TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Poll shows majority want a new political party

The survey also paints a bleak picture about people’s belief in their own prospects for 2013.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

A MILLWARD BROWN opinion poll for the Sunday Independent has shown that 50 per cent of voters in Ireland would like to see a new political party emerge.

The survey was taken in the weeks after the Budget 2013 announcement, which has left much of the electorate angry over broken election promises and further austerity measures.

Writing in the newspaper, former Tánaiste and founding member of the Progressive Democrats Michael McDowell said that “many people in middle Ireland would support the formation of a new party which would give Ireland the opportunity to have a new government which would not include the Labour Party” or as an alternative to a Fianna Fáil/Sinn Féin coalition.

About 38 per cent of people said there was no need for a new political party at this time, while nine per cent were not sure. Three in ten said that their opinion would depend on certain factors.

The research also painted a bleak picture of what the electorate believe will happen to them personally. Asked if they think they will be better or worse off this time next year, a massive 59 per cent responded ‘worse off’. Just 10 per cent believe they will be ‘better off’.

A third question showed that the voting public want the government to be “more assertive” on the issue of bankers’ pay, pensions and lending policies. About one quarter also want elected TDs to be stronger with the Troika about the terms of our bailout.

The poll was conducted among a sample of 978 adults, who were interviewed face-to-face between 7 and 21 December.

Europe: Mario Monti says he is ready to lead Italy again

Read next:

Comments (162 Comments)

• Liam 23/12/12 #

The political parties in this country are not the problem, the voters are the problem, what do people expect will happen when parties like Fianna fail and fine Gael have constantly lied in the past, yet people keep voting them in year after year. In the last election fine Gael and labour promised a lot of things, yet did not show how any of their policies would come to be and the electorate voted them in without a second thought, just in order to get rid of Fianna fail. Maybe a new party will do some good, but until the voters know what they are voting for, and demand real policy change, very little will actually change.

• Its time for change, out with the old and in with the new

• Unless the new party is just another centre-right party that acts as a stooge for the troika, of which we have two large ones as it is.

• I agree

• What’s the point.
      Once they get a few in the dail,they get a sniff of the perks and benefits and do the same as the rest.
      Anyone thats involved in politics at any level in Ireland is doing it for the money and the benefits.
      Not one of them cares about the citizens of this country.
      They are so detached from reality it’s unbelievable.
      They earn way too much.do nothing and point the finger in the other direction when caught screwing the system.
      I’ve no faith in anyone who’s involved in politics in Ireland.
      Their basically burglars and Thieves,but wear the best suits and steal from us with the stroke of a pen in their plush offices.

• Would be nice to have a political system with no parties, just the right people for the right job. The civil war ended a long time ago.

• @ciaran Clarke. I feel the same. However Direct Democracy Ireland will restore direct democracy to Ireland if they get in. This means that people will have the power to throw out TDs, entire governments, force the dail to legislate. It’s an exciting concept, one we were meant to have back in 1922 but it was stolen from us

Interesting reading. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constitution_of_the_Irish_Free_State#section_1

• @scrap nice idea but in the real world that won’t work.

• How so Tom?

• Tom Keating. In the real world, initiatives like that are the normal. Irish politics is very far from the real world.

• Eamon, correct Irish politics are far far away from reality, hence I would like the system changed where we have a representative setup that works for the people to bring the country forward, not this sameo sameo TDs we keep voting in….

• Ryan, we already have direct democracy, we don’t need that changed, we need the system and the type of people representing us to change.

• Tom we have representative democracy which is a rolling 5 year dictatorship. We do not have direct democracy

• Just another centre right , wtf , we have all manner of disjointed left parties in this country . And the reality is that out so called centre right parties destroyed this country pursuing “leftist ” policies I.e massive increase in public numbers and pay , massive increase in social welfare payments which based admittedly on ridiculous more right wing unsustainable tax regime and total lack of deregulation . A new economically conservative , principal led party should be welcomed by all PAYE low to middle income workers that have been shat on by consecutive governments in this country

• Julie 23/12/12 #

Fully agree, I think all politicians starting out have great intentions of making big changes. Then as soon as they are in the Dáil …… Nothing changes ha! Watch “the wire” great insight to behind the scenes politics!!

