TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Oireachtas to seek legal advice over TDs using travel expenses

A statement said the Oireachtas “had never envisaged” that TDs would use the allowance for travelling to meetings about the household charge.

Joe Higgins, who has defended the use of travel expenses to attend meetings on the household charge
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE HOUSES OF the Oireachtas is seeking legal advice over TDs using travel allowances to travel around the country to attend household charge meetings.

In an unexpected statement this evening, a spokesperson said that the Oireachtas had never foreseen the current situation arising where TDs would use the expenses to travel anywhere other than to and from Leinster House and around their constituencies.

A number of Dublin-based TDs including Clare Daly, Joe Higgins and Joan Collins are believed to have used the allowance to travel to meetings which took place around the country to campaign against the household charge.

Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins has called the issue a “manufactured controversy”.

He cited a specific Oireachtas regulation to back up his claim that TDs are entitled to use the allowance for other travel. The regulation says that TD is entitled to claim for “travel expenses which the member is obliged to incur in the performance of his or her duties as a member of Dáil Éireann”.

The statement from the Houses of the Oireachtas Service read:

The Houses of the Oireachtas Service has confirmed that, in relation to Deputies, the Travel and Accommodation Allowance incorporates travel to and from Leinster House and the Deputy’s normal place of residence and any place in their constituency.

The Service had never envisaged that the Travel and Accommodation Allowance would allow Deputies to travel outside of their constituencies, except for journeys to and from Leinster House.

It is currently seeking legal advice to clarify the position.

Higgins slams ‘manufactured controversy’ over use of TDs expenses >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (66 Comments)

• Maybe if TD’s or what ever committee of TD’s who draw up the rules and regulations sat down and defined what for and how much expenses can be claimed once and for all we wouldn’t be reading stuff like this? Get rid of the un-vouched expenses, daft allowances etc. If you can not document it you don’t get the expense. It’s laughable that no one seems to know what is allowed and what isn’t. As I said on another thread TD’s & expenses = total farce.

• Do you remember the great craic we all had a few years ago when Ivor Callely was caught claiming for travel expenses from the furthest possible point on the island despite living only 5 miles away from the Seanad and then he had to pay back all the money and then he went to court and then got sent to jail? Good times, good times……
    Oh wait……..

• He gets €41,000 per annum Leaders allowance to find his political activities. The travel allowance is to cover the costs described elsewhere in this thread. The man is as honest and truthful as Willy O’Dea.nnBut then thats politics.

• The House of Oireachtas is only now realising that current expenses system is incredibly flaky, wasn’t this the very same system “reformed” to prevent potential mis-use? They seem to have very short memories up there, wasn’t a certain Senator caught “flipping” permanent addresses only last year? If that wasn’t a warning light, then what on earth would be one?! Dear god help us all.

• On the subject of travel expenses how did Ruari Quinn manage to claim for 2,800km of mileage for August 2011 when he was officially on holiday for 22 days of that month?
    Mr Quinn claimed for 5,100kms during July, when his official diary also showed less than 1,000km worth of trips.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2106567/Ruairi-Quinn-claims-2-800KM-9-days-work.html#ixzz1zaFLWxFn

• Joe & the gang wage war on austerity and want the taxpayer to pay for it. They’re a joke…

• I am glad you can see the humorous side O’Reilly . That makes me so happy :)
      However, I still believe the government are up to yet more tricks to scare people into paying the hhc. It is of course our duty as good citizens to object to unfair and unjust taxes/ laws .

• Excuse my ignorance, but what should the travelling allowance be used for? Is it just for travelling to and from the Dail or do TD’s use it to attend constituency meetings and meetings elsewhere? For instance, a select number of TD’s from across the political divide recently travelled to France on a ‘trade mission’. Clearly, this is outside their constituency, and no doubt they got travel allowances. So if it’s ok to go to France to generate business then surely it’s ok to travel to parts of Ireland to generate support for a change of policy? n

• O’Reilly,

So what arre you saying? That Fine Gael are saints?! Please – take a look at Enda Kennys record:

- Increased TD’s allowances

- Maintained a bloated public sector

- Continued paying bank debt

• Nothing humourous about it. They rale against the charge ’cause the taxpayer can’t afford it. And who’s picking up the charge for the campaign….

• Stephen D
      That is a very apt point you make, and not at all ignorant . Maybe some body from FG/Lab can answer that Question .

• This is disgraceful – the travelling allowance should be used to ensure that TDs are remunerated for necessary travelling expenses incurred when they must travel between their constituency and Dail Eireann.

It is an absolute disgrace that this person is claiming expenses to fund his own private partisan campaign. This is tax payers money – it should not be used to as his private slush fund to do whatever it is he pleases.

Absolutely outrageous and I hope to God that he is forced to repay it all to the exchequer.

