TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

“It’s a lie on so many levels” – Ganley denies conflict of interest over fund

The Libertas founder has denied claims from a Fine Gael TD that there is a conflict of interest over his establishment of a Swiss asset management company and his advocating a No vote.

Declan Ganley (File photo)
Image: Photocall Ireland

LIBERTAS FOUNDER DECLAN Ganley has denied that there is any conflict of interest in his involvement with a Swiss asset management fund he set up a year ago and his stance on the Fiscal Compact treaty.

He was responding to claims from the Fine Gael TD Paschal Donohue that St Columbanus AG, a Swiss asset management fund which Ganley set up a year ago, would benefit from economic instability in the eurozone in the event of a No vote which Ganley is advocating.

“The aim of this company is to profit from economic instability,” Donohue said today.

“A No vote, which Declan Ganley is promoting, will trigger this within Ireland and add to the uncertainty within the Eurozone. It is this very uncertainty that Declan Ganley’s company will profit from.”

However, Ganley has said this evening that such claims are not true, telling TheJournal.ie: “It’s a lie, it is a lie and it’s a lie on so many levels.”

The businessman set up St Columbanus AG with the economist Constantin Gurdgiev a year ago, promising to manage clients’ funds in a “conservative, transparent, manner”.

‘A distraction’

He said this evening that he did not know the identity of its clients as he was not himself an asset manager in the company.

“St Columbanus competes with other asset management companies, in a small way,” he said. “It has assumed primarily research before it gets into active asset management. I am not involved in the running of it. I am not an asset manager myself.”

Ganley said that the fund does not target Irish investors, does not advertise in Ireland and is regulated in Switzerland in the same way as any other asset management firm.

He said the matter of his involvement in it had been clarified and did not need further clarification, describing the Fine Gael attempts to talk about it as a “distraction” from the issues of the Fiscal Compact treaty.

Ganley continued: “Fine Gael will carry on talking about this because they would rather have you discuss this issue, which is of utter irrelevance to the treaty, than talk about the fact that they want to enshrine over €100 billion of private bank and bondholder losses onto the Irish taxpayer.

“The idea that this (the Fiscal Compact treaty) is somehow going to stabilise anything is a myth,” he said of a potential Yes vote on 31 May.

He reiterated a call for the government to identify the bondholders who have received “tens of billions of euro of taxpayers’ money” and said that his Swiss asset management fund had not taken “a cent of Irish taxpayers’ money”.

Ganley will take part in the RTÉ Frontline debate on the Fiscal Compact treaty along with Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore, businesswoman Norah Casey, and Sinn Féin deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald at 9.35pm tonight.

TheJournal.ie will be liveblogging all the latest from the debate.

Last year: Ganley and Gurdgiev launch new Swiss asset management company

Read: ‘No position’ for Green Party on Fiscal Treaty referendum

Read next:

Comments (98 Comments)

• All the same, wasn’t it a lovely summers day today.

• Why is it every time we’re ranting about the Fiscal Austerity Compact Stability Treaty, someone goes off topic and starts talking about good weather, your optimism and devil may care attitude is well out of order buddy

• Constantin Gurdgiev has issued a rebuttal to the claims. You can see here: http://www.twitlonger.com/show/hgo4de

• So we’ll add baseless accusations to blackmail, deceit, lies and filth tactics. Ten days out and STILL nobody on the ‘yes’ side is debating why the treaty is a good idea. Kennys running from the debate, as is noonan, and paschal donohue is embarrasing himself as official media mouthpiece who can’t get his facts straight. As for bruton….a joke.

• To be fair Declan Ganley has one financial services management company to worry about.
    Pascal Donaghue has dozens including Goldman Sachs and Deutsche Bank.
    “Not another red cent.”

• Paschal Donohoe doesn’t do irony obviously. He himself, along with his govt, the state, unions, financial & other private firms advocating a Yes vote all stand to be direct recipients of ESM funds if the treaty is passed. Shouldn’t let that fact get in the way of a good story though.

• Way to much ad hominem in this treaty debate, it should be decided on its merits not on who supports or opposes it.

