TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Joe Higgins to seek legal advice over travel expenses

Authorities in the Houses of the Oireachtas have already said that they too are talking to lawyers over whether TDs can use travel expenses to attend meetings.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

SOCIALIST PARTY TD Joe Higgins is to seek legal advice over TDs using Oireachtas allowances to travel to household charge meetings.

Higgins says that he believes that his interpretation of Oireachtas rules is correct and that TDs are allowed to use the money to travel around the country, but says that if he is mistaken, he will return the money that was used.

A number of United Left Alliance TDs, including Joe Higgins and Clare Daly, used the allowance to travel to meetings which took place around the country to campaign against the household charge.

Yesterday evening the Houses of the Oireachtas said that it too is seeking legal advice over the issue.

The Houses of the Oireachtas Service said that it had “never envisaged” that TDs would use the travel and accommodation allowance to travel outside of their constituencies, except for journeys to and from Leinster House.

The Dublin West TD said that he regretted the the Houses of the Oireachtas had not met with him before seeking legal advice.

In a statement this evening he gave  details of the amount of travel expenses he had claimed for travelling to meetings around the country between January and June. The total came to €935.

The exact figures provided by Higgins  are:

Cork (by train) – €71; Castlebar Petrol – €74 ; Bed & Breakfast – €35; Monaghan-NIL; Ennis (by train) – €63 – Bed & Breakfast – €36; Waterford – NIL; Dundalk – €25; Navan – €17; Mullingar – €24; Naas – €11; Wicklow – €14; Tralee (by train) – €79; Carlow (train one way) – €16; Donegal – €72; Galway – €60; Limerick (by train) – €58 – Bed & Breakfast – €54; Clonmel – €56; Enniscorthy – €34; Tullamore – €30; Killarney (one way) – €44; Killarney/Cork – €13; Cork/Dublin – €37; Kilcoole, Co. Wicklow – €13

Clare Daly on expenses: ‘We’ve done nothing that we shouldn’t have’ >

Read next:

Comments (124 Comments)

• I’m no fan actually far from it but this smells so bad it’s unreal . €900 is nothing compared to the constant waste of tax payers money by every td . The whole system is broken and it requires radical change and quickly . No unvouched expenses , publicly declared finances and a reduction in salary across the board .

• I still don’t see what the big deal is with finding the Joe Higgins Boson….has he not always been there?

• 3 points:

1. Rules on TDs travel expenses are not clear and therefore the Oireachtas had to seek legal advice on their interpretation. The Oireachtas interprets this to reinforce parish pump politics. The Socialist Party had interpreted it to mean representing those tens of thousands of householders nationwide who had invited Joe and Clare to speak at their local meetings and launch a national campaign on a national issue against austerity taxes.

2. Joe Higgins worked as a school teacher in inner city schools. If you want to find freeloaders, look at the tax dodging owners of the newspaper group leading the smear campaign.

3. When the gravy train brigade in Fine Gael, Fianna Fail and Labour decide to do the decent thing and slash TDs salaries and expenses, the Socialist Party will be the first to support this. In the meantime, we will use every penny at our disposal to fight the injustice of austerity that is destroying lives to pay off private bank gambling debts. It is quite obvious that the government/troika/media are beginning to fear the level of opposition to their agenda and are attempting to discredit the leaders of the fightback. What we are experiencing here is the third stage of “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”

• 3 Replies:

The rules are vague (to a lay person anyway). The government never anticipated that they would be used in this fashio and so they are examining if it is permissible. Why? A lot of public anger at public representatives abusing the expense system.

The Socialist party interpreted it to mean that they could claim expenses for any travel they undertook as a result of their socialist platform.

2. It is entirely irrelevant where Higgins worked previously.

3. Not worth replying to – brainwashed nonsense.

• Hang on here a second. Are people actually giving out at a politician trying to do the job of the opposition? What’s all the kuffufal about?

• What’s the bets he charges us for the legal advice?

