TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Should the Occupy Dame St camp move for St Patrick’s Day?

The campaigners have been asked to leave the Central Bank plaza for the festival weekend. But what do you think?

The Occupy Dame Street camp
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

ACTIVISTS AT THE Occupy Dame Street protest camp have been asked to pack up and leave before the St Patrick’s Day parade through Dublin.

Gardaí requested that the camp be dismantled for the festival on March 17, which traditionally sees thousands of people pack the city centre.

But the group have told authorities that they will not be moving from their position on Central Bank plaza, the Sunday Independent reports today.

So what do you think? Should the Occupy Dame Street camp pack up for St Patrick’s Day?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (194 Comments)

• It never ceases to amaze me how the “I dont know” votes reach such a percentage?! Ok, its democratic but I cant fathom why one would bother participating in a poll, if all ones going to say is “I dont know”. What would happen if the option was removed? Coz it seems to me that in many irish polls, the result is 42% for, 42% against and 16% dunnos…..even with a 49% for, 51% against, I reckon we’d still see 16% dunnos! lol…anyhoo No! The protesters should be left stay where they are……they are standing up, sitting down for what they believe in, unlike most of us who settle for grumblin into our morning coffee and acting like road hogs……

• Does it matter? One way or another town is going to look like a dump the next day…

• If anything they should be protesting outside the European office of the Irish central bank in the ifsc or in and around that area after all it’s most of the banks that caused the financial meltdown are in that neck of the woods.

• I have to laugh at commenters who assume people on jobseekers are all ‘spongers’ and ‘dole scum’. Well done, you’ve essentially alienated an entire section of society and turned the country into separate classes of ‘us’ and ‘them’. Many, many people lost their jobs due to the unsustainable economic policies of the Fianna Fáil, and the idiots who voted them in repeatedly. These people are not living off ‘your’ taxes, they’re receiving a benefit based on their own PRSI contributions built up over a number of years. Most of the time that adds up to about 180 odd quid a week though they still have the mortgages, bills, and expenses they had before they became unemployed.

It is easy to believe from a lofty position, that people on welfare are spending their days lounging around, enjoying the time off and spending government money, with little or no intention of getting a job. And while I’m sure that there is a degree of benefit fraud going on, in the main, Ireland’s unemployed want to go back to work.

Being unemployed is soul destroying, you feel that your worth is exactly nothing. Almost all of the people I have met in Social Welfare offices, or that I know personally want nothing more than a chance to work at what they studied for years to become. They studied to be architects and engineers, designers and innovators and now struggle to get a job making coffee in their local shopping centre. They want to stay in Ireland and help make the country great again, rather than emigrate and bring their taxable incomes to some other country, but are told that ‘Our Brightest and our Best’ have left… which makes us what exactly? The dull idiots who decided to stay? Of course they could always work as a qualified professional “intern” where they do the same job as a full time member of staff for €50 on top of their dole.

I don’t speak for everyone on the live register, but you’d do well to remember as you pass judgement on us all, that everyone’s job is at risk in these times. And you might just wake up tomorrow with no other option than to join the ranks of ‘scroungers’ you’re so happy to deride. Occupy might have lost their way a little, but at least they’re standing up for something, what have any of you done?

• Well said siobhan. I was begining to feel guilty Spending 180 a week on food and bills, and attempts at finding work. After all is spent im Lucky to have 5 Euro left to save. Technically much of the 180 goes on tax of some sort, i perfer to Shop in local stores to Support the local economy rather than sending it to Aldi. I seriously believe that if welfare payments were stopped overnight this country would come to a complete stop.

• I DO NOT RECEIVE STATE WELFARE AND I AM AN OCCUPIER

• They should move permanently because they are holding the innocent traders to randsom by blocking footpaths & access to their premises. How traders manage to keep afloat these days, what with rates and insurance etc is beyond me. If they really need to protest let them move to the phoenix park or outside the Dail..

• These ‘innocent traders’ you speak off as the small business people who ripped us off during the boom year and are still driving around in their 2008 Mercs and BMW’s. Don’t buy into the ISME propaganda. My sister got let go from her part time job in a corner shop recently due to ‘cut backs’ but the owner of the place is still driving a merc and sending his kids to private school! People in Ireland need to wake up and stand up to the bourgeoisie class.

• They are on the central bank plaza. They are not blocking any entrances or footpaths. Some of the members of the camp happen to be small buisness owers and traders themselves. Previously before the occupy camp was set up you could easily buy heroin from any of the large number of junkies that used to hang around the plaza and I don’t think they were boosting trade in the area.

• @Paddy, would you like him to move his children out of their school and sell his car so your sister could keep her job? It sucks she was let go but come on the man isn’t running a charity

• Paddy – I think that comment sums you up perfectly. Bitter at everyone else. Funny, the poll now stands at 53% want you gone for good. You’ve made no difference, time to go.
      And to the above commenter – you’re now stopping heroine dealers?? Give me a break, that is the stupidest comment I’ve read in a good while.

• I cannot believe the sheer IGNORANCE AND STUPIDITY of Irish people honestly anyone that is seen to be standing up and voicing their opinion are shot down….Paddy Bebop I totally agree with you 100% its unfortunate that the rest of the ignorant folk disagree I don’t know maybe they are all Fianna Fail supporters.
      I have come to the conclusion that Irish people are self-pitying, masochistic martyrs who don’t want change they would rather wallow in their ignorance and misery and attack the Occupy Movement instead of supporting them…they are even too ignorant to see its in their own best interest to support the Occupy Movement rather than attack and mock them…..only in Ireland. Keep up the good work Paddy much respect to you.

