TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Occupy Dame Street camp is “killing” Temple Bar businesses

Small business owners said today that the camp is stopping people from vising shops in the area.

Frank McQuade in front of the Occupy camp
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THE OCCUPY DAME Street protest in Dublin city centre is threatening jobs and “killing” small businesses in the area, a Temple Bar shopowner has said.

The camp in front of the Central Bank on Dublin’s Dame Street is stopping potential customers from seeing shops and cutting off foot traffic to the area, according to Frank McQuade who has been in business in the area for 25 years.

“It would be ok if we knew it was going to be for ‘x’ amount of time but there’s no end in sight,” said McQuade, who owns three clothes shops on Fownes Street which faces the Occupy camp.

There was no-one in the Occupy Dame Street camp available for comment this afternoon.

The number of customers to shops in the area has decreased since the camp was erected last October. Most of the shops in the Temple Bar area are small independent businesses.

“What worries me is that we’d normally make a lot of our money from October to December and it’s killing us,” McQuade told TheJournal.ie this afternoon. “It’s leaving us without money to buy new stock”.

I’ve nothing against people protesting but they should be after the banks, not us. They shouldn’t be affecting the small people.

Small business owners from Temple Bar meet regularly with the occupiers, and the camp cleared a small path through the plaza as a concession to allow more people to walk through the area.

Shops in the area have also put up posters to highlight how the camp is affecting business. However, McQuade said that some small businesses in the area had taken down the posters after they were “hassled” about them.

“Everyone says to let them protest and that’s fine – we’re ok with that,” said McQuade. “I just don’t think everyone would want it on their doorstep”.

Occupy Dame Street camp is “killing” Temple Bar businesses
1 / 2
  • Occupy Dame Street - Dublin

Traders on Fownes Street in Dublin's Temple Bar put up posters calling for the Occupy Dame Street camp to be dismantled. Photograph: Niall Carson/PA Wire
  • Occupy Dame Street - Dublin

Frank McQuade puts up posters calling for the Occupy Dame Street camp to be dismantled. Photograph: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Protesters descend on former Anglo Irish Banks in Galway and Dublin

Group ‘liberate’ Nama building to become community centre

Read next:

Comments (87 Comments)

• whats needed in temple bar is penguins.everyone loves penguins :-)

• 6.20 a pint in temple bar. That’s your problem right there!

• He should start selling bongs.

• One of the protesting shops has the slogan “clothes to riot for” on it — not apparent here though!

• Occupy a fas course ….

• NEWSFLASH! Government policy of austerity is killing small business all over Ireland.

• Fair point but there is no mention of the depression the country is in.

• Talk about not seeing the woods for the trees.

Handy convenient explanation, the sad truth is that most people hardly notice the camp and Temple Bar is full of overpriced tat that people can no longer afford.

If he thinks that it is the camp that is stopping people spending, then his business is in serious long term trouble.

• Cork 24/01/12 #

This has lost all meaning, that is if it ever really had a purpose other than Dole collecting hippies worried about losing there benefits.

• I think we need Eric Cartman professional hippy exterminator…

• Gav 24/01/12 #

I think the protest has served it’s pupose and should end in it’s current form. Support has reached critical mass and it’s now up to the key stakeholders to reevaluate and perhaps focus more on helping local communities, otherwise the danger is the site becomes no more then an art installation. The Occupy movement in Ireland, although admirable in their sentiments and original actions, now seem to be communicating negativity in relation to jobs and economy in this country. There are some great examples of successful Irish start-ups, especially in the last few months, creating jobs which will drive the economy forward. Nobody wants to talk about this, not news and undermines the message from Occupy.

• What purpose did it serve, exactly?

• Gav 24/01/12 #

Well Dom, I can only speak personally, and I am glad the protest happened, it created the opportunity for people understand the extent of the unbalanced distribution of wealth.However, in it’s current format, and with a serious lack of momentum. my feeling is the organisation should rethink it’s strategy. They’ve dug in, I fear no one wants to be the first out.

• I can see ample proof on this thread that the first thing that comes to peoples’ minds when they hear ‘Occupy Dame Street’ is that the distribution of wealth is unbalanced.

• “occupy”? Doesn’t seem like there’s many people sleeping there any more, no one even there to make a comment. The wind has gone out of the sails on this one.

• The price of the point is what killing temple BAR

• Go occupy a shower……onto the next tree lads, has anyone one of ye EVER paid a tax in yer life?? Wasters

• The occupy movement only in front of the central bank. Unless the central bank counts as a SME, I don’t see how he can say small enterpirses are being hit by the protest. Seriously!

