TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

‘No ministerial involvement’ in selecting primary care sites – Gilmore

The Tánaiste says locating individual sites in towns put forward for primary centres was done by the HSE.

TÁNAISTE EAMON GILMORE has said that there was no ministerial involvement of any kind in identifying sites on which the government hopes to open primary care centres.

Gilmore made the statement to the Dáil after meeting with both the secretary-general at the Department of Health and the incoming chief executive of the HSE this morning.

The Tánaiste affirmed: “There was no ministerial involvement in any kind in the selection of any indivudal site for a primary care centre.”

He added that while he was personally consulted and had agreed to the proposal to expand from 20 to 35 the list of towns being considered for a centre, his only involvement was in the decision to fund those sites through the government’s €2.25bn stimulus programme announced in July.

“It maximised the amount of input there would be to the economy, to the creation of jobs, and I agreed with the increase from 20 to 35,” Gilmore said.

The insistence came after two days of reports where it was revealed that the owner of the intended primary care site in Balbriggan was a Fine Gael supporter and an associate of the Minister for Health, James Reilly.

Gilmore’s response came after Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin asked the government to publish all the documentation on how the final list of 35 sites for primary centre centres was compiled.

“Transparency demands that all the documentation be published now, not to wait three months for the storms to abate,” he said – describing Gilmore’s response, that any documents would be made available under the Freedom of Information Act, as “extraordinary”.

Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald also expressed frustration at she called the “incoherent bluster coming from Minister Reilly” at his explanation of the criteria involved in naming the 35 sites.

Reilly yesterday described the criteria used as a “logistical, logarithmic progression” but declined to give any further details.

Shane Ross from the Technical Group meanwhile urged the government to take a direct stand and order AIB not to raise mortgage interest rates for its struggling customers.

“What you should be doing … is ringing up the bank and say, ‘It is not government policy, we do not want a half-per-cent increase in mortgages, and we forbid you to do it’,” Ross said.

Gilmore said he did not propose to take advice on bank management from someone who had once suggested Seán FitzPatrick should be the governor of the Central Bank.

Read: Reilly insists he had ‘no hand, act or part’ in choice of Balbriggan site

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• Don’t believe it for a minute

• Before the election he was contemptuous of FG , they were liars and crooks. Now he believes everything they say I do admire a man of principle.

• Another nail in the coffin of gilmores credibility. He expects us to believe the narrative so far and thats just insulting.

• I understand Gilmore is trying to show a united front for a stable government but I would much prefer an unstable government based on truth rather than the current stable government based on lies.

• The long list was create by the HSE.

The question is, how did the additional sites get back on the short list?

What were the criteria (if any) used?

• I can’t understand what all the fuss is about. We’ve known for a long time that this bunch of vermin are out and out liars. We should be concentrating on finding ways to remove them as soon as possible. Let them fight among themselves. I give no credence to any one of them. It’s time we took our country back, and jail all the thieving corrupt criminals who’ve masqueraded as elected politicians for the last couple of decades. It’s farcical that we are still deemed stupid enough to accept all this rattle throwing as part of modern daygovern

• I prefer democracy myself.

• I still don’t get why Seamus Murphy felt the need to lie about his relationship with Reilly???

• David 04/10/12 #

Eamon Gilmore a man sleepwalking his way towards his pension entitlement. Will this country ever see a politican celebrated by statue again?

• Scarr 04/10/12 #

‘done by the hse’ – sure it was, eamonn , sure it was. Of course, you would have to deflect blame after you tethered yourself to bottler Reilly and unambiguously backed stroke politics. Well done you. Y’know, journal readers, I’m starting to think Gilmore is a FF plant, put into the labour party by Bertie with the mission of making labour the most useless bunch of smoked salmon socialists ever conceived. You got us again, ahern!

• And the nose grows another inch!

• mcbab 04/10/12 #

Dec. methinks you just can’t think for yourself you just like to jump on any anti government bandwagon. Also how childish is it to call people trolls.

• You can think what you like! My mind is completely made up about this lying shower of half wits! And if I could drive the bandwagon I would!!! Why is it childish to call a troll a troll? It’s childish to take offense to something so trivial when our country has been ripped to shreds because of reckless politicians and bankers and is being led by more of the same!!! Do you want me to list the promises that had/have been made and broken by Kenny and co to make me so Anti government??

• Dont think theres enough room on the internet for that list Dec. Have to admit that the defence of this government is incredible. The broken promises, barefaced lies, arrogance, ignorance and bloodymindedness is mindboggling. As blind as the morons who STILL defend the Quinns after all the revelations that have come to light about their duplicity, cover ups, backhanders and criminality, we have the apologists for Edna and her girlies, who have shown themselves to be equally inept in dealing with the major matters that effect the lives of us all.

• Can you just imagine how future generations will view all this? Reilly got caught, he blamed everyone bar himself but claimed he consulted his ministerial colleagues, then Hearney, then admitted it was himself, then had to concede his mates may benefit from the decision. Then Gilmore spoke, and said it was the HSE, and there was no ministerial involvement… no seriously he did. Oh, and they trusted this man completely.
    Ooohh and the poor fools wonder where they went wrong.

• The future generations will be so used of getting treated like slaves by the World Banking Union they wont have the education or means to know who were the instigators of their miserable lives.We know though so lets get rid of the horrible b$$$$$$s.Sooner before later.

• Labour are finished. They keep putting more nails in the coffin.

• The next Govt needs to strip all ministerial pensions and benefits from its predecessors. I will be asking any candidate who calls to my door if they are willing to do this.

