TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Kerry councillors back plan to allow drink-driving ‘in moderation’

Councillor Danny Healy-Rae, who put forward the motion, told TheJournal.ie that it would help people who are isolated and can’t leave their homes to go to the pub anymore.

Image: Alcohol and car keys photo via Shutterstock

KERRY COUNTY COUNCILLORS have voted in favour of a motion which would allow people in rural Ireland to have ‘two or three’ drinks and still drive.

The motion put forward by councillor Danny Healy-Rae calls on the Minister for Justice to allow Gardaí to issue permits to people in the most isolated parts of the country to allow them to drive after drinking some alcohol.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this evening, Danny Healy-Rae said the idea was to help “those people in every parish who are isolated and who can’t get out of their place at night”.

“A lot of these people are living in isolated rural areas where there’s no public transport of any kind, and they end up at home looking at the four walls, night in and night out, because they don’t want to take the risk of losing their licence,” he told TheJournal.ie.

The motion was passed at a Council meeting this afternoon by five votes to three. It is believed that seven councillors abstained while 12 were absent when the vote was taken towards the end of a long meeting.

The councillor said the idea had originated from people who visited his clinics around the constituency to discuss problems and issues who had to leave immediately afterwards because they cannot drink and drive home.

“The pub is invariably the only social outlet left in rural Ireland and they’re getting scarce now – just one or two in every village,” he said.

I see the merit in having a stricter rule of law for when there’s a massive volume of traffic and where there’s busy roads with massive speed. But on the roads I’m talking about, you couldn’t do any more than 20 or 30 miles per hour and it’s not a big deal. I don’t see any big issue with it.

Healy-Rae said the current drink-driving rules are forcing an older generation to stay at home.

These people that are being isolated at present, all the wisdom and all the wit and all the culture that they had, the music and the singing, that’s all being lost to the younger generation because these older people might as well be living in Japan and Jerusalem because the younger generation don’t see them at all anymore.

These characters are being isolated now at home, and a lot of them falling into depression.

Healy-Rae said he understood why people would oppose the suggestion but said it was important for rural Ireland:

I know there’ll be opposition. I know that it will be people in urban areas who have access to different outlets than the pub, but in rural parishes, that’s well we have – we don’t have anything else. All they want to do [here] is talk to neighbours, talk to friends, play cards, talk about the match and the price of cattle, about such a lady going out with such a fella, and it’s harmless.

The current maximum blood-alcohol level is 50mg per 100ml of blood for most drivers and 20mg for learner and professional drivers. Although it varies depending on driver, this is roughly equivalent to less than one pint of beer. The level of fatalities on Irish roads dropped significantly over the past five years with the introduction of lower alcohol limits for drivers and alcohol checkpoints.

The councillor called on Minister for Justice Alan Shatter to consider the move and said all parts of Ireland should not be treated the same when it comes to drink-driving rules.

I, as a public representative, feel obliged to try and do my best to move this idea. All I’m asking from the Minister for Justice is that he consider this. I think it is a worthwhile idea.
A blanket rule for the country will not work. You can’t paint the whole country with the one brush and hope that everything works out.

Read: 2012 sets new record for fewest road deaths in Ireland >

Read: 13 per cent of people have travelled with over-the-limit driver >

Read next:

Comments (328 Comments)

• I stopped reading at “Healy-Rae”

• ^^Classic^^

• Reminds me of Fianna Fail….

• It’s a non runner for starters. No insurance company is going to insure them anyway.

• How stupid are the other 4 that voted with this idiot? And what about the spineless abstainers/absentees?

Forget Healy-Rae (who everyone knows is a fool) this reflects really poorly on the whole of Kerry County Council. Apart from the three who voted against don’t the others care about that?

• marcoop 22/01/13 #

Three of the daft mad bastards (councillors) who supported the motion – Michael O’Shea (FF), Michael Cahill (Ind) and Bobby O’Connell (FG) – are publicans, so is Healy Rae. They’re not suggesting this for the goodness of their community, they’re suggesting it to keep their bars open.

• Having grown up in the country, I can understand where they are coming from, however the clearly biased council with vested interests make any such argument void. A problem clearly exists here though. An old man living alone with limited to non-existent public transportation or access to a taxi service, may be at substantial risk of depression/suicide.

Would it not make a lot more sense to seek changes to taxi regulations, to allow publicans to set up taxi services to bring their regulars to and from the pub. I know the publicans in my home area do this on occasion, but I’m sure there are legalities which prohibit this sort of service, without having to purchase a taxi licence. Surely a ‘special’ taxi licence could be issued to rural publicans to allow them to legally provide this service at limited cost.

Seriously, talk about taking the wrong angle on something!!!

• Currently 6th most read story on BBC News website – complete with a link to TheJournal.ie: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21143199

• Ireland. where convicted rapists walk away from court free and public representatives encourage us to drink & drive. We must look really good to our international neighbours.

• Unbelievable idiot. Maybe he should visit the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Dún Laoghaire and see for himself the results of drink driving.

• As a Kerry Man I am totally embarrased by this ridiculous statement !!!

• Tell that to the people of have lost love ones by drink drivers, those Healy Raes are like something from Father Ted!

• Can we name and shame all the councillors who voted yes for this.

• apparently they are publicans,the plot thickens….if healey rae is so concerned about his constituents being isolated at home then why doesnt he instruct them to drive to the pub and have a few soft drinks,thus allowing them to drive home again?problem solved..