• comments are getting very silly @bruce it was 900euro.joe was a school teacher why r people telling silly lies that he never worked not a fan of joe but stick to the facts and get off the band wagon

• To cut through all the crap being posted on here about him blatantly stealing. It was stated on Joe’s website “I now intend to seek independent legal advice on the interpretation of Statutory Instrument 84/2010 as I believe that Section 4 (1)’s reference to a travel allowance to be used for ‘travel expenses which the member is obliged to incur in the performance of his or her duties as a member of Dáil Eireann’”.

I think he will win. The hype created over this is unbelievable.

• Gary his duties relate to his activities in Dail Eireann not elsewhere. A big fuss has been made of this because he puts himself our there as a know all and as a major critic of everything around him.nAr the end of the day himself and the wan from Swords and the other inner city one have been caught with their hand in the cookie Jar…………..Gotcha!nAnd all this is going on while he is encouraging people to break the law! What a cod piece!

• It says “as a member” therefore it suggests it is for general political use. The majority of argument on here seem to be disagreeing with him due to his message. But do people really want an opposition argument against the government lost? The argument is constantly being made let his ‘small’ party pay for these things themselves. Obviously that isn’t possible due to the nature of the party (support by mostly working/middle class and not big business/millionaires). To me it seems they have used money given to them and used it according to the rules given to them. All this malarkey being created by the press is just an attack on the party to reduce their ability to hold people the right people to account for this mess.

• Has all this bullshit over the last few days been about 1000 euro petrol money?
    Its hilarious how easily the media and the maa-aa-aa-ses can be whipped into artificial frenzy about something so insignificant.

• and what about Phils trip to sunny Rio!?
    you people need to get a grip!
    and ps Joe talks some Shite i don’t like the man but come on 900 euro compared to 10 grand?
    and no t.d should have any expenses either they are paid well enough to get to and from work.

• Just joining the long list who are out to screw the taxpayer…….

• Oh yea all 900 euro living it up on train tickets and bb’s. For god sake you would think he was doing what all the rest of the Dublin td’s are doing claiming the full 12000 unvouched and putting it in their own pocket both clAre daly and joe have receipts for everything and used the allowance for representing the people not for lining their own pockets as Clare daly said lets have full vouched expenses then lets see what legitimate expenses the government td’s really have

• I posted this on the Clare Daly segment earlier… but i am repasting back here …
      I am no fan of Clare Daly per se, but i respect her views 100%. We had FF/Labour and an independent academic from DCU on the Vincent Browne show last night. The show itself was a frace, because Sam Smith was so far up labours rear end, brown-nosing (so i am guessing the little git is looking for s Seanad Pension nomination, watch this space) so much to Pat Rabbit was night, it was a mockery. But even Nora Owens (former FF minister, Pat Rabbit, current serving minister, and the DCU Government expert, all said that they would have assumed that the expenses that Claire Daly put in, would have been legitimate. Every expense she put in to reimbusement, was receipted.
      You are going on about not turning this into anything other than an attack on Clare Daly, because you bully boys like attacking the left, but, come on, fair is fair. Neither she, or Joe Higgins (who i find onnoxious to listen to) are trying to scam the public. They are giving their time over to highlight and represent what is wrong with this country. I understand that in total, Clare Daly expenses 15,000 Euro for the entire year (and that includes her day to day Dail expenses, and her campaigning on the HHC outside her constituency).
      Can you guys not see how hypocritical it is for you to attack Clare Daly and Joe Higgins for these relatively minor expenses, when you have the likes of FFg’s Phil Hogan over partuing it up in 340 euro per night Hotels in Rio de Janeiro? He spent a week partying, and then took a more expensive flight back , just to see a football game in his own county?
      You guys really can’t see the moral difference between the two?
      We have Pat Rabbit last night claiming success for having turned around the unemployment crises, and saying that he and every member of the Government deserve the wages they are on, and increased expense allowances, because in his words, they have improved things so much.
      Really guys, are you going to try and defend your corrupt Governments record, by attacking the socialist Party or SF?
      If there was a single moral bone in any member of the cabinets body, they would immediately call for all the ministers in teh cabinet to reduce their wages and total compensation packages to less than 50k per year until the crises is over. That would save the country 8 million euro per year between now and the end of their term in Government. At least that way, when they bring in charges like the HHC and PRSI increases, water charges, Electronic device charges, increased VAT rates, university fees, Petrol duties and so on, they will fully understand what impact they are having on the AVERAGE person in the country. Instead, they are attempting to deflect attention away from these issues by attacking the socialist and SF.
      They are doing through their mouth-piece the Independent Newspaper Group, owned by Denis O’Brien. This is the same Denis O’Brien who magically appeared on stage beside Bertie Aherane (sorry, Enda Kenny) at the New York Stock Exchange this year. This is the same Denis O’Brien who bought ESAT from the FFG/Labour Government 15 years ago for 19 million euro and then sold it on for a 2,000 million euro profit (yes 2 billion profit) 1 year later.
      The same newspaper group ran the story last week against Pearse Doherty, the day before SF tabled the bill to repeal the household charge.
      Like come on, is this a democratic republic or a banana republic that controls the media and stifles any opposition voices. We saw the same thing last week, when the Independent ran the columns from Brian Hayes (FFG minister) telling the people not to watch Martin McGuinness shaking hands with the Queen. If that wasn’t bad enough, they then ran 6 different Irish hater columns backing up their FFG minister.
      You guys are detsroying any semblance of democracy left in this country, along with freedom of speech. If it wasn’t for the Journal.ie, they would have the entire market sown up.
      People are leaving this country at the rate of 70,000 people per year. We had a BBC program on BBC 3 last night highlighting all the worngs that this government are perpetrating on its citizens. It was shameful to watch, and yet i think it should be mandatory viewing in every school in Ireland immediately.
      FFG/Labour are not only continuing the policies of FF before them, they are perfecting the corruption and efforts to silence the opposition. Romantic Ireland really is dead and gone!

