TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Noonan: IBRC bill brought through due to “immediate risk” to bank

The Finance Minister also said that there “is no deal” with the ECB at this point.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE BILL THAT was signed into law in the early hours of this morning to liquidate the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation had been drafted well in advance – but was brought through because of an “immediate risk to the bank”.

That was according to Finance Minister Michael Noonan, who told the Dáil last night during the first stage of the Bill’s passing:

As soon as the information relating to the proposal to liquidate IBRC was made public earlier today, there was an immediate risk to the bank. Given this position I, as Minister for Finance, took immediate action to secure the stability of the bank and its assets, valued at almost €14 billion, on behalf of the State.

Minister Noonan said he vested the powers of the board temporarily in an employee of KPMG and a KPMG team is now in control of the bank on his behalf. The Government met yesterday evening and approved the proposed legislation for presentation to the Oireachtas.

But the bill doesn’t mean a deal, as Minister Noonan underlined to the Seanad:

That’s the basis on which the negotiations are proceeding but there is no deal, there is no deal, there is no agreement

He said he would report to the members if the Government gets agreement. The Government has been in negotiations with the European Central Bank on the imminent payment of €3.06 billion on the promissory notes due next month.

Thanks to this bill, the promissory notes and that annual €3.06 billion payment will be replaced with NAMA-issued bonds, which are covered by a government guarantee.

Minister Noonan also told the Seanad that IBRC staff weren’t told in advance about the bill – around 800 staff were made redundant this morning.

Bill

Last night, Ursula Halligan told TV3 that the legislation was a “contingency plan” that was ready months ago. TDs were given a copy of the Bill at around 10.30pm last night – and were given 15 minutes to debate it.

The short amount of time given prompted Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin to tell the Dáil:

There is something fundamentally wrong with asking us to pass something that we have not even read for even ten minutes. We must oppose the order.

The bill was passed after going through the Seanad in the early hours of this morning, and was signed into law by President Michael D Higgins, who cut short an official visit to Rome to return to Ireland for the task.

Now that the legislation has been signed into law, joint special liquidators will be appointed to IBRC with immediate effect to wind up its business and operations. Explained Minister Noonan:

It is intended that the net debt owed by IBRC to the Central Bank and its associated floating charge security will be purchased by NAMA, using NAMA bonds, in a way that ensures there is no capital loss for the Central Bank.

Read the bill here>

Read: As it happened: Dáil approves Bill to liquidate IBRC>

Read: President signs legislation to liquidate IBRC into law>

Read next:

Comments (117 Comments)

• I still don’t know what’s going on.

• gerry 07/02/13 #

Also for FF to say what they said considering what happened in the past. The way I look at it this could force the hand if the ECB to do us a deal

• Spineless & gutless. Embarrassments to the legacy of Connolly & Collins.

• I’m as clueless now as to what it means as I was before I read the article.
      However, I’ve got this sinking feeling that somehow it means that we’ll end up getting the sh**ty end of the stick. . . . . again.

• Looks like they don’t either

• At the end of the day they’re a bunch of teachers, farmers, publicans and solicitors trying to spoof us all off that they know what they’re doing when, in fact, they haven’t a notion.
      They take their directions from professionals with vested interests; for that alone they should all be purged from public life.

• johnny 07/02/13 #

Dont worry about it cause either do they

• Phew thought I was the only one
      I’m lost too !!

• Whatever’s going on it better mean the USC and property tax will be scrapped respecting the demands of a nation. It’s certain some will do well out of this deal, but sure the people of Ireland paying for must start seeing the benefits of the loan we’ve given to the banks.

• Don’t know what this means for the country except it sounds like debt deal is set in stone. All that’s changed is method and time frame to repay it. Hope this means though that pensions of the old Anglo big bosses are F@@ked up. What pension Seanie?Sure there’s no bank any more???

• We just got screwed, rubberstamped by our wonderful president.

• Aoife Barry 07/02/13 #

Hey folks – I’ve linked at the bottom of the piece to an article from last night (well a live blog that is now an article) by my colleague Gav Reilly: http://www.thejournal.ie/dail-debate-ibrc-anglo-liquidation-785669-Feb2013/

He followed the story until around 2.30am and if you read through you can see it all as it happened.

