TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

As it happened: The Frontline Fiscal Compact referendum debate

We went minute-by-minute as representatives from the Yes and No camps went head-to-head over the Fiscal Compact treaty with just over a week until polling.

WELCOME TO OUR liveblog of The Frontline Fiscal Compact treaty debate being broadcast live RTÉ One tonight. Four campaigners, one moderator and, no doubt, a lively studio audience will debate the pros and cons of the treaty.

Hosted by Pat Kenny, the debate will see the following representatives from both sides of the argument:

• On the Yes side – Tánaiste, Foreign Affairs Minister and Labour Party leader Eamon Gilmore and publisher, businesswoman and star of Dragons’ Den Norah Casey.
  • On the No side – Sinn Féin deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald and former European Parliament candidate and Libertas chairman Declan Ganley.

Ready? Let’s do this…

21.27 – In case you’re still a bit confused about what exactly it is we’re voting on next Thursday week, you can read our layman’s guide to the Fiscal Compact treaty, helpfully decoded by our own Gavan Reilly. Still time to read it before the debate gets under way and everybody starts shouting at each other.

21.28 – The Nine O’Clock News has finished up and now all that’s left is the weather, the ads and then Pat himself…

21.54 – “We don’t even know who this money went to,” says Ganley of the payments to bankers and bondholders. He says he has met with European journalists are all asking him about the bank debt. We’re telling them that it’s a message about the bank debts if we vote No.

Gilmore: France is looking for what Ireland has been looking for. We need to have a growth agenda and job creation. On bank debt, he says that we have to negotiate it down. That is something that the government is already doing.

Ganley says that Gilmore has not negotiated down the bank debt, brings up the famous ‘Labour’s way or Frankfurt’s way’ quote and says the government has failed to negotiate it down. A smattering of applause from the audience.

21.56 – McDonald: The result of this treaty will be more austerity and Gilmore was quite prepared to sign on for that. Irish have to rely on Hollande to call it like it is that austerity has failed. Trade unions, the social and democratic parties, and the Labour parties around Europe know that austerity is failing. The European trade union body has come out against a European treaty, for the first time ever.

22.05 – McDonald: We’re heading into bailout two if we continue current government’s policy. The fund is not yet established, aside from the 90 per cent funding requirement, in order for it to be legally constituted there will have to be change to existing treaties. Given his (Gilmore’s) level of his concern, ample opportunity to remove the offending clause – the so-called blackmail clause. The treaty which establishes the ESM explicitly stated that it is for countries in crisis.

Gilmore: Sinn Féin is selectively quoting.

Lots of shouting over each other… Pat interrupts. Lots of calls from viewers saying they can’t hear what’s going on because of the shouting, says Pat.

Pat lays down the law.

22.07 – Casey: This is about how much you pay for the money. I live here all year round, in a veiled dig at Ganley.

Ganley: Xenophobia. I speak with this accent because my parents had to emigrate…

Casey: I employ people in Ireland..

Ganley: I do too…

All a bit unsavoury… and Pat goes back to the audience.

22.10 – Fella in the audience representing the agricultural sector says that if we have uncertainty we will go downhill “rapidly”. Another farming voice says the opposite, he says that one thing that is not mentioned is the cap – the debt brake on spending. The ESM fund is insufficient, says James Reynolds from the ‘Farmers for No’ group.

Reynolds continues until Pat interjects and goes off his head: “They’ll take it from the farmers! We will do the programme on the CAP in January! Let’s leave it alone!” He adds: “Ah, get a life!”

Pat seemingly very annoyed about a mention of the EU Common Agricultural Policy by farmers and tries to change the subject while waving his arms frantically.

Read next:

Comments (244 Comments)

• Its a fair joke when everyone is shouting over each other how in gods name would someone who is undecided view this ,it would be nice to see opinions of economists, lecturers and people who live in the real world.

• did eamo just say “yes for jobs” … havent we heard that before.

• God I hope this is not going out to other country’s around Europe

• “It’s labours way” how can anyone believe a word out of this mans mouth…..

• Correct me if I’m wrong on this, they want us the to vote yes so we can access funds to pay back bank loans that the Irish people don’t owe, it’s a no brainer!!

• Mark
      That is exactly what they want us to do . It is pure garbage . Vote NO .Please Vote NO.

• Aldo 21/05/12 #

Agree 100%. They’re playing the long con and taking us all for patsy’s. Gilmore talking thru his hoop about foreign direct investment. No matter who is in govt we will have FDI. As Dhaval Joshi of BCA Research notes, Ireland accounts for 0.3% of global GDP yet accounts for 3% of world trade in services and 6% of trade in pharmaceuticals. Ireland ranks third in the world for foreign direct investment, on which the return is 17%, compared with 6% in Germany. “As a trading economy in key sectors, Ireland is punching 10 or 20 times above its weight. This is hardly a sign of an economy that needs to become more competitive.”

Read article 32 & 35 of the ESM fund. We don’t have a say on this. But if we did, you vote on it?

