TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Confirmed: Noonan announces deal on promissory notes

The government had been in negotiations for some time with the European Central Bank over the €3.1 billion note which was due to be paid by this Saturday.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

MINISTER FOR FINANCE Michael Noonan has announced a deal has been agreed on the €3 billion promissory note payment which was due to be paid by Saturday.

The payment of the promissory notes are to be deferred and have instead been swapped for a long-term government bond.

Michael Noonan made the announcement in the Dáil just after 4pm today. (Watch the Dáil chamber live here).

He told the chamber: ”There is a very definite gain in debt sustainability”:

The use of an Irish Government bond in relation to the promissory note payment allows the wider discussions to continue between the Irish Authorities and the Troika, both on the promissory notes arrangement and on how to advance the return to normality of the Irish banking system thus improving the availability of banking services in support of economic recovery.

Noonan said that the long-term bond had a number of significant advantages, most notably a significant cash flow benefit to the Exchequer in 2012.

“Put simply, €3.06 billion will be settled by delivery to IBRC of a long-term Government bond with an equivalent fair value,” said the Minister.

The government had been negotiating with the European Central Bank for some time over the payment.

The promissory note was used to fund the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation – formerly Anglo Irish Bank and Irish Nationwide – when the financial institutions came close to running out of money.

The arrangement requires the State to make cash payments of €3.06 billion each year to the IBRC.

The new deal will aim to reduce Ireland’s debt burden from the banking crisis. Several government TDs have suggested that a deal on the promissory notes would help the government secure a Yes vote on the upcoming fiscal compact referendum.

More on this as it happens…

As it happened: Central Bank Governor questioned over repayment of the Anglo promissory note >

Businessman seeks judicial review of act related to promissory notes >

Read next:

Comments (154 Comments)

• Promissory note into sovereign debt great achivement Mr Noonan.

• Plus, Dáil Reform Fine Gael style – statements on the Promissory Note announcement aren’t allowed, because time needs to be made available to discuss… Sheep Worrying in the Cooley Mountains!!!

• If ye are not happy with this fiasco – be heard. Come out in your droves this Saturday. Bring the whole family. Gathering at 1pm at Garden of Remembrance. We shall then march onto Convention Centre where FG are holding their Árd Fheis.

We need to show these bully boys that we are not afraid. We are together on this. That we want our sovereignty back and that if they’re not capable that we’ll do it ourselves. It’s time to send a strong message. They should fear us – not us them.

They are incapable of making the right decision for Ireland and our future. They have no courage. Time we showed them we have!

• The promissary note was soveriegn debt i.e. owed by a sovereign State.

• Yippee, all our troubles are over, we have a “sovereign” debt now instead of a “promissory note” debt – crack open the champagne, to celebrate our finance minister – he is a genius

• John 29/03/12 #

Can we get these FG traitors out of Government before they destroy this Nation of ours?
      Kenny the Traitor proudly states several “game-changing” agreements have been signed with the Chinese…he’s agreed to sell this Country for a price and the muppet doesn’t even understand the significance of his actions.
      FF raped this Country from the bottom up, but these FG’s are raping the Country from the top down.

• maura 29/03/12 #

JOHN Who do you suggest we elect to run the country

• John 29/03/12 #

Maura, that’s a good question. Are there any honest Politicians left in this Country to elect anymore (or does it matter?). I feel Kenny & Co have put up a “for sale” sign on this Country…just wait and see what the Chinese will do to the Thousands’ of Acres of Coillte woodland when they get their hands on that?

• I couldn’t agree more with you John. I’v said this before but here it goes again, I really feel FG could do more damage to this country in the short term than FF ever did! And that’s saying something because I bloody despise FF.

And the Chinese ciolte thing, am I right in saying that Enda has agreed to sell all the wood on the land and not the land! Could you tell me if I’m correct on that, maybe you’d know?

• Stick around, Ben Gunn. You sound like you have a f___ing notion what you’re talking about.

• Maura. I’ll tell you who I think we shouldn’t vote for first. I wouldn’t vote for anyone from what Melia calls the FiannaGaeLabour Party. They have well and truly proved to be one and the same.

