunately our government are looking to the US to formulate their property tax policies. They have spent 10,000 each for our councillors to attend local area management courses.

Your tax doesn’t seem too high considering what I’ve heard from the States. My friend pays 36,000 dollars a year in Chicago. She doesn’t have an extravagant house but it is in a nice area. It was 34,000 when she bought it last year and with no changes or property price increases it still went up 2,000 dollars. She would like to get air conditioning in her sons’ bedrooms. She would be able to afford it. However no one will do the work untill she has a permit. This will cost 5,000 dollars. As soon as she has the permit the council knows work has been done and can re-assess her property tax. My friend lives in a very nice area hence the high charges but we all have relatives in the US who tell us they can’t improve their homes as they’d be encouraging re assessment. In some states neighbours would actually be angry with them as if too many houses are improved the whole street is re assessed. I know in the states that it is accepted that your income taxes go towards defence (ie funding wars) but since independance our income taxes went towards services.

• censored 10/09/12 #

In the US there is a lot of accountability around this tax:

1. it pays for *local* services (central govt does not get to use it as a bribery fund for votes)

2. the decisions are made by local politicians, elected by the local people – if the local voters don’t like their decisions, the level of taxes or how the money is spent then they don’t last long

A democratic system, not like in Ireland, where it’s more like the fat cat system.

• Eadster
      What class of a clown are you? The total of your local taxes in the US amount to 7250 dollars a year and you’re posting some sort of value statement on this site against charges in Ireland? On top of this you pay income tax?

• Ryan'O 10/09/12 #

Give over. We think we have it bad here, America is worse. One big ponzi scheme. Borrow of Peter to pay back what you already borrowed off Paul only to borrow off Peter again! And if you think the unions are all over the gov here it’s nothing like the ‘bribes’ or donations over there!

• Thats why the household tax was the governments way of dipping their toe in the water to check the temp.
    So with the threats, cajoling & damned right lies they have managed to just & its just get over half.
    They now feel they have a mandate to move forward with the property tax. This is the start of the avalanche of ‘ah well at leasts it not’ PR strategy.
    Once they have your household register its halfway home………
    500 first year, 1000 second & will peak around 2000/2500 in a couple of years.
    All you idiots who thought otherwise or thought it was the right thing to do. THANKS!!…………..

• Pure Kabuki theatre. The IMF stated at the start of the program that elements could be changed if they were revenue neutral. The tax take from a 5% income levy on earnings above €120,000 would bring in the same as everybody paying a property tax of 0.25% the value of their home and leave an extra half billion floating around the domestic economy.

• i give up, i am not paying mortgage any more, sick of struggling even to get food in my kids mouths, why bother even trying, this is just the start, we are a sinking ship, with a bunch of fools as leaders, scare mongering, then doing a great job saying oh no we wont do that, we need a higher tax bracket for the wealthy, we need less government fools transferring you on to the next fool, its a continuous saga, we do not have politicians in this country only fools who are filling their daddy’s shoes, and were mostly civil servants never having hired or paid a wage, we do need change, but we need help from other smaller country’s, Switzerland , Denmark, people who know what they are doing and we still need to go back and negotiate and not pay all the bankers debts,,, and don’t take them to court, they are going to be fined most 2500, and we will pay courts millions to bring them there, its another farce,,,,,, rich stay rich and we the poorest will have to sell our own blood to pay for it,,, i am tired of all the carry-on and know we have not even started to pay for recession, this is a start, and very few will own a home if they have a mortgage taken in last 10 years, i am 50 and wont be able to come up with 95000 in 20 years to pay for it, so what’s the point,, let the government house me, let me get cheap home tax, its just not worth even trying any more, as we know once you pay each year that will go up also, German flag may as well start flying here, they dictate and our fools say of course, why do we pay a government here for a job being done by others,,,do we need more expensive figure heads,

• Kim 10/09/12 #

Right that’s it I’m off out to the shed to find my tin of paint, some pieces of large cardboard and dusting of my protesting boots all in time for December….. Looks like mine gonna need them BIG TIME!!!!! Bring it on Noonan

• Darren 11/09/12 #

Wow thanks for standing up for us against those really bad IMF guys minister Noonan. Your a really great guy.

• Related. Bray town council (Wicklow) is claiming that those who have paid the property tax are being punished as funding gas been cut by €1.5 million. So they honestly believe that I wouldn’t have been cut if we had all paid up? Can they really believe that?

• *has* *it*. Damn.

