TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

No upfront charge for water meters – reports

Meanwhile, we find out what happened to that 2010 offer from Siemens to pay for installing 1.1 million water meters…

Image: fox_kiyo via Flickr/Creative Commons

HOMEOWNERS WILL NOT have to pay up front for water meters as the charges will be spread out over a period of 20 years, reports indicate this morning.

The Cabinet is currently in meetings to discuss the establishment of a new public body, Irish Water, which will oversee the delivery of water services in Ireland.

It is understood that the Government has a choice between setting up a completely new agency or allow an existing utility take over from 34 local authorities. Bids from Bord na Móna and Bord Gáis are being considered.

The Commission for Energy Regulation will have oversight of whichever agency is to deliver water services. It will determine the cost of the service, the free allowance and the framework for levying the charges.

Enda Kenny told RTÉ that homeowners will not face an installation charge for the meters as that cost will be covered from a loan from the National Pension Reserve Fund.

However, he confirmed that the meters themselves will have to be paid for by the consumer.

A spokesperson for the Department of the Environment told TheJournal.ie this morning that any speculation over the past three days is pre-empting what the regulator will say.

Echoing the Taoiseach’s earlier statement, he said that the money borrowed from the NPRF will have to be paid back.

The Consumer Association of Ireland has called the situation “ridiculous”.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, chief executive Dermot Jewell said the charge is both “unacceptable” and “unreasonable”.

“It’s a case of the cart before the horse,” he added. “The cost of the provision of this service will need to be outlined and we need to know if this is value for money.”

According to reports in both the Irish Times and Irish Independent this morning, households will be asked to pay about €40 per year over the next two decades to cover the cost of their water meters.

The breakdown of the charges will be similar to those invoiced by the ESB, which includes the cost of a meter in its overall connection charge when supplying electricity to a new home but also levies services costs every two months.

“It could be something like this,” added the spokesperson this morning when asked to verify the reports. “But again we are pre-empting what the regulator will said and it will be up to it.”

The installation of meters is due to begin this year with plans for nine out of 10 homes to be liable for the new fees by 2014.

Two years ago

In October 2010, talks got underway between Siemens and the Government as the energy company had reportedly offered the State a loan so it could begin the task of installing water meters across 1.1 million homes.

On contacting the company this week, TheJournal.ie learned that there is “nothing much happening” in Siemens in relation to this year’s proposals.

However, a spokesperson for the firm said it was “monitoring what is going on”.

He added that the discussions held in 2010 centred on a proposed model of spreading out the cost of the meter, rather than an outright offer.

At the time, it was reported that the cost of the move would be paid back through savings in the Government’s multi-billion euro water services programme.

“Water continues to be an area which is of interest to us,” concluded the spokesperson.

Read: Homeowners will have to pay for their own water meters>

Poll: Should households pay for their own water meters?>

Read next:

Comments (92 Comments)

• Water Ireland ? A new quango being set up.? I wonder will hogan appoint one his buddies to the board like he appointed a friend to some housing commission recently. The same friend happened to be the CEO of homebond. Yes , homebond. The housing structure agency who people were obliged to pay €10k when they bought a new house in the boom . And now homebond are washing their hands of any claims for pyrite damage etc. Sickening kip .

• 40×20=800….are they gold plated water meters?

• So the gov plans to use 450mil from the pension reserve fund to pay for meters, then plan to make us pay 39€ over 20 years… Double the money! Good one gov! Make us pay for a loan from our own money twice over when we are barely coping as it is. They seem to think homeowners are a bottomless pit of easy cash. Did they miss the headlines about people defaulting on mortgages and kids going to bed hungry and a million people with less than 50 Quid disposable income after running their households!? Was it not eamon Gilmore who once scoffed at the idea of charging for water? What happened to his assertive stance on that, never mind his called socialist ethics. This government is toxic.

• Well lets look at Water privatisation (Argentina is a great place to start, IMF involved there too)

http://www.cbc.ca/fifth/deadinthewater/argentina.html

It’s a cracker… Now get scared, get very scared….

• I dont believe there is any intent to make the water board a private group. In fact I believe the report specifically calls for the untility to remain within public ownership.

• Well your very naive. Rem IMF have done this before.