Hugh O’Connell is also preparing an explainer on the issue, and there will be regular pieces going up throughout the day.

Hopefully our coverage will help you understand what is going on a bit better.
      Aoife

• They are getting rid of Anglo but not the debt (promissory notes) they now belong to Nama however we still have to pay back the debt (which is now a state debt) over a longer period which means more interest. Anything else the government said is waffle many of back benchers didn’t read legislation but still voted and FF criticised Gov for late night legislation but then said we believe ye so we’ll vote yes. SF and all Ind voted No (I think)

• Basically, we now owe the ECB €28 billion instead of Anglo Irish, but the ECB will never write down that debt, so what was a promise to pay is now an official debt.

Which means all this talk about a debt write-down was lies, because they had this bill prepared while they were talking about a debt write down. Noonan only came up with the story about the bill being prepared in advance as an emergency measure when he was caught out on this fact.

• So they are handing over the running of IBRC (Anglo and Irish Nationwide) to KPMG.
      The same KPMG that used to give Irish Nationwide a clean bill of health, right up to the point where it went bust.
      Strange?

• Eggfuel 07/02/13 #

well I hope somebody can put up a succinct story of the whole event suitable for children’s eyes as I’m totally lost at wt hell went on there…
      it sounds like another sept 2008 bank guarantee debacle but with more whiff of ( kpmg) knew all along..!

the more I watch ( inside job) the more nervous I become by KPMG and Goldman Sachs and the other big profiteers of the worldwide crash….

• you can be rest assured this bill does not have the peoples interests at hand ,this is just another sign our political system is broken .

• Michael Martin stood up and told us all that he only had ten minutes to view the bill, therefore he could not vote for it. He didn’t say that his finance spokesman and Sinn Fein’s pierce Doherty were given it hours before and had been studying it all evening, but no the old Irish political habit of not letting the truth get in the way of a chance to score points is alive n well, it appears Michael Martin is no different than what proceeded him.

• Also Noonan as got himself in a bit of a contradiction (commonly known as a lie). If he had the bill ages ago as an emergency measure? Then, why did every TD only get it with barely enough time to read it? After all the bill was already written? They weren’t working on it up until the last minute.

The only conclusion that can be drawn is that they delayed the bill until the last minute, so as there wouldn’t be enough time to read it, so that they could ram it through the house.

• Read the 3 little piggies, that will explain it to you. Germany is the wolf, the bankers are the first little piggy who fearing the wolf, go to the second little piggies house (the developers) to get some of the sticks back to keep the wolf from the door. But it’s no good, the wolf wants more so the first little piggy( the bankers) and the second little piggy(the developers) go to the third little piggy house (the tax payer) and move in, eat all our food, take all our money and screw us any other way they can. The farmer( our government) promises the third little piggy that he will help get rid of the 2 other pigs and the wolf but alas the poor little piggy discovers that the farmer is just as bad. The end.

• I think by judging some of the comments on here that Irish people have a self destruct gene that they will not only pass to their children but the legacy debt of 2 blatantly corrupt Governments.The legislation passed last night by FG/FF/L put the 40 billion debt on to the national debt there for making it a debt to the ECB who by law will not nor will ever give a writedown on this debt which will be paid over a longer period bringing even more future generations into the equation .Anyone who endorses this without protest only really cares for themselves individually and lacks both the vision and empathy to truely understand to implications of what went on last night at 2am by laughing heckling half drunk politicians a complete replica of what happened the night of the bank guarentee ..The next time you go to cuddle yere children think me and my irresponsibility to think clearly and react to a direct threat to my children grandchildren will not make up for all the cuddles in the world because in the end they will pay the price for your silence confusion and cowardness and that’s the brutal truth.Judge people and how they show love for each other not by idle words and false emotions .If you care you would be out in the street the weekend if not then you dont so face yourself and find out are you truely just another sheep that eats n breathes and craps and thats about it .

• Julie 07/02/13 #

Finally someone talking sense.

• Thats the general idea, our government consciously chose to act in this way only to make it difficult for the electorate to comprehend and subsequently object.