• Paul Walsh

Very simple. All the parties put out their Manifestos and then we had an Election. Fine Gael didn’t get enough votes to form a Government but they had the largest number of seats………is this answer a bit childish?……….so they negotiated with the Labour Party as the nearest to their political views and then the Manifestos of both were out the window and they agreed instead on a Programme for Government.
      This is the basis for stating that the electorate voted for a Coalition which is a statement of fact and that is why those who accuse the Parties of reneging on their Manifestos are simply wrong.

• Ryan'O 10/09/12 #

Doesn’t matter one bit. FG like last time will be out next GE. Labour are the new greens. Only a matter of time. And no I don’t care to speculate on who will be next in line as long as FG are out I’m a happy man.

• Have to laugh looking at the other article about the IMF on the journal. There seems to be a substantial amount of Irish people who still believe the IMF are good guys! I know for sure now that there no hope whatsoever for Ireland whilst lots of people hold the IMF in good stead.
    Think ill bury me head up me hole for a decade or two…. thats if theres any room in there what with the troika and gubbermint takin regular advantage of me! lol!

• Whatever % it comes out at (I’d say this is all spin talking 0.5% to soften us up for whatever figure they do come up with given 0.25% was touted by Govt recently) its going to be too much and an unfair burden on the majority of families. We feel like a pair of mugs for working hard in our 20s and saving to buy our own home, including a large chunk of Stamp Duty that we paid at the time of purchase. We’re lucky (barely) not to be in negative equity yet and our repayments are affordable at present but if things continue that can change rapidly.

At 0.5% for our modest little Dublin 3bed suburban home, this tax will be more than a months mortgage repayment for us. How the feck are families meant to stretch to that when we are under pressure with increasing utility prices, new water taxes, increasing petrol prices etc etc etc?

>:(

• Ryan'O 10/09/12 #

Well under FG and their austerity package which includes paying bondholders lots and lots of red cents that they don’t have to, you can be guaranteed its gonna get worse. Water charges and ever increasing cost of living will push the middle class working poor over the edge. And when it hits rock bottom for family’s nation wide you can all remember the failure of FG to deliver the promise of “not another red cent”……….!

• Unins, classic! Dont forget his millons and billons.

• The I.M.F are going to ryde the holes off us people if we dont stick up for ourselves we all know it deep down .How long are you prepared to get shafted.

• Noonan is an absolute disgrace! It is crystal clear what’s happening here. The IMF says 0.5% which equates to €1,000 per year for a house valued at €200k. Michael Noonan, “our knight in shining armour”, says absolutely no way IMF, then suddenly property tax has at least doubled year on year and Noonan comes out looking like a good guy as the Irish Public feel, “well its better than 0.5%”. Well done Michael, absolute master public manipulator. Well played IMF and Fine Gael, the Irish public won’t know what hit them

• See in a way no matter what anyone says or does, unfortunately us peasants lose out and its ppl on 100k an over who win! Inc govt! Nothing we do will change anything to be realistic so, who are we really kidding with comments, theyll do what they want and we will pick the tab up

• Out of cold dead hands! B#%*ards…

• Ryan'O 10/09/12 #

F-ing right paurice!

• Orion 10/09/12 #

why do people earning over 100k win? they will pay the same taxes etc introduced in this budget as you- how exactly is that winning?

• Maria 10/09/12 #

It will be taken from our wages as part of Paye so no choice

• Maria,

Not for those who work cash-in-hand.

• Those who work cash-in-hand are tax dodgers and are effectively stealing from taxpayers, ie, us. Thinking that tax evasion is acceptable is exactly the type of morally-flexible thinking that bankrupted this country.

• Kevin
      I genuinely want to know why someone on 100 grand gains or wins in this situation. What’s the answer?

• At a guess John, i’d say Una was referring to self emlpoyed who make their own tax returns i.e. taxi drivers, shop owners etc

• Because in my opionion, and i stress opinion, because other people can choose to think differently, its a free world. I think that people over 100k a year have the means to absorb more tax hikes. Now all i know is I see ALOT of unaffected people in new 2012 BMWs and new Audis. Now i obviously dont know peoples exact financial situation, this is based on my sights out an about. An extra 1,000 isnt much at all for someone on 100k. An extra 1000 for somebody on 25k is alot. Its common sense. Now i know there is alot of other things to be taken into consideration. Im just putting it in very simple terms

• @ Joseph – Fair enough then. I assumed that “cash-in-hand” was a euphemism for “under the table”. No-one likes paying tax, and there are many good reasons to reform the tax system to be fair, transparent and to make sure the money goes where it’s needed. But simply refusing to pay tax is not a noble political stance, no matter which way it’s spinned. even if the banking debt vanished overnight, there’s still a need for any Irish government to maximise tax revenue. Any politician or supporter who denies this is either lying or confused.

