TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Majority of cyclists admit to breaking rules of the road – survey

The report suggest a ‘points’ system for cyclists.

Image: Photocall Ireland!

A NEW SURVEY has revealed that up to 88 per cent of cyclists admit to sometimes breaking the rules of the road.

The report, published by a group of engineering researchers from Trinity College Dublin, University College Cork and the University of Hong Kong, found that the worst offenders were regular, confident and experienced cyclists.

Entitled ‘Perception of safety of cyclists in Dublin city’, the study suggested that increased compliance could be achieved through enforcement in the form of fines or a points system – as is implemented for motorists. However, the authors conceded that such a plan could decrease the attraction of cycling.

The survey of 1,954 city centre cyclists highlighted a number of problems that riders experience on the roads.

Analysis of the responses revealed that cycling is perceived as an unsafe mode of travel compared to driving – even by many existing cyclists. In particular, ‘careless and reckless attitudes’ from bus, taxi and car drivers have had a significantly negative impact on their safety experience.

“Campaigns to encourage cyclist-driver cooperation within the network may help combat Dublin’s ‘road rage’,” explained TCD researcher Dr Bidisha Ghosh.

Cyclists prefer less busy and quiet roads, roads with street lights, routes perceived as safe and routes with continuous cycling facilities. Respondents believed a lack of cycling skills and poor bicycle maintenance were common accident risks. About 80 per cent of cyclists thought the presence of pedestrians, cycle lanes on footpaths and poor road surface conditions are unsafe to cyclists.

“To make cycling an intrinsic part of Irish mobility, it may be beneficial to introduce cycling education at the primary school level, increase the awareness amongst drivers through safety initiatives and provide improved infrastructure to attract new cyclists to the network. Incentives like ‘Bike to Work’ scheme, cycle maintenance workshops and community initiatives all contribute to the increase in the regularity and number of the cyclists, which in turn leads to an improved safety experience,” concluded Dr Ghosh.

Read next:

Comments (75 Comments)

• Just back from Berlin where cyclists and motorists treat each other with mutual respect. Some of the big contributors to it being such a safe city in which to cycle are the ubiquitous cycle lanes, and the fact that you never wait at a set of lights for longer than a minute, usually less.

• paul 30/07/12 #

They dont mind you cycling on the footpath either Noctor but over here ye get lifted out of it. On a side note, You can also bring your dog into restaurants in Berlin, no tolerance for that here because we’re not very tolerant I guess.

• You can also lose you driving licence for drink cycling in Saxony, now do we really want that kind of thing

• I am a cyclist, a motorcylist, a motorist and a pedestrian at various times during the week. I am delighted to see the study say that cycle lanes on footpaths are unsafe, it’s something I’ve thought for ages. I don’t use cycle lanes most of the time around cork.

They are poorly maintained with bits of the surface missing, marbles from tyre runoff and rubble from traffic accumulated.
    The lanes randomly cutting across traffic lanes, very hard to know who has the right of way there
    The ones on footpaths are used, understandably, by pedestrians.
    The cycle lanes abruptly end!

I’ve cycled in amsterdam as well, and the system of seperating the traffic works much better there. There is a kerb between cars, bikes and pedestrians, so it’s much safer.

As usual, it’s been done arseways here.

• “I’ve cycled in amsterdam as well”, Ever got caught in a tram track?

• P Wurple 30/07/12 #

hah, no, thank feck. :) You need your wits about you though for those sneaky trams. Crossing the road is an adventure when you’re new to it. I remember my mum totally oblivious to a bicycle bell stepping out in front of it. watching the tram, ignoring the pedestrian lights. Proper Cork style road-crossing doesn’t work well there.

• There’s a new cycle track that’s divided from the footpath and the road by a curb running down alongside the Grand Canal in Dublin. It’s the only one I’ve seen like it around the city, but it’s bloody brilliant and hopefully it’ll catch on. It’s so nice to be able to cycle and not have to be constantly looking over your shoulder to make sure you’re not hit by a bus.

• @Damocles: in Dublin that is called getting luased.

• Barry 30/07/12 #

Its funny really,
    I recently spent some time in Luxemberg where cycling is very very popular but at the same time people obey the laws and this is especially true when it comes to motorists.

I found it extremely refreshing that at every chance a motorist doesn’t try run me over when they came out of a gateway or something, instead they ALWAYS stopped. This just doesn’t happen in Ireland from my experience and I say this as a motorist, cycling and runner.