• Aldo

I have been saying for weeks that people need to read the ESM treaty before they decide what way to vote. Artical 10 is another piece of legislation that sends out warning bells.

• Aldo 22/05/12 #

Ann, there’s no excuse for people not reading these treaties and making an informed decision. Once people realise the powers the ESM has, I’m sure they’ll think twice about voting yes in the FC treaty..

• I liked Norah Casey….until tonight. She kept talking of having the “overdraft facility”. No point in having one of them Norah if you don’t have a job or a wage to pay off the overdraft, is there?? Come out of your cocoon and back into the real world we all find ourselves in. VOTE NO.

• Vic A 21/05/12 #

@ Dec… I agree with you. She kept arguing that the country would face auterity measures regradless of the outcome of the vote and she hammered on about her non- partisanship- which I very much doubt. Not once did she proffer any solution or meaningful alternative point.

• I will have to watch the debate on RTÉ Player later to decide if Norah Casey really was alluding to Declan Ganley’s accent in a bid to undermine his argument, but if she was, I find that incredibly distasteful and disrespectful, leaving aside the issue of the treaty for the moment.

Those Irish who were forced to emigrate, and their descendents, have been ignored by the smug inhabitants of this state for decades. It is only by a stroke of luck that Norah Casey’s parents did not have to leave to find work elsewhere; she could easily have spoke with an English accent.

• And the hack of the West Brit D4 accent on her in anyways

• There was an article in the paper recently that said around 60% of recent irish migrants did so through choice. (3 of my family members for example) Down the line are we gonna have a different debate about their kids? You know the kids of those who decided they wanted to go abroad? Are we still gonna be using the ‘kids of people forced to emigrate’ card? Jaysus, next we’ll have 40 million Americans getting the vote here!

What i got from what yer wan said was that Ganley is only around when theres a referendum, other than that he does nothing political which is why I asked questions about him earlier too. I know nothing about the man so i asked! its not as if hes out there tirelessly campaigning against water charges and household tax etc like many other representatives year round. he just seems to creep in every now and again.

• Ciara

go and google him for yourself, if you cant be arsed doing your own research why should others share the benefit of their knowledge with you. As for Mary Lou, your right she does come across as a MUCH nicer person than you and I’m sure she’s ten times the lady that you are not. As for my kids – I dont have any. You, my dear, should just stick to worrying about your own children because if they are anything like their mother they have a huge cross to bare in life.

• Gilmore “You cannot spend money that you don’t have”. So just what the hell happened with the bank bailout??

• Pat is showing his true colours… biased as always.

• This debate is leaving a seriously bad taste in my mouth. Norah Casey – WHY?!

• I’ve a question, who here is actually listening to the arguments? and who here are just sitting around waiting for their “side” to say something clever so they can agree.

• isn’t it a sad reflection on our country when our leader doesn’t have the guts or the intelligence to take part in a debate that is so crucial to our country’s future? If our historic leaders displayed such lack of leadership nearly 100 yrs ago, we would still be owned by the Crown. If putting Eamonn Gilmore in the unenviable position of trying to defend a yes vote was the best Enda could do, then it’s a really sad place that our country is in. Unlike our leaders of the past who freed us, Enda is selling us out to the highest bidder… Germany. So awful.

• Eamon should take a page out of Endas book and hide from the public, it doesn’t suit him.

• Pani 22/05/12 #

The no- Sayers will say Mary Lou was great. The yes-Sayers will say Nora was great. I’m undecided. All in all, a very poor debate for me. Constant bickering and over shouting from all sites with Kenny not doing anything to control it. How anyone could learn anything from that is beyond me.

• Gilmore talks about not spending money you don’t have, creating employment, reducing costs,.. What a load of double talk. The government has reemployed ‘retired’ public servants rather than create opportunities for young people, has breached the pay cap as often as required, has done nothing on reforming the quangocracy that costs billions. The list of broken promises is endless.

• Wonder if the tweet machine will be in action tonight probably being monitored by Enda and Eamon…

• Still no Enda.
    Why?
    Because all know he is crap at these debates.

• Found it hard to listen to Frontline. He was so unfair to the NO side, he didn’t even give the people in the audience who were voting NO a fair hearing. It makes you think were some of the people in the audience who were voting Yes already lined up ahead of the program to give their push, just like the presidential election. I don’t know why they have these debates on that show, after what happened on past shows, it’s clear that the people take what Pat Kenny says with a pinch of salt. He’s not gona bite the hand that feeds him!! As for Nora, no political preferences, seems very much on the government side for someone who had no preference. And she’s the one that said clearly, ‘We should obey the rules,’ she maybe living here all year round but she has no idea how the ordinary people are affected, she’s on another planet.

• What a load of shit

• A shameful display by Gilmore, and I WAS a lifetime Labour voter along with the rest of my family. Had he dug up the corpse of James Connolly, pissed on it and re-buried it face down, he could not have desecrated the mans memory more as current leader of the Labour party.