• I want a new party, sure, but nothing like the PDs, who were even more to blame for the disastrous crash of the Irish economy than Fianna Fáil. Let those greed-ridden leeches go away and bring their nasty, begrudging brand of politics with them.
      What we need is for Fianna Dum and Fine Dee to join up as the Fianna Gael party, and take in the PD clones with them, and then we need a proper left-wing opposition party. Labour, you say? Hahahahaha!

• Run yourself then and be different. Or…..sit on the sidelines and bitch away painting everyone with the same brush.

• Leon O Haodhagain:

what a typically Irish way of thinking. Defeatist, insular and non-progressive

thumbs up

• Tom how is there democracy when politicians have to do as they are told by the party when a vote is put to them Get rid of the whip and we may then have honesty and truth

• Bernadette, it’s a democracy by thus definition “government by the people; a form of government in which the supreme power is vested in the people and exercised directly by them or by their elected agents under a free electoral system.” That is what we have. All that said, I take your point about the lack of democracy within parties. It’s always been that way and we vote our TDs into this system without question. Perhaps what we need is a case of free voting for all TDs but the issue with that is governments would fall all too frequent, we need stable government. You’ll note that very few of these TDs “forced” to tow the party resign from the party as they are too focused on protecting their job! :-(

• I agree with Aaron out with the old & in with the new. Get rid of these self indulgent politicians who are only looking after themselves.

• The brass neck of McDowell to write such an article. The man who kept Ahern and FF in power no matter what, who happily stayed in the party that kept Haughey in power. That backed Ray Burke, o’Dea and countless others in Dáil votes.

He sat shoulder to shoulder with Ahern, Cowen and the rest for 13 years. If he is involved in a new party then it will be as bad if not worse than anything that we have.

Besides he is a notoriously difficult man to work with. Any party with him in it will be riven with infighting and will collapse under the all mighty ego of the McDowell.

• Another thing is that the only people that indulge McDowell are the Sunday Indo. They were basically the party paper for Haughey and Ahern’s FF. They know that the FF brand is toxic for most people. They need a new pet and who better than their friend McDowell to do it.

Stephen Donnelly is a man who would create a pragmatic and effective party. McDowell will destroy the credibility and just as importantly the internal dynamic of any party, might as well get Bertie to join as him.

• Sli nios fearr is going to b the way forward

• Spot on 100% agree, Mc Dowell had numerous chances to change the way this country is governed and miserably failed. It’s quite unbelievable that he even wrote this. The view he has of himself and the view of the vast majority of people is just polar opposite.

• Any new party will go. Native as soon as they get in jobs for the boys and quangos galore. . We need to break up the way politics are done . Clean out the bad eggs. And hold them accountable for there actions . And change the pay. And pension system . We the tax payers are no more than cash cows. For the elite

• We need to stop voting by constituency. Voting should be by some random factor like birth month or initials, so the constituency clientelism will be of no advantage.
      And we need to get rid of all the expenses and perks, every single one of them, and cut back politicians’ salaries to a normal level, so they have a genuine connection with and feeling for those they represent. And benchmark them – but not against the civil service wage, but against Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
      And the civil servants – they shouldn’t have perks like free parking (worth some €3,000 a year per civil servant in Dublin), and all the crazy little allowances. They deserve a proper wage, but stop the ludicrous allowances and increments, and the crazy prices.

• Once Mc dowells no where near it.

• “A new party” is unbelievably vague- what type do they want because im sure they’d be very very different! Pointless poll in my opinion as its just complaining, say what you would like about a new party and maybe it’ll get somewhere

• Sindo poll: “Would you like to see a new political party that will magic away our problems (many of which were caused by parties and policies that the Sindo championed in the past?). We will write positive stories about this new party until they actually have to make any difficult decisions. Then we’ll dump (on) them and go looking for another saviour – if our own Shane Ross is not available.

• I’d say it was a case of McDowell writing the article and then they had the poll conducted. One one page is the people calling out and on the following page is the saviour of mankind McDowell laying himself centre stage.

McDowell had his chance to reform politics and Govt. in Ireland, the result is 450k on the dole, every bank in the country insolvent, the reputation of Govt. and business in the gutter and rightly so. He was Minister for Justice during a period of unequaled stink in politics and business.

• McDowell can get lost as far as I’m concerned. The electorate told him what they thought of him in 2007 and showed him the door. I really think he has very little to offer the country.

As for new political parties I think we are well served as it is with several right wing and a couple of left wing choices. None have ever proved themselves to be any different once in power.

