TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Higgins slams ‘manufactured controversy’ over use of TDs expenses

Independent TD Thomas Pringle said that he did not use expenses to travel around the country to urge people to boycott the household charge as other independent deputies have done.

Joe Higgins
Joe Higgins
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

SOCIALIST PARTY TD Joe Higgins has criticised what he said was a “manufactured controversy” by the owners of the Irish Independent newspaper to undermine him and other TDs advocating a boycott of the household charge.

He was speaking as the chair the Oireachtas Committee on Members’ Interests has called for clarity on the issue of TDs claiming expenses for costs incurred while travelling to and from meetings around the country urging a boycott of the household charge.

Thomas Pringle’s comments this morning came after more controversy about some independent TDs’ use of their travel allowance for the purpose of attending meetings across the country.

The Irish Independent reports that while Socialist Party TDs Joe Higgins and Clare Daly as well as People Before Profit TD Joan Collins believed they were entitled to do this, fellow TD Richard Boyd-Barrett had stated he had been told he could not by Oireachtas authorities.

Higgins said that the stories carried in the Irish Independent today and yesterday were an attempt to “damage us, to try to suggest impropriety in the most disgusting and underhand fashion”, he told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

He cited Oireachtas regulations, specifically statutory instrument 84/2010 which he said entitled him to use travel allowances for the purpose of travelling to meetings urging a boycott of the €100 tax.

The regulation states that a TD is entitled to claim for “travel expenses which the member is obliged to incur in the performance of his or her duties as a member of Dáil Éireann”.

On the same programme Pringle would not condemn his Dáil Technical Group colleagues for using expenses to encourage people not to pay the €100 tax.

But he said that there needed to be clarity from Oireachtas authorities and called for a vouched system of expenses.

“I don’t know for certain but I understood that the travel expenses paid to the TDs were for travelling through the constituency and for travel to and from Dáil Eireann to attend the Dáil as well,” he said of his interpretation of the rules.

The Houses of the Oireachtas have so far been unable to confirm whether or not there is an issue with the actions of the three United Left Alliance TDs.

Yesterday, Joe Higgins said that it was “absolutely justifiable” to use travel allowances for the purposes of attending meetings across the country urging people to boycott the household charge as part of the campaign against water and property taxes.

Pringle said that he did not use any of his travel expenses to attend meetings around the country.

“It didn’t enter my head… I filed an expenses claim form for travel from the constituency to the Dail and travel around the constituency and that’s the only claim for expenses I have made since becoming a TD,” he said.

The Donegal TD said that deputies should submit a monthly claim in relation to costs incurred for journeys they have made which he believes would stop the confusion surrounding the current rules.

“When there isn’t clarity in the system and it’s not clear exactly what the expenses should be intended for and should be used for it can lead to the situations maybe like this where this confusion can arise.

“So I think that really the only solution is to have clarity on it and to have a vouched system,” he added.

‘Absolutely justifiable’ to use allowances for boycott campaign – Higgins

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• Expenses and TD’s = Total farce.

• There are 51 TDs in the Dublin area, at €15,000 a year in unvouched expenses that comes to €765,000. Get the bus or use your own car like everybody else has to do.

• Their travel expenses are a joke! Why doesn’t every person travelling to work in this country have an entitlement to travel expenses like this shower of crooks?

• Let me get this, the Dail makes one law (a tax) and he uses our money to travel acros the country telling people to break the law, does that statutory instrument really say that? Boyd-Barrett doesn’t think so it seems.

• Actually KC, many jobs where travel is involved as part of carrying out your duties allows you to claim travel expenses. Thats pretty reasonable.

• @Too Trueleft-I understand that certain jobs allow people to claim travel expenses, but when you can claim 12k travel expenses to the Dail while living in Dublin, that’s beyond a joke. Dublin bus fares have gone up, but not that much. Oh, and those expenses are unvouched.

• Treuleft while there are jobs that allow you to claim travel expenses incurred due to work and that is only fair They are restricted to duties of the job. If my employer sends me to the other end of the country they pay for the travel. But if I decide to travel to the other end of the country to attend something related to my industry but not something my employer tells me to attend then its my expense to pay for.

Rules about Travel expenses for the TD’s to me read the same as I describe above. From the article “travel expenses which the member is obliged to incur in the performance of his or her duties as a member of Dáil Éireann”

Was attending these meetings across the country something they were obliged to do?
      No it was something they did because they wanted to. They might be obliged to attend dáil sittings so claiming that as an expense is fair enough (although you or I can not claim our travel to or from the place of work)

Was it official dial business?
      The fact that these meetings were to encourage people not to obey the law I don’t think it can fall under that umbrella. Will Joe et all pay the fines people are racking up?

