TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Poll: do you support the introduction of graphic warnings on tobacco packaging?

Graphic images depicting the negative health impacts associated with smoking are soon to be placed on tobacco packaging sold in Ireland. How do you feel about that?

Image: Danny Lawson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

GRAPHIC IMAGES DEPICTING the negative health impacts associated with smoking are soon to be placed on tobacco packaging sold in Ireland.

The Minister for Health James Reilly announced that graphic images would be introduced in Ireland from next February – saying that if such images “shocked” people into considering the impact of smoking “then the warnings will have achieved their objective”.

Research has shown that graphic warnings, which are already used by many countries worldwide, have a notable impact upon smokers: a study published in the American Journal of Preventative Medicine today, which involved 200 smokers, concluded that 83 per cent were able to remember a health warning that appeared alongside a graphic photograph – while only 50 per cent remembers a message appearing as text only.

The warnings which will soon feature on tobacco packing will depict such images as: a pair of lungs severely affected by cancer, a large cancerous tumour on a man’s neck, a picture of a person’ mouth – showing blackened teeth and diseased throat, and a small child wearing an oxygen mask.

We’d like to know your thoughts on the plans: do you support the introduction of graphic warnings on tobacco packaging?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (96 Comments)

• I’d like to see graphic warnings on alcohol. Like pictures of someone dancing like a f*cking eejit at a christening

• I’ll probably just want to get the full collection of pics now

• Not sure if it works, but anything that reduces smoking has to be good

• I used to smoke,but last year while in Spain I got a pack of cigs while in a bar,the image but me off smoking for life.

• When I was in Georgia,about 12 years ago,they had really graphic ads of lungs and all sorts. Everytime they came on we’d all go “ewwwww” and the smokers in the room would get up and head out for a smoke……doesn’t always work ;)

• I think Denis Leary summed it up when he said “It doesn’t matter how big the warnings on the cigarettes are; you could have a black pack, with a skull and crossbones on the front, called TUMOURS, and smokers would be around the block going, “I can’t wait to get my hands on these f***ing things! I bet ya get a tumor as soon as you light up!”

• I know someone who is in hospital with lung cancer at the moment. Was brought in a couple of weeks ago. She is in her 60′s with 2 children and 4 grandchildren. She is getting chemo as a way to just extend the time before she dies. Guess what? She doesn’t feel motivated enough to give up smoking!

• How about fast food or alcohol… Should these not come with pictures of morbidly obese fat rolls, legs amputated to diabetes or cirrhosis riddled livers?

• People who want to give up smoking, give up smoking. People who don’t want to or are ambivalent on the matter don’t.

It’s that simple.

Coercion no more makes people believe in God or Dawkins than it does make people give up smoking.

Insulting smokers doesn’t help much either.

• That’s pretty transparently incorrect, factually speaking. Millions of people every year want to give up smoking but can’t break the addiction. Medical science confirms the drug itself is addictive. Telling them they just don’t “want” it enough is pretty insulting.

• The physical addiction passes pretty quickly, the mental addiction is the stronger component which is harder to break hence the need for the desire to be genuine.

• Very well said!

• @Damocles Ok I’ve never smoked and never will but that sounds like nonsense to me. How do you explain all the people who try to quit and fail multiple times? Simply saying their desire isn’t genuine seems patronising to me. There’s people who literally smoke through holes in their necks and your telling me they just didn’t want to quit bad enough!

• @Lorcan, if you’ve never smoked you’re unlikely to get it.

I quit, went back, quit, went back, and finally quit for good 5 years ago. Damocles is exactly right. People who want to quit, quit.

People who toy with the idea of quitting, wearing patches and chewing nicotine gum are people who have been brainwashed into thinking it’s hard to quit. They’re constantly re-enforced with bull like “Oh, they say it’s harder to quit than heroin”, which gives them an excuse to continue as ‘slaves’ to the cigarettes.

This goes for any kind of discipline, be it dietary, drugs, booze, whatever. Once you realise that you can’t sorta quit, cut down, only treat yourself once a while etc, then you do it. Anything else means you are not willing to give up in the first place – you’re only half motivated into thinking “I should give up” when you should realise that “I will give up”

• @Rónán While I can’t argue with your personal experience or Damocles’, I can argue with broad generalisations based on your personal experience. Sure you need to genuinely want to quit to be able to quit but you can’t say everyone who fails didn’t genuinely want to quit. That’s the only point I’m trying to make.

