TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

‘Number of people arrested’ in unofficial Rag Week celebrations in Galway

The President of the Student’s Union at NUI Galway, Paul Curley said he has been led to believe that none of the people arrested were from NUI.

Image: theviewinside via YouTube

GARDAÍ HAVE CONFIRMED that a number of people were arrested overnight in connection with public order offences in Eyre Square in Galway.

Students filled the streets as their unofficial Rag Week celebrations got underway and a number of people were arrested at around 2.30am this morning. Videos uploaded on YouTube this morning show large crowds gathered outside fast food restaurants in the early hours of the morning.

It is understood that several fights broke out in the square but gardaí said they were not aware of any injuries.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this morning, President of the Students’ Union at NUI Galway, Paul Curley said he has been led to believe that none of the people arrested were from NUI.

“There were people piggybacking on the celebrations,” he said, adding that buses full of people have been arriving from nearby counties.

“The SU has nothing to do with it, any of the activities that have taken place, we’ve had no part in it,” he said.

Last year the Students’ Union agreed with the university that it would abolish Rag Week in exchange for a larger contribution towards the Student Assistance Fund.

This video shows the celebrations in Galway last night. However it is not known if any of the people featured were among those arrested.

(Video: theviewinside/Youtube)

Read next:

Comments (81 Comments)

• There is no way they all got chips!

• all joke on the side,your man climbing the lampost doesnt move an inch in 30 seconds

• These Showbands that they’re going to should be banned altogether.

• Im young and enjoy your usual drunken night acrivities but dont really see the point in hanging around supermacs chanting incoherently all night, I’d have gotten my curry cheese chips and gone home!

• By abolishing Rag Week, they just went and made it something students are not allowed do… Which means students are gonna have a better rag week than ever. Whats more fun than something you are not supposed to do? ..

• Exactly. CIT did that for their Christmas Day when they abolished it. Did it stop the lads from going on the absolute piss for the day? Not a chance. I’m all for people having fun but these occasions are a joke. I remember one RAG week in Cork when I saw people lay down on the roads in the dark and jump up on cars etc. No wonder the locals really dislike the students…

• Indeed, couldn’t the student union have implemented some control on the events? Organise some that are outside of Galway maybe? How come rag week in other towns is nowhere near as bad as the reports that come from Galway every year? The student union could be strict on the number of tickets sold for events, make sure to limit tickets to students only etc…. Without the student union its just unorganised chaos is it not? Doesn’t make any sense to stop organising it, will only leave things worse.

• @Donal, did you read the headline or the article? its an unofficial rag week which has no support or backing from either the university of the students union. They can’t control crowds of people leaving nightclubs and hanging around outside supermacs. As was said in the article, none of the arrested were NUIG students, and a large number of people that will be out this week won’t be students from Galway.

• Sorry my comments are a bit unclear I meant instead of shafting their responsibilities when it comes rag week in exchange for some extra cash in their pockets why didn’t the student union take on a draft of improving rag week in Galway so that it doesn’t involve this anarchy?

This way unofficial events are uncontrolled and lead to mass population from non students and despite what the Student union say the bad rep will fall on the college and its students.

• @ Donal, Apologies for misunderstanding you. Yes i agree, i think rag week will always happen in some form or another, so i would agree it would be better if there was some involvement from the SU in organising events and allow for the raising of some money for charities. In previous years, NUIG students would raise about €25,000 which would be donated to a number of charities. The vast number of students that will out drinking this week won’t cause any harm or damage, its a tiny minority that cause the problems and often times as has been the case last night and in other years those arrested were not even students of the universities, just people coming in piggybacking on it.

The students union didn’t however just wash their hands of their involvement with rag week for some extra money for their pockets. The university offered the SU a much increased budget to the student assistant fund which students who are seriously in need can apply for to keep them from having to drop out. This increased budget was giving on the condition that the students union would no longer support or run a rag week, the university had previously withdrawn its support 2 years previously.

In its present format all that happens is people are arriving from all over the country and jumping on board and causing more trouble and damage than NUI students themselves, and the only places making money are pubs and nightclubs. Also the fact that its the unofficial rag week for NUIG and none of those arrested were students of NUI says a lot.

• I agree, I was trying to be somewhat sensationalist with the way I put it but I agree with your well thought out post. It seems short sighted of the University to ask the SU to abandon all links with a Rag week as it means no money is raised and increases the chances of non students causing a bad image and while I know its unofficial and all arrested were not students we have to be realistic and note that despite this being public information the general public population of Galway will still blame moan and complain about the students/University as the cause.

As long as an unofficial type event is run the University and its students will suffer some form of bad publicity from it. Which is a shame.

• They didn’t abolish it – they stopped subsidizing it because of drunken and disorderly behavior on the streets.

• Absolute idiots, I was on Eyre square and I saw what went on. Its a disgrace the way a select few behave. Its not so long ago they were getting their food bags handed out to them. The people of Galway have enough of these clowns.

