TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Wallace slammed over ‘arrogance’ and ‘venomous assault’ on Technical Group

Independent TD John Halligan is now supporting efforts to deny Wallace any speaking time in the Dáil following his latest remarks about former colleagues in the Technical Group.

Mick Wallace
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

INDEPENDENT TD MICK Wallace faces losing speaking time in the Dáil as one of his former colleagues in the Technical Group slammed his “arrogance” and “venomous assault” on some independent deputies.

Waterford TD John Halligan said that he found the Wexford TD’s comments regarding former colleagues over the weekend “outrageous” and said that he would be supporting efforts to stop the practice of giving him speaking time.

Wallace told RTÉ Radio on Saturday that Technical Group colleagues did not stand by him after the controversy over his under-declaration of VAT earlier this year because of pressure from the media but Halligan denied this was the case.

He told TheJournal.ie this morning that following revelations regarding Wallace’s under-declaring of €1.4 million in VAT, he had called on him to resign and said this morning that Wallace “appears to be courting controversy for the sake of it”.

In the Saturday morning interview, Wallace also revisited the story of how he once threatened to hire a hitman to recover a IR£20,000 debt that was owed to him from a building firm, a story that Halligan said he had not heard before.

Halligan said that he would be supporting efforts to withdraw speaking time from Wallace who, having been expelled from the group, has had to request time for speaking in the chamber in recent weeks, requests the group have been granting up to now.

“To bite the hand that feeds you… how long more do you put up with this?” Halligan said adding that Dublin North Central TD Finian McGrath also supported moves to deny any speaking time to Wallace.

On Wallace he added: “I am disappointed that he would continue a venomous assault on some of us in the independent group,” he said before adding: “I’ve just had enough of him at this stage, I just won’t support him.”

Halligan also said that he believes Wallace should resign and go before the electorate following the controversy over his tax affairs.

Read: Joe Higgins denies advance knowledge of Mick Wallace’s tax problems

Read: Mick Wallace says f*** on the radio, suggests affair with Marian Finucane*

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• Ah yes. Good man Wallace. Using tax payers money to pay off money he owes to the tax payer. You couldn’t make it up.

• Mick is a class act..first class tax dodger. His reconstruction as a socialist is truly amazing. Well done Mick and keep up the good work in the media. Little by little you reveal your true character to us!

• Dear Mr. Halligan,

If you’re going to screw him over, do it for the 43c he owes every man, woman and child in the country.

Feigning outrage at a quip is just playing politics. It assumes the people you are paid to represent have no opinion deeper than a tabloid headline.

• He’s talk of hiring a hitman is just completely unacceptable. How in the name of god do the likes of him get into power.

• The people of Wexford voted him in. They seem to think that he’s a great lad. Just shows the mentality of some people when given a vote.

• In fairness Sheila to the good people of Wexford, we didn’t all vote for him. He got 17,000 votes out of an electorate of 111,000.

• Are u from Wexford, Darren ? If so, what is the feeling about him there ?

• Now that I think of it, I did give him a vote! Jaysus! Should’ve said all the people of Wexford didn’t vote for him! Yeah, I’m from here. Gave him the vote based on the work he was doing in the community and before we knew most of what we know now. Am embarrassed to say I voted for him, but we were looking for change, but unfortunately we were fooled again. They way we’ve been hoodwinked this time is more sinister I think, with Fianna Fáil we knew what we were getting, gombeen politics. But with Wallace, there was a charade leading up to the election, of a community activist working for the people against our political rulers. It all seems false now with everything we know now, that everything was a front to save his own skin. A devious plan. As regards how people would vote tomorrow Declan, I’m not sure. Obviously there’s the likes of me who did vote for change but got more of the same, we won’t be voting for him again. But I wouldn’t rule out Wallace getting back in, there is still support here for him, he was the saviour from Fianna Fáil/Fine Gael for many, but they aren’t prepared to admit that Wallace is more of the same. All we can do is hope for the best and for the moment all we can do is apologise to the people of Ireland for our mistakes!

• @Darren,

I suppose it’s like many other good liars that were in there before him. Played the game well, but thankfully, he tripped himself up like many of them. I believe in ‘what comes around, goes around. The people including yourself did vote for him because the package, wrapping, cover looked nice, seemed to be honest.

A lesson for all of us. It’s up to people like you that were fooled by this excuse of a human being, to move him, out, far, far away. Hopefully to a closed prison not an opened one!