I want to ask a question. When any TD’s are on the road in the lead up to the election to try and get re-elected are they allowed to claim travel expenses? I would hope not as its not part of their duties in the dáil, its not something they are obliged to do. Now the other question is have there been cases where some TD’s have done this? Any one know?

• If, as a public representative, his job is to represent the public (the clues in the name) then expenses incurred representing 80% of the public on a political issue should not be bourne by him personally. Its refreshing to see a politician represent working class people as a whole rather than just the ones eligible to vote for him at the next election.

• Too True, Leaving aside the 80% element of your comment which we have dealt with above I agree with you on your assertion here.

• Im spending your tax to tell you that i should not be spending your tax!

You’re the same as the rest of them higgins, cop on!

• I love it when these cretans are backed into a corner.

• Mr. Jones,

Why are the media ignoring Hogan & Co’s recent trip to Brazil will cost around €20k, he stated his room only cost €340 a night. Why are the media ignoring Fine Gaels recent increase in expenses to €27,000 a year per politician?

• “The state — or, to make matters more concrete, the government — consists of a gang of men exactly like you and me. They have, taking one with another, no special talent for the business of government; they have only a talent for getting and holding office. Their principal device to that end is to search out groups who pant and pine for something they can’t get, and to promise to give it to them. Nine times out of ten that promise is worth nothing. The tenth time it is made good by looting ‘A’ to satisfy ‘B’. In other words, government is a broker in pillage, and every election is a sort of advanced auction on stolen goods.” n― H.L. Mencken

• Joe Higgins, Clare Daly etc are using her time and energy on all the people of Ireland collectively. Isn’t this what the “anti parish pump” brigade want?!?. I commend Joe, Clare et al for not just spending her time serving solely the people in her constituency in the hope of being reelected. They are an example to all other politicians.

Once you’re a member of an Dáil you serve all the people, including those you represent. And I’ll take a wild guess but I’d say the people who elected Clare and Joe are delighted to see her efforts at exposing the FiannaGaeLabour party every chance she gets. The HouseholdTax is immoral. Resist this tax, if you have already paid, don’t pay next year.

• Reada
      well said .

• Would he have done it using his own money ?

• What really annoys me is that he and many others make a virtue by professing to live on ‘the average industrial wage’ but then proceed to claim maximum expenses and any other tax payers funded money they can get their hands on. The high moral ground is crumbling beneath their feet and in my opinion it’s not before time, SF are staying very quiet on this one.

• Well he did go to prison for fighting unjust taxes before! Whether you are convinced by Joe Higgins’ politics or not his record speaks volumes about his commitment to ordinary people. The ave industrial wage policy of The Socialist Party is well known.

• I heard Higgins on Morning Ireland. Totally unconvincing. He sounded like a guy caught red-handed stealing from the till and who splutters “what about the bankers who got off scot free” in his defence. Two wrongs don’t make a right, Joe.

• Easy way to sort it,

They get free transport on CIE services that they can claim on,

so Bus and Rail only,

If they use there own or state cars they must pay for that themselves.

• Sorry KC that wasn’t meant to be a reply to you.

• Some people are more equal than others!

I’m Joe, because I believe it to be so, the rules don’t apply to me.

• I used to have a lot of respect for the man – but this is daft.

• Leaders allowance for independent TD’s? Surely a political party must be registered to appoint a leader who in turn can claim for ONE leaders allowance. GIVE IT BACK.
    Seems like white collar crime to me.

• What EXACTLY do Leaders do with their Leaders Allowance? Do they use it in the interest of THE people? Or do they use it in their own interest or that of their Parties? I would suggest that generally speaking this TAX PAYER funded stipend is used to buy votes.

We are throwing brick bats at Higgins and Daly. But where was the uproar a few weeks ago when we learned that Enda Kennys and Micheal Rings support base in Mayo were enjoying the fruits of TAX PAYER funded sports and social facilities whilst at the same time OUR World Champion female boxer was honing hes skills in a gym that didn’t even have a toilet!

I dont care what party our politicians belong to they are ALL overpaid.

• mel 03/07/12 #

It’s very interesting how the Indo,hasn’t dealt with the Lowry O’Brien story since Denls O’Brien’s takeover the fact that this man became a a billionaire through using a corrupt politician and also didn’t pay a red cent in capitals gains tax when he made his fortune doesn’t merit the front page
    I’m not making excuses for the expense scandal it is wrong ,but the bigger picture is politicians expenses in general ,unvouched expenses is simply stealing ,name another area of life where they exist
    Also the whole cost of putting a TD in the Dail should be reduced ie Parlimentary assistants on 42k a year what do they do hold there briefcase!

• I’m claiming mileage for listening to comrade Higgins for all these years and his holier than thou attitude

• Will the people who are expected to travel to Dublin in a few weeks time for the anti household tax rally be able to claim expenses for the day. If so then I’ll go.

