TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Rabbitte: ‘Bullying didn’t come in with the advent of the internet’

The Minister for Communications was speaking about social media before the Joint Committee on Transport and Communications earlier today.

Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources Pat Rabbitte (file photo)
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR COMMUNICATIONS Pat Rabbitte insisted that government plans to ensure that social media was used in a responsible manner was “not about politicians”.

The minister was speaking before the Joint Committee on Transport and Communications today, in the first of four meetings that he hoped would allow the committee to “hear firsthand from the other stakeholders”.

Rabbitte insisted that it was important that “we start this consultation with open minds” and urged that its outcome was in the public interest.

He also made the point that bullying was an age old issue, existing since “Adam was a boy”.

Bullying didn’t come in with the advent of the internet. It has been there since the felt pen on the back of the bathroom door.

The minister heard from a number of deputies and senators, including Fidelma Healy-Eames, who confusingly described the social media term ‘fraping’ as “where you’re raped on Facebook”.

Legal gaps

He remained upbeat about what social media had offered to date, lauding it as a “complex, exciting and multifaceted sector” which was already covered by “robust legal measures” such as the Defamation Act, which he said also covered online comment.

The Non-Fatal Offences against the Person Act, however, was less clear, as it didn’t deal with “communications about someone”, something that the minister said was being interpreted “very narrowly” by the courts.

He also said that the The Communications Regulation Act 2007 did not extend to social media.

“It appears that there may be a gap,” he said, adding that “no specific mechanism” was currently available to gardaí or the courts to deal with current social media issues.

Addressing this issue would require the striking of a “delicate balance” which would ensure that freedom of speech and access to information were not infringed upon.

He went on to say that this balance would need to be struck “again and again” as new technologies continued to emerge.

Rabbitte said that content that was posted outside of Ireland’s jurisdiction posed a huge challenge to citizens and was not something that he believed could be legislated against.

Take-down procedures

When Fine Gael TD John O’Mahony asked the minister if he was happy with the way in which offensive material was removed from the internet, Rabbitte said that he had difficulty with the take-down policy of some companies.

With representatives from both Twitter and Facebook set to appear before the committee tomorrow, he said that this was something that “ought to be probed with the companies that come before you”.

He said that having effective procedures in place was “good corporate citizenship” and that he had found it “disturbing” when colleagues had come to him in cases where they found it difficult to contact the relevant parties to ensure such removals.

Capacity of technology to do good

Responding to questions in which the concerns of constituents were raised, the communications minister was adamant that while these concerns were valid, the “capacity of this technology to do good and to transform how we interact with each other is almost unlimited”, making reference to the phenomenon that was the Arab Spring.

Read: Oireachtas committee wants to hear your issues with social media >

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• “Fidelma Healy-Eames confusingly described the social media term ‘fraping’ as “where you’re raped on Facebook”.

Just let that sink in there now.

• Wow… That woman is ridiculous… I remember when I was in secondary school, she came to give a seminar on study and she was as bad then… Full of bull****!

• Pat Rabbit quoted as saying at the weekend ” have just come from another busy day diminishing the living standards of our people” this was reported in the Irish Daily Mail on 02/03/13..

• The thing with this statement is that the people that dont use facebook or know what a frape is will go along with this ridicules statement.

People wouldnt leave their bank account or e mails logged on, its easy to log out of facebook to stop this.

And charging people to tweet or update their status, another ridicules idea of people that obviously have never used it. There will always be a way to remain anonymous to hide your ip address.

ACTA & SOPA were stopped & now they are trying to eat away at our internet freedom in a way as disguising it as stopping the bullying. Internet freedom is being chipped away at !

• JayK 06/03/13 #

Senator Eamonn Coghlan believes we should register our passport numbers, or have to pay in order to post on social media. Evidently a man who has no idea what the internet is or how it works. This is the same kind of ignorance that says people should be charged for linking to a news website.