All in all has extremely poorly designed roads/paths etc for cyclists and there’s a complete lack of respect from other road users towards them (this is especially true from bus/taxi drivers), this is unfortunate as regardless of if a motorists likes it or not a cyclist has pretty much the same rights on any road with the exception of a motorway.

• Daithi 30/07/12 #

I think the RSA adverts at the moment are spot on. We all use, and therefore see, the road differently. We have all experienced road users (On foot, bike & car) fail to follow the rules. We are all as bad as each other.
    The real issue is compliance and enforcement.
    No doubt you can change the word ‘cyclist’ is this report to Pedestrian or Motorist.
    Since 1997 there has NEVER been a summons issued for the crime of Jaywalking, even though it is against the law.
    And a friend, recently, was cycling home at 1am with no lights on his bike, was stopped by Gardai, but was sent packing with a flea in his ear! No fine.
    All road users need to respect each other and the laws of the land.

• They are deadly, so many times I’ve been crossing on a green man and a bike has raced out from behind stopped traffic.

• “They are deadly”, So you’re quite keen on them?

• Barry 30/07/12 #

Think you’ll find a car driving through a red light is far far more deadly then anyone on a bike….of course thats not saying its ok but its none the less a fact that cars breaking red lights happens alot.

Also pedestrians jay walking is also very dangerous but look how much it happens,

• of course its worse for a car to do it, and pedestrians shouldn’t be jaywalking, that doesn’t absolve the cyclists that do it, never mind the danger to themselves the can cause serious injury if the hit a pedestrian. some sort of penalty system needs to be implemented (and I’m a cyclist)

• I both, walk, cycle and drive regularly so I can see things from all perspectives. When weather permitting I cycle everywhere where possible and have found cycle lanes and motorists attitudes to cycling in dublin a joke, the cycle lanes in many places are so narrow and full of broken manhole covers, bus stops and car parking space, thus making it much more dangerous to have to constantly swerve into traffic to avoid these obstacles, then there’s the drivers who think they have more of a right to the road than a cyclist, which if they check the rule book the two share equal right to the road except in cycle lanes where a cyclist has more of a right.

I’m sick of drivers who never ever check their blind spot before moving off, they regularly block cycle lanes which means I have to move off the road, they rev up at traffic light to try and get a head start before me, they pull out at junctions right in front of me causing me to either swerve or slam on my breaks before they or someone else ploughs into me – cycling in Dublin is just so dangerous. I’ve become so angry with the lack of decent cycle lanes and the lack of decent safe drivers than I often cycle on the path, I know that’s breaking the law technically but when I cycle on the path I always remember the pedestrian has more of a right to the path than I do so I go very slow, hold back at narrow points to let pedestrians pass and I dismount if it’s very busy – I don’t like cars ploughing me down on the road and the same goes for pedestrians not wanting to be knocked down by a cyclists, so it is so so important to respect pedestrians if using a path for cycling. I would love to cycle on the road all the time but it’s just so so dangerous in some places and I don’t intend on ending up dead before I’ve finished my daily commute. So if this survey says most cyclists admit to breaking the law then that would be considered cycling on the path even, and is it any wonder when the roads are so dangerous

As a side note has anyone seen the new cycle lanes in Galway – they’re fantastic – they’re a safely designated area up on the path where motorists can’t drive in them and where they do cut onto the road they are marked by a white solid line and then there’s loads of signs up everywhere telling motorists to watch out for cyclists and that cyclists have as much a right to the road as they do! Dublin has a very very long way to go before cycling become a safe form of commuting!

• Bicycles kill and maim millions of people around the world every day. These deadly devices should be banned immediately. Or maybe not.

• I soooo agree, i’ve been hit twice by cyclists and had countless near misses, both times was by cyclists illegally cycling on footpaths. My 3 year old’s buggy was crashed into by a boy on a bike, he was about 12 but big, much bigger than me anyway, i’m 5′ 4″, the buggy saved her, it deflected him, otherwise i think he’d have killed her. It is so dangerous to ignore the rules of the road because you are on a bike. What will it take before cyclists start to have some respect for other road users?

• Who thumbed down my comment? Whoever you are you really put the psycho into cyclist. Anyone who thinks it is on for cyclists to hit pedestrians and endanger babies and small children in buggies makes me sick.

• Exactly. Those pyscho cyclist baby killers zero in on the helpless pedestrians innocently walking on the pavement. I reckon they specifically pick on women with children and old folk. The death toll in Ireland alone is in the millions.

