TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Should Ireland distribute foreign aid while it is in a bailout?

With the government suspending aid to Uganda yesterday, we’re asking should Ireland be distributing foreign aid while still under the terms of a bailout?

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

YESTERDAY, THE GOVERNMENT announced that it was suspending direct aid to the Ugandan government and investigating the loss of as much as €4 million which may have been misappropriated.

The news will raise new questions about funding devoted to Irish Aid. The budget this year is €639 million but this has been reduced dramatically since 2008 when it was close to €1 billion. Funding goes towards NGOs like Concern, GOAL and other missionary groups as well as building infrastructure and providing humanitarian assistance in developing countries.

But with Ireland currently facing a deficit of around €13 billion this year and subject to the strict conditions of an international bailout could the money devoted to helping other countries be used instead to address this deficit and help Ireland to emerge from the bailout sooner?

So our question is: Should Ireland distribute foreign aid while it is in a bailout?

Poll Results:

Irish Aid: Tánaiste “absolutely disgusted” after alleged Uganda aid fraud

Read next:

Comments (170 Comments)

• Its crazy actually.

Africa is mineral rich but kept in poor by foreign bankers and Corporations who suck each country dry and prop up evil corrupt regimes.

So we borrow money at interest from the same bankers, at interest, these same asset stripping leeches so we can donate it to the corrupt regimes that said bankers keep propped up.

Genius.

• Spot on, it’s called international capitalism.

• So are you saying that if the West stopped trying to influence African politics, the dictators and corrupt politicians would topple and the people would establish forward looking democracies?

• Yes we should…We can spare it and it is the right thing to do.I would be in favour of a more stringent tracking system for the application of this money to support various programs and more answerability by those entrusted these monies for the same .We should not punish those who cannot be blamed for the corruption of its leadership and are dying as a result of that leadership.

• Agreed. What is happening now is that the financial extractors who have been leeching Africa, Asia and Latin America through the IMF have come home to roost in the US and Europe. Capitalism, as predicted is eating its geographical home base now that it has truly gone supranational and offshore.

The alternative has to be to build a transnational solidarity and consciousness in the hopes there will be enough left to salvage when it finally collapses under its internal contradictions. Its literally a human race against the rat-racists who use the super-tribalisms of nationalism to divide their victims while they are globalised and boundary-free.

Much of the aid industry is corrupt and hand-in-glove with multinational extractors, but there are many decent people doing good work.

Check War Games: The Story of Aid and War in Modern Times by Linda Polman. Amazon have copies, as have libraries.

• Yep, I’d be more worried about the aid we are currently sending to bondholders while our hospitals are reduced to begging for funds in the street.

• Not in my opinion but If we must let’s make sure it at least goes to the correct bank accounts…. :-/

• We need to give aid but at the same time we’re giving aid to Uganda, a government who is incredibly corrupt and in the process of buying a second lot of Sukhoi fighter jets which cost millions. http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CDEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.ie%2Fopinion%2Fcolumnists%2Fkevin-myers%2Fkevin-myers-why-do-we-send-money-to-nations-that-can-spend-millions-on-arms-3250278.html&ei=ZFOKUJ-4GabI0QW8tIGQDQ&usg=AFQjCNHve-lwrrfwVf04MiJkfK_hXwHZ6w

Kevin Myers wrote a great article last year and this year

• Exactly. The Ugandan government spent $740 million dollars on Russian fighter jets and they have more on order. There should be strict conditions on any foreign aid including the basic one that the government of the country receiving it should not squander its resources so shamelessly and should conduct itself in a civilised and compassionate manner towards its citizens.

• Completely agree. It’s absurd! Absolutely behind maintaining aid but there has to be some definite policing of how it’s spent. Otherwise there is a huge risk the money is going straight into the hands who use it recklessly

• Kevin Myers, ffs, he’s never written a good article on anything. I think it’s important to note whom the aid is targeted at: the poor and vulnerable in some of the world’s most underdeveloped countries, not their government. All this tells me is that we need better checks on how aid is spent and audits.

• Eoin you’re entitled to your opinion on Myers but your argument doesn’t make sense. I support aid but how can the poor who need it actually get the aid when the money seems to be skimmed off and put into ridiculous projects like buying fighter jets. Ugandans need top of the range fighter jets like people in the Sahara need sand. If we’re giving money surely it should be directly to Irish charities who are more likely to redistribute to the poor who actually need it. As Myers said handing it straight to corrupt officials is p*ssing money away.

• You can’t take the knickers off a bare arse.

• Money is not getting to those who need it. They must be taking a leaf from our own govt! Africa is rich in minerals but corrupt a bit like Ireland!

• Emmet 26/10/12 #

It should be stopped temporarily as the country is in a bailout program….simples. We have our own poor and hungry with our own charities struggling to cope with demand so I’d start there..

• the suspended aid to Uganda should be put into Irish charities such as Jack and Jill foundation

• We should give aid as a proportion of a surplus we have, when we have money we can give it, when we don’t don’t we can’t.

• You can’t give what you haven’t got. The historical generosity of the Irish is well known. It will continue to be so when the economy allows everyone to have the means to give. Right now a lot of people have nothing left or are in debt themselves. If a country is in debt how can it justify borrowing to give?

• Ireland needs to get its own house in order first. Plenty of homeless people out in the freezing cold, plenty of people on trolleys in hospitals, plenty of sick kids waiting ridiculous timescales for ops. Thousands of people going under on there mortgages and an alarming increase in suicide rates in Ireland.

When Ireland is doing well and can afford to help with foreign aid no problem. Perhaps the “Holy See” and it’s 96billion USD made this year alone yes 96 billion! and the rest of its collection of assets gold,jewels and art and billions in reserves can donate the bulk to the world’s poorest .