• I am going to write something that i have been feeling all day. The Indo ran an editorial today for the first time suggesting that a No vote may be a good idea. RTE in the last 2 days have been giving SF and the rest of the Nocamp fair air time without the usual innuendo etc. Why?
    IMO, and i know it sounds like a conspiracy theory, but …
    I am starting to think that the Government have realised too late that the country can’t support this treaty as it stands, and i really think they need Ireland to Vote No so that they can’t ratify it. They know themselves they can’t give a blank cheque, and now that the Greek situation has gone the way it is, and with the Amercians, Germans, French now all supporting a growth strategy, Ireland cannot put this compact into our country’s constitution.
    Just watch how much the normally Yes media have now started suggesting a No vote may not be the worst outcome ever. You heard it here first.

• Cal this came into my head the other day. I was wondering if maybe just maybe the government would be happy with a no vote & they are just keeping up appearances on supporting a yes vote. It is a twisted view but stranger things have happened

• I have noticed the very same since thursday / friday . The no side seem to be getting fair ish airing than they did before … Since Bruton put foot in mouth, since Merkle has lost support , since Hollande won the French gen election and since Noonan is continuing his bullying ways ,OH AND Since Inda lost the plot in Athlone with Gordon ….. I agree Cal.

• Hey Cal, thought I was the only one thinking like that, I do believe you are on to something there.

• Cal I was thinking the same thing myself.I do belive you are on to something.

• dont know why that posted twice??

• mcbab 21/05/12 #

Nice try cal

• Don’t know why u give them that much credit. Enda is hell bent on a gold star and a pat on the head from Merkel. He reminds me very much of my golden retriever pup

• Cal

I thought that and stated on here that the was my belief after Edna accused Adams of not beleiving in his own arguments. It is very telling that Edna is refusing to debate his argument in a public forum.

• I hate to blow a hole in your theory, but I think if they really wanted a No vote they’ve have put Kenny or Phil Hogan on the frontline.

• Edna doesnt want us to realise how much of an eejit he is. He knows that the way he spoke to Mr Hudson in Athlone last week didnt go down well with Joe Soap. I would imagine that Phil the black sacks Hogan is in hiding and afraid to show his face in public, particlularly given todays reported figures on payment of HHC. They both know that the public would like to see both their heads on platters with apples in their mouth. They’re not entitled to their pensions just yet!!!

• I was saying this the other day. things have changed since hollande cane in and I think the government.want a no but also don’t wanna go back on their words

• No FG/Lab trolls posting here either.
      Where’s Higgins, Clowry?
      Strange!

• I find it strange too how there was no one from FG on the panel tonight. Who put Nora Casey up there and what backhander is she getting out of it? None of it was explained anyway. She accused Ganly of turning up just for referendums (which is true) but she herself has never been seen before.
      Labour lost out big time tonight. FG pulled a stroke. if the referendum fails Labour will get more of the blame.
      Gilmore was poor tonight and was left looking stupid when he said we shouldn’t be listening to slogans when he himself came out with ‘Labour’s way or Frankfurt’s way’. I feel Labour are in for a mauling in the next elections and Sinn Féin will increase their core vote. What they are saying is having increasing relevance and the austerity is doing an awful lot of damage to the Labour vote. I’m surprised they haven’t pushed the growth agenda more.

• I had this theory a while ago, while Enda was in China, and it was all kicking off re the household/water charges and he was telling people to get a life and pay (not quoting but it was similar wording). They know well enough by now how most Irish people think if you p**s us of enough, we’ll vote against what you want etc…

Maybe they’re not all as thick as they look, doubtful, BUT the truth tends to be stranger than fiction so..

• You might be onto something…
      But why not save face and postpone in. Light with Greece France and don’t forget Germany’s internal support

• its easy to believe that with the performance of stupidity fg/l put on but in actual fact, its not a put-on., they really are stupid

• Gilmore busy spitting tired sound bites, he is coming across as very ugly right now, hysterically ugly!!

• Anybody still wondering why this BS accusation leveled against Ganley just happened to surface when it did, just as he’s about to appear on TV in a crucial live debate?

fine gael filth politics at its worst.

• why does mr gilmore keep sayin the bank debt is a seperate issue

the bank debt among other things is the reason we’re in this mess.. ffs.

• Okay Im not going to follow any political party here as i dont fully trust any of them, however this country ended up in this mess by refuseing to listen to economists. Listen to the economists and independents who gain nothing from the outcome, listen to the experts, it also clear that every dog on the street knows if we vote no, there will be a second vote when the treaty is set in stone and will also be called for by all the most of the irish people. It is also completely untrue that America or Germany will allow Ireland to default as it would destroy the world economy.As an audience member pointed out this is our only chance to have our say on the unjust bank deal, why should the future generations pay for the gambling losses of german, french or any other bondholders. For these reasons im voteing NO to highlight the need for justice!!