One thing is for sure, there will be no debt write down as a consequence of what happened last night. It’s not that our politicians are especially clever, we are just collectively uninformed, and our elected reps rely on that more than anything else.

Europe treat our politicians like domestic pets, and as sure as shit roles downhill our politicians must by default treat their electorate in the same way.

• Yes higgins did but he did it so peoetically

• Didn’t biffo do the same with the Lisbon treaty

• Last minute late nite bank legislation…..i mean what could go wrong ?….

• When there is an immediate risk to the bank they’ll rush a bill though, but if there is an immediate risk to the lives of irish woman, they’ll take twenty years to consider it.

• Noonan Is a liar. All planned in advance & orchestrated to catch everyone on the hop. Let’s see Enda do a Q&A session on this & he can explain it to the Irish public without a script or one of the ‘special ones’ to advise him. As the leader he should know / understand what the benefits of this financial wizardry are – let’s hear you Taoiseach. Lying half wit.

• Deals like this get done in the State’s interest ONLY if it is kept absolutely watertight secret. Did you expect a debate in the Herald; but the ECB would promise not to read Irish newspapers while we discussed it amongst ourselves?

Perhaps Noonan deliberately let this story leak because last night the timing was just right to force the ECBs hand. Your move Frankfurt.

Until we KNOW this is a bad outcome for Ireland, let’s not jump to conclusions. We might look back on this in a few months and see a government with balls has gotten a deal that is not a bad one.

Freaking out with anger is your own frustration at not being able to understand what is going on.people.
      That is not an adult reaction to not understanding something. Go read up on it. There are plenty of good blogs.

Without doubt there will always be pundits who will claim, no matter what the deal that is done, there was a better one.

• CABK 07/02/13 #

Hi Arbitasure,

I’m afraid you should little understanding of the situation here, passing this bill does nothing to change the position of the ECB or force their hand. The reason the government wanted to push this through is because it was exposed and it was damage limitation in terms of what would happen on the markets, in the banks and in IBRC when they found out this was the plan but hadn’t actually happened.

The reason they want to change the prom notes to soverign bonds is because interest only is payable on the bonds over their term with the full amount payable on maturity. This effectively lets the entire debt of the prom note rest until the bond matures which frees up government funds in the short term (but does nothing to reduce the debt overall).

None of this has anything to do with the ECB and not one part of it forces the ECB’s hand. If we get a deal with the ECB this is a separate matter and depends alot on how Honohon gets on today and also how the ECB react. You are of course competely disregarding that this move may be seen in a negative light by the ECB as it delays repayment in full of the prom notes.

So I’m not too sure what blogs you have been reading if you believe this was all a ploy to force the hand of the ECB?

• CABK 07/02/13 #

Additionally, just to add, my comment does not deal at all with the potential unconstitutional sections of the act, including a potential infringement of property rights. Or indeed that the Department of Finance has effectively been turned into a bank due to its ability to issue bonds. I’m just saying that this move does not actually ‘force the hand of the ECB’ in any way.

• @CABK so IBRC has been liquidated.

Right now, what is the status of the prom note ?

• CABK 07/02/13 #

This link should clarify. Given the bill has passed the prom note is no more (in terms of being able to debate its unconstitutionality and potentially default on it) and will be replaced by a bond. This is the most comprehensive/no frills detailing of what we know so far. Anglo being liquidated is more of an aside point imo, as it allows the prom note to be changed into a bond. It being liquidated does not in itself do anything to reduce the debt or give us a better bargaining position with the ECB. Its a different issue.

http://namawinelake.wordpress.com/

• The prom note has not been converted into a bond. (Yet.)

The process by which that happens, if it happens (seems to be regarded as a certainty for some reason) will be key and furthermore the terms of the bond.

I understand the prom note is now between the Irish Central Bank/ECB and NAMA, having been transferred from IBRC last night.

It is possible that conversion to bond does not happen between those two parties and the prom note remains as the obligation form, and is vulnerable to being struck out by the courts as unconstitutional.

A conversion may happen whereby NAMA and the Irish CB/ECB agree a bond (of as yet unknown terms) which commits NAMA to pay coupons and principal at end of term to the Irish CB/ECB.