Imagine what a message that would send out! Jesus doesn’t need to be on the Forbes richlist or Fortune 500.The Catholic Corporation have the means but not the will to act. Dogmatic deluded hypocrites to say the least.

• Absolutely not, we are the ones effectively paying out this money to corrupt governments while at the same time struggling to pay our bills and mortgages. And not a small number of us, hundreds of thousands of us apparently. And then we have our own charities who have lost ALL government funding and rely solely on donations now. The politicians in this country are so out of touch with reality, it’s actually quite frightening.

• A very similar comment by myself may appear somewhere, when I posted my comment above it didn’t actually post so I typed another one. Then this one appeared so apologies. Journal, it’s time to introduce an edit/remove option…

• Hey Andrea, I think that’s what the British ruling class said during the Irish famine. Grow a brain FFS!!

• My thoughts exactly, Greg.

Perhaps, as Charles Trevelyan said about the Irish Famine, famines in the global south are merely “mechanism for reducing surplus population,”

• Ireland has spent 8.5 billion euro on foreign aid since 2001. Quite a chunk of change. We are a generous people(third most generous nation in the world when it comes to charity, on a per capita basis, according to a UN report).

But the current situation is simply unsustainable. We are borrowing billions of euro, at a five per cent interest rate, just to hand it over to corrupt foreign heads of state. Madness. We should defer all foreign aid until we get out of our current financial predicament. When/if we do that, then we can look into reintroducing our aid program.

In the meantime, you are free to donate as much of your own personal wealth to one of the many charities that work in these places as you so wish.

• So Kevin, how about Ireland give all the money back that Europe, & America have given. Not to mention the money Australia, Canada & New Zealand gave Ireland under the Anglo Irish Agreement

• @ Greg using the British and the famine is ridiculous!We dont rule Uganda so are therefore not obliged to do anything!We never ruled Uganda for 700 years (like the British did with us in the famine!)

@Andrea: The way I look at it is, we need to curtail our aid as we are broke!!!Its that simple..we are 129% of GDP broke!!! We need to put any money we have into our own society and at the same time tell our government that that money is for OUR society and not to be handed to those foreign agents where all the rest of our money has gone!

Why are we giving money to Uganda anyway…a country with a government that actively represses the media, represses political freedom and has been openly persecuting homosexuals whereby an act, the “Anti-Homosexuality Bill 2009″ was tabled.The proposed bill went so far as to forbid landlords from renting to a known homosexual, and would ban any public discussion of homosexuality.Thankfully this law was quashed but the intent was there.Do we want to be seen giving money to people who are clearly living in the stone age??I don’t want my money going to these people. I want it going to my people, Irish people, for health,education, job creation and infrastructure!!!Who would give money to a government anyway..they are as corrupt in Europe as in Africa..give it to charities on the ground…then your charity really bears fruit!

• There’s a bitter irony to people using computer technology to support not helping people who are at risk of dying of starvation.

• Greg I don’t think people are against us giving aid, I think they;d rather wait until we’re in a better position to do so. Nothing wrong with that. Just because we, along with almost every other country in the E.U. received aid before, it doesn’t mean we should automatically dish it back out. There’s a lot to be said for being financially cautious in these economic times. There’s no harm in looking after ourselves first then being charitable especially if the evidence shows it’s not being spent where it’s meant to be.

• I’m glad the ‘yes’ vote have only shown 17% so far. I just can’t say that. We’re here to help each other when times are hard no matter where you live in the world. It’s up to the people in charge of these accounts, charities, to keep an eye on the funds.

• Sell your laptop and donate the cash to Trocaire so, Donncha.

• Donnacha I’m pretty sure the country’s misuse of financial aid has a lot more to answer for than people who spend their hard earned money on a computer…

• Kevin Dennis , in my opinion, has said it best . The Daily Mail reports today that this year we will spend €630 million on foreign aid. That would pay the mobility allowance excess of €100 million without age limit and leave €530 million to cover some of our running costs. If you wish to extend the thesis , as a Bailout Country we ought to be getting money , not giving it. Would our pride allow that ?

• @ Greg. I have a brain and a pretty darn good one (thanks for your concern). I don’t normally respond to an insult as opposed to a sensible response but for you I will make an exception. It’s ridiculous to compare the Ugandan regime to the plight of the Irish during the Famine and the millions who either lost their lives or left our shores. The Ugandan government are using our money (which we are borrowing) to purchase fighter jets and line their bulging pockets. Our own citizens are going hungry, dying whilst waiting for hospital care, losing their homes etc. I don’t require any additional brain power to realise that this is unacceptable and that any “aid” should be helping our own in these very dire times.

• @Rory: I stored reading at “Daily Mail”. Whatever point you were going to make instantly lost any credibility the moment you mentioned that absolute rag

• Andrea the question is not about the Ugandan Government. The question is “Should Ireland distribute foreign aid while it is in a bailout?” If you have a brain please use it and distinguish between the two issues

• “There’s a bitter irony to people using computer technology to support not helping people who are at risk of dying of starvation.”
      Irony? not unless their computer is made from cake.

The irony lies in a country that is cutting child benefit can afford to offer millions to feed the children of a foreign corrupt state.

• Jay 26/10/12 #

@greg did those countries just give us free money? And if ye are all for feeding the starving and the poor maybe we should be sending rice and bananas to Uganda people not giving their or any African government for that matter money which we don’t have to give. Feed them with food not fighter jets

• Petr – Why should Ireland be responsible for Africa’s problems? The English ruled Ireland during the famine so they were responsible for fixing the problem which they didn’t do. Ireland never colonized Africa so why should the already hard pressed Irish tax payers fork out to corrupt governments? You’re obviously another dole-drawing marxist living in a fantasy land

• @George

I was going to answer you, but:
      -

“You’re obviously another dole-drawing marxist living in a fantasy land”

-
      That’s just baby talk. You’re unworthy of any more of my time.