I really think it’s time we voted for people who wouldn’t dare call us Ireland Inc. I’ll be voting ULA and Sinn Féin at the next election. I’m calling it GE13. That is if they last that long.

• John 29/03/12 #

Ryan, it’s ‘only’ the raw material for sale, not the Land. But sure we can ‘grow’ wind turbines in their place!

• Nice one, extend the repayments over twenty five years instead of five so Irish people not yet born will be paying for Seanie Fitzpatrick’s shenanigans, then try to convince us you’ve struck a big deal in an effort to hoodwink us into voting yes on another treaty! Do these numpties think we’re fools, do they think we came down in the last shower? They ought to remember the majority of the Irish population were intelligent enough not to vote Fine Gael in the last election.

• Thanks there John. I’m glad it’s ‘only’ the raw materials however it really wouldn’t surprise me if they sold the land! …… And got the money from the sale thirty years later !! Ha cheers

• @ Reada , I’m with you all the way. I despise FF, I have never given 1 single vote to either FG or Lab in my life and am very proud to say that. When this gang of gobshites were elected I could have sworn I heard the death bell toll for Ireland. Last March I gave this government 18 months in office and I’m keeping everything crossed that I will be proven right.

• Hi Anne. According to the thumb votes on this lefty website there’s still a lot who still enjoy a good kicking from the FiannaGaeLabour Party. I hope to god they have their fill before the next GE and take a walk on the wild side! God love them. ;)

• Ireland’s worst kept secret. And it’s not a deal, can’t understand how they are all going to say how this is such a big achievement, they’ve magiced fake money into real money with big interest, well done lads. WRITEDOWN is what we want.

• Write down my backside. Write OFF is what we want. Why should these promissory notes be turned into sovereign debt? Fake unbacked by gold money was flooded into this country and loaned out by Anglo et al.

These were merely figures on computer screens. Where did all the money go? It is one big con. Don’t be fooled by fools.

• Fantastic, lets turn fake IOU money that we don’t owe from one of the worst banks ever to have graced planet earth, into real tangible sovereign debt that we will owe cause of this governments ineptitude and lies!! Great day for Ireland my backside!

• howzat 29/03/12 #

Greece get a big write off for fiddling their books for decades
    Ireland gets lumbered with a debt for a 3rd party bank at the time fiddling their books
    Greece has limped through changing their economy and gets a pat on the back and gets a large chunk written off
    Ireland embraces changes immediately and gets fucked with a 3 billion to offload in the future

What a plonker to agree this it gives us nothing

I’m tempted to say to leave the euro and go to sterling at least we ll be a little more than the dog crap we ate in Europe right now

Oh and when are they going to jail anybody for the devastation they have done with our kids

• Cue the FG spin! You just made a short term debt into a long term debt! What’s so great about that? It will still have to be paid and now with interest.

Sorry lads but it is still a “no” from me.

• Financial treason against our people. FGs own Peter Matthews stated that the date on the promissary note could have been pushed out indefinitely without it being a default. Imaginary money created out of thin air to save european banks asses now becomes the debt of the Irish people and will cripple the future generations of our country. Next up…fine gael convincing us to lock ourselves into austerity with this new debt overhang. TRAITORS.

• Fagan's 29/03/12 #

While this is better than the lead boots that Bozo Lenihan forced on the Irish people to save his parties friends. It still does not address the problem of long term sustainability and how this debt should never have been taken on by the state.

A write off off this morally offensive debt is still the only solution.

• Aldo 29/03/12 #

Watch this space. Dept of finance have been blocking BoI from offering “favourable” redundancies. If BoI shareholders approve the funding of the bond, I bet that a couple months down the line redundancies will be announced (with favourable terms) Boucher has yet to be interviewed by Central Bank under the probity tests announced last year. He was employed by BoI before and during the crisis. Will he lose his job?? I doubt it… Capital cronyism in action…

• So, had we not got this deal, would we have defaulted on Saturday?

Why are deals like this left unresolved until the last minute?