• The main problem with cycling in Dublin is the absolute contempt some motorists have for cyclists here. Given that, we probably need above average facilities to accommodate, what do we get? If we’re lucky we get faded road markings, that double as parking spaces, car lanes, taxi lanes and BUS lanes. If there’s one thing that’ll make you shit yourself while cycling it’s a bus whizzing by you at 50km.

I have a work colleague that catches his daily bike commute on a Helmet cam and reports dodgy bus and taxi drivers when necessary. Might be worth the investment for any heavy cyclists out there.

Dublins road network is designed for the car, narrow looping one way streets that heavily incentivise cyclists to travel up one way streets or via footpaths so as to avoid going 6 times the distance with the traffic and without a cycle lane. Im not saying its ok but i can see why some cyclists will continue to do it. Bike theft is pretty prevalent too, we need far more secure parking facilities for bikes.

The one thing that makes me optimistic is that there’s been some improvements in the last few years ie Canal route, some added spaces. Even though its small compared to what needs to be done, I hope it continues eg the plan to shut down parts of the North Quays to cars to allow a proper cycle path from Heuston in to the City seems like a great idea.

• ” regular, confident and experienced cyclists” – I think that is in their own heads. I cycle to and from work, the worst offenders from what I see are overconfident inexperienced cyclists. Being a regular cyclist does not make you a good cyclist or does not make you an inexperienced cyclist. I have my safety gear on, stop at lights and the cyclist I see break the lights will be a non safety gear cyclist with on helmet sporting a this is my road attitude. I over take them easily when the lights change to green. Those are the cyclists that cause the problems and the cause of the attitude of hate from allot drivers. In my head the survey is biased as it was carried out by Trinity and they’re cycling hipster students will have lied to high heaven on the survey putting the blame on the real regular, confident and experienced cyclists on the road.

• I’d say I go over the speed limit at least once everytime I drive and that most drivers do too i.e. majority of drivers break the law. I seldom cross roads at pedestrian lights nor do the majority of pededstrians so, the majority of pedestrians break the law too… including treating cyclists like they are not there! What a shit country where cyclists are villified unlike the rest of Europe where they are given due respect.

• I think they’d get due respect if they also gave due respect but when im driving 30km through a green light and a cyclist plows through a red light putting themselves, myself and my kids in the car at risk and in chance of an accident caus i have to emergency stop or swerve into oncoming traffic to avoid hitting them, thats their fault for not obeying the rules not mine but as usual the cyclist is the one to throw the finger and ask what the hell im playing at! Some of them, not all but some are complete idiots giving the rest a bad name

• Daithi 30/07/12 #

Aaron, same would be said for Motorist and Pedestrians. [See my comment below]

• censored 30/07/12 #

Aaron, you didn’t read the comment did you?

• All these proposals are quite pointless unless enforced.

Traffic regulations are barely enforced for car drivers, I’ve even seen Guards on the mobile while driving, so God alone knows whether these would be too.

• No problem with cyclists myself as long as they obey the rules of the road. I know some do, some don’t. Same for drivers of any vehicle be it car, van, motorbike, truck, bus etc. can any of the regular cyclists here tell me why so many cyclists insist on putting themselves & others in danger by having earphones in their ears playing music? I mean you wouldn’t cycle or drive with a blindfold on? Oh & please bear I mind that my bus weighs 16 tonnes so to the few cyclists who hang onto the back for a free ride please don’t. I’d rather not have your death or injuries on my conscience.

• There are all kinds of cyclists in Dublin. You can find some of those cyclists in Dublin’s Cyclists.
    http://dublincyclists.blogspot.ie/

• Bicycle couriers around Dublin are also lethal. Any time I cross the one-way road outside my workplace, I have to look both ways as there’s nearly always a bike courier pelting the wrong way down the street.

• I would love to cycle around Dublin as it’s by far preferable to getting in the car and having to pay for parking…but I am a bit of a nervous Nellie. The buses/taxis/cars and even other faster cyclists scare the pants off me! I would LOVE if there were more dedicated cycle paths around. Also I wouldn’t mind doing a short course on how to behave as a cyclist in the city…changing lanes, turning right etc. it would be helpful and give me more confidence. I am still determined to get a bike ASAP although I think I will avoid going anywhere at rush-hour for at least a year! The cyclist v driver v pedestrian thing seems pointless as at different times we are likely to be all three…a bit more awareness on all our parts would make traveling safer and more enjoyable for all. It doesn’t have to be so confrontational all the time.

