TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

No Dublin event – for now – to welcome Ireland’s Olympians home

Ireland’s 66 Olympians are thought to want to get home and see their families and friends before having any public events.

Rugby fans attend a homecoming for the Ireland rugby team after the 2009 Grand Slam win. A similar event had been proposed for Monday to welcome Ireland's Olympians.
Image: James Horan/Photocall ireland

IRELAND’S OLYMPIC ATHLETES will not be attending any public homecoming event, as a group, after they return from the London 2012 Games on Monday afternoon.

Authorities in Dublin City Council had been preparing to host crowds welcoming Ireland’s 66 Olympians when they officially return home in two days’ time.

But the council says the remaining Irish athletes who’ll be departing after tomorrow night’s closing ceremony are simply worn out after two weeks of events – and would prefer to spend some time at home first.

However, TheJournal.ie understands that plans are being made to hold a formal State event honouring Ireland’s participants at Farmleigh in about a fortnight’s time, once the Olympians had been given a chance to spend some time at home first.

A formal reception at Áras an Úachtaráin is also likely to be held in the next few months. Either of these two events may be combined with a public reception in the capital.

Individual town councils are still likely to hold events honouring their own athletes, with events planned in Bray and Mullingar to honour those towns’ respective boxing medallists, Katie Taylor and John Joe Nevin.

A Dublin City Council spokesman said the council had looked into holding an open-air event on Dawson Street, outside the Mansion House – similar to that held after Ireland’s rugby team won the Six Nations in 2009 – to “give the public a chance to show their appreciation”.

The Olympic Council of Ireland had indicated, however, that the athletes felt they would “like to go home to their families, their communities and their friends” whenever they could.

The athletes “have been away in competition for a good while now,” the spokesman said.

On the road for weeks

The Olympics officially started 15 days ago, though some athletes will have been away in training camps ahead of the games – while track athletes had little break after the European athletics championships in Helsinki, which ended less than three weeks before London 2012.

A Dublin Airport Authority spokesman also indicated that athletes “are tired and want to be reunited with friends and family”.

The DAA understood at the athletes’ preference “is not to have such an event at this time,” the spokesman said. “We fully respect that decision.”

While the airport will facilitate a press conference on Monday, this will be held in a restricted airside area and will not be open for public entry.

Irish athletes have so far won five medals at London 2012, equalling the all-time record haul from Melbourne 1956.

On that occasion, Ireland won one gold, one silver and three bronze medals – a tally will at least be matched by the 2012 team, and may be bettered if Nevin can turn his silver medal to gold in his bantamweight final tonight.

Read: Between us and our dreams: Who is Luke Campbell?

Fun: Have you been playing the Google Olympics?

Read next:

Comments (47 Comments)

• jaysus….. like been invited to a party as guest of honour n then told to feck off! its not a super sweet sixteen party lads. Do they not realise that to get increased funding then need to capitalise on the people wanting to show them support. those who couldnt be at the games or afford tickets.

this shouldnt be about just the medalists but the whole team. Most of em will feel down coz they didnt do as well as they would have liked. surely the best remedy for that is to have the thousands of irish fans cheering them on.

its not like an olympics happens every year. Most of em won’t have competed for days . the flight is only 45 minutes.

you can’t suggest on one hand that you don’t get enough support and funding and then turn around n say we don’t want to be part of the celebrations thrown in their honor . bad move from the team and who ever is organizing them. what message does it say to the kids they have inspired thus far. its like being stood up for the prom!

• Someone should explain to that Tai geezer that you have to QUALIFY for the Olympics and then BEAT the other top athletes in the world. As well as that there are 13 weight divisions and Ireland are the top boxing medal winners. As well as that the irish team got the whole country united behind them for the past 2 weeks in a way that hasn’t been seen in recent memory. Great Achievement That!

• Clearly missing the point,top athlete in amateur female boxing??like who please give me few names i’ll wait!,im not discrediting a fine performance by irish boxers they did well in their respective sports which is admirable but the media hysteria is laughable,this is the first year female boxing was involved in the olympics hardly competitive come back to me after rio,sure ireland will reunite over any sport that has irish competitors,rugby when ireland won six nations,cricket when ireland beat some heavyweights,will anyone watch amateur boxing after the olympics no why because its a nothing sport unless the athletes go pro,i respect any athlete but going overboard with the praise is ridiculous yes she did well but all that katie for president crap is rubbish,derval o’rourke finished a good 4th in the womens hurdles a way more competitive sport,stop going ott on a sport in its infancy its almost as bad as the english and their track cycling,oh with the medal haul slovenia have a population of 2mil,they have 1 more medal than ireland ps. i support all irish sports and sportpeople

• Couldn’t we have something for the public in a few weeks in College Green when they get a well deserved rest? Or an open top bus!