I am not a socialist party member, and i do lean towards SF, but am in no way a member (and never have been). I support Calre Dalys endeavor, based on the fact that she spent 15,000 euro in total in the last 12 months on expenses. This is vastly less than any SF/FFG/FF/Labour average. She has expensed with receipts, every penny. She hasn’t tried to hide a penny of her spending.
      Compare that to Hogan, who in one week alone, ran up a 20,000 euro bill, while holidaying in Rio. If any member of SF did that, i would condemn them. This is pure pigs at the rough politics. Daly is not in that category.
      I hope you see the distinction. And Hogan is not the only one at it. We heard today that all teh advisors hired by FFg/Labour that break the salary cap law, will be paid by the tax-payer, even though they break the law. On top of that, the advisors are getting public servant PA’s, and those public servant PAs are getting an extra 7k per year to work for those special advisors.
      Like come on…. You dont need to be a genius to work out, which TDs are milking it, giving their mates jobs, using public servants as secretaries for their mates, and then paying those public servants 7,000 extra keep quiet money. FFG/Labour are making FF look like Angels… and trust me FF were the worst thing to ever happen our country.

• Jesus Cal, any chance of a tl;dr? Its like another 50 shades novel.

• J Mc 05/07/12 #

@Cal1
      A comment is meant to be a comment,a ”snippet” to express your thought on a given subject.. You sound like u overly want ur voice to be heard try somewhere else mate, we’r accustomed to concise well made points here, NOT rants of ur nature..
      Cuddles ;)

• Lads, I’m sure thejournal has the facility to limit the amount of text that can be contained in a post. At the end of the day it is up to them, not you, what that amount should be.

• J Mc 05/07/12 #

@too truleft
      The clue is in the prompt, ie POST COMMENT, never saw a link for posting an over-inflated-to-the-point-of-nauseousness/unconsciousness comment

• And you’re the arbiter around here on what length this said comment should be?

• IN other news Brian Hayes also used expenses for travelling around the country while in oppostion, I wonder will all those bashing Joe and Clare also call for Brian Hayes to return the money he used from expenses to travel? although I won,t hold my breath.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0705/1224319429077.html

• I’m quite happy to say he should return the money. His expenses for being a TD are for representing his own constituency. If he had duties for Fine Gael that brought him around the country then Fine Gael should have paid them.