• Keep an eye on the Dublin Cycling Campaign for cycle training. They have qualified cycling instructors (to UK standard, there isn’t an equivalent here) and may well run training in the near future. I also have a look to see if we have a soft copy of the Galway Cycling Campaign safety leaflet for adult cyclists (covers some of what you’re asking).

• Sheelah 30/07/12 #

Just saw a woman in an electric wheelchair chatting on her mobile as she trundled down the road in front of me. I wondered if she realised quite how dangerous her behaviour was.

• STOP villifying cyclists. You are putting their lives at risk by demonising a group because of the behaviour of some. I don’t care if a cyclist goes carefully “around” a red light as lons as he/she doesn’t do so wrecklessly. How about a point system for jaywalking pedestrians too? Just as ridiculous. All dangerous road users need to be punished including bus drivers who target cyclists!

• It’s not villifying, there seems to be a trend of cyclists ignoring lights, I don’t remember it so much before but it seems like the minority of cyclists obey the rules anymore.

• if you “go around a red light” its still breaking the lights.

• Don’t think anyone is vilifying them, it was a survey of cyclists that admitted to braking the Rules or the Road. For every Cyclist I see on my Journey to and from work that stops at red lights, I see about ten that do not. I see alot less cars driving through red light then cyclists.

I give Cyclists all the room they need on the roads when I come up to them.

Your attitude says it all, that you don’t care if they go carefully around a red light and then in the next line say that all dangerous road users should be punished… It does matter how carefully you go around a red light its still breaking the law, no matter what way you look at it.

• censored 31/07/12 #

The lights are there because of cars.

Cyclists intermingle safely with pedestrians all over the world. Ireland seems to have unique problems. Why?

• A bit more detail would be nice, how often does ‘sometimes mean’ I cycled on a path this morning to avoid a taxi that swerved in front of me without indicating and nearly knocked me over, does that count?
    It seem to me that the main issue here is that cyclists are reporting that poor road conditions and the behaviour of other road users is a barrier to getting more people out on their bikes.

• So we’ll have to carry around licenses and have them checked? Gatso vans and NCT’s next too? Good luck to the kids busy enjoying childhood, trying to cope with with all these rules. Ridiculous nanny state.

• paul 30/07/12 #

Give cyclists proper cycle lanes and they wont do it. I can see why they’d want to get a head of a muppet in a car who doesnt bother looking in his/her wing mirrors.

• Cycle lanes in Mullingar are a joke. Pot holes, rubbish and broken glass and old road grit from winter are never cleaned out of them plus it’s hard to go more than 100m without finding a car parked in them.

• I hate when some cyclists cycle on footpaths. Footpaths are for people who are walking not for cyclists.

• Oh but cycle paths next to footpaths are perfectly fine for pedestrians!

• Darren I agree to a point but as a pedestrian myself 50% of the time, does it really bother you that much if the cyclist is going slowly on the path and holds back to let you pass at the narrow points! I was recently nearly run down by a cyclist on the path who was going so fast and nearly swerved into me when a car started to slowly reverse out of a drive, it is those sort of cyclists on paths that annoy me, not the cyclists that respect the pedestrians and go slow on the paths, as I do to avoid being killed on the road. When I’m in pedestrian mode I don’t have a problem with cyclists using the path in a respectful manner, road conditions and driver attitudes don’t leave them many other safe options.

• Cyclists that nudge the occasional law are more often than not taking evasive action,I’d sooner jump a red light than go thru it with a lorry driver glued to his mobile.

• I am not too keen on going through green lights beside a cyclist glued to his mobile.

• paul 30/07/12 #

big time. I’ve been cycling for years in Dublin and in the passed three years the amount of people on the road cycling has gone through the roof. White van man and trucks and buses and of course taxis are lethal on Dublin roads. I think cyclists are an easy target as there are less of them than any other road user. Saying that though of course some of them break the rules of the road but I’d do it for evasive action like me mucker above points out. Spot on.

• Dublin Bus drivers are shocking for cutting cyclists off and pulling in right in front of their path. A lot of car drivers have admitted to me they never look in the left mirror before turning left. I have had many a braking incident where this has happened. Cycle lanes should never, at any time, be used for parking on. It should be considered the same as a double yellow line. I also believe it should be made compulsory for cyclists to wear helmets (I don’t wear one but would happily wear one if it were a fine-able offense)

• Big difference between headphones & a car radio, you’re on a losing streak if you have to resort to such a ridiculous statement. Yes drivers of all kinds shouldn’t be on the road but unlike cyclists we’re licensed to drive & tested & in the event of an accident fully liable for censure & punishment.

