Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Noonan: ‘I never promised I’d burn senior bondholders’

MICHAEL NOONAN has insisted that Fine Gael had never promised that it would unilaterally burn senior bondholders in Ireland’s banks – although the party is supportive of doing so.

Speaking in the Dáil this afternoon, Noonan said that while he had always felt that the price of repairing the banking sector should be shared with private bondholders, this had never been a pre-election promise of Fine Gael’s.

Instead, he said, he had always added the qualification that the support of the European Central Bank would be required if Ireland was to proceed with any plan which would see its banks opt out of repaying any of their bonds.

Noonan was answering questions on the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation’s decision to honour a $1bn bond issued by Anglo Irish Bank - despite that bond not being covered under the terms of the government’s blanket guarantee.

Noonan told independent TD Stephen Donnelly that while the European Central Bank’s support would be needed if IBRC was to decide to default on that bond, “the ECB’s consent was not forthcoming.”

“Negotiation with European authorities is a lengthy process,” the minister said, adding that it had taken the government five months to secure a cut on the interest rate charged to Ireland’s EU-IMF loans. “It goes inch by inch, and we’re moving it forward inch by inch.”

Donnelly had asked Noonan to elaborate on comments made in the Dáil last week, when Noonan recounted advice given by Brian Lenihan that the EU-IMF programme would be withdrawn if Ireland had decided not to honour the banks’ bonds.

Noonan said he believed this to be the case when Lenihan was in office, but that no similar threat “has been made to me, in all my meetings in Brussels, by anybody. They’ve all been very, very supportive.”

Donnelly accused Noonan of campaigning in the General Election on the basis that the banks would ‘burn’ their bondholders, even in spite of Lenihan’s insistence that doing so would put the EU-IMF deal at risk.

“What you’re doing now is using information from Fianna Fáil, from last November, which you ignored during the election… you’re using that to justify what you’re saying,” he said.

Noonan replied to say that Donnelly was “like other opposition deputies – you always insist on half-quoting me.”

“I never said it was Fine Gael policy, in government, to burn bondholders unilaterally… I campaigned on that basis in opposition, right through election.”

Earlier, Noonan had confirmed to Fianna Fáil’s Michael McGrath that the Financial Regulator had said it did not want powers allowing it to set mortgage interest rates on behalf of retail banks.

The regulator was instead keen “to use the powers he has, along with his powers of persuasion – which are considerable – to affect the interest rate,” Noonan said.

Read Next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• David Patrick 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The bondholders should be burnt along with the corrupt developers,bankers,politicians and others on a nice big bonfire!

• Orion 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Yea and then David patrick can run the government, run the banks and develop the country all by himself!

• ged_star 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Why can’t we just burn the lying politicians at the stake, this country is run by the IMF anyway.
      Enda “Nee Bertie Ahern” Kenny and Micheal “Nee Brian Cowen” Noonan.
      Same SH^TE different gobshites ruining the Country

• Don Booker 24/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t think we should burn anyone – let’s send them to Rockall.

• Paul 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh you they did

• Kerry Blake 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Did not Noonan and co meet with the IMF/EU & ECB before the GE? Suspect he knew exactly what the view was of the ECB but just decided not to air it.

• Paul 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Oops oh yes they did

• Maeve Kelly 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Liar liar pants on fire… Essentially it’s ok to have morals if your not in power

• Toureag 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Noonan changes his story daily, making us more difficult to believe him….so why is he afraid of truth?

• HELLO SPRUIKER 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

”I never promised I’d burn senior bondholders”

Sound like something a cranky child would say.

No.

Apologies children.

Sounds like something Fianna Fail would say.

• Oskar Fritsche 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh yes you did! Mr Noonan. as you were pinning for your election.

• David Green 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

As I said before on this forum this government should not have been elected we just changed one set of muppets for another set of muppets. Are we stupid or what. Lets get them out before they do more damage.

• smithan_irl 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Let’s not kid ourselves here. Even if he did say it, FG are not running the show, the IMF / EU (well France and Germany) are.

• Peter Carroll 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

And Gilmore promised it would be Labours way, not Frankfurts way. But then as Willie O’Dea told us when explaining his Perjury case, you don’t expect things said ” in the cut and thrust” of a General Election to come back to haunt you. Politicians will say what it takes to get your vote.

Anyway Fine Gael and Labour got in, not on their respective mandates, but because they are not Fianna Fial.

• Eamonn Zaidan 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/news/noonan-intends-to-burn-aib-irish-nationwide-bondholders/

So now the Minister has changed his tune since June 15 2011

He should be brought before a Dail committee to state where he and the Government exactly stand on the issue.

Reforming politics in Ireland, it’s a joke, Fine Gael/Labour in Government together is now becoming a joke, a Labour Minister resigning today is indicative of what is going on in the background of the corridors of power that is called Leinster House.

At the rate and speed at which Kenny & Co are ramming through the EU/IMF bailout, they have split the Labour party, do FG care, NO, should Labour care? YES! At this pace, this government will not last.

• Bazza 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Ehhh Eamon,

it says TWICE in the story you quote that Michael Noonan said he would do it *provided he could get the suppot of our European partners*.

As MN said himself, ‘why do people half-quote’ what he said ??

• Eamonn Zaidan 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

@Bazza I totally agree but with the following issue I have.

Which is why I have suggested a clarification once and for all, I think that is a very simple request.

