TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

In full: Gerry Adams statement on decision for McGuinness to meet Queen

The Sinn Féin’s president’s full statement announcing the decision that will see a historic first in the Northern Ireland peace process.

Gerry Adams at a press conference at Sinn Féin HQ in Dublin today.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN LEADER Gerry Adams delivered the following statement after a meeting of the party’s Ard Comhairle today where it was decided that Martin McGuinness would meet Queen Elizabeth II in Belfast next week.

Mar is eol daoibh uilig, fuair Martin Mc Guinness cuireadh ó Co-operation Ireland a bheith i láthair ag ócáid i mBéal Feirste an tseachtain seo chugainn chun na healaíonn agus an cultúr ar fud na hÉireann a cheiliúradh.

As you all know Martin McGuinness has received an invitation from Co-operation Ireland to attend an event in Belfast next week to celebrate the arts and culture across Ireland.

The Co-operation Ireland event will also be attended by the President of Ireland, the Queen of England and by First Minister Peter Robinson.

It is unconnected with the Jubilee.

Mar go gciallaíonn seo go gcasfaí Martin Mc Guinness le banríon na Breataine beidh seo iontach deacair ag Poblachtaigh agus ar Náisiúnaithe a d’fhulaing faoi lámha fhórsaí na Breataine in Éirinn thar na blianta.

Because this involves Martin meeting the British monarch this will cause difficulty for Republicans and nationalists who have suffered at the hands of British forces in Ireland over many decades.

However, in the context of conflict resolution and national reconciliation, as well as our own republican national objectives, the Sinn Fein Ard Chomhairle agreed that Martin should accept the invitation.

This is a significant initiative involving major political and symbolic challenges for Irish republicans.

As the record of the peace process demonstrates Irish republicans have frequently been prepared to take bold and historic initiatives and risks for peace to break stalemates and find agreements.

Is Sinn Féin páirtí Poblachtach Éireannach agus is Ath aontú na hÉireann agus neamhspleachas na hÉireann ár príomh chuspóir polaitiúil.

Sinn Fein is an Irish republican party whose primary political objective is the re-unification and independence of Ireland.

We have a coherent and viable strategy for the achievement of these democratic objectives, including the end of partition and unifying the people of this island through a genuine process of national reconciliation and transformation.

So, Sinn Féin is about nation building. Sinn Féin is for an Ireland of Equals in which there is space for everyone and for all identities.

An Ireland in which all our citizens can live comfortably and in harmony and mutual respect. Sinn Féin is for a new dispensation in which a citizen can be Irish and unionist.

Where one can also claim Britishness and be comfortable on this island Poblacht Nua ina bhfuil Glas agus Oraiste aontaithe  – Sin í an fís atá againne.

Our vision of a new Republic is one in which the Orange and Green unite in a cordial union. Today’s decision reflects a confident, dynamic, forward looking Sinn Féin demonstrating our genuine desire to embrace our unionist neighbours.

It reflects the equality and parity of esteem arrangements which are now in place. Tuigim go mbeidh an cinneadh seo crua agus an-deacair ag daoine, go háirithe ag íobartaigh fhorasaí na Breataine in Éirinn.

I accept that this decision will cause genuine and understandable difficulties for some people, not least some of the victims of the British crown forces in Ireland.

It is clear that legacy issues have to be dealt with and Sinn Féin will continue to engage in that work. Today’s decision is the right thing to do at the right time and for the right reasons.

I ask all Sinn Féin members and all republicans to support this initiative. I would urge everyone, everywhere on this island to take ownership of our future. The people of this island deserve the very best society that can be created.

I believe this initiative it will contribute in a symbolic yet significant way to this necessary work.

Read: Sinn Féin’s Martin McGuinness to meet Queen Elizabeth

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (25 Comments)

• I enjoyed reading that statement, a positive hopeful thing in such desolate times.

• Barry, this symbolizes the total end to the distrust and animosity that the Nationalist population have had towards the symbolic leader of the British armed forces. It really is a big deal. It will be recorded in History Books, but folks like yourself still don’t get it. Sad, because you should be celebrating and supporting this endeavor, it affects all the people on the Island.

• mcbab 22/06/12 #

Cal calm down and get over yourselves. This was drawn out all day by SF attention seekers. Do they not realise we have our lives to lead and couldn’t give a toss wether mcguinness shakes the Queens hand or not.

• Well McB in the grand scheme of things there are plenty of people who couldnt give a toss about your opinion. If you couldnt care less save your typing fingers the effort and dont bother commenting.