Let’s not forget, there is no licensing for cyclists, we are all doing something we learned as children, a cyclists driving license cannot be endorsed or removed & let’s face it, a sizeable number of cyclists know this. You can blame poor infrastructure all you like & whilst that’s accurate it’s only so up to a point so work with what you have. The infrastructure won’t be addressed to anyone’s satisfaction anytime soon.

The idea of being able to issue fines to cyclists has already been ruled out by the minister for transport because there is no database or registration of cyclists so unless a cyclist is observed by a Garda breaking the rules of the road not much can happen. Also most Gardaí will do something ‘more productive’ with their time like checking for road tax & writing parking tickets. The only Garda I’ve ever seen remonstrating with a cyclist was a motorcycle cop from the traffic corps.

So let’s all of us obey the rules of the road & hit the aul amber gamblin’ on the head. As the advertising campaign said “arrive alive”

• censored 31/07/12 #

What about pedestrians? There are plenty that don’t understand the rules of the road. How can we track down those jaywalkers, or the eejits who step into the road without looking just because the pavement is blocked?

• I love cycling and I always obey the rules of the road. The goverment should install traffic lights for cyclists. Everywhere else in europe has bike lines and traffic lights for cyclists; I think Ireland should get with the times while cycling continues to grow! Let’s make it safer and easier for people to cycle so we can gain interest and lower our carbon footprint.

• Last Sunday coming home from town i met a man on a bike walking his donkey…blocking traffic, but at least when he found a safe enough place in the town to pull himself and the donkey in, he did..cue 2 minutes further down the road, i met another lad on on of those black and white bikes with a little wooden suitcase on the back…i thought i was in the twilight zone

We all look at the road differently, but we are all responsible for taking due care not to get or cause injuries to others…you’d be amazed how many people i meet walking on the wrong side of the road, with no high viz or who do not walk single file when cars are passing (the irish college kids down here at present seem to need to get blown at a few times before they cop on its a road and not a footpath, that they cant walk the whole width of it)

i have often been knocked off footpaths by cyclists too, exactly wy do they think they should cycle there?

• dee 30/07/12 #

Last time i was home and myself and himself rented some of the city bike. The bikes and the system itself is excellent, but the attitudes and behaviour of the drivers on the roads were appalling, ranging from Dublin Bus Drivers to taxis to van drivers. I was really quite embarrassed as both of us cycle in Glasgow, which a hilly city and full of mental people, but i still feel safer on Glasgow roads than i have ever done on my successive visits home.

More cyclist segregation is required. Also drivers are not trained to look, it should be worked into the new drivers licence tests that you should look for cyclists in the same way that you would look for a pedestrian. Honestly, the sheer obliviousness is terrifying.

• the bloody rsa and crowds that want us all healthy seem to give the impression if ur on a bike you need not learnt the rules of the road, come out round conemara and clifden in galway and ull see the bikes side by side on a stretch of road and will no way move in if theres a car behind them. Think there needs to be a warning given that just cos your cycling a bike doesnt mean ya can do what ya like

• Tom, cycling in this fashion in groups is actually safer because

A) you’re easier to see
      B) its easier for motorists to overtake

If a large group were to cycle single file it would take cars ages to overtake the group, slowing you down more, frustrating you more and increasing the chances that someone will get run off the road.

Cycling two abreast is much much safer.

• @John, I agree in part. However when you are on a narrow road that 2 cars would have bother passing side by side I think cyclists should drop to single file when they hear a car behind them just to make it a bit easier for the driver to overtake. I do this when cycling and often get a beep of thanks when cars pass.

• @Jason agreed. down small little back roads it can get quite tight dropping back to single file is the sensible thing to do and the beep is always appreciated :D

I’d do the same myself and / or try get as tight to the side as possible without endangering myself or others. It’s always nice to cycle in a group that’s sensible enough and experienced enough to know this.

• Thanks James! I will google it!

• All Cyclists, should have a registration plate and licence on a public road! There you’re phil, more money to pay your inflated ego. Ahem,I mean wages!

• Rocco 30/07/12 #

If I’m on my bike then get out of my way. Traffic lights are for cars and not bicycles.

Add New Comment