• What are you talking about? They’re not blocking any traders or access to any shops. I feel much safer in that area now that there is a large alcohol free space instead of the usual gang of junkies that hang around central bank. :|

• @paddy
      I bet you her job will be advertised on jobs bridge next week!

• @Marie – I’m inclined to agree with you. The Irish people obviously don’t give a damn that our country is going down the drain. Most people seem perfectly willing to let things carry on the way they are. They don’t care that the vulnerable are being hung out to dry while the wealthy and powerful line their pockets as usual.
      It’s a shame for the small few of us who love our country and who really suffer having to see the rest of them let it go to the dogs.
      Our forefathers who fought and died for our country are turning in their graves. If they could see what is happening they would be deeply ashamed.
      People go on about how the occupy movement isn’t achieving anything. Instead of criticising, why don’t you do something?? What are you doing that is so much better than what the occupy movement is doing?
      Go on, lie down and take it. Ye deserve it if you’re no willing to do something about it.

• There worried about them guys what about the 1 million Irish people that will be falling around the place pissed. There I said it and it’s about time some one did

• No one said it was going to be easy. Its like having a daughter and giving up on her after 3 months of Life because you didnt like the way it was going, or you felt dissuaded by political interests. It hasnt been 5 months and you have abandonded her. You decide you couldnt work with people, because it is difficult. We cant all be Radio disc jockeys living in a fantasy world of limitless supplies from african oil fields. Occupy was and never will be Your enemy.

• Yes. They should be removed permanently. They made their point & time to move on. Revolution, my arse !!

• Sure if you had your way Declan there would be no-one left to stand up for the ordinary working class people and the Fine Gael/Berlin right wing autocratic rule would continue unchallenged. STAND UP TO THE BLUESHIRT FASCISM, RISE UP PEOPLE!

• Hello, Paddy ! My reply to u seems to have been deleted for some reason. Don’t get me wrong, I am as angry & annoyed as u at what has happened & how our country was totally mismanaged. I too am suffering financially like everyone else for something I did not do. Camping out in Dame St isn’t going to achieve anything. People need to camp out in front of the homes of those who caused this & be very vocal. Now – that’s something. Embarrass them. Take it home to those who mismanaged our country. ( I hope this isn’t deleted, too ). A bunch of middle class wanna b revolutionaries is hardly revolutionary in itself, is it ?!

• Well said Declan.
      I was involved in the early days of the occupation and their was a lot of hope. ODS fulfilled a need for people to object at the time, but it has made itself irrelevant by inaction. The impetus of the first march was not ceased upon. A lot of time and energy on camp gets sapped from conflicts within the camp and the structures of decision making are such that nothing really gets decided.
      It is a shame that it couldn’t have done more, but now, rather than supporting the camp, I oppose it. The camp started as an inspirational place for people of non-political allegiance to join together, but it is petering to nothing.
      They can’t even get it together to output any message online. Their Website and Livestream are dead and their Facebook consists of links to stuff other people are doing or have created.
      I ask you ODS… what is your purpose?!

• Winnie, the ways of doing Business have changed dramatically with the Advent of technology. Why should a senior bondholder be in a Position to make one transaction and make millions, and My son be forced into labour in ten years to protect these millions. Wake up winnie, the risk the average Business Person makes is based in protecting an elite, and if thats the Life you Aspire to go right ahead…it seems you have many associates to rely on in this country. A days work for you is Not a selfless act, and any acturist worth his/her salt would ensure that.

• Cupid , nobody is forcing your son do do anything ! You are spewing out anti-capitalist rants and it gets the country no where . There will always be capitalists and im sure you have used them and purchased from them on many occasions . Not all capitalists are bad people and many of them make peoples lives a a lot better. The risk the average business person makes helps to protect him and his family as well as the staff he might pay as well as the elite . Look at the bigger picture for a change .A days work for most people is for two rewards . One is the satisfaction of a good days work and the other is the finacial reward for the hard work . Whats selfish about that ?

• Selfless and selfish are different words. A days work is a selfless act, but the work of the Day is a selfish act.

• Let’s sweep them under the carpet so all our international friends can see that its all rosy in the garden…….

• I walked by it yesterday and saw a “No Fracking” sign. What has that got to do with anything? It makes it look like the protest about wealth inequality has been hijacked by socialist loonies. They are unwittingly sabotaging themselves.

• @john.. do some research on fracking or ask someone at the camp if they can explain why they are against it before you ask stupid questions about something you know nothing about.. (ps i believe the message is something about people and the planet over profit.. how can anyone question that..)

• The majority of these that are in favour of moving the camp and stoning its residents and followers…are ones that initiated property Investment in ireland during that Boom. They egg on a persuasion, they have comfortable living standards and believe that words alone are enough to outwit their enemies. Believing then that they do good for Community. The occupy movement is Not done. Its transparency of Politik is required for peace. By being against occupy you stand in the way of peace.

• Utter nonsense Cupids.
      By supporting causes that matter ODS are – at this stage – belittling them. If the “Occupy University” and events had continued as they did the first couple of days, and if the camp had become a more family oriented place you could claim that ODS is for peace.

Instead ODS has become more fringe than it was when it started.

• Of course they should be made move on. The camp is a total eyesore at this stage and interest in there “cause” has collapsed as they can’t seem to formulate a consistent and coherent message to communicate to the public.

