TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Junior Cert results: Girls outperform boys in 20 out of 23 subjects

Only the stereotypically male strongholds of Maths and Metalwork see boys have a higher proportion of A grades than girls.

Caoimhe Daly, Niamh McAdams and Anna Woods from Loreto College in Dublin celebrate receiving their Junior Cert results on Wednesday.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

A NEW BREAKDOWN of the results obtained by nearly 59,000 students in this year’s Junior Certificate results has revealed that the nation’s girls have once again consistently outperformed their male counterparts.

Figures to be published today by the State Examinations Commission reveal that out of 23 subjects offered in this year’s Junior Cert which were sat by more by ten students at honours level, no fewer than 20 subjects saw girls more likely to achieve an A grade than boys.

In language subjects, meanwhile, the failure rates among male students was consistently higher than among their female rivals.

The gap between the sexes is largest in Civic, Social and Political Education, a subject taken by all Junior Cert students at the same ‘common’ level (meaning there are no ‘higher’ or ‘ordinary’ level papers).

In that subject – which aims to teach students basic knowledge about the political and courts systems – 29.6 per cent of all female candidates managed an A grade, compared to just 14.3 per cent of their male colleagues.

Other subjects including Latin, Arts Crafts and Design, Home Economics and Technology saw gaps of greater than 10 per cent between the proportion of girls who were awarded As, and the proportion of boys who earned similar marks.

In only two subjects – the stereotypically male strongholds of Metalwork and Mathematics – did a higher proportion of boys manage As at higher level – by 1.7 and 1.5 per cent respectively. In a third subject, Material Technology (previously ‘woodwork’), boys and girls scored equally, with 10 per cent of each getting an A.

Failure rates at higher-level subjects were also higher among boys in 20 out of the 23 subjects – with only arts and crafts, metalwork and woodwork having a higher failure rate among female candidates than male ones.

In each of those cases, the failure rates among girls were no more than 0.5 per cent greater than they were for boys.

By comparison, male students were more likely to fail in 20 of the 23 subjects – with subjects involving languages among those with the biggest gaps.

While only 1.2 per cent of girls failed Classical Studies – a subject which involves competency in Latin and Greek – the same subject was failed by 9.7 per cent of boys.

The next subjects with the greatest gaps in failure rates between the two sexes were Italian, Spanish, German, History, French, Irish and Technical Graphics.

Read: Almost 59,000 teens receive Junior Cert results

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• too busy pulling the guts out of themselves to study

• Girls seem to be a lot better to study. I marvel at how my 2 sisters can put the head down hours on end. I on the other hand used to study for half an hour before I had to go puck a ball against a wall or do anything other than study. Even if it meant doing sudoku puzzles!

• Yeah! And the the girls are always distracting the boys anyway with confusing social conundrums and beauty .

• I think this points to need for Gender Quotes in grades.

But seriously this isn’t very surprising. Girls generally mature at an earlier stage then boys and thus are more ready for need to sit down and study for hours that exams demand. This is also the case for leaving cert. However as you tend to the the end of university this situation changes and girls do not out preform men at university level to the same extent as they do at the lower levels. As by that time boys have matured enough to realise that work is not a thing to be shunned. I don’t think there is an awful lot that can be done by teachers to change this. You could over course introduce something like gender quotes for university courses but then that introduces the same issues as election gender quotes introduce. So we just have to live with it.

• Niall 14/09/12 #

Boys are busy trying to be the alpha male in class, hormones running wild and playing several sports for both school and town. And as for girls being more mature, you don’t see 14 year old boys crying and screaming and generally embarrassing themselves every time a bieber, a jedward or a one direction come to town now do you!!

• You’ve never ever been to any kind of sporting event have you?

• But they can’t park the car

• Why does our society keep insisting on making a dividing line between how girls and boys perform at exams? It should be the exam performance of all students, regardless of gender, which we should be observing if we must.

• Consistently superior marks in exams across subjects versus the glass ceiling. Something (indeed many things) seriously awry in such a society.