• 50% might say they want a new party but probably less than10% would vote for it if it existed at next general Election

• Bring it on! Stephen Donnelly to lead

• New party at my place New Years Eve…

• Right now I like Direct Democracy Ireland. Saw them in the Red Cow Inn a few weeks ago and they’re talking a lot of sense.

However long way to go to 2016. Maybe another one or two will appear.

No matter what, I will never vote FF, FG, Lab ever again. Born liars only in it for themselves. Time for a clear out of civil war parties and their institutionalised politicians. Time for new thinking

• Talk is cheap, reality is different. We need professional people who want to help move this country forward not career politicians. One should be only allowed to serve for two terms. We also need honest people voted in. We only need about 40 representatives for the whole country.

• Tom you say we should elect professional people. The history of the last 40 years has been that the worst in the country are Professional people. The worst goms and hoods that are elected here are nearly always either Barristers, solicitors or Accountants. They form the worst of the worst for corruption and distorting of the economy towards a select few. Then you have your auctioneers and real estate people – the 2nd tier.

Selecting just “professional people” will just hyper charge the warped political system we have.

• Sounds like an interesting party, however wikipedia is not considered a credible resource for citation by any academic standard (“,)

• When I say professional I’m not talking teachers, lawyers etc.., I mean professional people from business and industry. I do take your point though….

• We only need 40 honest politicans to solve this countries problems?
      There’s a number of problems with this. The most obvious being that power corrupts and the corrupt seek power.
      Direct Democracy is the only way to ensure honest and competent politicans remain in power, while the corrupt are turfed out.

• What I meant about 40 is a ratio against the population, approx 1 for every 100,000 people. I believe we have 166 TDs for approx 4million people, that’s too many and a waste of money. I agree power does corrupt many but not all. I’m still not 100% convinced that this idea of direct democracy solves the corruption issue or just creates more problems. Will direct democracy allow for unpopular decisions to be made in the national interest or is it all about populous decisions only, kinda like socialism / communism, which we all know failed and are bad in action while great on paper?

Need to do more research on this direct democracy idea…..

• @Tom

‘..professional people from business and industry..’ already run the country through their lobby groups.

You do need more research.

• @Damien, your missing my point, we need professional people, credible people to help run our country. We need their skills to help make the right decision for us not for themselves. I agree there is a lobby from the friends of the TDs, no question there. Don’t paint all professional with the corrupt brush, not all of them are like that. We have some very talented people in this country that could really help but they won’t go near public life are it’s seen are corrupt and a cronies place.

I have no problem with you disagreeing with me but cheap “do your research” comments aren’t helpful and add nothing to this conversation other than trying to provoke (which I’m sure wasn’t your intent!)

• No. Not trying to provoke.

Just browned off with people thinking professionalism is a measure of either intelligence or integrity. The evidence is otherwise.
      The professions are generaly closed shops of vested interest, the whole problem.
      We need inclusive solutions to what are a series of exclusivist golden circles.
      The problem is bigger than Ireland. Its a global parasitic economic ideology developed over centuries. By research I mean without a historical perspective on the background we will continue to stumble around repeating the same mistakes.
      No offense intended.

• Cool, I agree with you Damien. Question is how to we solve it?!

• Not sure we do, or can.

First, educate yourself, every day.
      Second, test your understanding against feedback, and don’t take agreement as confirmation; we can agree on false solutions(religions and ideologies being the prime examples).
      Meantime we have to use the new media while we have them, the entrenched powers are moving fast to close them down(Vanunu, Assange and Manning are the sort of whistleblowing public informers they fear most).
      And resign yourself to losing the battle, then get with fighting it because its the thing you do if you think the human race should take precedence over the hominid rat-race.
      Rule 97. Laugh at the bastards. They hate that.

• Ha a brand new party with the old and constantly derided leader of the PDs at the wheel.

Remember their slogan from the 2007 election: “Left-Wing Government? No thanks!”

Yeah, McDowell is the boy for the job alright!

• A new party without .mc dowell we need Stephen donnelly as taoiseach shane Ross as tanaiste and constantin gurdgiv as minister for finance they can pick who they want to work with them on the proviso that if after 9 months they aren’t up to the job they leave

• Never understood the grá people have for that dirtbag Shane Ross. He’d love to be part of the FG Tory agenda.

