TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Should student grants consider the value of family property?

Fine Gael TDs are threatening a revolt over plans to consider the value of family farmland when considering a grant application.

Students attending a demonstration in January against plans to abolish postgraduate grants. Ruairí Quinn wants to change the grant system so that the value of assets, and not just income, is considered.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A ROW APPEARS to be brewing between Fine Gael and Labour, after FG’s agriculture minister Simon Coveney added his voice to those opposing Ruairí Quinn’s planned reform to college grants.

Labour minister Quinn is looking to change the current grant system so that the total wealth of each applicant, or their family – and not just the amount of income they have – is considered when the applicant is looking for a grant.

Both Fine Gael backbenchers and farmers’ groups have questioned the move, claiming that the changes would particularly target children from farming households which are already seeing other financial pressures.

Quinn, however, believes it’s possible for sole traders and the self-employed to manipulate the system so that their overall wealth doesn’t necessarily match the cash they take in each year.

Today we’re asking: do you think student grant applications should consider the value of a family’s property?

Poll Results:

Explainer: Possible changes to college grants – and why some TDs don’t want them

Read next:

Comments (103 Comments)

• Jenny 11/08/12 #

This is madness – just because someone’s parents have a house doesn’t mean they have lots of money! If people are out of work or retired, should they sell the family home and make themselves homeless to give their children an education – stupid government strikes again

• I think it’s not as black and white as the poll is making it. There are many things wrong with the student grant. I didn’t qualify yet my mate got it even though they had a new BMW and Merc and he was allowed to bring the Merc to uni while I struggled my whole way through. A good accountant can easily work the books.

If they do consider assest they should look at mortgates, year & model of cars, loans and repayments by parents. It’s not fair that a farmer with a small farm on highly priced land yet only taking a very small income shouldn’t qualify because their assests are worth money. It should consists of income generated from assests too. Also is the student commuting, paying rent etc? If a student lives at home why do they need the grant except for the registration fee? Even though I never qualified I worked every weekend and some evenings for money I’d use to go on my parents never gave me a red cent.

Also, when in college on ‘grant day’, the student bars were packed to the rafters. There should be some scheme whereby landlords and VEC’s are registered and receive the rent instead of it going direct into a student’s account.

• All kids should be treated equally. A grant should be in the form of a loan repayable on getting employment after college. Non grant students finish college with large loans as it is .

• What do they expect someone to do?

“Oh, look you have loads of fields. Feck off looking for the grant. Sell one of them so your little sprog can go to college.”

“Sure you live in Ranelagh!! Feck off. Sell up and move to Finglas. Then your young fella can go to college no problem!!!”

• Yeah actually…. Why should the taxpayer fund a farmers kid to go to college when they have plenty of assets in the form of land?

• Nocturnal Paramedic are you in competition with someone else to see who can post the most stupid comment?

I can see you winning by the way!

• Yeah enda that’s exactly what I’m at…. :-/ just because you don’t agree with me doesn’t make my comment stupid…
      So you think it’s ok for a farmer with hectares of land to get a grant for a their kid to go to college? I don’t think that’s fair when our taxes are being used for these grants instead of the farmer selling an acre or two…

• And do what then?

Should a tradesman with thousands of euros worth of tools sell up so a kid can get an education?

Also I don’t know if you have noticed but people aren’t exactlly qeueing up these days to buy property.
      This idea has not been thought through at all I think.

More kite flying from the government!

• Nocturnal Paramedic: That “kid” is probably 18, and responsible for his own welfare… This is what Ruairi Quinn is forgetting, with his Torythink. Some parents will probably tell their kid to get lost and find a job (where?) to pay for their education. And while I’m not against the principle of working to SUPPLEMENT your income during college, if you’re studying to be an Engineer, spending all your spare time serving chips in MacDonalds is not exactly a worthwhile character building exercise.

• Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh why is working in McDonalds not a worthwhile character building exercise for a budding engineer? Engineers are require to engage with the real world to some extent after they qualify. A part time job is good for learning how to deal with career work. I didn’t get a grant during college, I always worked part time, which took away from my study time. Some people really need grants, but the playing field needs to be levelled. Farmer’s children shouldn’t get grants just because their parents are farmers. It’s frustrating when you see cases of students with loads of disposable income and spare time because they get a grant, while you slave away in some rubbish part time job so you can pay for your bus fare to college.

• A) I’m not against part time jobs, just the experience of relying on part time employment to finance your entire college education.
      B) Engineering and most science degrees are 9-5, so there really isn’t that much time for part-time work.
      C) There are a lot of things wrong with the higher education system, but the cutting the eligibility criteria for the grant isn’t going to solve ANY of them.

• a) It’s impossible to finance an entire college degree on part time work, wages are too low for that. You can only supplement.
      b) After 5pm and weekends is when most part time work happens.
      c) The government needs to widen eligibility, but also make sure that the grant is going to those who need it most.

• Don’t be ridiculous enda…. You can’t build a house on tools can ya…??? But ya can guarantee most farmers have a nice little site set aside for their off spring… Maybe they should choose between a college education or a cheap house and not have us taxpayers sending them off to college for free. Or maybe get a job and a loan like the rest of us did…

• You are like many other posters here, anti farmer, plain and simple.

Anyone with any knowledge of farming or any business would not pursue such a line of argument.

• Sorry enda but I’m not anti-farmer at all…. I’m from the country myself and I know plenty of farmers. Nearly all of my friends from a farming background had a site waiting for them… Are you trying to tell me they couldnt of sold that site to put them through college instead of relying on tax funded grants??

• I get it now nocturnal. Your jealous that your friends parents have land they don’t have to pay for to build a house on.

• The grant system is an utter joke and should be abolished. All through college I saw people around me getting “the grant” and going out the next day to buy new cars, laptops, drinking etc. I had to work hard during the summer months to save enough money to pay my college fees, while I saw the people who received the grant go off interrailing, J1s etc.

If the grant is based on the wealth/income of the parents, it stands to reason that the grant should then be given to the parents to administer for their children — I didn’t get the grant because my parents earned too much money; that didn’t mean they actually gave me any.

• If assets should be included, so too should any loans/costs associated with those assets.

Also, I don’t know how you could possibly get around how the house on the farm is regarded. If this is a house inherited, then tax has been paid on it – it might be worth a lot but it’s down to the hard work of previous generations. If someone was to inherit a home like that then they should hardly be told to give up their lifelong home. Homes like those are only really an asset in that there is no rent/mortgage to pay anymore.

• You might be asset rich in land, but I’m not sure how owning a couple of Hectares of farm land will see you through college.

• It’s a tough one as I know farmers sending their kids to college on a shoe string with a lot of property but not a lot of income and I know people living around Leasson St who have great houses but still get the grant based on income.

What really has to chafe is how we means test people! I don’t have a solution but I know that’s where the problem is..

• I agree we have been refused grant for my son because we ‘earn’ too much and yet struggle daily to make ends meet, net income should be used as part of assessment not gross and net value of assets. This would give a fairer picture of need for grant

• Must admit I don’t see the logic in judging someone on their assets, as it stands now farmers use land and machinery to make money, tradesman use vans and tools, which might be quite valuable depending on the trade, and professionals use their degree. Under the new system only the first two would lose out. The first two can’t reasonably be expected to sell their assets to put their kids through college.

• Who votes “I don’t know” on these polls! You don’t have to vote in every poll people, just those that interest you!

• Most people vote “I dont know” as a way of seeing the results without altering them. I’ve done it a few times. It’s also interesting to see how many people are undecided on an issue.

• 5 million in property and can’t afford college hmmm sell some land like everyone else has to do..they even got grants to leave land unworked just top it once a year…ah the poor millionaire farmers

• @ Vinnie Mulvihill At the end of the day, if they’re getting a grant their household income is below the 50 odd k mark and they need it. Selling land and assets is only going to reduce that income even further as these are the tools that are making farmers’ livings. For a rural student the costs of college are a lot greater. 4-5k accomodation, 2k reg + living expenses. Now imagine if a family has to put 2-3 through college in the space of a few years.