Oh and I should perhaps use the term “restructuring of debt” instead of “deal”

• Some thing we could have got out of now becomes set in stone and interest on interest for 20 odd years !!’
    Is feidir linn my arse !!!

• Should we expect €3bn to be pumped in to the economy to stimulate spending and job creation now its not going to the mob?

• This is not a deal that benefits Ireland. It turns the promissory note into a sovereign bond and kicks the payment down the road to 2025. More spin.

• Honestly `, truly, disgusted and angry over this bad arrangement . You are not capable noonan.

• Rant rant rant. Do you have a notion what you’re talking about at all? Explain this deal to me. Why is it worse than handing over 3.06bn euro in two days time?

• BECAUSE – Impartial Eclipse they have turned the Bank debt into Sovereign debt and by doing so Squeaky Noonan has made sure that there will be NO writedown or writeoff of the now non existing banking debt.

• Impartial Eclipse
      Yes I know what I am talking about , and no I chose not to explain it to YOU . This debt is noit our debt .

• Way to go, Suzer.

Ann, the only problem with your analysis is that the Anglo debt is already included in our debt to GDP ratio. So how does it suddenly now as a result of this deal become sovereign debt? And why does it exclude a future “writedown or writeoff of the now non existing banking debt”? Indeed, what do the last 4 words in the previous sentence mean?

Folks, sorry for asking awkward questions. Don’t take it to mean that I think that Anglo debt is our debt or that I think this deal is the bee’s knees. But I do think that we need to have an informed debate – not just people putting up angry posts and making random statements to get loads of thumbs up clicks.

• Impartial Eclipse
      you are welcome :)

• Look at it what ever way you like but this debt is not that of the people of Ireland its a bank debt owed to bondholders and should never have been placed on the shoulders of the people of Ireland and their children, kicking the can down the road will not make it go away.

• Great accomplishment. All on the same day it was revealed that the IRBC (Anglo) boss made €100,000 for every €100,000,000 he lost. Man I need that job.

• To be fair, the loss includes a 1.6bn impairment provision. If you don’t count that, because after all it is not real money, he is in profit operationally, by a substantial amount. Behind that headline figure there is an actual story…

• Nah, I’d rather be lazy and generalise. I fit in better. Thanks for the input though. We’ll take your comments on board and present them to the committee and see I we can get movement on a positive result.

• This is a good deal, for one simple reason. In 2025, we will be back in the international money markets with the capability to borrow to refinance this debt. That is how sovereign debt works, it is never actually paid back, just refinanced over and over again. In essence, it is getting a loan from Peter to pay Paul, and it is the strategy that is used throughout the world. It is what the NTMA and it’s equivalents around the world do. The problem is, if we tried to refinance it now, we wouldn’t be able to, because the rate we would be charged for 10 year paper would be be unsustainable. It is certainly a better solution than taking 3.06 billion out of the economy each year for 10 years.

• it’s not your debt, how is it a good deal?

• Aldo 29/03/12 #

“Give me control of a nation’s money and I care not who makes it’s laws” — Mayer Amschel Bauer Rothschild

• jimbo 29/03/12 #

None of this is a good deal

• aldo,
      way over the heads of the narrowminded,
      no, not just narrowminded but also small minded Fine Gaels
      air heads.

Sadly, too, most either don’t understand it
      or write it off a conspiracy nonsense.

oh well……….

• Paul, that’s a crucial error. It wasn’t our debt, but it is now. The promissory notes were issued by the minister to Anglo, and so were essentially debt instruments, contrived and unusual as they are. Unfortunately we need to move beyond the argument that this debt is not ours. It well and truly is now, and the question is how best to manage it, not how to avoid it.

• Ultan,
      Try this for an analogy to your comment. My credit card was robbed, maxed to the limit with interest, I don’t have to pay just tell the bank to toss off that it’s not my debt, but no I then go and get a bigger platinum card with a bigger limit so I can pay off the first card!

Now I’m no economist but debt in any form is bad. Debt that does not belong to us is worse and delaying this debt putting on the long finger is just national suicide NO its Fu€ing unbelievable…..