• And Gurgiev is just a very articulate and bombastic conventional economic thinker.
      We don’t need new leaders, we need new politics and new economics, from people who undertand how deep the coming problems are going to be.
      Not sure I see any candidates anywhere on this island. And if we had any, the population is too conservative to ever listen.
      Realism will be the first requirement. Honesty and an ability to engage scientifically literate thinkers will be the second and third. A bulletproof vest might be a good idea as well. The grassy knoll club would not be too pleased should such a troublesome b*ll*x come over the horizon.

• This is the same Shane Ross who lambasted Fine Gael for going into coalition with Labour because he wanted a more right wing government lead by Fine Gael and similarly minded independents. Really be careful what you wish for.

• Absolutely. Brilliant idea.

• We need a second republic with a new constitution based on equality and not elitism. We need a meritocracy. We need a revolution and get these pseudo Irish leeches off our backs.

• On the nose Ken.

They erased the Egalite, from the democratic trio of Liberte, Fraternite et same.
      Simple matter of regrouping their aristocratic royalism under nominal democracy in alliance with emerging commercial/industrial capital acquisition.
      We need lateral, inclusive(merit or no, ALL must have a minimum)rationality, with statutory limits on personal wealth, no matter the bank of resources being managed by individuals according to capacity. Which means we need a fresh system of valuation, besides runaway monetarism, which has gone numerologically carcinogenic. Finance has trumped actual economics. Its a collective psychosis, as a glance at a stock-market trading floor testifies. Simian hominids chasing golden bananas.

• Heuston, the Ego has landed. Again.

• He has been trying to get things moving on this for about 2 years but he would fall out with Jesus so he is reduced to trying to get it moving via occasional articles and hoping that others organize and invite him in. The ego then believes that his God given greatness will end up with him as leader. The most virulent opponents of McDowell are usually ex-PD’s. They have seen his unique skill set up close and it has made quiet an impression.

• not since Eoin O’Duffy has his modest like been seen.

• A hotel worker was telling me that the Ogra meetings in the hotel were getting bigger every month. If we don’t have an alternative, the fails will rise again. God help us.

• We have to remember that as a country there is quiet a large 5th column here. The go along, to get along gang that are FF are still in existence and they are still a credible threat to this country. They do not have to be in power to be able to divert tax payers cash or contracts. All they have to have is enough of their members spread across all levels and parts of our society and economy. Once they have that, they’ll be able to continue robbing from us.

If decent hard working people do not get involved in politics then the future belongs to FF members and the likes of McDowell. If that happens, then you or your children do not have a future here.

• Yes i would like to see a new party,not one that uses Tax to solve the problem,one that would create jobs and one that would set a example by cutting there own salary.

• fergus 23/12/12 #

Next government will be ff and fg coalition or one of those parties in with about 40 independents

• Need an anti eu lackey pro Irish and Irish nation party to represent Irish people on the world stage.A strong anti eu media to be organised as well to rival the west brit eurofile media we are currently served with.irish media are lapdogs to Europe of FG/FF/Lab/greens are a joke and lapdogs to euro land federalists.

• A majority is 51% or more. Definitely room for another party but not sure if it would take (if the vote in the last few elections is anything to go by).

• http://Www.directdemocracy.ie
    It’s here folks. Watch this space.

• you need a political party that actually looks out for the voters, sticks to it’s guns, makes long term decisions and not populist decisions, completely separate from catholic influence and is both conservative and liberal. In other words, not happening

• B Lowe 23/12/12 #

A new party would be fantastic. In fact it is vital for a vibrant democracy.

• Id like to break the trend here and congradulate Enda Kenny on doing a fantastic job…keep up the good work lads

• There should be no career politicians as there main job becomes GET REELECTED . One term and your out, do your best, your old job kept for you and a limit on any particular type of politicians (i.e. no more than 10 teachers); no more than 60% of either sex; no more that 60% from urban areas etc.

• john fox 23/12/12 #

I wonder how much we pay. Out every week to county managers . High ranking civil servants . Past. And present ministers . In wages pensions and perks . I bet it would make interesting reading . . It has to be in the millions per week

• Until the pay and privilideges of TDs is utterly overhauled no politician canbe taken any more seriously as someone who wants to hear the sound if their own voice and self interest. Sadly.