Now let’s look at the job creation of 2000 people… Who do you think will be paying for these people…

Have you ever worked at any serious level in a utility company… Do you know how much it costs to send a single invoice… They have already started by charging €800 for a meter which costs €70… Remember what. Happens during our first big freeze…

This is a complete disgrace, we should be saving costs not increasing them. This whole idea is very badly thought out. But what do we expect from Mr. Hogan…

• Jack,
      Just because you found a link on the internet means nothing? As it stands the water board will stay in public hands. Stop trying to suggest otherwise

• “Stop trying to suggest otherwise”

The whole thing is set up like a private operator… That is the reason for metering…

It looks like at least 40% of the charges for this will be about charging. So checking meters, replacing meters, preparing bills and all the ream of services around them.

Can you tell me were Irish people are wasting water at such a rate that it is economical to charge them. I presume that certain industries are exempt from these charges i.e. farming, brewing, car washs….

I don’t see the reason 40%+ charge to see if people are using a gallon or two too much water… We are not like the rest of Europe. Just bring in a law which states fines for persistent wasting of water… Force some industries (e.g. Car washes) to recycle water… Cost close to zero

To pay for it go for the most efficient way of getting money from the populous, Income Tax…

Household charge and water charges are just stealth taxes…. I don’t see any major waste of water by the civillian population in Ireland when compare to our local authorities…

• total joke,
      one one hand they are talkin about sellin state assets,
      and one the other thinkin of creatin a new state asset?

and yeah decko, we’re to believe that this one will be special,
      and will not be considered for sale at some time in the future?
      maybe when we’re on our 3rd or 4the bailout.
      Merciful Jasus

• Have you a crystal ball Declan?
      I’m sure P&T / Telecom Eireann was supposed to stay in public hands too..
      And what about Coillte and ESB?
      Just because it’s a public company now does not guarantee it will be remaining so in future.
      There is no firm evidence either way besides past experience and current promises..
      State assets have been sold off in the past, and this government have made promises they knew they couldn’t keep. They promise this will remain public, is it prudent or wise to believe them?

• About 12 years ago we signed over our local water scheme to our council. Part of the deal was we had to pay for the upgrade and modernisation of the infrastructure (pipes etc) and install a water meter. So I already have a water meter installed are the government planning to charge me another €800 for a new one?

• Found the elstra v200 water meter featured on a news broadcast this morning for £47 plus change in the uk, 20 year standing charge @ €40 per annum, bit of a difference.

• And imagine how much less it would be for our ‘government’ to buy in the quantities necessary. Niall, can you post a link to that please? We need to pass this info on to everybody as quickly as possible. Thank you.

• The councils will not respond to the hundreds of phone calls coming in each week which have identified broken and leaky pipes but are ready to hit us with meter and usage charges, handy number if you can get it……….

• Am I reading it wrong or do they plan to charge €40 a year for 20 years? Now how much is it going to cost or has my ability to multiply gone out the window.

• I was only wondering myself what happened to Siemens and that ‘offer’. I am glad someone has resurrected this article for comment.

• My water meter was put in 2 years ago. Here’s a link to a bill, http://nalcro.com/pages/water.php by memory I think there was a €250 charge on the meter.

• Ireland is becoming very fast, a country that will soon be inhabitable. If we take into account everything else;
    Bad Planning and Fuel prices sky rocketing – this means people who are earning less money will soon be not able to afford to get to work. For the people who live in an are without rail or other public transport this is a huge problem.
    More kids will go to bed hungry because Mammy or Daddy cannot afford to go get to their jobs. Never mind the kids going to school hungry if this keeps going the way its going the kids wont be able to get to school in some cases.

Water Meters – As mentioned here already, they are taking our money to pay for the meters and then charging us double for the pleasure. My youngest son would be scratching his head trying to figure that one out!
    Now here’s other side of that coin. My water like many other households in this sinking ship is disgraceful. All my taps, sink plugs, shower basically anything the water touches requires vigorous scrubbing every week to remove the lime from it. My heating (Boiler, Rads) have already had to have a major overhaul because of this. When/if this water meter is installed. Who is going to maintain it? I presume we will not be allowed to touch it? When this meter turns into a ball of lime where is the money going to come from to repair/replace it?

A more serious side to this is the families who are on a monthly basis trying to figure what is more important – heating or Lighting as they can only manage one of the bills. When water is thrown into the mix what happens then. Heating Bill – Electricity Bill – Water Bill. The people who are scraping by will not be able to afford this. So we have a scenario where their water is turned off. No drinking water, No washing water, No toilet flushing water. We then start to see a rise in sickness relating to this. Hospitals become even more over crammed, Disease outbreaks. Am I completely wrong here or is starving someone of water against human rights? If we are starved of air we will die. If someone causes the starvation of air it is murder. If a person does not drink fluids they die of dehydration. If another person causes the dehydration it is murder.

