TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

James Reilly must go: Labour grassroots meet to call for Reilly’s resignation

The members say that Reilly’s approach to healthcare is “completely incompatible” with Labour values.

Minister for Health James Reilly
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

GRASSROOTS MEMBERS OF Labour are to meet this week to discuss how to bring about the resignation of Health Minister James Reilly.

The Campaign for Labour Policies said today that Reilly’s approach to healthcare provision is “completely incompatible” with Labour values.

The group will launch an online petition calling on Labour leader Eamon Gilmore to take action to ensure the resignation of Reilly as Minister for Health.

The members are calling for the alcohol misuse strategies proposed by Róisín Shortall before her resignation from the party to be implemented in full.

“James Reilly has not accounted properly for his decision to interfere with the priority list for primary health care centres,” said campaign spokesperson Neil Warner. “Indeed, his ‘explanations’ have made a mockery of the Government and insulted the intelligence of the public”.  Warner added:

If he will not go, he must be forced out by the Labour Party.

The members are to meet in Dublin this Wednesday to discuss the issue.

Disaffected members of the party formed the Campaign for Labour Policies last month to promote traditional Labour Party values which it says have been neglected in the party’s coalition government with Fine Gael.

Column: We’re dedicated Labour members – but we’re not happy with the party >

Read: Quinn angry at being misled over primary care centres answer in Dáil >

Read: ‘No ministerial involvement’ in selecting primary care sites – Gilmore >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• Mjhint 06/10/12 #

Ah yes the beginning of the end.

• Eamon Gilmore is too far removed from the values of grassroots labour members at this stage. He has publicly backed Reilly, showing he has no interest in labours values. He has sacrificed one of his own TD’s for the sake of Fine Gael. Stupid move Mr Gilmore.

• Dr. Reilly, was excellent when he was in opposition! But then second he got elected! He went on the Public Attack! He used and abused his powers! And let the people whom voted for him down miserable! Shame on him! Get him out!

• That’s it! He’s was great in attacking his opposition when he wasn’t in government! He obviously sees the public as his opposition now!

• Same could be said for GIlmore,remember the “economic terrorism” and “traitors” remarks when in opposition???

As Billy Kelleher said the other day.The government,while opposition called for heads to roll for far less.

• thats politics for ya.i see it all the time where they play good cop/bad cop with the public & it fools them everytime.they pretend to oppose each other.the real power lies in the hands of the bilderberg group & trilateral commission who never have to face an electorate.

• its about time, labour grass roots should also be seriously considering there own front bench and there anti labour behaviour, pat rabbit stands out as the ultimate example of power at all costs, bunch of traitors

• This is were change needs to happen! From grass roots! The future leaders of our country the ones who haven’t been completely corrupted by the system, yet!

• Really must go. And take all the other unless servants with him.

• This is more signs of desperation coming from a party that have finally realised their heading for the same pastures, that the old Green crown are presently grazing in. Too effing late lads. You had your chance and you blew it. Gilmore and co will try and hang around as long as possible now, because they’ve nowhere else to go. They proved to be just as naive as the greens, when they crawled into FF’s little brothers bed!

• Clean your own house first Gilmore, Howlin, Quinn and Rabbite have sold out completely and then Reilly

• FG and Labour have broken their election promises. I’m not surprised with FG as they are FF in disguise. But Labour are complete sellouts. Traitors to the people who voted for them. And the grassroots know it.

• Get him out. Roll on the day and Labour if ye don’t there is no salvaging the devestation ye will will get int eh next election to an already mortally wounded party. Ye have abandoned the essential Labour party principles continuing with the coalition. Do something now or face the wrath of the electorate.

• Emmet 06/10/12 #

Well Eamon will have to take note and listen up if he doesn’t want a split in the labour party and the formation of a new labour….. It’ll be interesting to see the outcome as someone pointed out he and several other labour ministers publicly backed Reilly

• I am one of the people that voted for labour and fg aand I am bitterly dissapointed in the total shambolic mess they are making.
    Our government have went back on pre election promises and shown such disregard to the people that voted them into power.
    I voted on an “anybody but ff” basis and actually thought kenny and co would make the difference.
    Don’t get me wrong,I know well we are in the s**t but I wish to God kenny would grow a pair and start doing something other than jumping up and down shouting “it’s your fault” .
    The electorate feel so disheartned and annoyed at the sleeveen politics,ar*e covering and general attitude to us that we will attack anything they propose.
    We are sick to the teeth with the c*ap they feed us…
    Do they seriously think we are uneducated idiots ?.
    Don’t know who audited anglo !!
    Don’t know who the bondholders are !!!
    Happily paying out BILLIONS in unsecured payments.
    Labour have lost any credibility and will be going down the same road as pd’s,greens,ff.
    I will never as long as there is a breath in my body support them. I would rather spoil my precious vote .
    I wonder if kenny and gilmore are looking as smug now.
    Btw. I omit capital letters when refeering to them as I have no respect for kenny and co.

