Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Priory Hall is ‘a symptom of mess government has inherited’ – Taoiseach

Enda Kenny speaking in the Dáil today.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that everybody has sympathy for the families who have been forced to leave their homes at Priory Hall in Dublin.

Speaking in the Dáil today, Kenny said that  it was “absolutely outrageous” that the apartment block on Donaghmede was allowed to be built in the first place. Four months ago private residents were ordered to evacuate the complex over concerns that it did not meet necessary fire safety standards.

They have since being housed in temporary accommodation with a number court cases surrounding the financial status of the developer responsible for the apartments, Thomas McFeely, and the cost of housing the residents currently pending.

“There is a court case pending here, there are also Supreme Court proceedings due shortly which is going to adjudicate on a number of issues,” he told the Dáil today during Leaders’ Questions. He said he did not want to “pre-empt” matters before the courts.

These matters include Dublin City Council’s appeal to the Supreme Court to have this responsibility for housing the residents transferred elsewhere. It has so far cost them over €700,000.

In what was one of his first public statements on the much-publicised plight of the over 250 Priory Hall residents, Kenny said: “I think it’s absolutely outrageous that this kind of edifice was allowed to be constructed.”

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin criticised the government’s response saying that “sympathy and outrage are no longer good enough”. He called for “creative thinking” solve the issue which he described as an “exceptional situation”.

The Taoiseach told the Dáil that Housing Minister Jan O’Sullivan had already met with the residents and said that Dublin City Council were in “constant contact” with residents.

Last night, residents claimed that the ESB were to disconnect power from parts of the complex over safety concerns. Despite O’Sullivan meeting with residents, senior minister Phil Hogan has repeatedly said it would be “inappropriate” for him to meet with them.

McFeely has been declared bankrupt in England and an application pursuing bankruptcy against him in Ireland has been adjourned.

Priory Hall residents ‘no closer to a solution’

Read Next:

Comments (85 Comments)

• Keith Twamley 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The developer has been declared bankrupt in the UK, how are cases against him pending? Government enforced regulation did not live up to its responsibility with regard to this development and as such it is the responsibility of Government to find a solution to this problem, surely?

• HELLO SPRUIKER 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Don’t you know.
      The government is too busy, spending money putting Quinn employees on the dole

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hello Spruiker,

I think you’ll find that Sean Quinn put his employees on the dole by gambling his company’s assets on bank shares.

Report this comment

Tom
      I think you’ll find that IBRC’s, incompetent,tax payer funded,expensive receiver
      (the one that maintained that no job would be lost)
      has put Quinn employees on the dole.
      Ask a few of them?

But whats new?
      Ask any of the Irish businesses, that have been put to the wall lately, what roll the government has played in their demise?

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yeap. Everyone else’s fault.

Report this comment

There just facts Tom.
      There’s no blame here.

Business people build businesses and employment.

Receivers liquidate businesses and employment.

Our well paid Government,regulators and senior civil servants?
      well they’re ”supposed” to make sure everything runs smoothly, aren’t they?

• Tom Neville 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So,

A guy runs his company into the ground by illegally gamblnig his company’s assets (remember he didn’t have board approval) on bank shares in a quasi ponzi scheme….and it’s the fault of the other guys who didn’t catch him?

• Frank2521 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I can’t believe the Garda have not attested most of the people in the Planning office and architects departments in the Dublin city council for not inspecting properties for fire stopping in attics and a range of other breaches in regulations Its criminal negligence to allow families live in houses and apartments which are potential fireballs these people who are responsible already know about Stardust disaster and have had training in fire prevention in these buildings yet they ignore it. Why
    is the City Manager still walking around and not put in jail? He is responsible for buying over 25 apartments in Priory Hall from the developer while his company was under investigation by Dublin Ciry Council for failing to comply with building regulations on uuanother site. He handed over 5 million to the developer and didn’t even inspect the properties. I bet he viewed and inspected his own home at least 3 times before he handed over the money. Yet he handed over the taxpayers money without a second thought for the people who would have to live there. The Garda must get involved as it is criminal neglect on both issues.

• Phil Dargan 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If he’s been declared bankrupt in the UK, he should be put on the first plane there, revoke his nationality, seize his passport & any assets here, his house should realise a couple of million which would help the property owners with their situation.