This may all sound like an elaborate Hollywood disaster movie, but I think you will find, nothing I have said above is too far away.

• jrbmc 17/04/12 #

A very well written and true comment Stephen we should all print this comment and mail it daily to every government office, let them know how strong the feeling is and that we simply won’t just role over anymore..

• Thank you jrbmc.

I have to say it really scares me how out of touch the government of this country are.
      Not many people in Ireland would complain about paying for something worthy of payment.
      But a couple of major things need to be in place before this is possible.

1 – A service worthy of payment
      2 – The money to pay for the service

At the moment we don’t have either of the above.

• @Stephen It is indeed a basic human right, as acknowledged by the UN with Ireland as a signatory. It would be interesting to see how it pans out in court. Cut off a populations water supply = war crime punishable in the Hague, Cut off 100,000 peoples water supply who simply can’t afford to pay twice for the same thing = ?

• Thank you Too Trueleft.

Amazing! Do the people who are supposed to know these sanctions, rules actually have any clue about their existence?

• If you think this service charge will be only for 20 years you’re fooling yourself. It will be here to stay much like line rental with eircom.

• Very valid point. That rental was initially a public charge too, let’s not forget what eircom was before the Irish people lost their savings investing under the advisement of government..

• The sooner the real people vote out these idiots the better! I can’t wait to vote them out

• And me neither but I am not prepared to wait for the election FF ARE ROTTEN TO THE CORE but THIS GOVERNMENT ARE ROTTEN TO THE CORE AND LIARS THAT DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING CIRLES AND UTURNS AND sorry about capitals hikes in salaries for buddies and quangos I have no confidence in this Government and there should be some route we the public can take to get rid of the /sack them without pensions ….. Our country will never come back we are all heading for the below the poverty line

• Who do you suggest Martin and Bernadette?? Where would you get the taxes to pay for our Guards, Nurses etc.?? I would like to know… And be straight with me…If you think people on over a 100k should be taxed more – say it, If you think corporation tax should be increased – say it….
      At least then, i will have an idea of what your policies are.

• Yes but Martin who will you vote in they are all being led by the nose by europe etc. Any party voted in will have to tow the line untill the people of Ireland say NO like they did in Iceland. Ireland isnt being run by Labour etc any more and wont be for a long long time to come.

• This will suit the Catholic Church, they always thrive where there is poverty.

• It’s not about who you vote for. These are just figureheads, they’re there to give the impression of democracy. In reality it’s the senior civil servants and the EU who tell them what they can and can’t do. This is why no matter who is in power the crapola remains the same.

Until we change the system, vote for whoever you like, it won’t make a blind bit of difference..

• louise 17/04/12 #

More demonstrations

• Aine 17/04/12 #

like the household charge yet again we are been asked to pay for a service we dont have. Its only in the past two years mains water infrastructure was installed in our area. We had to pay €1000 euro to be connected to this, the quality of the water? where do i start, one day you turn on the tap you have black water, next day white chalk water, and i have seen it come out of the tap deep maroon and have the photos to prove it. This is not a once in a blue moon occouranc this happens at least 6/8 times a year. You wouldn’t dream of drinking this water, we buy water to drink. I would be more than happy to pay and i really mean that if there is some sort of standard as regards quality. What exactly are we paying for? Clean water or dirty water?

• jrbmc 17/04/12 #

And I suppose if your lucky enough to move house that you’ll be charged ridiculous fees for reconnection and change of name on the A/s aswell

• Well there you have it boys and girls, a 10 year revenue stream to plug the hole left by the government stealing our taxes to pay wealthy peoples gambling debts. We’re 1% of Europes population and were bullied into taking on the ECBs and European bankers losses. But is this common knowledge in Europe? Is it fu€k. Our ‘leader’ is doing interviews telling Europe that Paddy just got greedy while he stands in the Dail protraying our nation as the proud Countess Kathleen. Two faced little twerp

• it is just another stealth tax, just watch how the service charges to pay for the meters go up every few months till we are paying as much as or more than the household charge for our water which is mostly clouded by cryptospiridiom. Carlow water was unusable for months last year and that was after their new treatment plant had been brought on line!