• Technically, isn’t that a reply Petr?! You just made a silly comparison and you can’t realy back it up with anything

• @ kevin, thanks for the advice, I already do, and have no problem with some of the tax I pay being used for same.

• But you don’t mind paying out billions to corrrupt bondholder private banking cartels, eh Andrea?

I suggest you read a little 6 page pamphlet by an Irish writer from 300 years back.

Its Swift’s ‘Modest Proposal’, and you can google it handy.

• Yeah. People who are fine and dandy with paying billions to bondholders but recoil at the thought of giving modest aid to their fellow man/woman really are a moral disgrace.

• @George

You may not have noticed, but we’ve been beneficiaries of EU largesse for a while. The European empires have been leeching Africa for a while too.
      Subtract our aid budget from the CAP scam and Ireland Inc has a few shekels left to rattle.

And US and EU agribusiness is implicated in African famine through dumping and IMF structural reform programs that force local markets(as they do here) to go for export crops to pay extortionate loan interest.
      Try The Globalisation of Poverty, by Michel Chossudovsky.

• @ Damien – The EU has benefitted from Ireland’s membership, and I’m not a big fan of the EU or their policies. I’m just saying the Irish worker (I don’t mean the “workers” who wave little red flags around and weat Che Guevara t-shirts I mean the ones who actually work and pay tax) should not have to pay to Africa. If there were ever a call to stop paying it is this.

• But the billions to bondholders and the corruption of our own governments down the years give us some moral high ground?

And its not ‘to Africa’, its to certain specific projects, and Irish has respected reputation for being developmentally focussed, rather than tied to kickback contracts and arms deals like a lot of countries, or dumping to support homebase.

You are simplifying complex issues to suit your scrooge reflex. We live on a sphere, not in a flat earth insular cave.

• @ Damien – That’s a very socialist / leftist view. We have nothing to do with Africa, and I’m saying “Africa” because it’s faster than naming specific countries. The fact is Ireland is broke and we’re sending millions out in foreign debt to corrupt countries who in return are defrauding the system and what has it achieved? Nothing, that’s what. Africa had it’s chance to get it’s act together but failed, it’s insanity to keep supporting them at our expense. We created mess and those who are responsible should be punished but how in your mind does that justify propping up failed countries? Only a real leftie would hold those views. All we’ll achieve by supporthing African nations is for them to bring more starving people into the world and continue killing each other. It’s time to wake up and look after our people first!

• If so thats a very racist flat-earthist monetarist response.
      Ireland is ‘broke’ because its still rich, tax-dodging ascendancy ripped the guts out of a potentially sustainable economy in sheer gluttony, with the collaboration of Wall St/Frankfurt/City of London sub-prime split-derivative bad-debt bundlers, and having taken the loss-leader bait are spiked on the IMF Troika debt-trap hook that keeps Africa crippled and corrupt. Our wealth is securely stashed offshore with the other £/$20-30 TRILLION.
      This is another decoy of E4 million ‘scandal’ to distract from the billions going to pay a fraudulent debt to a cartel of private banking con-men.
      Wake up and lose your ideological blinkers. There is so much trite ignorant disinformation and goosestep tunnel vision in your short paragraph its difficult to know how you get your socks on without Rupert Murdoch’s help..

• I going to be blunt here… Not a single euro more should we give. It is disgraceful pumping money into these warlord run countries when we are in a bailout program. We are weeks from a tough budget where the axe is going to fall on services that many of our people rely on…. care for the sick, the elderly, special support teachers etc. We need to get our own problems sorted first before trying to save the world. Sorry I probably being incredibly selfish but you know what…. Uganda etc ain’t our problem. I small lucky I have a few spare quid each month… charities helping people in Ireland will get it.

• well said we cannot keep pumping money in to countries that are in fact rich but because their governments are corrupt and as a result of this corruption the people do not benefit from the natural resources that these countries have.

• The core problem is a corrupt world government system. We should be focussing on how to get a better deal on our debts or debt forgiveness or default on our loans.
      Uganda is only one example of aid projects what about the others, are people willing to let others die when they cut funding to a genuine project or are we happy as long as we put ourselves first?
      Its life or death in some of these countries. Aid is yet another example of a corrupt system but convenient for the elite how its only ever the poor who suffer and become indebted as nations and individuals to them for their working lives.
      If people want to see our country deteriorate and all the others we support then make sure to keep Enda Kenny poster child of Europe and his government in power. From his actions it seems evident he only supports the bankers and not the average 99% which includes us and Uganda.
      We need a government willing to negotiate with the bankers and stand strong for the people. Once we are growing again we can look into our aid projects with more depth and decide where to make changes.
      Aid is comprised of different elements e.g. there is multilateral which is from countries to- UN- to Project, then bilateral or direct from us to Uganda for example and lastly the different charities and organisations which are the most effective and efficient.
      Im a full supporter of aid being sustainable and should not be endless and corrupt governments should not be given direct aid but usually organisations such as goal, concern and small charities are a lot more efficient at spending their resources and doing more good.

• Deezer7 26/10/12 #

Sean, if the day ever comes that you need help, I hope for your sake that people don’t step over you with that same “not my problem” attitude. Every person on this planet has needed some level of help at some point in their lives. We are lucky to be in a position that we can help others. Yes the country may have debts, yes it’s unfair that we have to pay for the wrong-doings of others. But could you live with withdrawing life-saving help from people who could literally die as a result, just because its not your problem?