Reminds my of American Senator Ted Stevens who described the internet as a “series of tubes”.

• I was watching today and I tried to find him on twitter to send ask him how much should I be charged for this tweet and not a sign of him on Twitter anywhere, only a little blurb on the party website. Why are these the people picked for the committees? There should be some pre-requisite for some sort of related experience experience

• Anyone hear this guy on TodayFM yesterday?
    Cooper asked him a straight question, Pat started waffling along and then actually admits, live on air, that he forgot the question.
    Couldn’t have been a clearer example of politician’s bullsh*t taking precedence over a straight answer.

• Wow, politicians who break their promises getting abuse on the interweb, what new form of tyranny is this?

“Sure isn’t that what you tend to do during election campaigns,” says Pat Rabbitte on the subject of election promises.

• +1 pat, cyber bullying isnt an issue, just regular bullying, no action needs to be taken to do anything with the internet, deal with the root of the problem, not its latest branch

• Listening to Fidelma Healy-Eames and Coghlan opining about the internet is the equivalent of talk from Jackie Healy Ray on sanitary towels.

• Adam was never a boy.

• More awe-inspiring insights from one of the greatest philosophical minds of our time.

• I suppose next thing will be for the politicians to claim all criticism of them on social media is “bullying”.
    Bullying is, of course, when somebody weak or vulnerable is terrorised or forced to submit unwillingly to the malign will of a stronger person. That’s what bullying is. And bullying is unacceptable, in all its forms.
    That said, it is difficult to frame anti-bullying legislation and I doubt the present lot in charge have the wits or intelligence not to make a cock-up of it. Judging by their other performances to date.
    Parents should ensure that their children only use age-appropriate sites. Facebook is unsuitable for children, in my opinion.

• Wynnner 06/03/13 #

Seriously you couldn’t make this up

• The corrupt fear us. The honest support us. The heroic join us. We are Anonymous. Internet Taxing!…then be expect us.

• Pat Rabbitte say “its not about politicians”, correct me if im wrong but i dont remember the government been to concerned about online bullying until the issue came knocking on their own door, as in the recent death of a FG TD, allegedly due to online comments.

• Their building up to finding some reason to charge the regular taxpayer for media. Wait and see

• The bullies themselves are feeling the pressure, that right pat ?

• Stay away from the free voice of the Internet, big brother can piss off and I’m joking about that…..

• Politicians have been dying to get their grubby hands on the Internet.

• I went to a posh boarding school in Scotland for the last two years of school. It only took girls for sixth form. Boys were sometimes allowed into the girls house and once one of them sneaked into the laundry room and grabbed a pair of someones dirty knickers. Everything was name tagged even pants. they then pinned them up outside the dining hall with a notice saying “scratch and sniff’.
    You wouldn’t believe the torture we were put through.
    Most of them are now bankers.
    And probably still w’nkers.
    : )

• So let me see . Thy can and do ..say any thing thy like . Do what thy like when thy like . But peasants can only speak when spoken to . . Seems fair to me

• Thats right pat, It came in with the workers party!

• The likes of Senator Healy Eames seek to prevent the online community from holding elitist politicians to account.

Healy Eames fined for tax violation
    http://galwayindependent.com/stories/item/5296/2012-51/Healy-Eames-fined-for-tax-violation

Fine Gael Senator Fidelma Healy Eames has been convicted and fined €1,850 for driving continuously for six months without paying tax on her Mercedes car.

Mrs Healy Eames (50), from Maree, Oranmore, was not present at Galway District Court when four tax summons were dealt with. Senator Healy Eames pleaded guilty in her absence to driving without tax on dates in March, June and July last and to not having tax displayed when her car was seized in July. A fifth summons for making a false declaration was withdrawn by the State.

Garda Garrett Cafferkey gave evidence that he was on his way to work on 10 March in his private car when he saw the accused on her mobile phone while driving her Mercedes near her home. He recognised her but did not stop her car. He issued a ticket to her when he got into work for using her phone, which was subsequently paid.