• Orion 10/09/12 #

Kevin Hunt nnI see where you are coming from but there are many flaws with that arguement- I could easily argue that the guy on 100k was more likely to have been able to borrow ridiculous sums of money in the boom- meaning he has less disposible income than the guy on 25k due to repayments etc- but its hardly the guy on 25k’s problem is it? Also what happened to equality? Surely the everyone has the same right to earn money ? Why penalise people for earning more? But its a recession so lets try and help everyone by sharing the burden- Fair enough… nnThe guy on 100k takes about 45k home after all income taxes/levies- how much tax does someone on 25k pay ? Not alot..nnIm not someone earning 25k or 100k- I am still a student and dont work yet- My ambition is to be very successful and to earn well in excess of 100k a year- I can just as easily do that in London if the Government decides to penalise people for being successful here…

• having read through all the comments here on this.hot poop topic it is very clear there is a game on. PR spin totally controlled by the civil service bods who got us where we are. press releases controlled and sanctioned by cabinet from IMF. An army of property valuers and auctioneers waiting in the wings to ‘value’ your property for tax assesment for a fee (another hidden charge) should you feel aggreived with a general local property ‘value’. water rates, meter instalation fees ongoing charges of same well watch as this fine land I call home implodes. opposition in the Dail is a waste of time when the.government can overrule EVERYTHING. Walk out of the dail and stay out and leave this sorry bunch of.scammers on their own lets face it what bloody difference will make ? Talk is cheap…action is what we need. good night Ireland.

• It’s all academic. The government needs to take an additional €15 BILLION over the next 3 years to reach a deficit of 0.5% (That’s what we voted for!)

We need a full bank debt write down and an extra 5 years to reach 0.5%. Our deficit as a % of GDP is worse that Greece!!

Consider this: Property tax @ 2%, Public sector pay cuts of 20%, social welfare cuts of 20% will bring in about €12 BILLION..
    Still €3 BILLION short, factor in reduced tax income as a result of a drop in spending……… anyone still feeling optimistic?

• Collins , I have no problem with property taxes ,if you read article properly my point was , if you pay a certain tax e.g road tax , it goes on road repair , water tax ,maintain good water quality , etc , our taxes mostly go into a bottomless pit eg public sector .

• Why are all you right wingers ( include Labour in that) so scared of SF’s growing popularity? Do you want to keep “ordinary people” in their place, working for nothing? Watch this space!! At the rate this Government is going, SF will have an overall majority at next GE. Heard Noonan on Drivetime talking about Unins. What are they? This creep was a teacher and can’t pronounce his words.

• I think a Unin is a shortened down version of Useless Noonan, no?

• Sorry Marie, i got that slightly wrong.
      A Unin is a measurement of stupidity. Its full name is a Useless Noonan.
      So for example if you wanted to rate Enda Kenny
      you could say I’d give him a score of 5 Unins etc
      With me?

• The ordinary people would be kept in their place by Sinn Féin alright. Especially if their representative Tim Jackson is anything to go by.

• I don’t think that the majority of voters are scared of SF, and I don’t think that the majority would necessarily be against a government in which SF were a part, but I do think that SF need to convince the electorate that they’re up to the job. Distancing themselves from their more looney and abusive supporters would be a good step. Not klumpig in every possible chance to grandstand would be another. There may be a decent party in there somewhere, but they need to cut away the deadwood and the poisoned branches, and to generally stop acting like a hard-line minority party.

• Alien8 11/09/12 #

Marie, people are not scared of sinn fein. Most of the time they disagree with their extreme marxist ideology, and understand that there is a lot of populist rhetoric to try and achieve power, but not fear. The reason why most people still find Sinn Fein unpalatable is because they have experienced the horrors that sinn fein have visited of people of Ireland, and the individuals involved have not gone away. Every time a respectable sinn fein politician like Pearce Doherty comes along, right behind him will be the terror of the past in Adams, McGuinness and Ferris. People who have no problem organising maiming when it suited them, and anyone who has grown up with Sinn Fein councillors nearby knew the devastation that led to. It is disheartening to see potential feasible opposition being tarnished by these monsters.

As soon as sinn Fein becomes democratic, and replace the bogeymen from the positions of power in the party, then they have a chance of being accepted by more than the Border counties and impoverished areas, but until then understand that it is not fear, it’s weariness. And like Tim’s responses, unless you know that these don’t work, then don’t try to understand why people cannot allow SF Into arguments, never mind power.

• Good Cop, Bad Cop……..

