TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Older people “leaving money on kitchen table” in case they are burgled

Deputy Thomas Pringle said that this was due to a lack of gardaí in rural areas such as in Donegal, with some criminals having no fear as “they won’t be caught”.

OLDER PEOPLE HAVE begun leaving money on the kitchen table in case they are robbed following rural garda cuts, a Deputy has claimed.

Deputy Thomas Pringle told Taoiseach Enda Kenny today during Leaders’ Questions that he knows of areas plagued by vandals and criminals who have no fear as “they won’t be caught”.

He continued:

People are so afraid that some people living on their own are leaving 50 quid out on the kitchen table in case they are burgled. That’s no way to live.

He said that the fact there are going to be proposed cuts “makes it all the more worrying”, especially as 40 garda stations have already been closed down. “It is just dangerous,” he said.

He questioned how the Taoiseach equates less gardaí and less stations with efficiency. He also asked him to reconsider the ban on new recruits in counties like Donegal and Mayo.

Response

Deputy Kenny responded that the nature of contact between gardaí and the public has changed over the years and that gardaí have responded to that. He said that there are now 664 stations around the country and that “decisions made here are of interest both in town and country”.

He added that there is “actually little point of having a garda sitting in a decrepit building for three hours on a Wednesday to sign unemployment assistance forms” when what the public demands is visual connection and contact.

The Taoiseach said that money has been made available for the purchase of new garda vehicles, with:

200 new garda cars purchased because of the clapped out nature of a number of them with very high mileage.

Deputy Pringle said some gardaí have to travel over 50 miles for callouts and that since 2008 the number of guards has reduced while staffing levels have fallen.

Read: Garda association criticises proposed closure of 80 stations>

Read: Crime is falling – but kidnapping and burglaries have risen sharply>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• Not just Donegal or Mayo I’m afraid, even parts of Dublin are seeing this and more station closures around the corner! I’d really hate to be a pensioner the way things have gone.

• Things haven’t got that bad crime wise. Crime figures have fallen in many areas. Don’t scare people. I don’t think any police stations have closed down in Dublin and police numbers are more or less the same as they were in 2007.
      There are a lot less murders than there were in 2007. 50% fall approx

• Sorry jack but 4 stations were closed in Dublin as a result of last years budget – Rush, Whitehall, Dalkey and Harcourt Terrace. 2 of which were in heavily populated areas. Further to that 10 stations in Dublin are now working reduced hours.
      Burglaries are through the roof despite the massaged figures put out.

• Should they be releasing information about pensioners leaving money out? I hope more aren’t targeted now. Such a disgrace that they live in that kind if fear.

• This is happening all over rural Ireland; here in Roscrea, Tipperary they’ve already reduced the Garda presence, only one officer on during the night and he/she is effectively powerless. Rumor is that they plan to close it altogether, although the police are denying this, yet seeking to clear the streets before 2am at weekends in order to allow a reduction in staff.

Cuts are all well and good, but when police services are cut no-one benefits, except maybe criminals.

• If only terrorising and robbing pensioners was deemed worse than calling garlic apples in this stupid country’s justice system… Can we please get suitable punishment for these toe-rags!?

• I have the best guard Dog in the Wold, trained him my self ! he is a large Blue Heeler/cross
      I have trained him to take down a person on command.
      I feel safe and over 65!! would never allow the world in which I live to become a place of fear, the TV and all media need to stop making headlines the more frighting the better.
      In my street we all have each others phone number and look out for each other.

• Reporting news like this is great for those burglars who may not have been aware of it

• God Almighty.!! What the hell has happened to this country !!

• I think emergency services like the Gardai is something we can’t cut no matter what the cost. There has to be a better way than just simply closing Garda stations.

• just as long as criminals don’t see the 50 and think these pensioners are loaded if they can leave 50′s lying all over the place,easy target the elderly,not good enough shatter,what are u going to do about it!!!!

• Yoyo 20/11/12 #

Well personally I think the fear within communities needs to be highlighted and if you’re waiting on the boys in the Dail to bring it up…… Good luck!! The other option is highlighting it in the media. If you want to read about rainbows and glitter and pretend this is not happening fair enough. But the reality is this is gonna catch up with us all eventually if things keep going the way they are. And I don’t think The Journal influences whether a burglary is gonna happen…. In most cases it’s when the perpetrators decide they need to fund their next ‘fix’.

• Fact is people who rob houses use all types of information to help them. Thats why some listen to funeral notices – to target homes of the deceased or relatives. I know one home that was targeted after being featured in a home deco magazine. You’d be surprised.

• I do see your point that sometimes you need to push past the bland generic release about the elderly feeling fearful about home robberies. As sad as it is, a detail like this (leaving money on the table) can capture the imagination.