• Further proof our licensing need to be relaxed, creating jobs and giving people somewhere to go at this hour. It’s simple, but unfortunately so are all our conservative TD’s.

• Exactly. This is what happens when you send everyone out on to the street at the same time.

Stagger closing hours throughout the night with differing types of licenses, people will head off home when they’re good and ready and those that manage to last til 6am won’t be in any shape to chant outside Supermacs. Might make us reevaluate our relationship with alcohol in the process and create jobs too.

• Barry 19/02/13 #

So your solution is to give them more chances to drink?

Yeah, seems legit!

We have a awful drink culture in this country and it should not be encouraged even more, people don’t respect drink. Alot of these idiots idea of a good night is a night they don’t remember and got rat arsed.

• They can get as much drink as they want anyway. My solution is not to push them all on to the street at the same time, and maybe create jobs in the process.

• Barry 19/02/13 #

All that does is spread out the violence and noise, it doesn’t in anyway create a respect for drink and it most certainly doers not address the very unhealthy view many people have towards drink.

Just curious Kelvin, are you a student perhaps, maybe in your early to mid 20′s?

There’s more to life then getting shit faced and this is the culture we need to change, jobs should not be created at any cost.

• Not really Barry. I work in a Nightclub at the weekends, and the half 2 closing time really does cause problems. You allow a bunch of people who still don’t consider their night over out on to the street to meet up in a Fast Food place with a load of other people from different nightclubs, the sheer numbers present a problem.

If you leave them with us we can control them. We have very little trouble while they’re inside, we have professional security staff who can deal with troublemakers. They generally are happy enough to stay dancing and let us sell them drink at a reasonable pace, rather than the rush we experience every Saturday night from half one onward as people realise that the bar will soon close.

When I went to Nightclubs in Germany people were drinking just as much, and people went to McDonalds afterwards just the same as us, the difference is that there was no rush to the bar to pound shots at the end of the night, and no exodus onto the streets, just a steady trickle that precludes this kind of mob stuff from occurring.

Not only that, but I would certainly like the extra few hours work in my pay packet, and I’m sure my co-workers would too.

When you treat people like adults they behave like adults, similarly, when you treat people like children…

• Conservative TD’s?

They might be conservative on a lot of issues but drink is definitely not one of them! Anyone remember *that* Brian Cowan interview on the radio?

• This implemented with proper Garda enforcement of a 24 hour town center ban like they do in the UK is a great idea but of course this kind of thinking is too radical for modern day Ireland.

You decrease the chances of creating hot spots of tension where a fight is likely to break out, you stop people force feeding themselves drink so they can get drunk within a short time frame, you allow nightclubs and venues the responsibility for keeping the peace for longer and decrease the pressure on the Gardai as they deal with less people outside, you increase the chances of people leaving the area quicker as all the taxis aren’t gone at once with a flood of people and the same applies for people getting food.

I agree with Barry that our drink culture is appalling and needs long term correction but this is also a valid proposal to at least trial as it will take decades to correct the image of the drunken Irish.

• Actually, I’m 30, in full time employment, and I’ve been out in enough European countries to witness what works and what doesn’t. Stern restrictions won’t stop drinkers drinking. Controlling a permissive environment will help the anti social issues.

• Showing up half drunk on air is hardly comparable to legislating progressively.

• Well said

• Legislating properly and drinking responsibly are two different things. It’s the responsibility part that the majority of Irish people have the issue with.

• They say ”outside fast food restaurants”, what they really mean is outside Supermacs.

• Irish fans were doing pretty much the same thing in Poznan during the summer and they were the best fans in the world. Do it in Galway and they’re drunken idiots not sure how that makes sense

• mcgoo 19/02/13 #

Them ould horseburgers are drivin ‘em wild altogether

• Muppets

• Won’t someone please think of the children

• Oh gee, wonder why everyone ended up out on the street at the same time of night……good thing wee willie winkie nanny state has us go to bed early to avoid exactly this type of debauchery!

• Hundreds of drunk students hitting the street all at the same time, what did you expect to happen? Maybe a safer & less troublesome alternative to alcohol is required – http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/jun/19/david-nutt-alcohol-cannabis-cafes

• Reading all these comments ive relaised that of all the things us irish have lost we still havnt lost our sense of humour.

• Sure isn’t it part of Irish settled culture to act like drunken monkeys after a feed of drink? Just putting it out there ;)

• Its a cultural trait only the Irish seem to be proud of. I mean drinking to get unconscious, fighting with each other, falling into urine and vomit, chanting football songs and climbing lamp posts. Whats not to be proud of?

• Sophie, whilst the behaviour is nothing to be proud of, this kind of drinking is not exclusive to the Irish – there is a huge drinking-til-you-fall-down culture also in every large city in the UK and a lot of US cities and possibly the problem is more widespread than I’m aware.
      Yes, we have a problem with drinking in this country but so do others. Your racial stereotyping of the Irish in this regard is both pointless and inaccurate.