• @ Paddy… Correct me if I’m wrong but if those guys who have being sitting on Dame Street, creating an eye sore were working class people surely they would have a job to go to or be looking for a job like the rest of the country! Those people have probably never worked a day in their lives! They don’t contribute or pay tax. They need to be moved on at this stage!

• paul 04/03/12 #

what a comment joe to say they have probably never worked a day in their lives without any proof whatsoever. you are probably an idiot

• Joe: you need to realise there are only two classes of people in irish society and a capitlaist society. Membership in a class is defined by one’s relationship to the means of production, i.e. one’s position in the social structure that characterizes capitalism. The two classes in irish society currently are the proletariat and the bourgeoisie.

Just to spell it out for you in more detail Joe as I get the impression you might need more detail:

- Labour (the proletariat or workers) includes anyone who earns their livelihood by selling their labor power and being paid a wage or salary for their labor time. They have little choice but to work for capital, since they typically have no independent way to survive.
      - Capital (the bourgeoisie or capitalists) includes anyone who gets their income not from labor as much as from the surplus value they appropriate from the workers who create wealth. The income of the capitalists, therefore, is based on their exploitation of the workers (proletariat).

99% of us are one, 1% the other. Forget your middle class nonsense. RISE UP AGAINST YOUR OPPRESSORS!

• @Paddy – my false consciousness is better than your false consciousness.

• *yawn*

• Paddy: We live in a capitalist society in Ireland. For the most of us, we’re happy with that. Just because you claim to the majority doesn’t make it so. You are the minority so if you’re not happy with it move somewhere else, I hear Russia and China are good spots for Communism.

• @Peter Connolly The privatisation of profit and the socialisation of loss, which is what has happened in this country over the last five years, is NOT capitalism. It is classic fascist economics. Of course this might not be a problem to the majority partner in the governing coalition given their history, but don’t pretend it is capitalism because it is not. Ditto with handing subsidies to multinationals that are not also made available to indigenous businesses.

• Actually Peter we haven’t lived in a ‘capitalist’ society for some time now, we live in a corporate society. Instead of posting a wall of text, I’ll just post the main points, if you would like to read further it’s available here: http://www.economicpolicyjournal.com/2009/11/explaining-difference-between.html.

Capitalism: is a social system based upon the recognition of individual rights, including private property rights where all goods, both intermediate goods and final goods, are owned privately. The “rights” referred to above are ethical-legal principles that identify and sanction man’s freedom of action strictly within a social context.

Corporatism: is a social system where the government intervenes aggressively into the economy, typically with political instruments that benefit large corporations and enterprises to the detriment of smaller businesses and private citizens. Such instruments include subsidies, tariffs, import quotas, exclusive production privileges such as licenses, anti-trust laws, and compulsory cartelization designs. All involve the initiation of physical force: subsidies come from taxes, tariffs are taxes, import quotas restrict trade, license schemes prohibit non-licensed producers from producing certain goods, anti-trust laws allow competitors to gain or retain market share through legal competition in court, and compulsory cartelization speaks for itself.

• Yeah, actually – Adam Smith probably hates us all right now.

• Paddy your anti capitalist fool . Go off and play with your Sony laptop , iphone any other product you may have bought . Hypocrite !!!

What the traders did in the past is got up off there ass and made money and employed people . What have occupy done . Sat in a tent and live off the state .

• Well said, Nialllateshow. Bored middle class “revolutionaries” in their “capitalist branded” jeans & runners who communicate with each other on “capitalist branded” laptop & iPhones. All to make some sort of apology for being “middle class”. The irony is delicious.

• If some are on welfare, they are not shy taking that from the hard pressed taxpaying worker. So much for their “anti capitalist” stance. Never refuse the capitalist Euro.

• @James .. LOL, although I do wonder just how many people posting know who Adam Smith was ….

• @Sandra – I don’t know exactly, but it seems unpopular to mention his name. The commies mustn’t be quite so learned in economic and political theory (unsurprisingly).

• @ James and Sandra : Plenty of people know who Adam Smith was, commies especially. Less of the intellectual snobbery please.

• Adam Smith ? ….
      Och aye the noo !
      Oh btw …I never went to college but I do read a lot !

• I’ve followed and been in favour of the Occupy movement worldwide since it started, and still am despite the fact it seems to be withering. If anything, it can provide the basis to go along with a new left movement that can provide a decent and structured opposition to the right wing forces that have held ground over the last 20 or so years.

However, in saying that, I have serious problems with the Irish branch of this movement. From drinking on camp (something that was not tolerated under any circumstances in other camps around the world) too a silencing and dismissing of any opinions that didn’t agree with their own. And finally, there is a certain level of quackery at play with those involved. I want a legitimate political movement that will provide a voice for the unheard masses, not someone telling me about chemtrails, one world governments and the illuminati. Vita Cortex have shown how a proper Occupy-style movement can work properly. The others haven’t unfortunately.

• You should get what you want Val. Lets all do it for val, you just sit back and we will entertain.

• As much as I appreciate your interest in my wellbeing, I would prefer if the people done it for themselves. Ourselves.

• It is not unique to Dublin, Val. Occupy movements worldwide have been silencing and dismissing opinions that don’t fit in with they want to promote. The Delphi Technique appears to be the way this is being achieved. It doesn’t change my opinion of the individuals involved, but it is taking on the appearance of a very much controlled opposition.

• Never heard of The Delphi Technique before Tom! Cheers, going to spend a bit of time reading up on it!