• mojo, i believed like an idiot that we needed a change,, but did not get one, i am sorry now for voting fg,, i cant say fg as they have no say as enda will demote them for trying to make sense of what he cant,,,, he is such an idiot, cant even debate his own treaty,,, we need a new party in this country, or get the sf old ones off the front bench, mary lou and doherty and a few of them are only ones with open eyes, but they need to make a new sf front bench, as the old ones have to many skeletons in their closets and the young ones coming up make sense , are intelligent and can speak , i would be proud to vote them in but not with the old ones on the bench, think so many feel that way , we need a peoples party not politicians who only care about their pay, allowances and pensions, thats what its all about, and anything else is done by the guys behind closed doors who we pay dearly for,

• Aldo 21/05/12 #

Where’s Enda Kenny? Is he going to debate the FC at all???

• I was moderately “No” before watching the debate. Now I’m strongly “No.”

• Brutal debate. Weird selection of candidates. All talking over eachother. Badly moderated. Pat kenny obviously slanted to yes side.

Still on fence.

• RTE showing their awful standards again. The real loser tonight was public service broadcasting-best attempt at a comedy show in years by RTE-the treatment by pat kenny to the guy in the audience was disgraceful.

• Aldo 21/05/12 #

+1

• Emergency money to pay for the politicians bloated wages , expenses and pensions. No to troika blood money

• Where is Fr Enda ?
    All serious leaders go into bat when they believe rightly or wrongly in their proposal all we get is Enda in the Dail with his 100 plus Val Falvey types shouting like school children at a jedward concert
    Man up Enda !!!!

• YES for jobs. YES for stability. YES for growth. BLAH BLAH BLAH.

Paper never refused ink. If they said YES for flying pigs it wouldn’t make it so.

Vote NO. END OF.

• think the country is blind to why the government want a yes vote, we have to pay their pensions, we have to pay their wages, and they need the money to keep coming in, and thats why fg, lab and ff are sticking together, its not the garda , teachers and so on as they keep saying, they only want their own thats why they are there, they are all liars and thieves, we watch them steal and lie everyday and accept it, do they go to jail nope,,, if i claimed 800 euro for travel when on holidays , i would be in court, they just put in their next claim and keep stealing, we do need change , and i feel if we vote no they will have to start cleaning shop at the top as they cant keep taxing the poor, i pray we are not told this summer that we are under the german rule, i am proud to be irish, i am proud of our forefathers who fought and died for this country, and i admit i voted fg in and i apolagise for my stupidity, a puppet and muppets who are not allowed to have their own thoughts and have to do as their puppeteer tell them,, whether they can have an opinion, we voted in individuals, but got a party,, and think that party needs to stop and get real and get to work for the people and not the germans

• Shame on u for voting those liars in… Shame on all of u who voted this Fg/lab coalition in…. What a bunch of money grabbing muppets…. Traitors who will screw there country just for there own gain… Line Em all up and fire at will I say…. Vote no

• lol nora casey not a political party member, 2nd dragon saying that,, is she trying to run next,,, feel they have a bet on between the dragons who next,,,,,

• Who the F**k is Norah Casey …. The only true thing she said is she is a dragon .

• Is she put on to balance out the ganley guy maybe… Who the frick is ganley anyway? An english military salesperson, who didn’t even get 10% of the ballot when he tried to get elected in 2009.

What a weird panel!

• mcbab 21/05/12 #

Susie where on earth have you been living ? Under a stone. She’s wiping the floor with Mary loo.

• I’m no fan of Mary Lou but Norah Casey was weak, Gilmore was the as expected blithering idiot. Ganley, even though i thought he came across as a nutter around Lisbon, actually talked a LOT of sense

• Wiping the floor with Mary Lou ? I don’t know what programme you were watching but your obviously easily led if you think Nora Casey was talking sense … There should have been an economist on but hey they all say vote no sure what would they no

• Think you may find Ganley while born in England is an Irish citizen P Wurple so seeing as he has a right to vote on the treaty I’d imagine it’s fair enough that he can comment on it as well. Thought he was the best of the bunch to be honest. Mary Loo and Norah Casey about equal. Thought Gilmore was pretty poor and I doubt he will come out with the line ‘shouting slogans’ again. I’d agree with Ganley in that if the bank debt across Europe is not dealt with we will still be talking about this crises in 20 years time.

• Uh, exactly Kerry, a randomer who has a vote. Effectively the same expertise level as Norah magazine publisher, another unelected person in the panel with no economic training.

That’s what I said… He is there to balance against her I think.
      They might as well have plucked people from the audience though instead of those two. Why would I listen to either of them?

Gilmore is a slimeball, mary lou is a noisebox. Rubbish panel all round. Waste of my time watching it.

• P wurple you dont like them speakin cuz there unelected you dont like them speakin when dere elected. Make up ur mind. Ganley spoke the most sense.

• pat kenny is so bloody biased. he might aswell have had vote yes emblazoned on his jacket. but what else could we expect when rte receive state funding? i will be voting no. i dnt need to watch a debate to make up my mind. i read the treaty and made my own decision. not one decent debate yet on it. neither side won tonight in my opinion

• At the end of the day, we have a so called leader who won’t debate a crucial topic that each and every Irish person wants informed on. We have bankers and civil servants who do what their Eurocrats tell them and politicians who are puppets! It’s time we stood up for ourselves and made our own decisions and take control of our own fate!

