TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Reilly insists he had ‘no hand, act or part’ in choice of Balbriggan site

The Health Minister faced more questions about the selection of two sites in his constituency for proposed primary care centres in the Dáil this afternoon

James Reilly speaking in the Dáil today.

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly has reiterated that the selection of locations for proposed primary care centres was “appropriate” and strongly rejected criticism from the opposition in the Dáil today.

Reilly was speaking during a special private notice questions session in the Dáil this afternoon as the controversy over the addition of two sites in his constituency on a list of 35 locations for proposed primary care centres continues.

Reilly had earlier defended his link to a proposed site in Balbriggan in north Dublin which was owned by a long-term member of Fine Gael, Seamus Murphy, and told RTÉ the site had been chosen before he came to power.

However, speaking in the Dáil this afternoon Reilly admitted that this was not the case and in fact the Health Service Executive (HSE) identified this site last year, when he was Minister for Health, but he said this done by the HSE and the selection was approved by the board.

“This site is under the control of NAMA and therefore Mr Murphy doesn’t gain, NAMA gains, if needed there is any gain,” he said of the particular site which was chosen after a deal for another site in Balbriggan fell through in late 2010.

Reilly reiterated that there was a need for a primary care centre in Balbriggan due to its population growth and unemployment level.

He insisted that the HSE had identified the need for primary care centres in Balbriggan and Swords, another area in his constituency which was selected, as far back as 2007/2008.

‘No connection’

He was repeatedly questioned about his relationship with the troubled developer, Seamus Murphy, and what consultations he had with senior Labour ministers about expanding the original list of 20 sites for primary health care centres to 35.

“I have no business connection to Mr Murphy,” Reilly told the chamber saying that he had had no discussions with him about the site and adding: “I had absolutely no role over the selection of the site.”

He said he consulted with several Labour ministers but did not specify who beyond the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Brendan Howlin.

Questioning the minister Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins, Fianna Fáil’s health spokesperson Billy Kelleher, and Sinn Féin’s Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin repeatedly shouted across the chamber indicating their dissatisfaction with Reilly’s answers.

“You made these decisions on your own bat, without any regard to criteria,” Kelleher claimed saying that he could not understand how the Minister could have “so glibly passed this by”.

Reilly insisted: “I had no hand act or part in this” and called on Kelleher to withdraw earlier claims that the Minister had conferred financial gain on individuals who he was involved with.

Ó Caoláin said “the whole thing suggests that it was a cobbled together exercise” and called on Reilly to outline his exact working relationship with the now departed Minister of State for Primary Care Róisín Shortall.

Reilly expressed frustration with the “awful lot of repetition” of questions saying: “Most all of them have been answered in my original statement last week and again here today.”

He said that to suggest an inpropriety is “wrong” and “baseless”.

“If I had it to do again, I would not turn my back on the people of Swords and Balbriggan whose needs were identified in 2008,” Reilly added.

Reilly: I’m not a bully, nothing inappropriate over primary care sites

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• Sinmac 03/10/12 #

Should this headline not read – James Reilly dodges questions about primary care centres?

• That’s pretty much what we have learned over the last 15 years Jerry,that our public representatives,are not their to represent the public,only themselves and their cohorts.

• And to bicker and fight amongst themselves, look at the exodus after Question time with Reilly when there was still other topics to discuss. The ceann comhairle had a look of shock on his face.

The only solution I can think of to control it is when a person becomes a Dail Eireann minister that they are no long involved with local politics. They need to assume the role of Minister for Ireland and not be influenced or distracted by local politics. Let others step into those roles and let the minister be concerned with Ireland as a whole and not it’s parts (their areas).

This fiasco is prime example of a need for reform.

• I was thinking something more along the lines of the US Presidential system where ministers are appointed without needing to be TDs. The constituency still gets their representative and we get a minister who won’t have a n eye towards reelection so (hopefully) doesn’t engage in parish pump policitics.

• @leigh….on the other hand, the American system has given rise to an all powerful Tea Party. Maybe not such a wonderful solution ???

• limofax 03/10/12 #

Fine Gael, the strokers party, present the serial excuser Dr Jimmy O’Reilly. Wednesday’s excuse is ……………????

• phil 03/10/12 #

A site does not jump over 100 places on a list without somebody in power pulling strings. This minister is a joke time to go.

• Phil, is your surname Hogan y any chance ?

• If as you say he is a ‘joke’ like all the rest, then that is our fault in some way. We vote these people into Government. Many hoped that there would be change, there still could. I don’t believe that a year is long enough to judge them. I am not a member of any party. I have a mind of mine own and vote with my head and feet.

The difficulty I have with many politicians, be they for or against and/or supposedly working as a team, ALL team members should be informed of changes and information on what is been decided. Communication is everything. James Reilly lost a very good working member of his team because of the lack of communication!