• Cheers, Darren. Yes – we were all fooled again. Ah, well ! We live & learn.

• G 08/10/12 #

this guy is an embarrassment. What, if anything does he actually stand for?

• Corrupt to the core. It’s an awful waste of what could easily be a great little country. The cowards that supposedly represent us should be ashamed of themselves!

• Couldn’t have said it better myself. Post of the day!

• These are the people who will form an alternative government!

• JakkiB 08/10/12 #

When is this ever going to stop! The whole system is corrupt to the core

• It will continue until the the people of Ireland decide to change it. The pople of Ireland have the means to stop it, they have a vote. The fundamental problem is that all the the political parties are the same, just lie to the electorat and make promises that they can not keep in order to get into power. That is the sad situation with Irish politics, no alternatives always the same. Perhaps the goverment should be composed of an all party mix such that the government works for Ireland and its people and not their party.

• @Sheila – let RTE interview him. Let him speak. The more he speaks, the more he hangs himself. That in itself is a good thing. Let him shoot himself in the foot at every opportunity. Let people hear what a disgusting excuse for a human being he is. He is just hanging himself every time he opens that cheap mouth of his. I agree with you that it is a great pity that those doing good work on the ground don’t get heard as much.

• Mr Wallace is salary sacrificing 50% of his Dail earnings to pay off his VAT settlement.
    Is the 50% being taxed and the nett amount paying the debt or is the entire 50% going towards reducing the debt?
    Just asking.

• The only tax payer money this man should be getting is the allowance given to prisoners in mountjoy

• This country is a comets laughing stock. Why aren’t Irish people demanding that this self confessed thief is prosecuted for the crime he readily admits to committing? We have a government elected by us that treat us with downright contempt. He stole €1.4 million from us the taxpayer, and yet our national broadcaster allows him to pontificate on our airwaves. Would the same service be provided to all the thieves in Irish prisons? Micis

• Cpm 08/10/12 #

What the hell is a ‘comets’ laughing stock?

• maybe he meant complete laughing stock!

• @ Rodrigo detriano

Ditto! This thief, lying, horrible excuse of a human being should be taken out of the chambers. Sacked, go straight to jail and also charged with threatening behaviour.

People seem to forget and not realise that this individual is being paid a salary, that is supposedly paying 50% of it back to Revenue. He’s not entitled to the other50%. He’s not entitled to this job, he hasn’t earned it, he’s broken the law on many occasions. Why is Revenue not taking over his property (like many young families in Ireland today) and selling what they need to recoup what this greasy, dishonourable, lying, double standard sleeseball owes. The Dail has to make him resign this week.

• Rodrigo, you could say the same about one Bertram Ahern, he should be in jail sewing post bags or army uniforms but instead he’s living a celebrity lifestyle, and why? Because he’s a “nice fella”, just like Wallace

• Sheila i agree with your comment but there is a problem you see wallace knows all about the bankrupt judiciary and he can stand up and speak in the dail which makes him a very dangerous man ,he is in the same class and fitzpatrick his situation is nothing more than window dressing ,look worried seanie and well let you of with a slap on the wrist ,god knows we couldnt have seanie talking he could bring down the whole system.

• censored 08/10/12 #

Really? So the ignorant lout routine is just an act?

• He’s some muppet these days..attention seeker

• The most important change that needs to be made in irish politics is accountability

• Amen

• @hughsheehy

He got into the Dail falsely. Just because he’s good at lying, and fooled the majority of the people in Wexford doesn’t mean he’s entitled to speak, to earn and to be part of my Government. He’s a troll, a bully, lies, double standard excuse of a human being.

How dare RTE give him time on national radio. There are many good people in this country doing great things for their locality, charity work, educational help and none of these people have a wage to do what they do every day. That is the type of person I want Marian Finnune to be interviewing. Not this troll.

• Which set of TDs didn’t get into the Dail by lying?

Please tell me. Go one. Which ones?

• @ hughsheehy

(That was and is in the Dail chambers)
      Sean Lemass, (of what I have read about him) Joan Burton (I am an independent voter, am not a member of any group), I believe is a good person and is trying, in a very hard, difficult area, trying to sort it. There are probably a few more which I am not sure I want to type because they sympathize too much with Wallace, but are probably good people and do work for the community.