• @begrudgy

Posted above

Three of the daft mad bastards (councillors) who supported the motion – Michael O’Shea (FF), Michael Cahill (Ind) and Bobby O’Connell (FG) – are publicans, so is Healy Rae. They’re not suggesting this for the goodness of their community, they’re suggesting it to keep their bars open.

• And John O’Donohue is planning a big political comeback:( Can I just say on behalf of the 99.999999% sane decent Kerry people, “Sorry Ireland, we’re not all this inbred and stupid”.

• I take this councillor will be ok telling the victims family that it was ok this drunk was driving as he had a legal permit.

Has he not read any research?

But that doesn’t really matter does it because he’ll just get re-elected by the people.

• If all they want to do is meet friends, play cards, talk about the price of cattle and gossip about such and such a lady going out with such and such a fella (kerrist on a bike!) then why do they need drink to do so? If it’s for the social element of it, then have a glass of Coke or a lemonade while you’re being social. Or take turns to be the designated driver. Or get a lift off a son or daughter or niece or nephew. I really refuse to believe the only answer to those living in isolated communities is drink driving.

Danny Healy-Rae would want to spend time talking to those families whose lives were torn apart by drink driving before opening his uneducated, uninformed mouth. He should spend some time in the National Rehabilitation Centre and witness first hand the work that goes on there and the people surviving with terrible injuries, some as a result of driving while drunk. Stupid, ignorant little man.

• “…while the vast majority were absent when the vote was taken”.. Great to see they are taking their job seriously. They were probably all down the pub!

• I’m living in rural Ireland at the moment and frankly this is the most ridiculous thing I have heard. What’s wrong with going to the pub but not drinking? What’s wrong with getting a taxi? Why should other people be put in danger because the politicians have cut funding to non pub based social outlets for people, older people in particular?

• Do you seriously think there would be a decent taxi service in the parts of Kerry that they would be talking about?

• Hi Zoe, the majority of rural Ireland I would say so not have access to a taxi service which is limited to minor towns. The rural area I was from you would have to pay €15-€20 before they got to your door and community transport is limited to say the least.

• I guess I can only make my comments based on the rural area I live in, which does have taxi service. Why not get publicans together and organise a mini bus run for older people who want to socialise and drink at the same time? I just find it atrocious that my life is being put in danger because there’s no thinking outside the box. “People are lonely- get them to a pub- problem solved!” Just seems silly. I am fully in agreement that older people are getting lonely and have few social outlets. But why is the only social outlet the pub?

• Maybe the Healy-Rae pubs can provide a free taxi service. Because that’s what this is all about. Getting customers into their bar in Kilgarvan.

• Likewise I can only speak from my own, there was only 1 pub in the “village” (liberal use), family owned and in an area serving 15-20sq miles. It would have and was impossible to run such a service tho it was tried. Unfortunately bar for the school and a very old GAA hall (which was used for bingo and cards) that was it. Many of the older population would have no other social outlet, particularly the bachelors or spinsters. Ppl would call in to see if some wanted to head down for 1, but most that I knew of would decline as there mates wouldn’t be there at that time of day, couldn’t be confident of getting home when you wanted etc. you are right tho, it’s absolutely no excuse for you or anyone’s life to be at risk. Don’t have a solution myself.

• There are plenty of Taxis in Kilgarvan where the Reas come from, and are driving people up the arsehole of the back of beyonds. Danny is to tight to drive his punters home( he owns a pub by the way).

• I think you’re making a lot of sense Zoe. Many parts of rural Ireland do not have a reliable taxi service or it would be prohibitively expensive. An 8 seater taxi or minibus organised by the publican(s) would be a great idea, I have a local pub that does that very thing, drops the customers home at the end of the night. There should be more social outlets for older people than the pub, many in fact do not want to drink alcohol but might just sip a pint when they go out.

• It would be typical of Minister Shatter to turn down this wonderful idea for rural Ireland!

• I used to live in the complete back arse of nowhere in Kerry and I could get a Taxi easily… all I had to do is bloody well phone one up. If you regularly get the same one they may even charge you cheaper than the meter (I was often only charged a tenner for goiing about 15km, or a lot less if the driver rounded up more people on the way)….
      A taxi back from Tralee used to cost me about €20 on the meter which in fairness was not such a big deal, I’d pay the same from to get from Dublin back to Blanchardstown…..
      This is a small country and nobody is really isolated a million miles away from civilation, I’d say it would be a difficult job to find any part of Ireland that’s not walking distance from some sort of a pub or more than a €15-20 taxi away from the nearest town. Call the complainers what they are…. cheap b******s….

• It is a ridiculous statement but we do need to do something to stop the demise of rural communities. Some areas are literally limited to a pub which also fills in as the shop and a GAA club. Also we have to remember that for most of the 60+ population, it is there only social outlet, without which, nobody knows where they are isolated. Can wind up in a sit where Mary or Joe has a fall or worse and none would be the wiser.

• Don’t build a house in isolation then.
      It’s called planning.

• I want my own house, on me own farm aland. I don’t want to live in the town
      Humans are social beings. The OLD west of Ireland attitude was a disaster waiting to happen anyway.
      Forget the pints, how can we provide health care when they can’t go to the pub
      Dancing on the crossroads and all that rubbish
      The chickens are coming home to roost
      Time to focus on good village/town life within a reasonable walking distance of services.