It is vague as to who are ‘European Partners’ are, do you know who Noonan refers to? If the Minister utters statements filled with vagueness and not clarity, HE alone is exposing himself to being ‘half-quoted’

• Eddie Barrett 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

The evidence is there in black & white that Noonan did in fact promise it in Washington in conversation with Timothy Geitner – his equivalent in the US Government & in fact asked Geitner help him achieve it.
      Tell the truth Mr. Noonan and shame the devil?

• Sinead Tangney 16/11/11 #
      Report this comment

and don’t forget the saga over sending the f.g accountant idiot for European nomination! labour pulling over that 2

• Eamonn Zaidan 16/11/11 #
      Report this comment

To further clarify, taken from the Fine Gael 2011 election Manifesto.

Agreed Procedures for Restructuring the Debts of Troubled Banks: Fine Gael in Government will force
      certain classes of bond-holders to share in the cost of recapitalising troubled financial institutions. This will
      be done unilaterally for the most junior bondholders (owners of preference shares, sub-ordinated debt
      and similar instruments), but could be extended – as part of a European-wide framework – for senior debt,
      focusing on insolvent institutions like Anglo Irish and Irish Nationwide that have no systemic importance

Note the the use of the word FORCE??? This is a significant U-Turn in my opinion.

The paragraph is found under the heading “3. Banking and Debt Distress” in their Manifesto which can be found at:

http://www.finegael2011.com/pdf/Fine%20Gael%20Manifesto%20low-res.pdf

As the song goes, ‘Who’s lying *ahem* crying now’

I’m sorry, but Fine Gael are lying to the electorate, lying to those that voted for them, they have it in print on their 5 POINT PLAN… They cannot blame Labour as Labour do as their master bids and Labour have no voice in this administration. Labour need to rethink their strategy and fast or they will go the way as the rest of the former coalition partners, just saying is all!

I also love the bit on having a ‘Transparent Government’ and ‘RADICAL REFORM’ and the ‘Citizens petition charter’, I could go on but I think I have proved my point that Michael Noonan along with Fine Gael have lied, and I am truly sorry to have to say that.

• Frank Devenney 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Michael Noonan is a f**king liar, as are all of his party, they will all have to face the Irish electorate very soon.Labour will pay a heavy price for reneging on their promises to Irish workers.

• Collie Woods 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

All we could vote for then is SF and the independents. If they all went back on there promises what the hell would we do then.

• Tony Skillington 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

So…Fianna Fail are in the political shithouse for the next 15 years…the Greens are a blip on the chart and Fine Gael are well and truely on the way to becoming the same…….all terribly familiar. Just can’t help thinking there’s some kinda conspiricy theory going on here…Europe pulling the strings and the Irish muppet show dangles…..why the fuck do we bother?!?!

• Report this comment

Broken Fine Gael promises? He’s another from a FG TD: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LTCT7QIeP8

Fine Gael = Fianna Fáil 2.0

• Report this comment

Has this one man getting as bad a memory as Mr Ahern or is he just getting as crafty as him in word-play?

Ok… so he never PROMISED now… but he as good as did, did he not or am I reading his earlier words/intended words as he’d like them to be construed, wrong?

• Adam Magari 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Official government policy: Burn the taxpayers and ratepayers, it’s easier and many are so trapped by bank debt and archaic bankruptcy laws that they are hamstrung.

• Louth 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Why don’t they grow a pair and stop talking shite!!!!!!

• Eric Davies 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

sorry louth clicked on dislike instead of like. the govt has talked shite from day one they are just taking over from where the f.f. wankers left off, they dont give a shit about you or me or the irish tax payers because they get paid more than we will ever get, and things like mortgage /fuel /debt will never affect them ,unlike us poor sods who have no choice but to carry onas best we can. i cant up and leave, if my rent goes up then i have to cut out somthing from my other needs to pay it or i end up homeless, if my e.s.b goes up the i have to go to bed an hour early, so as to save on lights, if ive only 1 euro left in my pocket then i cant even hope to do the lotto and chance a win to get me out of this mess, but owe millions to the banks/govt and you get a big helping hand or tax relief. the whole system is screwed and those who are worst off are paying for it.

• Ed Kavanagh 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Time to get the nooses ready for these traitors?

• Dario Fo 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The only thing Noonan promised, was a fat ministerial pay for himself and fcuk the rest of us…

• Sinead Tangney 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

did anyone who voted f.g actually think anything was going to change? seriously? deals were all done and dusted long before election time. time to start revising our leaving cert French and German folks….we’re their biatches now

• Eric Davies 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

talk about irony? iv’e just had a call from b.o.i. asking if i could see my way to increasing my loan repayments by 50% , i told them that their lucky to be getting anything at all as its an unsecured loan (5k ) and the fact that noonan and his cronies think unsecured means you get a great big fat wedge of cash (as with the anglo debarcle) maybe they should be paying me ! cheeky money grabbing ,greedy bastards, we should use the anglo building as a prison for all the bank bosses, lying politicians and their developer mates, lock the doors and chuck the key into the liffey.

• Tony Skillington 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The sooner they realise we the people are watching every syllable coming out of their mouths and will use these words to beat them over the head with. Stop treating us like imbiciles who can’t remember what they did yesterday…we know what you are up to Noonan et al. Stop lying and get real with us…we had our belly full of horseshit and spin from the last crowd of half wits!

Add New Comment