• Joe is now saying that his public opposition to the Household Charge and his aiding and abetting of breaches of the law by urging others not to pay while being a Public Representative can be described as a Duty within the meaning of the Regulations.nI’m tired of his craw thumping and whinging and moaning and law breaking at my expense and yours.nWhen we find his hand in the till he roars defiance……does it not make you sick to your stomach?

• Agreed totally.the guy is wrong . Wrong . Wrong. Expenses are not meant to be used to advocate breaking the law- no matter how much you disagree with the law. Distasteful as it may be to you , it is still the law.

• “and his aiding and abetting of breaches of the law”

You sound like Robocop. The law has many injustices that need to be challenged. What you’ve said is a very dangerous thing to say in public. I’m guessing any playground mentor would give you a well-deserved slapdown on that one in public.

• The law may have many injustices but the way to overcome that is not to go around ignoring them and wilfully breaking them. Certainly a public representative shouldnt be seen to be doing so.

But more than anything he should ASBOLUTELY NOT be REIMBURSED for his behaviour.

If he wants to pursue this campaign – fine. Let him. I think its embarassing that he should do so but so be it. He certainly should not be permitted to charge the public for it.

If you agree with his position – again, so be it. Donate to his party. Donate to him personally. Pay his petrol expenses youself. Thats YOUR choice. It should not be done with taxpayers money. The hypocrisy of it all is staggering.

• Am aganist the Household, but what this gangasters in the Socialist Party are doing is wrong, they are a disgrace to politics and no different to Brtie.

• And who will being for the legal fees? Just sort it out! Cut the expense accounts, and no more unvouched expenses!

• I cant believe that the TDs in question think that it covers travelling all around the country. But even if it actually did, is it not a bit of a contradiction? Here we have TDs going around fighting against austerity and measures by the government to try recoup money to balance the books. They claim to represent the working class and complain about the harsh taxes, levies and cuts the people have to suffer. Yet they claim a generous wage, always get generous expenses regardless, and have a lovely pension to retire from and now they are abusing the expenses system by milking it for even more money!

I thought this was just a Sinn Fein tactic, but it seems all these left-thinking parties in the Dail who claim to be elected to fight for the working class are all just out to rob the country blind. The rich, the poor, and the very poor – all paying for these TDs wages, expenses, and pension. They completely contradict their policies.

• Well someone has to do Labour’s job for them.
      That aside, they are members of our national parliament and I see no problem with them traveling anywhere within the state or outside it for that matter, if in doing so they are working on behalf those whose interests are not being addressed by the Government parties.
      The salaries, expenses and benefits are grossly out of proportion across the board, but the ones who have the numbers to change that are the Government but I won’t hold my breath on that one.

• Me thinks that FF lead this country to where it is, that average TDs in the Dail (including SF TDs, ULA and many independents) need to get out around the country to let them know that what FFg/Labour are doing is morally wrong, unjust and toally unfair to the hardest pressed families in the country.
      All the establishment parties especially FF have a lot to answer for. We will see FF punished even more at the next election. Within 6 years, FF will be a party of the past, if there is any fairness in the world. They brought our country to this. It will take SF/ULA and any born-again labour members who dump Gilmore to bring this country back to the light again.

• Ah come on- out to rob the country blind? Get a grip. Jail the bankers who got us into this hole. This distraction is a waste of time.

• You don’t get to misuse expenses, no matter how worthy you think your cause is.

These expenses are for covering the cost of getting from your home to the Dail.

That is all they are for.

They are not supposed to be used to promote your own personal political crusades.

• Donal can you ask FG if Enda in his ‘debate’ with the people during the last referendum claimed any expenses? You could also ask if any of his multitude of advisers did. Thanks.

• Why don’t you ask him yourself Kerry?

If FG, Labour or anyone else misused expenses to fund their campaigning during the referendum or election that would be unacceptable to me.

It is very clear what expenses are for what.

What seems to be happening with the oh so virtuous ones on the hard-left is that they think the end justifies the means so the rules don’t apply to them. They are no different to Charlie.

• Rob 03/07/12 #

Donal,

Do you suffer delusions? I don’t see any “hard left” on here advocating that.

• I asked you to Donal as it seems you support him. Not bothered about Enda’s expenses Donal?

• @ Kerry

Would you explain to me please Kerry why all the arguments in support of Higgins here revolve around asking “Who do you support then?” and “What about Enda’s expenses?”

How is that suddenly a rational defence of Higgins behaviour? Enda has misbehaved, FF are a disgrace, public money has been wasted therefore its perfectly fine for Higgins to do whatever he likes? What kind of barmy logic is that?

Dinal McCarthy said it quite clearly for you – if ANYONE abused or abuses the expenses system it is an unjustifiable disgrace. Its as simpel as that.