• not at all what ends up as income insn the same a farmer can take out loans on more land lowering his income and getting grants

• “Sell Up” is hardly a solution either. You might not sell for a start, and if you do its probably going to be a lot less than what its worth. Plus many farmers use the land for farming, or intend to give it to their kids.

I’m not sure why we need to test someones assets, especially farmers. Farmers tend to have a lot of land as its required for their business, but they are hardly minted because they invested in their business. It should be based on income. If you have 7 fields and your earning a lot, then why should you be entitled to a grant if you are making enough to cover both? But what if you have 7 fields and your just tipping over, land isn’t fully in use and so on.

Farming isn’t a cheap business to run folks. Its grand to be sitting on their fence throwing stones and mocking them thinking they have it easy, but its one of the toughest most expensive businesses to run.

• The student loans argument is a whole other topic. Many people simply cannot afford them. Income and financial assets are already taken into consideration in the grant application form. Ultimately, this is what is putting food on the table and paying bills. Calculating overall net worth is, in some cases, going to give a completely distorted outlook on a families financial situation. Owning a cattle shed built 20 years ago worth x amount of euro could be the difference between getting a grant or being refused? If the education needs to be cut. I feel its unfair that they target a single group like this (by the way I’m not a farmer). Reducing the grant by 3% for everyone would be a lot less painful than shutting out a group of people entirely. I know they’ve done this before and as a student I don’t necessarily agree, but it’s better than this.

• The farmers receive more handouts than anyone on social welfare. It’s called the CAP.

• My uncle has a 600 acre farm with 500 or so cattle, 1000 sheep and 40 horses. His three kids all get the full gran for college up in UCD to study B & L

In fairness though it’s not like he has much cash. He only take two holidays abroad a year.

• Whatever the outcome, Sociologically the wealthy will still end getting into University and the poor will get screwed.

• I vote I don’t know because it is a great idea in some cases and a terrible one in others see my comment below

• Rob 11/08/12 #

When SF win the next election, expect these changes to be rolled back.

Adams for Taoiseach 2016.

• Rob 11/08/12 #

I hope people reflect on their mistakes of voting Fine Gael in 2011. As a result, you elected a government who will pillage the Irish people. I regularly hear many people ask ‘what’s the alternative’? It’s simple: Sinn Fein / Socialists / Independents.

Electing FG / LAB was a mistake because they lied and failed in their first year of government. Do you keep re-electing a stupid government?

• I don’t think that will help as we have to continue making cuts to keep receiving out bailout funding. The solution is to not make easy cuts in education or healthcare. Leaning to the left or the right won’t help either.

These times are hard and we will have to deal with them we have to make hard choices and sacrifices. If that means cutting the level of the extra-ordinarily high dole, taxing the highest of earners or making huge public sector job cuts.

We need to make this county more efficient and streamlined. We have a dream of a knowledge based economy and we will never get there of we keep making the easy choices.

• Paddy bebop, I think your figures are a bit iffy, 600 acre would not support 500 cattle, 1000 sheep and 40 horses. but judging by your thumbs up alot of people agree with you and therefore have no clue about farming.

• It should not be based on property values. And if you have to sell your home/ land as some are suggesting, to send a kid to college, then you’re clearly not rolling in it. base it on income only…

• Property isn’t much of an asset if it’s worth less than you paid for it and still have 30 years to pay before it’s actually yours

• I worked on a means tested scheme years ago. It was easy to do the assessments on PAYE workers and those on Social Welfare because it was all laid out in front of you. The self employed, including those in the agriculture sector were forever “forgetting” to send in the odd bit of information, like having a partner in full time employment !

My experience is that the non-paye sector have much more scope for getting away with underdeclaration… so they do. And that’s why we have stories of “rich farmers’ kids” getting the grant.

• even putting aside farmers, if you look at how many families own a house but are struggling to pay their mortgage how are they supposed to pay for their kids to go to college? all this will do if its brought in is make sure damn all people will be able to afford college

• Ireland. Where some are more equal than others.