• howzat 29/03/12 #

You left out the interest payments and the mature dates in 10 years ensuring the high taxes will remain long term no matter how the economy performs
      I’ll break it to my 10 year old gently

• Top Class! Well Done Noonie – So my kids will probably still be paying for this when they reach working age!

What is bewildering me is the fact that they are still protecting the guys who are responsible for this…

• JOE WHAT IDIOTS GIVE A THUMB DOWN FOR A COMMENT LIKE THAT , IS SEANIE COWEN AND BERTIE OUT THERE

• Alas Dermot it just goes to show the mentality of the people that are out there.

Again I ask, why is so much time and effort being focused on taking money from people yet no time or effort has been spent on bringing the clowns that caused this to justice.

Noonie is as bad if not worse as his predecessor – FG/LAB are out to protect their rich friends and f*ck the rest of us!

• No just FG’ers

• FG’ers are storming the chat to try and make a miserable deal look slightly less miserable.

• Too right Gavin, seen it many times before, it’s like a co-ordinated attack on the fourm and the overwhelming opinions that go against this government. They bombard with drivel and spin and if it dosnt givyhete way, they resort to bullying and put downs. I won’t name names, you can see who they are for yourself, but isn’t it quite fitting how these people and their behaviour back the current government in all it’s misery, now that’s the underlying meaning!! I’m glad you spotted the tactic too.

• The simple reason these problems aren’t getting sorted – the bigger they are the harder they fall; some of the people making the decisions have a long way to fall.

• sbourke 29/03/12 #

Did Ff get us into a situation beyond return or is this down to Fg

• G 29/03/12 #

Both equally responsible FF caused it, FG just carrying on where FF left off. FG have had no balls in dealing with ECB/IMF. They’re simply lapdogs, yes men, lackys.

• There’s no difference between the two. Our Democratic system is an illusion were they offer you a fake choice to keep you happy. They being the Banker Elite. They have us in cheque mate unless we stand up and change the rules.

• Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Personally id prefer we put this away until we can afford to deal with it. Right now, the money could be spent better elsewhere. Perhaps we can now work on writing down some or all of the debt but I am delighted the payment has been put aside.

• mcbab 29/03/12 #

Kevin you are the voice if sanity !! Practically the only one on here!!!

• I have more pressing things on my mind then spellings. Its amazing you can see my mistakes but you fail to see the huge mistakes that the gov are making! My use of your instead of you’re is hurting nobody were the gov mistakes are hurting millions now and every future generation! Get your priorities right (no spelling corrections please)

• Drivel pure drivel……
      @kevin, that’s right hide it away, kick the can as far down the road as you can sure it will be your grand kids that have to pay it. Elephant in the room anyone?! Why pay other people’s debts now when you can pay other people’s debt later with interest!
      I don’t believe the lackies on here.

• Usual posts i see…. Its getting boring….

• Very true…

• When we blindly adopt a religion, a political system, a literary dogma, we become automatons. We cease to grow.
      Anais Nin

• Go have a party Declan with the rest of the fools who see this as a good move.

• @dermot – um, no-one on this sub-thread has said this debt swap is good, there’s just been a ( valid, in my opinion ) criticism of the repetition of the same old opinions on these posts..

• Declan and john…here’s a little tip for ya for free…don’t read the bottom half of the internet. Especially if you find it ‘boring’. You’re welcome!

• Declan you’re Right!!!!
      There is a boring repetition of the same old ‘not my debt’ ‘,don’t panic don’t pay’, ‘Noonan is a gobshite’, ‘Kenny is a traitor’ malarkey coming across on these comment threads. Know why? Nothing’s changed. It’s the same old, same old. After a year of lies and broken promises the position is worse, the poor are poorer and the rich are richer. This always happened with FG in power. If true to nothing else they are true to tradition.
      The ‘tax on children’s footwear’ party are are back at the helm!

• @ Niamh – this isn’t the Internet, it’s a site on the Internet. The Internet does have a bottom half.