• why pat kenny, i think his useless for debates, his not a strong enough person for that job, acted like an idiot on his knees,,, and micheal martin writing for the journal lmao,,, cant he retire and go away, another man not allowing free speach for who the people voted in,, are they all idiots that cant speak up,, something we dont know,,

• Kenny is at his pathetic inadequate self again. It is so obvious that as a “moderated” for debates he is totally not qualified. Like he set out to nobble Sean Gallagher he is batting for the “yes campaign” tonight. He should never be allowed to take charge of such a debate again. I have no love of Declan Ganley but Kenny should not have allowed Norah Casey away with jibe about where he was born. Gilmore again out of his comfort zone when he is not in Dail coming out with soundbites.

• How dare Gilmore have the audacity to say “We don’t solve this problem, Pat, by shouting slogans at it,” or say shouting doesn’t solve the problem when he has continually shouted down Mary Lou and Declan Ganley during the “debate”.

• Well, thats the third debate in a row where the yes side are allowed shout ‘wheres the money going to come from’ repeatedly over the other speaker, and then the no side repeatedly ask to be allowed explain where the money will cmoe from but get ignored by the chair.

• They’ve been given ample chance to propose where the money will come from. They have failed to come up with a legitimate argument in any debate.

• That is what happens all the time . all the time . The audience are not happy with the Tanaiste …..

• I don’t want any more money thnx. We’ll waste it on overpaid (at the top) civil servants, pensionable allowances and a social welfare system that requires a married man with 4 kids in private rented accomodation to earn 65 k a year just to break even if he comes off the dole. My American friends are flabbergasted

• Er, Scrap Croke Park, where on earth are you getting your figures from?
      My brother in law, my sister and their *5* kids are expected to survive on €18,200 per year, THAT’S what people on SW are surviving on, dunno where you get your €65k from..

• 1.8 million workers to pay back 200 billion are they for real playing along with merlyl even now when she is loosing popularity our balance sheet is fkd because austerity has put so many people on the dole and these smart economy jobs will not reach the plumbers trades or many others this government is incompetent we could have got better deals all along the just didn’t bother

• Do you know what Pat? You can shove up your ass, after your last farce of a debate……

• Serious question, after hearing gilmore go on and on about investment and jobs. Will voting yes bring back the thousands of people mostly those in their 20s and 30s who are in Australia, New Zealand Canada the Usa and other countries back to this country. We’ve lost an entire generation yet again and in doing so created a brain drain….Its great to have foreign investment coming in but what about home grown industry. We cannot run a country on foreign investment alone..

• I completely 100% agree with you on the home grown industry.
      Theres too much emphasis on the foreign multinationals. Not everyone who has emigrated worked for multinationals who will eventually pack up and leave anyway when they hear they can pay people in Poland or India less. We need our own industries here. Our manufacturing industry etc was a goldmine. Our government go on about investment in the science sector. I have loads of mates who have done phDs in the sciences. They got paid €17k during that and when they graduated, they had to emigrate because their are very few jobs here! They give the money to the sector for R&D and pay the graduates pittance!
      My housemate did a phd in neuroscience, was offered €22k here when she finished but got a job in Germany and is now paid €70k. Crazy!

• Irish Examiner reports “group of economists is joining forces to advocate a No vote in the upcoming referendum on the EU fiscal treaty.They say the Government’s threat of no access to funding in the event of a rejection of the EU Stability Treaty is without credibility.NUI Galway Professor Terrence McDonough has said that there would be several substantial sources of financial support available to Ireland, including the IMF.
    He says the Government is not playing its cards very sensibly as Europe can’t allow Ireland to collapse.
    “A disorderly default by Ireland would be extraordinarily expensive,” Mr McDonough told a press conference today.”Europe would have to bail out Europe’s banking system… it is completely unthinkable that Europe would shoot itself in the foot in this way in order to discipline or make an example of the Irish electorate.”

• The Treaty is a farce ..This debate is really not much better , he asked MLMcD and then yet again spoke over her.

• Hear hear Cal !!!

• norah Casey not adding anything to this debate other than glib comments.

• Must get a few bogus tweets off to help the case from Official Ireland. Hopefully Kenny will suppress the reflex to steer the debate.

• Tell ya what there all a shower of bastereds…
    Vote NO

• No idea who the woman with the big face was but she didn’t really hold her own. Why wasn’t there any representative from Fine Gael on? Mary Lou wiped the floor with them all again.

• Love basebat bat guy! And the farmer about CAP. Audience is kicking arse.

• People are thinking of investing in this country??????? They must be fecking retarded.

• Aldo 21/05/12 #

VOTE NO!

• They will not let her speak . They keep shouting over her. I will vote No as will 4 other members of my family …. Vote NO .

• She is interrupting the others like a loon. They should switch off her microphone when the others talk.

I am wondering if ganley is a yes plant….

• That’s nice P Wurple . It says a lot about your puppet Masters if that is something YOU would advocate . Indeed !

• I am an undecided voter Susie… I want to hear what they each are saying. Hard to do with the magaphone mary-lou.

My only puppet master is my own brain.

