TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Over 2,000 people to go through Garda vetting to be a Dublin city ambassador

Garda clearance applications must be processed before the ambassador scheme can go ahead, but organisers say they’re “confident”.

Irish lovelies at the launch of City of a Thousand Welcomes, which begins on June 16th
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

TWO THOUSAND TWO hundred people who signed up to become goodwill ambassadors in Dublin are to be sent forward for Garda vetting in the coming weeks.

The organisers of the City of a Thousand Welcomes project say they hoped that 1,000 people would apply over a three month period, but in fact more than 2,000 applied in just three weeks. The volunteer ambassadors will be responsible for meeting tourists in the city centre, taking them out for a pint or a cuppa, and telling them all about Dublin.

Spokesperson Simon O’Connor told TheJournal.ie that they’re confident that the Garda vetting process won’t delay the scheme, despite recent reports that there can be a ten week delay in processing applications for clearance to work or volunteer in certain areas. He says they always knew that vetting would be a reality, that they have been working with the Gardaí on the issue and that there is nothing severe about the process.

O’Connor also says that they expect an “inevitable falloff of people who decide they’re not going to do it”:

That’s why we’re glad that so many people applied, because we really do need a thousand people, and now we’re sure that we’re going to get that.

Tourists will be offered the chance to sign up for the scheme from mid May, while the first ambassadors will be on the streets from 16 June. Tourists will choose one of three meeting slots a day. They will then meet with an ambassador in the City of a Thousand Welcomes offices on St. Stephen’s Green, and from there they’ll head off for a free pint or cup of tea.

The Stephen’s Green premises are also being turned into a new museum for Dublin city. The Little Museum of Dublin will occupy the first floor of the Georgian house and reflects on life in Dublin in the 20th century. Volunteers are also being sought to get involved in the running and curating of exhibits.

Read next:

Comments (27 Comments)

• Sadly, Dublin is more commonly represented, at least on her streets, by track suited dole jockeys asking you for “A yooroo fore de boos, bud”, women with surgically attached babies and a mouth of gold gnashers accosting you at ATM’s and looking over your shoulder, and skanger couples shooting up (individually, or each other) on the Luas.

Garda vetting is obviously necessary, but so is a collective facing up to and tackling of these problems by groups such as the ones who come up with what are good and well intentioned ideas, like this one.

• Yeah, just like any large city Ryan.

• I beg to differ. Dublin, despite having so much to offer the traveller, is by far the worst among the capital cities of Europe, in my experience. This is not recession driven, it’s crept in over many years of neglect. O’Connell street, far from being a vibrant, safe, and pleasing place to be, is a hotpotch of chip shops, neon signs, excessive traffic, both two legged and four wheeled.

The vast majority of people I’ve spoken to, have said the best thing about Dublin was finding a bar off the beaten track to escape the junkies, the beggars and the noise. As for those bars that aren’t off the beaten track, the less said about them the better.

• This is fantastic news. We really need to show tourist how great this city is. Let’s face it we need the money. Its high time we released our treasured weapon that we lost in the Celtic tiger era. Our Irish charm & our great sense of humour!

• Jeeze get yerself a sense of humour there Bertie Ahern Finn/O’Reilly, I’ll be cribbing and moaning as long as people are being horsesh*t in this country. The entire state has become one big marketing campaign with little to back up the hot air. What for instance, have two silicone enhanced red heads in leprechaun tee shirts got to do with the real Dublin? So perhaps there are a few more armed gangs around these days, and rich americans make easy targets, however, it’s still a good place to visit full of interesting people (while they’re still sober enough to speak) point is, why not just be up front with tourists.
    I ‘m not knocking the principle of a welcoming volunteer or whatever, however if I were a tourist coming here to meet a Dub, I’d be looking to meet Brendan Behan not Brenda Bosom – that is, unless we’re planning on becoming the city of a thousand lap dances. Behan incidentally wouldn’t have cleared the Garda vet checks.

• City of a thousand tiger kidnappings more like …while the Gardai are farting around on this nonsense.

• @ dave finn

I don’t know how much you have travelled Dave but if you have ever been in a large number of major European capital cities, for example Berlin, Helsinki and even Amsterdam (outside the red light area) you should have seen that there is NONE of the behaviour that is tolerated on Dublin streets.