• Gilmore made a comment about Higgins on the news yesterday and then jumped into his top of the range chauffeur driven BMW .. Let’s all get real here…

• Mr Lawlor I was not aware that Joe Higgins was a Senior Minister in the Irish Government and thus can be compared to Mr Gilmore and the latters use of a State car!nHiggins has been a freeloader for years and his sanctimonious expression coupled with his contrived diction makes me want to reach for the white chins telephone!nMy hard earned money is being used by this windbag to foment dissent and incite people to break the law! What part of that unethical and appalling behaviour for a democrat do you misunderstand?

• Absolutely ! Mr Higgins can not be compared to Gilmore ! Joe Higgins is in a league of his own , honest as the day is long . However Mr Gilmore is in league with big money corporations and failed banks oh and the Bundestagg, sure hasn’t he and his party turned their backs on ordinary decent people , who he lied to , to get into power. Labour /FG = turncoats.
      But sure you all know this already .

• Hear hear Eileen.

• We could be here all day if we start talking about the shady and murky practices carried out by FG politicians over the years.

Which is why when FG supporters start harping on about the Higgins/Daly/Collins expenses, expenses which are vouched for and directly related to political activity, rather then feathering one’s owns nest as is the classical FF/FG tradition, one can only smile at the hypocrisy of it all.

People Ask yourself this, on the yearly politicians expenses list, why is it mainly FG/FF politicians who’ve decided to go down the ‘unvouched’ expenses route?

What are they hiding?

• I think the whole expenses debate is successful in doing only one thing, that is to divide people. Good points on both side in my opinion. Can we look at the bigger picture, there is a whole lotta reform needed. If it is the job of a TD to go around the country talking about policy then fine, but then every TD should get the same allowance. If not then the system needs to change, so let’s change it, together.nn

• Stop talking sense,people don’t like it.
      Unfortunately, the pigs with their snouts in the trough have zero intention of closing off a system that has put 10,000′s of euros into their bank accounts every year for the last decade. Similar to the hoo-haa last week involving SF, you can be damn sure that FFg/Labour/FF will find a way to ensure that this gets put to bed. There isn’t any money in it for them to change the status-quo :(

• Am I reading this statement from Joe Higgins correctly? Is he stating the the taxpayers have to pay for his overnight accommodation as well as his mileage expenses? Is this guy for real?nLet us make it very clear to these mealy mouthed so called Socialists who sit in their lofty perches in Dail Eireann like the two old guys in the Muppetts that their hypocrisy is just nauseating.nHimself and herself…..Mz Daly have been found out and they are seeking legal advice……perhaps they need it as they have been misusing taxpayers funds according to those charged with responsibility in such matters. Inciting others to break the law must also be an offence…why not throw the book at them while we’re at it!

• That man is nothing but a mouthpiece. He’s just like the rest of them cowboys. I hope he ends up on the scrapheap come the next election.

• David 04/07/12 #

” What do people expect him to do get on a bike and bring a sleeping bag with him?” I expect him to pay for his crusade out of his own pocket. He can well afford it but of course his motto is LET SOMEONE ELSE PAY. Also what is he doing with all the money the naive people give to them at the household charge meetings? Where is that money going? And is it being declared for income tax?

• Gerard 04/07/12 #

Is this David Higgins in disguise?

• To me every one of them in the Dail reminds me of a ‘cult’. Screwing with people’s lives, loved ones (sadly who have taken their own lives since 2007), their money. No better than any religion being shoved down our necks for years. Thieving, lying, selfish, self centred, narcissistic arseholes!

These TDs, Ministers, past, present and probably future, if this is let go on …. is like a unique country within a country! They have safeguards like, ‘diplomatic immunity’. Time to use the truck load of demostos in that place.

• Ok, let me state straight up, im not a fan of Joe, or his stance on the HH charge… but I think he made an honest mistake on what he thought he could claim for. he’s claimed very little, and picked the cheapest option in all cases. a lot of people can claim (in or around, can’t remember the figures) 64 cent per mile driven and up to 114 euros a night in subsistence or more if in a plush hotel. I think a slap on the wrist and a warning to others to know what they can claim, and move onto the bigger things… love to see the expense claims from some of the guys at the top…

• Yeah, I’d actually have a lot of sympathy for that viewpoint. Certainly, if Higgins had put his hands up and said “Sorry, I honestly misunderstood the rules” and started paying the money back, I’d actually be defending his original mistake.