• You’ve gotta love it when someone who hasn’t got the foggiest about something sets out to debate it in the Oireachtas..
    Fraping is being raped on the Internet eh? That’s possibly even better than the politician in the UK that Chris Morris managed to fool with his Brasseye sketch about the drug “cake”.

Perhaps they should have some nerds come in and explain what the Internet is and how it works before they make even bigger fools of themselves..

• what a dummy!

• Fidelma Healy Eames to repay cost of Africa flights paid for by State

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/fidelma-healy-eames-to-repay-cost-of-africa-flights-paid-for-by-state-26888945.html

GALWAY senator Fidelma Healy-Eames is expected to reimburse the cost of flights to Africa for her husband, paid for by a state agency, within ” a couple of weeks”.

Ms Healy-Eames was invited to Rwanda by Voluntary Service Overseas (VSO) Ireland, and her husband, Michael, has also gone on the trip.
    The VSO also paid for the couple’s flights to Kenya, where they are taking a hotel break at their own expense — but the cost of these flights will be refunded to the VSO.

Ms Healy-Eames carried out the voluntary work as part of the ‘Politicians for Development’ programme and was advising a minister in Rwanda on early childhood education, while her husband gave business advice to an organic farm.

Ms Healy-Eames could not be contacted for comment last night but she told the ‘Sunday Independent’ she will “balance the books” on her return as part of an agreement reached with VSO prior to her trip.

Malcolm Quigley, of the VSO, also said this had been agreed. “We pay in advance and the spouse reimburses,” he said. “We do this all the time.”

Other politicians who have participated in the development programme include Leo Varadkar, junior minister Sean Sherlock, former Fianna Fail TD Chris Andrews, Labour TD Dominic Hannigan, and Fianna Fail senator Mark Daly.

• I notice Gilmore did not mention Hogan the bully he is supporting for the last two years, its wrong for someone else to bully but its ok for Hogan,FG and Labour to bully the people and blackmail them into paying unjust taxes, he should look in the mirror before he opens his mouth. He will be remembered after the next election as the turncoat that destroyed the Labour Party.

• Minister for natural resources??

• Old, out of touch greysuits, blathering about stuff they don’t understand…

• And nothing happens when this government bully the citizens of this country into pay for all their f**k ups…

• Helplink have a YouTube channel that shows vids on how to set your privacy settings on your social media as well as one or two on anti cyber bullying tips amongst other vids check them out here: http://www.youtube.com/HelplinkTV

Young people and people in general not knowing how to set there privacy settings on their social media is reported as being one of the biggest problems when it comes to cyberbullying

Helplink also provides an affordable national online or by phone counselling service for people aged 15+ to who are dealing with depression, anxiety, bullying and others check them out at http://www.helplink.ie or contact counselling@helplink.ie or call (091) 520963

• Rabbitte crawl back in to enda’s burrow, all of the residents of the government in the Daíl are using bully tactics on elderly, disabled, children and households. Bringing in legislation if the unions and workers dont agree to cuts… how about the government minstered practice what they preach and pull finger out of one anothers hole and take 40% cuts in your own wages….

• I put the majority of this down to the recent trend of websites (including the journal.ie) forcing people to login only with a twitter or facebook a/c. For kids especially this exposes their true identity and psychologically it has more impact. If more kids were encouraged to use anonymous a/c’s for websites away from their close circle their wouldn’t be so much trouble – certainly not suicides. No it won’t stop trolling etc., but anonymity has far less personal impact. The www worked fine until facebook and twitter came along encouraging real ID’s. Why? plain and simple – advertising. And thejournal and others fell for it, hook line and sinker.

• Twitter doesn’t force you to use any personally identifying information at all. Anyone concerned about their privacy online should not use their real name or turn on geo-location on Twitter and make their account private; it’s very easy to go quite anonymous online.