• Damocles 15/06/12 #

Thank you Ronan, your perspective is much appreciated.

• physical addiction passes after 24 hours. people enjoy smoking.

• Agree with Damocles.
      I smoked fairly heavily for years. Quitting is a matter of accepting that withdrawal is not a nice feeling and understanding that you can live happily without needing cigs. It’s like anything – once you commit yourself fully to it, it becomes easy – even the difficult parts.
      For me it was either smoke or not smoke, none of that “I’m cutting down” nonsense.
      When I finally decided to stop, I made sure that I had a few days to myself in which to do so. I had been smoking about 40 roll-ups a day. I gave my remaining tobacco to some homeless guys and… well… that was it.
      The withdrawal was stronger than I thought they would be, but I had decided. Taking up Taiji at the time helped.
      After about two weeks I didn’t think about it at all any more.
      @Peter @Lorcan
      So yeah – it is about not wanting it enough…. or perhaps not being realistic about how addicted you actually are.

• They defo should b on packs u can ignore the written warning but them pictures… There ain’t no ignoring them, n it’s a harder, starker message 2 kids aswel

• I’m an ex smoker and when I lived in Canada they had these pictures. I studied them, as I found them interesting, while smoking a cigarette. Other attempts had pictures of sad-faced children and “think of what smoking does to your kids”. Again, I laughed and smoked.

If scaring us about our health was effective then we’d have no smoking, binge drinking, fry ups etc. This is just a waste of time that gives little quangos and task forces a reason to exist and campaign.

• I would also add, Paul, that the ‘harder, starker message’ doesn’t work. It doesn’t stop kids from smoking, it doesn’t stop them from drinking, and it doesn’t stop them from trying drugs.

The majority of us overreact to the freedom that comes with emerging into adulthood, and then we try stuff and the world doesn’t end, we re-enforce that self-belief in our invincibility. We know the dangers of everything we put in our body, but we do it anyway.

This has nothing to do with warnings, health, the price of fags etc, and everything to do with culture. Examples are set in the home from an early age, and by our more adventurous peers.

• Ronan, the fact’s don’t support you. Nobody will claim that *every* smoker or potential smoker will respond to this sort of thing, but the results show that *some* do, which is good enough.

• Off the ciggies just over 12 months, pictures, warnings what not, made zero affect on me. My friend who works in oncology, who see’s the exact devastation first hand also says pictures, and the scare brigade does nothing, merely make you smoke more. If there was an incentive (despite health and financial) for smokers, but the governement can’t afford for smokers to give up, what’ll they do with all the lost revenue? With the tax thats made on cigs, offer it back to the smokers for hypnotherapy or help, you cannot change a mind, unless its educated.

• At nearly 9 yoyo’s a packet, how can people afford to smoke? The 3 grand a year!

• Since I packed them in last June thanks to hypnosis I was only recently thinking how my account had grown and it took a minute to click that it was since I quit. Best thing I ever did for myself as I was depressing myself for maybe 5 years promising to quit, going a few days or setting dates and sticking to it but always ended back lighting up. As you say around 3k better off now and sleeping better as well. Happy days

• it’s not going to make people stop, young people arnt going to care

• total waste of time. smokers are fully aware of the risks. what needs to happen is programs being brought in that are not overly expensive or free of charge to help people overcome their addiction or lower the price on the nicotine replacement products they are way over priced. but as has already been pointed out the government don’t want to stop people from smoking really as the revenue generated from taxes on cigarettes is so high.

• Not a waste of time costs they state nothing cigarette companies pay for the pics if just one person doesn’t start or one person gives up then it is worth it by then way health warnings helped me quit I’d be still smoking if I tought they’re not dangerous

• Its a daft idea, every smoker knows all too well the Damage it causes.. Show a smoker a diseased lung and they will just light up

• Its an evil industry. I really feel sorry for people who are addicted to them..

• Don’t see the point. As the government know – people are hooked on tobacco, eventually people won’t see the pictures. AFAIK in Spain many people use wallets to put the packs into – so they don’t see the pics.
    Surely smokers know the risk.
    Alcohol is far bigger problem imo.

• spare me the bull about the state funding the health services for smokers, I pay my vhi and I pay 150+ directly when I see consultants

• For the next election they should put a warning on the posters across the country warning the people that all the pre election promises are lies, smoking is not a crime what some of our elected reps get up are crimes yet they walk around as if they own the country when they should be time in jail, wake up and smell the coffee.