• Jenny 26/10/12 #

So we borrow billions to send it to counties whose government is corrupt and squandering there own billions on war efforts instead of looking after their citizens. Our government is squandering billions on bailing out bankers instead of looking after us. Why aren’t other countries borrowing money to send to us?? Oh right coz it’s crazy!

• Jenny 26/10/12 #

Also haven’t we and other countries been sending BILLIONS in aid to these counties for quite some time now and nothing seems to get any better for the people who need it most. Surely pumping billions into a country should improve standards for the citizens a bit. Leads me to believe feck all of it is actually going to the people which makes me very angry. It’s one thing to send money we don’t have to help
    people much worse off but to have it absorbed by governments and organisations and never get to the people who need it is madness. Why do we continue to send it if it’s not being utilised correctly??

• We should still give aid, perhaps not as much until we have the bailout issues sorted. However we need to give the funding to smaller ‘not for profit’ charities and not Concern, GOAL and other similar charities who pay huge salaries and have far too large overheads. Less money given to smaller charities will see about the same amount make it to the locations where it is needed.

• Instead of handing money over to corrupt regimes to waste it, why don’t we send our own over to educate and aid the population? We have a lot of qualified people here unemployed, send them over to do the job and its a good addition to your CV!

• Absolutely not. Lets get our own house in order first. Aside from that, Africa can never be fixed with money.

• Charity begins at home and you live here.

• It may begin at home but it doesn’t end there.

• Oh boy 26/10/12 #

You think this all about a bit of charity? Isn’t it about young children perishing on the streets with starvation without a roof over their head and family possibly killed,
      learn to distinguish

• The phrase ‘charity begins at home’ is a biblical reference to acting indoors as you would outside the home. It does not mean prioritizing those closest to you. In my opinion, charity is at its most powerful when it is difficult for you to give, not when it is easy.

• Don’t see how you can give aid to other countries when your own one is billions in debt.

Look after your local situation first, and if there is something left over then engage in these aid programmes is my opinion.

I hate the way people are criticised for just stating the bloody obvious – we are broke and can’t afford it. For those who can, nobody is stopping them from making a donation.

It is like me taking out a bank loan so I can make a donation to a local charity, it just doesn’t make sense.

I really feel sorry for the people in these countries, but unfortunately we can’t play the super heroes right now (maybe the richer nations should step it up?).

This example just goes to show that there needs to be more transparency in what actually happens to the funds provided.

• First world problems Carl. People should starve because we’re unable to afford luxuries? Get a grip.

• The Irish government should stop giving aid as they are mortgaging the debt on Irish people for the money borrowed. If Irish people wish to support poor countries then they can take the responsibility themselves. If a person wishes to give money to a charity -that person can borrow the money or donate out of their savings. It is irresponsible for the government to borrow on our behalf to send to Africa.

• Not a red cent to use well known phrase should we ( Ireland) be giving out in foreign aid. Personally, I think there is massive amounts of corruption ,it’s endemic, associated with this issue.I’m not uncharitable, but as we just don’t have any surplus,and are unlikely to have for some time,ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. Did anyone hear Ugandan Ambassador on radio this a.m…..laughable…we really are complete and utter idiots here…..I can’t blame all the scam artists arriving here….it’s such a lucrative market here for them !

• Charity begins at home. Sorry how can we afford to hand millions to to other countries while our own goes down the drain for lack of funds?

• fraud or not fraud, it doesn’t make sense to be giving financial aid to other countries when you are being given financial aid at the same time.

• you know they didn’t intend for the money to go to the corrupt government. it was intended for the starving people. That’s why it has been suspended. You’d think this was a poll of should we donate aid to foreign corrupt heads of state (would anyone like to jump in here with a reference to our own clean well oiled government body?)

• Come to think of it, was this cowboy in Uganda litterally resting this money in his account to earn interest before sending it off to its intended recipients???

• I would argue that we should stop foreign aid.

I agree with helping other countries if we can, and know very well how desperate and deserving most countries are.

However remember this simple fact, every penny we give is borrowed to how, we are borrowing 15bn a year just to balance the budget.

Who in their right mind would borrow money to give to charity? Makes literally no sense.

• eoghan 26/10/12 #

Yes it should stop given aid the money should be used t the homeless shelters here instead

• Well this story clearly shows the way aid is distributed AT LEAST needs to be critically reviewed. As for stopping aid completely while we’re in a bailout – some people here are calling that callous, but if you ask me it’s just good sense to get our own house in order before helping out abroad. We just resume the aid once we’re back on our feet.

• Of course we should. Google ‘choctaw indians irish potato famine’ for the reason why.

• I don’t think we should be giving out as much aid as we do to countries when we can’t even afford to keep our own people in this country. To then hear that the aid that we give to foreign countries is being misused is annoying. We have not got the funds to help the people of this country stay out of debt yet we are giving away money to other countries! It doesn’t make sense to me.

• Wording of the question is not entirely accurate. We don’t distribute ‘Foreign Aid’ we distribute ‘Overseas Development Aid’. May sound like the same thing but there’s a significant difference between the two. Foreign Aid is generally influenced by geopolitical factors. Examples would include assistance given by States like France and the UK to their former colonies or the US/USSR supporting their strategic allies. Development Aid emerged in the 1960s, particularly from small states/middle powers with a strong tradition of overseas missionary work, particularly the Scandinavian countries and the Netherlands. It’s aim was not to court political influence but to produce economic development and reduce poverty and hunger. This is the group that Ireland identified with and started its own aid programme in the the 1970s.