• They should move to the IFSC in front of the financial regulators office, oh forgot thats not a cool location for them as the starbucks has closed down so they would have no where to get their skiny flapacinnos paid for by the state through their welfare handouts

• Hmmm arent these shops mostly over priced second hand clothes stores? At the risk of resorting to stereotypes Im pretty sure the people who buy this tat don’t mind a bit of an eyesore! This is a diversion from what is really going on. I doubt the shop owners are suffering so much. Prime real estate, years of exploiting customers in the good times and all that. No doubt there are a few scoundrels jumping on the band wagon in the Occupy movement but the majority of them I believe genuinely care about what is happening in the world and are at least trying to do something about it. Its more than a lot of us are prepared to do. Hats off to them. They deserve our support and not our scorn.

• I propose an unoccupy Dame Street movement whereby a nice large crowd of business owners move in and run the losers off. They’ve created an eye sore long enough and accomplished NOTHING. These people are just lazing about on the sidewalks instead of trying to look for or create gainful employment. They want to be babysat and Molly coddled by the state. If they didn’t they wouldn’t be lounging about on the sidewalk everyday hoping for someone to bail them out of their own bad situation.

• Ever wondered why they have achieved nothing?

Couldn’t be that they are exercising their patriotic duty to protest against corruption in government and the “elected officials” are failing to recognise that we are supposed to live in a democracy and that the concerns of this protest should be addressed?

The ODS guys aren’t the ones to blame, if the government had responded to their concerns as is their mandate the camp would have broken up.

Until the government sit up and pay attention to the fact that the Irish people (nay the world) have had enough, the camp has to remain – its the principle. If they leave now the government learns “ignore them and they go away”, is that the message you would like the government to get from all this?

• Well Shanty Om, the government ignores their own appointed subject matter professionals. What do you think they are going to do with a bunch of lounge abouts on Dame St? Do you think any of them are going to be taken seriously? They are accomplishing two things: Jack and Shit.

• They are merely doing what it says we have a right to do in a democracy, PROTEST. Its a patriotic duty.
      Advisors merely advise, no obligation to take that advice (sure they asked a world authority for his advice on whether they should continue fluoridation and he said NO, with a million reasons why, but they ignored him and continue to do it)
      The government needs to see that they are serious and they are not going to go away. To try and be the thorn in the governments side that one day they will have to look at (even if it is all infected and oozing by then).

• Bulldoze over the wasters!

• John 24/01/12 #

Divide and conquer. And so it begins….

• Begins? It’s been around forever. I propose we get rid of it for good.

• Its sad. These people are willing to stand up for those who can’t out won’t and all they get is abuse and called names. We should new supporting them but no, just because they protest they.must be wasters. It makes me worry for our future.

• I’d love to join them for an old protest, but oh wait, I’ve a job and have to pay tax to keep these hippies in the life there accustomed too. This country is a welfare state out of control…

• I’d love to too Thomas. But I’ve got a job too. Happy to pay my taxes to pay their dole. Just wish there were more like them.

Not feicing happy to pay my taxes to bail out banks and pay bondholders so I have day off tomorrow to protest outside Anglo with the hippies. Thank god for hippies and those with a social conscience.

Sleep easy!

• What about those who go to work and then go down to the protest whenever they can? You could always do that if you really wanted :)

• Silent P 25/01/12 #

The last time the cops took on the hippies on Dame Street the cops ended up in court. I doubt they will be in any hurry to come down hard on the crusties and in fairness I wouldn’t blame a young Garda. Not worth losing your job for them or to protect bankers.

• Well the cops did themselves no favour that day.. As for moving the camp along – if the protestors have broken no laws do they have a right to move them on?

• Silent P 25/01/12 #

Shanti. Please elaborate? That particular day I saw cops use their batons on gangs damaging cars and smashing shop windows. Should cops stand back and allow mob rule? I’ll remind you any cop prosecuted was acquitted by a jury of their peers. I don’t think cops will ever do anything right in some people’s eyes.

• What is temple bar? – A hole! Full of weirdos,drunks and ‘trendies’ who are tolerated because they are deemed to be the ‘Character of Dublin’. A conglomeration of pseudo vernacular shop fronts with a few ‘architect’ designed monstrosity’s dotted here and there because the powers that be thought a bit of ‘whats good for you’ might lift the place and lend an air of sophistication.
    The unseemly record of Temple Bar Properties is well documented and the area is as much a ‘cultural quarter’ as an unimaginative city planner might conceive while contending with dose of constipation on his dinner break.
    During a recent visit I stopped to rest using one of the many empty seats outside a cafe on ‘meeting house square’, my arse had hardly descended when I was approached to be basically told ‘buy or get off!’
    Sorry folks, if your businesses are going to pot it’s because of greed, pretentiousness, bad planning, bad business sense and the lying politicians who probably promised you the world and made off with your votes.
    If you were the marketeers of a ‘cultural quarter’ worth it’s name you would capitalize on the proximity of the occupy demonstration rather than spout the old capitalist ‘not in my backyard’ rubbish which is part of why you are where we are with falling sales and glum faces.