• I actually believe this is a ‘charge’ and not a tax. Should people be made to pay for water usage the same way as electricity or gas. I think on balance the answer for most people would be yes.

• Should people pay the government to violate their constitutional rights?
      It’s article 40 if I remember correctly, the right to bodily integrity.
      The Irish government is the only EU government that spends a few million per year pumping fluorosilic acid and sodium fluoride into the water supply. This is forced medication, for which I did not give my consent, therefore, the government is violating my right to bodily integrity by continuing with this practice, so I ask again – why should I pay for that?

The reason our EU counterparts don’t do it is a mixture of health, ethical and constitutional concerns.. The EU have warned against using fluoridated water to make baby formula for health reasons, and you are advised to seek medical attention if you swallow toothpaste because of the fluoride content.

I already pay to filter my water. If the stuff that came out of my tap wasn’t full of fluoride and tasted of chlorine I would gladly pay.

• five point plan – gold stars , slavebridge, household charge, water charge, #irishrevolution

• I’m wondering who’s going to be brave, or even mad enough to install the water meters? Will every crew have to have armed guards standing over them? The timing of this couldn’t be worse!

• No, they will just walk in and install it and you’ll say thank you, have a nice day.
      The only complaining you’ll do is on this site.

• Reg 17/04/12 #

Water meters are normally installed outside the boundary to a private property. No need for anyone to walk in anywhere!

• Some business is already planning to make a fortune screwing the people for these meters. lets wait and see who gets the contract. Contracts + government = corruption.

• Our group water scheme was switched over to the council 2 years ago, and at that time, the council installed meters at every house on the scheme – suspect that’s happening with any group scheme that’s looking to the council to take over the management and running.

I have no problem with paying a charge for using water – it’s one of our most precious commodities and should be treated as such – but I favour a pay for use charge, as opposed to blanket charges.

• Most Irish people don’t behave like the thugs who were at the Labour conference at the weekend.

Even then people take their anger out at politicians, not at someone who’s just come off the dole to install these meters. 2,000 construction jobs on the way through water charges.

• David. I sincerely hope you’re right but lets face it, this contract will most possibly go to a foreign firm with foreign workers brought in to carry out the work. I for one would agree with a pay for usage system, I’ll tell you why, I was doing a job in a gentlemans house in Cork some years back, after availing of the toilet I noticed his tap was running fast, I couldn’t turn it off. I reported the problem to the homeowner who informed me it was that way for 10 years! 10 years he had being wasting 100s of litres of water everyday, all for the cost of a fecking washer!

• jrbmc 17/04/12 #

@ Stephen Long Comment
    A very well written and true comment Stephen we should all print this comment and mail it daily to every government office, let them know how strong the feeling is and that we simply won’t just role over anymore..

• The meters are to be installed on the dictat of the Troika, nothing whatsover to do with what might be necessary or needed for a decent water supply. Just another way of robbing the people. sorry, sheeple.

• Yup, with close to 40% of the countries mains water leaking through broken cracked pipes, they are again conning people into believing they are paying for flushing their toilet and guilty for having a longer than avg shower, disgusting seeing that we pay now and have always paid for water and all other services through a central taxation pool, where does your VAT, PRSI, Stamp Duty, USC all go? Ans. 1 big pool where money is then allocated to Dept.’s and services.
      This is nothing short of double taxation, and robbery at that, all to pay for Germany’s gambling.

• Reg 17/04/12 #

Not quite true Damhsa – here’s a little history lesson! Bertie doubled public spending between 1997 and 2007 using the tax receipts from money that was borrowed by our banks from international banks and pumped into the Irish economy largely unchecked and loosely regulated. He also cut income tax and eroded the tax base leaving the country seriously exposed when the downturn came. Most of what the country is now borrowing is for public services/salaries/pensions/social welfare etc. Ireland eventually had to go to the borrower of last resort (EU/IMF) as it was running out of money and couldn’t borrow on the international money markets at sustainable interest rates. One of the conditions of these loans is that it honours the guarantee that Fianna Fail gave about all the debts of the banks. But hey, don’t let the truth get in the way of a good story!

• Ailis your right and the gang attending the Labour party conference looked far from malnourished…………

• jrbmc 17/04/12 #

The issue here is that your not paying for the water really are you , no your paying for the bankers and bondholders

• Give me a break jrbmc…. Its not all about bankers and bondholders….We spend more than we earn…simple as that…either we raise taxes or we cut services….you decide….How would you raise extra taxes to pay for or day to day services…? I am listening.

