TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Ireland suspends aid to Uganda after report suggests €4m fraud

Eamon Gilmore has launched an immediate investigation amid suggestions the office of the Prime Minister misappropriated funds.

Ugandan prime minister Amama Mbabazi, pictured in January. €4m in aid from Ireland was transferred to an authorised account of the Office of the Prime Minister, a Ugandan auditor's report says.
Image: Stephen Wandera/AP

THE IRISH GOVERNMENT has suspended direct aid to the Ugandan government, and launched an immediate investigation, after it was suggested that up to €4 million in aid offered by Ireland had been misappropriated.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore this afternoon said he had received a report from the Auditor General of Uganda, who had been carrying out a special investigation into the handling of aid funds by the Office of the Prime Minister.

In a statement the Department of Foreign Affairs said the auditor’s report found “significant financial mismanagement in relation to the Peace Recovery and Development Programme for Northern Uganda”, which had been funded by Ireland, Norway, Sweden and Denmark.

The report said up to €4 million in funding from Irish Aid had been transferred to unauthorised account belonging to the Office of the Prime Minister, Amama Mbabazi.

This evening Gilmore said he had ordered an Irish team to travel immediately to Uganda to investigate the findings of the report and to report back next week.

“I have asked our Ambassador in Kampala to underline to the Ugandan authorities the seriousness with which the Government regard the findings of the Auditor General and our insistence that the funds are restored without delay,” Gilmore said.

The Government will not provide financial support under our development cooperation programme unless it is clear that Irish money is being spent for the purpose for which it was allocated.

Pending the satisfactory resolution of this matter, I have instructed that no further aid funding should be provided through Ugandan government systems.

GOAL’s Acting Chief Operations Officer, Jonathan Edgar, said his charity supported the decision. “GOAL has been advocating for many years for the strict policing of aid, to ensure that it gets to those people most in need,” he said.

“We believe that total transparency and accountability in the handling and distribution of overseas aid to be of vital importance in the fight against abject poverty and deprivation in the developing world.”

Fine Gael TD Pat Breen, the chairman of the Oireachtas committee on foreign affairs, also expressed his concerns.

“Misappropriation of aid funding cannot be tolerated,” Breen insisted. “Not only does it divert aid from those who really need help and assistance, it also undermines public confidence in our aid programmes which are held in high regard internationally.”

Read: Uganda: “Lots of people don’t really understand what Ebola is”

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• Don’t tell me the government fell for that email about a rich African relative ?

• Lets not rush to judgement. At least their Prime Minister has a Bank Account. Eh, Bertie

• The government of Uganda is corrupt? Well OMFG!

• Feeds 25/10/12 #

“Foreign aid is taking money from poor people in rich countries and giving it to rich people in poor countries.”

— Ron Paul

• Best quote I’ve ever seen on thejournal.ie

• Please see here and then make your decision based on this:

http://www.givingwhatwecan.org/about-us/frequently-asked-questions#ourownproblems

“9. Shouldn’t we fix our own country’s problems first?

Giving What We Can focuses exclusively upon the world’s poorest nations because that is where a donation can do the most good. For example, suppose we want to help those who are blind. We can help blind people in a developed country like the United States by paying to train a guide dog. This is more expensive than most people realize and costs around $50,000 to train a dog and teach its recipient how to make best use of it.4 In contrast, there are millions of people in developing countries who remain blind for lack of a cheap and safe eye operation. For the same amount of money as training a single guide dog, we could completely cure enough people of Trachoma-induced blindness to prevent a total of 2,600 years of blindness.5 If you look at the charity comparisons section of this website, you will see many more examples like this about how a given donation can achieve vastly more in developing countries than it ever could in developed countries. There is thus a very strong argument in favour of giving to those living abroad.

Moreover, waiting until we fix our own problems may mean waiting forever. Compared to other parts of the world, we have been experiencing unrivalled prosperity for a very long time. If we can’t help those far less fortunate than ourselves now, when will we?”