It’s not the Internet’s fault people are ignorant of privacy controls.

• Paul, it is hard to understand why you would NOT post under your real name. What do you have to hide? I consider these sites an extension of “letters to the editor” and see no problem with providing my name. Clueless? Ball less I’d say in some cases…..

• True but askfm did and the hate on that is scary.

• Very important to deal with bullying on the Internet. It seems to be a place where anyone can just let go of some steam and spout hatred that they normally wouldn’t in public. Lets not forget there have been many suicides due to bullying on the Internet and it is a serious issue. Some of the comments here are extremely childish and uncaring to what is a very important topic of our current day and age.

I myself have had one journal reader contact me privately on Facebook letting me know that they know where I live and mentioned the place where I grew up in. Where they got that info from is beyond me and i have reported it to Facebook but what to do from then on? There does not seem to be any legislation in place to even nip things like that in the bud.

• Goverment stooge here people beware .

• Ahh that’s funny.
      I once had Paul Kehoes brother tell me to “mind what I’m putting up on da journal” as I entered the local shop.
      Therefore I am now Little Jim and P Kehoe is still an ass.
      (and I still wouldn’t trust him to count sheep)

• Graham 06/03/13 #

Sorry Stephen but that’s rich coming from you. Only last week you said gay people have an illness, you have abused women who are Pro Choice and numerous other vile posts.

• “Where they got that info from is beyond me….” Stephen your facebook page is open for everyone to view Duh!

• “Where they got that info from is beyond me” Oh really…?

*clicks on name*

*Facebook page with exact location of Stephen’s house pops up*

Ladies and gentlemen, someone who doesn’t know how Facebook works and is much happier to blame everyone and anyone else for their utter ignorance.

• Disagreeing with someone’s worldview graham is not vile. I always respond to the post and do not attack the poster. My Facebook page describe the town I live in. The map you see I have no idea what that is but it shows a part of the town that I reside in but definitely does not show a part of dundalk that i have ever lived. However as for the estate I live in this person had that info which is nowhere on the internet or my facebook page. So the map you see is showing wrong info altogether.

One really has to stoops that low that they would threaten you in such a way huh? And you defend such behaviour? Very disappointing posts by all of you.

• Graham 06/03/13 #

Stephen I wouldn’t waste my time looking at your Facebook. But my point was that a lot of your posts have been full of hate and bigotry. So think before you post and consider other people and their feelings if you are that concerned.

• None of my posts have been bigotry in any way. I think you need to understand that disagreeing with somebody’s worldview such as homosexual activity is not bigotry. The same goes for you graham, just because you diagree with Catholicism and its doctrines does not mean your a bigot either.

I think you fail to understand the difference between expressing an opinion about a particular worldview and being a bigot and personally Nasty towards someone.

Over on boards.ie forums we have a saying which is attack the post and not the poster. I have never my knowledge ever been personally vile towards anyone on journal, if I ever have, provide the evidence and I will happily offer an apology but I have never done that.

• Stephen, if your opinion about a particular worldview is bigoted, then you are by default a bigot.
      What’s your interest in gays anyway?

• Graham 06/03/13 #

I have no problem with Catholicism or your religious beliefs Stephen. I respect anyone’s views but if they are bigoted like the gay comments you posted last week I take offence too it. Anyway ill leave it at that and look forward to reading nicer posts from you :-)

• Stephen, there is no stopping the spread of information over the Internet. No matter what they do. It is just another example of an ignorant, arrogant government, which, if they do consider this lunacy, need to put it to a referendum. They have absolutely no right o even consider such a decision without our consent.

• My opinion is not bigoted. I have never been hateful and always respectfully disagreed with people’s worldview. What’s happening here with you and graham is that nobody is bigoted when it comes to mocking Catholicism beliefs but we dare not attack secularism or their worldview because if we do then we are the ones that are being called bigots when really we just disagreeing and respectfully giving our opinion.