• (totally off topic)
      Unfortunately making and then breaking promises is also not a crime – unless perhaps in contract form. AND our neo-liberal lawmakers have made that what the banks have done is probably also not a crime.
      The media let them away with their broken promises far too easily. Apparently to accept anything that a politician says before an election means that you are gullible.
      I feel strongly about their lies too. It seems that when a politician says, “If elected I will… ” the rest of the sentence should be completely disregarded. That makes it difficult to know the purpose of voting at all…… guess it’s a chance to see the lovely art work the kids have done in the schools.

• Fecking do-gooder health Nazis (and feck Godwin too) – I know the risks, everybody knows the risks – get the feck out of my face you muppets

• Which part of the term “Smoking kills” are smokers having difficulty with?

• Sorry just have up say, and people always get this wrong! The nicotine leaves your body in a few days, the addiction and craving can go on for months or years! That is why it’s really hard to give up! It wears people down ! Very hard to give up but is very worth it, to be free from needing something.

• I would be more inclined to approve the Australian method of olive green packaging with zero branding.

• Wouldn’t that just benefit the already well-established brands? Everyone already knows Benson and Hedges, Silk Cut, Marlboro etc., so they don’t really need to advertise anyway. If no one else can advertise then that means no one is going to take away the big brands’ market share.

That would give lower production costs to the established brands (because a plain box is cheaper to make) and it also means that consumers won’t really know their options for changing to weaker cigarettes in an attempt to wean themselves off smoking.

• I’m not talking about advertising in particular. There is no such thing as cigarette advertising in this country any more. Packets aren’t allowed to be displayed nor are shops allowed to have printed adverts in store. My concern about having “graphic pictures” is that parents who smoke and have young children, their packets are on display in the home. Do we want these kids seeing the likes of blackened lungs and tar being squeezed from a vital organ?

• yummm fat roll

• These pics don’t work. Smokers just blot them out or cover it up. Everyone knows the dangers of smoking and these scare tactics (like the warning text on packs) don’t help smokers quit.

• No.I do not support it.

• You could call them Tumors & I’d still smoke them!

• this is pointless legislation to make it appear that a government is carrying out good work. focus on the economy idiots and get out if our private lives

• as bill hicks said:
    Newsflash; WE ALL DIE!
    There’re too many ppl on this planet as it is,

And folks that think they will safe money if they stop smoking should think again.
    The money the govnmt made from smokes before has to be balanced out somewhere. So instead of spending it on cigs we now spend it on taxes. Only we dont get nothing for it.

• I think its disgusting – NO!!! People smoking are aware of the health risks anyway and are made even aware EVERY fecking day!!! It’s ok – lol the best reason to stop are the prices anyway ;-) The photo is older right? ;-) Look at the prices ;-)

• hey , if we pay a 10er for a pack of smokes we could at least get a nice pic with it no?[/sarcasm]
      lmao.

here’s a thought though.. make em really gory and then blame the next gruesome crime on smokers cause of Desensitization…

• If they cared about smokers they would fund access for willing smokers to the Allen Carr Clinic, it’ll never happen cause it actually works.

• Wouldn’t it be a bit off putting?

We can barely smoke in our own homes these days. We have to go outside in most cases and it never stops raining.

End the oppression!

• Agreed.(I am a non smoker supporting freedom of choice)

• I think anyone who thinks the ultimate end goal here isn’t a total smoking ban is a bit naive to be honest. And a total smoking ban will, when it comes, be a *good* thing.

The reality is that if we knew then what we know now the sale of cigarettes would never have been legal in the first place. The problem, when we did find out, was that society was already addicted and going cold turkey would never have worked and been disasterous in a number of ways. So, instead, society is weaning itself off the fags: as each decade goes by more restrictions on smoking come in and fewer take up smoking.

The aim here is to have our children’s children have to say “What’s that in his mouth, grandad?” when they see an old film, because they’ll never have seen anyone smoking, or cigarettes, with their own eyes. And that’s a GOOD aim.

• @Peter won’t happen, too much profit is made in tax

• The tax gained on fags will be likewise gained by the govt on the other things cigarette smokers will spend their money on, and the savings on the health spend would be enormous i reckon

• Maybe these images won’t help the suicidal drug addicts that “choose” to smoke give them up, but at least they will be a warning to their children about the risks of imitating their parents.

• Surely if you smoke you know what will/could happen – how is showing a picture going to change this. If the government really want to stop people smoking that get rid of them simple as that. But they take in so much money from Taxes that this will never happen.