• I saw this Consensus Decision making in a number of camps on TV http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2yYiULZ0hA . Whatever about the process it makes the people doing it look like total whack jobs. It might stop people shouting over each other like you get in the Dail but I can’t see it being adopted by any National Parliament anytime soon. Like I touched on earlier in a previous post getting the message across is vital and peoples perceptions of a movement are molded by what they see and hear. If you have a camp that looks like a post apocalyptic shanty town occupied by people waving their hands in the air, repeating word for word what a speaker is saying, then that is going to freak out even the most open minded observer! Lob in chem-trails, one world governments and the Illuminati, then you have a rexipe for disastor. Even if the Occupy movement came up with a way to get us out of the mess we are in overnight they would be dismissed out of hand.

I’m afraid the Occupy movement has lost it’s way big time and a good idea has been over taken by the fringe type of people who only alienate joe public. A rethink of how the movement is to go forward will have to be taken so that public support will row in behind them. The message is right but the delivery of it isn’t.

• How would you suggest they go about it then?

• they should be left stay put if they wish to….i don’t agree its the most effective way to fight their cause, which is honourable in my opinion, but that’s besides the point.

Freedom, the right to assemble & protest.

• You Know a Better way Eric then share it, dont keep it all to yourself!

• There is no suggestion of cohesion in the question…… “should they pack up?”.
      @Cupids Daughter.
      How about ODS forming a direct action group.
      It could do ‘guerilla gardening’, ‘flash mobs’, ‘cleaning the streets’ protests, Nursing Home Entertainment……. Something that’s positive and gets the objection message out, rather the embedded mentality of a siege.
      Have ODS ever discussed potential solutions?
      For instance to attempt to set up a parallel economy that revolves around opposition.

• I meant coercion *not* cohesion :)

• Direct action

Occupy the unions

only 30+% of Irish workers are represented by unions, of this over half are protected by the Croke Park agreement…..this is why there’s no proper backlash.

These unions are clearly co-opted!….just look at the executive pay the bosses receive!

A union for the unemployed & low paid that only pays industrial wage & necessary expenses to its bosses would rattle their cages!

• Good idea. They could try the same with the shower of gombeens currently misrepresenting us in the Dáil.

• This comment was in reply to a comment by Tom Neville, which has since disappeared. While Tom Neville’s comment might have irritated some, it wasn’t in any way offensive. So why has it been removed?

• I agree! The kind of people who can just sit there indefinitely claiming the dole are a scourge on this economy!! Where do they think the money to pay that dole comes from?? Large multinationals maby?? They need to cop on and remove themselves!!!!

• I agree with their right to protest and I agree with much of their arguments. My problem is that I do not see it achieving anything, there is no teleology to their protest and with no clear political view. I am not trying to dismiss these people but at a certain point one has to ask what is the point. When you see people occupying NAMA buildings and converting them to community centers etc, then its productive. One is compelled to ask is the Occupy Movement.

• Part of the reason it hasn’t achieved a lot is that it’s not getting any real coverage so it doesn’t stand out much in public conscience. Being a focal point of the Parade may actually change that.

Also, I do think the occupy movement has succeeded in shifting political discourse somewhat away from the “there is no alternative” attitude towards austerity. A lot of these politicians may be refusing to change their tune, but they’re getting more and more unpopular. Sarkozy and Merkel won’t stand a chance in hell if people wise up to how useless the fiscal compact is, which they largely already have.

• AUSTERE = SEVERE, I wonder if people would so readily accept it if they heard the latter word mentioned

• I agree with their general aims of highlighting inequalities in society, I think their protest has run its course though. But, it’s a public space and I’ll defend their right to stay there. The protest is legitimate, whether you agree with it or not.

• St Paddy’s day pft! look what the church has done to this country so far, you talk about wasters, ask yourself what have you ever done for this country before assuming that they are wasters, you talk about looking like fools to the world, we are fools to be giving in to a bully such as the EU, you talk about the mess of dame st, look at the mess of our current affairs what are you doing about that mess ah, you people, you fucking make me sad, you are insulting and wanting to throw the only people that give a shit about you out on their ear, do you really think the government gives a shit, are you that deluded to think they want to give you some control over your life some kind of normality? Get a fucking grip. they are sending all of our wealth out of this country so we look good to the EU and other financial suppliers while schools close around the country and shops go bankrupt, AND HERE IT IS THE BIG QUESTION WHO ARE THE ONES TRYING TO STOP THEM FROM TAKING EVERYTHING FROM US. Is it you?

• John 04/03/12 #

If they were travellers they’d be arrested. That would be my vote.

• What I can’t understand is why this bothers some people so much. Are your lives really that sad? Some of ye sound like ol biddies….

• We then why did you get involved in the debate . It bothers people because it’s their city and they might actually have some pride in it when it appears on a world stage on st Patrick’s day .

• @Erfantastico
      The reason it bothers me is because of the lost potential. A lot more could have been a achieved if people had worked together in a more successful way.
      Rather than being intelligent opposition ODS has become senseless opposition, with an aggressive air.

(Let’s just ignore Nialllateshow shall we)

• Just reading some of the comments there and it suddenly dawned on me that I thought that these people had folded up their tents and moved on already. that’s how much of an impact their continued “occupation” is having on people. A protest is only useful as long as people know about it and I would think that the average person if asked wouldn’t even know that those people are there. I had to look up occupy cork to see if they are still there because I drove past the area the other day and didn’t see anything.