• A family home is not an asset, it can’t be cashed in to pay fees for education. Only go on income, remember property tax people. A home the family lives in, is not a luxury but a right and necessity.

• Rob 11/08/12 #

Education will be a thing of the past under FG/LAB.

Time to vote them out of office in 2016 and choose an alternative government of Sinn Fein and Independents.

• Put FF/FG/Labour and SINN FEIN in the history books, where they belong. Its time for a new constitution and a new Republic, get rid of all the parties of yester-year. Sinn Fein are a shower of two-faced liars!

• I’m going to make the assumption that the people who say the farmers should sell lad to pay for their kids through college when the farmer has a low income are city dwellers that have never set foot on a farm.

• You ever try paying for groceries with your assets?? Doesn’t work. This would either keep grants out of students hand or force the liquidation of assets. And we are talking about a lot mire than Farmers. There are many families who’s assets total worth does not reflect their current situation in terms of cash availability.

• Glad my father didn’t sell the farm to send me to agri college.

• The blueshirts will always protect the big farmers while screwing the urban working class.

• big farmers???I m married to a farmer who works tweleve hr days at least!! for NOTHING he d prob earn more on the dole!!!
      you ve have not got a clue typical tarring all farmers with same brush!!!Its a VVVV hard job with v little rewards except a 2 day summer holiday if we r lucky!!!

• Stop talking rubbish. Irish farmers have never had it so good. Full time farmers earn on average about 80k a year and pay feck all tax. Their incomes have risen 70% in the last 2 years. Blueshirt farmers always plead poverty while racking it in.

• @ aislinn well he might be better selling up and trying a different job if the dole would be better

• @ Brendan. Ya that may be true but they have hugh over heads.

• Most of them have have huge heads on them anyways

• Brendan; The scenario that Aislinn describes is very common. Not every farmer is minted and paying little tax.

• Brenden you might want to read this http://www.irishexaminer.com/farming/finance/average-farm-income-24861-but-dont-expect-college-grants-for-your-children-195802.html “Average farm income €24,861 — but don’t expect college grants for your children”

• ^ that’s an average figure that includes part time farmers who keep a couple of sheep but also work a full time job. Your own link says full time farmers earn close to 60k, twice the average industrial wage. Full time dairy farmers earn about 80k on average.

• And again Brendan. You forgot about the hugh expenses that farmers have.

• “income of €56,000 would be better explained if broken down per labour unit, because you are likely to see three generations working on most full-time commercial farms. ” That gives and average of less than €20k per person.
      You also are not taking into account outstanding loans or inheritance tax in some cases. Our next door neighbor inherited a farm off his uncle which was a mid sized farm but it took years of very hard work to pay off the crippling inheritance tax.

Full time dairy farmers income depends on the size of the farm and the income is normally based on one person working on the farm and doesn’t include spouse and children sharing the division of labor.

• That’s an entirely biased link in favour of the whinging farmers. Why should grandad be getting paid 20k a year to feed the chickens once a day while also getting a full pension?

• don’t the urban working class just collect social welfare and spend it on cheap beer for centra when child support is received.

• @ Vinnie: Don’t be so arrogant as to assume everyone does their job for money. Have you considered than Aislinn’s husband might actually love the work he does?

@ Brendan, you clearly have a chip on your shoulder for some reason, but you’ve ignored Brian when he mentions the costs of farming. These costs are far more expensive than you seem to comprehend. Buying in stock, meal, equipment and a multitude of other things means there’s a big difference between the gross income and the net income. Also self employed people like farmers don’t have the option of going on the dole if it all goes belly up. Yes farm incomes have risen over the past few years, but relative to the hours put in I’d imagine the amount earned per hour is well below the minimum wage.

My parents and brother both work on the farm at home. My parents are a decade from retirement age. What should they do? Go to the workhouse in your esteemed opinion? Come on, do tell – you seem to know it all after all. The job is time intensive and the rewards are far from great – that’s why I chose not to do it, as well as the fact I had other interests. The average €80,000 figure you quote isn’t mentioned in the article that’s linked to at all, so I’d love to know where you get it from? A pie in the sky figure I bet.