Correct me if I am wrong on any of this, but it appears that Irish CB/ECB require NAMA (Noonan) to agree the terms of the bond such that we will issue it.

• CABK 07/02/13 #

That’s true – I didn’t mean to sound like it was a certainty. Rather than Noonan/Nama deciding the terms though it will be more of a decision of the ECB whether they let us or not. It would be in their interests (I think) to do so as then the debt will no longer be a somewhat shaky prom note but will be an actual sovereign bond that we will have to repay or actually default.

The main point I am trying to make is regarding your initial post – this does nothing to change the position of Ireland or to improve our position when bargaining with the ECB.

• I appreciate the discussion CABK, trying to make sense of it myself.

Reading up further on it, the picture seems to be that the Irish CB and ECB should be regarded as one and the same thing in terms of what the Irish CB is permitted to do.

The Irish CB provided ELA cash to IBRC in exchange for the Prom Note as collateral.

Ireland has just liquidated IBRC, and from my scanning of the Bill, NAMA has the option but not the obligation to take on IBRC’s assets and liabilities.

The Irish CB is effectively looking at the party it gave the ELA cash to as being in liquidation (seemingly in a pari passu format), while the Irish CB is still holding a State prom note. IBRC had been paying back the 3.1bn chunks to the Irish CB annually, which the Irish CB has to destroy to maintain ECB integrity.
      That repayment was a State obligation, as the issuer of the Prom Note.

So the State is still on the hook for those payments right now insofar as the Prom Note is valid.

What is somewhat of a NAMA/IBRC merger, it remains unclear what NAMA is obliged to inherit from IBRC. Is NAMA forced to take on all assets & liabilities? It doesn’t seem so.

The main liability the State needs to worry about is repaying the Irish CB/ECB the ELA cash.

We could not issue a bond and continue with the prom note and the State sends the Irish CB 3.1 bn every year, as it had been doing via IBRC. The question is what is the source of the cash now that IBRC has gone away.

I don’t see anything compelling Ireland to replace the Prom Note at the Irish CB with a Government Bond.

• CABK 07/02/13 #

I am not certain on exactly what the situation is as I am also still reading up and finding out what is happening. But the reason we want the bond instead of the prom notes is that it means we no longer have to pay the 3bn every year ( with the exception of this march as that payment represents the payment due for last year). Instead we would pay interest and the bond in full at the end of its term thereby freeing up funds in the short term. This is why the government want the bond, if the ECB approve of it. However the benefits are not clear cut.

• Looks like Noonan and Dragi have agreed terms to convert the prom note to a bond.

• Another middle if the night panic with limited debate time…shades of the bank guarantee fiasco!

• M Bowe 07/02/13 #

The bank guarantee was rushed through. Which bailed out illegal activity at Anglo. And as the Hall case was about to show the whole fiasco was in itself illegal. Now this late night shenanigans has turned the entirely illegal private debts guarantee into an iron fastened sovereign debt. Which cannot ever be written down. It’s terms can only be lengthened but at end of day,Which will be 40 yrs from now it will still HAVE TO BE PAID IN FULL.

• Your right bowie! Half of those fu*ckers only think of themselves, the other half just dont think at all.

• Still haven’t a clue what really happened last night. The Journal we need a break down of the facts and what this means for the country please. Also possibly a poll to see if the general public are in agreement with the governments actions last night. Thanks.

• A lot of cloak and dagger stuff.
    I wonder how many TDs actually knew what they were voting for.
    But never mind, KPMG are in the thick of it. They’re to be trusted, right?

• liquidating Peter to pay Paul. Still no sign of any relief for Irish citizens.

• So instead of getting rid of the unfair illegal debt they have just made it part of the sovereign debt, we’ll still be paying it , just over a longer period and at a high interest rate,.
    Making sure their elite bond holder buddies get paid.

All done away from public consultation,in the middle of the night, total Shock Doctrine tactics !
    Criminals plan and simple.

• Emergency bill . . Don’t make me laugh. This bill was ready months in advance and all our so called politicians (puppets on a string for Europe) where doing was waiting till our friends in Europe told them what to do like good little boys and girls.