• Can they please go back on their holidays. They just back a week and are wrecking my head already. Badly worked spin is the order of the day. FG and Lab are dead men walking.

• StemC 10/09/12 #

This is just typical spin. The IMF tell the paddies to introduce a 0.5% property tax and the gubbermint put on this act as our saviours and say no they won’t have it and it will only be half that. For now. They’ve been good little boys for the last two years or so and are looking for a deal on the debt so the rubbish that they are standing up to the IMF all of a sudden is just that. Rubbish.

• The thoughts of quoting Sinn Féin on economics is quite funny.

• Union Jack???

• No Gis it is not a Union Jack.

• what is it exactly Patrick or what does it represent ? I mean I know its basically a union jack with the harp on it and the cross of saint Patrick removed but is it related to something?

• It is the Flag of the Commonwealth of Britain and Ireland from 1653–1659.

After the parliamentarians were victorious in the English Civil War and Charles I was executed, Oliver Cromwell became Lord Protector. A genocidal maniac who thought he was on a mission from God ravaged Ireland and became de facto dictator of Britain.

I would rank this flag as offensive to Ireland as a Nazi Swastika to Jews. Obviously Patrick chose this flag as a means of showing support to Cromwell and a big F you to Irish natives.

• @Bilbo. I think it is the Lord Protector flag from Cromwells era when the UK did not have a King and it replaced the Union Jack on the UK Naval Fleet of the time. It looks like it but I am sure Patrick can confirm of deny it. Some UK Republicans use it as (as in UK citizens who want to see the monarchy removed and want the UK to become a Republic)

• Say for example, if the IMF want to charge €10 for a loaf of bread and Noonan argues that €5 should be cost, surely the Irish citizen will be getting bread at a 50% reduction. Isn’t this the same formula used in proposed property tax.

• nice move by Noonan,, throw it out to the public with scary figures and blame the IMF, then he can pretend to be the big hero and stand up to the IMF and say no way Jose those figures are Punitive, he reduces the figures mentioned ( initially made up by him), the public are again duped and he walks away with his usual smug attitude!!….
    checkmate!

• .5% of what?

• Depressed

• Why the hell are we paying out our backsides for the greedy politicians of this country and the bankers, it’s their mess…they make a lot more than we do so why the hell aren’t they taking the payouts. Nothing but corruption in the dail and the banks and making the average joe soap pay for their overspending and the banks idiotic lending. There is approximately 4 Million people in Ireland. On September 1st 2012 1BILLION EURO went to one unsecured bondholder (paid by us), that works out at €250 from every person in this country. Now there,s €64.1 BILLION that is the BANKS AND GOVERNMENTS fault which means that €16,000 from each person in this country will be put back into the RECAPITALISATION of the banks, nevermind paying off the IMF! , ESMS etc with their interest rates.

In 2011 Ireland’s GDP (gross domestic product) was 41%.
    In 2012 Taoiseach announces he wants to reduce to 3% by 2016.
    This means taking €13 BILLION to give to BANKS, BONDHOLDERS and GOVERNMENTS. (which will be taken from every average citizen of Ireland, EXCEPT for the high rollers who earn €211,000 a year :maybe more, maybe less: .

Now the people of Ireland were never given a choice in the “blanket guarantee” and now we,re not being given a choice in gettin our money cut down to the bare minimum while the jokers of the government, banks, bondholders swan around on their nice big wallets yet they can’t take a paycut???

How is this fair??????

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• I think the property tax should be depending on the house’s location and sq meters of the house. At least how it’s being calculated in other countries. Shouldn’t be based on household income otherwise it becomes one another income tax.

• I don’t know which part of this the government, IMF ECB et al, don’t understand-the majority of people have said NO and whether they like it or not that is an end to it! But, this is only going to get worse for these economic ‘hitmen’ who think they control things; when the people who unwisely, in my opinion, registered for (ie consented to) this new tax, because that is what it is, get the bills next year, their resistance will be added to the already majority movement. The government, IMF, ECB et al have lost this one, but, as with the Euro, which should be consigned to history as soon as possible, they will ‘kick the can down the road’ like carefree children thinking they will get their way-they will not! I would add also that this coalition will not ‘serve’ (that always makes me laugh) a full term because the majority of people have seen through them. People are sick to the gills with party politics and I predict a new political force will emerge before the next election and it will be one that works for Ireland’s best interest rather than for a bunch of foreign banking gangsters.

• Although this budget us in the bag,i can see noonan knows the IMF,can’t push him,they have enough coming down the track so,he knows they can’t hold us to ransom as strong as previously, that would b very unstabling in the euro. area, ….

Add New Comment