• Firstly you need to reduce the opportunities for gombeen politics and force a national agenda to the fore especially at election times, perhaps a system where you vote for parties rather than personalities. Then you need to control the bs political promises at election time. Make the parties cost policies and lodge them before election day. These would be like a contract with the people which, if broken in anything but exceptionally changed circumstances since election day, would lead to automatic dissolution of parliament.

• since the release of Direct Democracy Ireland a few months ago not one word on the news about them

must be a coverup or there scared 1 or the other

il be voting for them lease anyone who gets 100k signatures will be able to put anything to public vote

defo needed as all the other partys are pure rubbish

• McDowell is right Ireland does need a new political party. One that has nothing to do with him and any other of our political aristocracy who trade upon their ancestors role in the formation of this dysfunctional state as an excuse to bore the arse off everybody with their notions of grandeur would be great. Happy Christmas Everyone

• Thats the problem with democracy, people simply don’t know what they want.

Then they are given the privilege of a vote and typically up to 40% don’t bother to use it.

Everyone else either votes based on a 100 year old civil war outcome, or because some local clown of a councillor pulled a stroke for them 10 years ago.

We need a benign dictator in Ireland – that would put some order back into the country

• dear Michael you had one, it evaporated in a blaze of indifference. you should respect that given the choice more people chose the labour party.

you appeal to a lunatic fringe. get over it.

• I would love to see a new party with new blood to shake everything up.
    All history aside, since every existing political party has failed to do a decent job running this country, i’ll be voting Sin Fein next time. They deserve a chance to put their money where there mouth is.

• These polls would be far more illustrative if we had info on how many are interested in a party of the left, centre & right.

Of course many would answer such polls with a yes, but really the potential for political traction is severely compromised by what will eventually be a much smaller sectional appeal.

• Sure and they would really like it hijacked by already failed politicians!!

• let the SVP run the country!

• To all emigrants who have come to ireland to better themselves i encourage you to get involved in politics in this rotten corrupt country of ours because we need your help in making this a fairer and just society ,we cannot do it ourselves we have to many people who buy in to the RTE brigade and our civil war parties who in our hour of need kick the little people around in the same manner as their british did for eight hundred years .

• Emigrants coming to Ireland seeking for a better life to not think this country is rotten and corrupt, otherwise they wouldn’t have come.

• Well Kaja they came here not thinking the country was not corrupt but now they are here they must realise its corrupt right to the core for many years. Thanks mainly to self serving governments an d greedy bankers. Definitely time for a change

• Kaja just wait and see the cliff our political elite have led us to ,our political class are unmatched any where in the world in keeping a lid on the corruption ,85 billion down the toilet in ANGLO IRISH BANK and no paper work to tell us what happened that night of the bank bailout ,i would love to hear how Mugabe and his cronies could better this one.

• I’m from Poland and believe me, after a month in my country with apparently booming economy and untouched by recession you would have a completely different opinion on the quality of life, and even politics, in Ireland.

• You could try giving immigrants a chance to vote? Maybe that might grab their attention?

• No, we want the system changed and less TDs. Another party will change nothing, it will be the same again by a different name.

• A directly elected Taoiseach. The two houses of parliament elected directly by the people, at different times. This would ensure no party controls both houses. The Cabinet places will be handed out according to the number of seats a party has. This would again cut out influence of political parties, and make sure decisions of cabinet would reflect all sides and open up compromise. Make it illegal for a party to tell their members how to.vote.

A new party will do no good we need to reform our democracy where the influence of party’s or leaders is seriously diminished.

• Firstly a directly elected Taoiseach is pointless if he/she doesn’t have the support of the parliament. Unless you’re considering given this person quite a lot of executive power.

Secondly you can’t be sure that the same party wouldn’t control both houses even if they were elected at different times.

Thirdly if you make it illegal for a party to tell its member how to vote then you don’t have a party political system at all. There is nothing to be gained by being a party member. You simply have a system of completely independent members who will be more prone to lobbyists and small interested groups.

Finally how can you force every party to be in Cabinet. There would be political gridlock as every agenda tried to be served. Or worse you get a completely collective government with nobody doing the job of opposition.

• Graham 23/12/12 #

So in essence you want a system with striking similarities to the US….and this is somehow meant to make the way our country is run LESS dysfunctional???

• Interesting view

• Jim,

No executive powers but the point of a directly elected Taoiseach ire the complete opposite . For instance if Enda Kenny now wants to get a bill through the house no matter what it is. With the party whip and the fact he can add and remove troublesome members of cabinet without question.You can argue he already has executive powers.