• James used to give Mary Harney an awfull time when she was in charge .And now hes worse.

• Labor is hemorrhaging at it’s core…….is there a doctor in the house …………oh!

• The problem is, so what if any of them leave/ are pushed/ stay and completely destroy OUR country even further? WE will foot the bill and carry on paying them for the rest of their lives. Politicians need to be accountable for their past actions and large pensions is not the punishment required to deal with it.

• I think its endemic of irish political life that the minute you cross the door in leinster house things change. the one thing that amazes me the most is that a party campains on a set agenda and the people vote them in based on that agenda. Accountability once in power is completely and utterly disregarded and this is the cancer in our society

• Get rid of the Philly also, go one or two further and get rid of Hitler Hogan!

• Labour old guard were in opposition for so long that now they are in power they are prepared to do anything to stay there. power corrupts as the saying goes

• It does but they were neither load enough with their message during campaigning for the last election, and their loosing any support they have by keeping quiet now. If the people thought for one moment that Labour had a leader that would stand up for their policies, they’d be the majority party in the morning. Can’t understand it.

• I know there is a mad clamour to get him removed , but politically with the budget fight ahead an health needing to make more savage cuts I think they’ll want Reilly in place as the punchbag to take the hits , after that storm they’ll probably fling him to the wolves and let him be the fall guy..

• KenRob 06/10/12 #

I will never ever vote Labour again…. Both my grandfathers would be fuming by now.

• Unless we take a stand against these lying TD’s and change the way the Dail works and holding the TD’s accountable for their actions, they will continue to abuse their power. The Dail needs to go. It’s outdated.

• Nothing new here. These people didn’t want Labour to put party before country and go into coalition.

• Joe Reid 06/10/12 #

Labour TD for Louth Ged Nash has stood by and defended the actions of Health Minister Reilly in closing respite beds in Drogheda Cottage Hospital . Elderly residents in the Cottage hospital, many consider this to be their home, will be requested to leave in the near future. The people of Drogheda have been let down by one of their own, shame on you GED, shame on you.

• They shouldn’t stop there. They need to stand up to the direction the party is being dragged in too. If the members of Labour forced the leaders of the party to follow the policies and principles that Labour is meant to stand for, they could provide a proper alternative to the direction we’ve been getting taken in. They could probably come pretty close to wrapping up the next election pretty quickly.

• Agreed. The leadership tier would need to be removed first. I wonder who will stand up & be counted – is anyone brave enough? I’d wager Brendan Ryan is a young Turk that might get the ball rolling.

• This was his statement on RTE News at one around the time of HSE cuts re: Home Help hours

“If at some point in the future, and particularly ahead of the next
      budget, if there comes a point where the benefit of Labour being in
      government versus the cost of the people that voted for us… if it
      doesn’t stack up in favour of our people, then maybe the appropriate
      resignation might be a collective resignation from Government.”

• Fingers crossed he stays true to his principles so!

• I can never understand how someone like Reilly defiantly stays put when it’s obvious that so many want him gone. It’s just downright cheek and arrogance, putting two fingers up to the Irish people. Ignorant looking git.

• I can’t help thinking that the only reason Minister Reilly hasn’t resigned already is because there is something coming down the line within the Health Service, probably cuts that will be very, very unpopular, and he is being basically saved so he call “fall on his sword” when these occur. Someone else will then take his place, more promises will be made and the government will be saved. Life will go on.
    If Reilly goes now and there is something else coming, something bad and unpopular, which is likely, then whoever replaces him will face that, it will look incredibly bad as he/she will be expected to face down the storm of protest. In short, it would drag out and never go away.

• Two words I wouldn’t really put together; ‘Labour’ and ‘values’

• Sooner or later FF will get two pounds of flesh for the price of one from their confidence vote….. I wonder will the acts of contrition from commentators here ring as loudly as the derision that greeted the confidence vote in Reilly in the first instance. I’m truly a dissatisfied labour voter at this stage. There won’t be a credible left to vote for next time round.

• Another sham . Isn’t it amazing we all saw it coming too . Like the rest , not a clue about how the real people of this city exist . It’s time we stood up to all this crap . I’m 39 and sick of seeing the damage being done to our country and not doing something about it . When is enough , goin to be enough .