A leak let it out about the liquidation of IBRC . . Have you ever hear the likes of it. . You must think we are stupid.

And for all the objections in the dail last night for the so called opposition still a 113 voted in favour. You are all crooks and have sold us and Ireland down the river yet again.

• Mitch 07/02/13 #

Did kpmg audit Irish nationwide ? ???more taxpayers money for the boys network

• Oh well, what’s done is done , but lasts forever,
    In the next week or so , us lay folk will work this out, by that stage anger will be futile , and replaced with resignation ,
    I’m saddened by the fact that I feel I’m too old to leave this land, but will encourage all those young enough to do so

• Amazing to hear Micheal Martin wondering what was going on – he was a cabinet minister for the 3 terms of FF when they wrecked the country. He would have been privvy to Lehinan’s suicidal decision to guarantee the banks. His memory loss should be cause of some concern.

• DOO 07/02/13 #

Ff posturing and posing last night,oh they were against the rushing of legislation,yet all fell in line and voted yes. getting off this now,stayed up to watch the dail live.the jeering and sneering from labour+fine gael during independents debate was fcuking shocking to say the least. Bah

• CABK 07/02/13 #

Agreed. Their behavior in the Chamber was disgusting. Being given a limited time frame to rush through an important piece of legislation and yet they have time to waste on catcalls and jeering which prevents the current speaker from finishing. There was no actual discussion of the bill, just alot of grandstanding and waffling on by FG and Labour.

• “the jeering and sneering from labour+fine gael during independents debate”

This is a matter of concern and has been growing in the past few months. It’s as if those in the Big 3 parties don’t believe democratically elected independent TDs have a right to a say in our parliament. Disgraceful attitude from them.

• DOO 07/02/13 #

agreed Niall, Disrespect to the Irish people. legitimate questions regarding serious legislation, rushed through with no explanation, just waffle, and trust us, and forget the details, noonan actually said, forget the details. if this is not a good enough reason for a general election, I dont know what is. The shower in there need to be dragged out. Party politics should be done away with permanently.

• Any chance they will bring in “emergency” legislation to decrease their wages and pensions etc?

• Let’s give the minister for finance extraordinary powers, that has really worked in the past. Honestly do they ever learn.

• The first time round, Fianna Fail paid millions for advice from the same banks that represent the bondsholders or had a vested interest in there being a bailout. That advice lead Lenehan to lock the State into a course of bailing out the banks which Fianna Fail had allowed run wildly amok.

Who does Fine Gael pay for advice today? The bondholders again?

• As David McWilliams pointed out last night, the ECBs takeover of Ireland is complete, this imaginary debt is now a bond payable to the ECB and when the bond market crashes, which will happen soon, the central bankers will own Us and Europe. Leaked by the ECB? They’re playing us for fools.

• Conor 07/02/13 #

David McWilliams plays the Irish people for fools, his populist disagreements with whatever the government is doing endears himself to the ignorant masses who lap up his books like fat people devour a chipper.

• conor go spill your vile somewhere else this country at the top is as corrupt as any country in africa,this is how wars start we are truly living in dangerous times.

• KPMG? You’ve gotta be joking!

• I love Nonan’s phrase “on behalf of the state” I think he means on behalf of the bond holders. Traitor

• A manufactured “immediate threat” thanks to a well timed leak from Europe which necessitated extra powers being given to noonan, just before the legality of the Promissory note is ruled on. Just like the “immediate threat” of a loss of funding thanks to the clause inserted in the ESM treaty by noonan and Europe of Ireland if we did not vote as Fine Gael and Germany demanded in the Referendum.

• Does anybody know if Alan Dukes will get a severance package and/or pension from IBRC?

• If you think we are the laughing stock of the world now, I wonder what it will be like in 25 years time.

• What was achieved here ?
    We still have to pay the debt.
    Only change I see is 800 more people out of a job .
    Muppets running the country

• Lots of asking whats going on. Some pointers in my view, the amount thats “owed” to the Central Bank on the Prom Notes is still owed this morning. It now seems most unlikely that that will be paid in the way that it has previouswly being paid i.e. 3.1 Billion every MArch 31st and the annual circus that went with that. Instead I suspect NAMA will issue bonds to the Central Bank at probably a lower coupon than the prom notes (will be sold as an interest rate deduction). The central bank will “hold” these for some time and will when they judge it to be appropriate sell these onto the open market and the proceeds into the Central Bank will then be “torched” figuratively speaking as were the monies from the prom note payments that have been made.

