TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Public Accounts Committee member wants probe into Irish overseas aid

Fine Gael TD Simon Harris has called for the powerful Dáil committee to investigate Irish overseas aid following the misappropriation of millions of euro sent to Uganda.

Simon Harris
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A MEMBER OF the Dáil’s powerful Public Accounts Committee wants it to investigate the spending of Irish overseas aid in the wake of the revelations that millions of euro sent to Uganda was misappropriated.

Fine Gael TD Simon Harris has written to the chair and clerk of the PAC requesting special hearings by the committee into the issue of how Irish overseas is being spent and what checks are in place to ensure it is being utilised appropriately.

It follows the suspension of Irish Aid money to Uganda last week after a report from the country’s Auditor General found that as much as €4 million in funding was misappropriated by the office of the African country’s prime minister.

Irish Aid officials are now investigating the matter with Tánaiste and Foreign Affairs Minister Eamon Gilmore announcing the suspension of aid and reportedly declaring that it will not be resumed until all the money is returned.

The Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi told RTÉ yesterday that he did not receive any of the misappropriated money and insisted some of the funds were used for their intended purpose.

Harris says that the public’s confidence in overseas aid projects has been shaken by the news in recent days and says that they now need “answers and assurances” about aid projects.

“Ireland and Irish taxpayers have continued to support overseas aid projects despite the economic difficulties in our own country,” he said in a statement issued this afternoon.

“It is absolutely essential that these funds are spent correctly, arrive in the destination they are intended to and that the State has the appropriate checks and balances in place to ensure that this happens.

The Wicklow TD went on to say: “We need the PAC to call before it all the appropriate officials as quickly as possible so we can get to the bottom of this and, in a public session, provide answers on this important matter.”

Read: Ugandan prime minister: ‘I didn’t receive misappropriated Irish money’

Poll: Should Ireland distribute foreign aid while it is in a bailout?

Read: Irish Aid: Tánaiste “absolutely disgusted” after alleged Uganda aid fraud

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• Borrowing money to give away in aid is insane. The message it sends out to the EU and the rest of the world reflects the lack of intelligence of the people running Ireland. WE ARE BROKE.

• yeah, yeah yeah

unless its mega-billions for white-collar split-derivative bundled sub-prime slurry pushers.

Most of the people, most of the time is ALL it takes.

can ye not smell a red-rotten herring when its waved in your face?

Or are ye all on the FG payroll?

• Frank 2521
      I do think that there should be checks on cash going to other countries as charity , but We are not broke . Not when the current government can give billions of euros a year away to ”white-collar split-derivative bundled sub-prime slurry pushers.” (great description Damien)

• Ta, Eileen..
      ..somebody up there doesn’t agree by the look of the reds.

• Before the PAC tried taking a splinter out of someone else’s eyes, how about they take one out of our own and sort our the 11+ Million alone in expenses issue that they are still stalling on?

The PAC should be starting at home trying to sort out the many TDs who are screwing the public – before they then have time to go elsewhere to others!

The TD’s just gave themselves more money last week on the very quiet and this is on top of already massive perks and expenses!
    …But shush… lets distract the people and say others elsewhere are bad instead and deflect away from our own government crooks in power!

• 11 + Million.

The Irish examiner said the other that that next year our TDS, senators etc etc will get approx €497,500 EACH a year.

This is a disgrace as it will be the tax payer forking out for this, it’s the tax payer forking out for this “aid”, its the tax payer forking out for the IMF, banks etc etc the list goes on and on and yet they are the ones telling us we need to tighten our belts.

This government and previous governments are shameful to the Irish people as they have done nothing but screwed them over for their own benefit and I am sick to death of it!

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• @ Cathrine

Aye, here is the news link: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/dail-a-joke-as-112m-spend-passed-212032.html

The antics of them is unreal.
      Take for example Ciaran Cannon, of ex-Progressive Democrats (PD’s).The former PD now in the ranks of Fine Gael (FG) has alone reportedly racked up €27,000 since taking office in March last year.
      His role as a JUNIOR minister with a wage of €130,000 a year, hasn’t stopped him from claiming expenses where he could along the way. For example he reportedly pocketed:

Last year, €16,323.76 from tax payers in personal mileage claims – this year for the first eight months he’s clocked up €12,314.15 for same, so far. In total since his election, more than €26,000 (and thats not including his actual drivers own subsistence! They got more than €7,500 off the state (again you and everyone else) last year and so far this year €8,500.)
      What has he also claimed as “expenses” ?

Cuff-links from Clery’s – €149.01

Clock from Kilkenny shop – €256.41

Clock from Clery’s – €363.34

One lunch alone from Leinster House – €108.75

Personal Compliment slips €311.45

Letterheads for his paper – €341.22

Tea and sandwiches, personal office – €59.02

Persona business refreshment! – €29.50

Biscuits & coffee, Leinster House – €59.00.

