TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Larry Murphy traced to Amsterdam by TV3 programme

The convicted rapist is shown talking to a number of women with a “very close pal” of his in the show which airs tonight.

Larry Murphy leaving Arbour Hill prison in 2010.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Irealand

A TV3 PROGRAMME due to air tonight tracks convicted rapist Larry Murphy to Amsterdam.

Murphy was released from Arbour Hill prison in 2010 after serving 10-and-a-half years of his 15 year sentence (with one year suspended) for the repeated rape and attempted suffocation of a Carlowwoman in February 2000.

At the time Gardaí said he was considered a high risk offender and that his activities would be monitored.

Patrick Kinsella, the show’s producer told TheJournal.ie that the show “surveilled” Larry for three months and established a pattern of his movements and that of a “very close pal” of his.

“They had taken a large amount of footage and pictures of him and his pal and the decision was made then for the reporter Paul Williams to approach him”.

Kinella said the footage shows Williams’ interaction with Murphy who leaves “in a hurry”. He was then tracked by the show to where he was living and Williams’ posed questions to him through a window and his intercom “with limited success.”

The producer said Murphy’s relationship with this “pal” is “quite shocking” and will be a cause of concern for people watching.

“I know I was certainly concerned about it when I knew who it was, I mean it’s not somebody famous but it’s shocking,” he said.

“The footage shows him eagerly talking to a number of women and in one instance he’s talking to women at a bus stop with his pal. There’s a certain level of eeriness because of the way that the two men look at each other even though nothing transpired afterwards.”

“Finding Larry Murphy: Midweek” will air at 10pm tonight on TV3.

Read: ‘New leads’ in disappeared women cases>

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• 10 1/2 years of a 22 year sentence – unbelievable!

• @ Susan. I think it was 14 years hr got, but The shocking thing about his sentence was that for all the crimes he was convicted of that time they totalled 94 years. But the judge in his eternal wisdom chose to apply concurrent instead of consecutive

• Isn’t it said that it is a big chance that he was the guy that killed those women in the 90′s too? Jojo dolard and Annie mccarrick.

I mean, he just nearly got away with disappearing that other girl only a few guys happened to see him. The guy is a fuging animal.

• Oh boy: Yes that is true. He never uttered a word though so they couldn’t prove it. 10 1/2 years for the abduction, repeated rape, and attempted murder of someone is disgraceful. Glad he’s in Amsterdam… further away from me and my kids the better!

• Susan – I hope the Dutch police are keeping a razor sharp eye on him. The idea of him perpetrating an atrocity against a woman there truly is stomach churning.

• Maybe one of the Muslim fanatics over there who kill people for making documentaries might bump him off.

• @Susan Lynch Mooney…..”Glad he’s in Amsterdam”.
      I am an Irish woman living in Amsterdam, so I for one am certainly not “Glad” he is residing here. But hey, as long as he’s away from you and your kids, well, that’s ok then!

• Shame on our criminal prosecution service and our judiciary to allow a man free after ten years who perpetrated such a vile and disgusting crime against an innocent woman and who clearly exhibited the intent to murder her but for the fact he was caught in the act,it is an affront to the value of her life to let him off so lightly, he is an evil man that would be still behind bars in any functioning criminal justice service in a civilized country.

• Creep!!

• Need to call DEXTER !

• Who the f**k gave Nora Owen that job ????? D worst (by a country mile) presenter I have EVER SEEN !!!!

• Whoever sanctioned this mans release should be held accountable if he re-offends. Somebody has weighed up the pros and cons and decided larry murphy is suitable for release into society. That person or persons should be brought to account if murphy re-offends. In any walk of life people are made stand over their decisions.

• If someone said to me that Larry Murphy should be hung by his scrawny neck until he died slowly and in complete agony I would not disagree with that person. ( is that pc enough for the journal?)

• Well done to TV3 for keeping this story fresh in our minds and shame on our judicial system for releasing this vile creature back into any community.

• It’s not the judiciary that lets these guys out. They set the sentence and the minister for justice decides when to let them out.