Also – a relative judge of poverty internationally:
      http://www.givingwhatwecan.org/why-give/how-rich-you-are

FACTS
      A single person on the dole in Ireland is in the top 9.9% of income levels in the world (9770)
      A lone parent family with 2 children getting 600 euros per month of housing assistance is in the top 13% (23435.2)
      A couple on the old age pension (contrib) with no dependants is in the top 8.3% (22703.2)

All of the above usually qualify for free western healthcare, which value isn’t taken into account

And
      Single person on minimum wage (16867.5 after tax 16294) is in the top 4.3%
      Single person on median wage (29k – after tax 24255) – top 1.7%
      Family of 4 with combined income of 70k per year plus child benefit (after tax/child ben 59226) – top 4.9%

The family is worth 17 times the average income of a world citizen

We cannot leave the poor of Uganda to hang. The cost of saving one life there would not even pay for the overnight costs of just 1 homeless person in Uganda.

• T bone 25/10/12 #

No doubt the money was just resting in his account!

• n365 25/10/12 #

7 MiG 21′s ,6 MiG 23′s and 6 Sukhoi fighter jets to name but a few in their Air Force- aren’t we the fackin eejits for giving them money!!

• I can’t believe we actually send cash, and receive no information back on how it’s spent….oh wait….isn’t that also how we run our own country?

• ?4 million – take it back and put it into the mental health service and who will put it to good use and help reduce the suicide rates in Ireland.

• Been happening for years

• Brian 25/10/12 #

So Kevin Myers has been right all these years. Whatever you think of him his pieces on Uganda over the last few years have been spot on.

• M O Sé 25/10/12 #

You have to understand the Tullow oil deal to get a context on this.

http://www.politics.ie/forum/foreign-affairs/135015-fianna-fail-tullow-oil-uganda-29.html

By the way Uganda has puchased a bunch of sukhoi fighter jets from the russians, basically there is no reason for them to have them for defence considering a shoulder mounted aa-rocket costs feck all in comparison.

http://beegeagle.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/uganda-updf-get-more-sukhoi-su-30mk2-jets/

We are essentially subsidising with borrowed money, a completely over the top military in an poor country.

Strange for a country in an IMF-Program.

• I can’t believe we’re still sending money abroad when we’re barely surviving ourselves here.
    I am not saying : Don’t help other countries! but sure we have to prioritize things. If we don’t look after
    ourselves we won’t be able to help others.
    Just suspend help for a few years until we are sorted out then we’ll have more money to give away.
    Imagine using that 32 mil in Ireland. let’s say 3 millions to SVDP as they’re doing a great job. 10 mil to pay our
    debs (that looks good on us), 2-3 millions to help the homeless, 5 millions for disabled and others and 10 millions to help job creations and the rest to finish some project around the country. (that would create more jobs…more jobs more tax more tax …will create a surplus thus we can give some away)…Basics
    I this this is just sensible not selfish.
    But I guess it’s more important to pose as ‘givers’.
    sooooooooooooooooo angry

• Fair you talk common sence

• That makes too much sense. It’ll never happen!!

• I’d like to know what the two guys who gave me the finger down think.
      Probably you’re right Ciaran.

• JayK 25/10/12 #

You’re not wrong, but I’d still rather feed kids who are starving to death than pay debts to European bankers. Even the homeless and disabled here, although I disagree with the cuts we’re imposing, they’re not at acute risk of death. Maybe a stupid thing to say in an article about the Ugandan PM embezzling charity funds but the concept is right.

• JayK 26/10/12 #

So… six people do want to see the children starve to death in order to pay off European bankers?

• Why is Ireland paying for the ruination of the African continent anyway?! It was the British,French, Germans,Belgians and Portuguese who robbed the good stuff for 200 years and then left in a hail of bullets..leaving misery and corruption behind them?What are we doing paying to clean up their mess?We were as piss poor as Uganda until we got our own freedom! I’m all for charity but as the saying goes..CHARITY STARTS AT HOME! This is a no-brainer but unfortunately are government have no brains….*sigh*

• That’s going on for years ,, as some one said above let Bono sort it out ,, prob would have been half Bono’s tax bill , if he paid it

• I wouldnt give them a cent.

• Probably told Noonan he wanted to give us a few billion but we need to….you know how it goes.

• This whole overseas aid thing should be reviewed. We can’t afford it. Let Bono and his wealthy cronies finance it. Irish people are stone cold broke.

• Surprise surprise !

• I’ve been to africa, if you give them money the poor will see none of it! If you send them food you will feed them for a day teach them to feed themselves and you will feed them forever! Sending money to africa doesn’t work!! They need education and tools

• I am glad they suspended sending money there. It should be stopped , when Irish people are going hungry here ! And our charity is going into yet another corrupt politician’s account !

