TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

McGuinness says Queen handshake can prompt ‘new relationship’ with Britain

…but the Sinn Féin Deputy First Minister says Britain must acknowledge “its role as a combatant” in the North.

Image: Paul Faith/PA Wire

SINN FÉIN’S Deputy First Minister, Martin McGuinness, has said his handshake with Queen Elizabeth has the potential to define “a new relationship” between Britain and a united Ireland.

Speaking at a party event in London last night, McGuinness said his brief meeting with the Queen on Wednesday had been “highly political”, “highly significant” and “highly symbolic” – describing his handshake with the Queen as “momentous”.

McGuinness said that although their meeting was relatively brief, it had the possibility of “defining a new relationship between Britain and Ireland and between the Irish people themselves”.

The Deputy First Minister tempered his remarks, however, by insisting a united Ireland was still a legitimate aim – and demanding an acknowledgement from Britain of its role “as a combatant” in the conflict in the North.

“That position is no longer tenable as we move forward,” McGuinness said. “It is insulting to victims of events like Bloody Sunday in my own city when 14 people were killed and it is insulting to people’s intelligence.

It is also excluding the British state from assisting a genuine process of national reconciliation in Ireland – a process which, though embryonic, is nevertheless underway.

The veteran republican said a lasting reconciliation between the main communities on the island could “not be built on a shaky foundation of people questioning the legitimacy of positions adopted over the course of the conflict” – or, he added, by attempts “to demean and denigrate” the parties who were involved in it.

“National reconciliation will be built on the firm foundation of mutual respect and decisive actions. That is the context within which I met Queen Elizabeth this week,” he said.

I was in a very pointed, deliberate and symbolic way offering the hand of friendship to unionists through the person of Queen Elizabeth for which many unionists have a deep affinity.

It is an offer I hope many will accept in the same spirit it was offered.

McGuinness also described the partition of Ireland as an “outdated relic of the past” and a “symbol of political failure” – and said seeking to resolve it was a challenge for the Irish government itself.

“For too long successive Irish governments have paid lip service to partition,” McGuinness claimed. ”They have tolerated the division of our country and people which has resulted in Ireland as a nation not reaching our full potential.

“In future ending partition and national reunification need to become Irish government policy not merely an aspiration goal.”

Read: ‘My goodness, McGuinness!’: How the world saw the historic handshake

Poll: Does Martin McGuinness’s handshake with the Queen matter?

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• As soon as a 60% majority of the electorate in NI show their self determination to leave the Union and join the Republic and the Republic indicate they are willing to take them on then I say start the transfer of sovereignty.

• Well done and well said Martin McGuinness – you are playing a blinder. You and many of the vast majority of the population of Ireland have come so far in my lifetime. nIt’s just a pity that there are still a minority of Irish people still out there in Ireland with such a narrow perspective on life! nThe maturity shown by many is a huge beacon for others, pointing to the future towards a people united in kindness and positivity, as opposed to old fashioned begrudgery and narrow mindedness.

• No fiachra, he couldn’t have. He wasn’t doing 3 round trips to donegal and back every week. He filed a claim form for travel expenses with receipts amounting to €11,273. He “could” have done 3 round trips a week but then again the “could” have done a whole lot of things, like obey the law in relation to oireachtas expenses claims but he didn’t.

• Can’t wait for the usual crew to lecture us with their usual vitriolic, one-sided history lessons of Republicanism while totally ignoring the wrongs on all sides of this conflict. The fact that this simple gesture is a huge step forward and highly symbolic in reaching out to Unionists so as to try to bring about peace in NI seems to have totally gone over their heads. The concept that forgive but don’t forget is alien to these people as is the idea that people can change and put the past behind them so as to try to secure a better future. We will have the usual remarks about MMcG’s past (yes we know he was in the IRA), the usual diatribes against SF and a whole lot of whataboutary by people who seem to love being stuck in the bad old days.