Speaking only for myself, I’m not complaining about the fact that people have opinions and feel free to express them, this is a good thing. What’s annoying me are the posts that, rather than giving the original poster their due, simply rewrite the same point ( barely ) and stick it up as if it was their own idea. 100 posts with 100 different opinions = great. 100 posts with 1 idea = a chunk of ego-stroking and “me too”-ism. If you agree with someone, say so. Don’t steal the thought and present it as your own.

Post over. Let the stone throwing begin.

• john,
      100 different opinions on whether turning promissory notes
      into sovereign debt is a success or rubbish?

100 opinions that are all different!! haha john

You can probably break this issue down to 3 overall opinions
      1. good
      2. pointless and not good
      3. don’t know/don’t care

But, no john, u’ll only be ‘happy’ with 100′s of different opinions.

You have made me ‘happy’ by giving me a laugh,

• So, 3 possible opinions but 109 posts and counting?

I’m speaking generally about a lot of posts repeating the same content, rather than commenting on what comes before. To give you your credit, adding to what’s there rather then just cutting and pasting is what you’ve done, so respect.

Glad I’ve made you laugh, never enough of that these days :-)

• john,
      the laughs are few and far between these days alright.

it just seems a bit much from declan cotter to have posted his
      “Usual posts i see…. Its getting boring….”

Ive been following the journo for a while now
      and for him to say that is yet another laugh (thanks declan)
      as practically every post of his is totally pro government
      and frankly is not just boring for someone like me who is not
      affiliated to any party,
      its becoming irritating too.
      He’s not alone of course,
      theres a contingent of FG members here,
      and that is their right,
      but to hear them congratulating the gubbermint at every turn
      gets too much.
      Are they capable of independent thought?
      I do wonder…..

• Well you know what to do so Decco Cotter – go away and unless you have something valid to say then do most of us a favour and dont say anything.

• @john coniffe…the bottom half the internet….that was a joke…

• Delay in paying it until 1st June by any chance. Write down now please or move along, theres nothing to see here folks.

• Your an IDIOT michael noonan

• It’s “you’re” as in “you are”. Ironicially, you’re the idiot.

• jimbo 29/03/12 #

Gobsh1te more like it he just said on news its basically to get the government out of a mess.
      So he is saying fcuk you ireland and fcuk the taxpayer

• skeolawn 30/03/12 #

O’Duffy became active in the fascist movement and was given command of the Army Comrades Association (also known as Blueshirts). O’Duffy renamed the movement the National Guard. He also organized marches, flags, salutes (“Hail O’Duffy) based on those in Nazi Germany. This led to fighting in the streets between the National Guard and left-wing groups. In August 1933 the government banned the National Guard from marching to Leinster Lawn.

The following month O’Duffy helped establish the Fine Gael Party. O’Duffy became president of the party but he caused considerable controversy when he described the Irish Republican Army as a communist organization.

• so if doesnt need to be paid until 2025. what is the interest on €3.1billion?…or does it really matter, we are f..ked anyway…

• Any type of write down would be considered a default and all hell would break loose. This is just the start of a strategy to work out something much better and time is required for this. It’s so easy to demand things when you are sitting on the fence and you don’t have to deal with the heads in the ECB etc who are so difficult they would cut us lose in an instant. Ye of little faith have patience. Noonan and Honohan have done a good job in the teeth of fierce opposition in Europe. It would be a different story if we refused to pay and just defaulted. Every salary, pension and welfare payment would be halved and all our debts called in immediately. It would be a disaster.

• Thank God for some sanity on here.

• Uuughh….. I simply can’t understand your logic.

This is abysmal news! Where’s my noose..

• South Dublin & David, Firstly calling people insane for wanting what is legal and just is moronic. You’ll have to forgive me and the Irish public for being sceptical. The usual arrogant posts from people on here claiming people are insane and negative are pathetic. I voted for Fine Gael as I was promised debt would be written down to realistic levels, not sovereign debt, banking debt that we have to pay. I am a capitalist and believe in a free market. I believe businesses etc should be allowed to fail. On the other hand there are many left leaning people who are very angry because of what has gone on. If you some how think that it’s a great result to take the worst aspects of socialism and capitalism and muddle them together to create an Ireland where we have debt WE DO NOT OWE AND WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PAY, it’s your sanity would want to be checked!