• Eileen , you do not go half far enough. If people are charitable how do they know where it is going ? How much does the chugger get? How much do staff get paid? What about some of the grotesque wages paid at the top, the top management , the CEO’s, the drip feed into foreign countries , the Foreign Politicians who see the Aid as just supplemental income , and back down the chain to the ground on foreign lands ? I am sick of this with both domestic and foreign subventions is going? Whether it be a personal donation or national foreign aid (a debate able proposition in our current third world circumstances) how much of each single euro gets to the intended recipient?
      1% or 10 % or more ?

• Eileen! Have you ever! Finished a sentence! Without! An exclamation point!

• @ Paul Mc
      Glad you noticed ! :) !!!!

@ Rory
      I am sick of it too , tired ,stressed and wits end and great quote by Feeds ^^^ “Foreign aid is taking money from poor people in rich countries and giving it to rich people in poor countries.”
      — Ron Paul
      People by and large do not mind giving to charity , but this just takes the biscuit ! Ooops must not upset Paul Mc .

• Rory – 90.8% if Concern’s model is anything to go by: http://www.concern.net/en/about/how-money-spent

• Apparently we give €33 million a year to Uganda eh what happened to charity begins at home there are plenty crying out for funding instead of those dodgy African warlords getting their hands on it and the people over there that actually might need it would never see it anyway!!

• Totally agree @ Dylan-

The government there are totally the same as here-

Cut backs in Ireland so that there can be lavish spending in Uganda!!!

We need to get our own country in order- but what else whould be you expect from this government

• Please tell me we weren’t the only country conned by the old African bank account switcheroo?

• Corrupt African leader. Wow, next week Bears do crap in the woods and the pope is catholic.

• I can see the NGOs all lining up now to protest at the shocking uncaring borderline racist decision this is…. oh and I don’t know if anyone on here is familiar with a charity called ‘Operation Christmas Child’?? They collected thousands of shoe boxes and got Irish school children to fill them with gifts sweets and other goodies and sent them to Uganda for Christmas! Yes its a private charity and people are free to give to whatever cause they want but maybe these charity leaders ( who are obviously caring dedicated people) should maybe to focus their energies on Irish children first. Of course I am an ‘uneducated racist guy’… but we do need to look out for own first. This guilt trip ideology that we the humble charitable Irish must save every third world country has to end. I await the backlash from the usual do gooders … you know the type that give the ‘ I made a donation to Concern on your behalf’ card at Christmas…..

• Hi Seán. To react: if you can already see things that have yet to happen,
      it’s called hallucinating. But, that’s ok. Things like that can happen to folk
      under incredible pressure. And on-drugs. & fluoride is one, btw. Classed as
      one at least, on paper.
      I just wanted to point out that in ze Deutsche language, ‘Concern’ … well,
      it means “corporation”.
      You have gotten rid of the sending abroad the cream of Irish youth, but
      the good-will, paved with good intentions &c., that as an industrial element
      to the Irish society that was heretofore, everything, that has merely been
      transferred onto another podium.
      After all, folk doing-for-their-eternal-penance a goodwill gift (tax free, acc.-
      -cording to d’accountant), every penny accounted for, well: that can do no
      harm? As it always was, without d’Church gettin involved? Or taken my
      daughter?
      Uganda? the body for administeratering this funding, it is located in
      the city of Limerick, right? There’s a chap there, who is employed there
      in a giveaway position. His name is John. He banned me from Ireland
      in a previous life of his, as a givernment administrator in another govt
      department, foreign affairs. Where he is still, employed. Doing good.
      Because, administering that knows no end. And it pays very well too.
      Maybe you ought to think about it yourself, as a career in business
      administration, Irish style.
      Like the 2-millen no-can-do military transport helicopters in Sudan?
      Who got the chop for that? Other than the locals, there. haha just like
      a reflection of Ireland?
      So, other than that you already stated Seán: no, you do not need spectacles.
      Ye are really being ripped-off: left, right and (certainly) centre.
      What about the babies in Romania?
      Wont you have to help them too? And the starving of Calcutta?
      The pride of Ireland Lions Cubs, they surely wont not organise for
      them? To “|do something|” for them? A golf round? A raffle chaps?
      Call the TD fellow? (or just meet him of a night out at the 19th hole?)
      Ah-sure? What can-you-do chaps?
      So many starving in Mexico too?
      Your pals in Montrose think ‘living in food poverty’ means not being
      able to eat-out off Prince Nassau Street? More than thrice a week?
      And they are the ones telling you how it is in the country you live-in?