• these public expose type programs push sex offenders underground and beyond reach. So to say how dangerous they are and then not to think of the consequences of making programs “naming, shaming and place of residencing” is hypocrisy of the worst kind. There is no interest in women’s safety, there is no morality in producing these shows or name and shame in the papers. When the english papers did this many sexual predators fled the U.K. to here. On todays midday they said his address was obvious… are they so stupid that they think he will stay there?!

We can knee jerk say good work exposing these monsters, but it is reckless, done for their own ratings and no other reason. These people can only usually be exposed once, then they vanish so no one, not even the Gardi know where they are and you won’t when they come to your community.

• Larry Murphy has all the hallmarks of a psychopath, he is suspected of other horrific murders and it’s only a matter of time before he strikes again. People like him should be thrown in a cell and kept away from society. Killing him is too good for him he should suffer for what he has done.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ui9C6xVpVf0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Agreed James, he is dangerous and cannot be rehabilitated, and therefore will always remain a danger to society. According to professor John O Keefe, he probably is a psychopath. There is a problem though, with most people’s perceptions of psychopaths. Mostly, they perceive them as being axe wielding maniacs/ serial killers. The truth however, is more prosaic. Out of the estimated several million psychopaths in America, it is estimated that less than a hundred are serial killers. This leaves us with a problem. What are the rest of them doing?. A short answer, is that they are destroying lives, countries, economies, relationships, friendships and careers. It’s no different in Ireland. We have an estimated population of psychopaths of over a hundred thousand. A fraction are in jail. The rest are so socially adept at hiding within society, to such an extent that nobody can identify them. Admittedly, this may sound like science fiction. Unfortunately it’s not.

• what is with the red arrows with people that are calling him a creep. the man showed no remorse for his crimes. he beat raped the women ,only by chance he was interrupted before he could kill the poor women. this man is a disgusting human

• disgraceful judiciary…..should have been plus attempted murder!!!

• @ Marie. It was, he was also convicted of attempted murder along with rape, kidnapping and assault, but as I’ve said concurrent sentencing was applied. What a disgrace he could still easily still be in jail. I blame the judge

• Larry Murphy is dangerous! People who try defend him obviously don’t understand how someone capable of his crimes mind works.

I’d suggest reading the work of Dr Michael Stone and Prof Robert Hare. Psychopaths have no conscience due to a biological impairment in the prefrontal cortex of the brain.They cannot experience empathy and Serial Killers have a compulsion and Larry Murphy fits this profile perfectly. Watch this link remind you of anyone? remorseless Murphy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niy-cUYbJmA&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Treasa 29/11/12 #

But he doesn’t fully meet the criteria of a sociopath from the outside.
      There was no previous convictions, allegations etc beforehand – most sociopaths show this in their youth.
      They tend to gravitate to busy cities, easier to live their parasitic lifestyle – baltinglass isn’t really a metropolis.
      Sociopaths don’t show remorse, and brag – he hasn’t said a word, not a smile, nothing.
      Superficial charm? – none
      Criminal versatility? rape and murder doesn’t really show versatility…

He is a very, very twisted individual, but I don’t think he meets the commonly used O’Hare criteria for sociopathy.

• hang him!

• He should have got a bullet…once he’s gone he’s gone…

• Does he not have a bar on baggot street now?

• animal pure and simple,what that poor girl went through beggars belief,hope the guards are working closely with the dutch police,this man has no remorse and is capable of anything,he’s proved that already,where’s a vigilante when u need one

• We need to bring back capital punishment.

• When he came out first all the Fb witch hunt pages were stupid. To witch hunt is so wrong as you will drive the said person into hiding and if that happens no one knows where he is
    I’d rather know where he was and just ignore him but make sure people know where he is. It’s much safer !

• Just wondering why my previous comment was not posted up? Was it because I slagged off TV3?