• but we don’t own that debt, Do you not understand it is bond holders private debt and he has negotiated it and made it public real debt. Are you naieve.

• Fagan's 29/03/12 #

It is not possible to pay back this debt, no one believes it is. I’d be fairly confident in saying that Enda and Noonan know this as well.

The only question is what kind of write down and how will we restructure mortgage debt. Any thing else is just delaying the inevitable and postponing growth.

• I disagree with you ‘South’; Legislation could have been drawn up to pass Anglo to the remaining bondholders thus making them the shareholders – the bank is automatically bankrupt and no soverign default, also, that would allow capitalism to do what its supposed to do. The markets wouldnt so much as sniff at that,infact our outlook as an investment would have been greatly increased, they dont have feelings or morals, they look at you for investment and your capability to make a return. Today we have entered economic fairytale land, by making the debt into a bond we have officially declared it as soverign debt. Now, this new bond debt, which at this stage everybody(except the Irish government and the EU bureaucrats) is of a consenus that it is totally unsustainable, has sealed the Irish Nations Soverign default. Up until today we had a chance to write off that debt by way of a legally fair manner, instead, our destiny is sealed and the markets wont so much as give us the finger. It will be dressed up or dressed down and renamed and re-worded but, at the end of the day, it will be the Irish Soverign default. Today that has become fact, its not buying us time to manouvere, we have just locked ourselves into a really tiny room with one way out; Soverign default.

• Greece got E100 billion writen off it debt and the stock market actually went up!

Iceland is doing very well with their write off

These are not our debts. The gambling debts of Seanie Fitzpatrick have now become sovereign debt

We would be back in the markets the minute these debts were written off, as irealnd’s debts would then be down to a more manageable level

• A good point well made! A rare dose of reality amid the “why can’t we just not pay” brigade.

• Don’t fall for the bribery tactic. You make a deal with the devil and no good will come of it. Arrest these traitors now. Our time is coming again where the people should rise up and throw off this corrupt government. Start now with your NO vote to protest this deceitful gang of criminals and their paymasters in the Euro Bank

• Aldo 29/03/12 #

“The few who understand the system, will either be so interested from it’s profits or so dependant on it’s favors, that there will be no opposition from that class.” — Rothschild Brothers of London, 1863

• FG have sold out the country and it’s people! Time the people fought back!Take to the streets ,let your voice be heard!

• So the solution is to default and drive the country into chaos is it lads? A bit of intelligent conversation is needed here instead of rehashing what the tabloids say…

• That’s exactly the point I’ve been trying to make.

• Mike not a good argument. I am in the no camp & feel that default is a real option but most definately this is good news & I welcome it cautiously. However Im one of the people that believe in compromise & I am not naive enough to believe that the no camp & the yes camp have all the answers that lies somewhere in the middle. However politicians a very dangerous they are naive & slow at making important decisions. Politics never moved history people do & while I believe in democracy I believe our leaders do not have a grasp on this situation & they are believeing in 2 leaders that both are due for elections in their own countries. Now you know what politicians do for elections & both of them look.like loosing. So they must be seen to take the hard line on the poorer states. Now you can play along with that but I wont, but we agree this is good news.

• @Mike. How exactly is it that the sky will fall down if Ireland defaults on the promissory notes.
      http://www.stephendonnelly.ie/category/policy/finance/promissory-notes/

• So Mike if whats said on here doesn’t comply with your opinion then its not intelligent. MY thoughts and opinions are MINE and not a verbal regurgitation of what is written in british rags. And Icelands not doing too badly!!

• I never suggested people are insane. I’m just asking for realism. I don’t like the situation any more than the rest of you. In political and diplomatic circles you can’t go bullheaded into something cos it’s the ordinary person who comes out worse in the end. I know it’s horrible and disgusting what’s happened. Don’t think the Greeks have gotten away with anything. Their country is ruined. They are in dire straights and won’t recover for a long time if ever. We have a better chance of recovery if the gov hold their nerve and play a long game. I’m also a positive thinking person and don’t do whining and doomsday scenarios. It serves no purpose.