• People need to be punished by the harsh reality of buying assets they can’t afford and leveraging those assets to borrow and buy luxuries that generate no returns… You don’t sell the family farm to put your kids through college you can borrow against it at a rate that’s 2% above inflation thus the kid can go to college for a 50th of the cost to the parents in interest and repay the principal with part of their enhanced earnings and still they and the economy as a whole is better off.

• Assessing farm property size is a pathetic and unjust way of narrowing the channels guiding the better off into higher education, whilst ensuring that those who can’t afford to go to 3rd level, do not go to 3rd level. Income thresholds are the only way to ensure that those who need the grant get it.

• Farmers always generated the grant anomolies in my day. ditto self employed. Reducing low income urban drop out rate should be a target here.

resistance is brazen parish pump by FG.

• many of the farmers of lots of money, that is not included,so they therefore get a full grant! (before anyone tells me to shut it, friends of mine fall into this category). Other then, which earn a lot less actual dispossable income, are thought by the revenue to have more and get a lot less of a grant.. surely fairness must prevail here

• maybe Im wrong here, but d farmers in my area always seemed the best off

• No fees for any college student. Free education for everyone. Adults go to college so their parents’ means and property is not relevant.

• For farmers, selling land equates to reducing your ability to earn money and pay tax. It is in no way different than asking someone to work less to put their kids through college. That’s just silly.

Furthermore, it encourages the redistribution of farm land from families to single people. This, I believe, would speed up the movement of young people from rural areas to cities as farming is no longer a viable option for them.

Perhaps a system which differentiates between commercial assets, such as farms, and private assets, such as holiday homes, would help. That way we could distinguish between those who have true wealth from those whose wealth is their livelihood.

• The system has to change and ruairi quinn is not the man to do it,,the only politican who will change any system is one has been through the hardships of that system (ie)a low socio economic status,denial of access,unfair iq segregation at start of secondary school,lca programes_lcvp programes,points race,third level fees,.

thats the problem in ireland wat ever systems are in place people exploit them in all areas across the spectrum.but i have seen first hand having returned to college three years ago at the age of 24,unfair distrubution of third level fees..seeing students who come from financially sound familes getting grants who dont need them. especially i have found a lot of the students tat get grants were in fee paying second level education..which is just mental.while i watch other students who dont have a pot to piss in get noting.of course land assets should be assesed it only morally right.our education system is failing and is prehistoric just ask the parents of the prefabricated generation of children in primary level..if we want an equal educational system and system tat works we as a society have to stand up and demand change but also be morally upright and fair and contribute towards society.

• Are the proceeds of site sales made in the Boom included in grant assessments? They should be unless they can be shown to have been spent to service a debt or to purchase another non income making asset.
    Overall I suppose those who are wealthy enough will manipulate the system to their advantage and those who can’t afford the tax advisors will end up paying.

• Smiley 11/08/12 #

Here’s an idea—abolish all grants.

• @ vinnie mulvihil, if someone had 5 million of land they would be well above the minimum income limit to qualify for a grant.

if a farmer qualifies for a grant that means his income is below a certain threshold, and to suggest he should sell land and thereby reduce his earnings further when he could easily have a family to support is absolutely ridiculous and grossly unfair

• An asset is something you own, if you owe more money than the asset is worth then it stops becoming an asset and becomes a liability. Therefore I agree with using assets as part of a means tests but it should only be part of it.

• ” if you owe more money than the asset is worth then it stops becoming an asset and becomes a liability”

Completely incorrect sentence. And I don’t really understand what you’re trying to say. Your assets (home, savings, car, shares etc.) will always be assets so long as they are worth money to you. If your liabilities exceed your income/assets then that just means you’re broke. Financial assets like savings and shares are taken into consideration already. The debate here is whether a physical thing such as a house could be used as a means of getting your kids through college either by re mortgaging it, moving, or securing it against a smaller loan etc.