Assuming NAMA issues the bonds there is some possibility of upside if its overall scheme makes a profit as this profit will be used to redeem the bonds that it has issued. However this seems unlikely and in effect at the end of the NAMA lifetime it will probably be necessary to roll over the remaining NAMA bonds with new government debt. In the particular circumstances that we find ourselves in i.e. being part of a currency union rather than a stand alone like Iceland this is the best we are going to get.

Interestingly the liquidation of the bank should remove the possibility of golden handshakes and parachutes and pension top ups for all concerned. It should also remove any transfer of undertaking obligations. i.e. anyone transfering to NAMA does not bring their employment conditions and terms with them. What does this mean. In theory statutory redundancy only, Pension schemes closed with immediate effect with no top ups. the proof of the pudding here is will this be the case in practice. Anything less will be a sham!

• So the grandchildren will be paying the debts, this generation of bankers!

• Simon 07/02/13 #

‘An immediate threat to the bank’? Like what? What are they protecting? There is 500m in deposits, a few buildings and a tonne of debt? How does liquidating protect anything, all they are doing is moving assets into Nama? Am I missing something?

• Conor 07/02/13 #

The bonds would be immediately cashed in forcing the bank and consequently the government to have to pay an enormous amount of cash in the next day that isn’t there.

• Simon,
      the €500m in deposits isn’t an asset, it’s a liability. According to the debate last night, there is a total of €14b in assets. Probably loans that IRBC still hold.
      In saying that, I still find the whole situation strange. I don’t understand why the opposition wasn’t given the bill earlier in the day. The Gov’ knew the Dail sitting was coming up, and the bill was already drafted.

• I think they were protecting the 13 billion in the bank

• “We must oppose the order” … and then they pass it. …. Huh?

• We all have to get our asses into the march on Saturday.

• No one knows what’s going on… What a mess.

• If this was all so short notice, one little way to catch them out on their little lie, without going into detail is to find out where did they stay last night and when they booked their accommodation.

• it became very clear last night in the dail that Michael noonan is the real government leader, kenny & Gilmore flanked him purely to press their “yes” buttons. Michael Martin was stomach churning in his sleazy attempt to appear to disagree with the bill only to vote it in when directed. noonan is a canny man, I hope

• Does anyone really know what’s going on?!?!?

• DOO 07/02/13 #

Immediate risk from….whom? Who or what was this alleged 14billion baby we couldnt wrap up years,at risk from? If anything,just proves how useless government is. They can rush legislation through in one night,not have any answers to the legit questions being asked by independent +sinn fein td’s or that they can fully answer them tomorrow (after passing legislation). Country is a joke. Same government who needs two weeks to reflect on a possible apology to the magdalene victims,yet pass a legislation guaranteeing Ireland will pay 40billion to ECB. Well done. Any pro government comments on here will be far and few. A disgrace that no one could support! Democracy is dead.

• No Michael.

A plan which has existed for yonks (for some reason), was made public… the news of this plan threatened the value of state assets so…. it was rushed through the Dail without any real debate.

Problem solved?

• I hope everybody comes out this Saturday to protest its time to show them we are not happy! Get off your computers and smart phones and protest (myself included)!!!!

• So FF & the Greens sold us out in 2008 and now in 2013 FG,Labour & FF sells out what is left of the country and saddles the Irish with. Debt that is not ours and has forced our unborn children and their unborn children to pay a debt they don’t own !!!!!!!

• Mushroom politics. This government have taken the people they are suppose to represent for fools, i have no faith no trust just a sickening feeling that my childrens children will pay for the actions of bankers and gamblers. Gilmore your finished, what happened to the fire you were to light and burn the bondholders. Varadker not a penny more. Lies lies and more lies. This is the begining of the end for this government(i hope). Frontline workers will need everyones support as it looks like they will be the tool that will be used take on this shower of liers.