• howzat 29/03/12 #

We would be in better shape if they wrote it off and encouraged us to continue with balancing the current expenditure budget

• skeolawn 30/03/12 #

How do you define “realism”? We’ve been pretty patient so far. At some point we need to recognize the current approach isn’t working either for Ireland or for the rest of Europe, and try something different.

• This is not a benefit that helps Ireland. It turns the promissory note into a sovereign bond and kicks the paying down the road to 2025. More spin which I hope is fooling no one .

• G 29/03/12 #

This gov and this guy Noonan is a shambles….I’m embarrassed seeing these people mentioned in international news.

• jimbo 29/03/12 #

Fuel cuts and household charge dropped

• Jumbo… HHC and fuel cuts I think that is for Saturday Garden of remembrance .ironic that Garden of REMEMBRANCE for a protest to start there on Saturday that the G of R is a place to remember all of who fought fir our Freedom
      Today we have just signed away that very thing that we lost great Irish men and women for Thank you Noonan Kenny Hogan Etc Etc etc you are ALL TRAITORS and should be arrested and charged with TREASON

• Madam la Guillitine is being sharpened Mr Noonan be afraid….

• Say no. Drop out of Euro. Default on bank debt. Devalue by 25%. Re-attach to Sterling. Spend only what we have until money gets cheap again. Wait for the boom when Irish money returns from germany and uk at mega profit for those wise souls who got out.

• Petty abuse. Ill-informed and prejudicial comment. Righteous anger posing as policy. How glad I am that the government of this country is not in the hands of the bulk of posters on this thread. Some facts for the reality-deniers amongst us:

1. The promissory notes ARE treated exactly the same as sovereign debt. This deal has changed the description of this debt, but not the practical effect of it. It remains what it always has Benin since SF, FG and FG voted for it, I.e. a debt obligation on the Irish sovereign.

2. Default is a fool’s option, delivering relief on interest payments but closing down the State’s access to external funding. Given we have a fiscal deficit of €18 billion, choking off troika funding would collapse public services, social protection and pensions.

3. This deal relieves the State of the obligation to shell out over €3 billion NOW. That’s a direct saving to the taxpayer and helps further stabilise the public finances. Restructuring the debt to push its repayment out further enables the the twin actions of inflation and economic growth to erode the real value of this debt burden, reducing our commitment even further in real terms.

These are the facts. This is a good deal for Ireland.

• I am impressed, this makes the best out of a bad situation. This keeps €3.06 billion in the exchequer for 2012, and gives us loads of time to negotiate a write down once we go back to the money markets in late 2013. Instead of destroying that cash we get to put it to good use. Brilliant actually.

• Great news! Provides us with a bit of space and wiggle room. Well done to Noonan and his team for a job well done. We can and will get out of this horific situation.

• Oh fantastic, so my two kids (who are currently aged 10 and 8) will have to pay through their tax for the crimes of FF and their banker/developer friends. This country makes me sick, I am thoroughly ashamed to call myself Irish, we are a joke of a nation.

• Right. So you’d prefer that we handed over 3.06bn euro in two days. Thanks for that.

Given the views you’ve expressed here on Nazi war criminals, I’d be ashamed to consider you Irish. So, you don’t have to stay here, you know.

• Yea i would prefer that we hand over the 3bn in two days.

And re my comments on Nazi war criminals: please do try to understand my comments if you in turn are going to refer to them. Otherwise you demonstrate a real lack of coherence.

• Anton
      I agree with you . This is a disgraceful decision by noonan. I hate the idea that my sons will be paying this debt and as for the people who agree with this decision and welcomes that children will be paying it in years to come well , if you can not be loyal to your children how can you be loyal to your nation? This is a dark night .

• 30/03/12 #

Michael

Would you care to search in Google for ‘Srinivasan Devrajan TSB’ and do justice for widows and orphans of Ireland?

A Chara

The Common Informer

• maybe I am missing something ,can someone explain how excatly is this 3.6billion debt been paid back . and for how long.

• Where is my post? I put it up two mins ago and it’s disappeared. Did I not say the right thing?

Add New Comment