• mattoid 22/05/12 #

Absolutely Kieran – this entire thread has been comment after comment of personal abuse. Not one single constructive comment about the actual issues from either side.
      As a ‘yes’ leaning voter who remains open to persuasion from the ‘no’ side I despair.
      Sad.

• The original intent was to set up a European superstate, but not like the American model where you lower taxes in weaker states to help boost economic growth, this would be a true union.

This German model is far less friendly, they knew nations would not sign up to giving away all their sovereignty so they went first with just a monetary union that was designed with “no exit possibility”, this could never work on its own without full fiscal union as was stated by many at the time. It was designed to fail to force nations slowly to give up their sovereignty or starve.

Germany has coriographed this that is why they have been so well prepared. It is perfect conditions for their economy to keep us down but not out.

World renowned “economic historian Niall Ferguson” who holds posts in Harvard, Stanford & oxford amongst many others explain this in more depth. Too many leading people recognise what’s really happening for this to be dismissed as paranoia.

Ultimately its going to be a case of complete submission or leave the euro as the half in half out will not work.

Look into it before you judge.

• Shayno, Ferguson is well worth listening too. Always insightful.
      The Germans have more than just sentimental reasons for wanting to save the Euro.
      “More than a year ago, German economist Hans-Werner Sinn discovered a gigantic risk on the balance sheets of Germany’s central bank. Were the euro zone to collapse, Bundesbank losses could be half a trillion euros — more than one-and-a-half times the size of the country’s annual budget.”
      Der Spiegel

Needless to say, how’s Germany to underwrite the ESM or Eurobonds when the Bundesbank has a liability like this on it’s books.

• “As long as the monetary union continues to exist, this isn’t a catastrophe. The money is virtual, created by central banks, and its existence doesn’t mean that an equivalent amount is lacking elsewhere. But as soon as a country leaves the euro zone, or the currency union collapses entirely, things get critical.

“We’re caught in a trap,” Sinn says. “If the euro breaks apart, we’re left with an outstanding balance of nearly €500 billion, owed by a system that no longer exists.” That figure, €500 billion, is more than one and a half times Germany’s annual federal budget.”
      Der Spiegel

The line that Ireland has no leverage is nonsense. Germany is in a very vulnerable position. Ganley is correct that we should demand a write down on the promissory notes or threaten to pull the plug. Germany has more to lose than we do.

• I heard the interview on the raido on Sunday and can’t see what the big deal is personally I’d be more worried about the people in power taking under the table cash think there were a few FG people found out over the last few days

• The so called govt usual tactic,for want of a better work is to smear high profile opponents.so predictable it’s a joke.

• They’ll be labelling Ganley a Shinner before the week is out.

• Ah don’t cha know we’re are all shinners now! If your not FG then your a shinner! Or so they like to think. But do they really know that the majority opposing this treaty once voted for them! I’ll say it again incase anyone missed it before, I am shamed to have voted for fine geal! Here’s one ex FGer not shinner!! Fcuking twuppets!

• When I heard government spokesmen out complaining about conflict of interest I was tempted to reach for the power hose and clean down the radio. There isn’t a single area of Irish political life that hasn’t been contaminated by conflict of interest. The tribunals have been about little else.

• Ooohh!! The “smearing” has begun. Thank god we only have another 10 days of this propaganda, dirty tricks and lies, lies, lies. Unless we vote no, of course and have to endure this sh1t all over again.

• According to @DeclanGanley, RTE wouldn’t allow him a right of reply. Is this a tactic to chew up valuable RTE Front Line (#rtefl) air time.
    FG are an utter disgrace to our country! Guess there’s very little to choose from in the way of politician.

Constantin Gurdgiev has also outlined the main reasons that Pascal’s comments hold no truth: http://www.twitlonger.com/show/hgo4de

• Well d Higgins don’t know how SF stands to make a lot of money out of a no vote ,, you and your shower might just get yes vote through but can’t wait till the next general election going to be a lot of sad faces in your party then

• The Goverment must be worried when they have employed the dirty tricks brigade. But Declan Ganley is to clever for them.

• Fine Gael are fools. Little boys in a mans world.

• Blueshirts renowned for stabbing people in the back all through history…….

