TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Man shot in Ballyfermot, Dublin

Male in his 30s was shot a number of times in house.

Forensic Gardai at the scene of a fatal shooting on Cloverhill Road, Clondalkin, west Dublin.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Updated 21.56

A 35-YEAR-OLD MAN has been shot dead in Ballyfermot, Dublin.

The victim, named as John Wilson, was shot a number of times in a house on Cloverhill Road just before 3pm. He was pronounced dead shortly afterwards.

The scene was attended by forensic experts and the State Pathologist’s office.

Anyone with information should contact Ballyfermot Garda station on 01 6667200, or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.

The shooting is the third to be described as a gangland killing this week. Wilson had previous convictions for drug and firearms offences.

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• 3 men shot dead in a week #Crazy

• Dave 28/09/12 #

WANTED!!
    Lugs Brannigan lookalike to take control of the streets of Ireland
    Must have Balls of Steel and Big Ears for Counter Survalance
    Bullet Proof Jocks Supplied

• For f*ck sake this is way too common now in this country. When will the Government introduce harsh legislation to make people think twice about carrying a gun let alone use it. MANDATORY 10 years for carrying a gun and life, that is a proper life sentence for killing someone not a slap on the wrist and a hug when leaving prison after serving a small sentence. These gunmen are afraid of nobody. Will the elected Government step up to the plate and do something about it instead of standing up in the Dail and saying oooh what a terrible tragedy…

• The issue isn’t so much the current legislation and sentencing policy as the lack of Garda resources to do anything about it. Templemore sitting empty and serious cutbacks on Garda overtime are the bigger problems.

• Zoltar 28/09/12 #

It would be interesting to see the scale of gangland murders in Ireland on a chart. I wonder how much of an increase there has been since the introduction of the misuse of drugs act in the 1970’s.

The illegal status of drugs gives these horrible people a massively profitable reason to kill people, look at their counterparts in Mexico… 27,199 deaths last year alone.

• Kevin, in the Irish times it’s mentioned that two brothers of this man are serving life sentences for murder. So who are these people who are only getting slaps on the wrists?

• @zoltar , your inferring that somehow it’s the illegal staus of drugs that give them cause or reason , do you think they wouldn’t do so if the drugs were legal ?

• Zoltar 29/09/12 #

Cannabis is a weed that grows freely in the ground, cocaine is cheaper to produce than sugar on a large scale, the illegal status of these substances worldwide attaches a risk that increases the price 100 fold so yes I am inferring that the illegal status of drugs makes it worthwhile for gangsters to kill each other over territorial and competitive issues.

If each substance was thought about appropriately and regulated accordingly in line with it’s relevant harm to the individual/society I believe the instances of these murders would dramatically decrease.

Gangsterism was born out of prohibition and nothing has changed, our policies along with most other countries encourages crime.

• @Zoltar , i’m not totally against legalising drugs , but i cant see how even if drugs were regulated that gangsters would stop wanting to deal illegally in the market…… and how you make the leap that legalising this would stop gun violence -which is the topic here. Blaming ‘policies’ along with other countries as an encouragement for crime is utter shite…so your saying because coke isnt regulated and cheaper the dealers which kill each other for control of territory with guns and murder would be less encouraged or this would be a solution …have you any logical explanation at all that explains how exactly the gangster crime would be stopped if we just legalised drugs like coke ?

• With or without the Gardai on the road they kill each other anyway. It’s not the cutbacks …it’s the justice system that’s not working. Often you hear….John Doe was found guilty of whatever he had 20 previous convictions.
    How come he was still out with that many convictions?
    You kill a man….3-4 yrs in prison
    Use your phone while driving 60 euro fine
    You don’t pay 2.1 mil euro tax….you’re grand.
    You see……. make it 10 yrs minimum for killing a person, 200 euro for using the phone and a few yrs for not paying tax…then people will think twice. Bet there won’t be any overcrowding in Irish prisons then.
    Irish penal system…..arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrghhhhhhhhhhh

• No changes to the justice system or guards will address this. We’re talking about gang warfare here. They’re going to keep shooting each other no matter what the rest of society does. They live in another world and don’t see outside of it. It’s hard to refrain from thinking one less thug on the streets when you hear of another shooting. Maybe they’ll end up exterminating themselves and do us all a favour if we leave them at it.

• “Leave them at it” is a common enough suggestion. But what about the innocents that get caught up in it?
      No, we need these guns off the streets.
      I’m not sure how to tackle the issue because its true these people don’t fear the law.
      But much stiffer sentences would certainly help.

• Some radical measures are needed to tackle this for this is all about the drug trade. Legalise the drug industry, take the money away from the criminals, use the income for education, rehabilition and improving social conditions and free up the courts, gardai and prison service. Portugal de criminalised 10 years ago and have seen drug use cut in half. Prohibition clearly doesn’t work so lets stop using the same methods over and over and expecting different results.

• Out of control now with no fear

• Another man shot dead in Ballyfermot…. Well known to the gardi.. Two of his brothers serving life sentences for murder…
    Sounds like the kind of neighbours we would all like living next door…..
    I THINK NOT !!!!

• Fg. Soft on crime as is evident by the massive cuts to garda budget . I will never vote for fg again . Dispite ff’s shortcomings at least McDowell took on the gangs and provided the Gardai with proper resources and budgets . Minister shatter u should hang ur head in shame

• Even the dogs on the street know there will be carnage .
    As was posted earlier,let them off and hope no innocent people are caught in the crossfire.

• I am sick of hearing the term “Gangland”! These thugs possess no land. They have no entitlement to any land, area or district! They are parasites who ruin the lives of the decent people who live in these areas. The communities do so much work to improve the lives of their children and have to suffer the threats posed by these criminals! The term gangland gives the criminals a status they don’t deserve.

• We are living in a gangland. Whether they “own” land or not these thugs seen to thin they run the streets.

• Yes Denis, but using the term allows them to think they are entitled to control the area! I think the point about the Provos is interesting. Rather than them keeping the thugs at bay, I think they became the thugs as they were no longer”active service”. I think you can trace the proliferation of guns available on the streets back to decommissioning.

• I said it before and I’ll say it again! The Country in going down the toilet!

• The government always think we dont need the police cos were are a bunch of law abiding citizens,and closing hospitals and schools,to save money for their own pockets,they just sit and watch everyone take the law into their own hands..wake up enda kenny

• So many factors contributing to the problems that the country is facing and I do hold the gov to blame for it! Starve a rat and put it in a maze with food at the end of it and it’ll eat through every wall to get to it!

• Boo hoo!!

• The Government should set up a squad of highly trained marksmen, and just take them out one by one, cause lets face it, everyone knows who these guys are. It might sound a bit barbaric, but that’s the only treatment these guys deserve.

• its amazing how “YET ANOTHER” murder happened today, and people are banging on about where actual photo was takin.
    talk about gettin priorities right.

• John Wilson,officially released name

• Does anyone else find it strange that while all the crap was happening up north..these parasites of society where hiding under their collective rocks..too scared to move or the “provo’s” and i’m not talking about the “mickey mouse” outfits operating currently, these socalled Gangland Kingpins could’nt move a muscle..No more Troubles..No they come out of the shadows and cesspits..Not advocating a return to those horrible times..and yes I encountered them at first hand..Just making an observation..feel free to comment.

• mike 28/09/12 #

It’s a pitty Willy O Dee is not FG. he was the first politician to publicly stand up to the gangs in Limerick. For all his shortcomings we need someone like him as minister for justice.

• They are just wiping each other out, their is nearly no need for guards in this country anymore, it’s just madness

Add New Comment