It’s more his response to this that’s getting people’s backs up. He seems to be trying to get out of paying the money back, insisting he didn’t do anything wrong (when plainly he did, whether intentionally or unintentionally) and engaging in such epic whataboutery you could put a beard on him and call him “Gerry”,

• To be honest, if the ruling ultimately goes against him, he can always use the portion of his salary above the average industrial wage to cover his travel expenses. Total non-issue manufactured to divert our attention away from the billions of our cash being handed over to bondholders.

• Some people really talk utter shite on here. I understand right-wingers doing it because its in their ideological interests to smear Joe Higgins and at least they make an attempt at a coherent argument. But some peoples logic clearly does not extend past the headlines in The Sun. Put a bit of thought into what your going to say instead of just throwing out generic greenthumbers.

• Bruce 04/07/12 #

Ah the mask has slipped… Joe its just another pig with his snout in the trough. Drain as much a you can from the system. Is there anyone dail with integrity?

• I always put on mute on the TV when Joe Higgins is talking I cant stand him

• Time to pay Joe! Oh and pay your household charge too. A bit tired of carrying your like.

• I’d be sympathetic to some of the ULA’s policies but wouldn’t consider myself a fanboy or blindly led by some of their ideas. However this should really be seen in context, the expenses listed are modest and small fry compared to what is claimed and has been claimed by other TD’s in the past. This springs to mind http://www.independent.ie/national-news/odonoghue-claims-250000-expenses-in-last-two-years-1903463.html

Interesting to see that Joe used public transport as much as possible too.

This is a non-issue, more important things going on at the minute that this.

• Absolutely disagree.

It it totally irrelevant how much it costs. Public representatives should NOT bel allowed to use the expenses system as some sort of private fund to pay for whatever flights of fancy they wish to indulge in.

If Higgins et al want to pursue this campaign then let them. But they can pay for it themselves.

Its the principal of the thing and its something that too many people are happy to overlook.

• Joe, you are no better than Wallace, Lowry, Ahern, Doherty and many others. All defrauders of the state…

• So that’s Ming Wallace Clare Daly, and now Joe Higgins so who’s left? Wake up people ! Who do you thinks behind all this? No such thing as free press anymore . Media are a weapon in government s adgenda

• That’s it! The government falsified Wallace’s VAT returns, addled Ming’s brain with too much turf smoke and forced the others on to trains at gunpoint. Cunning “adgenda”.

• Not normally one for conspiracy theories but there does appear to be an organised effort to smear selected politicians in recent weeks. Well in one “news”paper in particular.
      Funnily enough it seems to coincide with a change in ownership at said paper.
      People should remember that the information in relation to Higgins, Daly and Pearse Doherty has always been in the public domain.
      Also Doherty was found to have done no wrong and as of yet neither have Higgins and Daly.

• If it’s not the “blueshirt” tag, it’s the media’s fault. Ah, well -

• Declan constructive arguments would help your cause.

• The same can be said with those who throw out that ol’ “blueshirt” line, Gary. Look – some ULAs were found out. Deal with it, ULAs. Some ULAs & left minded supporters are great for dishing it out but can’t take it back in return. At this stage the whole friggin’ thing is annoying, tbh. Deal with it & S.U.M.O. ( shut up, move on ). Throwing the “blueshirt” line is peevish at best. Politics in this country stinks as do some politicians, Gary. As a nation, we have been extremely badly served. It’s not rocket science to put in place proper rules & regulations. Just do it, Dail Eireann.

• You see, I can see both sides of the story. I can see that the Irish press leans right and therefore there probably IS a vested editorial interest in digging up what dirt they can find on the ULAs.

But I can also see, plain as day, that doesn’t make whatever dirt they DO find magically okay. And, in any event, the Independents have made themselves hostage to fortune, anyway, with their whole Holier Than Thou rhetoric ANYWAY. If you’re going to claim to be Whiter Than White then you’d better BE Whiter Than White and there’s no point blaming the media if you get found out.