• If we don’t end this now it will turn into a hippy jam feast …. That’s all we need

• No, It’s the government that’s killing Temple Bar business

• Well thanks McQuade, if I had of known your feelings about this I’d have stopped shopping in your stores and around there sooner!

• Maybe its the recession? Does this idiot even know why the group is there in the first place? This should be titled “Temple Bar Businessman demonstrates how to make a complete gobshite out of yourself”

• I hate the term “D4″ as it is unfair on D4 residents but these D4 kids need to feck off home. People have small businesses to run and employees to pay.

• At the end of the day these ISME types always fail to see the bigger picture. The bourgeois class in Ireland is what is holding us back from revolution and real change i’m afraid. Long live the occupy movement!

• Bourgeois class? These are people trying to create employment for themselves and others in small shops. Not layabouts making nothing except a mess to be cleaned up.

• I don’t even want to justify that absolutely ridiculous comment with a response, so business owners in these areas will leave their families starve so will they? So you can have your revolution! Easy to know the people out there have no responsibilities to the world.

• Would ya stop. The greedy little small businessmen are out to rip off the working man and woman every chance they get. Whether it was their ridiculously high prices during the celtic tiger or now their constant attempts to drive down the minimum wage and lower working conditions during the recession. They care about no-one but themselves. Time for the workers to take control of their own destiny. RISE UP PEOPLE AND UNITE!

• Haha. Good to know Occupy has expanded from their main aim of sitting on their arses, to shutting down small indiginous business. Think your autocorrect is on the blink. You might have meant Sponger, not Worker.

• My God almighty, do rise up so sher, and when all the businesses have gone out of business we’ll see how you and your revolutionaries do to create employment and how ye’ll get jobs when all the “greedy” employers are out of business. Your rationale is so arseways I don’t even know where to start to prove how deluded you are. Yes money grows on trees, the dole is funded by fairies and if no one works and we all start a revolution no one will starve! Grow up!

• Whatever about the revolution and small business men letting their families aside, it doesn’t make much sense to anyone who knows the area that the occupy camp would be blocking their businesses. It’s on the other side of a massive building. Maybe its the Goth kids, he’ll have to blame them next.

Declining sales from October to December, he says. Hello, join the rest of us, do you think that you are the only business that had declining sales in Ireland in this period. Have you heard of the budget??? Have you listened to the news for the last 4 months announcing on a daily basis that economic destitution is coming.

No, it can’t be any of that, it must be the camp 500 yards away from my shop, on the other side of that giant building.

• I hope someday that P Wurple and Diarmaid Twomey see the light and the corruption that goes on daily in this country. ISME are always onto the government to slash workers wages and conditions. I used to work in a small corner shop and the boss cut our sunday time and a half pay down to the minimum wage level yet he was still able to go out and buy a new 2011 Mercedes. Wheres the justice in that? The hypocrisy in this country is unreal at times. We need someone in the public eye to stand up soon and confront this warped bourgeois economic theory that has gripped many of us. It sure as hell isn’t what the boys in 1916 fought for anyways i’ll tell ya that.

• Gary 24/01/12 #

“Would ya stop. The greedy little small businessmen are out to rip off the working man and woman every chance they get.”

They are small independent clothes stores and I know first hand that your sweeping statement about how much they pay their staff and how much they care about their staff is completely false.

• The plaintive cry of the downtrodden. Not where’s my job, or where’s my food, but “Where’s My Mercedes.”

• So now this ‘occupy’ movement is no longer a stance against the governement/shell oil/IMF or whatever else ye decide on a daily basis, now it’s taking a stance against small businesses in the area! I’m sure I’ve heard some ye crying for said small business in some of the interviews ye gave in the media! Are they not the ordinary person of Ireland that ye claim to be protesting for?! Make up your bloody minds will ye!

• So let me get this straight pdb, you think you have more right to complain about the businesses who employ and pay (through rates) for the upkeep of the area, than the egjits with no responsibilities who have decided they’ll grab a bit of publicity and escape rent for a while in the same area. Your moral compass needs some serious tweaking!