My idea about directly electing the Taoiseach, the make up of the cabinet, and the party whip system would remove his power to pack the cabinet with yes men and his own party TDS could then vote against him without been fearful of missing out on a promotion.

Without the whip system TDs can then vote to how the people they claim to represent want them to.

There should be nothing to gain by joining a political party. In my system the people who stand out in the administration can then in turn run for head of government.

• It’s living in a false reality. The problem with your system is that Government (in general) sometimes has to pass unpopular and hard legislation. Your system is a recipe for purely local politics where the national interest is subservient to what would in essence be purely local politicians. They would have no desire to act in the interest of the whole country if it makes them unpopular with the local constituents. It would be parish-pump politics in the extreme. And what happens if you get over a quarter of the House as independents? How do you accomodate those in your cabinet?

As Graham pointed out above your system is similar to that of the US, which most political commentators reckon is almost ungovernable at this point in time.

The current crisis over the fiscal cliff in the US is a perfect point. There leadership of the Republican Party is trying to come to an agreement with the President to avoid this situation which everybody agree will be a bad thing. But because the US party system is so loose the extreme wing of the Republican Party have managed to scupper so far any attempt to resolve it. The result is that if the US goes over the fiscal cliff it is likely to plunge them back into recession. Yet these extreme elements would risk that because they want to make it impossible for Obama to get anything through Congress.

Similar events would happen under your system. People may slag off the whip system and claim it is undemocratic but in order for a Taoiseach or a party to rule and lead there has to be some discipline. Otherwise you end up with a rabble.

• Spot on Jim.

• No matter who you vote for the Government always gets in.

• What next? A poll as to whether people like apple pie and motherhood? This was almost as pointless as some of the Journal polls.

• there is a new polotical party already, Direct Democracy Ireland. go to http://www.directdemocracyireland.ie to learn.more.

• Another party Do you have to bring your own can,s

• If all current parties are failing to discredited our democracy is in trouble. It’s a dangerous time where a potential charlatan or group can mislead the dissatisfied with false promises. This poll result should be a wake up call for some current parties to slay some sacred cows and undo some of the recent injustices and abandon commitments that are now evidently unfair.. Will it happen? Will a leader emerge to articulate a realistic path to fairness?

• Robert do not hold your breath for any of the current political leaders to steer away from the path which we are on would mean they themselves and their cronies and banker buddies would have to start sharing the pain as well ,and that is something these crims do not do they never have and never will under the current system

• Doesn’t matter who you vote for.
    You get the Government.
    Career politicians can only have one priority and it ain’t the likes of you and me.

• These surveys are a waste of time!
    The Irish electorate are just sheep. It’s just like the Savage Eye says: he fixed the road! My father voted for his father and you’ll vote for his son. There are a significant number of people out there just waiting for an opportunity to vote Fianna Fáil back into office. Labour are a party more suited to opposition than government and merely exist in current form to protect the public service from meaningful reform rather than the ordinary worker. Sinn Fein are party of former (?) terrorists whose policies change to suit the prevailing public mood – their record in the North suggests they can’t be trusted. Fine Gael are a party who have been out of government so long their older TDs see it as their ‘turn’ to share in the spoils of political office rather than serving the people who put them there. If Libertas couldn’t survive, I can’t see any new party doing any better. Proportional representation is the problem: politicians have to appease too many sectional interests to get elected. A first past the post system would at least give us a defined right and left wing political party system and rid us of useless independent TDs who either have no power (i.e. the current Dáil) or too much (e.g. Jackie Healy Rae in the last Dáil).

• We need a list system, any party agreeable to same gets my vote

• Of course Ireland needs a new Party, both Fine Gael and Labour have proved that they are no different than Fianna Fáil. The Shinners are serious conmen so nothing left except Independents!
    I will be voting Independent next time

• But not a party with McDowell in it either !

• If Voting changed anything then it would be made illegal soon enough .

• Bring back McDowell, one of the few Irish politicians who spoke what was actually on their mind.

• Luke 23/12/12 #

To many parties on the left so I’d say it would be a euroskeptic classical liberal party.

• John 23/12/12 #

Whats needed is a civilian government bringing in people like Eamon Dunphy and good community workers. past and present politicians should have no say whatever in any new government. Why not give it a try?