• Ignore mcbab Ann. They didn’t teach irony in his school. lol. Why don’t you take the evening off mcbab and stop commenting. :-D

• A handshake that turned into an arm wrestle…

• I am glad , there is an old saying, when you dig a grave in anger dig two, we must difficult as it is to learn to stop hating it’s negative and I don’t want my Grandchildren growing up believing the Irish don’t forgive I for one think if we can move on still remembering the victims in our heart , then we have everything to gain by trying….

• i am sick and tired of all you do gooders. was bloody Sunday a big deal? of course it was as she is the chief of staff of the British armed forces she would of ordered British soldiers to be at that march. you Irish are quick to forget what other sides have done to your people but are quick to have a go at sinn fein for standing up for their principles. is it ok for enda to shake obamas hand? a man who has bombed more countries than George bush? serious people get a grip the record is getting old now.
    and im no member of sinn fein,
    i don’t vote for them,
    im not a supporter.
    but please change your tune.

• Thankfully Stephen – not all of us Irish suffer with mid to short memory loss. And while I will never forget the crimes the British Monarchy carried out against us, I grudgingly agree that it is probably time to move on. Doesnt mean I would shake her hand or wave her on should she ever return.

• @Stephen..
      Nice post..
      The do gooders cloak can also be a great disguise for cowardliness, I’m alright Jack syndrome or just a simple lack of patriotism..
      I feel shame when i think of any international person reading through these comments (made by so called Irish people)…
      It has ‘I don’t care’ written all over it..
      So much fro the pride of the Irish. :(

• Wait, you think it was the Queen who ordered the Parachute Regiment out on Bloody Sunday?

• And if your one of your immediate family (parent, sibling, child, wife) were murdered by British soldiers, or a paramilitary organisation, regardless of which colour they represent, could you get over it and move on. Me thinks not, and if you truly think you could be that forgiving well fair play to you, because I dont think I could be. As for her majesty, I think the whole monarchy thing is outdated and irrelevant.

• Bruce 22/06/12 #

And the innocent people murdered in birmingham, gilford, warwickshire etc. And the ultimate insult from martin and gerry was to leave innocent irish people rot in jails for the english bombings. So forgive me if I care very little for marty and gerrys sensitivities.

• Bruce – you need to re read what I wrote. I will now repeat myself just for you

…….” British soldiers, or a paramilitary organisation, REGARDLESS OF WHICH COLOUR THEY REPRESENT”.

Can you read that bit now – I put it in capitals in case the writing was too small and you missed it. Guess it’s you who is blinkered with animosity given you have forgotten about the dead and mutilated in the Dublin Monaghan bombings when the loyalists were colluding with Majes forces and police.

• Barry 22/06/12 #

Seriously???

These guys have to issue a statement about him meeting the queen, jesus lads its not a big bloody deal so stop trying to make it into one

Move on already and stop living in the past the lot of you,

• and im all for building bridges and moving on i don’t discriminate against my own people as most do on this. unionist, nationalist, catholic, protestant, Presbyterian, Jew, Muslim and atheist we are all the same we all bleed red. And as for Elizabeth Windsor she did not apologise for her past orders she gave to her armed forces. I actually believe sinn fein are being the bigger person in this case. and they have in the past done bad things but please don’t get on here and be the typical cynical Irish and just look for a reason to be negative. if we want to point fingers at who is to blame its very easy the answer is a Mr Ian Paeisly who started the troubles by burning out catholic shopkeepers in portodown. and Marty has worked with him in the past so don’t be a hypocrite its you the Irish people who are the ones don’t forgive or forget.

• Bruce 22/06/12 #

Who really cares? Martin and gerry: two old men frightened by an even older woman.
    By the way, gerry, lots of innocent english people have with the queen shaking hand of ira commander.

• ‘I accept that this decision will cause genuine and understandable difficulties for some people, not least some of the victims of the British crown forces in Ireland.’

What about those that suffered by the actions of the IRA?? There were suffering on both sides, stop living the past Gerry and move on! When I first heard it was agreed the leader of SF will meet the queen, I though finally SF are moving on from the past. But this statement just shows, they are not quiet there yet!! Move on, the Queen apologised for the suffering caused by her armed forces, time for SF/IRA to return the gesture and apologise too.

• I wish that relics like Gerry Adams would retire

• So a British man meets the Queen ……. What’s the fuss about?

• Now it all becomes clear…Years of murder and misery the end result this travesty…ha ha…May tha spirit of tha hound torment youre corrupt souls for all times!!

Add New Comment