Sadly, any honesty and respect for the minorities and care some of these TDs had before they got into those chambers is gone. The voters, tax payers should have more input as to whom should stay. The Dail chambers should not be a place where these individuals can hide. It should go to a vote not just from their own team but from all TDs in the House.

• The voters do get a say. They elected Mick Wallace, Gerry Adams, Michael Lowry, Willie O’Dea, James O’Reilly, Eamon Gilmore, Richard Boyd Barrett, etc,. etc,. etc. You may agree with their judgement or not, but it’s a democratic process.

That’s kinda the point. Mick Wallace was elected by the people of Wexford for a full Dail term. It’s up to them to throw him out, or not. Even if a TD is a minority of one in the Dail it’s up to the voters to silence their Dail voice, not other TDs.

• @ Sheila Byrne

I can understand why Mr. Wallace under-declared tax – his business was struggling and in this world you either swim (what Mr. Wallace tried) or else you sink.

Maybe if we didn’t have an overpaid Revenue Staff we wouldn’t be paying such high taxes…

• censored 08/10/12 #

Sink or steal, eh? Wallace is a hypocrite, he got elected by pretending he wasn’t one of the stinking thieving gombeens we’re afflicted with in this country. Good act.

• @ Censored

I do not partake in personal snares. He did not ‘steal’ anything – he already paid his fair share and that wasn’t enough for the Revenue thieves. They’re pillaging the Irish people to keep the overpaid Gardai and Revenue staff.

• johnny 08/10/12 #

says alot about the irish people really, keep voting for the neighbour so i might get a new motorway or something else i dont need

• He just got away with thousands on unpaid VAT, and kept his cosy seat, how can he be nut arrogant?

• Maybe one day we ” Joe Public” will all be able to petition for a TD to be forced out…

This committee: “Joint Committee on Investigations, Oversight and Petitions”…is meant to have such a system >>
    “The Committee has also been given the ambitious task to chart a course for a petitions system in the Houses of the Oireachtas.

A parliamentary petitions system will present an important new avenue for individuals to participate in the democratic process. For the first time, through the petitions process, members of the public will be able to take their policy concerns directly to the heart of Parliament and to influence the parliamentary agenda.”

But it’s a bureaucratic initiative, which probably means its gonna be ready by 2017.
    Till then we have to rely on TD’s venom..ie. Only one slap on the back instead of two.

So much for Enda’s Change of Governance :(

• Resel 08/10/12 #

…….and lose the stupid ear ring

• What an idiot. Although those gombeens that elected him aren’t much better.

• Is all this carry on done at lunchtime?

Or are they talking during class ?

• I posted a comment referring to mick as a first class tax dodger which met with unanimous approval but got taken down. Can the Journal please explain?

• This looks like a rather heavy handed way of catching VAT evaders……. and doesn’t solve anything apart from a lot of prosecutions which will make money for lawyers etc.

Are business overheads like electricity lower because trade is down? I think not so this looks like a matter of basic survival (maybe).

And is it beyond the whit of Politicians and Civil Servants to devise ways of getting businesses to pay up?

How about giving small/medium tourist businesses a discount for prompt payment of VAT?

Or better still go after the large businesses who circumvent payment of taxes by closing off any loopholes………….

• Again, whatever you think about Mick Wallace, the idea that TDs can prevent another TD from speaking in the Dail is a terrible indictment of the Dail’s House Rules.

Mick Wallace may, or may not, be your cup of tea. But he is a duly elected TD. A representative of the people of Wexford.

• And a poor reflection on those people in Wexford who voted him in.

• Like I said, whether or not he’s the kind of TD you approve of is another issue.

However Ireland is (supposedly) a democracy and he is a democratically elected TD. He should be entitled to speak in the Dail and no other TDs should be able to gang up and stop him because they’re indignant about something he said.

• John F 08/10/12 #

It appears democracy doesn’t work in Ireland then, there are too many idiots with the right to vote. I think in future there should be some kind of psyche/ common sense evaluation before been granted the right to vote!

• John F 08/10/12 #

Makes you wonder about the kind of people that actually voted this cretin in! Some people shouldn’t be allowed to vote!

• Our politicians are lying to each other, lying to us and deluding themselves about a host of issues, not least that they themselves have any
    integrity. I’m sick of them all. Useless bunch of eejits. Except for Alex White. Sack them all, make Miriam the Queen (her Irish has improved) and bring back monarchy.

• He looks like Worzel Gummidge

Add New Comment