• Any money that would be spent on this would be better spent feeding the homeless.

• Government; save money on Olympic homecoming by putting them on the big red tourist bus and let out run it’s route!

• John 11/08/12 #

Why do you guys celebrate really bad performances? I was here for the football and saw thousands of fans on TV happily celebrating being the worse soccer team in the European Cup. Why are you always proud just to be at these things and celebrate being last? Now I guess millions of you guys will take to the streets to rejoice in one gold medal and a couple of bronze in amateur sports with few competitors. Ireland’s a great country and the Irish are a great people but why be so proud and happy always loosing? I for one would be too embarrassed to line the streets cheering loosers. Im the last week I heard Irish radio presenters crying, a star struck tv presenter listing what ‘famous’ people were saying about your gold medalist and reading a Journal headline about how an entire nation was ‘dreaming’ Does it not make you guys cringe? Crazy Irish!! :-)

• It’s called support John. Oh, and you forgot the guaranteed silver and potential gold if tonight goes well.

• Eh john why did your parents support you and bring you up when it is clear that you are a muppet!

if alcohol wasnt invented you probably wouldnt have been born!

Regarding our irish sporting greats we support them through good times and bad. thats what friends are for! i’d hate to have to depend on you for anything. are ya only a sing when ur winning supporter.

• John 11/08/12 #

Is it not over the top though? I mean by all means ‘support’ athletes but why do the Irish always celebrate losing? Radio presenters crying over a gold medal is way over the top, as is an open top bus homecoming for one of the worst teams in the Olympics. Countries like Lithuania and Slovenia with much smaller populations got more medals than Ireland!! Its very embarrassing and its very strange to foreigners visiting your shores. A gold medal in female boxing, one of the least popular sports in the world. To see you all on TV crying and going crazy anyone would think your lives were going to change because of Katie, that Jesus was walking on the Liffey or that you all won the lottery!!

• eh john…. have you not watched any of the commentary on the bbc? wetting themselves over mo farah n co…

Get over yourself. what are you doing on an irish site if you just want to incite hatred and troll. says more about you as a person than us .

you not even worth wasting time replying to ya. but you are obviously deluded in some way. All the participants deserve praise for all the hard work and training they do. its a fine line between winning and losing. thats what makes sport and olympics exciting.

btw lithuania and slovenia don’t have more medals than us . so get ur facts straight. Trolls are bad enough but uneducated trolls are unforgivable!

• john. my poor deluded sasanach. ireland have a final in boxing tonight so we have at least another silver in the bag. probably gold when we beat the british fighter!

So again get ur facts straight. yes i have mental problems dealing with muppets like your good self. Coz i can’t think how someone could be so stupid and not be in some kind of home for trolls!

so not you also think womens boxing is not a real sport. you wouldn’t last 2 seconds with katie taylor in the ring. so you are a sexist as well as a racist! jog on before you burst one of the last few remaining brain cells you have like a good little boy.

Can’t believe i’m still feeding this troll! shame on me!

• John 11/08/12 #

You can’t even write in English, and trying to be funny getting your accent across is very, very embarrassing to watch.

• John 11/08/12 #

Your grammar and spelling deserve an open top bus celebration also. This is so funny, a guy calling people stupid yet he cant even write in his native language lol

You might want to look up ‘sexist’ and ‘racist’ in the dictionary also……

I have tears in my eyes laughing at this guy lol

• I really don’t want to feed the troll, but dammit …

John, if you wish to point your crooked claw at another person’s inability to type correctly you may wish to double-check your own punctuation and grammar first.

• Shame they won’t share their success with the people of Ireland. Mick Dowling said the boxers alone have got €6 millon in grants ….. Just a pity cos they brought such joy the last few weeks.