It’s easy to misunderstand the objectives of our overseas development aid as being purely for ‘charity’. It’s not. There is an ethical element but it’s also based firmly in our identity as a small state that’s hugely reliant on external trade for our survival. It’s eventual goal is to achieve a peaceful, regulated international environment, in which states, regardless of their size, can thrive. The aid is not given directly to corrupt Governments as some have suggested here. In fact, Irish Aid (the name of our Overseas Development Programme) has been acknowledged as a world leader in targeted ‘best practice’ aid spending. It monitors and evaluates the quality of its spending to make sure it’s effective and reports regularly. Loads of info on Irish programmes at http://www.irishaid.gov.ie/index-2.html

It’s also easy to say that because of or financial difficulties all aid should stop. There is a certain logic to the argument but it misses some key points. (1) Some of our aid budget is mandatory, as part of our membership of international organisations like the UN. (2) It’s short sighted and doesn’t foresee the impact it would have on our broader foreign policy agenda. (3) The Aid is not a ‘handout’. It encourages the development of commerce and establishes good relations with future business partners. (4) It ignores our historic position as recipients of aid. For example, the EU alone has contributed a massive 45 Billion to Ireland since it became a member in 1973, a figure that dwarfs our aid contributions.

Sorry for the long rant, doubt anyone will read it (without being bored to tears) but it was cathartic for me after seeing so many negative comments.

• I read it… still doesn’t fully justify why we are giving millions when we are effectively bankrupt… its that simple.

• Thanks, Sean but I have to disagree with you. It’s far from being ‘that simple’. Judging from some of your comments here you sound like your advocating some form of isolationism (stopping ALL aid would require Ireland to withdraw from international organisations). We experimented with elements of economic self-sufficiency in the 1930s and it was disastrous. As well as the ethical considerations (we are still one of the wealthiest countries in the world) our development aid needs to be seen in the broader context of an ‘active’ foreign policy. It’s not a simple numbers game.

• Absolutely, it is disgusting to see our money going into the pockets of corrupt governments while hundreds of thousands of people are the new “working poor”. We have plenty of worthwhile Irish charities that have lost all government funding because of the economic crisis but there’s plenty of money to go elsewhere….the tax payer is footing this bill while at the same time, struggling to pay their own bills. Reality check urgently required in the Dail.

• We have water, electricity and loos…we’re still far better off than the majority of the world…..

• No. We can’t afford it. people are starving here too. Charity begins at home.

• People are not starving here. There is a big difference between some people not having as much to eat as they wish and “starving”. You may not want to provide Aid to those that are starving but please don’t compare their suffering with what’s going on here…. it is not the same.

• Yeah but the money isn’t going to the starving it’s lining pockets/being misused. We should stop until there is proper accountability or some mechanism to ensure the money we could be using is getting used properly. We are not in a position to just throw money away like this.

• It’s fine to support other struggling countries but not when our own country is hanging in by a thread and what every we donate we borrow and the must pay interest for. Crazy.

• Charity begins at home folks especially since we are in the middle of a crippling recession. How about temporarily diverting the Irish Aid money for a fighting fund for Irish families on the bread line. There’s a lot of poverty on this island at present due to the economic situation.

• I don’t believe foreign aid should stop. How ever bad things are here, they are far worse in other places.

• There are families starving in Ireland can’t get much worse. Did you see the Q’s for food parcels on the telly the other night. Funding should be made for our own soup kitchens before handing monies over to other countries.Any money left over after our kids are fed fair enough send it on to others.

• It’s not as if the Irish are above skimming the pot.

• Absolutely we should look after our own! I never said we shouldn’t! I just said we shouldn’t stop foreign aid, for everyone person queuing for a food parcel here, how many children in third world countries are being fed pouches of mush just for nutrients. Abit of compassion in this day and age will go a long way.

• Jay 26/10/12 #

Maybe it’s time these 3rd world countries started to look after themselves. We can’t borrow money just give it away!

• Oh so it’s ok for us to borrow money to survive, but they have to fend for themselves?

• Jay 26/10/12 #

Well Martin how about we lend them money instead of just giving it to them hmm? We are fending for ourselves by borrowing and paying back the money we need to get out of a hole, maybe giving their governments money isn’t the way to help

• It isnt a bail out though, its charity. These are countries with far more corrupt leaderships than ours. Enda would run a freakin mile from them.

It’s not the country we giving money to, it’s the people. That’s what it’s supposed to be, i do however think we should be exporting more than money though. It’s knowledge, and techniques for farming and education, giving them the resources to, as others have said , to fend for themselves! But lots of places don’t have these resources.

I don’t think we should stop any aid to these places, but better manage it, so it gets to the people.

• phil 26/10/12 #

Yes we should send aid. People in Africa are a hell more worse of than we are here. Yes children here are going to bed hungry but in Africa children can go days and weeks hungry. Foreign aid needs to kept but defiantly reformed where the money doesn’t go to paying large salaries or to corrupt governments.

• NO!! Why should Ireland give foreign aid to Africa at all. Ireland hasbillions or Euro of debt. And some will say they have it a lot worse in Africa but why should Ireland keep pumping money into Africa, we didn’t create the problem. the government and charities in Ireland have been pumping money into Africa for decades and what has it achieved? Nothing! And look how they thank you!

• Here is my take on this.

We are currently borrowing 15bn just to balance our books……it makes no sense at all borrow money to give in foreign aid. Foreign aid should only be given from a surplus, it is common sense.

This is not to be confused with an argument against foreign aid……it is a given that there are lots of deserving desperate causes that need money. That is a given.

If you were borrowing money just to feed your own family, would you borrow more just to give to others?

simplez…..

• fraud or not fraud. it doesn’t make sense to give financial aid to another country when at the same time, you are being given financial aid yourself. all this money going away to other countries can be put to great use here in Ireland!

• We’re borrowing money every year that we will never, yes never pay back. And yet people believe we should end foreign aid, a fraction of what we hand out here to subvert the living conditions of about half the population.

How dare they take some of our magic money tree, dem furriners.