Louis CK-”How many advantages could one person have? I’m a white… man. You can’t even hurt my feelings.”

• Why is it that when girls get better marks in state exams they are “outperforming” boys and get a pat on the back, but when boys get better scores in the HPAT aptitude test for medicine it’s seen as evidence of an inherent & deliberate bias and the test has to be changed to better suit girls?

• Because when boys/men do well it’s not due to talent, it’s because women were held back by a glass celing, whatever the hell that is.

• medred 14/09/12 #

Obviously women do better at making up things like the glass ceiling and patriarchy, rape culture… yet men creat things like facebook, google and the iphone

I think we need to drastically change our education system

• Eleen 14/09/12 #

You guys are horrific. 0_o Medred, that’s a terrible comment to make.

Plenty of hand wringing going on about boys not performing well right now.

• What did I say that was “horrific” then? Or did you really mean to say that I, personally, am horrific? And where’s the “hand-wringing”?

• i reckon guys are too busy doing lots of other stuff to worry about being an obedient student. lets face it a lot of stuff taught in schools is useless in life.

• Fact is that teenage girls are super boring. Lads like having the craic, playing sports, drinking and ogling teenage girls.
    Girls like dreaming about romance and other rubbish activities.

• I was always a bigger fan of girls performances.

• Medred, logic would dictate that you can’t derive universal laws (Men would win at logic too) from individual cases (Look at Eibhlin).

• Why does the whole gender battle even count? Why not use the data they have and data mine it to see what social class is doing better or worse, match the results with fee paying schools against public. This type of analysis can actually be used to improve the system. What the hell is girls are better than boys going to achieve?
    There is loads of other more relevant and more useful statistics that can be gathered and reported on.
    The gender battle and comparison throughout all areas in this country is pathetic. They find an out of balance statistic against women and then try to solve it by hindering the other sex chances. But it only ever goes one way. How is that fair!

• I didnt kmow there were 20 different home ec subjects!

• doest it not point towards teaching methods ?

• What’s with all the thumbs down? This is the only possible reason why there is such a difference in results. Last time I checked Ireland still had a majority of single gender schools. So it has to be the way classes are taught. Unless of course, people are of the opinion that males are just naturally less intelligent than females.

• I think the original comment wasn’t a case of saying that girls are taught differently – rather that they learn differently and perhaps that isn’t being taken into account as much as it could be in the classroom? I hope I’m not putting words in your mouth there Tom.

Regardless: “This is the only possible reason why there is such a difference in results” is not true. There are a lot of issues around the manner in which disruptive behaviour occurs in classrooms for girls and boys. There are more issues.

That’s not to absolve teachers of any responsibility – just saying there’s more than this one point.

• Was good show on TV last night about how some European countries have quotas of women in work force of 40% for high powered jobs. Unfortunately women still have the juggling act of having the brains but might also want to be a mother too. Maybe these junior cert students will be able to enjoy a fairer working life if Ireland had quota or target system too like in Norway. When i started my job my boss said “Dont go getting pregnant as I want to get a few years out of you”! (Money had just been spent on a training course at time). Gerard’s comments are silly old fashioned jokes that men have been making for years (I personally hold a clean HGV licence BTW!) Real issue is that we don’t have balance right here in Ireland. Well done all junior cert ladies.

• These ridiculous exams show nothing more than who can regurgitate the biggest chunk of largely pointless data onto a page in a set time. They matter not a toss. There’s no education involved whatsoever.

• medred 14/09/12 #

so equality for women is being able to get a job of high power and spend less time working and yet get the same pay so you can have children. I don’t think you understand what the word equality means. If i wanted to get a high power job and spend less time working and get less pay so I can go to porn convention around the world is that inequality??
      Seriously men have to wake up to this feminist double speak

• Fair play girls….

• Would this article even exist if males were more successful in the exam? Probably not! And even if it did some female rights group would make sure it was taken down!

Add New Comment