• Apart from the boxers,cian o connor and annalise murphy who do deserve some form of recognition wether it is at local level or a more national level there is no reason to celebrate a track and field team that performed poorly…not one athelete made it to a final in any track and field event.so lets not get carried away with putting on a welcome home party…anyway we could not have a welcome party all the politician hanger ons that crawl out of the wood work on these occassions are on holiday so no opportunity for photographs … so when enda,eamo and leo return from their holiday we will have the official reception….in respect of the money recieved by the relevant bodies that is what the lottery was originally set up for until politicians got to dole out the money…€6m for boxers yet katie taylor had no toilet or showers in her training facility….when enda kenny visited katies training facility he was reported as been shocked and to put in for the grant for a shower and toilet on the next round of grants…a benefactor in monaghan then stepped up to pay for the works not the lottery….so instead of a opportunity for politicians to get in on the medalists moment in the sun let the local towns celebrate the home comings

• Some are already home – Cian O’Connor and Annalise Murphy, to mention two.

• Thanks Gavin…just that reading comments on here about him winning the medal is like a white elephant in the room,not many people particularly seem willing to congratulate him and I was wondering had he actually been found guilty….

• DCC have just have their budget cut by by 50% and let’s not forget Enda Kenny has just invited William and Kate over to Ireland for a formal visit , this will cost us (Dublin City Council) the tax payer millions , we know where his priorities lie …

• No bid deal about not having a home coming. We tend to go over the top on these things in a very cringeworthy way when they are not really required. Invite them up to the Park for tea and leave it that.

Actually, I’m quite surprised on how quiet politicians have been on the various wins.

• Sure Tokidoll.
    If you behave and eat your dinner.

• peter 11/08/12 #

Most of them were rubbish actually tell a lie all of them except Analise Murphy, the boxing team, o Conor and the walker were all awful so id say they would be a bit embarrassed at the thoughts of a homecoming. If their not embarrassed at that then that’s kind of embarrassing in itself.

• I can understand 4or5 athletes that done well being worn out but the rest of them were knocked out in the first round of their events so how would they be worn out,most of them shouldn’t even have been there,they were an embarrassment,just put all the money into the boxers an scrap the rest

• Too right. Dublin is a dump. I’d prefer to see it anywhere else!!

• Any excuse for a piss-up!

• It’s not the boxers putting a stop to this event ! Its prob DCC

• @john ..3 words John ..go f$&k yourself!!

• You would think the way people are going on ireland just topped the medal table at the olympics,a gold medal in an amateur sport with very few competitors,and 2 bronze medals great achievement that!

• In which event did YOU win Gold?

• lets see. ireland 5 medals with a population of 4 million. England 60 medals with a population of 60 plus million. china 81 medals with a population of a billion. America 94 medal with a population of 250 million.

So per head of population we have done better than any of those country per capita. if we were america we’d have over 300 medals. if we were china we’d have over a billion medals. if we were ingerland we’d have over 90 medals….

so yeah . in a way we did top the medals table! If there was a olympics for maths we’d win that too! lol

• @Paddy I sure hope that you won’t be competing in the math Olympic. It’s 1,000 medals China would receive by that ratio not a billion :)

• lol…i was just making sure people were reading the post john…..lol well done you get the star! :)

• @ john …….hope u don’t get picked either….lol…. it would be 1250 medals if we were china! lol…. which of course is what i meant to say . if i wasnt so upset at this news that we can’t show our love for our hard working athletes !

• Tai we are a tiny country we did good punched way above our weight if you will pardon the pun.

• alan 11/08/12 #

has to include everybody. if only to spare cian oconnor the obvious shame he must feel in the company of those whose efforts are all above board and who are a credit to thier respective sports

• too true alan, Cian made sure this time his horse wasnt not allowed down to the local corner to hang out with his druggy hommies .. you just cant trust who those horse are hanging around with. your such a dope.

• Here comes a stupid question but I’ve never read confirmation- Was it ever actually confirmed that Cian O’ Connor was involved in the drugging of his horse 4 years ago?

• Off-topic, but:

The International Federation of Equestrian Sports accepted O’Connor’s explanation that the drugs were administered by a vet, and not O’Connor himself, and that this had been to treat an injury to the horse. The FEI accepted that the drug was not intended to improve the horse’s performance, but held that nonetheless the result could not be allowed to stand. O’Connor did not appeal.

• alan 11/08/12 #

but there was more to the story than that. sample stolen, files going missing etc.

as well as this, the defence that o’connor himself didnt take proscribed drugs and that the vet adminsitered the drugs to the horse is ridiculous. it is the horse who is doing the jumping and it is the vet who administers the drugs

o’connor was wise not to appeal the verdict against him. god knows what would have been revealed then

Add New Comment