The thing is, if Ian Paisley can change, come to the negotiating table and sit beside (even chuckle) with MMcG then why can’t others? If the Queen can meet with a former commander of an enemy force then why do others insist on staying stuck in the trench’s? They remind me of those Japanese soldiers that emerge from caves 40 years after WW2 was over. Is it a lack of maturity, fear of the future or they just like being angry because they don’t know anything else? The ironic thing is these are the very traits that seem to be prevalent amongst the dissidents that oppose the Peace Process! Strange bedfellows indeed! es 40 years after WW2 was over. Is it a lack of maturity, fear of the future or they just like being angry because they don’t know anything else? The ironic thing is these are the very traits that seem to be prevalent amongst the dissidents that oppose the Peace Process! Strange bedfellows indeed!

• He is 100% right to say what he wants when he wants. The facts are the facts and he like many many others are republicans and deserve answers from Britain for their role and cover ups in the North. Easy for people to criticise him from their window view !

• Symbols are important signs to us. Certain people embody more than who they are because of what and who they represent. This was a marvellous moment. It could have happened in Dublin last year but it has come now, and it is to be welcomed. Sinn Féin rhetoric is changing with the times. Reconciation is underway

• I think the comment Martin McGuinness made as he was leaving after his meeting with the queen was meant to be a bit tongue-in-cheek.. Yeah? Abit of ole humour coming from the man himself methinks! .At least thats the way I took it to be … I think it’s great that they had their meeting before all the media became part of it.. Mr McGuinness was condemned for NOT shaking hands with the Queen last year, now he’s being condemned FOR shaking her hand by some bitter bad minded people who refuse to let go of the past and move on…

• First of all, Martin Mc Guinness didn’t blurt anything out when he left. He was replying to a question. Martin doesn’t blurt, he most certainly isn’t ignorant, he’s a gentleman. Underestimate his intelligence at your peril.
    Secondly, the handshake is a major step forward in the ongoing Peace Process, I believe. The one sided view of the Conflict in the North has been encouraged by the media. But how can you ignore the Dublin / Monaghan bombings, the single biggest atrocity of the conflict? This was, allegedly, done with the collusion of the British Armed forces with Loyalist paramilitaries. The fact that files haven’t been released would prove something dodgy. I’m not an apologist for IRA, but I do recognise that this was a three sided conflict with the actions of 2 sides completely revised. The attacks on SF TDs in the Dáil by the other Parties is time wasting drivel and so transparent. I’m proud of Martin McGuinness for what he did on Wednesday. He acted with dignity and decorum which is more than can be said for our arrogant Government. So yes, the Handshake does matter.

• Kevin it was your buddies in FG that went on about it, not SF. Poor Enda was being left out of a major photo op and some FG TD got a bit hot and bothered in the Sindo so that’s why all the publicity was there. As I commented on another thread, the Shinners didn’t have to do any publicity as the other parties indignation at not being able to make the front page was all the publicity they needed. Gerry and Co sat back and laughed while FG, Lab and FF did all the work for them.

On your point of ” Do we really need to continue talking about it?”. You obviously seem to think so seeing as you commented on it here. I’m sure you can see the irony in hindsight.

• Northern Ireland should be allowed the political freedom without interference from the Republic or England for at least 20 years & then it’s citizens can decide on their own future, they have put up with enough & it’s their right & nobody else’s.

• Then why did he shout “Im still a republican!” after the meeting. It was like two fingers up as soon as she turned her back! I thought it was extremely ignorant and undermined any potential benefit the meeting may have had.

• paul 29/06/12 #

amazed how symbolic instances like this do anything for anyone.

• “… the person of Queen Elizabeth for which many unionists have a deep affinity”

What a bizarre form of words. Maybe it was done without thinking or being intentionally insulting, but given SF’s customary carefully use (or abuse) of language I doubt it. I suppose he at least didn’t refer to her a ‘the British queen’, though I’m not sure which is worse.

• How naive to think that a handshake can erase the blood of our lost fellow brothers/sisters. Whether they were English,Irish or Northern Irish too many people have suffered. We are just sharing space here, it’s not mine or yours to fight for.

• ….NEXT…..

• “defining a new relationship between Britain and Ireland” said McGuinness. Em, no Martin. Defined a new relationship for you and your ilk. The rest of us were already on that train a long time ago… you need to catch up Martin!