• Joseph 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This was also a big failure of the media, they just were never critical of architecture in any way,
    even though that would be have been badly needed.
    All the media were good at for too long was being just too happy with the advertorials
    praising expensive property and collecting the advertising revenue.

• Michael Manson 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Micheál Martin…
    This is a creation of your party insofar that regulation in the building industry was largely ignored and not adhered too.
    You have some nerve man.

• Tony Skillington 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There’s only so long more Enda and Co can keep blaming FF for what they inherited…and I don’t think that’s going to be much long more.

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Tony,

Do you honestly expect them to solve a multi-billion euro crisis in 12 months?

• The kop 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

well at the push of a button Enda was able to pay out over a BILLION of OUR MONEY…. so get a grip tom….
      i would love to know how many times we have heard Fianna Fail come out of Enda’s mouth…. if that was changed to “the solution” to this problem is……. maybe we might get somewhere…..

• Eugene O' Neill 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Tom
      No tom I will never expect them to solve this multi-billion bailout problem they inherited but anyway staying on the priory hall subject, even a visit from a government minster would go a long way of support for these families that want nothing but justice and a home to live in.

As what frank said above my comment,why is no accountable and arrests I sometimes wonder is there diplomatic immunity for every developer and banker in this country or nobody has the balls to arrest these guys?

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Eugene,

The developer has been taken to court…and has flaunted the court order to make reparations. I agree that this must be solved, but Tony’s implication that FG should be able to able to resolve a multi-billion euro mess in 12 months is simply unrealistic. I know Tony has FF leanings and will do anything to blame someone else for FFs mess.

Kop,
      You might have missed the entire ECB dictating that unguaranteed bondholders get repaid or we wouldn’t get favourable terms in our bailout. But that’s a story for another day. But if you want a quick summation, JC Trichet said “No Bank defaults, that’s the bottom line” and then the bailout negotiations started. Did Brian Lenihan negotitate a good interest rate? Could have been better. Did Trichet make repayment of all bondholders a condition of the bailout? Yes. You might want to read up a little first my friend.

• The kop 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

well i certainly didn’t miss the whole….NOT ONE RED CENT MORE!…..
      maybe you should get a job as a government advisor…..sure you have enough of them in your friends list….im sure they could fix you up with a nice little number…..since your so far up there arses anyway… in case you haven’t noticed there isn’t much love on here for your leader or his cronies…..might have something to do with the many pre election promises we were given… that might as well have been written on a bit of toilet paper at this stage

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The Kop,

I have noticed a certain amount of trolling from five individuals.

However I would take opinion polls and election results as a better indication of government support than the antics of five die hard keyboard warriors. :)

• The kop 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Agreed Tom…..
      i guess if we do have a referendum then we might get some indication….
      of course the referendum is about europe…but im sure people will and rightly so use it to show the government what it’s thinks of its tenure so far…..
      oh no sorry…..wait….sure didn’t the government make sure that the changes to the fiscal pact had better make sure that the people of Ireland don’t get to have their say……
      sorry tom couldn’t resist….

• Paul Lanigan 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Tom – your party is as morally bankrupt as the last shower. Cut from the same cloth

Report this comment

@ Tom…prehaps not…but remember FG sat across from Cowen, Aheren and Co for nigh on 14 years and kept a very quiet watch on what unfolded. The way they have dealt with the ‘beloved’ Troika is as close to treason as can be experienced…’not nother cent to the banks’ etc etc…had we known they were lying wholesale through their teeth I doubt they’d be in the position to crying wolf.

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Tony,

In one breath you accept that they inherited a multi billion euro and in another you say that they cannot blame it on what they inherited.

Report this comment

I never doubted they inherited the problem Tom…what I am saying there is only so long they can use the previous administration as a sheild.

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

And that timescale for solving the problem, that multi-billion euro bomb is strictly 12 months?

• Keith Colton 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

F**k the blame game, why won’t they just get on with helping these people out?

• franco 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

enda you are in charge now so stop banging on about fianna fail and for gods sake make one sensible decision in your life and help these people out ,people are pissed off listening to your waffle about the last government get off your german arse and do something .

• Martin O Donnell 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

just goes to show what a shower of muppets ends and Co are

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

IRA man runs to the British Courts for protection against the Irish people he screwed!

Just how nationalist was this guy when push came to shove? When it affected his pocket, he screwed as many Irish as he could. That’s the IRA for you.