• When the trust is gone, we are left with a people who are disillusioned and demotivated. This nation deserves better.

• Is it my imagination or are our TDs’ noses longer than the average person’s?

• And the nose grows another inch!!

• Eamon ‘Fine Gael’ Gilmore

• Minister Unhappy Gilmore do you and your party think the electorate are stupid?
    Bring on the Election. I cannot wait to vote you guys out and give some other ball of crap a chance. There is no hope for the Irish Public just no hope!

• There’s more Pinocchio’s in government than you can shake a stick at.

• sounds legit

• Nothing to see here. Gilmore and Reilly are doing a great job. More power to them.

Hopefully the weeks of having to defend themselves to those focused on destabilising the government, no matter what the truth is, doesn’t cost the country too much on the path to progress. Such a waste of time all this bickering. I’d start firing people making allegations without basis.

• The trolls here, with no name and hiding behind an egg like a chicken. Reveal who you are, while defending these traitors!

• Just providing some balance to what is a very one-sided dialogue.
      The hysterical ranting on this issue is totally irrational.

The fair argument that can be made against Gilmore and Reilly is totally lost when those trying to make that argument are drowned out by a cacophony of screeching morons, repeating the same thing over and over again in the expectation that the educated electorate will start listening.
      You do yourselves and democracy a disservice.

• Whatever about screaming morons, i am sure the people that are angry voted for this bunch. On the promises they made in the election, only to go back on them and betray the electorate. If you are a FG/ Labour footsoldier, be afraid and concerned about what’ll happen after the Budget!

• Dec Rowe 04/10/12 #

I read the first words of that and had to skip to the last to see if you were serious!

Pmsl

• The ugly side of trying to manage an extreme basket case economy as a government.

I still don’t see a better government sitting in the opposition benches. In many cases I see we are better with the government we have, warts and all.

• Stephan. Im pretty sure very few of the ones shouting abuse on here voted for the goverment…well certainly FG anyways…If the national uproar was a reflection of this site then FG would be at 10%…However on the contary they are between 32 and 36% in every pole for the last 18 months….

• Scarr 04/10/12 #

@arb – I’m at a loss to see how backing Reilly’s parish pump politics is anything to do with the vagaries of managing our decrepit economy. I agree that the political alternatives are thin on the ground

• Scarr, it is a question of proportionality. Taking an admittedly pro-Reilly stance, I think he is at fault for poor decisionmaking; not so much for the decision made, but how he made it.
      Had he thought it through he should simply (at the time he was considering adding the sites) have written a letter to Shortall saying ‘these don’t fit the ranking criteria, but I think we add these extra sites on the following basis because they have merit but the ranking criteria unfairly doesn’t prioritise them’, list his reasons and make it totally transparent that he sought balanced support. Shortall could have veto’d it and said no, the extra sites should be from elsewhere, or she might have agreed.
      The reaction of the minority that he is now a demon from hell, set on destroying the country and all the rest of the hyperbole is totally out of proportion however.
      I’d prefer to hear reasonable arguments that he is not doing a good job trying to get the health service back into shape. Then I’d happily support his being removed to appoint a better person for the job.

• I agree he should have just written something to his Junior Minister to explain what his decision was based on. But he didnt . And then he had several other opportunities to provide the information, which he failed to do, and on the one occassion he did reveal something, it was pure gobbldegook, worthy of the best forms of misinformation from any secret body. Answers are needed, clear and precise, if not for us, then to the 100 areas around the country that were skipped on the list just so Balbriggan and Swords could get their centres. Are these other 100 areas not worthy of answers? Or should we just allow the government thumb their noses up at them?

• I do believe it…Dont believe the muppets asking the questions though!!! or the media…its so slanted and vested..

• I belive the answer, not the question.
      Slanted indeed, Mr Cotter.

• Jim, If you examine facts of this, there is nothing in it… Despite the indo making news out of nothing… the propetry is even owned by NAMA and has been since before they ever went on a list…. I actually believe that this Minister will do a good job if left alone…

• If it’s not corruption then it must be incompetence.
      Either way Declan, this ain’t good.

• Lads in Declan’s defence he is only expressing he’s opinion.It was not only too long ago that anyone who expressed a left wing opinion was been called a troll by the right .Lets not follow that mentality as it only brings your thinking into line with theirs and at the end of the day we will all be in the same boat soon enough.Like it or not.

• Dance on it lads.. I dont believe that there is corruption here…thats all…

• If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a …. unicorn?

• Well lets see his figures then, why wont he show the criteria he used… enough of this bullshit… show us this “logistical, logarithmic progression” that was used, if he has the figures as he says then show us

• A senior Government Minister goes into the House and formally announces the outcome of his enquiry into the allegations against another Minister with respect to the selection of sites for the development of Primary Care facilities. Those enquiries are made with the help of the Secretary General of a Government Department and the Chief Executive of the largest State Agency.
    Both of these men confirmed to the Tanaiste that the Minister had no hand act or part in the selection of any sites for the development of Primary Care facilities.
    Virtually without exception every contribution above has called the Tanaiste a liar and by extension the Secretary General of the Department of Health and Children and the Chief Executive of the Health Services Executive.
    What jury could any of you ever serve on and be expected to act in a moral and ethical manner without prejudice or bias. What political movement do you support that denies the existence of truth and brands a man as a liar when he confirms in our Parliament a conclusive finding that could not be other than fact.
    I suggest you reverse your crawl in the slime of your dishonesty and find the rocks that you’ve thrown before you shrivel in the light of day.