• Joe in fairness has done time for fighting for the rights of people. Yes he might have done what he has done. seriously we need more people like him as a nation we have forgotten what are legs are for!

• Joe your taking tax payers money and then breaking the law. Not only that your telling everyone to break the law. If you come in for a drink in the pub I work and pay my high tax you wont be served.

• European socialists want everyone to pay. Irish socialists want no one to pay.

• This won’t get manys tumbs up but here goes. What do people expect him to do get on a bike and bring a sleeping bag with him? He has every right to claim the expense , he is a TD and works for the people and is trying to keep his promises , every poster had no to household tax that’s how he got elected, if people want to give out ask why the f@@k the government are buying 10,000 silk ties

• Good point on the ties! I know they need to dish out goodies for these things, like favours at a wedding, maybe some chocolates instead?? But why should we pay for that muppet to prance around spouting his tripe, telling people to break the law? He is entitled to speak but let his little party cough up the money!

• I expect him to fund his campaign himself. I dont support his idiotic crusade and I strongly object to having my tax money used to fund his ridiculous partisan campaign.

Like the rest of the world he can either stay at home (or travel to Leinster House) or he can spread his message – but if he does the latter his party can pick up the tab.

If his supporters want him to continue – let them donate to his party. Lets see if the almighty man-of-the-people would be willing to fund the whole thing out of his own pocket. I daresay the little trips around the country would dry up rather quickly if the man had to pay for it himself.

To answer your question Donal – I expect to pay for it himself. Not charge it to the people.

• Felix you expect his party to pay his expenses meanwhile you’re happy to fund the silk ties happy in the knowledge that big business will fund whatever harebrained scheme your party comes up with to screw the working class.

Well said Donal.

• @ Radar

This is so typical. Its the same argument from you people again and again and again. This has nothing to do with any other party or politican. Nothing whatsoever.

For the record – I dont support any political party. I think they are all, to one extent or another, useless. So when you refer to “My party” youre making completely incorrect assumptions.

This is so typical of Higgins supporters – its absolutely preposterous. His actions are NOT justified simply because someone else, allegedly, has abused the expenses system also. ANYONE who abuses the expenses system, irrespective of their party or whether or not they are in government, should be investogated and reprimanded for doing so. We must have an end to unvouched expenses. Its that simple.

In this particular case Higgins is just one more politician fleecing the public purse. Pursuing his own partisan agenda at the cost of the taxpayer. Its a disgrace.

Radar there is simply no justification for it – particularly not your nonsense about “silk ties”.

• Bruce 05/07/12 #

Sorry but less of the martyr joe nonsense. Don’t fudge the issue. Dil expenses are explicitly intended for travel to and from the constituency to the dail.

Everything else should be paid by the td or their party from their own funds. It its as clear as that.

• 10,000 silk ties. What the hell is all that about?

• What part of “invited” don’t you get Felix? The Socialist Party did not decide to tap into public funds to go on a mission around the country spreading the good word. We were approached by people nationwide to travel to them. As you said, the rules are vague. That is not our fault. We interpret “in the course of duties as s member of Dail Eireann” to mean supporting workers in struggle and communities in need across the country. If we are to be castigated for this it shows the real dearth of integrity in the Irish political system. Where Joe worked is in no way irrelevant if people on this forum slander him as a “freeloader who never worked a day in his life”. On point 3, so the onus isn’t on the government to slash salaries and expenses?

• Whether you were invited or otherwise is entirely irrelevant. It doesnt matter whether you chose to go, you were invited or you were kidnapped and brought there against your will. It doesnt matter in the least. The taxpayer should be paying for it.

The rules dont specify what exactly is meant by “performing their duties”. Personally I would not see advocating a partisan political platform to break the law all over the country as part of their duties but irrespective of my opinion the tax payer shouldnt be footing the bill for – its really that simple.

Also it is totally irrelevant how YOU interpret the rules. If we could do that people everywhere could interpret laws and regulations in whatever bizarre what they saw fit so that they might benefit from said interpretation.

You are to be castigated for charging the taxpaying public for the expenses of furthering your own agenda.