• Not every Fine Gael supporter was a Blueshirt. Fine Gael was formed as a result of the amalgamation of Cumann na NGaedheal, The Centre Party, and the National Guard (Blueshirts). General Eoin O’Duffy was elected first President of the Fine Gael Party, but in a little over a year, was expelled from Fine Gael. It is therefore unfair to label Fine Gael as The Blueshirts. Fine Gael has the only Jewish TD in Dail Eireann , Alan Shatter, Minister for Justice and Defense. I also am Jewish, and though I am glad to now live in Israel, when in Ireland I was chairman of the first ever Fine Gael youth Branch, was the youngest speaker at the FG Ard Fheis in 1970. Not really indicative that FG was a Nazi or Neo Nazi Party.

• As Ganley’s a business man first and nearly every business in the country is calling for a YES vote, I think for clarity sake he should outline what impact a NO vote, or a YES would have on any of his business interests. just so there’s no conflict…

• ‘Nearly every business in the country’ is NOT calling for a ‘YES’ vote o’reilly. The large multinationals are, just like they advocated a ‘YES for Jobs’ with lisbon, and we saw how that worked out. The spokespeople for these companies advocate in the interests of their owners or shareholders, not in the interests of Ireland, our people or our constitution.

• Trueleft. Is there *any* business group calling for a no vote?
      And sorry but two bloke who run the local sweetie shop don’t count as a business group.

• ” two bloke who run the local sweetie shop don’t count as a business group.”
      yeah gary, they dont count, shure they’re expendable.

This one person one vote policy must sicken some of youz right wingers

• Probably around the same as the amount of millionaires who are calling for a wealth tax gary. See how it works?

Is this the bit now where you post the link to the blog and the bloke on boards.ie that you agree with?

• hahahahaha sorry hahahahaha
      Of course us ‘right wingers’ hate everything… I once murdered a snail cause it was on the left side of the pavement.
      I bet if you really try you could actually keep this about the contents of the treaty.

• Ah garys crystal ball again. You don’t know the contents of the treaty gary, only the contents today, that will be amended AFTER our referendum. So, what you’re basically doing is calling out people for not discussing something that doesn’t exist.

Penny dropped yet?

• Gary, did ya read the title of this article? Cause I don’t think it said,
      ‘Discussion on the Fiscal treaty only’

ya aul eejit ya

• O'Reilly 21/05/12 #

Trueleft, ISME members are calling for a YES. I think that covers most when you include the.multinationals. Of course, there’s business not coping well and will vote NO in anger…
      There’s good reason too. Anyone in business knows that the uncertainty of a NO will see an immediate contraction of domestic economy as people spend less due to uncertainty. We see it happen before budgets and it never returns to pre budget levels. That will send many over the edge with significant job loses. Not scaremongering, experience…

• Complete crap, and a typical arrogant remark that we’ve seen repeated from the ‘yes’ advocates, that people voting ‘no’ are only doing so out of anger, that somehow they lack the reasoning skills and intellect to know whats best for the country.

You think like that o’reilly?

• Trueleft, your own angry response, without addressing the content speaks for itself… You’re clearly not in business…

• O Reilly I have a small business and I am voting no. Just cause the Yes side have rolled out a few semi state ceo’s (vested interests) and a few ill informed business people who think they know everything about everything (when in fact they haven’t even read the damn thing) doesn’t mean EVERY business person is voting Yes. It’s disingenuous to suggest they are!

• Higgins it must be a sad day for FG to look for help off FF and labour to get this vote through

• Just ask Ganley about his role in Albania’s bankruptcy and he just happens to mention a Ponzi scheme?

• St Columbanus Asset Management or SCAM for short.

Here’s a portrait of the disaster capitalist himself.

http://barringtonkevin.blogspot.com/2012/05/declan-ganley-portait-of-disaster.html

• To be fair to Declan Ganley in this instance he should know a lie when he hears it, he certainly tells enough of them. I think pretty much everything the said about the Lisbon treaty was a lie or wrong.
    Self amending treaty – lie
    Saved Brian Cowens Job – wrong
    European Army – lie
    Our last say on Europe – lie

And now he’s saying “Cut the bank debt or no deal”. When he must know the last government basically paid off all the original bondholders and the bank debt is now our debt. (as much as I would wish it to be different).

