TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Property tax will raise around €500m – Taoiseach

Enda Kenny has also indicated that the proposed graduated tax could be collected by local authorities instead of central government.

The Taoiseach with Brother Kevin Crowley from the Capuchin Day centre in Smithfield, Dublin yesterday.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE PROPOSED PROPERTY tax will raise around €500 million in annual revenue, three times more than the new household charge will bring in, the Taoiseach Enda Kenny has said.

Although the household charge has yet to come into effect plans are already in the works for the new property tax to replace the flat payment of €100 annually which will fall due in the New Year and is expected to raise €160 million for the Exchequer.

The rates of the new property tax will be determined by an expert group to begin work in January and expected to make recommendations within three to four months. Although it will be a graduated tax, the Irish Indepdendent reports that it will cost households €312.50 each on average.

It has been widely suggested the tax could be based on the recommendations of the Commission on Taxation report in 2009 where taxes would be based on the value of the property and range from €188 per household at the low end to €3,125 at the top of the scale.

“We have introduced a special group to report to the minister by the end of March on the structure of the property tax and how that will be based,” Kenny told RTÉ News, while also stating that it could be collected directly by local councils rather than central government.

He said the measure will aim to bring in funds “of the order of half a billion”.

Although the household charge was expected to be in place until 2014, the government has indicated the new property tax could come into effect as early as 2013.

The increase of €340 million in revenue that would bring would make up one-third of the government’s EU-IMF bailout target to increase tax intake by €1.1 billion for that year.

More: Expert group set to issue property tax recommendations within four months

Read next:

Comments (32 Comments)

• Despite what Kenny says, it won’t “generate” anything – it will transfer 500 mill from the pockets of us Irish into the pockets of unsecured bondholders.

• The day has arrived where we are living with the governments hands deep down in our pockets. They won’t stop until there’s a hole in them.

• Sick of this!

• I’m sure the Bond Holders will be delighted with that, nice little Christmas present for them.

• iBob101 23/12/11 #

Some taxes are on income (income tax), some are on transactions (stamp duty), some are on owning things (tv licence) and some are on wealth. This property tax sounds like a tax on wealth but it’s not. If it was a tax on wealth then someone in negative equity whose mortgage was more than their house is worth would have no ‘wealth’ or equity in their house so would not pay the tax. This property tax is just a tax on owning things. If my house is worth €500k and my mortgage is €500k too then I’ve no wealth in the house but I have to pay this annual tax.for some reason.

• That is a fair observation iBob.
      Just curious about one thing.
      Somebody gave you the thumbs down.
      Why !?
      Is there something they dont understand re your very much logical observation?
      I note this on many posts.

• I am beginning to wonder what kind of deranged mentality we are dealing with when it comes to Irish politicians.
    They present us with an austerity budget before christmas.
    They bestow a household charge on us.
    The now threaten that there is worse to come. PROPERTY TAX.
    What kind of gombeen cretin confronts a country with all this negativity before the festive season.
    Psychologically this must affect the christmas trade to an enormous extent.
    It shows the absence of any business sense.

• Time again to look abroad. Half my family gone already. This government are more evil than the last one. A sheep in wolves clothing. That picture of enda above is typical of their PR nonsense.

• The fact is that the government, like a highwayman, says to a man: ‘Your money, or your life.’ And many, if not most, taxes are paid under the compulsion of that threat. The government does not, indeed, waylay a man in a lonely place, spring upon him from the roadside, and, holding a pistol to his head, proceed to rifle his pockets. But the robbery is none the less a robbery on that account; and it is far more dastardly and shameful. The highwayman takes solely upon himself the responsibility, danger, and crime of his own act. He does not pretend that he has any rightful claim to your money, or that he intends to use it for your own benefit. He does not pretend to be anything but a robber. He has not acquired impudence enough to profess to be merely a ‘protector,’ and that he takes men’s money against their will, merely to enable him to ‘protect’ those infatuated travellers, who feel perfectly able to protect themselves, or do not appreciate his peculiar system of protection. He is too sensible a man to make such professions as these. Furthermore, having taken your money, he leaves you, as you wish him to do. He does not persist in following you on the road, against your will; assuming to be your rightful ‘sovereign,’ on account of the ‘protection’ he affords you.
    (The Noble Highwayman)

• It will actually be a couple of hundred shy of 500 million because I’m not payin it!!

• No matter how they try to implement this its gonna open a can of worms. Dublin v the rest; small house v big house; stamp duty already pain, negative equity, listed buildings, farmers with large houses extended to and handed down over generations but who are on low incomes…… they should have called it local authority service fees and left property out of it…. either way it may be a step too far. We are finally reaching a point where we are starting to shout out: enough is enough. I think this could be the breaking spoke that derails the government. FF to return on a promise to abolish property tax :)

• Il emmigrate before il pay the property tax

• I’ll pay it when pigs fly

• The Dublin tax. Where some in a 3 bedroom semi-d on an average wage will pay more than someone living in 7 bed mansion in the country.

• I’m in negative equity and with interest on my mortgage my home is a serious liability to me. Now I’m told I’m going to have to pay a wealth/property tax on this noose around my neck.

• When is this government going to start trying to create a few jobs to raise tax intake.

• Ryan you are right there and I wonder why????? Well do you not think it could because they own houses that will not be able to sell……. And others may complain but may not be able to relocate due to not having enough so I am sure a lot of us will still be here

• So where are the people threatening to emigrate going?

Australia has a property tax. The US has property tax. Canada had property tax. 25 of the 26 other EU member states have property tax.

So unless the aim is to emigrate to Malta, options are limited.

• Ciaro 23/12/11 #

Chris, property taxes in other countries are used to provide services. What services do the Councils provide?
      Public lighting in patches. What else? Fuck all!!

• Chris, lets face it – the people threatening to emigrate will still be here in a years time complaining.

• Indeed most countries do have a property tax. Think the main bone of contention is the fact that many people have payed quite a lot of money to the state already when the purchased their house in the form of stamp duty. For the state to then turn around and say here’s a new charge on your house is pretty annoying. Will those who paid stamp duty get a rebate on this new tax? Will they hell. Double taxation at its finest.

• Kerry, average of €100k in taxes on properties purchased during the boom.

• Dave 24/12/11 #

I’m actually starting to think this government want us to take to the streets and go nuts…..

• Yes Dave.
      I really feel that the time has come that the people of Ireland become vocal and proactive.
      Everyday a large amount of people ( young and old ) are forced to emigrate.
      With every single person less to contribute to the irish economy the financial burden falls on the ones who remain here.
      This trend will continue resulting in a grave and bleak outlook for Ireland.

Add New Comment