2 things did stand out for me http://www.demotix.com/news/1081184/occupy-dame-street-raises-stakes-amid-eviction-speculation in these series of photos. Firstly who gave anyone the right to put graffiti on the stone plinth? Secondly the whole camp looks like it was built by 12 year old boys building a “fort” to play in. Lastly the statement “Banks don’t share profits, we shouldn’t share their debts”. Unless i’m very much mistaken the whole notion of paying out dividends on shares is based on the notion that profits are shared out among investors.

• Yes, the whole notion of dividends is based on the notion that profits are shared out among investors. As I am not a shareholder in any bank, I don’t see why I should pay for its losses. Is that concept too difficult to understand?

• To the person who has voted me down, can you tell me why I should pay for the gambling debts of privately-owned businesses?

• I agree with you Tom that we should not be covering their debts, my point is that if you only put one side of your argument across or spin it in some way you leave yourself open to challenge. By saying that banks don’t share profits it makes that the bank keeps all profits for itself and no one benefits from them. You then waste a whole load of time arguing over profit sharing, dividends etc rather than trying to get your message across. Also a statement like that comes across negatively because it would lead me to believe that the person that put it up there hasn’t a clue about business. That is not to say that some of the occupiers are not very well educated and could easily defend their point it’s just that a slogan like that isn’t helping them. Perhaps a rethink on that sign would help to get the message across better and help their argument from the start.

• I am more than happy to pay taxes for people’s right to protest! Even if they would be on the dole, I would rather pay my share for them to have the right to protest then to bail out bankers!

• im glad they are doing it. But I wish the tax paying public who are footing the bill for the banks could make a stand. A small bunch of out of work campers don’t really make an impression to anyone. They dont contribute to our tax system, and I would guess most of the camper never will.

• tua 04/03/12 #

. Occupy and St Patrick are one in the same. In work and deeds The day should not be vulgarised by forgetting who we are celebrating. He had a purpose and a reason.

• Occupy St. Patrick’s Day!! Just everyone give them a free can and they’ll probably play some trad music there all day ;D free culture festival!

• Their camp at the Central Bank means 2 extra security guards and other safety measures that have had to be put in place. And who pays for it? We do. Theyre annoying AND they’re costing us money.

• Thats it thats all you got? And the central banks concept of regulation was a freebe, like a hippo When you opened that First Bank Account. Whats anoying is Your continued protecting of white collar crime by trying to brush this eyesore under the pavement. So we can get back to Business of supporting more white collar crime by way of blackmailing an entire Nation into sending Bond holders on geratric space flights.

• Really….. ODS are creating jobs?…. made 2 people happy anyhow.

• In my experience of Occupy London and Parliament Square, the sites are major tourist attractions with visitors queueing up to photograph themselves against a backdrop of the sharper banners – leave ‘em be

• Bleeding tree huggers go home

• Eh… not many trees there… mostly cement.
      Stupid comment.

• sums up everything right there, the occupy movement is run for the general public by the general public; the general public don’t care so it’s a non-starter.

• You niall lack an intelligence that allows you dismember rational. Please, understand that My rants are anything but anti-capitalist. The Elite i refer to are the bankers, druglords, British monarchy, vatican, russian Mafia, pedaphelioa tourists, monopolists, Radio presenters that have been forced into accepting a reality because they must protect the status quo of their profession. Freedom of speach is damaged due to Your “work” niall, you perfer to Live in a society where people are dumbed down so that you can continue to disrupt lives for ‘Radio’. God forbid people might wake up one Day and get rid of comreg, and all the other mechanasim that Ye Elite have in protecting a profession that no more than economics has done its Job. You may as well be reiterating seg heil everxtime you Open Your mouth.

• Interesting poll. Looks the shinners are either divided on this, or haven’t came out and voted for the movement just yet. :p

But yeah, they made their point. Their point isn’t making any difference and they are generally being ignored. There was a similar movement in Waterford which has all the tents and signs, but absolutely nobody is there and hasn’t been in some months now. The council have yet to clean up the mess they left behind.

• I think the council and the Gardai have been very gracious so far. A move on St Patricks day would be a permanent one. It’s time those guys asked themselves a few questions. And what have they actually achieved so far?

• What have YOU achieved in addressing the injustices related to a failed economic system? Do you ever complain about the way things are done? Do you ever do anything about it?

At least the occupy movement is getting us talking about what is and what could be.

• 007 04/03/12 #

I predicted this utter failure before. It is a total waste of time and has achieved nothing more than making us a laughing stock. The Q is what has this occupy nonsense achieved??? Answer= NOTHING

• Obviously during Your birth. The fact that occupy happened is a success. The fact that people are unwilling to take the time to unterstand the essence of the movement is the success of Propaganda. The fact that we are still dealing with Propaganda in this the 21 centuray, Shows the need for a movement such as occupy. Obviously family guy has hijacked Part of Your intelligence, it is difficult making real Life decisions.

• 007 04/03/12 #

Cupids daughter perhaps if you had actually taken the time to read my post what I said was “this occupy nonsense” not occupy in general, so quit talking about intelligence and maybe use some of it to make your point?

• This is a constitutional matter… Every person has the right to protest peacefully! Everyone who voted that they should leave should be ashamed of themselves!! Our country was founded on the actions took by individuals to come together and STAND UP for what they believe..
    Don’t stand in front of progress… Cos you’ll be ran over an left on the mud!
    Keep doin what ya doin Occupy
    Our 1916 freedom fighters would be proud

• Don’t worry mate, we have thick skins. Tell all the goody two shoes who know better than me, to come down here of a weekend and watch the madness that we have to deal with peacefully from 8pm til 6 and sometimes 7 am in the morning. I personally have saved several people’s lives from drunken fools and what about the Department of Finance lockdown that was not covered on the STATE NEWS CHANNEL.