• Agree Denise, ridiculous racial stereotyping by Sophie who has several comments in the same vein. The behaviour of these students is disgusting, but it’s not as bad as the German nation’s massacre of millions of people in death camps, and war which decimated Europe and left over 60 million dead – 2.5% of the world’s population.

• Yes Joe. But it doesn’t follow that all German people are murderers or that the Germans were the only race ever to commit atrocities.

• The fallacy of such ridiculous generalised stereotyping is the point I was making – “The Irish”. I’m Irish and never drink more than two drinks on a night out. Several of my friends are non-drinkers.

• I get your point Joe – if I look at my Irish family and friends, I can put hand on heart and say we are all either teetotal or moderate drinkers at most.
      And I don’t know of anyone who professes to be proud of the type of behaviour that Sophie claims we are.

• Sorry if I offended you guys, not at all my intention. regardless of some not agreeing with the stereotype, it is sadly true. Everywhere I go, I read and hear the same comments about the Irish and how they behave. It is also true that a very sizable proportion of Irish people seem very proud of the ‘drunken Irish’ stereotype. I have heard Irish people comment quite proudly about how much they can drink, and how they are the best in the world at drinking alcohol, its weird because its considered a sport or something. Your whole culture centers around the pub which in itself is fine, but unlike other cultures, instead of drinking socially Irish people seem to drink to get unconscious as quickly as possible. Every country has its problems but alcohol abuse in Ireland seems totally acceptable and is indeed applauded. Wasn’t it the leader of Ireland who was interviewed drunk and shown on the Jay Leno show in the states? Sadly, the Irish have a very bad reputation abroad at the moment, when it comes to their behavior especially in Australia. I’m not sure when or how that can change, it seems to be getting worse.

P.S. People seem to be confused about my nationality. My dad is French, my mother is Irish, I was born in Austria and live in Germany. I also visit Ireland once a year.

• @Sophie you should be well aware of stereotyping being born in Austria, we dont all think ye are Nazis so do us the credit of not saying every Irish person drink to become unconscious. The Irish and the British do drink more than other nationalities but we have more craic and last time I checked we havent been bombing primitive nations back to the stone age so personally I couldnt give a rats arse what the rest of the world thinks of us.

• But you should care about how the world sees you, and what your children considers as acceptable or not. Obviously not every Irish person drinks alcohol, but a sizable majority drink to get unconscious. I have been out in Ireland, I have seen teenage girls drunk and unconscious lying in their own vomit at every corner. I have seen the drunken brawls on the streets, bleeding faces and anti-social behavior. I have no doubt Ireland has one of the worst alcohol problems in Europe, possibly the world, and it seems totally acceptable. They are bringing that problem when they travel now, in doing so they are destroying your image abroad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVkeACMfGGE

• @Joe Ok, but I am not German. If I was German, I doubt I would be offended by historical references from a stranger on a screen.

• Sophie I understand your concern for us collectively as a nation but don’t worry this is quite normal here, its just having the craic. They all went home to bed and are fine now. An asteroid could hit us tomorrow, we have bigger things to worry about than being responsible and respectable.

• @Sophie
      Sorry Sophie Gev has a point.
      Also having travelled alot of the world, I’ve seen most nationalities make a show of themselves.

• i blame the licensing laws. NOT the students.
    20 year olds have ALWAYS liked to party.. in general that is.. of course there are the occasional maturer ones.
    The Problems arise when the entire population is being kicked out of the pubs at the same time, only to head to the clubs and 2 hrs later they get kicked out there too…. all clubs, all over town close at the same time…
    the “rag-week” factor only increases the population on the street, but in general this thing goes on pretty much all year round albeit not in this massive scale.

look at countries with more relaxed licensing laws, like germany for example, where the pubs and clubs close at 4 or 5 in the morning some even later than that.
    People go home in groups of varying sizes, gradually, which results in generally quieter nights for the neighborhoods and reduced cues in the fast food joints.

• 1,000 students packed into Eyre Square is a crowd control and public safety issue. If you’d wanted to hold a protest with the same number of people in the same place, it would be heavily policed. What this crowd needs is not a bunch of commenters saying “ahh sure, students” but riot gear, paddy wagons, dogs and mounted enforcement.

• Ciara 19/02/13 #

It’s ridiculous here at the minute. The clubs are all putting on stupidly cheap drink deals, and then they wonder why there’s so many out? The student residences are all on lockdown, it took ten minutes before security would let me into where I live.

• So, these are the poor penniless students and their friends on the job seekers allowance. No shortage of cash for the cheap alcohol !! Notice though, predominantly male with the predictable following of the ‘cling ons’.

• Smod 19/02/13 #

Nevermind the bleeding students, after watching that I’m dyin for a few lushes on Friday evening after work!!! Pity there’s no Supermacs in Ballsbridge

• Hundreds of complete Muppets! This is why people are going to collage! Galway rag week is always a war zone

• Pure crazy .probably from booze.where are they to day

Add New Comment