• Http://www.mytub.co.uk

Range from £47 upwards took me an hour to find a site that did the price, I’d imagine if it was smart metering it will be far upwards of that as the meters need to connect to a HAN as its called or a household area network ie your wireless network at home (revenue stream anyone €4 per mb?), without losing the plot let’s see what decision is made in the cabinet meeting rather than conjecture.

• Thanks for that Niall.

• Declan it’s all about banks and bondholders. Wake up or else go back to sleep. It’s all about banks and bondholders.

We are in so much debt because we’re having to pay fake debts back. And because our citizens are drowning paying back mortgages for overpriced houses, overpriced because of cheap money that fuelled the boom in this country.

And as an aside I don’t want to pay any extra for water cos it rains too much. :)

• @reada, despite your heartfelt efforts, Ireland will for the foreseeable have to pay these debts… So as Declan cotter asked, what do you suggest that politicians and administrators do?

• Just because you says it so Reada??? Sorry, not buying it… Leaving bondholders and bank debt to one side…. We spend way more running this country than we take in. Thats the bottom line. So either we find gold or raise revenue is some way. How do you suggest we pay for our Nurses, Police, Dole etc. etc…. Please tell me???

• Reg 17/04/12 #

Wasting your time Declan, Réada and a few of her cohorts don’t seem to realise that most of what the country is borrowing is for public services/salaries/pensions/social welfare etc. When you have go to the borrower of last resort (EU/IMF) it comes with serious terms and conditions.

• Kinda guessed that Reg.. I am also very aware that I am in the complete minority on this forum… I am pretty sure that increased corporation tax and income tax on people earning over 90k will be suggested…. Well I work for a company that most certainly will leave if we increase the corporation tax and people on 90k and more already pay the majority of the tax in Ireland (In fact I believe up on 80% of income tax is paid by people earning more than 75k)….So where do we go??? Who has the answers???? Lets hear it Reada ‘o great one’…

• Declan.
      How about imposing fines on huge multinationals who habitually dump toxic waste into our rivers? At present a telling off is the worst they get. Surely there’s an EU directive about fines for polluting waterways that we are supposed to be upholding? And if not, why not?

We could save a few million annually by simply not fluoridating the water supply.

After that, when we have cleaned up the mess, used the money saved and obtained to fix the leaky waterways, and our water is clean and useable, I will have no problem paying. As I’ve said many times, I’m already paying to make my own water drinkable, if they save me having to do that, I have no problem paying for it.

• Shanti???
      What are you on about? Suggest a real alternative to gain revenue?

• I wonder how many households will now slip into the “% of households with < €100 disposable per month, after bills" camp on the back of this news? We are slowly being bled dry.

• To those who spout the pimps line “do you expect it for free ” or “where is the money to come from ” I want to tell them life is about priorities for the majority of workers, so generally we don’t blow our wages before we go home then go back and ask for more . Is it not despicable that the government has targeted essentials as their new line of revenue raising, fresh water , the family home , school transport etc etc
    Maybe they might take the novel approach of reducing their spending eg try living on the average industrial wage without expenses, yes I know shocking but unless they are down here in the trenches they really don’t know the damage they have done and are continuing to do. I for one will not be paying any of the new charges and will be avoiding paying into their revenue stream as I await the revolution and the return to government for the people.

• Did you know that only 6%, yes SIX, of the annual rainfall is actually captured and put to good use? That’s why there is a water shortage, clever strategy as usual, create a shortage then jack up the prices. I’ll guarantee that, once established, the water authority will be privatised, that is the whole point.It has happened in many countries already.

• jimbo 17/04/12 #

They can shove there. Meter

• We live on an island surrounded by water, We can’t fish in it! because our fishing rights are gone!
    We can’t swim in it, because of the pollution!, but our Government say we must pay for our water!
    Why can’t we have our sea water treated and used even for domestic work?,,,
    Why can’t we have out rain water that falls on our homes saved for our homes?
    At this day & age and with the shortage of jobs, these ideas should be put to use!
    We are the laughing stock of Europe, People just can’t keep handing out, these costs are causing us all hardship!