• Novell like many brainwashed lick arses in Ireland makes a living from keeping his teeth out of the way. When people eventually learn to stand up and do something or create something instead of saddling their masters horses we may have a chance

• @Paddy
    Ok Paddy you tell me then.
    If the capitalist as you refer to them which are in fact entrepreneurs that create jobs for you and and your socialist friends decided to up sticks and leave,what then ?
    Bet you won’t be putting your neck on the line to create jobs..
    Bet you won’t mortgage your house to start a business and create jobs..
    Oh no !
    Your safe living of the state getting everything paid for so you can play the warrior camping out with your friends while the rest of us work and pay taxes to support you..
    Get a fucking life Paddy..

• Well said, Here Here!

• When you wake up Eddie and realise that Your way of Life cannot continue, go searching for the camps. They are plenty. Job creation and habitat destruction. Social impacts are yet evident of this economic failure. The occupy camp is showing you something. Wake up Eddie.

• The inference in that little rant of yours (expletives and all) is that anyone who protests the way their nation is being robbed blind by a tiny number of ultra-wealthy parasitical families through a distinctly fascist/corporatist socialisation of the losses made by those same parasites is a “socialist”.

Well, I hate to tell you, but there are quite a few libertarians / paleo-capitalists like myself who also find the unprecedented larceny to be utterly objectionable. I don’t agree 100% with the Occupy movement, but I will defend their right to protest, even if they fail to recognise that the problem isn’t entrepreneurs but rather the monetary system that we have had imposed on us for centuries and the rise of mega-corporations that inevitably goes with government interfering in the marketplace.

• @Tom.
      Definitely they have a right to protest and definitely things are being run for the “wealth creators”.
      You & I are likely to agree that the jobs that are so charitably donated by the likes of Eddie are motivated by selfish motives.
      The government is trying to tackle people such as those in ODS who are motivated by altruistic motives.

My problem with ODS is that they are not achieving anything. Time to pack up and go home. Loose the battle and not the war… regroup…. do something bleedin’ sensible instead.

• The wealth creators are those who produce tangible products that others want, preferably for export. The banks, on the other hand, are not wealth creators but a form of mafia that have inserted themselves and their charges into almost every business transaction, as the mafia would say “a piece of the action”. This applies not only to retail banking, but also to commercial banking and even more so to central banking.

• mortgages are not loaned out from depositer’s money they are created, therefore the debt is created and the bank wins every time, check it out, for every £1 in the bank £9 euros is loaned. And us occupiers are the idiots? I think not, we are a lot more informed than you think.

• fhat 04/03/12 #

@StephenMurph

I’m this guy that works for Google. Natural habitat is Dublin, although occasionally spotted visiting the family in Carlow.

Dublin · http://theirregularphotographer.blogspot.com

• Stop their DOLE and they would break the sound barrier !!!!!!

• Why should they move?! They should be offered a free float in the parade if anything. They are the only people who are standing up for the ordinary men and women of Ireland at this time. Bring on the revolution!

• They are now living a sun cultural lifestyle on the city streets . Let’s all do that and so much will be achieved . Thank god people are waking up to this waste of time . I was there last week and there was two activists and 30 empty tents and one big mess . They have achieved nothing , I’m sorry . So let’s move on .

• You should speak this stuff out loud and listen to yourself. Winging about what people have and you haven’t. Ya think the reason for that might be down to the fact that some people got where they are through hard work while you scratched your arse. Here’s an idea, move to North Korea where every one is equal…

• Sitting down is the new standing up?

• Yeah I must say I visited the camp and spoke to some people and they’re just wasting space and time. Biased, misleading and factually incorrect slogans pasted all over the place and a few 12 year old Emos moved up from Temple Bar to hang about. The fact that the “movement” has been asked to move is the most attention they’ve received thus far. As for the actual question: Who cares…people will still enjoy St Patricks day…and the camp will be flooded and trampled by spectators anyway.

• I discussed this on the show on Tuesday night and ran a similar text poll and the results were far more telling . The demograph may have a lot to do with that but our results were 82% for moving them on . It seems bizarre that the Garda and council seem reluctant to enforce the law with these individuals who have turned a wonderful summer meeting place into a tip . I will be negotiating with a skip company on Monday to have the whole lot moved and I will pay for it , so we can return the area back to what it was . We don’t allow and we moan about traveller culture to make a mess and yet we allow this in the centre of the city . We allow a little commune to set up shop and live on the streets and middle of a beautiful , metropolitan street . Other countries have coped on to this waste of time , why not us .

• @Nialllateshow: This is how I see it. While other states have decided to remove their occupy camps by force and intimidation often resulting is very negative press, we have allowed them all the space and time they could want, and yet they have made no impact. The majority giving them the silent treatment and largely ignoring them (because we’re more focused on improving things through hard work and democratic participation) has been more powerful than any riot police or tear gas. They’ve been shown to be ineffectual and irrelevant.

So much for the 99%…what a sense of entitlement these people have assuming the title of protector of the downtrodden when they’re as complacent as our previous Govt.. were. Frankly it’s sad…because otherwise I believe activism has a part to play in modern democracy. Theirs is a lazy activism…unworthy of the word.