• it’s as simple as this, until such time as he has his 2 years as minister done James reilly will go nowhere. he will wait until he can go on his ministers pension. he won’t make the same mistake shorthall did.

• Maybe he will not have a choice maybe by some stroke of luck (for us the people of Ireland) Reilly will be the 1st to drop and all the rest of the slugs in cabinet will drop of their seats too and hopefully it will all happen quickly. F.G./Labour out now no more sh&t just go and like Cowan Never show your heads again in public life yea all deserve to be locked up and the key thrown away

• Bernadette….I agree with what your saying BUT who is better? Who can we replace them with? Fianna Fail? Sinn Feinn? they are all the same! The only reason anyone goes into politics in Ireland is for the money, no other reason than that. It’s depressing to think that the shower we threw out were replaced by a shower just as bad, and the cycle will repeat

• @Martin O’Leary do we need any of the “Big” parties to lead government all we need is decent honest hardworking true Irish people of about 50. Party politics are dead in the water at this stage and the party whip is the biggest problem. Agree with what I say or you loose the whip No-one has their own opinion in the Dáil anyway and thars just turning it all into DICTATORSHIP and now we see that dictatorship is transferred down to All of us. So really I do not see the point of party led government having a place in running our wonderful Little state

• Bernadette why would you have people of about 50 in particular running the country? Look at the last few cabinets all relativity old. Just because someone is older doesn’t mean they would be wiser. There would be nothing wrong with a young new thinking new Ireland dail and Seanad. People on here and in society in general moan about the system well then allow in a whole new bunch of young people with no party affiliations and see how it goes ;) it wouldn’t be much worse than the way things are now

I agree the party system removes people own opinion but if there were no party every single bill or motion would have to be debated to the core by all 166 or so (not too sure how many Tds there are ) it would be impractical. The party systems arises from the fact that people pool resources to get what they want. For many politicians it is worth watering down there principles to make headway on other issues

• What does it matter we come on here say a few things which no one in power really ever takes notice of and that’s it because in Ireland we are to afraid to protest properly for our livelihood in case we get our name in the paper and our neighbour sees it this is why government will get away with anything they. Want that and the fact they have no brains to think up anything useful for the country they are just doing what Germany wants and getting f@€k all back for it they should remind Germany we took a bullet for Europe

• Sometimes i think fg/labour are more in competent then ff and thats saying alot. I wont ever vote for any of dese 3 parties again..so who do i vote for nxt election??sinn fein..any new parties in sight?..they should sell government buildings to The Wright Venue cause it always seems to be a party in there!

• We all have a real problem! We seem to be all agreed that we will never again vote for Labour, FF, Greens or FF. no one in their right mind can vote for a party that includes Adams and mad
    Marylou?!?! The whingers from the
    sidelines e.g. Fintan OToole lost their chance lady time around….we have to do it ourselves guys!!

• mike 06/10/12 #

don’t like x factor anyway. was watching winning streak. a lovely lady just win 100k. Great to see..

• It’s people like you, playing anonymous behind a screen waiting to jump on someone’s clear comments that make me laugh . If you have nothing valid to say , don’t say anything . That’s simple .

• mike 06/10/12 #

Imagine a county run by the Labour backbenches and grassroots. If that happens I will quit my job and go on the dole. because they would screw over anyone who works hard and makes even a half success of their life, and give it all to the lazy parasites who have never done a hard days work in their life.

• Well Mike you could always visit OReilly , if you got that cold , maybe he might assist you in a lobotomy . As you make no sense , and of course you don’t even check your spelling either .

• Labour’s a dead duck heading for PD/Green type oblivion. The Party that perfected ” Economic Treason”. They’ll suck from the trough as long as they can fill their pockets and copperfasten their pensions. As for FG what else would you expect from a pig but a grunt!

• How can someone who is clearly a bit on the heavy side be the health minister? His hardly the picture of health!!

• mike 06/10/12 #

Also Gav. I never said you weren’t entitled to your opinion. my point was until people like you with an opinion, get up and get elected things won’t change.

• Sometimes ya just get sick of all the red tape around getting something done! I think that’s what Reilly did -is that such a big sin when you are the minister? I bet the people in Balbriggan are in the Reilly camp!

• how come no one is talking about roisin shorthalls severance package. she didnt loose her job she couldnt hack the pressure she is still getting her td salary

• she couldnt do her job so she went to the back benchs were she collect her wsges for doing nothing. if dhe had a problem with minister reilly she should have stayed on and fought her corner not leave collect a severance package while still getting a ludicrous td salary & expenses

Add New Comment