• mcbab 17/04/12 #

What a pointless waste of time of all you above Discussing something that no definite decision has been arrived at yet. No one knows what charge for meter or water is on the cards yet but that doesn’t stop people going off on one. For goodness sake wait until the facts are known before commenting. Of course we all know that some of you will refuse to pay no matter what is decided. You seem to have no problem paying your fare or petrol to Galway.

• Right, so people shouldn’t discuss these potential charges? Why not? Which governmental department do you work for?

• Nice circumstantial ad hominem there, pity it doesn’t make your case for you. Whether or not some people could get to Galway or not is completely irrelevant, but nice manipulation attempt.

And what of the valid reasons for not wishing to pay?
      1. We already pay, via our taxes. As was the deal the last time this initiative failed. However, the waterways have not been maintained despite the fact we were paying for them to be, meaning we have leaks, contamination, frequent interruptions to supply and multicoloured water.

2. There’s a large number of people who have terrible lime problems, and already have to spend extra replacing equipment more regularly than should be necessary.

3. It’s fluoridated. Sorry, but theres no sound evidence to support this practice (and a lot of evidence to discourage it). This is forced medication, without consent – with a drug that causes dental fluorosis at the very least (and possibly bone cancer too), this violates my right to bodily integrity as enshrined in the constitution.

4. We don’t impose fines on multinationals who pollute our rivers. I’ve a friend from Rathfarnam, GSK destroyed the river near his house, they didn’t even get a slap on the wrist, my ex’s job was to do environmental audits on big factories and some of the stories he told me were quite shocking, but there was no political will to curtail it.

This is why *I* am opposed. I pay for filters to make my water drinkable, if the stuff that came out of my tap was clean, and I wasn’t already paying for it, I would have no issue with it.

• Alice 17/04/12 #

That’s a relief. Maybe this government aren’t as bad as everyone says.

• Do people on this blog believe that water should be free?

• Not at all Declan.
      I will gladly pay for clean, drinkable water. Water which does not destroy my house.
      Water in which I don’t have to filter through my fridge in order to take out “The white floaty bits” as my kids call it.

What the majority of people on this blog though think though I’m sure is “We have to pay for another thing which is worthless??”

• Yes

• You still use it though Stephen? To wash , flush toilets etc?

• Of course I do. What else am I supposed to do with waste and dirty clothes.
      At the moment it is free, therefor i am not kicking up too much of a fuss with the damage it is causing my house and I am installing appropriate measures to stop everything else from breaking.

What a ridiculous retort – If this is the standard of your debating skills I’m afraid I will bow out now and leave you to continue on.

• Water in this country is not, and never has been free Declan. It has always been paid for through our taxes, both direct and indirect. Now, I know at the moment the tactic of repeating something often enough until people taking it at face value is being employed by the most vociferous FG lackeys, but this is just a simple fact. We are being asked to pay twice for the same thing.

• Correct me if I’m wrong but won’t we be paying for this three times? Through central taxation that had previously been allocated to local authorities to fund water services, through the new household tax which we will be paying to – in the parlance of the coalition – “fund local services”, and then again in charges for installation of meters and water rates to the “transitional” ‘Irish Water’.

Last year my local authority spent €29 Million on Water Services (€43.8 in expenditure less €14.3 in revenue), if they are now being divested of that responsibility at the same time that I am being asked to fund them directly while there is no concomitant reduction in the taxes I ALREADY pay to fund their operations am I not paying for the same service effectively THREE times? (not including the fact that I am being footed with the bill for the infrastructure which they will use to extract payments from me)

• I suggest that they do what they were elected to do. What they said they were going to do. “Not another cent!”

Stop behaving as if we are a flipping company. We’re a country fgs.

• Can i just say this…People on this forum believe for some reason that the rates of taxation in Ireland (Direct and Indirect ) are especially high relative to other countries….They are not!!! So I am afraid you income tax does not cover all these things anymore… Its was all fine during the boom when we had money rolling in via stamp duty etc…Now its gone I am afraid so we either pay or do without. Simple as that.

• Declan,
      Water Meters are a hugely inefficient way of collecting money from a people. The most effective way is VAT or Income tax which are already in place and easy to implement.
      This government are like a broken record in trying to implement stealth taxes like we are stupid…

2000 job to collect at most €180 million is grossly inefficient. There salaries alone could (€40,000 avg) would be €80 million. Revenue could do the same thing with better equity with the stoke of a pen.
      Declan, you lack the understanding of how much money is going to be wasted…. The local athorities waste by far the most water in this country and did nothing about it for years…

Add New Comment