• so is it either go out to the pub for pints or stay at home on your own? that’s the only option?!
      i suppose it would never cross anyones mind that they could just go out to the pub…. and not have a drink.

• Fozz 22/01/13 #

@teamdave..then Healy-Rae and the other publicans who voted for this would not make enough money outa the customers…

• Mal 22/01/13 #

Exactly, lack of alcohol doesn’t cause isolation. If they need to have a few drinks to spend some time with their friends then they should probably get new friends.
      Also name why can’t the pubs in these local towns chip in for a minibus?

• more like a lack of imagination!

yea there is a pub i know of that bought a minibus after the drink driving ban came in because less people were going to the pub, and that it just one pub, id imagine it would be easy enough for a few pubs to chip in for one. it makes sense anyway since your going to be getting more business if you offer the service. oh and saving lives, that would be nice as well sure

• I swear I’ve never heard anything more stupid coming from elected adults …. My god …..

• The answer is for the publicans to be enabled to get taxi licence to drive their customers home.

• And what happens if they ending up killing someone does that mean their exempt from being prosecuted as they had a permit. Seriously what is wrong with some people in government

• So they rekon it’s ok to have a few drinks and drive…
    There should be no alcohol behind the wheel,end of !

• Healy Rae is an idiot, and I hope that people realise that he does not represent a majority of people from kerry, he’s a councillor for his own patch and I doubt he represents the majority of interests of people down there either. It all seems a bit self serving for the lads who line his own bar.

I’m from Kerry myself, and am from a family where there have been two deaths from drink drivers. One was killed by a drunk tractor driver crashing into his car, and the drunk driver was one of those lads that healy rae wants to allow three pints. It’s disgusting. Really really disgusting.

But while everyone is bashing all kerry people and saying we’re all retarded and deserve no political representation etc etc etc, try and see that this is not representative of the majority, and there are many of us who are all too aware of the pain of deaths caused by drink drivers. Don’t tar us all with the one brush because one slack jawed mucksavage gets his ridiculous plans into the newspapers.

• Best idea is for the rest of us to stay home while these drunks play bumper cars with each other every night. Why can’t they drink minerals or get a taxi or take turns to be designated driver? And why are councillors having clinics in pubs?

• What a joke

• Can’t believe they are trying to justify this nonsense. Living in the dark ages…

• Healy-Rae, the other four who voted in favour, and the seven who abstained should all be put in stocks on Denny Street and pelted with rotten fruit.
    Meanwhile, the people of Kerry should be asking why TWELVE councillors were absent.

• That’s their own short fallings. If they pit together a community scheme provided buses or coaches or any sort of transport.

• Bet the clinic is held in his pub. If he’s that concerned let him employ someone to drive his customers. Sorry constituents home, after he’s emptied their pockets. It is a pain in the hole to have to drive everywhere in rural Ireland, I know. But that’s the trade off..

• I am off to specsavers…You would not believe what I thought I just read.

• In my Japanese mountain village they have a mini bus to drop off patrons home after closing. Great for business! :)

• Of all the ignorant, in-bred, backwards, hare-brained schemes I’ve heard off, this tops the bill. Who in their right mind would approve of such an idiotic, stupid, and above all, dangerous, idea? This makes me angry beyond belief. And I don’t buy into this idea of “rural Ireland”, if you want to see a truly rural country, visit parts of the US. Now THAT’S rural.

• Karl 21/01/13 #

From what I’ve seen and heard there’s a certain generation and demographic in rural areas who’ll drink and drive anyway and just hope they don’t get caught and have convinced themselves that the big nasty drink-related accident won’t happen to them – that happens to other people because they’re convinced they have far more control over themselves than other people do when drunk (you know, the way we all do when we’ve had a few). Ireland has far too-much of an alcohol-based social system. Culturally it’s been beaten into us that it’s impossible to go to a pub without having alcohol. This isn’t helped, of course, that it’s almost impossible to get any choice of non-alcoholic beer, and soft-drinks cost more money (per ml) in a pub than a beer does.

If this ever goes through, if love to know what the reaction from these same politicians will be when the first drink-driving related death or paralysis occurs afterward.

• Jill :D 22/01/13 #

Exactly right. Wait until one isolated old man is found dead in his car because the government told him it was okay for him to drink and drive because he was isolated.

• Sweet merciful crap. It seems to be a case that the younger the Healy- Raes get, the more mad cap (every pun intended) their ideas become. All to pimp themselves to the national media, and prepare us all for the next generations/ family members onslaught on the Dail.

That this ridiculous motion was even considered, let alone passed speaks volumes for the levels of public representation in Kerry. I fear for you there folks. I really, really do.

• What a total embarrassment the healy raes really are. ….he holds his clinics in his pub and is pissed off people dont stay for a pint afterwards. Total total pkeb

• Kieran 22/01/13 #

Having lived in a rural village it is clear this is a pure and simple PR exercise for the following simple reasons that both local rural pub goers know and the local gardai also know and have known for years

1. People in these areas DO go to the pub and have 2 pints and drive home . Sometimes even 3. The pub owners turn a blind eye and their friends turn a a blind eye.
    2. The Gardai know about these people and don’t really care too much about them as really they are low risk and they do not pursue them. Additionally they do not have the resources.
    3. Gardai don’t patrol these back roads with (allegedly) these people driving at 20-30 (m)kph
    4. Where the problem lies is that there is still a huge issue with people going to pubs – drinking a ton of pints and then driving home. The local in the area I lived in barely made money on weekdays/nights but on Saturday night there would be plenty of jeeps and 4x4s outside the door and people drinking inside. These would not be there in the morning. And no they weren’t drinking 1-2 pints or soft drinks. They were driving home drunk.
    5. The only way these guys would be caught would be on a rare checkpoint (if it wasn’t broadcast to the pub in advance) or when an accident occurred.