• From what I’ve seen of the occupy movement in Copenhagen their message is far, far too vague, drowned with the noise of other “green” messages to be effective. While I agree with the overall idea, watering down the messages by pushing other agendas along side it (however worthy they may be) undermines the goal of the movement and dilutes it’s potency. Ireland’s going to pass the referendum anyway, time to move on methinks.

• Jimmy 04/03/12 #

Only people? That’s pretty arrogant.

• Paddy if you ever worked a day in your life you’d probably realise how hard most business owners have to work to keep afloat. It’s a trade for risk for reward as opposed to a stable wage for work done.

Put down whatever marxist horseshit you’ve read and join the actual world, your ideals are dated and people will rightly laugh at you. Your trouble is your need for recognition and your sad desires to be some sort of revoulutionary (lol) I suppose it’s frustrating when you are so irrelanavt to society. learn a skill, it’s hard work but it always takes that for anything to function. in every aspect of life.

• Dead right they should stay and a free float would be brilliant too

• It’s also really unfortunate that the poll results are skewed by the occupy supporters putting the link to the poll on all their facebook sites which is the reason why it changed direction towards the end. This happens all the time when we run a text poll on them on radio. They text friends and we get texts an hour after the poll has ended from people have not been listening to the show. This also happens when you run polls on abortion.

• Cant believe 245 people actually liked Paddys comment . Just goes to show you why the country is a mess ! Paddy there is a spare tent down there , actually there is loads of spare tents in dames street , why dont you go join them !

• God I can’t believe what a bunch of narrow minded losers most of us Irish have become! Can’t people understand what Occupy is trying to achieve?????? We are trying to save the world from the destruction of unbridled capitalism!!

If you don’t agree with the way things are being organized ….get involved you negative unimaginative losers! OCCUPY IS THE BEST THING TO HAPPEN TO IRELAND SINCE THE FOUNDATION OF THE STATE…….what are you going to tell your kids when they ask why they don’t have the same quality of life as you had, when they ask why so many animals have become extinct, why the food chain has become poisoned with GMOs, when they ask why your generation let so many men, women and children die in wars that were totally avoidable and were caused by sheer greed???? Well what are you going to tell them???? “Well Occupy started and we’ll I didn’t like the look of it, I was too busy checking out my shares in Apple and too busy being negative to get involved….sorry!??????”

WAKE UP, GET OFF YOUR ASS, GET INVOLVED AND START BEING CONSTRUCTIVE !!!!!!….selfish, arrogant, lazy…it reminds me of all the business owners that cursed and spat at the leaders of the rebellion in 1916 as they were frog marched through the streets of Dublin after being captured by the British Army……Come On where’s your social Spirit…THE OCCUPY PROTEST MOVEMENT IS ALL ABOUT YOU!

• Mr Lee 04/03/12 #

They’re still there? I feel bad for the shop owner near them! They are not making any difference and never will.

• I’m down at Occupy quite often and I think a lot of the people here should go actually talk to people. There are not a lot of empty shacks, most of them are occupied. If you come down and there’s only 3 or 4 people there, that’s because we don’t have everyone who protests there, there all the time. We’ve got a rota for who talks to the public and who’se on security. The place isn’t filthy or rat infested as some newspapers have said. If you come into the large structure you’ll actually see it’s clean and the shacks are clean.

Occupy is about making change. I think that eventually we could do that. It is important to stand up and demand the government listen to its people.

• None of them there on Dole day.. ….wasters ……water canon. …bye bye

• Well thought out Jeff, Your obviously one of these entrepreneurs thats mortgaged Your house to Set up Business because the banks wouldnt give you a loan. I wish you All the success as you contunue in Business in a junk rated economy while you favor water cannons over tear Gas for croud dispersal. Go Jeff. Well done.

• So they’ve been asked politely to leave and refused. Next they’ll be told to leave, and they’ll refuse. Then they’ll be moved physically at which point they’ll be crying about an ‘unprovoked attack’ involving ‘police brutality’ that gave them no chance to escape the wrath of these high-handed fascist cops and demanding that the rest of us foot the bill for an enquiry

• What’s that i smell……oh yes its Trouble!!!!!

• Orly 04/03/12 #

Was my comment deleted??! Why!!?

• Everyone appears to have forgotten that weather you agree with the occupy movement or not , they have a constitutional right to peaceful protest , or is that another part of the constitution we are willing to let foreign powers interfere with.

• You & I have the same constitutional right , which is being denied by the permanent camp at Dame st.

If I want to have a protest at the central bank plaza do you think that oDs would let me?
      Maybe if it towed their “party line “but I doubt it .

• Apart from the effectiveness of the occupy dame st movement (a few people with balls who are speaking up) what are the little people of Ireland doing to stop themselves being raped by international bankers. Irish people in the main are like the girlies pictured with bertie at the rds yesterday. Sucking up to who pays their piper and creating noting. That is why the biggest sucker uppers support the biggest crooks and the most rotten system, because its all they have in the world of useless sponger people. The Real Spongers Are the whores of the disgusting corrupt political and Social Welfare supported banking system who in turn keep the idiots who support them in biscuits. all paid for by Loans from the IMFand the ECB which will be repaid by the people working in the real economy which produces something, if it will still be there after the vultures in banks,government and political parties and their whore supporters have finished sucking

• I’d give them five minutes to gather their things and move , then I’d send in the tanks and flatten it . A bit harsh ? Feck them , it’s my country and I want to show it off to the world in it’s best clothes , we might be broke , but we can sure as hell put it behind us for one day.