• Ganley’s one of those vultures in the financial markets that we always hear about. His support for the NO side is nothing but a mask.

• David, do some digging on your own pals there in the Dail and you’ll find a cohort of “vulture” landlords with multiple properties, “gamblers” with extensive interests in shares and even a few failed property developers. Stop playing the man and just play the God damn ball will ya! If we are going to talk about vested interests then no member of government should be allowed promote a Yes seeing as though they can profit personally from an MEP role or some other role that arselicking Euroweanies get! Bringing someones personal integrity into such a discussion is lowest of the low and belongs in a playground, not an “intellectual” debate, oh wait…..

• I heard he chews on the bones of proletarians…

• And how about our Minister for finance, michael noonan, a leading member of YOUR party, and paschal donohues party too, who owns german bunds that increase in value the more merkels policy of austerity weakens the euro and boosts German exports.

Want to talk about conflicts of interest Davey??

• David. Your a member of FG for the love of God. The people just behind FF in the “political crud and destroy Ireland economy” league.

• ah the bogeyman of irish politics. he makes some reasonable arguments from time to time and balances a sometimes otherwise vacant debate. Admittedly he probably does more harm than good to his side due to the aforementioned bogeyman effect.

• David, Childline have to miss 800 calls a day from desperate children as the government give them no funding. with that in mind why are your party breaching the pay cap for cronies by ?20/30 k p.a with money we have to borrow? does it make your stomach tighten as well???

• I really can’t understand how intelligent people are voting Yes. This treaty, aside from it being an absolute irrelevance in the grander scheme of things, aside from the fact that it would not have stopped one God damn thing in this crisis, aside from the fact that it’s our CONSTITUTION we’re changing here and not a flat tyre the way some people talk about it, is just being rushed like the bank guarantee back in 2008. Back then we were told the sky would fall in if we didn’t do it, how it would cost us nothing and how we would regain the confidence of the markets. It’s the same rubbish being spouted by the exact same parties and interests this time round and here we have half the population being led to slaughter again by the same crowd, after spending the last 4 years complaining about the guarantee! I despair for this country, we’re not as intelligent as I thought we were!

• Diarmaid despite myself I have to agree wit you. It is beyond me why even the govt are campaigning for a yes, this is all wrong. Why can’t we firstly postpone referendum until sept (and change the law to allow for a deferral) and secondly try it out, see how it works before we write it into our constitution. Noonan was right when he said Ireland is the only country the referendum would pass. Come on people wake up. Everything is changing. The sky won’t fall in if we VOTE NO.

• Sorry Niamh but if you were honest here you’d admit you be screaming blue murder if the government called off a referendum that you wanted a no vote and it looked like a no vote. These changes to the law go both ways. We have a treaty and we should vote on it as best we can. The future is unknown and basing our decisions on the unknowns seems very foolish indeed.

• I see garys got his crystal balls out again, telling people what they think and how they’d act in a given situation.

• Gary if there is one thing I am is honest. from the start I said that a sept referendum would make more sense. I have no ulterior motive, just wots best for the country, as diarmaid has said this is being rushed through when everything is changing. Surely even you think that delaying this is the right thing to do…it would also increase the likelihood of a yes vote and make the treaty more stable in law.

• Too True Left … crystal balls are better than No-Balls … At least Gary shows up to debate and support his party,regardless of how weak that argument is…. unlike his party leader Enda ;)

• Niamh I didn’t say anything about when the referendum should be held so perhaps you could address my point. Would you support changing the law so the government could call off a referendum when it wants? Keeping in mind that they can do this when it looks likes a no vote and you want a no. Honestly? In fact do any of you really want that?
      As for how we vote now I suggest the most logical thing to do it vote based on the information we have now, which is the treaty before us. I can’t see any sense in voting for the unknown, sounds like playing Russian roulette while saying “sure it’ll be grand”.

I’m going back to completely ignoring any references to me working for FG as it’s pretty pathetic. It’s a very dishonest tactic and you know it.