Joe Higgins is doing it now – he is a disgrace. He should not be allowed to do so. If it turns out that Enda or anyone else has done so – I (and presumably Donal here) will say EXACTLY the same thing.

So why don’t you go and find out if Enda has abused the system – or anyone else for that matter? Present us with the evidence of it. I know exactly what will happen if you manage it…

YOU will say “Enda did it therefore Joe is ok….”
      I will say “They’re are both in the wrong…”

• Kerry, if there is any evidence of anyone in FG or Labour abusing the expenses system in the same way as seems to have been done by the Socialist Party, or in any other way, that would be unacceptable to me – is that clear enough for you? Is there any chance you can make a statement like that?

(For the nth time, I have never vote FG in my life.)

What is worrying is your blanket refusal to address the wrongs of the people you seem to support. Whenever there is a question of wrongdoing by any of them, your stock response is ‘what about Enda?’

• Joe is using his expenses paid for by taxpayers money to fund his agenda .socialist? Mefeiner more likely.

• Can someone suggest to Enda that getting some form of relief/tax credit etc per kilometer for paye workers for Our expenses incurred for driving to/from work ??

It would make a big difference to disposable income, it might even make a lot of low paid jobs worth doing..

Come on, take your foot off our heads and help the people that are keeping this country afloat please..

• Dear JoenWhy do you believe that the State funding of Political Parties according to their size is so unfair that it disadvantages you and your Socialist ragbag and thus allows you to claim Mileage from the taxpayer as you promote lawbreaking by citizens? nYou already get tens of thousands of Euro as a so called Party Leaders Allowance as does Ms Daly and the rest of you sitting up there in your lofty perches.nIs that not enough of my money to fund your special breed of political life.nJoe..give us a break and hand back the expenses.nnn

• This is a farce. Joe Higgins and his lackeys in the ULA have abused the expense system and the best argument that I see people using here is that it’s ok because everyone else appears to be doing it. Forgive me if I am wrong but isn’t it exactly this attitude that has us in the mess we find ourselves in. It is obvious that a totally vouched expense system be put in place with the abolition of allowances totally across Government and the Public Service. In my job I claim expenses and I have to provide full receipts and travel plans for them all or they won’t be paid. They are overseen and if I try and claim anything that is not covered by them they are not paid. All expense details should also be published in full so we the people (the employers) can scrutinise exactly what our representatives are up to.

• Always wondered why this lot were travelling all over the country, at the time I thought fair play,but now the truth its the likes of me paying for their travel, it should be paid back immediateley.

• The Household charge will lead to a property tax most likely based on a valuation system with certain waivers. Those who have the best properties can be, on the whole but not exclusively, considered best placed to contribute most to funding services. This is clearly redistributive and equitable measure. Well funded State services and social protection offer a means to tackle inequality and protect the most vulnerable. (not withstanding the need to monitor these services, identify inadequacy and develop provision accordingly).
    Joe Higgins, Clare Daly and the ULA are at best misguided or at worst using the vulnerability,understandable anger and anomie of supporters for their own political gain. Who will suffer in the end….??

• What a crock of ……… Talk about manufacturing a distraction from the actual issues. If they are getting legal advice means they are unsure themselves. If it was clear cut why did administrators process these expenses. Surely if they were refused at that point then we wouldn’t be having this nonsense taking up print. Much a do about nothing. Why don’t they just make it all expenses have to be vouched for and thats that. Total rubbish – I cannot believe the broadsheets are running with this – shame on them. So much for an independent media. Makes me ill…….

• Exactly, just like the Doherty scandal. Distract the unwashed masses while they hand over another billion of our money and root through our pockets for what little we have left via stealth taxes

• I’d rather pay his fuel bills than pay the house hold charge, there just trying to take our eyes off the ball!

• Exactly . I still will not pay the household charge . This is another ball hop on behalf of the government .

• Here here, I doubt they would have to seek legal advice if they were doing anything wrong. A number of independent and Sinn Féin TD’s wanted all this all clarified not so long ago and the government wouldn’t listen so I reckon the blue shirts need to shut up and get on with it.

• Agreed 100%.

• Joe has the money to pay for his fuel, the people reliant on public services do not.
      They need your money more than Joe does!

• David could you also point that out to FG & Lab?

• David
      Why was all this not clarified before now, by the government ? FG and Lab would want to learn to put a sock in it at this stage, OR come up with the proper references or links to corroborate their stories.

• David, that’s a bit rich – do FG/Lab put the “public services” first, to whom we pay for and rely on, when they overpay Special Advisors, stay in €500pn Rio hotels, pay unsecured bondholders, or get new signs made for their toilets. I hope everyone that has over- or wrongly- claimed on their TD expenses pay them back – I’d imagine that there’s a few from the govt. benches that will be glad of their choice of unvouched now.

• Totally agree with the above comments. This is a deliberate distraction.

