TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

NI’s future health minister: gay pride parade participants ‘repugnant’

DUP assembly member made the comments on the Belfast Pride parade in a text to the Gay Pride secretary.

Celebrations at this year's Dublin Pride parade
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

PEOPLE WHO TAKE part in the Belfast Pride parade are “repugnant” – that’s according to the future Northern Ireland health minister, Jim Wells.

Diana Rusk, political correspondent with The Irish News, writes on page 8 of the paper today that the South Down assembly member sent a text to Simon Rea, secretary of Belfast Pride, in which he said  ”I find the behaviour of those who take part in this march totally repugnant”.

Rea told the paper that he was “personally offended and deeply disappointed” by the text – which was in reply to an invitation to a debate on the event – and that politicians need to realise 7 – 10 per cent of their constituencies are lesbian, gay, or bisexual.

Wells told The Irish News that his comments “refer to the parade”, including the costumes and behaviour of the participants.

Read Diana Rusk’s full article on page 8 of today’s The Irish News>

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• Oh well, the DUP are no strangers to double standards!

• Finlaco 26/07/11 #

Well didn’t Iris Robinson preach hatred of gays for decades cos her bible told her that it was wrong, yet when she got caught committing adultery, suddenly her bible wasn’t so important cos her bible’s punishment for adultery is the same as the punishment for male homosexuality. With or without religion you’d have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things; but for good people to do evil things, it requires religion.

• Elrat 26/07/11 #

Wasn’t King William of Orange gay ?

• I think someone needs to come out out that musty closet!
    Blow that whistle boy! be proud!

• I wonder what his views are on the behaviour of some orange marchers?

• Hardly surprising from the DUP really is it. Several of their members and politicians have expressed similar opinions in the past. They are hardly socially liberal.

• Aoife Barry 26/07/11 #

Hi Danny, the headline wasn’t intended to be misleading. However for clarity I have amended the headline.
    Thanks for the comment.

• This year will be my third year taking part in the Belfast Pride Parade … and if Mr Wells finds my walking along the streets of Belfast in a cross-community and INCLUSIVE parade which celebrates one aspect of the Almighty’s creation repugnant …. then presumably he finds that other big parade in July which is anything but cross-community and inclusive equally repugnant?

And @Elrat – the answer is YES!!!!

• Well now, If I lived in Belfast I think I’d rather have a load of camp gays and lesbians marching down my street dancing and singing along their merry way, than a load of triumphalist sectarian thugs.

• headline is misleading as usual….he finds the behaviour repugnant, not gays…..
    I’m not standing up for him of course. He just obviously finds it difficult to control himself when he see hunky gay men dressed in leather shorts with angel wings on a sunny afternoon

• He did say ”I find the behaviour of those who take part in this march totally repugnant”.
      I take part in the pride here in Dublin and my behaviour is not repugnant. I know your not standing up for him but he did say it..

• Backward regressive politician in ‘phobic comment shocker – there’s a turn up for the books! These people inky like sexuality that us confined to affairs and/or self loathing – in keeping with their generally hate fuelled outlook on life.

• That any Parliamentary member in the UK nowadays should be comfortable articulating such a narrow view is disappointing.

• Gay people have been shunned from their communities , bullied and driven to suicide , how could a loving G-D support inflicting ​ such pain on anyone. That is not true faith , true loving others as yourself . If you are disgusted by the idea of yourself having a relationship with a member of the same sex , that is your issue and fair enough you don’t have to enforce your own personal preference on any one else . I can assure you that homosexuality will never be mandatory so really should have no effect on your life whatsoever . So why don’t you start focusing on your own relationship and take your nose out of mine .

• Totally agree Paula. I can never understand why certain people get offended by what relationships other people choose to have. Gay, straight, bi, as long as it’s all between consenting adults then it’s no-one else’s business.

• For feck sake – live and let live. God made no mistakes that’s wot I say :-)

• It’s too early for me to function. I have since read the article in full and noticed all the references to ‘future’. Wide awake and alert, starting from…

• Closet Case me thinks

• I’m not gay but I do enjoy going into Dublin city centre on pride parade day just to see the colour and festivities, everyone always look like they’re having a blast and a great buzz about the place. Funnily enough couldn’t tell you the last time I went to the Paddy’s day parade cos of “repugnant” behaviour ( even though it always looks great on TV and I like a drink and the craic) – I think that says a lot!!