• P Wurple you saying you’re undecided is as plausible as me saying I am. You’re voting yes. It’s as obvious as the Fine Gael tattoo on your forehead. Lmho at your joke though.

• P Wurple 22/05/12 #

Under and joe… Let me make this clear. I have always been interested in economics, i even took it in college. I don’t think much of the threaty suits the irish situation. The budget constraints are not right for us, as we follow a different model to the central europeans. I don’t like the fines either. Also, there are only three mechanisms for controlling your own economy, devaluing our currency is completely gone, and this reduces the second one.

The only good bit is the fund of cheap money. It is a tasty tasty carrot waved in front of us. Cheap money = good for growth.

So that in balance comes up to a no-ish vote, but I wish we could get the carrot.

What is putting me right off is the frikken CRAZIES I seem to be aligned with. All this other shite muddying the water. It is nothing to do with… Austerity, household charges, general anti-europeans and party politics.

So I am trying to hear if there is something else I am missing besides this big fat carrot on the yes side. And then decide if the carrot is actually worth it.

I do not want to hear people roaring over eachother. Barely any panel member at all was able to get a whole uninterrupted sentence out last night apart from the first 5 minute slot.

I’m sure it is obvious that I am a FG voter normally, as i am generally center-left leaning anyway. Free trade with plenty of public services has been my political viewpoint since I was a teenager. but that doesn’t mean i don’t use my own noggin.
      I understand sinn fein’s stance is normally against europe, which makes sense, as it is in the name. Sinn fein – Ourselves alone.
      Labour I am just not on the same page as… Never agreed with their policies.
      Ganley I don’t trust, as his motives are unclear. Also seems to appear for anything anti-europe in general.
      And Norah, a magazine publisher.

I wanted to at least give them one hearing though, and for the start of the debate all I heard was Mary Lou heckling. She eased off towards the end, but I had lost patience with the lot of them by then.

• Wurple

“I’m sure it is obvious that I am a FG voter normally, as i am generally center-left leaning anyway.”
      Since when was FG a center left party. Allegedly Labour are a “center left” (lol) party while FG are the most right wing party in the state.

• P Wurple 22/05/12 #

Ann, Totally off bloody topic, but I’ll reply.
      PDs Right
      FF Center Right
      FG Center Left
      Labour left
      SF are a random concoction of right-wing isolationist policy, and trade unionism.

• Until somebody gets sense and gives Matt Cooper the job of being a proper debate chairman I refuse to watch any more. Every one of them are bias. Kenny is RTE, he hasn’t a clue, the same goes for V Brown. They show their own opinion too much.

Have sat and listened to two debates run by Matt Cooper and he is such a professional. Pay a professional to do the job, drag Kenny, Gilmore, Adams, Martin and someone from the Independents into a room and get a proper more professional debate going. Then, I will, and many 1,000′s will be able to decide what’s best for them, their children and Ireland.

• i even think enda wants a no vote, thats why his not debating but does not, can not go back on his word, that treaty is not up for signing yet, it will only hang us more when they fill in the blanks, the french will change it, and the germans dont care about us, we do need help and will be bailed out either case of yes or no vote, but a no vote will show our puppet and muppets in the dail we want a real change to our economy, and they do not need to make more money than obama, we are an island the size of ny state, we cant afford them, thats why we need so much money, pensions and expenses its out of control, and a yes vote gives them that and they really dont care about garda, teachers hospitals as they claim, it only there own pockets that is why ff, fg and lab are together and thats the only reason why, the rest is the daily lies and thieves in action

• I dont think this government can be trusted. i really dont feel they have our best interests at heart and I dont think Europe cares about ireland at all. The y just want to ensure their bondholders are paid plus interest.

• pay cuts and pension cuts is what we need, they are overpayed, and under worked, they lie and steal every day from the working class, we need to stand outside the dail every day and make them take an honest pay, then see who the real politicians are that will stay for the people and not their pockets, the expenses on one td will put a few teachers in a school, thats where we need to start, we need garda, they are cutting them but not their wages, why do ff, fg and labour stick together ,, helloooooooooo its for their pockets and noone elses,,, a no vote means people will have a say, we will get together and say no to what they do, to their corrruption and no to their thieving and lying,, please vote no,,, its the only way to get out of debt and not gain more to pay them muppets

• Matt Cooper has had some very good debates on the Treaty lately and the changing tides in Europe at the moment, the two speakers on today, I cant remember their names advocating both no and a reluctant yes, both however were making extremely good reasons for a No and that to vote Yes really is doing more damage to us than the Yes side can either see or understand.