So Healy Ray and his father live in a small village in Kerry. and have a publican background. This isn’t their concern. This is cheap publicity to get them on national and international media. It is working very well for them

• What a joke …. How about go to the pub and don’t drink ??

• Is he having a laugh or what

• Is this for real? They actually wasted time discussing this. In what universe do they think this is a viable option?

• I understand that people in rural area’s are afraid to go to the local for a couple of pints if it means getting caught on the way home by the guards, and that the rural pub has suffered badly from this. However the figures regarding road deaths speak for themselves, so tolerating two or three pints in a fella driving home isn’t a solution. Instead could the pub not “employ” a lad to drive the punters home after their few pints? Most of the punters would be local anyway so it wouldn’t cost a fortune for the publican, and he/she will get their punters back in regularly? Drink-driving is wrong and shouldn’t be encouraged, so maybe publicans need to do think their own way around the problem.. On a cynical note, aren’t the Healy-Rae’s publicans?

• Since when does 8 out of 27 at a meeting qualify as a quorum?

• I know , why don’t we have a phone vote Healy Rae’s are good at phone voting , set this country back years .

• That is absolute bullshit . If that goes through it’s final proof that PEOPLE ARE F*CKING STUPID!!!!!!!!!
    “two or three drinks” of i had two or 3 drinks id be drunk enough to not be able to walk on a straight line. not every isolated person is has a huge beer belly and only gets tipsy after 8 drinks.
    Ridiculous.

• Parish pump politics, nothing more…

• Isnt this the same Kerry County Councillors that gave them selves a pay rise only a couple of wks ago

• Talk to friends, play cards, gossip about the local young wans, talk about the match. Why do they need to get drunk to do that? This is so stupid I’m sorry I read it to the end and, as I write this, pissed off with myself for posting this comment to explain
    What a bunch of idiots

• These Healy-Rae’s really are bunch of rednecks, bog trotters and hillbillies all rolled into one. Only a total flat capped wearing shillelagh swinging gombeen would come up with such a nonsense, what the people of Kerry are thinking when they vote for these morons is beyond me. Have these idiot councillors who voted for this not seen the damage drunken drivers can do? What planet are these people on!

• These council er’s are pub owners Hense they think it will bring more people into their pubs if they have permission to drink and drive. They should be kicked off their council thrones and banned for life.

• The next motion tabled should be his resignation.

• A drunk driver is not going to pay attention to the speed limit. Not to mention the roads in rural areas are pitch dark. They could easily hit an animal/wall/tree/fence/a person. I wonder does this councillor know that one actually CAN go to a pub and NOT drink.

• Not a hope! Why were 12 councillors missing from the vote like wtf?

• Although I haven’t lived there in quiet some time, I was born in Kerry. I’d like to take this opportunity to apologise to the rest of the country for this dumb, stupid idea by a dumb, stupid self serving individual. What nonsense.

• The Healy Rae clan are just a total embarrassment to be honest. The licence plate debacle and now this.

• The Healy-Raes are pantomime characters. Simple as that. Don’t give them the attention that they are looking for.

• C’mon Kerry!! Ye can do better than this! Why not issue Brazzers licences to call around to all these rural areas and make lads happy to stay at home! Less likely to kill someone that way! Everyone happy!
    Well except the Brazzers!

• father ted

• Is he serious, really

• Bryan N 21/01/13 #

Has April fools day arrived early this year.?.

• Who votes for these people, another reason to get rid of councillors!

• Dose healy rae own a pub or two

• Drink driving kills. People should never ever drink and drive.

• This country seems to be getting crazier by the hour

• For God’s sake, the cheek of the man!!!! Law is law, nothing to stop people going out and having a soft drink, just like I do when I am driving. It’s that whole culture of having to have alcohol to celebrate we are trying to change. Why should Kerry people be exempt?

• Headline should read: “Cllr. Healy-Rae calls for Darwinism in rural Ireland”

• Pub Fiction Kerry shtyle.

• Time for Ireland to make news headlines in other Countries again.

• Haha, you see that’s their charm. They’re really not thick as shit. They’re cute bastards.

One of George W. Bush’s most senior aides once said; “People think Bush is dumb but nice; in reality he’s the exact opposite.” The Healy-Raes are the same. They have made a fortune from politics.

I’m from Killarney and their popularity here isn’t great but further south is where they get their votes. Ye should see the roads in Kilgarvan (Their home village) as well. The smoothest roads in Ireland, I shit you not!

• Hehe …. bloodly autocorrect. I obviously meant publicans… but them too:)

• Ha ha!! Good luck with that one.

• they could drink less alcohol

• If the Kerry Councillors are so worried about the poor isolated people of rural Kerry why dont they subsidise shuttle buses and fuel to run them….maybe the money could come from the ridiculous salaries they pay themselves, doubt that.

• Well funny u say that cause i read that three of the councillors who agreed with this stupid idea are publicans so can’t they just buy a mini bus and drive them home! Like most of the publicans do we’re I live.