• A lot of smokers when they see research that says it kills think ‘ah yeah sure it’ll only take a few years off me’ if they see something graphic it might scare them off it, it worked in NI, according to statistics I read.

• My Nana, who is 92 and has smoked approx 15 a day most of her life made a valid point the other day, if they are printing on the box that this can kill you, they shouldn’t be selling them in the first place!

• Ban it outright, that’d stop smoking! But the revenue lost, would affect our politicians wages and we can’t have that!

• Like prohibition? Because that worked really well.

• Banning it would not stop people smoking. It would just hand the tobacco industry to organised criminals.

• You think?
      There’s already a huge amount of lost revenue because of people buying contraband. Buying illegal smokes is fairly commonplace.
      Personally I think banning smoking would just drive it under-ground and perhaps even make it “cool” again.

• They should ‘age out’ smoking. Raise the age limit every year to stop new people from starting to smoke until eventually its gone forever. Or require a current smokers ID to buy them. Its idealistic I know and would affect tourists but maybe they could get a tourists smokers card….

• Prohibition is cited alot but it’s a false parallel. For a start it was introduced suddenly, absolutely, rather than phased in over multiple generations. That’s the MAIN reason a complete smoking ban will succeed (when ultimately brought in) while US alcohol prohibition failed.

The secondary reason, of course, is that alcohol is, like a lot of things, unharmful when taken in moderation and even connected with benefits in various ways (again, when taken in moderation) while cigarettes are purely harmful and there is no ‘moderation’ in which they can be safely consumed.

• Why is it a false parallel when Stephen wrote “Ban it outright, that’d stop smoking!”, it’s an entirely valid parallel.

• Because, as I explained, the situations aren’t parallel. You’re trying to suggest that a complete ban on smoking – when it ultimately comes in in God knows how many years’ time – will fail for the same reasons that the ban on alcohol in the US failed. But the reasons that alcohol ban failed don’t apply to the banning of smoking at all.

• Damocles 15/06/12 #

Peter, In the context of the comment that Stephen made which is the one to which I am referring it is an entirely valid parallel.

In the context of a gradual ban which you are mooting it may not be.

But the gradual ban you are mooting and the immediate ban Stephen is mooting are two different things.

• Nope. Because we’re ALREADY IN THE PROCESS of a gradual ban. Unless someone’s talking about going back in time to before 1964 and introducing a complete ban at that point, then there’s no valid parallel.

• Damocles 15/06/12 #

Perhaps you could avail yourself of a dictionary and consider the word “outright”.

• I’ll never understand why people smoke?!? Maybe somebody could make me a bit wiser?

• @toirealach
      Because it’s massively addictive. Nicotine is apparently more addictive than heroine and used to be seen as cool. Often taken up as part of a peer group.
      The PR Edward Bernays (nephew of Freud)made smoking “cool” for women using his celebrated and infamous PR stunt where he told the press that “Suffragettes will be lighting torches of freedom”. http://www.infectiousvideos.com/index.php?p=showvid&sid=1117&fil=0000000056&o=0&idx=6&sb=daily&a=playvid&r=Torches_of_Freedom
      Of course we’re all too sophisticated for that sort of brain washing now….. aren’t we? :P

• Damocles 15/06/12 #

Toirealach, Smoking acts as an expectorant and gives a man’s voice a cool gravelly tone that women just can’t resist.

• eight euro is paid in duty on each pack I buy. I buy one pack a day. if we all stopped smoking, where would that revenue need to be found?

• No I don NOT support this awful initiative.

• Givus a break if people want to smoke it’s there choice plus it’s an expensive habit and graphic warning won’t make the slightest bit of difference

• I saw the images they use on cigarette boxes in Northern Ireland, they are really disturbing… Won’t get everyone to stop smoking but they will reduce the numbers without doubt.

• Nobody can see the roy keane poll….get it sorted

• I would just like to share with anyone who is genuinely interested in giving up or trying to stop smoking, I tried everything from patches, hypnosis,books, gum, you name I tried it, but then a friend introduced me to e-smoke.ie

and since I tried it I have’nt looked back, not that I am completely free of the cravings but with this substitute I know I am free of all the chemicals and smoke which have been harming my body and personality for nearly forty

years, my sense of smell is still returning, my fourteen year old son told me I don’t smell like a cigarette ash tray anymore, which did shock me a bit, but I was also greatful for his honesty because it made me realise how many

other people would have got that smell and not be as blunt as a fourteen year old child
    Gerry

Add New Comment