My distaste for certain members of the Dail accusing and attacking James Reilly today is huge! One group in particular where they have a well known representative living in Dundalk would try his best to have one of these new health facilities in the Fingal and Louth areas if he was in power. So, to me, people like him are hypocrites when they try and rial the public and stir sh1t where there is none to stir.

• Another point I’d like to make, that individual Billy Kelleher has a neck accusing James Reilly/Fine Gael of being associated with ‘a friend’ that owns the land mentioned. Mr. Kelleher seems to forget or maybe innocently! doesn’t know that his buddy bertie aherne was not just ‘a friend’ but a relative of a certain individual that got the EUR4million contract to take patients out of their home of 40/50 years, which was Portrane and dump them and many other poor souls, public and private residents into his so called nursing home!! (unfortunately, I must say ‘allegedly’ here) Getting paid every month, to treat residents less than an animal.

Double standards, high horses!!!!! I bloody hate them. Many politicians in our land are selfish, self centred, double standard, short of the truth arse holes, and we deserve them! Few, very few are truly honest human beings.

• Too much whataboutery. Every single time a pol is caught out we end up with the “sure they’re all at it” discussion. Sheila, you’re right that we somehow get the politicians we deserve but it’s to change or this country is finished.

• So Balbriggan is getting its centre because Mary Harney approved it. If getting a FG/Labour coalition means we get all the last lot’s decisions (along with the Troika agreement), you’d wonder why they bothered putting themselves forward for government. The more Reilly tries to explain this stroke away, the worse it gets. So what does the new coalition offer, not only no serious attempt at constitutional and political reform, but a seamless continuation of FF clientilism to top it off.

• Actually Les, Harney didn’t approve the site. You need to keep up in the morning Quinn said Harney had approved it based on info from the min of health. But when the min of health got up this afternoon he admitted the site was approved under his watch. Think what you will about that but I for one believe him when he says he had no act or part to play in that approval.

• It’s getting hot in the kitchen now for you Minister Reilly………..After that performance in the Dáil today, two Labour MEP’s have called for your resignation.

Perhaps you could do the honourable thing now and just step aside, but then our Taoiseach or our Tanáiste wouldn’t allow that to happen, as it would mean the end of their political careers as well !

Eamon Gilmore has already sacrificed one of his Ministers for you, so it just goes to prove what he will do to hang onto power!

I get sick when I think of the high hopes that most of us had, after the last election, when we replaced Fianna Fáil and put both your Parties into a Coalition Government………..We now know that we replaced one group of inept and self serving politicians for possibly a worse group of politicians.

Just goes to prove that you cannot trust any politician to do the right thing when they get a whiff of power and THEY ARE ALL THE SAME! How sad!

• There’s a scene in Casino where the counters are in the vault & the mafia guys come in for their skim. No-one looks up or acknowledges them & the security guy just ‘happens’ to have stepped away at that very moment.

No-one sees a thing…….well certainly no-one goes looking……

• it’s the financial interests of the golden circle along with the corporate interests that are continually served in this country, same as it always was, whoever was/is in power..it’s never changed….the whole system has to go, nothing will change until then…..

• He knew the site belonged to a buddy Developer and yet went ahead with it. Surely in this day and age he would thought a bit more about it.

• maladministration of the past and present fg/lab=ff

• he has the head of a lad that is a bully but ye have to keep the voters happy. another reason why our system does not work.

• The government would be best advised to admit to Reilly’s corruption, force him to resign and move on. Covering up after him will do nothing but cause further disillusionment and weaken a government already damaged by its treatment of Roisin Shortall.
    http://www.perspectivesbyjack.com/

• It seems the Sunday times report is true .Miss Shortall intends to exact revenge on both Reilly and Gilmore .
    It’s such a pity politicans did. not put the same effort into sorting out the country as having battles with each other . patriots they are Not

• yeah sure James no part at all…
    just like Quinn earlier…
    oh but the troika told us to repay all that money.

well ruairi if they told ye te put your hand in the fire would ye?

• Reilly to opposition, back off or else! He must have got that line from O’Brien?

• Did anyone ask him what criteria Mary Harney used?!

• I would comment on this thread… but I can’t be ars*d!
    I have seen it all too many times to have even a shadow of a hope that anything will ever change in this country.
    It is our own fault for putting up with these reprobates and giving them positions of power.
    And until we are actually prepared to do something about it, I think we should all shut the f*ck up!

• Their not even brazen or clever in their corruption

• Just a reminder to the lies Reilly has told… He and Kenny told the People of Roscommon in July 2011 that HIQA closed Roscommon A+E because of safety standard and fatalities of heart attacks being about 4 times higher than other hospitals LIES figures have submitted with evidence to the tune of being the same as any other hospital nationally and HIQA have confirmed they never stepped foot into Roscommon Hospital prior to Reilly and Kenny closing it and HIQA have also confirmed they have never recommended the closure of ROSCOMMON or Of Any A+E So yet again Reilly continues to lie on National Radio he told The people of Ireland lies yesterday morning via the Pat Kenny Show. Reilly is a liar true and true and should be sacked immediately he is not doing his job and lying to the people

• OH REALLY ! NO O’REILLY !