• Paddy 21/01/13 #

@ Sean slevin. That’s most likely where their land is. Hardly gonna buy a site for thousands when you’ve one for nowt on the farm. Wise up man, not everything is so simple.

• Maybe Healy Rae and the drinkers can have a raffle and whip around to cover the eventually funeral expenses of someone. Thank goodness I live in the Pale !

• I hear the sound of banjos in the distance. It’s time to squeal like a pig.

• If I had two or three drinks I would be on my ear, I get drunk very easily, no way would I be fit to drive even after 1. Disgraceful idea. If these people feel isolated there is nothing stopping them taking the car and having a soft drink and game of cards or chat with friends!

• NEVER EVER, DRINK AND DRIVE. Is that not what the ad says?

• What is stopping these poor old farmers from going to the pub to talk to neighbours, talk to friends, play cards, talk about the match and the price of cattle, about such a lady going out with such a fella or have have a bit of an aul sing? Answer: NOTHING. Have they never heard of non-alcoholic beverages?

• County council elections not too far away i assume. An idiotic populist comment to try and secure a few rural votes for the future. An Irish electoral mantra: Say anything to get elected or re elected. Politicians in this country never cease to amaze me.

• Only in this country

• Barra 22/01/13 #

Irony: Seanleaid driving home from Danny Healy-Rae’s pub with a Danny Healy-Rae drink-driving permit, mows down parish pump, effectively ending Danny Healy-Rae’s career in politics.

• Finian McGrath on The Front Line promoting smoking now Healy Rae wants drink driving allowed……fasten your seat belts, the village idiots are in the cockpit!

• Utter shite , the country is plagued with real problems , serious unemployment and emigration , young people in Kerry as elsewhere need real solutions instead of this backward nonsense , there were deaths and hundred of injuries on Kerry roads last year and he’s ignoring real issues like pedestrians and visitors who shouldn’t have to fear if drivers are drinking or have special permits which would be open to total abuse , this self serving shite should be slammed in their faces and they should be told to get real with fixing the real problems in Kerry , muppets.

• I’ve an idea. How about one drives to the pub, then has a great night with friends, then drives home. Where is alcohol needed in that scenario? If I’d like a drink I make other arrangements. This guy is a politician? Insane……..

• random 22/01/13 #

It’s actually our younger generation that are living in Japan and Jerusalem, where they cannot benefit from these old folks’ wisdom and culture anyway.

• A Gombeen showing his true brain power, must have something to do with the cap overheating what little brain he has.

• Cast and plot of Father Ted series 4 ready to go!! You could’nt make this stuff up!

• Well at least the idiot of the year award is wrapped up already!

Ashamed to see this story making the UK press

• There is a pub near enough where I was living, but it was very hard to get to by foot, so the owner handed out cards where you could simply call them up and they would drive you to the bar and then back home for free.

There are many creative solutions to such problems (people could take turns driving, car pools etc.) other than the madness that this joke of lunatic is suggesting.

Have to say, am disgusted with the suggestion and appalled that other politicians are supporting it – as if we don’t have enough crap to sort out in this country already!

• Started reading and then gave up because I couldn’t justify wasting anymore of my time reading about an absolute ridiculous backward idea!!
    If he wasn’t a publican would he be coming up with this idea?

• When you look up the word GOBSH!TE in the dictionary, there’s a picture of Healy-Rae on the page.

• This guy is a clown from a family of clowns. All the other councillors that voted yes are clowns. But the biggest clowns are the 19 councillors who, rather than risk losing votes by voting no, chose to abstain. Shame on you.

• What in gods name are they smoking down there?ARE THEY MAD MOST OF THE WORST CRASHES TAKE PLACE ON COUNTRY ROADS!!!!!!

• Wow how embarrassing….try and contain this story within Ireland….I really don’t think people worldwide need to hear what our representatives are planning #MORTO

• i wonder since they are going to make this legal they might make magic mushrooms legal again?
    just for the people in rural areas of course, just “two or three” you know… itd be a bit of entertainment for them

it would definitely help cut down on few hundred drink drinking deaths every year anyway, if those people who are planning ondrink driving were instead stuck to the ceiling at home every night they wouldnt be able to be out on the road causing accidents

• absolutely disgusted by this. its an insult to anyone whos ever lost anyone to drink driving. will they be be as vocal when one of their constituents runs someone over on their way home after their so called 3 legal drinks? and to say these poor people not getting out for their few pints may be leading or contributing to depression and suicide. what a clown!!!

• One of the most stupid ideas Ive ever heard… Ireland spends millions on advertising the dangers of drink driving and then we get this ?? What an joke !

• Dear voters in Kerry. Your elected representatives are behaving highly irresponsibly and encouraging anti-social and a dangerous behaviour that can lead to death and injury. They are also trying to undo the hard work of reducing road deaths that have taken years to achieve. It is not even within their remit to vote on such matters. One can only conclude that your council has been hijacked by vested interested.

Those who voted for this and those who abstained should not be re-elected on the basis of not being suitable for the job.

I head Danny HR on the radio this morning. I can only assume that Morning Ireland put him, like his father, on for sheer entertainment value. The guy was talking nonsense and couldn’t even define his own proposal.

• just googled it there and DHR got 3000 first pref votes in 2009. I’d imagine a lot of that is payment from his father and the healy rae election machine. As someone from kerry, and the northern part of the county, the healy rae’s are a laughing stock. It’s not voters in kerry you should be addressing, it’s the 3000 people who gave DHR their first preference. There is a much bigger population there that didnt vote for DHR but you’re happy to just tar all kerry people with the same brush.