• Noddy Mooney 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So the actions of one man defines an entire organisation Tom, does it? I’m no IRA sympathiser but he is Irish too, so by your logic, that’s the Irish for you. Stupid comment.

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

My sympathies are with the residents of Priory Hall, not the IRA property developer who used the UK courts against the Irish.

• Liz Donegan 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said Franco.. The residents are not in court and nothing is stopping Kenny from sorting out this nightmare we live in every day..

Report this comment

@Tom – stop deflecting and reframing the argument. We’re talking about FG not the IRA. So drop the straw man tactic

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul, we’re talking about Priory Hall why the residents deserve reparation from the developer.

But interesting to see where your focus lies.

Report this comment

More deflection Tom. You’ve trained well. We’re talking about FG and how they keep blaming everything on the previous shower. Time to man up. Only 12 months in power an more broken promises than a second hand car salesman. But please….continue to deflect and defend the indefensible…..

• Tom Neville 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ah Paul, another who expects a quick fix of a multi-billion euro problem in 12 months. It ain’t gonna happen. It will take years to fix the country.

• Billygoatmuff 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If Enda is not taking responsibility for disastrous decisions the previous scumbags made, why is he still lining the pockets of the banking gamblers etc? One rule for them…..

• Too Trueleft 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Could these guys be housed permanently in NAMA properties? At least some good could come out of that developer bailout facility we’re all paying for.

• Dave Looney 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

haven’t FG had a majority in most of the urban councils for the last decade? Are these same councils not to blame for many of the horrendous planning and developments that we now have to deal with?

The facts are that Phil Hogan and Enda Kenny are hiding on this issue and are unwilling / incapable of doing anything about it.

• The kop 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

blah…blah…blah
    more of the same shite from Enda… we inherited this problem…we inherited that problem….
    you bloody well knew of all these problems before the election…sitting in opposition for 14 yrs…and the decisions that you have made since being in government have been more of the same….you can’t fix problems by continuing to blame others… make proper decisions NOW you moron….

• David Higgins 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

He did say that it was absolutely outrageous that priory hall was built in the first place. Since there’s a court case pending on this, I think that was about as far as he could have gone with his comments.

But you hated Enda anyway so this was your chance just to slander him some more. Whatever floats your boat man

• Niamh Byrne 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Its true david, can’t be slander if its true. Unfortunately spouting on about who is to blame doesn’t sort the problem out.

• The kop 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

not at all David…. i did actually have a bit of hope that Enda might be different and actually change things…god knows we heard enough to convince us before the elections…..but i am tired now of the constant harping back to the last crowd of wasters we had…. standing in the dail and answering questions with the same line that we inherited this from the previous government is not getting us anywhere…and really that is not what people want to hear…..as Niamh says….its not slander…..it’s true!

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So far my own experience of “Kop” is that he cannot construct a sentence without using the works “arse” or “shite” and has now learnt a new word “moron”. He’s like Fr. Jack Hackett from Fr. Ted.

• The kop 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

here’s another one for you Tom….. MUPPET….. and you can decide whether it’s Enda or yourself i’m talking about…

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well Kop my old friend,

I don’t mind whom you call what. It’s not as if you can actually articulate criticism. :)

• Peter 66 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@David, Enda was the opposition leader when all this was going on & did sweet fukc all because he was too bothered watching his own party members trying to shaft him…..Mick Martin calls for a ‘creative solution’ what does he want them do thatch the bloody roof or paint a few murals over the cracks ? they are a pair of tools that couldn’t give a toss about the residents of priory hall.

Report this comment

I love this reasoning that somehow opposition leaders have the same info and power as the Taoiseach and that somehow Enda bears responsibility for decisions taken by the previous governments. You’d think Enda had been Taoiseach for the last 14 years with the way some people comment here.

• Tom Neville 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Dave, nothing more certain than the usual trolls saying it was FGs fault for not being in power. As predictable as gravity.

• jimbo 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

so what you going to do about it enda?

• Robert Lynch 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What should he do? Fix the apartments? Get them rebuild? That is what I would suggest but this is only the tip of the iceberg. I rent a house that was built in the last 8 years, which is not insulated. How crazy is that….a new house without proper insulation? And I don’t mean that the work was shabby… there are just massive sections of insulation missing. I figured it out (not that hard really… the house was freezing and it was only -5 outside), the landlord didn’t believe me since he paid for an insulated house off the plans, but he eventually got it checked and what do you know all the cavities in the back and side walls of the house downstairs are empty. The builders insulated upstairs and the front but didn’t finish the job. That builder should have been bonded and if the job was not finished his bond should pay for fixing the situation. There are so many of these situations. Priory Hall is just the tip of the iceberg.