• Thats because you and your lefty friends have a sickening ambivalence to what is right as long as it falls in line with your own agenda. moany Clare Daly still support pink champagne Wallace whilst he leaves ordinary workers hanging for hard earned cash whilst he drives to the dail in his BMW 4x4 , and the rest of the scroungers like Higgins , Doherty think we should pay for any of their indulgences . Please stop talking s€it , these are worse than than ff/fg / labour expenses grabbing gravy trainers because they do it we wearing their self righteous pusses. Grow up ! Call wrong doing like it is , wrongdoing . If you don’t want to pay the household charge that’s your business but don’t expect us to pay for those nonsense talking clowns to
      Make a profit from driving around preaching to their own comrades about it

• They are doing what they promised to do pre election which was to fight against Austerity, they re sticking to their pre election promises/commitments at least, pity the same can,t be said about fg/lab-besides think all the leaflets, all the advertising, all the posters, all the travelling and canvassing for the yes vote in the recent referendum would of being used by taxpayers money wheres the media outrage over that? besides its some coincidence this story is the media at the very same time the warning letters have being sent out over the household tax.

This is a politically motivated witch-hunt against people who are unwilling to bend over and take what the IMF/ECB want to dish out. The establishment and their political lapdogs are desperate to stifle all opposition.

• At least they didn,t go to Rio

• Rare opportunity to bash opposition on here today, You’ll disappear soon enough when the government screw up.. which Paddypower wouldn’t take a bet on…

So fill your books and enjoy it while you can!!!

• Eamonom 04/07/12 #

OK i may get pilloried for this but If on one hand, we bemoan our TD’s being too parochial and not spending enough focus on issues that effect the populace as a whole. But then criticize them for ye know actually travelling outside their constituencies to make representations against a charge that was not supported by vast swathes of the population (or indeed any major piece of legislation) the country will sink into the Atlantic under the combined weight of blacked than pitch Pots & Kettle’s. To misquote Oscar Wilde “Everyone’s a hypocrite nowadays”.

• No one is criticising them for travelling outside their constituencies – they are being criticised for charging that travelling to the PUBLIC. They are pushing their own political agenda for their own reasons and the taxpayer is paying for it.

If they want to do that fine – they can fundraise and use PARTY money to travel all over the place advocating breaking the law. The taxpayer should NOT have to pay for it.

• Good man keep up the good work

• Should there not be a overriding duty to error on the side of caution, by people, when spending taxpayers money, be it to purchase a paper clip or travelling on the business of the country. Surely we have had enough exploitation of Grey Area to last 2 lifetimes , that the current crop should be above reproach and should be seen to be above reproach.

• JH fo & die/ So sick of your high moral ground & no solutions, when you are asked about the real solution. Nothing!!!! Please fo to communist ussr with that dirty bird capitalist Clare Daly.

• The bankers dip the Irish public for billions and people on here complain about the price of a few train tickets.

Perspective please. Lots of people on here sound like attack dogs for the Sindo. Sad really given the enormity of the situation.

• Absolute garbage. What kind of misguided tripe is this? Relatively speaking its a small amoiunt of money therefore its OK for Higgins to bilk the public purse.

People like you are the reason that so-called “public servants” get away with rubbish like this.

The tax payer should not be required to fund this individuals personal crusade against the law of the land. Its as simple as that. I dont care if its €10 or €10,000,000 – he should not be entitled to spend tax payers money on such expenses.

• Until such time as the gravy train in Fine Gael and Labour use their position in government to slash TDs wages and expenses, the Socialist Party is perfectly within its right to use whatever funds allocated in the fight against austerity. There is no abuse of the expenses system on the part of Joe and Clare, Paul. If the Oireachtas was unclear on the issue and had to seek legal advice then that is not the fault of the Socialist Party. As the Oireachtas has now made the political decision to reinforce parish pump politics the money will be paid back. Next story – move on folks. The fact is, there are hundreds of thousands of non-payers opposing these bailout taxes. There are tens of thousands of members of the CAHWT campaign up and down the country. They invited Joe and Clare to speak at and launch the campaigns. The statute governing expenses covers “travel expenses which the member is obliged to incur in the performance of his or her duties as a member of Dail Eireann”. Now to establishment parties that may mean shaking hands, kissing babies and cutting ribbons in their own little fiefdoms but to the Socialist Party/ULA it means fighting injustice and austerity across the country. Which is exactly what the CAHWT is. The Irish Independent agenda is nothing more than a concerted diversion and smear campaign against the real opposition to the lunatic government policy, to distract from the real issues – i.e. we are having unjust household and water taxes foisted upon us to pay off the bondholder debt. Maybe they should be more concerned with their tax dodging owners and the vast amounts of tax that these guys should have contributed to the exchequer over the years?

Add New Comment