• More likely a move to “help” Healy-Raes than a concerned move to help isolated rural people,they own a pub in a small rural village!! It’s outrageous and typical self-serving proposals like these that costs people’s lives.If there is that much concern for the welfare of the rural people,here’s an idea Danny;Provide a bus service and have all the local politicians pay for it..

• Our crazy dependence on alcohol shines brightly. Will Board Failte be legally required to inform international tourists when hiring their car – that the law of the land is ‘ different ‘ in Kerry and that they need to be aware that the kingdom may have drink drivers in the roads?

• There are no taxis in Kerry, apparently. How about a tour bus? They have plenty of them. Could be a boost to the night shift drivers ferrying between pubs and home.

• I wonder how this clown would feel if a drunk driver knocked down and killed a member of his family? – “Oh well, I did try to legislate for people to drive when they’re drunk so…”

• I think the problem with the comments here is that people are jumping to conclusions straight away. Of course Michael Healy-Rae doesn’t want to sit down with families of people who died drink-driving and tell them he wants to increase the limits.

People are ignoring the huge amount of isolation in Irish rural communities. This is a recent phenomenon, where machinery advances have removed the need to stay and work the land. Instead, there is a huge amount of emigration to urban communities.

Increasing the drinking limits isn’t really a possibility and Michael Healy-Rae knows this. He is a politician and he will likely have a few aims with this proposal:
    1. To build support in his local community as this motion is probably well-received
    2. Generate support in Kerry council. He had a majority vote with the proposal
    3. Build notoriety in Ireland as somebody who is looking out for the common farmer
    4. Start a conversation about the isolation of people in rural communities

I wouldn’t be surprised if his end game is some sort of state-sponsored hackney service for people in isolation. A classic approach is to propose something and when people shoot it down, ask for their ideas. Then accept the best of them.

People are completely missing the whole point here!

• what a load of gob-shites
    They are not isolated as stated they have cars, Let them car pool designated driver on different nights. Local political figures should not be holding clinics in a pub in the first place.
    So when your down in this gob-shites neck of the woods and you get hit by a driver with a council permit. You get to sue the council and the one who hits you.

• I wonder how many people commenting here with “why do you have to drink…lol” and “car pool” and “why don’t they just get taxis?” Are from the demographic this is being looked at to help? There is no simple solution to the isolation of the old living in rural Ireland. Some too old to drive, no phones maybe, no money possibly, all family and friends dead or infirm, and deffinitely no internet to respond to the rhetoric here. Solutions that are viable would be a welcome thing. Voluntary taxi services….something like that? Just saying it is a problem that requires some help. Maybe this isn’t it but I’ll be happy if it opens debate.

• Will 22/01/13 #

Doomed to be abused, and when it is, Kerry’s back roads will lead to someone’s death.

• I feel for the rural community, but who gets the blame when these drivers hit some poor sod on the way home….the drink limit was reduced for a reason not for the crack :-)

• Jesus Christ. Is there anybody out there who might be able to dispose of this muppet? As for the other 4 four who voted in agreement. Get rid of them as well. What eejits in Kerry vote these people in to office? There is such a thing called a “taxi” to get home in rural areas.
    A Kerryman living in the Midlands (maybe for the better?)

• billtipp 22/01/13 #

Democracy in action Irish style.Craven politicians stand by and allow vested intersests do as they like.

• “All they want to do [here] is talk to neighbours, talk to friends, play cards, talk about the match and the price of cattle, about such a lady going out with such a fella, and it?s harmless.”

Exactly…..you don’t have to have 2 or 3 drinks to do this if that’s all they want to do?? Why not use a small amount of money to set up a better taxi service. That would also be giving someone a job? Also mentioned is how they “couldn’t go more than 20 or 30 miles an hour” just because your on country roads? Isn’t that why drink driving is illegal…because people think they can drive as they should…but, dont?

• The absolute shame of being from Kerry today… And the majority of TD’s didn’t even bother to turn up to vote… Is Danny Healy Ray an attention seeker or what because there is NO WAY this will actually happen..

• What an idiot. I’m glad he doesnt represent me.

• What a clown . Shameful and embarrassing. You can’t drive any faster than 20 kph on these roads because they are dangerous bendy roads. Add alcohol and a bit of bad weather into the equation and disaster. Please cop on ..!

• So lets say a 70 year old, has his 4 drinks, god forbid crashes his car on way home and dies….. “Gardai allow crash victim to drink drive” “garda permit results in pensioner death” quite possibly the most ridiculous suggestion I have ever heard. shared lifts, publican dropping people home… There are many solutions, this isn’t one.

• Probably the worst, inbred, regressive policy known to man!

• Maybe he should buy a minibus and drive his customers home rather than suggesting that over the limit drivers drive home slowly. Honestly this story has to be a joke, please tell me he’s not actually serious.

• This motion suggests you can’t socialise or enjoy yourself without a drink. A drink driving permit? Now that’s a good one

• Boobs

• 5 of 27 councillors passed the motion – good Healy-Rae politics.

• since when did County Councils get the right to make their own laws? This could lead to a litany of court cases and appeals etc. would be an absolute mess.

• What a smameless shill ,career politicians still ruining the country with their self interests!