Take the commonly used Yes “We need his treaty for access to further bailouts” but in all likelihood with the current health of Spain and other countries at risk, the ESM’s budget of €700 billion would barley cover it, so apart from real likelihood of this becoming reality we would have to cough up the full €11 billion (which we would have to borrow for) to make up the €700 Billion the ESM call for to bailout Spain or else where leaving us in a more unstable situation where they may not be any funds left in the pool for our own bailout if we need one, and to vote yes now without any growth pacts we will most definitely require one. So that leaves us really up s%it creek.
    With a No, the issue of bonds and markets is barley worth mentioning with the Euro as unstable and risky as it presently is. One mes up now could easily bring it all down and where would that leave us.
    What’s funny is that both speakers today agreed that apart from about 3 very harsh years if we dropped the Euro we would be far better now getting as far from the Euro as possible to protect ourselves as its days are numbered.
    This realization must set in with people when everything that’s been happening for the past 4 years has lead and is still leading the single currency further in trouble and this crazy economic reasoning hasn’t helped one iota.

Also the Referendum cant be changed as the law prevents it, to protect a fair vote, in this case however its possible doing more damage than intended.
    If it was changeable then this and previous govt.s could push it a week or two out if their particular side was gaining more momentum thus giving it more time to grow before people go to the poles, or they could call it earlier for the same reasons to prevent opposition from taking lead.

• Norah Casy really is a dragon , She said it herself , I agree with her.
    Vote NO

• Look at the ”blueshirt” in the audience doubting SF ability to negotiate……

• Just because someone is anti sinn fein doesnt make them a blue shirt. In my experience it usually makes them anti terrorists.

• Maybe she meant he was actually wearing a blue shirt! Which he really was! :)

• Yes or NO
      By Joe Mc Dermott in vote NO in fiscal treaty referendum · Edit doc · Delete
      If we vote yes in the forthcoming referendum what exactly are we getting..?

We will be agreeing to a set of economic rules as set out in articles 3,4 and 5 of the Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union

We will also be agreeing to add a clause to article 29.4 of the Irish Constitution which states,
      The state may ratify the Treaty on Stability,Co-ordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union done at Brussels on the 2nd day of March 2012. No provision of this Constitution invalidates laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by the State that are necessitated by the obligations of the State under that Treaty or prevents laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by bodies competent under that Treaty from having the force of law in the state. which basically means that european law is above our constitutional law.

We will also be agreeing to allow ART. 136 of the TFEU to be put into European law and gives the European Court of Justice jurisdiction over our laws.

If we fail to meet the targets set out in the treaty, a correction mecanism is introduced and obliges us to implement changes to correct the shortfall, and gives the ECJ jursdiction over our laws,ART 8, fines can be imposed and can compel us to change budgets to meet targets, as of ART 3.

You will be Agreeintg to the EU having control over our Budget as set out in ART 5 of the Treaty

You will be agreeing to commit to reducing Gov debt over a 20 year period as set out in ART 4.

You will be agreeing to ART 9 which states everyone must work jointly towords Ecomonic policy thats fair on all member states. (Corporate Tax law)

and ART 11, which binds us to produce all reforms before the EU,, ie. Budgets…

And ART 16 which says it will be written into EU law within 5 yrs..

If you vote NO, what will you get,

All of the above except for changes to the Constitution which will keep the EU out of our affairs,

It will allow us to elect a Government on a democratic basis that does not have the EU managing our budgets, (whats the point in electing a GOV if they have no control over the purse strings)

It will stop the European Court of Justice from having jurisdiction over us.

It will not allow ART 136 to introduce the ESM and makes it invalid

It will stop ART 16 from becoming EU law, (unconstitutional)

It will protect our Corporate Tax laws

• Joe

your comment is the clearest and most uncomplicated I have come across so far over the last few weeks. Fair play to you for keeping it simple and easy to understand.

• Norah Casey is important because she’s a star…didn’t you know

• Sinn Fein are useless all they do is oppose everything for public opinion but have no concrete policies…… Gilmore has no officially proved he is spineless , ganley although he talked a lot of sense can’t really be trusted to lead a No campaign
    The only people who are going to reject this treaty and I think save Ireland are us the Irish people we need to inform ourselves and not be bullied into voting yes

• mcbab 21/05/12 #

Knew some idiot would start on about household charge. Friend of yours susie ?

• mcbab 21/05/12 #

She should go back to coronation street

• Who the hell cares about an RTE biased debate run by an incompetent host when the really important stuff is on tonight! Go Jedward!!!!

• That baldy lad giving it the ‘bloody nose, household charge, water charge’ mumbo jumbo is the very reason that the No vote have no credibility whatsoever.

• mcbab 21/05/12 #

Mary loo is such a hectoring woman Just keeps repeating the same old drivel.

• Citigroup has said we will get a second bailout even if we vote no:
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-05-18/irish-banks-may-tip-state-into-bailout-2-deutsche-bank-says.html

“We believe a second program would be forthcoming if requested, probably initially without private sector involvement unless the Irish government itself insisted that PSI is needed, which is unlikely in our view,” said Citigroup economists including Juergen Michels and Michael Saunders. “With Ireland’s high government debt level and low potential growth, the risk of eventual government debt restructuring (PSI, Official Sector Involvement or both) also is likely to persist.”

• If we want to get out of austerity, we need to have stability. We need investors to have confidence and invest here. And as a people we need to have certainty. A Yes vote is a vote for certainty, stability and growth. A No vote is heading into the unknown. — Gilmore tells it how it is. A no vote leaves Ireland with a serious lack of options.