I despair at the lack of charity. How ever bad you might think we have it here, they’d laugh us out the door if we showed them our poverty line before asking: can I please live below yours?

• Having just recently visited a third world country I have to say yes ireland should still donate to poorer nations. We are a long way from a third world country but one interesting observation which I made was that the people in third world countries are far happier than the Irish cause they don’t know what it’s like to have been wealthy

• It’s sad to see some of the comments in relation to foreign aid. Aid is given from us in order that people can survive rather than die from malnutrition etc and to provide the very basics such as water food and clothing how selfish a nation we have become. We were always a caring society and should remain so

• I’ve never understood why we would help people in other countries by giving to their governments. If I want to help Irish people I dont send a cheque to the tax man, I know he’ll waste my money on wars and bailouts. Why should we treat other governments any differently?

Give to charities that prove they do good on the ground, not governments who prove that they dont.

• It’s sad to see some of the comments in relation to foreign aid. Aid is given from us in order that people can survive rather than die from malnutrition etc and to provide the very basics such as water food and nothing how selfish a nation we have become. We were always a caring society and should remain so

• I am in shock at the numbers who still feel that we have to give money to Africa etc. No doubt these people are well insulated from the economic reality. You know from participating on these forums over the last few months I am glad to see there are people here who stand up to the liberal pc do gooders that would have us giving every penny to charities that simply pass it on to warlord regimes. Time for a proper political party in this country… that will be tough on bogus asylum seekers, put Irish citizens before others and stop foreign aid immediately. When and only when we have our own looked after then consider some humanitarian work in Africa etc. Cue usual pc responses…..

• We have alot in common with Uganda, corrupt governments for one

• Interesting discussiion its hard to believe that that much money would be given away but the real solution is to cut the bailout money. We have the ability to fight for our own money but the starving dont. I would rathr see us all hit the streets like the rest of europe before trying to change the foreign aid policy. Ireland has taken the biggest hit with the least backlash and if the result of that is extended to less foreign aid then I think its time we started to feel ashamed of our lack of action against our government.

• The world doesn’t stop turning because Ireland needs a bailout.

• Yes. Not only is it the right thing to do, surely it is also the christian thing to do? So far 49% seem not to listen in those masses they attend.

• NO..and for the simple fact if we can’t feed our own poor never mind anyone elses..its not a Disney film with a fairytale ending..the ship is sinking drop all excess baggage and we might struggle a while longer

• Christian thing to do? Seriously?

• Think, Vinnie. We can feed ‘our own’ poor, we just don’t. Important distinction. There’s plenty of wealth in Ireland – at issue is how it’s distributed. A good start would be stop handing billions to criminal bankers.

• @vinnie, ‘excess baggage’ – classy

• Have any if you ever been to Uganda? Never been to Uganda, have spent time with MSF in Kenya, Sierra Leone and Nigeria. They have less than the average homeless person here, nothing. Your reference to these people as “excess baggage” is precisely why these countries have still not entered the 19th century, 21st and 20th centuries aside.
      The view that we must look after our own first, every man for himself, is a bit like saying we will close our eyes and pretend we are the worst off, and lick our wounds while we rock back and forth whinging for the return of the Celtic Pussycat.
      These people don’t eat for days, they walk miles for basic necessities like water. Sanitation? What’s that? They don’t have an education system to give out about, their health system is provided by aid organisations – when they are allowed in. These people aren’t looking for a world class ranking in economic stability, they are looking to get by, second by second, minute by minute.
      Get off your high horses, Uganda got 4,000,000 last year from the Irish. It’s a bit of a cop out when we handed 18,000,000,000 over to the already rich, and say we can’t afford to give pennies by comparison to those who have sweet FA. Charity begins at home, certainly, but you’re forgetting the rest of that saying – it spreads out from the heart and gives with both hands.
      Quite your whining – you’re mortifying me.

• its part of my point look after your self and when we can support others then do so..
      oh you mean the 4million that never got there??money does not go to these charities a lot is eaten up by wages etc like paying for Irish people to go out and help the needy build houses and basic needs costing hundreds per person,the money should be used to train people from the countrys and let them do it a weeks wages is around 10euro..iv never been to Uganda but…

for all the red thumbs IL keep it simple if you personally end up homless nobody really cares they say they do but they won’t. don’t think for a second the next guy wouldn step over you to better themselves.

• Niall 26/10/12 #

@James, Uganda spent $650 million last year on war planes. So to hell with them for a start. You get off your high horse buddy.

• Vinnie, there are some of those aid workers who go out and help educate farmers and get farms and businesses started. Sadly not all of them, but there are some.

• Not a chance we are not in a position to be looking after other countries our efforts should be focused on Ireland and its citizens who are in need . Charity starts at home .

• Can I just point out that one of the reasons Uganda spent money on warplanes is because it is involved in at least two wars! While there are many many things to dislike about Uganda’s government, they are the backbone of the fight against Al-Shabab and the LRA (remember that Kony fellow). Spending money on arms is not immoral per se and Uganda needs it more than most for those two wars. The revival of peace in Mogadishu is primarily due to AU soldiery, of which Uganda has the largest contingent. The money Uganda spends on arms is partly money spent protecting the shipping of the rest of the world and stopping the recruitment of child soldiers.

I suspect that this whole thing has a fair bit to do with something else: The accusation of Ugandan involvement in sponsoring militias in the DMC in a recent UN report

• That was obviously meant to read DRC.

• You can’t compare poverty here to poverty abroad. Apples and Oranges.
      We are a wealthy country and even our poor have standards of living far beyond what many Ethiopians could even dream of. The safety net here for people out of work is huge in comparison to other developed countries. Free healthcare, free first, 2nd and University level education as well as easier access to that education. And welfare that far exceeds the European average.

We have First world problems, so what. These people are dying and we’re all human. It’s the moral thing to do.