• Michael 26/10/12 #

You are in desperate need of some formatting, and brevity while you are at it

• @Michael what is it I desperately need?
      Bereavement Irish? Who will be handing
      over my dead body to my parents? The
      same Irish A-holes who have refused to
      discuss anything (I only wanted a holiday)
      with me since being diagnosed with MS?
      http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0404/europe.html
      Is that what I need Michael? I’m asking you.

• Cancel all aid programs now. What do people not understand about the word bankrupt?

• Why oh why are we wasting our money in Africa? They have shown that they have no interest in improving their own lot.

• WE ARE BROKE.
    Borrowing money in the meme of the citizens and then sending 31 million to Uganda indicates a crisis when people in Ireland are hungry. This stinks of corruption by politicians in Ireland. It Uganda.

• Banana republic.

• Give them Irish citizenship. Our Nigerians will look after them.

• I am disgusted that a number of people on here have the audacity and front to support this move. Africa and its people are our problem…. we must go without so they have plenty… they are lovely people and the hundreds of millions we give them does such good work. Their standard of living has improved so much that thousands of them can afford to relocate their entire families to Ireland and Europe for years or even forever…

• Everyone should have one favourite Irish charity to support if they can afford it, especially now that some of our own children are starving and homeless due to this government’s arrogance and greed. NO MORE AID until our own are fed and housed.

• @Jenny : many of your (totally unregulated) “charities” (so-called)
      are amply funded on their annual spreadsheets by the massive
      funds that they receive from various pharmaceutical corporations
      operating out of your near-to zero& corporation tax arrangements
      (aptly termed “special-case” arrangements, and available only to
      foreign corporations).
      It’s amazing… the total give-aways going-on within your own
      economy. And on a daily basis too! Money to “give-away”.
      What an i.d.a.?
      Meanwhile, your country ranks alongside Belarus on the MD-id
      2011 Barometer? It’s a Europe-wide report on a certain pathology
      (multiple sclerosis), but it reveals an awful backdrop to the news
      over there in Ireland, about how much money is paid by the people
      to the (very few, and ‘select’ humans that are there treated as gods)
      called, in the local vernacular, as con-sultans.
      There are so few of them there? For such a generous people?
      As ‘thé’ Irish are?
      Who are they?
      -
      Ask someone dxd’s with any kind of neurological illness and who
      is standing within your nation’s borders when they hear that,
      ask them…. if they feel like they live in Uganda?
      http://www.ms-id.org/barometer2008/employment-of-people-with-ms/index.html#Q3.4
      I’m talking all kinds of neurological conditions? Even those from
      car accidents? Those are popular in Ireland, right?
      -
      It’s amazing, with hundreds of millions of Euro in ‘annual funding’
      being supplied to the society, in Dublin, that “looks after” these poor
      unfortunate, “MS” people… that that is considered to be a “charity”…?
      When all that the so-called “lifelong” members see each year, is a
      big lofty annual report arriving in the post? And Ireland are on-par
      with Belarus for the ratio of neurologists-to-population? Nota bene
      physicians … who are there accorded the God status by these “charities”…
      so-much-so that nothing can be questioned? It is “all good”…?
      Just like in sunny Belarus?
      It’s amazing that there is even a so-called ‘charity bank account for
      the pathology MS in Ireland, given that the report above states
      that those with the condition are barred from the workplace? So that
      they are forced to stay at-home: regardless of their age? 16… 23.. 44…
      who cares? It’s over… and ‘we’ are your charity?
      And with the pharmaceutical fdi idea-investment corporations are
      paying c. 80% of the annual budgets of these paved with good-intention
      organisations … for salaries, and costs, and printing & postage (petty ca$h)
      then can anyone explain why so much effort and good-intentions go into
      funding the small 20% that the industrial pharmaceutical giants are not
      paying for…?
      Something to do for the wheeley chair people? Sponsored spelling-tests?
      If another relative writes to me telling me they are going around asking
      the poor, broke, ignorant (apparently) neighbours of my other family-relative
      to give ‘them’ funds … in cents … so that s/he will be stimulated to learn?
      To spell? And these organisations (unregulated) that are operating in your
      country, “motivating” the young ones to pick up a book … for ca$s…? To help
      the in-valids? wtf? A budget of hundreds of thousands, propped up by the corporations
      that front-up Ireland’s surging-exports… in medical ‘solutions’ that are not even
      available to the indigen folk on that island? Ye accept that?
      Belarus & you… on-par?