• Tom Leddy
      Admit it . you were not intending to go at all ! Give it a rest or at least a valid point . People will attend the rally because they want to and have attended many others all over the country during the past six months. Did FGaelers get compensated to attend the conference centre on March 31st ? Oh wait , they were made up of gov tds and ministers .

• Socialism just replaces capitalist elites with socialist elites. Jo lives in a bubble.

• Amazed 03/07/12 #

If he didn’t give part of his wages to the “party” he represents maybe he wouldn’t need to illegally claim expenses to tell us to break a law. The commies should fund his trips outside of Dublin West if he is required by them to spout shite outside of there.

• Should read nIt is never Bona Fide to deliberately tell lies

• joe is doing ok out of austerity

• Amazed 03/07/12 #

Unlike some, I take the odd peek at the journal every other day. I don’t feel the need stay glued to it and comment on every story.

Too Left – Start with the laws of nature, then lying, cheating stealing and inciting others to do the same (at my expence)

Give it a red thumb if you don’t like that, I’ll be back in a couple of days.

• Agree with you Amazed. The only saving grace is that Joe and Clare et al will never have to make a decision that will have any significant impact on our lives. Telling people that it is ok to break the law is just plain telling lies. justifying public expenditure in doing so shows scant regard for taxpayers money.

• Doesn’t Comrade Joe not realise his duty as a member of Dail Eireann is to make the law, not break it, and certainly not to use tax payers money to advocate law breaking by others

• exactly. what about Phil hogan? this country is a disgrace. all t.ds should be using their own money to get around. and what about bertie? why is that man still not in jail

• The only controversy being manufactured is the controversery the looney left are stirring up about the household charge

• mcbab 03/07/12 #

This ragtag lot are pathetic. Playing at politics and spending tax payers money in the process. Fair play though to RRB he had the intelligence to check this out first. As regards Phil hogans trip to the Rio conference. These trips are certainly no fun and could you imagine sending Claire daly etc anywhere to represent us. Horror!

• it’s anti democratic to advise people to break the law. resign or understand that you represent a democratic government and you won’t get everything your own way

• It’s anti democratic to ask representatives not to represent their constituencies. It’s anti-democratic to say that only the three or four people who make decisions at extra-cabinet meetings, to be rubber stamped by cabinet, then further rubber- stamped by the Dail are allowed to speak.

So far as I can tell, 160+ public reps have a democratic mandate, yet the few making the decisions are completely ignoring theirs, doing everything BUT what they were mandated to do.

• Sorry Daire but that’s a silly comment. Firstly he s not a member of the government, he s an opposition TD. We elect TD s to represent us and he represents the viewpoint of many. We don’t elect a government to rule over us as they see fit while we sit quietly with our mouths shut. Governments do make mistakes and have to be answerable to the people day to day and not just at election time.

• The salaries, perks and pensions paid to ALL higher grade public sector workers including TDs, Senators and Presidants are obscene.

In regards to the Indo group Higgins is right. As a matter of fact though its not just the Indo that plugs its own pro Establishment agenda. Indeed I would suggest that the majority of our mainstream reporters/commentaters/journalist are too far into the pockets of our politicians for our good. These people spend too much time wining and dining with our politicians in the Dail bar and restaurant.

• Yvonne you use an interesting term in a very modern Ireland…….pro Establishment!. nThe opposite of this would reflect the Joe Higgins and Clare Daly anti Establishment position and thus the rush to their defence by attacking the System rather than the act. Joe Higgins is making it very clear that regardless of the Rules it is morally correct for him to use taxpayers money to travel countrywide while he urges lawbreaking by citizens.nHis argument is morally indefensible and he should immediately refund those monies and resign his sickening high tone position.

• I will not pay the house hold charge . It is an unfair and unjust tax. These guys have stood up and are being counted . They are speaking for all of us . I don’t care who you are or who you profess to follow or claim to support , Clare Daly and Joe Higgins are RIGHT. They speak for the people who feel they have no voice . They stand up and take abuse from the ”right” because all the right do is give lip service and love to be seen to do what is ”right” and is always seen to be politically correct but Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore are not right they are wrong . And I for one am glad that Joe and Clare are there on our side speaking up for us.

• They aren’t speaking for me !!

• Ahh jim ah ah ah
      Of course they are speaking for you . It is a National campaign against the household charge. Nationwide . 52% of home owners have NOT paid it .

• Phil Hogan & Co’s recent trip to Brazil will cost around €20k, he stated his room only cost €340 a night. It is the likes of this arrogance that gets to me.

Mr. Higgins is representing the public opposition to stealth taxes to pay for waste.

Praise to Mr. Higgins.