• David 26/10/12 #

Foreign aid should definitely not stop. No matter how bad the unemployment situation gets here or how much of a loss NAMA makes etc, let’s face it – there will not be people dying of starvation.

What needs to be looked at, however, is how the aid is distributed. Corrupt homophobic governments like Uganda’s should not have direct aid put into government, but should instead be given to charities and NGOs.

• Some factual information as sadly this situation is encouraging people to peddle myths about foreign aid:
    http://www.givingwhatwecan.org/why-give/myths-about-aid

• No surprise John O’Shea has been warning about this for years.

• in the words of the boss . we take care of our own . stop all forms of aid till we get back on our feet . then review it maybe seven to ten years afther full recovery . thats whats needs to be done .

• Sound judgement needed here but on the whole I would say review who you give aid to. Is it effective long term or dead aid? Wouldn’t it be better to trade with countries rather than sending aid thereby assisting our own and their economies. You can’t give indiscriminately to overseas aid. Uganda highlights what can happen so you have to review and reduce ore remove aid where necessary

• Julia, you are right of course but Ireland has been identified as one of the ‘best practice’ donors of development aid in the world. Irish Aid have a number of strict implementation guidelines to ensure the aid we give is effective. What happened in this case is the exception, not the norm.

• I would suggest people read the article “Shaking Hands With The Devil” by Linda Polman for a good insight into foreign aid:

http://drmbroadcast.org/user/Discussion.aspx?id=339954

• If we can afford to give assistance to those less fortunate then of course we should but giving money to the governments of some of,these countries is just idiotic. Believe it or not there are more corrupt governments than our own out there. How’sabout they set up an Irish quango in these countries to make sure the money is distributed to those in most need not just lining the pockets of corrupt officials.

• We as, Somewhat, well off and well educated Humans deserve to coordinate our knowledge and skill and assit other humans to improve themselves.

Our states, power and leaders may all have questionable motives and influences, but we should never give up on helping our fellow human beings.

It is a seperate part of the budget and we would spend it on something with less benefit to anyone if we had it all to ourselves or the bankers.

Sending a whole village to school must be better than 1 person getting tax relief in tough times.

Our Aid budget isn’t in Question, where we send our aid is under the spotlight and we have reacted pretty swiftly to not give Uganda any more.

• We as, Somewhat, well off and well educated Humans should be striving to advance ourselves as a people first and foremost. Why should we continue to give to Uganda, especially after what happened? it hasn’t achieved anything? Because it’s the “nice” thing to do right? We need to wake up to reality!

• Yes, I think we should. No matter how bad we have it here it is absolutely nothing compared to the poverty and problems experienced by others in the world. Most people do not realise how lucky we really are.That’s not to say that we don’t have problems here at home, of course we do, but the horrors I have seen of how other people live in countries such as Cambodia and India put everything into perspective and we should not use our own problems to forget our responsibilities to those experiencing extreme poverty and illness.

• well you can tell the people in Ireland suffering from cuts to their faces, sorry we had to give the money to people we never met before. I don’t think Ireland has a moral obligation to those countries as they aren’t like the UK and America which spent countless years spreading warfare.
    just so you know it’s in the rich countries interest to keep Africa poor. how else would you exploit them?

• We should continue to give foreign aid. Just remember back to the time that Ireland was gripped with the Great Famine. In 1845, Calcutta India was the first to send us money. The Calcutta committee appealed to other Europeans residing in India and to the ‘native community’ to become involved in its activities for Ireland.

Indians also gave liberally, donations coming from wealthy Hindus and a number of Indian Princes, but also from those who were less well off, including sepoys in the army, and many low-skilled and low-paid Indian servants. Within a few months, the Calcutta Committee had raised £14,000 for the relief of the Irish poor. To oversee the distribution of this money, a team was assembled in Dublin, headed by the Anglican Archbishop, Richard Whately. Most of the money received from India was sent to Connacht in the west of Ireland, some of it being channelled through the local Catholic priests.

An even larger relief organization was the British Relief Association. It was formed in January 1847. its fundraising activities were international, with donations being received from locations as diverse as Venezuela, Australia, South Africa, Mexico, Russia and Italy. In total, over 15,000 individual contributions were sent to the Association, and approximately £400,000 was raised.

Queen Victoria herself donated £2,000, the equivalent of £61,000 today from her own personal accounts.

If Ireland did not receive this aid who knows if you or I would be here today.

So, Ireland has once received foreign aid before in extremely harsh times…Now we should continue to help those less fortunate than us…

• Padraig… your comment to justify foreign aid was borderline ok until you mentioned Queen Victoria…. do you not realise she was the head of state of the colonial country that was indirectly responsible for the devastation that potato blight brought to Ireland. The blight killed our potato crops only… what about other crops?? Oh Im sorry I forgot under the tyrannical rule of the English the Irish lived under a system where all other crops and livestock had to be sold so that they could rent back the farms that were stolen off them in the first place. The potato blight was a natural phenomenan, the deaths of 1,000,000+ was man made.

• @Sean Queen Victoria and the English are not to blame for the blight..That was an unfortunate disaster…Yes Westminster did not do much to aid the Irish during the period. It was mainly religious groups (mainly the Quakers) who organised the aid, for example the soup kitchens.

My point on Queen Victoria was that she went against her protocol and donated a large sum(in those days it was) of money to the cause.

• Yes we should. However, there is a lot of very real problems here at home which are being ignored so that we can be seen a certain way internationally. That and the aid that does go out needs to be targeted and ensure that it gets to the people who desperately need it.

