TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

More garda station closures in future, Shatter warns

The Minister for Justice said there would be a “rationalisation” of stations, in addition to those already slated for closure.

Minister Alan Shatter
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

MORE GARDA STATIONS will be shut down in future owing to budgetary constraints, Alan Shatter has said.

The Minister for Justice said there would be a further “rationalisation” of the garda station network, on top of the 31 stations already earmarked for closure this year.

He also said that new stations at Kevin Street in Dublin and in Wexford would only proceed depending on the availability of funds from the OPW which has seen significant budget reductions.

Addressing the annual conference of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, Shatter said that there was no need for such a large number of stations across the State. He said:

Can anyone plausibly argue that we absolutely need 703 Garda stations in such a small country? Can there really be no reduction whatever in the number of stations, even though transport, communications and technology have been transformed beyond recognition?

The conference had earlier voted on motions calling for the number of stations to be maintained, and for the new facilities at Kevin Street to be pushed forward.

Shatter responded to criticisms of the closure of garda stations which had been recently renovated with money from the public purse. He said these facilities would continue to serve the taxpayer in different capacities.

These are buildings which are in public ownership and will be available for use by other State entities or for community purposes, so of course it was right to carry out essential maintenance.

He also highlighted a rise in the number of garda cars – which he said had increased in number to 2,600 from 2,200 in 2007 – and said tenders had been sought for more vehicles.

More: Tighter restrictions needed on sex offenders, say gardaí>

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• Alan in such a small country can anyone seriously argue that we need 166 tds?

• How many TD,minister, councillors do we need for a small country Mr shatter.
    I know i would rather see gadai on the street since i dont see any of you except when there is an election. start with yourselves first.
    And dont blame the household charge.

• Can anyone plausibly argue that we need circa 919 TDs and councillors in a country the the size of Ireland? Simply because that’s the way things have always been done?

• Yes, numbers are not the issue the more representation the more democratic, or we may as well say they do nothing get rid of them all and appoint one dictator. It is what these people are actually doing and what they are being paid that are the main issues people have I suspect. If they were actually working for them then nobody would be complaining. Problem is under the party whip system most of these people are merely arses on seats, for the government, the party leadership don’t want intelligent independent minded people running to stir things up they want obedient party yes men. Vote independents in future.

• I thought it was accepted that for policing to be effective, it should be community based. In the 1980s when there was no money, there were Gardí in every small community based at a local barracks What’s changed?

• tuba hg 03/04/12 #

It’s very easy for a person living in a very comfortable area in south Dublin with full time Garda protection as minister for Justice and priority service as a TD even when in opposition to act and speak the way he does
    I think it is significant that he is recruiting more Reserve Gardai and not full time members
    It’s clear what he has in mind
    Reservists can only operate with full time members
    They burglars muggers and every other lowlife should erect a statue to Shatter in the Mountjoy
    He has destroyed whatever semblance of Policing we had in this country

• @ tuba hg

Ah ya, and his department won’t even have to pay the reserves! He’s talking about PSNI being allowed to apply to the Gardai also from the North, will they be paid? He’ll come up with the great idea that people on the dole/job seekers allowance that if they want to continue to get their payments, (as if this is what they want in their life!!) can be employed as ‘reserves’ for work experience. So, well done, Shatter, great savings there.

• Rural dwellers can look forward to having our homes ransacked by burglars, without a Garda happening to be nearby to disturb and arrest them! If our local station closed, it would take the Gardaí 45 mins to get here, a lot can happen in that time. But, I suppose, I should just shut up and get a life!

• Look forward to break ins? It’s rampant and out of control already in my area.
      Our station in the village , I think there is 1 garda there for a couple of hours once a month!
      We are under the control of another station that is 15 miles away, because a local FG councillor used his pull to get that upgraded.
      We are 5 miles from a large station, but because that is in a different county, they don’t cover us…..
      Idiots would design a better system, as they wouldn’t be swayed by tribal politics. Apologies to idiots.

• Is that why the legal issues over “protecting one’s own property” have been relaxed? So instead of Getting a life I sholud get a shotgun?.
      We have a one hour one day a week police station five miles from us and the nearest large station would have no idea of where my townland is.
      In regard to his Transport, Technology and Communications being so up to date that the force is more efficient is pure nonsense, a recent article in the Journal dealt with Gardai using mobile phones as a means of communication as so little stations are equipped with the Pulse system or modernised computer systems.
      If I ever decide to pay this property tax it will be in the understanding that my community is not only serviced by pristine roads and light pollution along with an extensive library and olympic size swimming pool but that me and my neighbours have a police station with a constant staff to look after our area.
      The arrogance and stupidity of this surburban dwelling TD and some other equally arrogant and patronising Td’s is really starting to grate on my nerves, I gave them the benefit of the doubht for the first year in office but I am now getting more than ready to kick these King Lears arses.

• Have a buddy who lives 1 (yes one) metre from a cop shop. Still took guards 45 mins to call to an alarm activation….

• Barty 03/04/12 #

Wait until Big Phil starts closing fire stations in the next couple of months.

• Gerard 03/04/12 #

If a justice minister really needs to ask if we need all our Garda stations then it begs the question, should he be the justice minister? What an idiotic statement to make

• And he announced that they will be recruiting 500 for the defence forces… Which is more important mr shatter??