• I believe that so called ‘professional’ journalists are telling tales that fit their agenda, for example, last night Paul Williams appeared on TV3 and was interviewed by former Minister for Justice Nora Owen, the interview related to the fact that Paul had found Larry Murphy living in Amsterdam, however, in order to add value to his story Paul Williams stated categorically that Larry Murphy had no obligations under the 2001 Sex Offenders Act as Larry had been convicted prior to the legislation being enacted, however, this is a lie, Larry Murphy is obligated by the Sex Offenders Act 2001 as part of the legislation was deliberately retrospective in order to catch Larry and others upon their release. What was more astounding about last night’s interview was the fact that Nora Owen (who debated the 2001 Act in the Dail) agreed with Paul Williams that Larry was not obligated. Insult was added to injury when a so called ‘criminologist’ added to this moral panic by stating that Larry was not obliged by the 2001 Act. Larry Murphy has exactly the same reporting obligations under the 2001 Act as anyone else convicted since its enactment.

• Damocles 29/11/12 #

Right … that was the lamest and most non-revelatory documentary of all time.

“Man lives in Amsterdam.”

Of 30+ minutes of reportage and analysis there were about 3 minutes of footage that revealed that he lives in Nord Amsterdam, has a job, goes to supermarkets and sometimes passes through Centraal Station where there are frequently women.

The shots of the journalist were around Leidseplein and in the Park Plaza Brasserie (not in Amsterdam Nord)

What was more interesting was what wasn’t shown. If they’d had footage of him around De Wallen or near a coffee shop they’d definitely have shown that. They didn’t.

“Man lives quiet life in Amsterdam with someone he was in prison with.”

And if he’s in Amsterdam then he’s registered with the foreign police. So they know he’s there, the Garda knows he’s there and he has a very dull and boring life.

• He’s as bad as his other infamous namesake Hope they meet up wIth each other very soon.

• @murpheous81 you have giving me the creeps with your last comment, sound as if you’re a right weirdo Internet trolls and especially your screen name too!! Are you Larry Murphy??? I believe with a physico comment like that… You must be at least related

• Damocles 29/11/12 #

Haven’t seen it yet what was the big revelation?

• these public expose type programs push sex offenders underground and beyond reach. So to say how dangerous they are and then not to think of the consequences of making programs “naming, shaming and place of residencing” is hypocrisy of the worst kind. There is no interest in women’s safety, there is no morality in producing these shows or name and shame in the papers. When the english papers did this many sexual predators fled the U.K. to here. On todays midday they said his address was obvious… are they so stupid that they think he will stay there?!

• I imagine he’s fallen in with the dissidents who are still there.

• So many of you decry Murphys actions (actual, suspected and possible future) as barbaric, cruel, evil etc. Yet you so casually, from behind your keyboard,call for barbaric, cruel, evil etc acts to be visited on Murphy. If your calls are answered then what would that make you?You, behind your keyboard…. Perhaps barbaric, cruel, evil etc. After all, you are calling for the murder and/or torture of an individual.
    I have NOT defended Murphy.

• What business is ot of tv3 to interfer in this mans life. This is just tabloid vigilatisim(sic). He has served his time and he aint braking the law. Shame on ye all how supports tv3 and their vile actions

• if he accepted help when he was in prison or maybe showed remorse for his actions ,maybe people will lay off him . the fact he is hanging about with a convicted rapist in amsterdam speaks volumes. you wouldnt be saying that if the women in the case was a family member of yours.

• You have no idea the fear in his local town since he was released. even now, two years on.

Its not as simple as he served his time, lets move on! The man never showed any remorse, never sought help and never apologised for his actions. The pain he inflicted on both his victim, possibly even victims and family is undeniable. People have a right to be angry at the justice system for the inexcusable action of releasing him back into society.

• dev 29/11/12 #

The most time anybody can spend in Irish prison is 13 years. No matter how bad the crime that is the maximum of a life sentence.

• @Susan Lynch Mooney…..”Glad he’s in Amsterdam”.
    I am an Irish woman living in Amsterdam, so I for one am certainly not “Glad” he is residing here. But hey, as long as he’s away from you and your kids, well, that’s ok then!

Add New Comment