• Eddie Walsh 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda Kenny..
    Pure Waffle…
    And pure Waffle on your answer to the question regarding how many jobs will be created next year..
    Is there anybody in that Dail with a brain and a scrap of honesty and decency and some idea or clue as to what they are doing..
    I think this government has lost it and they won’t go the term by a long shot..
    The only thing that will save them is a move from the EU to make drastic changes across the Union to the rules of the bail outs..
    IE: Write off some of the debt carried by member states in trouble..
    Because our government has no idea what is really going on and as a result they have no idea what they are doing..

• Adam Magari 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The has past when every problem can be dumped on the doorstep of the previous government. When you buy a second hand car, its maintenance is your responsibility.

• Lynton Hartill 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Take an action against the structural engineer & architect in question under their professional indemnity insurance policy. That’s what I would do as I’m an insurance broker.

• Eddie Walsh 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Lynton
      100% on the button.
      That is where it’s at..
      It is actually that cut and dry..
      I hasten to add though that the trail will lead all they way back to the county council and by default to political figures in office..
      They will brazen it out until they cant any more and then try bury it in a load of spin..
      Just watch this unfold ???

• hibernia2011 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

it is really annoying seeing government cheer leaders spouting on about the good job enda is doing and still blaming the previous gombeens.

• Ratzo 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“The Taoiseach told the Dáil that Housing Minister Jan O’Sullivan had already met with the residents and said that Dublin City Council were in “constant contact” with residents”

Ummmm “Constant contact”. Imagine that, being in constant contact with slippery elected representatives whilst behind your back they all play pass the fucking parcel and cry about how outrageous it is.

I wonder what would happen if Mr Kennys family was fucked out into the street and moved into a hotel for the same reasons. Wonder how long that “outrageous” situation would persist. Truth is it wouldn’t last as long as a pint in the Dail bar.

Report this comment

You’d want to ask the Priory Hall residents themselves what they think of the contact instead of making your own presumptions.

And your argument about Enda Kenny is flawed for a number of reasons. Are you suggesting that should Enda’s family have to leave their home that the state would intervene as a special case and buy them a new home?

I very much doubt that would happen.

In any case you’re not comparing like with like because they don’t live in an apartment block, I presume it’s a house somewhere in Mayo. It’s likely that the house is there for some time and any damage wouldn’t be the direct result of bad building or planning.

Enda’s family would be left to their own means in such a situation.

In contrast Priory Hall residents are being accommodated and rightly so.

• Brian 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

@Robert lynch. You are right, this is the tip of the iceberg. I know there is a report on my block of apartments due soon and it’s not good!! The developer has already liquidated!

• Liz Donegan 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

100 days and more out of our homes. Living in the stress of not knowing how and when this nightmare will be sorted. Not knowing what the future will hold, living from a suitcase and wondering when you will be out on the streets or ruining the future you worked so hard for because you have to renage on your mortgage to rent and keep a roof over your head.. And the one man that can and is responsible to help… Won’t! It’s a nightmare, one I wouldn’t inflict on my worst enemy.

Report this comment

But isn’t it the court cases that are
      causing the delays and uncertainty?

I’m curious to know what exactly the government can do in this situation?

• SMcB 14/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Lend the management co an interest free loan to fix the apartments might be one idea???

• corky2004 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda, Your job is to clean up the mess, so quit bitching and do it!

• Eimear Lavery 14/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh my God Enda stop with the blame game already; you’re not in opposition any more!!! You know those shitty summers we’ve been having? Well they are because of the past government. School traffic? Past government. The fact that you gained a few pounds over Christmas? Yeah that was them too! But since you’ve lost them, that’s all us.

• The kop 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

wow….Ratzo…..just fantastic..summed up perfectly……
    now in case you wanted to know and your looking for lucinda you will find her on tom nevilles fb page….
    between david and tom id say they have the entire Fine Gael party members listed in their buddies section…
    so really i wouldn’t take any heed at all as to what they comment on this…. sure they can’t be objective…they have to tow the party line and stay under the whip…..
    bit sad really when one takes the time to actually count the amount of red against green thumbs for there comments…..!!!