• mart_n 03/10/12 #

Has anyone mentioned Gerry Adams’ questionable past yet? That seems to be how these things progress these days

• Out of the 35 locations for the primary care centres how many have a TD who is in government now and how many in opposition ? Does anybody know ?

• “Ive hady fun and thats all that matters”

• Aye Likely story.

• last week he made the decision to include both sites in his constituency as a GP from area not as minister.this week no hand act or part in decision.if he thinks a site should jump 100 places on list surely criteria for list was flawed and all should be reviewed.no sign of this so we have to conclude this was a stroke

• I don’t believe you Jim.

• really.liarly.reilly.

• G 05/10/12 #

this is a huge red herring and spin, nobody cares who approved the site, it isn’t relevant at all. what is being questioned is how Balbrigan and swords jumped the queue and appeared on the additional list of 15. Reilly is not saying he had no hand or act in that decision is he? what he is doing is the old trick of denying something he was never accused of in the first place.

• Reading these comments I think, bearing in mind the gravity of the situation this country is in we need to restrict those who can vote. I propose three questions:
    1. Do you believe that by telling the EU to feck off, the magical pixie fairies will come, remove our debt and all our problems will be solved? Yes/No?
    2. Do you honestly believe it was a small group of bankers who ruined this country as opposed to a significant segment of the population who lost the run of themselves? Yes/No?
    3. Is Roy Keane right. No matter what he says? Yes/No.

If you answer yes to any of these questions, sorry- you’re voting privileges are revoked. Try the North. If you answered yes to question 2 and indignantly thought to yourself “I certainly didn’t”, you are not allowed vote or have children. If you voted yes to all three you are Roisin Shortall. You should be out finding a job.

• 1. Do you believe that by telling the EU to feck off, the magical pixie fairies will come, remove our debt and all our problems will be solved?

Well put. Unfortunately a significant minority believe Yes is the answer.

Same mentality as breaking out of jail and living out the rest of your years as a fugitive makes sense to a prisoner, rather than serving your term, even if it is a crime you didn’t commit. Queue Ireland as the Incredible Hulk.

• Maybe you should put the same question to the people of Iceland Killian. Though I do agree those who voted FF, FG and Lab should have their vote removed. I’m speaking as someone who voted 1 and 2 for the last two parties mentioned. Never again.

Another question need in your survey is “Do you agree that it makes sense to borrow 11 billion in one year while at the same time you pay unsecured bond holders 18 billion in the same year?

• censored 04/10/12 #

Overly simplistic. Answer YES to number 2 and you’re a defeated, un-self-confident dweeb who believes everything that FG/Labor/FF feed you, ready to take the harsh medicine doled out by your superiors and kiss their boots afterwards.

The other two questions are just silly.

• i live in balbriggan and hand on heart we are screaming out for one of these centres, the existing medical centre is an absolute disgrace, the population exploded during the

boom but public services did not and while Dr oReillys methods are questionable to say the least the primary care centre is badly needed and long overdue.

• Honestly I am getting tired of this whole thing. The whole process end to end is messed up. Reilly is of course dodging the truth and giving vague answers. He simply leveraged old reports and old allies to bump his own constituency up the list. The original and new lists also reeks of political favoritism. Its always there and always will be. The amount of lobbying of Ministers that TDs do on behalf of their own constituency is rampant. They are all at that, everyone of them, Sinn Fein included. If I lived in Balbriggan or Swords I would be making a mental note to give Reilly my vote at the next election. I am not a Fine Gael voter by any stretch but at least Reilly is showing leadership ( however dictatorial) taking decisions, standing over them and fearlessly taking on the big guns in the Health Service. Roisin Shortalls departure was wrong. She should have stayed and fought the fight. She had it in her and should have given it back to Reilly in spades. The health service needed her and she ran when the going got tough to the safe sidelines. She was better served staying in the thick of it.

• Between ex-terrorists, tax avoiders and criminals in the Dail – it really is a great place to hide.

• The facts speak for themselves. There was no wrongdoing in this, despite the malevolent hopes of Labour, Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail.

What an ugly waste of the Dail members time; trying to find any shred of basis on which to attack the Health Minister, rather than getting on with their jobs. It disgusts me that they prioritise political bickering and destablisation of the government with no grounds to do so, when the country is on its knees due to the maladministration of the past.

Where were they over the past several decades of gangster government by Fianna Fail?

• Bottom line is, is Reilly doing a good job re-creating the institutional health services in the country?
    If he isn’t, and someone can do better, I want that new person in.

I believe he is sincere in what he is trying to do. I hope I am not wrong.

Find me a privately-owned site on the list of 35 drawn-up for primary care centres that is owned by someone with no political leanings, never pictured with a politician, who has never contributed to a party and has never attended a meeting with politicians at it.

Add New Comment