• Brainwashed

• just because it is unknown does not make it the wrong thing to do. the rebels in 1916 went into the unknown. i know most lost their lives but what they did was the right thing to do. we would not have our independence if they hadnt. voting yes cos we are afraid of what will happen is doing a great disservice to future generations.

• how so ?

• I asked you this question before Malachy, and you didn’t answer it, so I’ll try again.

Do you really think the eurozone and ecb will risk the entire €6 Trillion euro project by not extending the program to Ireland (which they pledged to do earlier this year anyway) which pays back its debts, along with theirs, and meets the terms of the existing program. Do you HONESTLY think that they’ll bring down the whole house of cards, taking a huge chunk of the ESM with it rendering it useless, rather than support the star pupil till it can rturn to the markets knowing they’ll get their money back, as opposed to losing many multiples more?

Honestly now, malachy, is that your contention?

• kicking the problem down the road for our kids and their kids to deal with isnt the answer. we have to deal with it now. we need to stop paying the bank debt that we dont owe. we need to stand up for ourselves and find ways out of this mess. not just agreeing to more austerity so we can borrow more money. we will never grow the economy that way. i fully believe we need to tell europe enough is enough. we will do our bit but not at the expense of our economic sovereignty or at the expense of our people. being afraid of what will happen isnt good enough in my opinion

• Brainwashed completely

• Trueleft did I ever say those things ? Did I really now ? Or are you putting words in my mouth ?

The treaty only needs to be passed by 12 states. We have no right to be bailed out by Europe if we vote no. Your idea that we’ll be grand because we had been good is extremely nieve. Unless you have insider information that tells you otherwise ?

Also something thats been bugging me for a while. Why do you feel the need to hide behind the username too trueleft ? I will read most comments on here and treat them equally but it does annoy me when someone is not willing to put their name behind claims such as those that you make.

• Virgil how am I brainwashed ? Just because someone does not have the same political beliefs as you does not make them brainwashed.

• Still refusing to answer the question Malachy?

• Let’s hope he learns something in his commerce lectures

• Malachy

you seem to be forgetting that under existing treaties “bailout” are NOT allowed. Things are never allowed for smaller periphery countries. As I have stated previously between 2000 – 2004 Ireland was ticking to the budget deficit rule as laid out in EU law. France and Germany of course being the big boys decided that that particluar law did not apply to them and broke it!!! It would appear that what was good enough for the goose, doesnt apply to the gander.

• Jesus and your our future malachy

• Trueleft I answered your question, don’t ask me it again, how about you answer the one I asked you ?

And Virgil, how about you stay out of my private life ?

• @ Dave fingers crossed upon finishing college he decides to emigrate

• Actually malachy, you did not answer it, you evaded it by commenting that we’d have no right to ask for finding, whether than comment on whether or not we’d be allowed a catastophic default, so I’ll try again….

Do you really think the eurozone and ecb will risk the entire €6 Trillion euro project by not extending the program to Ireland (which they pledged to do earlier this year anyway) which pays back its debts, along with theirs, and meets the terms of the existing program. Do you HONESTLY think that they’ll bring down the whole house of cards, taking a huge chunk of the ESM with it rendering it useless, rather than support the star pupil till it can rturn to the markets knowing they’ll get their money back, as opposed to losing many multiples more?

Honestly now, malachy, is that your contention?

• ….”Trueleft I answered your question, don’t ask me it again,”

Typical attitude of a FG yes supporter!!

• Phillipa 22/05/12 #

Frightening!

• Ganley scaremongering about common tax, irrelevant, he tried the same with Lisbon.

• Mary lou cant look people in the eye, the shifty hooer.

• Ciara Ni Mhurchu
      Tut Tut .And you advocate Feminism ! Not very feminine calling Mary Lou names like that … If you were a man I would let it go because some men don’t understand , but you are a girl …..Shame on you !

• Susie, stop using the term feminist like its a dirty word. And she is a shifty hooer just like most politicians are shifty cute hooers except theres nothing cute about her. Next point please.

• Vic A 21/05/12 #

You have a very foul mouth..dont ya?

• Ciara

Whatever it is you think of MLD, you can rest assured she is not half as NASTY as you. Shame on you and your nasty vicious comment, you are a disgrace to the sisterhood (and I’m not a feminist).

• Cheers Ann, I’ll rest easy tonight knowing that Ann the all knowing Reddin thinks Mary Lou McDonald is a much nicer person that I am.

Im sure if i called bertie Ahearn a cute hooer you’d not argue with me so why the issue when i call Mary Lou a cute hooer? If you feel the term can only be used towards women then it looks like youre the sexist.

So youre not a feminist? Thats grand. make sure your daughter knows shes worth less than your son and tell her that there are things she cant do because shes a girl and after that, tell all those dads you know that they dont have the right to parental leave because they arent capable of looking after their own kids. After all, only women have that ability.

• Norah Casey has been excellent so far, speaking common sense.

• Is Declan Irish? Does he even live in ireland?

• And with Libertas/UKIP No Thanks.

Add New Comment