• What?

• In a post where you said:
      “These people are been given special privileges on what is a psychological disorder and not something naturally and visibly sound.” you insult every gay person ever.

I’m pretty sure in your imaginary world view your references in the same thread to homosexuality being “against natural law” you managed to ignore the fact that homosexuality exists in the animal kingdom as well as the human world.

To be honest, I don’t care what your opinion is – even when it manifests itself as bigotry. You’re trapped in a place which presents the answer “because it is written” as proof of anything you want to claim as christian. In that context, I am delighted I have no faith in any god.

Isn’t the beauty of the garden enough without having to believe that there are fairies living at the bottom of it too?

• Stephen. Just cop on.

• Tommy animals do not have a moral compass and do not reason like humans do so that’s a false argument right there. I am not going to argue about homosexuality now and i can see it Will steer off in that direction but its off topic and i wont be discussing it further. It’s not an insult it is an obvious and respectful contention to the debate. However telling me that I believe in imaginary things and so on is your opinion and not bigoted or seen that way by me. But if I were to use your logic it would be viewed as an insult and very bigoted.

• Paul 07/03/13 #

Dont publish your real name on the internets. rule 101. i laugh at the fools on journal using their real names. #clueless

• Don’t be a hypocrite, Stephen. When you were debating on the radio about Catholicism, you were losing the argument and started demanding your opponent tell you if he was pro life or pro choice. You’re no stranger to going off topic.

• I lost no argument. The pro life question was a valid one because he created that site using the child abuse scandals as a scapegoat for his real anti-church atheistic agenda. He is pro-choice and himself advocates the abuse of children in the womb and himself and his agenda was caught out lovely. If he in any way had a desire to protect children from abuse he would most certainly be pro life.

• Well you constantly think it’s not fair to be challenging religion.

I think there’s nothing fairer. It’s blatantly obvious to me that there are many who fill in the unknown with religion rather than accept that it is unknown and see if there is a scientific explanation.

For the truly deluded, this filling of the unknown with god starts to backfill the rest of their lives and becomes a skewed moral compass; one that is based in dogma.

As an example; arab countries many many centuries ago were forerunners in mathematics right up until Al Ghazali branded it the work of the devil. Suddenly, mathematics developments stalled.

The same religious attacks goes on against science – stem cell research for example, which has very serious and very real implications for so many people.

In attacking science, you attack the way of life you currently have and even the computer you sit behind. That’s not to say that science has not been used in harmful ways, but your dogma is in the way of human development.

I respect your right to have an opinion and a belief – as for respecting your opinion and belief; no, I don’t have to – and I don’t.

The reason: your dogma fills people with guilt, is disconnected from reality, consigns about 80% of the world to hell, misinterprets for your own ends what it means to not have belief, ignores a lot and dehumanises those who do not agree with you.

I used to think “live and let live” in terms of religion – but every so often someone like yourself comes along and actively encourages those who are not bound by faith to recognise all that is wrong.

Thanks, I look forward to seeing more from you and hope that you will actually recognise the ragged edge of pretty much all of your arguments.

• Tomy please provide a qoute from myself where I stated it was unfair of people to challenge my religion and that I am not ok by that? You are making assumptions. Te rest of your post is not worth reading because having had a glance one can safely agree it is off topic and your just having a rant.

• I’ve seen them and I’m not going to go looking for evidence so that you can side-step it as it may not fit your agenda.

I find it extremely interesting though that you assume a rant – yet accuse me of making assumptions.

• And Paul – you think you are untraceable? As an anonymous keyboard warrior without the balls to use your own name?

• Paul 08/03/13 #

Eamonn why would anybody want to trace me? Its not my problem that you like to give out all your personel details and family photos on your facebook. Utter madness. #clueless

• Just wake up, will you Stephen?

Add New Comment