• mr x 24/01/12 #

I f you want to live in some sort of communist Utopia I’ll happily pay for your flight to North Korea

• Maybe all of ye commenting have not seen first hand the greed of the average petit bourgeois businessman/crook. I’ve worked in 4 such businesses over my student years, pubs and shops mainly. I personally witnessed these owners avoiding tax by not putting all incoming cash through the till and forcing employees to comply with this. They always pay minimum wage [and complain about this and would love to pay less!!] and make ya stay late and encourage you to come in an hour or so early often with no compensation. They swear poverty yet always have swanky new clothes, their kids in private classes and drive brand new fancy mercs or bmw’s.

I honestly think all ye who replied to me are the one’s taking the piss! GET OFF YOUR KNEES for gods sake and see the raping the working man and woman takes on a daily basis. and it’ll only get worse with the blueshirts implementing ISME’s every sick cut wish. VIVA LA REVOLUTION

• Send in the watercanons and hose them all , scruffy lot of layabouts, give them a tower block somewhere to occupy and when they are all in blow it up lol problem sorted, clean up this mess now and get rid of this eyesore and its bedraggled inhabitants now

• P Wurple 24/01/12 #

Of course I have had minimum wage jobs, i’ve worked since I was 15 for flips sake. Who has never had a minimum wage job? If the employer wasn’t treating me fairly I left sharpish and found a better one. I have seen corruption too, and am always disgusted by it. I was (and still am) well able to report it to revenue though. Any reason you abetted that instead of reporting? Cowardice, or pure laziness.

Go employ a few people in this country and see what the system is like from the other side. And while you are at it look up what happened to the marxist paradises once they got rid of the ‘bourgeois’.

• Paddy, I am sorry and I don’t say this lightly but you’re talking like a moron. Everyone has had “horrible bosses”, but what you just did was generalise the absolute bee jaysus of of a huge group of people just from an experience you had with a handful. It’s a moronic argument. I am self employed, so am I one of the greedy bosses? I certainly don’t drive a 12 merc or BMW, what I do do though is work my ass off to hopefully turn my business into a profitable one, where that I can provide for my future family should I have one. If you or any egjit on Dame st has a problem with that, you’re the fool, not me. I would never treat any one I employ, only one at present, in any way like you propose bosses treat their employees. Your argument is immature, naive and trying to be populist.

• Oh my days BeBop

That man’s shop is a great shop. He sells cool clothes for really cheap prices, and no, he doesn’t get his stuff en mass from some Bengali sweat shop. A lot of his stock is vintage wear sold to him by enthusiasts, as well as miltary clothing suppliers.He hires one or two people, but ultimately has managed to carve out a living for himself in what is a highly priced area for shop rental.

He is NOT Monsanto or Exxon or fecking Wall Street. I’ve never seen him prancing about in colonial khaki helmets and shorts, beating exploited Africans with a cane. Whatever the intricacies of his problems with the protestors, your assesment of the man and the other small businesses is sheeer GARBAGE!

• Scum go home!!!!

• What is temple bar – a hole, full of weirdos,drunks and ‘trendies’ who are tolerated because they are deemed to be the ‘Character of Dublin’. A conglomeration of pseudo vernacular shop fronts with a few ‘architect’ designed monstrosity’s dotted here and there because the powers that be thought a bit of ‘whats good for you’ might lift the place and lend an air of sophistication.
    The unseemly record of Temple Bar Properties is well documented and the area is as much a ‘cultural quarter’ as an unimaginative city planner might conceive while contending with dose of constipation on his dinner break.
    During a recent visit I stopped to rest using one of the many empty seats outside a cafe on ‘meeting house square’ w

• Fact he has 3 shops in temple bar pretty much says it all though lets be honest…….

• The Occupy Movement are protesting against Capitalism because it has ruined our country. The best way to stop this is to “divide and conquer” . Sadly, it seems to be working all over again :(

• rb 07/02/12 #

well at least the protesters are stopping young people street drinking there so that sorts out a local issue. are they doing any good though in a national sense? the cuts just keep coming anyway. occupy Merkels headquarters could make a better point. id love 2 see that on the news LOL

• I think the cops thought if they played ball with these hippies and let them do their thing theyd get bored and piss off. I reckon its gone beyond a joke now and time for the cops to lay down the law.

• Hey there fascists, I’m a doley pot head and just wanted to thank all you hardworking tax-payers for paying for my parasitic lifestyle. Its great. I’ve no out-goings, no assets, no worries. Off for 2 weeks snowboarding soon. Sweet. Thanks guys. I get that a lot of you are bummed out you got so deep into neg equity – greeds a bitch, innit? Looking forward to the spring and a couple months surfing. €250 goes a long way when you’re not a greed-obsessed retard who bought an overpriced shoebox and drives a terenure tractor. I love Capitalism and I love the system – those at the top do good, those at the bottom do good, and the majortiy of fools pay. Darwinism. Peace out.

Add New Comment