• Some of the comments on here were so illiterate and divorced from reality, it got me angry, resulting in: http://bit.ly/RnBOCN

Short version: Africa is neither a bastion of corrupt war-mongering dictators (it’s gone from only two democracies to only two dictatorships in less than forty years), nor is it an economic basket case (economic growth has gone from 2.5% in the 1980-2000 period to 6% since then).

Argue against one of the world’s richest populations helping the world’s poorest if you must, but please inform yourself first.

• I read your article…. very well written and put together. But the simple fact is growth in these countries economies and gdp does not seem to lift millions out of poverty. Also many of these countries claim to be democracies… freedom of speech, human rights, fair voting systems etc but the reality is different on the ground. These faracial elections always corrupt and rigged in favour of a leader who is dictator in everything but name.

On personal level I truly believe the time has come for us in Ireland to stop all foreign aid. if people donate privately fine but our government should not continue throwing money at problems money will never solve.

• The recent survey on catholizism on the journal reflects in this poll. What you do not consider is where the world will end up if everybody only looks after himself. Look at how important money got to you – divorce rates go up and birth rates down, your own are mass emigrating and so on…. If we completely start to ignore the world and the people around us we are equally lost in terms of humanity! Maybe we should help less because we can only afford less but we should never completely abandon our humanity. The Uganda story is mass populism….Adolf gained his votes like that and you should all be a bit more far sighted!

• Who are you to come on here giving lectures? I doubt your country been as generous historically as Ireland has with regard to charity. We need to get rid of our debt before we end up in the same position as these countries – it is as simple as that. BTW – try to make at least a shred of sense when posting from the moral high ground.

• if i owed money and was broke i would not go into a bank and borrow €100 so that i could hand it to a wino to help him out because i would end up in debt owing €100 plus the interest on the debt,,,,,,,,crazy

• the more you give to Africa, the more you bring abusive languages to us, It is better that you stop. We have to learn in hard way how to start sustaining our lives. It is true that we have corrupt leaders otherwise the resources that God has endowed Africa are adequate for you guys to come and bow to us. The problem is that you’re now taking our resource through your companies free of charge, you give very little and you shout a lot.

• Two systems of aid provision, two different results.
    Inter-government aid
    Irish Government gives money (which it borrows at x percent interest, to be paid by we citizens, to Government of suffering country. Sh*tebag dictator of suffering country pockets money and buys luxury good, weapons to prop up dictatorship etc., people of suffering country continue to suffer.

Non Governmental aid
    Where we citizens don’t collude with government in supporting gombeens, dictators and genocides and instead support Trocaire etc. who target the aid at the needy instead.

If it was that simple, then stop Government foreign aid for the time being. Re-assess the system ready for when we are able to begin donating again.

• ABSOLUTELY NEVER.CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME.STOP THE RIPPING OFF WORKERS AND START PAYING THEM AGAIN DECENT WAGES.

• Damocles 04/12/12 #

test

• In terms of relative wealth Ireland is not to poor to provide some form of assistance ok know people will disagree I’m a mature student living with state assistance but at the same time we can’t deny developing countries basic human rights NGO’s provide employment as well so even though its going to fund oversea projects Irish development workers gain employment so cut providing aid n you increase unemployment

• i take it your doing H Dip in fairytales and bull.
      if you want to fund dictator style government then pay from your own pocket, if you feel the need to contribute to the arsenal of war lord then again feel free to dip into your own funds. We were not given a choice on the amount or destination of our countries revenue being sent. Put the funding into IRISH jobs and IRISH charity and when where back in the black we can be asked as citizens if overseas aid can come out of our pockets.

• There are no on starving on our streets….aid is available….but it’s money they want.

• Ireland broke???Codswollop.

• All humans same species. All humans composed on same basic constituents. Racial and national distinctions cosmetic. Worldwide balance in monetary wealth indicates that a unit of aid in developing country more effective in combating poverty than same unit of wealth in developed country. Movement of wealth from developed to developing countries will decease global poverty.analysis indicates foreign aid in form of wealth and resources should continue.

• kjjijiji

• yes as lest we forget help given to us down through the years

• Tom Tom 26/10/12 #

It is not a simple yes or no question. Foreign aid is not just about charity to those less well off, it is also very much in our own self interest to give. The underlying objective is to provide those in need with the means to kick start self sufficiency and establish a self sustaining and an acceptable standard of living. The cost of this is low considering that the alternative is mass emigration from the third world to the first world, something that is not sustainable for the first world. Besides, a forgotten aspect of all this is that some of the money comes back to the first world in the form of purchases of plant, equipment, and expertise. It is also an investment in the possibility of future trade.
    Regardless of these cold hearted reasons, given the appalling conditions for many in the third world it takes a very hard heart to say no. But let us not underestimate the desperation that exists at home. The level of despair of those that exist miserably in silence is evident in our suicide rate. Generosity is fine when you have it to give, let’s be frank – would you feed a neighbour’s child ahead of your own? Draining resources out of our economy at this time is probably counter-productive to recovering our ability to be generous to those less well off. Should we risk descending to the same levels? We need to regain our strength and the sooner the better, but this unfortunately means we should curtail foreign aid in the short term to a level commensurate with our circumstances. I don’t know all the figures but it seems to me that the 500 million plus currently being donated represents a huge chunk of the money the government is looking for in the next budget and makes no sense.
    As regards the recipients of this money;- A policy of paying directly to governments means consideration must be given to the nature of those governments and ultimately involves discriminating against populations whose governments are reprehensible or untrustworthy and they are probably the most needy populations. And anyway, government agencies globally are notoriously inefficient in their use of funds. So the only sure way of efficiently reaching those in real need is to distribute funds via reputable charitable organisations and NGOs.
    We really don’t have a choice, the sums donated need to be reduced but at least in part this reduction can be compensated for by greater effectiveness if channelled through agencies providing direct delivery of aid.

Add New Comment