Where Joe worked previously is totally irllevant to the issue at hand – is he or is he not entitled to claim these expenses? That is the ony issue.

On point 3 – once again, what the government should or shouldnt be doing is completely irrelevant to whether or not Higgins is entitled to claim these expenses. I have many problems wityh the behaviour of the current government. None of my grievances have ANY bearing whatsoever on this issue though. How the government has behaved is entirely irrelevant to this issue.

I repeat – the issue is a very straightforward and simple one. Is Higgins entitled to claim these expenses under the regulations? If not he must refund the tax payer. If he is entitled to then I will be very annoyed about it – I dont think the tax payer should have to pay for it. But there will be nothing I can do about it – thats the way the rules work.

Its a very straightforward issue – all of his supporters asimply try and muddy the waters in order to justify the behaviour by referring to entirely irrelevant matters such as his character, his agenda, his previous employment or the governments failures – none of which have any bearign whatspever on the issue.

• Typo – in the first paragraph – the tax payer should NOT be paying for it.

• I have a novel suggestion. Let’s tax Joe Higgins’ use of the word “ordinary”. €5 per mention in an interview would balance our budget in no time. His fetishisation of “ordinary, working people” is bizarre – as if ordinary-ness is an admirable or desirable state. Surely what we need is more extraordinary working people.

• Will he expense the legal fees?

• Higgins says that he believes that his interpretation of Oireachtas rules is correct and that TDs are allowed to use the money to travel around the country………… By jeez, sure why don’t they go to weekends away in Trabolgan, fishing in Bundoran, and surfing in Lahinch and a bit of As Gaeilge down in Rinn. You’re taking the piss fella. He will pay it back…. hmmm pure sign of a chancer.

• Best of luck Joe after all you are on the side of the hard working people’s side. The People that actual got off their B.Sides and worked hard to actually own their own home. And now will be charged a rent for the rest of their lives in their own homes. So Joe is an Honourable and decent man that is actually working for the people not like Enda and Eamon that do not care or work for the Irish People.. Again Mr Joe Higgins best of luck to you and thanks for your hard work

• The man made fraudulent claims, and I quote “The Houses of the Oireachtas Service said that it had “never envisaged” that TDs would use the travel and accommodation allowance to travel outside of their constituencies, except for journeys to and from Leinster House.” Honourable or Dishonourable……….. hmmmmmm,

• Bernadette seriously?? He was using our money to travel around and preach to his “people” that they should break the law! He is a moaner nothing more. They should pay back the money and if they want to go on a little crusade around Ireland pay for it themselves. So its time Chairman Higgins hands back the money! Claire and Joan too!

• David 04/07/12 #

Since when does Higgins and co. represent hard working people. I thought quite the opposite myself. In it for his own pocket like the rest of them i’d say.

• Those who speak from the high moral ground should no better, joe knows it all but guess who is screwing the taxpayer. This guy was an mep remember.

• Bernadette God Bless you for your unguarded and Holy Rosary support for Father Joe……he fell and you picked him up…he sinned and you forgave him…….mind your wallet…oops too late!

• Bernadette .
      Well said . Ignore the detractors .

• Detractors Eileen? You’re too kind! Keep lapping up the BS that Independent Newspapers feeds ye lads. They’ll feed ye the odd crumbs re Fine Gael but big chunks of BS re the opposition. Some of us don’t acquire the taste for it.

• I see Herr enda has the brownshirts , sorry blueshirts out in force on the posts tonight .

• He spent a lot of time on trains .what about the people who elected him

• Jesus will people just pay the household charge the amount of time engrey people put into not paying it should be a crime. Just get a life will ye

• Still moaning i see joe seen a opening to get votes hes no better or worse that any of them the fact is if a big enough crowd start saying free the sex offenders there would be guys like him to jump on the band wagon just for a few votes thats all that matters to any of them

• And of corse i can afford it i came from a household of notting ten penny bars for dinner and at 19 said to myself i will make this life work for me no matter what i only have one shot. Saved every penny i could and the start of this year now 25 open my own place now have two hired and i have them shafting me everytime i turn around but i will not start moaning about it simple because theres no money in moaning.

Add New Comment