• jrbmc 20/11/12 #

Disgraceful !!! Shame on you shatter !!

• How can this government justify this. Our pensioners are living in fear,can’t afford to heat their houses and now they are leaving money out at night.
    Basically they are paying protection money so they can be left alone !!!!!!!.
    Our very own “inspector Clueless” is busy chasing euro crooks and removing resorces from our most fragile citizens.
    Seriously,this government is so detached (or maybe they just don’t care)from reality it’s scary.
    I sincerly hope these clowns are kicked out and soon.

• Don’t it just piss you off ? To think that there is two coppers outside Enda’s house Gilmore’s and shatters houses and Gardai in the country have to thumb a lift

• I am a pensioner and would not have 50 euro to leave out at nite if i want to eat, maybe 50cents, and it would take the guards 3 hrs to get to me if i had a break in and i am only 25 miles from Dublin,

• Time for Shatter to resign ! ! Now !

• I really don’t think that kind of information should be reported by the media! A bit of cop on is needed in the journal on this one!

• @brian The problem has to be highlighted somewhere.

I myself have been involved in this sort of situation. My grandmother.. An 84 year old widow living on her own got broken into in 2010 while she was out for the night ( thank god ) if thats the right thing to say. I happened to come on to the incident which meant they got nothing but they got away before I got a chance to see them.

so then I ring the gardai… Then ring again.. And again and finally nearly 3 hours later a guard arrives out and did absolutely nothing… and few weeks later my grandmother got a measly letter from the super saying how sorry he was bladee bladee bla.

And now they say they want to make these situations even worse.. DISGRACE.

• This story makes me so sad. I agree with others though who said it might not be suitable information to release as it could encourage more opportunist thieves.

• It’s not just burglaries that elderly people fear. About 10 years ago my grandmother (now 89) was getting off a bus and a gang of lads pushed past her and she fell onto the pavement. She broke her hip and lost all her independence. Ever since that day she has been too scared to leave the house and on the rare occasion that she does go out we have to come with her. The way the elderly are treated in this country is a total disgrace. We should have nothing but the utmost respect for them.

• Any thieves out their remember if you dont see e50 on the kitchen, the person is too poor to rob!

• My mum leaves all her jewelery on kitchen counter incase, but unfairness nothing is worth much (i have the wedding/engagement rings) but the sentimental value to her is loads eg prob the plastic rings we bought in tuttles as kids

• bushi 21/11/12 #

“(…)plagued by vandals and criminals who have no fear as “they won’t be caught”.”

…how about bringing back good old Common Law, where the penalty for burglary of one’s sacred HOME, is Death, and possibly – on the spot, from the hands of the owner himself? If the property owner could simply shot dead the bastards who dare to enter his home in the dead of the night, to steal from him, to put his life and the life of his beloved ones in danger – wouldn’t it be just, and very cost effective all the same? Would the criminals be scared enough, you reckon? Would they learn, if they know the possible ultimate outcome?

I know, I know. I am not playing the popular tune now. It is better to try & pretend, that all people are taken better care of, by our chosen representatives – if we could only find enough money around, to put a policeman on every corner… So sure as hell, they will come to you for that money – instead of just accepting that People have both right, and responsibility, to defend their Homes, and themselves.

• Those o us with elderly relatives will need to step in hell maybe we should organise our own patrols do what RAAD does to death dealers, prove their doin crimes walk up after bein totally sure n put a bullet between their eyes. No repeat offenders. If our govt wont protect our elderly we will n maybe next stop Dublin to deal with those crooks!

• snooch 20/11/12 #

Are we sure we’re not overreacting here? Is a great deal of the fear people are experiencing driven by the fear mongering rhetoric reported in the media and the opposition? I’m from the countyside and with the exception of a few isolated incidents it certainly hasn’t gotten worse!

• that’s great that you haven’t had to hear much of this type of crime but your so wrong it certainly has gotten worse! also many elderly people choose not to report crimes like these out of fear and embarrassment…

• The facts speak for themselves(ish). The number of burglaries reported nation wide has increased significantly and I hate to say but it will only increase further coming up to Christmas. The truth of the fact also is that many burglaries are not even reported to Gardai, for various reasons. It’s referred to as the ‘dark figure’.

• So then why if it more elderly people at risk did the Journal run this story? Answer please.

• ★bar 20/11/12 #

jaysus im nackered

• Ok so it has to be highlighted “somewhere” hopefully no one will be burgled as a result.

• Highlight the issue to possible criminals.

• and we will all sleep better thinking our elderly are safe and sound with no worries of criminals breaking into their homes and terrorizing them… get real criminals can get ideas from anywhere.
      its important for issues like this to be highlighted so we can push for solutions.

• Why all the red thumbs and no explanation?

Add New Comment