• Is that the 1922 train out of control of Westminister? I am not going to argue the right or wrong of the 26 counties abandoning the Irish in the North, and leaving them to 7 decades of civil-rights abuses, like banning civil rights marches, one-man-one vote, equal access to education, equal access to jobs etc… That is water under the bridge.

The fact that you dont seem to know anything about that period of Irish history is your fault, not mine.
      McGuinness did lead an IRA campaign against the opporession. Remember, it wasn;t the IRA who fired the first shots or let off the first bombs at the start of the troubles. The Irish in the North were being systematically murdered by Loyalists and the Police from 1967 onwards. The IRA never fired a shot until 1969.
      Remember, it was the Irish government who opened the refugee camps for IRISH people along the border in 1970. Imagine, a refugee camp for refugees who were being burned out of their homes, and murdered if they protested.

Yes, the Train did leave a long time ago. And you are right, its only recently that the Irish in the North were able to catch a train to run on a parallel track and catch up on the rights that the Southern Irish enjoyed from 1922 onwards.
      There is a reason why the majority of the Irish in the North vote for SF. Its not because they considered SF to be a terrorist organisation. They see the benefits that SF brought to the Irish people living in that part of the Island.
      I am not excusing the IRA for all the civilian murders that were carried out, and I am not excusing the British Army for all the murders they carried out.
      But as you rightly said, that is all in the past, and its time we all caught up. The meeting between McGuinness and the Queen symbolizes that. Martin McGuinness has never sworn allegiance to the Monarchy. He is still a republican, but he realises that we are where we are, and that there are two very proud traditions living on the Island (Unionists/FFg’s and the Nationalists).
      Lets all try and move on, and use the symbolism of the handshake to put the past behind us.

• That British enclave

• Listen Journal, I know that you try and tailor your articles towards your user base majority (Sinn Fein / general left) but can we PLEASE at the very least stop going on about this stupid handshake? Most of Ireland and the world has moved on years ago, and welcomed the Queen during her visit to Ireland despite the objections by Sinn Fein.

Fair play to Sinn Fein for deciding to join the rest of Ireland in not giving two hoots about the Queen and just welcoming her. I applaud their clearly well throughout decision that must have been extremely painful for your members. But their think-tank made sure everybody know what they were thinking and what they were doing, because it appeared in id say every form of media several times in the run up and just after. Great publicity for the shinners, but even the Irish people seemed fed up after they lost support in the latest round of opinion polls.

Now that its all over, the handshake is all over and the country sighed a breath of relief – can we just stop now? Its done. Not fresh news. Its old news. We don’t need to analyse every single detail – we did that in the run up and just after. Do we really need to continue talking about it?

Thanks.

• Kevin – yours boasts of begrudgery and intolerance ! Maybe you should also take note of the positive things which are happening in these adjoining Islands, where uniting people and disavowing narrow mindedness as well as freedom of opinion and expression is ever respected, rather then put down by persons with very narrow perspectives – didn’t think I would see it in my lifetime – having physically witnessed myself the lack of Civil Rights in the past on both sides of our little Country. We should be happy not sad at this fabulous progress – lighten up and smell the coffee my friend!

• Kevin I trust you can’t see the irony in your post.
      You know you can actually choose to not view or comment on threads you think are past their sell by date?
      As for the media coverage well that grievance should be directed at the likes of DOB etc

• mcbab 29/06/12 #

Kevin. I wish I could give you a hundred green thumbs!!!! You talk sense!!!!

• Do ya reckon the Queen had to wash the toner ink off her gloves after?

• one small step for the peace process, one giant PR stunt for SF. I suppose its all to detract from negative press surrounding Pearse Doherty…..

• http://www.thejournal.ie/pearse-doherty-expenses-no-breach-leinster-house-travel-503075-Jun2012/

Oireachtas confirms Pearse Doherty did NOT breach expenses rules

Do try and keep up!