• And it is unbelievable to think of the lemmings that will line up and vote to keep Kenny in office so that we can endure four more years of this nonsense.

• The legislation is crystal clear and Mr Higgins and that other craw thumper from Dublin North Ms Daly have had their little hands found in the cookie jar. When their illegal behaviour is found out they simply continue to use their made up political posturing to defend the indefensible.nA decent and honourable person would put their hands up and repay the monies involved.nI’m tired of the rantings of this pair and their happy little gallery at the top of the House sneering at everything decent that goes on in Dail Eireann and this issue shows them up for what they really are…………….ordinary decent little socialists using our taxes to promote law breaking!

• I don’t like hogan but to be fair he stated that there was no penthouse suites or anything special about their rooms, the high cost was due to it being a conference which 10′s of thousands were attending from around the world and prices were bumped way up. it seems greed is not limited to Ireland

• Well put. The Higgins story is a smokescreen to hide phils dirty doings.

• Mark, can you post the ‘crystal clear’ legislation you mention in relation to accusing two TDs of illegal behaviour please?

• Didnt we have this public execution of Pearse Doherty last week and he was not in breach of any rules..lets just see what happens ..do we still believe everything that the Independent writes..everyone knows they have their own agenda and are pro government not matter the party..what were they reporting when the wool was been pulled over the peoples eyes during the boom..we were’nt been told the truth anyway lets not be too quick to gobble up one of their stories as fact..

• Considering they are representing the view of the majority against an increasingly unpopular government I would have no issue with them claiming expenses. Due to party whip rules the local representatives are forced to support the government position. If expenses are a profitable gravy train that’s a separate issue.

• The majority of people like this comment.

• was the name trueleft not suiting your arguments anymore?

• Eh?

• Eh no there not representing the majority, how many seats do the socialist part have…oh yeah the least number of any party in the dail, but of course they represent the majority?

• Around 80% of people are against the household charge. How is fighting their cause not ‘representing the majority’?

• Too True, I have to pick you up on your 80% of the people are against the household charge, To arrive at 80% you would have to include every living person in the country and surmise that just because just over approximately 800,000 or whatever the figure is have paid the charge that everyone else is against it. thats like asking my 2 year old (and all the other 2 year olds of which there are about 60,000) if they are in favour or against the household charge. I know the answer I would get! However it is fair to say that a significant number of people (not 80%) are against the household charge that statement I will accept, in the majority perhaps, but 80% that is beyond pushing it!

• Would you be satisfied with ‘the vast majority of homeowners’ Sean?

• Too True I think the conventional wiisdom is that over half of “elligible” housing has been registered for the charge but that if one were to count individual home owners then less than half of those “required” to register have registered. I would not go so far as to say it is a “vast” majority but it is a majority. So there is something for all the spin doctors in it! I have a further comment on one of yours further down if you care to scroll down just to prove that we don’t always disagree.

• Ironic how the Indo with its two tax dodger majority shareholders is trying to manufacture a non-existent expenses “scandal” against politicians with real integrity. While billions of taxpayers money is being handed over to failed gamblers, a storm in a teacup is being brewed by the lunatic right who got us in this mess. The Socialist Party are not in government, They do not decide how much TDs earn or how much expenses they should get. That is the government’s job. But the government gravy train brigade are hardly likely to shoot themselves in the foot so are staying very quiet on this issue. Until such time as expenses and salaries are slashed, the real opposition are perfectly within their rights to use whatever allowances are available to step up the fight against the madness of austerity. Joe and Clare were invited by campaigners (yes, taxpayers all of them) across the nation to speak at public meetings and launch the campaign against household and water charges. This is the antithesis of the mé-féin parish pump politician that we are used to and should be commended. We need more people like these. Stephen Kearon – unjust laws are there to be broken. Especially unjust impositions of tax to pay off debts that are not ours. You’re a member of Fianna Fail – your crowd destroyed the country and brought the IMF to our door – you don’t have a leg to stand on. So less of the ivory tower grandstanding.

• A bit of reality is needed here folks. €15k is allowed go unjustified by all these “chancers”. Joey Higgo has been figured for spending this on capaigning (fair enough, for not paying tax and doing so spending tax) but what are the other 60 or so doing with this money? I’d be confident saying its most likely not campaigning and creating comforts for them. This tax needs a balanced arguement and if aul Higgo is spending this allowance creating a balance then better that than business class travel.

• Going by the number of red thumbs here there seems to be a lot more government bots around these days.

• Well said Joe Higgins. This ‘controversy’ is completely contrived. A non-story.

NO WAY – WE WON’T PAY!!!

• At least Higgins is using the money for bona fide political purposes, even if you disagree with his policies, which is a lot more reassuring than how some others have used the expenses.

Add New Comment