• Well begorah, that’s a great idea! Seriously though, you might be on to something there, provided the Central Bank was flattened at the same time. We need rid of privately-run central banks issuing currency for profit, currency that is only given value by the fact that we are forced to use it (legal tender legislation) and forced to pay tax as “interest” to pay for what must be the most expensive printing service ever.

• Well said Alan Carroll !!!!!!!

• @Jill, there is no such thing as “The Queen of England”

• Wow chug when we have elections sheep vote for what they dont know anything about (thanks to media spin) and criminals get elected by people who mark their x in pencil and then the guys who win do exactly the opposite to what they said they would for 4 years without the intervention of the peope and to their detriment. Such a wise man you are. Who is it that pays your wages or supports your business whichever the case may be

• My draft horse excludes draft in My Home. Qualität of food depends how well i work. One horse power, is no competition against the oil of the Day. That lubricant that keeps the plates from moving under the sea. They say pomano got washed against the rocks you Know, for if There were eggs for Free we would Not be.

• God the results of this poll are so disappointing. If you don’t think that the camp has achieved much, then you should at least see what it achieves being on international media during St. Patricks Day parade coverage. Too many apologist assholes on thejournal.ie

• Less than half are in favour of it being dismantled, which is hardly disappointing. I do wish they would step up the quantity and quality of the information they put out though. They could also do more to dispel the perception that the Occupy movement is little more than bongo-bashing dreadlocked types.

• get some New York cops over to move the on USA style !! pepper spray and Battons at Dawn

• Move into the Liffey the spongers and they should have their dole cut off

• Yes i Know, its Part of an austerity Feature they are trialling on My phone. ( this is what Ye Call entrpreneur) i get Free calls to any network, the company feel that if capitol letters are randomly used it has the effect of excess and will go towards making austerity eassier to cope with.

• his business was failing before we CAME ALONG (for three years in fact, we have seen his books). Now with the publicity, his shop is always full. So now he can pay more taxes to the IMF how ironic. p.s. im an occupier who has worked all his life and this is not just about ireland, its about the whole world. The environment is being constrained because of money, we need to act 20 years ago not now or in the future.

• Your two possible yes responses betray a sharp editorial bias

• Try putting a negative comment on the movement up and see what happens . It’s like magic ;-)

• Why does the poll not match the headline? Another example of rushed journalism from the journal.

• fhat 04/03/12 #

Colin Mc Keown posted to Enda Kenny
    Enda you are as bad as the clowns you replaced ! hope your bubble bursts soon !!!!! you should be in the MUPPET SHOW i should never have voted for you
    Colin Mc Keown wud of never guessed you were a brainwashed blueshirt with a touch of a Neanderthal ; )

• I heard somewhere,the Central Bank Building is actually owned by England,and we pay them rent for it.Same as the Pheonix Park.Maybe someone can check it out.

• Someone told me just last night that the queen of England owns lots of land and that’s why she came to visit, because if she didn’t (not sure of the time frame) the land would be passed back. I don’t know if this is true or not. Interesting though.

• Utter nonsense – these ‘I heard somewhere from a guy who knows this one whose auntie had a chat with her friend Mary’ comments have no back-up and that’s why half the country believed that the Dept. of Social and Family Affairs gave African immigrants free buggies to leave at bus stops and free cars.

• How do you know it’s utter nonsense? I said I don’t know if it’s true or not, so whats your major malfunction?

Please don’t use my post to drag up asylum seekers and their buggies. I’m not affiliated with your thoughts at all.

• @Gill: I wasn’t using your comment to bring up that particular issue. Rather I was trying to demonstrate the dangers of hearsay evidence. I acknowledge that you said you didn’t know if what you heard was true or not – nevertheless the first commenter did not do likewise.

Please don’t use your replies to my comments to try and distort the point I was trying to make. Indeed, I could ask what’s your malfunction.

Regards

• I would like to take the opportunity to apologies to the Author of the thread as i assumed like many that comments were being removed at a disastrous rate , when it seems this seems to be an ongoing problem when viewing the Journal in the APP form on the iPhone / iPad .

It is really annoying but it seems it is the gremlins in the App . There are only just over 30 comments currently on the iPhone as i look at it but 124 on the pc in front of me . Seems really odd !!

• I am beginning to really believe that most of the Irish people are only sell outs to the criminal bankers etc etc and that they love their servitude to the criminal class in banks and government. Sad But True. One would wonder why when it is only a few sold out scrounger lick ups who benifit from the crumbs the so called elites distribute to them all funded by Social Welfare Payments

• The city needs this camp to end. Local business in the area is suffering. Coming in to the summer season tourism will suffer because of these selfish people. The people at the occupy movement don’t represent most people only themselves. I suspect when the Celtic Tiger was here and if it ever did come back,none of these spongers would be bothered to work for a living. Why don’t they all feck off back up the trees at the Glen of the Downs where they were spawned years ago!

• I got John Wayne and Clint Eastwood on stand by . They’ll sort this shite out , “go ahead , punk , make my day ” and
    ” the hell ya will” will make everyone move , including d bankers. Lol

• fhat 04/03/12 #

we are not called thick fat irish for nothing, agree 100% with Paddy BeBop

• I bet you haven’t the guts to say anything like that about any other race/nation/ethnic group

• fhat 04/03/12 #

Chuck Farrelly not talking about any other race, the political neanderthals that have commented with such vile disrespect about their fellow irish men and women, that particular person usually fits the discription of a THICK WHITE FAT IRISH, sorry if this offends and makes you sick, reality in Ireland can be very testing

Add New Comment