• Gary you presumed to know what my reaction would be and questioned my honesty. I asked you ur opinion in deferring and instead if answering you have talked yourself full circle. It might surprise you but I would consider voting yes if the govt had waited until sept. Now we are being asked to vote on something that could change after we vote on it. You have cheered me up by telling me you think it will be a no, I hope ur right.

Gary I do believe there is a chink in ur armour..do you not realise that by voting yes Russian roulette is exactly wot you are playing. Come on Gary, see sense, vote NO!

• Paul 21/05/12 #

Care to ebanorate how he stands to gain by a no vote?

• Said it last week here, on a thread, he has his own agenda, and we’re not part of it. Don’t be fooled by all of these people, from the ‘Yes’ and the ‘No’ sides. Decide for yourselves, then you only have yourself to blame, but ….. you did what you thought was right for everyone, not what someone else was telling you!

• And again Niamh I can’t help but notice you didn’t answer the question.

• I just despair at the quality of remarks from some individuals posting on this topic.
    Personal abuse seems the norm now !???

Considering how badly off we are, how irrevocably indebted we are , how can *anyone* vote against this treaty.
    The idea that Ireland has any relevance in the EU and their decisions is deeply naive.
    The idea that we could vote no, take the metaphical football and go home is amusing to the point of worry.

• Gotta love that fighting attitude! You should join the army or something with inner patriotism as deep as that! You’re lost in Naas, you belong in the Aras with that attitude! The love for your country is jumping off your posts!

To me, comments like that are everything that is wrong with this country and people who usher them (not a personal attack) belong in a country that hasn’t had such a troubled past and whose people didn’t sacrifice so much for OUR FREEDOM! You should be ashamed to utter such crap as that!

• FF and Labour talking about vested interests and ethics – look at Fossey dating the 18 year old girlfriend when his daughter was 15 – and Oisin Quinn of Labour with more vested interests than anybody else has hobbies.

• Declan Ganley on twitter: It goes like this, crisis everywhere else = no crisis in @StColumbanusAG

He has a vested interest in there being “crisis everywhere”.

• David how much are you being paid an hour by Fine Gael. Are you going to add sh**e spouting sheep to your cv and can you take your profile off automatic – ie. You just constantly post generic mistruths but will not address anyones corrections on your lies. I feel sorry for you, a young man, blinded by an allegiance to a pack of crooks who’d sell you down the swanny in the morning for political gain.

On the vulture issue, coming from a party who recently ousted their own leader and failed, it’s a bit rich for a member of the backstabbing party to talk about vultures. Richard, Leo, Lucinda and Hayes have far exceeded the remit of a vulture, cause they have actually come back to serve their prey after the tried to kill him off! Pathetic excuses for politicians!

• @Diarmaid, that’s a bit harsh, the lad is only ten

• mattoid 22/05/12 #

@diarmuid
      And you accuse other posters of playing the man and not the ball!!
      Hypocrisy much???

• Declan Ganley has finally been found out. He has lied to the Irish people and exploited the honest hard working people of this country with his constant
    lies. This latest revelation will now strengthen the yes campaign. Declan Ganley’s arrogance and disception has been highlighted by many commentators in the past, hopefully this latest revelation will mean that we will not have to listen to his lies anymore.

• First Sinn Féin and the far left exploit this treaty for political gain and now Ganley comes along to exploit it for financial gain.

• What have Declan Ganley and the FG party got in common?
    Both are self serving gimps.

I would have to have a very full bladder and in need of immediate relief, before i would
    extinguish either of those two entities from flames.

• Ganley pounces on everyrhing were there is a crisis, you look at his background and his intrest lies, links with far right parties in Europe.

• Declan Ganley is what gives us believers in free enterprise a really bad name. He is a user, and a fake, he left it open sone time ago on Irish TV as to what way he would jump. Not having a vote any more, I would were I to have one, oppose Ganley tooth and nail and vote YES. How does Ganley feel about having bedfellows like Sinn Fein, Boyd Barrett. And the eternally scruffy Mick Wallace. One is tempted to ask is it conviction or pecuniary interest which motivates him to his current stance.

• finbar m 22/05/12 #

Crusty the Jewish clown you back

Add New Comment