• What a wally! No consideration for all the lives that have been lost as a result of people driving with just those one or two pints. How come he can’t organise for some of those people to car pool? All they want in his words is to have the crack, what better way. No one knows how to help one another anymore. He’s missing the golden opportunity to create the social connections he thinks a few drinks creates.

• Danny Healy Rae, where would we be without you and yours??

• Sergé 21/01/13 #

It only takes the one time to cause tragedy.

• Has anyone considered the idea of going to the pub to socialise with friends and not having an alcoholic drink?

• Wait until he/she has 4/5 and tips on home after the bit of crack and the chateen about the price of cattle, and an auld game of cards and kills 4 others in an oncoming vehicle… If he’s a politician then I’m Aladdin – f#ck off Healy Ray… Fair baloney…

• This is absolutely ridiculous, first we had the silly reg. plates because of superstition, now this. What next ?

• Bren Dan 22/01/13 #

Hes a rich idiot BTW.

• What about driving to the pub and having a mineral. You don’t have to drink 3 pints to feel less isolated. This is classic Healy – Ray. Please less kerryman jokes please the Kerry group is one of the most successful Irish businesses ever. Healy Ray is using this for publicity for publicans and isolated folks in Kerry.

• So as micheal Healy Rae tries to save money by stopping the NRA putting up road signs surely they would help the drink driver permit holders find ther was home!! Langers! What plant are these people from? http://www.independent.ie/national-news/signposts-waste-cash-we-know-where-were-going-healyrae-3066461.html
    Also I read that 3 of the 5 councillors who put forward the motion were all publicans! Goes back to the whole idea that they look after themselves. End off.

• He has to be trolling with this shite!

• This is no answer to community spirit. Its apparent that saving of lives from accidents with the lowest death statistics in history has not sunk home in this territory.a look at the absence of community activities may be a step towards the problem in this location.

• Think that’s the most stupid thing I’ve ever heard.

• The death rate on the roads are reducing and this clown want to do this .god help us do they have any brain

• Only in Kerry!!!!!!!

• He’s a tip, you can go somewhere else in the evening apart from the pub. Take up a hobby, be part of a charity, become involved with a community workshop, etc. Loads to do apart from sitting on a bar stool.

I’m utterly shocked in this day and age that councillors would actually vote in favour of this type of idea, it should have been thrown out straight away on simple grounds, it breached Irish law.

• yes, because we know that getting hit by a drunk driver in kerry is *much less* likely to lead to death or serious injury…. *facepalm*

this idiocy was further compounded with the explanation that “as the roads are so bad, (dangerous) drivers cant do more than 30kmh…”… What???

more: enshrine in legislation the right for a policeman to form the view that this local or that bloke is capable of safely driving a vee-hicle after consuming alcohol which flies in the face of *all* medical and road safety advice?

finally: this incredible idea proposed by a publican? supported by other publicans and hotel owners?

ahh, right so.

• There’s nothing stopping these people from driving to the pub and having a softdrink or coffee. Or could they not take it in turns to car pool?? Yet another example of politicians (and people) ignoring the stranglehold that alcohol has on their lives.

• Paddy 21/01/13 #

No craic goin to the pub and not drinking. Better the publicans quit whining and drive the punters home themselves if no taxis around. For the price of petrol of course

• This is a total disgrace. Cynical, populist gombeenism gone mad – the Government obviously isn’t going to change the law. But it sends out a very wrong message all the same.

Those who voted for this measure should be forced to resign. I hope the families of people who died or were injured in drunk-driving accidents speak up loudly.

• Great idea,legalize weed and Kerry be booming again,this man is a future taoisach,he gets my vote

• Happy April fools day.

• Its funny reading the comments and noticing how people dont seem to realise that it already happens with a much higher level of consumption and that in fact this might even bring down how much someone might go out and drink! I may be 18 but in my short life I know of this happening quite often exactly in the area mentioned! There are too many people from Dublin commenting who havnt a clue what life is like for these people especially around this time of year. Btw im from Dublin too. :)

• This is typical of a conversation I over heard in a pub (no joke ) . Guy walks into the bar and says to his mate are you having a pint I won a few quid on the lotto ..No says his mate iam driving I’ve had 5 pints already , that’s 5 pints not points ..

• This is the stupidest thing I’ve heard this week. If your feeling lonely start a walking club.

• Typical Irish solution to an Irish problem. Go to the pub bring the car and drink Coffee, Tea or non Alcholic beer

• Yeah, great idea ! NOT ! Maybe there could be special driving lessons to help people drink drive more safely.
    They could set up a mock street/assault course for the test and see how many prams are hit.

If people in Kerry are so social as they make out to be, then why don’t they just get sober friends to drive them instead. This means one of two things either nobody in Kerry has friends, OR there are no sober people in Kerry, but are kinda friends !
    Maybe the tourist board in Kerry could sell the idea. Come to Kerry, it’s really exciting, and if you are lucky
    you might even get out alive. Come on, we have problems, but This is Ireland, not vodka drenched Russia.

• So much to say…

• Is healy serious

• Kerry wants a licensee to Kill for profit.

• healy rae represents killarney, not the whole of kerry. take it up with the 3000 fools who voted for him and not the rest of the population of kerry, many of whom have experienced loss through drink driving deaths. It’s like saying all dublin people are murderers because of the gangland killings.

• @Penguin Nation, did all the Co Councilors who voted for this come from Killarney?