• Tom Neville 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Kop,

Not sure how good you are with counting (must be in SF or FF) but I my Sean Quinn comment is 67-8 Green to Red and my IRA comment was 53-25 Green to Red….but I really don’t pay too much attention to what keyboard warriors say, thumbs up or down, especially if they are not man enough to put their name to their comments. :)

And I think the real world electorate is a better judge of things than guys who stay up all night posting online. But if I’m wrong the thumbs are in my favour anyway. :)

• The kop 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

interesting that you say you dont pay attention to the thumbs up / thumbs down element….and yet you took the time to go and count anyway…..and even funnier is the fact that you chose to ignore the many comments where sadly for you and your fine gael infested little brain where you lag way behind in the green thumbs department….but hey as you say sure who’s counting anyway…..
      and just to finish your right in saying the real world electorate are a better judge…..94% haven’t paid little Enda’s /////Phil’s household charge yet…..hmmm i wonder what that say’s……

• Tom Neville 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Just counted so I could contradict you. :)

• HELLO SPRUIKER 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

When is the next Priory Hall going to emerge?

• needaservice.ie 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Look disaster alround . Nama release properties to former residents of priory hall to replace existing. Mortgages restructured for new asset discounted by 20%
    Nama restructure mortgages with lenders on new assets and occupants re-enter new mortgage contracts at former rates to full term. Job done

• Tom Neville 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is the funniest post I have ever read. An annonymous guy on a quasi-homophobic rant on the internet…who knew?

The first sentence contains “bum boy”, “shit” & “anal suit” (whatever that is). Not articulate enough to express himself, he uses “shit eating” as an adjective to describe as smile (Salman Rushie must fear for next year’s Booker Prize) and then goes on in some weird way about having an underwear in the glovebox fetish.

To hide the fact that he is obviously homosexual (not that I have a problem if you are), he then states that he would prefer a picture of Lucinda Creighton. This shows just how shallow the man is, that he values a picture so highly.

To cap it all off, you sign off with “Your an idiot.”

Now that’s just a beautiful touch of irony. :):):)

• Ratzo 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well Tom, I’m going to try my very very best to think like you. I know i can do it if I try really really hard. In fact I am going to commence with that self appointed task directly.

Your absolutely right. Where would Ireland be without the censorship of outrageous expression. Yes, what we need is a rather large shovel with which to dig a more apathetic living space in which we can exist happily together with the many other righteous and moderate souls that shape our great nation. Contentedly Insulated, safe and secure from those who can do little more than lose their marbles at the maniacal mismanagement of our economy.

Sorry Tom, can’t do it. I have a splitting headache now. The milk is spilt and I can’t help crying like a baby.

• Tom Neville 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

BTW I’m fairly sure that David isn’t gay (not thay I have any problem or interest in someone’s sexuality) but I think it is interesting that this was your line of attack.

I think Freud would have a field day with you Ratzo.

:)

• Ratzo 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sorry, I take it all back, Dave is a lovely chap. I would like to take this opportunity to wish him well on his accession to the hallowed halls of civil service heaven. Ireland will no doubt appreciate the inclusion of yet another governmental apologist who is clearly willing to rage againist the injustice and inequity present here in the land of make believe.

I would like to take this opportunity also to thank those of you who took the time to share your thoughts and feelings on what is most likely the rant of a complete and utter nut job who is quite clearly in sore need of the services of a psychotherapist which sadly he simply cannot afford.

Its just that it is that much more affordable to go online and howl at the moon.

As an aside, you might be surprised to learn also that some of my very best friends are homosexual. In fact I’m having tea and biscuits with one now. We are going out later to buy curtain fabric and have our legs waxed.

• Ratzo 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Not sure where your coming from there Tom, you appear to be placing all your eggs in a basket marked politically correct. I myself was gay for a time, not happy gay, although I was happy being gay, I simply missed the female form and am no longer pitching from the rough. My gay friends understand this, however what they do not understand is how some individuals manage to reconcile the use of their identity, as a tool of some description used to subvert and undermine the critical appraisal of others who may or not resemble those most like themselves.

Its a bit of a conundrum really Tom. But look, we’re way off topic here, so why don’t we kiss and make up and agree to go our separate ways, Ireland needs you to focus on the task at hand, this being the unification of all under one creed or umbrella, or canopy, whatever, so as we might one day hold hands together and come in for the big win.

Add New Comment