• well, correct me if I’m wrong, but he admitted using a portion of his Travel and Accommodation Allowance to hire two members of staff, which he justified by saying he’d taken off the dole. He was informed by the Houses of the Oireactas that this was illegal and that he’d have to pay it back so he tried to wrangle his way out of it by submitting that he used the money instead to buy a new car, now he’s saying that his milage accounts for it even though he’d aready submitted reciepts for petrol ect. So in effect, he’s over claimed.

Say what you want but it doesn’t take a genius to see that he lied and has altered his claim. If this were FG/FF/Lab it’d be an entirely different kettle of fish but when it’s SF, the peoples’ champion, no-one seems to care about corruption… Double standards much?

• Gemma, just read your comment
      “using a portion of his Travel and Accommodation Allowance to hire two members of staff, which he justified by saying he’d taken off the dole.”
      “If this were FG/FF/Lab it’d be an entirely different kettle of fish”

haa haa … haa haa , hee hee, pull the other one, haa haa … hee hee…
      When has anyone from FF ever used any of their wages to take someone off the Dole?

Ha hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa……….. hhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
      Seriously, you are a member of FF. No member of FF ever used any part of their wages to take someone off the Dole. FF have the highest vouched/unvoched expense per person in the Dail…

Haa haa … i am sorry, i am creased over laughing at the suggestion that someone in FF would ever do something like this… seriously !!!!!!!!!!

We had your party member collecting a ministerial pension for months, even though he had never been a minister. It was SF who had to call it out in the Dail. FF only take what they can, and the rest of the people can go screw themselves.
      I have multiple links to over 50% of FF members abusing the system, or downright stealing money that was not theirs to claim, and not one of them said they weer using money to take someone off the dole.

But, again , haa haa, haa haaa haa.. i needed a good laugh this morning, the idea of FF using their own money or allownaces to take someone off the dole,,, good one, keep them coming.

• Gemma- Pearse Doherty could have claimed €22k worth of travel expenses because of his mileage but only claimed €11k and therefore underclaimed by €11k. As expenses for fuel are given retrospectively that money was his to do as he liked, he decided to put that towards staff. No wrongdoing, no fiddling with expenses

• you’re right Cal, no-one currently in FF would use their expenses to take someone off the Dole. They wouldn’t do it because it’s illegal. However many FF oireachtas members do hire staff and pay for them out of their own respective salaries. Pearse Doherty used money paid to him in expenses. He did not use his salary.

• Fair dues to you Gemma, you’re really battling it out and swimming against the tide in going on about Doherty and his expenses. This of course flies in the face of what is stated on yesterdays article about Doherty that ” authorities (at) Leinster House have told him that he is not in breach of any rules”. I am somewhat bemused that even though he has been found not guilty of misconduct, you still are trying to argue that he is! What made me laugh out loud is when I looked properly at your picture I see that you are a member of Ogra Finna Fail. What are your views on John O’Donoghue or Ned O’Keeffe to name but a few?

There is a definite air of fear and desperation among the ranks of Fianna Fail when all ye can so is to try to distract from a major peace initiative with continuing whining about a closed matter. I would suggest that Fianna Fail get their own house in order before they start attacking others in relation to expenses!!!!!

• Yes brian, well spotted. I am a member of Ógra Fianna Fáil and I can’t see what crime that is. I’m not “swimming against the tide”, as you put it, more trying to point out the hypocrisy of his actions and those of SF. Had our roles been reversed, would you or would you not be calling on a FF TD to resign his/ her seat?

As for John O’Donoghue, I think very little of him tbh. I think he abused his power and sullied the office of Ceann Comhairle and the name of FF. As regards Ned O’Sullivan, I think he was also wrong. He shouldn’t have done what he did. In saying that, both matters are in the past and both have been dealt with and I trust the party leadership to ensure that it never happens again.

• Indeed Gemma if any other politician had been in the same position as Doherty I would call for an investigation and if they were found guilty of misconduct I would expect them to resign. The thing is that Doherty has been investigated and hasn’t been found guilty of misconduct so in your own words” matters are in the past and …..have been dealt with”. Perhaps you should practice what you preach!

• Damocles I hope that never happens..at least you realise Ireland may never want British enclave

Add New Comment