• These three voted in favour: Michael O’Shea (FF) representing the Dingle Electoral Area is a publican, Michael Cahill (Ind) killorglin also a publican and Bobby O’Connell (FG) killarney also a publican. Mr Healy-Rae’s son, Johnny, also voted in favour. And DHR himself is a publican. These 5 guys do not represent the majority of kerry people. I’m really really disgusted with the seven councillors who abstained and 12 were not present for the vote.. It’s lunacy. They should have shut this madness down.

• And that’s why Kerry people are the butt end of many a joke. Just build a wall around the Kingdom and be done.

• There should be a zero limit for drink driving! What an idiot!

• If the number of absentee voters proves anything, it’s that we absolutely need drink-driving permits, so that in future all councillors can attend such important meetings.

• I have got a serious problem with this, Its a slippery slope. I understand not wanting older rural people to be isolated, but if there depressed they shouldn’t be drinking in the first place, its a classic sign of alcoholism. On top of that, this can only result in tragedies, mixing the difficulties of older people driving with drinking is going to result in shattered lives and lots, and lots, of corpses.

• Ashney 22/01/13 #

What a load of #bullocks

• You do not need to have a drink to enjoy your self when you go out and if someone is fed up drinking can make you more fed up. I think this idea is bonkers drinking and driving is wrong.

• This could only happen in Kerry with cap wearing councillors and politicians.. lol

• How this even got to a vote is beyond me, great to see money been spent so efficiently.

This is proof that “parish pump” politics hasn’t gone away.

County & city councils should be merged and/or downsized.

Take munster as an example:

Kerry-Limerick Council
    Cork-Waterford Council
    Tipperary-Clare Council

Town & City Councils can continue to exist with volunteers

• @ mark wow what an original idea merging the councils why not tell the government oh wait that’s because it is happening tipperary north and south is being merged next year and if you knew anything bout geography tipperary is the biggest inland county where our councillors are being reduced so why merge with another county as well and see budgets cut further get real

• Man, Healy Rae really wants that comedy slot on Jimmy Kimmell.

• You only have to watch the “Come Dine with Me” episode in Kerry to understand that this could only happen in Kerry.

• Bwaaahahahahhaha only in gombeen Ireland!!! I’m sure Kenny the culchie clown will say its ok in mayo too. They drive like complete idiots down there so I’m sure 2 or 3 pints will help the situation more. While meantime in Dublin people will get points for driving 32 mph in a 30 zone on a dual carriage way. What a country we are ruled by spa’s.

• I have the solution how about no limit if your driving a tractor or combine harvester

• only in Ireland would anybody write/publish such sh1te

• Great idea 1 or 2 pints won’t affect the driving .:)

• Nobody is isolating this generation. They are isolating themselves.
    They can still go to the pub and have a soft drink or a coffee. No no no.
    They want a pint- well tough.
    Somebody above said they don’t want to live in a town- they want to have a house on their farm. Fine, that is a price you pay.
    This clowns argument is a complete non-starter. Logistically and legally it would be impossible to implement and legislate for. The only way it could happen would be with an unwritten rule. That probably goes on anyway.

• Would it not be cheaper for the government to just pay there taxis. Or better yet, they could just not drink in the first place.

• What a ludicrous proposal:-(

• Lets be honest here.
    It is a problem.
    Perhaps the solution to the problem might be to have people living in such isolation. Stop one off housing where people build houses halfway up a mountain and the nearest neighbour is 1 mile ago. It’s no wonder we end up with such problems when we don’t plan properly.

The man is a clown.

• That’s not going to stop the issue as these people mostly farmers live on there farm where they can attend to animals.

I live in a rural area where the local village is 2 miles away, and our local pub burnt down and was out of action for 5 months and it did lead to a lot of isolation in the area as there is no other area for people to gather. Many differ social groups hold meetings in our local for both young and old, young and old people drink in the pub on the weekend.

The issue is that while the young people will have a designated driver, the older people just can’t seem to get this idea. Many a night you would have to argue with the older people about giving them a lift home as they would believe they are ok to drive when they are clearly not. They don’t believe that you can go to the pub and not drink and this is where the issue lies.

• It’s people like Healy-Rar that give credence to all the worst Irish stereotyping and racist sentiment we all are forced to endure and defend against in places like London, New York and Perth .. I felt a little embarrassed to be an Irishman yesterday … Normally I’m very proud of it!! … I don’t who is the biggest moron, him or the muppets who keep voting him in!

Whats more worrying is the fact that people feel their only social outlet has to involve drinking alcohol … You can still have a great conversation with a neighbour over a cup of tea or a glass of water … Pubs sell nonalcoholic drinks too …

• Fianna Fail trying to buy votes again?

• Fair play to him, not may politicians speaking out for people in rural areas. It’s a pity a few more wouldn’t grow some balls instead of speaking out for the (politically correct brigade) minority

• Just realised I posted a reply instead of a comment.

I wonder how many people commenting here with “why do you have to drink…lol” and “car pool” and “why don’t they just get taxis?” Are from the demographic this is being looked at to help? There is no simple solution to the isolation of the old living in rural Ireland. Some too old to drive, no phones maybe, no money possibly, all family and friends dead or infirm, and deffinitely no internet to respond to the rhetoric here. Solutions that are viable would be a welcome thing. Voluntary taxi services….something like that? Just saying it is a problem that requires some help. Maybe this isn’t it but I’ll be happy if it opens debate.