However you will find junkies, beggars, roma, etc in some eastern capital cities behaving the same as the uncultured peasants that we seem to cherish in Dublin

• Emmm, the truth it is generally is worse here.

Street law and order here is almost as bad as britain, the difference being their police forces are more proactive in how they deal with it

In many ways it seems we are still the uncultured peasants we always were, except for a few years the peasants had money – resulting in abominations like gerald kean, the dundrum centre and the nonsense of the concept of an ‘Irish celebrity’

And naively, we love to think tourists love us cos we cuddly and we talk a lot and we get drunk really easily……

• Well, thats not my experience, so sorry that i cant agree. Try Hamburg, Rotterdam, barcelona, Rome, Milan, London, Paris, Miami, Los Angeles, Prague to name but a few if you’d like a good scare. Comparing us to Helsinki and such is inappropriate as the culture and social structure is so different as to be another planet. You wont change that overnight.

I agree we need to stop celebrating our trash classes as we often do, but a city without a bit of gray matter is quite frankly boring.

• I will say that yes, our city needs a clean up. But lets not go crazy about its perceived faults. Scum in other cities just happens to be better dressed…. But its still there.

• Im with you Dave, most of the posters here seem to be struck down with terminal cynicism. Over 2000 people have applied , they are all ages and from different walks of life. In the last 2 years I’ve been in Barcelona , Berlin , Paris , Amsterdam etc . Barcelona makes Dublin look like Disneyland when it comes to street vice. Yes we have our problems but personally I’d rather if the whingers packed there bags and got out of the way and let the rest of us get on with it. This recession is nothing compared to what our forefathers endured in the past. The people that are moaning here represent all that’s negative about this country , begrudgery, the ne’er can do’s.

• Fair play to ambassadors, feck de begrudgers

• Over the last 2 years especially Dublin has just gotten pretty manky. Today in the space of 10 feet on D’Olier street I saw a guy shooting up, another guy urinating while drinking a can and just avoided stepping in a pool of vomit and about 20 spits. I would put it on a par with parts of Delhi…although Delhi wouldn’t appear to have the same blatant drug problems.

• The gardai need to earn their wage by dealing with assaults and keeping a visible presence on the street, especially at night. They don’t need more paperwork to keep them occupied.

• Too much mutually exclusive thinking going on here.

This initiative is a brilliant idea. Anything that improves the experience of our customers (tourists) and makes them talk Ireland up is to be welcomed.

At the same time we do have a lot to be dissatisfied about. A New York approach to cleaning up our streets would be a great first step.

We need both.

What we do not need is a succession of whinging begrudgery.

• Your probably right mate. I just get fed up of every single thing anyone tries to do in this country being shot down by a pack of whingers. This is the 6th country ive lived in and its not that bloody bad! (quite good actually!)

The grass isnt always greener as everyone seems to think. This recession would have been over a lot quicker if the never ending chorus of disapproval just stopped for a while!

• There’s a thing called the Irish condition. Its the automatic assumption that everything is worse in Ireland than anywhere else. It isnt.

• Andy 29/04/11 #

What tourist? Why in Gods name would you want to come here?

• ‘Gardai farting around on this nonsense’. Another typically enlightened contribution. Yes there is a full-time Garda vetting service and yes it is absolutely necessary, for many obvious reasons if one actually thinks about it. I’m sure Mr Shatter and the commissioner will hardly be sitting down to discuss allocating more Garda staff for this particular task. And what have ‘Tiger kidnappings’ got to do with this post. What relevance has this to the story? You may as well mention any arbitrary topical serious crime. I don’t remember any tourists being the victims of tiger kidnappings lately. Yes there are tiger kidnappings occurring at present, and some culprits are now actually before the courts, but tourists are far more likely to be the victims of theft and assault crime. I don’t know how this system is going to work, or if it will ever be proven to be successful, but surely everyone would agree that it is a prerequisite that these guides ( or whatever they will be called) will be vetted and have no criminal history for obvious reasons.

• Great idea – make sure they all know about Loc8 Codes to help tourists find things and the Iphone App point8 which works with Google, Navigon and TomTom Apps

Add New Comment