• Well there is a lot to be said that people who are brainwashed by being in the Dáil for so long should be barred after a few terms. Ie the likes of Enda Kenny and the bottle man Cowen who have been there for decades.

• Perhaps Ireland needs something like UKIP which will claim as policy whatever most people are complaining about at any one time.

• i don’t think a new party is needed per-say.
    What is needed is a serious wage adjustment for all politicians, they don’t work hard, physically speaking, and qualification wise i cant see how the requirements would be close to being a surgeon for example.
    so, pay them less than a surgeon would get (again only an example).
    Make them pay taxes like everybody else and you’ll see how fast even the existing parties would be filled with politicians who actually care what effect their decisions have on the average population.
    my 2 cents

• john fox 24/12/12 #

When dd Ireland get one or two TDs in office . Thy will change there mind. . About power to the people . After thy see all the perks and wages thy are entitled to . . . One good apple won’t stand a chance in a barrel of. Rotten ones

• Something heavily right wing, a libertarian party with a strong immigration policy to end irelands welfare culture and welfare tourism

• That would go against the swinging doors and free movement of Europe, how do you propose to get around that.

• No one is going to take notice of a man whose personalized Facebook username is MaddieMcCann. That says a lot about you.

• Thats authoritarian uber-nationalism…go back to church cardinal. Neolibertarianism perhaps is your bag.
      Matches Maggot Hatcher’s nicely.

• Church has got a point, there is a vacuum for such a right-wing party in Ireland, whether you would like that or not. This is a lack of ideologically right wing TDs in the Dáil, considering how capitalistically driven Ireland is with its low corporation tax.

• If he was serious about that Stephen Murray, then yes I would take it on board. Personally I’m in favour of an immigration policy that is like most of the world has, one based on economic reality and societal needs rather than the free for all wet dream of big business and the smug satisfaction of the bourgeoise left in having a Indonesian maid.

He is not though, he probably goes to the BNP forum and calls for relaxed immigration laws, goes to Libertarian sites and calls for state control and texts Joe Higgins about how great Mick Wallace is.

• I dislike the way that any slightly right wing views on this site get you branded a troll , I would vote for any candidate that could bring me union busting mas deregulation capitalism with small government , we should tighten our immigration policy to skilled workers and corporate sponsoorship only, decline all asylum claims, lower taxes, lower and abolish social welfare payments and remove this nanny state entitlement attitude

• So Stephen you are suggesting move to a system like in the US? I hear what you are saying but you can’t just cut social welfare, there are genuine people that need to be looked after, if we lose that then our society would suffer. It’s all about balance and for me to stop the free loaders.

• More Pinochet’s neoliberal Chile than the US is what the goose-stepping one is proposing. Born again PD velvet thuggery.

• The ULA and its constituent parts, Peaople Before Profit and the Socialist Party are the only credible alternative.

• Here’s a radical concept. Get rid of the Dail in its currant form. Promote the senate to full power. only having people who are qualified to deal in the national interest that are not interested or relying on local issues for the next election. this allows them to focus on national issues alone. then take all the city, and county, and urban town councilors get rid of them all and the people who were originally elected to the Dail move back into that role. Their doing it anyway. In my own county between all the different types of councilors there are at least 100 alone then you can add the 9 TD’s. When you consider the population of Ireland is roughly the same as Birmingham. from what I can see on the net they have about 15/20 MP’s and a very small number of locally elected people at council level when compared to here.This would take all the vested interests out of the system as the people running the country cannot be affected by emotive local issues. They would make decisions based on the national interest not on tin pot local issues. I have no issue with TD’s been paid what they are as I know a lot of them are working from 7am to 11/12 at night.Because of our system the rot has set in and we have a situation of Turkeys voting for Christmas. and the permanent government have everything they want. This sounds radical but if you give it a chance and think about it it might work.

• the problem is the system we have 26countries all vying for there own corner the local td ‘s are treated as being owned by the counties also we would do away with the party whip system if you vote against the whip you are out sounds more like fascism than being elected by the people to serve the people direct democracy is the only answer no demigods if you are not performing properly you will be sacked complete transparancy no more titles and mercs abolish the land of plenty sign up to ddi services as a matter of urgency before it gets any worse

• Have no idea who the new party would be????? They are all in it for themeselves.

• Never realised he was a former tanaiste

Add New Comment