His personal air fares cost the public €4,477.52 last year even though he was only elected since March, while the deputy has beaten this figure already this year – running up a bill for €5,362 already in the first eight months. (His China visit by the way, an ‘education mission’ happened to occur during the public holiday of St Patricks day.) A number of his international trips, called or described just as ‘informal’ meetings. One of these trips to Malaysia cost the state last September €3,698 alone – and thats excluding flights.

Official figures show that his claimed personal subsistence while going abroad have more than doubled this year in comparison to last year. It appears even the ferrying of him around where ever he want to go is costing the state a bucket-load too… Further data released under the Freedom of Information Act shows that Cannon cost the public €487.00 in foreign car hire alone for this June while in the following July for example too, he cost the state (*cough – you*) €754.00.

Besides the €2,130 needed to pay for his office phone costs in March alone, he also gets his Galway home phone bill paid by the state as well as his mobile phone costs. O’ and the state usually pays for the phone itself too!

All the above are just some of the perks of a single JUNIOR minister. Recession? What recession!

My post: http://bigginsblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/irish-tds-award-themselves-more-money/

• Biggins31 – those figures are galling.

• @ Éamonn Mac Eochaidh

…And he is just one JUNIOR minister.
      The big boys get more!

• Biggins31
      It is amazing to think that these people can justify these figures in their own minds . It is this play down of the facts that have the rest of us feeling inadequate and that we are just being petty. Thank you for those figures . That kind of money is scandalous no matter who you are while there are country men women and children below the poverty line.

• Thanks .Biggins .

• All overseas aid should be cancelled immediately. It angers me that the govt can throw this money away MY tax money and we have no say in it just so they can look good in front of their mates in Europe. Were borrowing money to give away. This guy nicks 4 million that we know of, it cost 3 million to buy cars for the entire Garda Force and to get that was like drawing blood from a stone yet they couldnt care less about the mass haemorrhage of taxpayer money to buy weapons and fighterjets in Africa.

• It’s not our money go give away. stop sending any money abroad until we sort out our finances.

• 75 million is used to pay Bertie, Cowan, Harney Etc, that is borrowed Troika cash and far worse in my opinion

• Richie
      The problem with your comment is that the Irish people who had full knowledge of the Public Service and thus TD’s salaries and Pensions elected Bertie and Co not once or twice but three times before they destroyed our Sovereignty. I think the public have to accept some co-responsibility.

• Foreign aid = Taking money from poor people and giving it to rich people in poorer countries.

• Taoiseach no more monetary aid anywhere . Look around you , the Irish People are suffering we have spent our savings trying to keep our heads over water. We reel in pain when you send our taxes away to despots in Africa who pocket our taxes without a whim and laugh at our foolishness. We are hurting badly , reading of your big salaries and comfortable easy pensions in the SS . Our blood boils to hear of your 180 AIB on 100k plus when they borrow at .01% from the ECB and charge us 7/8/9% on our loans. Our conscience is telling us this is not right , this is not what life is about , this cannot be allowed to go on , we should organise, its all that we have left , we have to take our lives back .

• I would see this as a no brainer.Suspend ALL foreign aid until the eu give us a much better deal on our debt payments!

• @ mick o neill – Are you suggesting the following : Poor taxpayers in a rich country (Gemany) should be forced to provide foreign aid to a poorer country (Ireland) so it can give it to it’s rich people (Rich Gamblers) so as to get the consent of even poorer taxpayers (Irish) to allow their tax money to be given to rich people (corrupt officials) in even poorer countries?

• Fair play to Simon Harris.

• Kevin cooney.The way I see it,why should we be giving any foreign aid to countries outside the EU at the moment when we have thousands of people either living on the streets,living with the reality of food poverty not to mention not being able to pay their mortgages.We are being hit by austerity but as a whole we with the help of our eu colleagues are moving forward and digging ourselves out of this hole and all Irish people should be proud of this!But it is time to baton the hatches until such time we are back to an even keel and have a good credit rating.Just sayin…

• Agree that the public’s confidence in Overseas Development Aid has been shaken but not convinced that there’s a need for the PAC to get involved. Irish Aid already has an evaluation and audit unit that examines how its budget is distributed and makes the reports available to the public and the Government TDs.

It’s a disgrace that our funds were being misappropriated in Uganda but the crime was detected and the aid stopped immediately. In general, Irish Aid does a great job and the effectiveness of the money spent has been consistently ranked among the best in the world. It’s nonsense to suggest that Ireland directly funds African regimes to buy weapons or prop up war lords in corrupt states. There’s plenty of info out there on what our overseas aid budget does and yet the lazy comments keep rolling in.

• Cancel all overseas aid and embargo on the african tin pot governments and it’s citizens having any link or access to European governments until they get their priorities correct. Too long have we seen constant wars, famines and tribal rivalry take place with no end in sight o. Should have a aid austerity out in place.

• Al 30/10/12 #

It should be mandatory for people who are elected to have a history/ educational qualification in the area they are looking after – this would help such things like this not happen. Might help with all our corruption too

Add New Comment