• I don’t believe it for a minute the government of Uganda robbing funds to feed the poor…. Never have I heard of this before happening
    in Africa.

• Eimear Fleming, i am in Uganda. I can say you are very right that a little money here can do a lot if well directed. Comforting news in the saga is that the unearthing was done by a “Ugandan Auditor General” which is one of the structures put in place to curb such vices, by the system itself. Withholding aid means stifling the work and growth of such institutions as they won’t have much more responsibility to carry on.

• I am just back from Uganda! One thing I noticed while there was that they never beg, they never complain no matter how little they have! Ugandan people are the most positive, extraordinary people I have ever met! We in Ireland do nothing but complain and b***h (im including myself in this!) Though I do get charity starts at home don’t let this article overshadow the importance of what a few euro can make to them when given through the right source!

• They never beg? where have you been, you don’t have to go any further than Entebbe airport to experience it. I spent 5 years living there and I was constantly accosed by beggars, all you need is a white skin and you are fair game. Open your eyes and face reality.
      I have faced this non accountability many times and I have often wondered why the charities keep sending money without proper accountability, it must surely be poor accountability on their part as well.

• Allan stop demeaning the people of Uganda. We are materially and spiritually rich. Our African values of reaching out to each other are firm. Corruption is a crime in Uganda. If a few officials misappropriated resources – why tag the whole of Uganda. Thank you Eimear Fleming for your honesty.

• Jill :D 25/10/12 #

If they spent the ?4m on sending aid workers over to teach people how to farm land and animals there wouldn’t be this mess! I’m 19 for feck sake why hasn’t a government official thought of that?

• Rwakakamba, I am not demeaning the people of Uganda, I worked along them for quite a long time and I regard them highly and some of my best friends are Ugandan. I am not discussing the reasons for begging I am just stating a fact, Ugandans do beg, big time. All I have to do it walk along any street in Kampla and I will be approached repeatadly just because I am a Muzungu. I am not sure when I wil be in Uganda again, but when I do go I invite you to accompany me on such mission and we will see who is right or who is wrong. Maybe if you are a Ugandan you will not be approached because the sympathy will be a lot less but as a with a white person it is very different, they are seen as more sympathetic. Open your eyes man and face reality you will be surprised what you might see.

• so Gavan? upon seeing this report, your reading, voting, Irish-residents will gain
    some insight into what the non-Irish Eurozone, Europeans (here in Europe, with
    you) will view the prospect of handing over more of our funds and resources to
    your …. apparatus there.

PS: It was really amusing how the IMF put into the letter, that message to miLor
    Lemmingham, your deathbed minister of finance (could it be more sinister?) that
    the leaders over there, that they ought not to send out the usual kind of idiot Irish
    diplomat cum pseudo-financier to the iMF VIENNA tutorials set up to teach miLor
    how to operate (and be seen to) as a nation (like any other that hasn’t been wiped
    off the face of planet earth). A nation once again. hiphip, hurray! hiphip… And in
    other news, Mr Beumont is asking us to spEnda Penny? On ye? Looks to me like
    Dublin Castle &c. taught the same lesson to the Eurogroup in nigh-on thirty years,
    that it took the British under London Tower 300-years to get through their heads.

• Are you drunk?

• Noel Mc Cullagh
      Go away . The people here dont want the IMF , the ECB or the EFSM…. or anythinng else ffs.
      It was the lying cheating two faced badstarts who lied to get into government ,and to save their own pensions over paid and idiotic salaries who went with begging cup in hand …

• WTF ?

• Noel if what you said actually made any grammatical sense you’d be even more full of sh*t. as it stands you sound (read) like ur off ur head.

• @BB hahah. & your name is: Bilbo Baggins? From the Shire land?
      A land for hire? Is that a place in Ireland? shIre-land? Or sire land?
      Irish people constantly say “the government” & “the state” … ?
      It means ‘you’. It’s your government, your state. (And your debt).
      -
      Ireland don’t need the trinity? Why is it the basis for your Irish constitution?
      Just like that other breakaway British republic: Pakistan.
      Their constitutional basis is Allah. Your republic’s is Jasush, and ‘his’ Troika.
      Read it for yourselves. Wonder what your pals Uganda base theirs upon?

Add New Comment