• jimbo 03/04/12 #

Shattering news,we need more garda not less.

• Oh no – I can’t believe this! Ah actually it’s ok – there isn’t a police station where I live & the nearest one is miles away! Phew – I was worried there for a moment !!

• Will the station that covers his area be slated for rationalisation? I doubt it. The stations he will close are far from Leinster house in rural areas that will slash part of the fabric of society that this government don’t care about.

• Alan Shutter!

• Himself and McDowell will be infamous for the damage these two clowns have caused to the policing of Ireland.

• Another disgraceful move from ‘get a life’ shatter. I am so worried about where this country is going. Every day there is something idiotic coming out of the mouth of some a@@hole FG minister! Sorry, I keep seeing red when I read these articles. Perhaps a ‘Garda charge’ is en route, or some bullsh!t like that, god knows they are eating up for something yet through all this they won’t bring the axe down on. Themselves or their mates

• @ Gerard Murphy

It’s obvious to me that there will probably be a huge amount of applications for gun licences in the next couple of years. After all, we’re allowed a ‘certain’ amount of self defense when we see 1 or more in our home, that we’re trying to pay for and that we worked hard for to pay for the items they (robbers) are trying to take.

I’ll defend my children and my home and family the way I see best for us. I won’t bother wasting time asking questions, I will aim the gun and wherever the pellets decide to go, that their problem, if they’re still alive they will probably be plucking out the pellets out of their asses for the rest of their lives, if they’re not dead that is. Yes, you all may feel that that is a very harsh way to speak of another human being. But Shatter, the basset hound, didn’t think of that when he was saving his department money and looking good, even though many have lost their jobs or have to travel for miles to work at their new post Shatter transfered them to. Nor did the thief think once of what might happen the owner when they were breaking in, not a care in the world for the owner of the home. So what if the person dies of a heart attack during the break in, the scum doesn’t care about that, he just wants what’s not his! Shatter doesn’t/didn’t think about the owner who gets raped, stabbed and even gets their skull smashed in while they are breaking into their home.

So all the ‘do gooders’ that give me the thumbs down just think about it and ask yourselves, ‘how would I feel if that happened to me’?

• It’s the way it will have to be from here on Sheila, sad but true the shotgun will be in the bedroom and the knowledge that you will have to use it if the scum and lawless come calling. When did the welfare of decent citizens fall below the need to pay faceless bondholders and look good on the “world stage” ?.
      Politics has nothing to do with my day to day life anymore, if I want to make change that betters my life or makes me feel secure I have to rely on myself and my decisions.

• @Damien,

I agree with you wholeheartedly. I have actually applied for a gun licence. I am hoping to get it. We’re on our own now Damien. I don’t particularily like the amount of guns in the US and I never thought it would happen here in Ireland in homes. But it is happening. Five years down the road, when many are killed, either intruders or home owners, the Government of the day will spend more money on bringing in another law stating that there will be a ‘gun amnesty’.

Watch this space.

• *dons black track suit and balaclava.

• The way things are going some rural communities will have five times more local representatives (politicians) than local Gardai
    Policing needs to be local to be effective
    A village Garda knows the locals and knows who the usual suspects are when a crime happens, 2 lads in a car from the station 15 miles away won’t know the score if called to a crime in a small village
    And policing should not be based on county boundaries
    Ballina in Tipperary is served by cops from a station miles away despite a big 24 hour station in Killaloe literally across the bridge (as far as I know)

• Shortage of police, no shortage of speed vans. Minor traffic offences are ridiculously valued as serious crimes in Ireland. Just easier to detect.

• It seems that Shatter ‘get a life’ is not getting his priorities right and can never do the right thing by people. Instead of closing all the garda stations, around the country, why doesn’t he and his cronies cut their wages and pensions. If they decide to close down the garda stations in my area, it will take 15-20 minutes for a guard to come from kilkennny city to my house after it is burgled. What is the sense in that , shatter, it is well for you to have a garda near you and well also for you that they came when your house was broken into, but would they do that for the ordinary jo soap. No Way!

• This quite simply is the wrong decision to make.

• When the minister’s “Dublin” home was broken into recently,half of Dublin’s police force where on the scene in minutes!, so its little wonder he is so out of touch with us mere mortals!

• Im buying a gun if they close my nearest one as I be looking after my family … New sign on gate will say ” beware if your a TD ,banker or tracksuit lover “

• Fuck out the Tds who were caught robbing that would sort everything out . This government is thick

• @Alvin

Unfortunately, I don’t think that is possible and won’t be until there is another election. But people, I’m not sure how it’s possible should push for a ‘ruling/law’ that the number of TDs should be reduced. No doubt there’ll be complaints that the TD will have to look after a fair few more 1,000 electorate and may have to travel further afield to other towns to cover his pitch, but sure don’t other ‘sales reps’ do that every day of the week? Make them work for their salaries and pensions and allowances.

Same goes for the Sinead. Cut back on the amount of representatives also, but, never, never shut down the Sinead! Only for the Upper House/Sinead was there, the Government of the day would get away with much more than they try to do. No, the Sinead can’t stop the Lower House/Dail but they can hold up things for as long as possible, so it can be discuss and argued by many.

Add New Comment