• Agreed my point was as clear as mud, I was thinking specifically about farmers. What I was trying to say was that if somebody owes more than the value of their farm on a loan which is backed by the asset then this shouldn’t be used. That said, if somebody does own their farm outright then that asset should be used as part of the calculation when means testing.

• I feel it should be left out of it. Farmers are already paying plenty of tax, and their students once graduated will also pay back in to the system. I think monitoring income is the best way to determine someone’s standard of living, physical assets can paint a distorted picture of a families financial situation. A farmers land is the tool with which they use to make money, if their income is below the threshold. Then the land they have is not sufficient to live off as it is and they should be getting a student grant. Selling it or securing it against a loan is unfair. If the income is low, they are already struggling.

• Agreed farmers already pay a lot of tax and nobody wants to make it harder for them to make a living. But we all pay a lot of tax and I don’t think its fair to ask other people to support a none profitable business. I don’t want to be rude but if people can’t make money out of farming then maybe they shouldn’t be farming.

• How many people here who say farmers shouldn’t get the grant work as hards as farmers!! A typical dairy farmers week he will get up between half 5 and 6 to milk, he can’t go to far away he has to milk again at 5 in the evening and look after the land and animals during the day. if he is in calving season then he will have to calve cows during the night and during the day same as women don’t give birth monday to friday 9-5. Many people here don’t work sundays farmers do! A farmer milking cows has to be on the farm every day sat and sun included there isn’t a day off because who will milk for him! If he takes a day off he will have to pay someone a days wages to milk for him. A average farmer is lucky to get a week off in the year! Alot of people here have never worked 12 – 13 hour days in their lives. As a farmers son, we we always poor. My parents couldn’t afford to put us through college if i didn’t get the grant which i used for food fee’s rent i’d never of got to college! I also worked part time to pay for college! My parents get no state handouts, we’ve got hundreds of thousands in assets but its a tool to make a living! My parents haven’t been on a foreign holiday in 13 years and that was to england for a week which was there only foreign holiday! Don’t paint farmers with the same brush the same way you don’t paint trades people with the same brush!!!
    Farm incomes are determined by global markets if the price is good one year people shout the rich farmers shouldn’t get fk all handouts, people forget that the following year the price hits the floor and he must take the fall not the middleman. Irish food is top quality it comes from top quality family farms, which still are the backbone of this country!!! The country was on its knee’s with the banking crash only for agriculture being as strong as it was we’d of ended up like greece!!!

• Selling productive assets in one year means that your income will be permanently reduced after that year. That logic applies whether you are talking about farmland for farmers or buildings, plant & vehicles in a capital-intensive manufacturing, leasing, construction etc. business.

The implication that productive, illiquid assets such as farmland or buildings/plant/vehicles be assessed for grants implies that those assets can be sold to fund children’s college costs, thus further eroding family income which, if grant-qualification is a possiblity, needs to already be under €41,000 i.e. not very high.

How does that make sense?

• large farmers should not be getting college grants period. playing the poor mouth while at the same time doing well under CAP.

but don’t tarnish all farmers with the same brush as small farmers are struggling to make ends meet..

• I believe we don’t actually own our own farms. Its an illusion because we pay so much TAX and charges including all stealth tax. Then we pass it onto the next generation. We ensure that we have employment how much does that save Government from producing a job and spend the vast majority of our monies locally. I would estimate a farmers trades many millions of euros during his term but I have yet to meet a millionaire farmer because of the taxes we pay. Have you ever met a millionaire farmer?

• peter 11/08/12 #

screw the farmers

• This is quite simple; fees should be set at 5,000 to 8,000 per academic year and banks should offer loans of between 2-3%.

Students should have a clear choice on their University career paths and such fees would fund better research streams and post graduate structures! A degree; it’s not just for Xmas

On graduation such debt should be a tax deductible.

Stop moaning and grow up!

• Oops ticked wrong there OF COURSE the income only! In Germany for example if your parents earn good money or you also live at home then NO HELP AT ALL! Should be here the same….

• You have got to be kidding what next

• What is being considered is No the Family Home. But if the Working Farm should be included as assets is Land and the income from the business of farming.

• Students are bums, end of!

Add New Comment