• A simple “thanks but no thanks” to the invitation to attend the gay pride parade would probably have sufficed without using the word “repugnant”. Even if he has some prejudice against gay people, he should have kept it to himself. His opinion probably means very little to gay people anyway. As Simon Rea said “politicians need to realise 7 – 10 per cent of their constituencies are lesbian, gay, or bisexual”. I wonder if he would find it so repugnant if gay people voted for him…..somehow i doubt it. Well maybe now after these comments, he won’t have to worry about that.

• Exactly Noel, can you imagine if he’d said that about any other minority group? And further to the 7-10 percent of the voters who are gay, there are additionally those people’s friends and families who are obviously not going to vote for someone who are not going to vote for someone who comes out with such ridiculous statements that affect someone they care about. Well, let him hang himself out to dry I suppose!!

• Did he come out with a ridiculous statement? Good for him.

• I think the Gay pride parade should be led by a fife and drum band, all participants should wear black suits with a pink sash, and they should not dance, they should march. Order must be kept on the streets, we all know that.

What is the need for Gay pride marches anyway? I don`t get it.
    I have red hair, and when GingerFest was being spoken about people were saying its unfair to gingers to have a fest with people arriving with fake red hair wigs. Is it not unfair to LGBT to segregate them in a parade?

I`m not homophobic BUT…….

Ha Ha got you there…….

• Drunk people vomiting and urinating in public is always ‘Repugnant’ (:

• LGBT people don’t segregate themselves in a parade. I often hear the claim… why do gay people need gaybars… they are just shutting themselves off from society… the reality is that society isn’t the perfect world we’d like it to be. For example, I’m pretty sure that if two guys or two girls held hands or kissed in my local pub… they’d probably be barred. So for one day a year, they have a parade, where together they can stand united and feel safe that they can be as gay as they like without having to worry… it’s hardly too much to ask seen as for the other 364 days of the year they are pretty much treated unequally.

Also, order must be kept on the streets… but in all the years of Dublin Pride, there have been hardly any issues of concern, minor ones here and there… compare this to say… St. Patrick’s Day… I rest my case!!

• We should have a St. Patricks Gay Parade then……
      Interesting point, so are you saying that LGBT are only tolerated on one day of the year?
      That they have to face discrimination and prejudice every other day of the year?
      Well if I was gay I`d be out doing job interviews and getting married when the parade is on.

In reality there is a lot of US and THEM, that there is no need for, from all sides. we should all lighten up a bit.

On a serious note, I`m not homophobic BUT……….

• I’ll ‘lighten up’ when it stops becoming okay for people like Wells to come out with such ridiculous statements.

As for the ‘us and them’… I think it’s a very very small minority of people in Ireland who have a problem with gay people and the progression of their pursuit of full equality… and most gay people would realise this. That said, obviously there will be outrage when a leading politician, no matter where they are from is able to publicly say such a bigoted comment.

Also, I don’t get your point about ‘job interviews’??

• Alan,, I wasn`t asking you specifically to lighten up, it was to all mankind.
      Agreed politicians etc should not make statements thus.
      Job interviews, I could have used anything, “join a club”, “legally change your name”, anything where someone may encounter some resistance because of their sexuality.
      “Us and Them” cut the crap now, you know as well as I do that there are people on all sides of the gender divide that are militant in their view.
      We should ALL lighten up, have a bit more self confidence even. be comfortable with ourselves and our environment. Not trying to force our views on others and the like. ;-)

• First sentence is now misleading for the same reasons.

• Weren’t senior Unionist politicians, mostly DUP, involved in the Kincora Boys school scandal years ago. Where young boys were sexually abused. Ah, well – the condemn by day & use by night merchants are at it again.

• Good point, Alan. It seems that politicians are prone to foot in mouth disease. If half of these idiots kept their mouth shut or at least put their brain in gear before engaging their mouths then maybe we would actually have more respect for them.

• I wonder if this is his way of saying he is not running in the next election. If he is, he had better hope gay people have short memories.

• Google Paul Berry sports massage lol

• I agree and found the behavior in Dublin pride something to be forgotten. I am proud of my gay friends but some of the lark was just far too over the top and miles away from anything flamboyant but to those who are proud and less repugnant :) I take my hat off to you.

• Jim Wells is not the Health Minister. Edwin Poots is.

• Aoife Barry 26/07/11 #

Hi Sharon, that’s why I referred to him as ‘future health minister’, just as in the original article in The Irish News – he will take over the role in 2013 I believe. Thanks for the comment.

Add New Comment