• “took immediate action to secure the stability of the b̶a̶n̶k̶ debt to the bondholders, to ensure we pay what we said we’d pay” is what I believe he meant to say.

• Another sly leak from the ECB bouncing Ireland into emergency action.

• Impressive. Not the winding up, but the lack of leaks to the media in advance. Well done Noonan. Trust no one. Only way.

• for those of you who dont understand,,,,,,,,,remember this day,,,the saddest day in the history of this state.
    IRELAND IS NO MORE

we now have been totally annexed to germany, any law ,any decision, will now have to have agrreement of ecb(germany).
    finally all the dodgy dealing, back stabbing. treachorous td`s of all parties have done for ireland.

• What was the immediate risk to the bank?

• He’s basically further cementing our commitment to this bank debt, albeit tying it up legally so there can be no high court challenge to the promissory note. Which is why they wanted it done overnight, before the courts could open and object. Bravo Noonan.

• Bi88les 07/02/13 #

HELP! We’re being robbed (again)! Who do we call? The Gardaí? The president? Europe? ECB? HELP!

• A lot of people giving out and complaining… Please change the habit of a lifetime conservative ireland and get to the streets and march against this on Saturday. But unfortunately as we know this ain’t going to happen. Shame on ‘labour’, shame on FG, shame on FF and shame on those that don’t do nothing but give out on The Journal

• Dan O’Brien writes a very good article in which he articulates the situation quite clearly.

• Head and shoulders Mr Noonan.

• And what about the risk to us u bunch of sellouts f#@kin jokers why arnt yous thinking of the irish people when yous are doing this uproar is coming and u will only have yourselfs in government to blame

• Seems to me that they’re looking after the so called golden circle and we’ll pick up the tab. So nothing changes – except the people have been saddled with another mountain of debt.

• What a shame. The Comments sections here and elsewhere demonstrates that there are so many macro-economic & global political experts in the general populous – Its a pity they don’t get to choose the government that represents them, for they would choose wisely and all the problems would be gone.

Oh, hang on…

• I don’t know what a tracker mortgage is

• Untill we see what happens with the promissory notes all we are doing is speculating … Essentially all thats happend last nte from what i can see is the liquidated anglo so its 1billion current shareholders couldnt get its funds out when the markets opened today… .. Something dosent seem right with noonans comments tho but only time will tell ..

• Are we not now in a situation where Ireland has liquidated Anglo, and the ECB need to agree what the bond terms will be that they will allow us swap the prom note with them for?
    If they don’t agree terms we like, then we can issue a bond anyway to bring in money to the state from the general market, hold the prom note ourselves and leave the ECB out of it.
    Or decide to abandon the prom note if it is deemed unconstitutional.

ECB might be in a far weaker corner than Ireland when it comes to negotiations.

• CABK 07/02/13 #

I don’t think you really understand what’s happening here at all tbh.

I tried to deal with some of what you were saying in a post above if you’d like to read it. Re agreeing bond terms, I mean the premise that a bond pays interest until maturity can’t be changed. Additionally, the prom notes are effectively gone after this bill has been passed. This means that the prom note is now sovereign debt and therefore any loophole whereby it could be deemed unconstitutional is gone (it wouldn’t have been deemed unconstitutional either btw as we would lose too much in the long term).

• I’ve responded to you above. Are the prom notes gone as of last night as you say?

I thought they’d just moved to NAMA and today they still exist. Conversion to a bond has not happened yet. We are still in a fluid situation and will discover if Noonan’s plan is to convert to a bond at certain terms or leave the promissary note exist and be attacked on constitutional grounds.
      By moving it from the liquidated IBRC, he prevents the IBRC bondholders from defending the prom note.

• Does Quinn effectively get off scott-free?

• Probably not but his problem will now be with Nama, who are a lot more interested in getting any money than all of the money, so there is probably a deal to be done.

• Ask the people of cavan and the surronding areas, St Quinn done nothing wrong, never mind the fact that there are children not even born that will be paying the insurance levy bestowed on the Irish public by Quinn and his cohorts.

• I don’t know what a tracker mortgage is

Add New Comment