TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: ‘The macchiatos certainly came home to roost that day’

Middle-class people were insufferably smug during the boom – and they have only themselves to blame for the consequences, writes Conor McCabe.

Image: arfsb via Flickr

IT’S HARD NOT to indulge in a sense of Schadenfreude when it comes to the Irish middle classes. For years they accepted the myths that were told about them, and did so with a suffocating degree of smugness and entitlement. And whenever the facts begged to differ, they simply invented new ones.

On 31 May 2006 RTE broadcasted a ninety-minute documentary entitled That Was Then, This is Now, elements of which perfectly captured the zeitgeist. It consisted of nine personal reflections on Ireland and the changes the country underwent from 1986 to 2006. The contributors included John Waters, Áine Lawlor, Emily Hourican, Luke Clancy and Mary Robinson.

In a wonderful display of ignorance and self-deception, Waters laid out in nine short minutes his complete inability to understand the world around him, to see the forces which shape the world he inhabits. His contribution started with an older, wiser Waters looking at a clip of himself on The Late Late Show in 1986 – a clip where he’s telling the audience that we should repudiate the national debt. Older Waters rubbed his face and made wide with his eyes. ‘We were banjaxed’ he says. ‘We really were! Remarkable really. Twenty years. From banjaxed to [pause for effect]… bonanza.’

Waters tried to explain to the audience that, back then, we had emigration. The country was broke. We were governed in the interests of bankers. He’s like Rutger Hauer in Bladerunner, telling us how in 1986 he saw IMF attack-ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. He watched dole queues glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments are now lost in time, like tears in rain.

In the other contributions, Emily Hourican wanders around IMMA, bringing her child to the park, and wondering how she can get her hair done and have a career. Luke Clancy rambles on in his kitchen about how cool Ireland is now that it has contestants on Big Brother, while Áine Lawlor tries to explain to the under-25s just how different the country was in 1986. Emigration? Dole queues? Bankers calling the shots? That’s not us today. Things have changed. ‘And the big difference in twenty years’ she says, is money. ‘Lots of it now,’ she says. ‘Back then, not enough.’

For those willing to challenge this image of Ireland as an Enya video – mystical and bright and with no visible means of income – and to dig deep into the economic power dynamics of Irish society, into the actual economic class relations which envelop Irish society, the consequences were serious and dramatic.

‘Opulent self-deception’

In February 2005 the Centre for Public Inquiry, an independent body which set itself the task of investigating corruption in Irish society, was established in Dublin. In September of that year it published a report on the planning procedure surrounding the Trim Castle Hotel. This was quickly followed by a report on the Corrib pipeline.

However, in December the centre was fatally undermined by a series of attacks on its executive director, the investigative journalist Frank Connolly. These were led by the Irish Minister for Justice, Michael McDowell, who accused Connolly of association with the narco-terrorist organisation, FARC.

The accusations, read out in the Dáil under special privilege and so exempt from libel, were without foundation, but caused enough controversy as to lead the centre’s financier, Chuck Feeney, to withdraw funding from the centre.

In April 2006 the chairman of the Centre for Public Inquiry (CPI), retired High Court judge Fergus Flood, announced that the centre had ceased operations, that it would not be publishing any more reports. It had just completed an investigation into the Dublin Docklands Development Authority and Anglo Irish Bank, but was unable to publish its findings due to threats of libel and a lack of financial cover should such a case be brought against them.

The opulent self-deception of That Was Then and the cogent investigation of the Centre for Public Enquiry, shared one thing in common: both are putting forward a vision of contemporary Ireland, but only one, if you pardon the pun, was on the money.

So, where does this leave us with class and class analysis?

In The Pope’s Children, David McWilliams said that although 65% of us were middle class, 70% of us were ‘in the middle’, with ‘a very small of immensely rich individuals at one extreme and an all-too-big, but by international standards modest, underclass at the other.’

This idea of Ireland consisting of a huge middle class, with heroin addicts at the bottom and bankers at the top, is by far the dominant view in Irish mainstream debate – as is the idea that class is all about which category you are in.

McWilliams listed some of them: The Kells Angels, The Expectocracy, Low GI Jane, The New Venetians, RoboPaddy, The Autofashionistas, Breakfast Roll Man – at one point he even had a game on his website where you could find out which class you were simply by picking from a set of lifestyle statements.

It’s all about choice, no?

‘The macchiatos came home to roost’

McWilliams ended The Pope’s Children with a chapter on The New Elite, whom he called ‘the most educated Irish tribe ever’. ‘They have done very well in the past ten years,’ he said. ‘They have driven the economy and, more importantly, the image of this island. They are like nothing which has gone before. The HiCos [a mixture of Hibernian and Cosmopolitan] are the aristocracy of the Pope’s Children.’ This New Elite drank macchiatos and talked about ‘the simple beauty of the Cape Clear people’. They sipped smoothies before climbing Croagh Patrick, and insisted on local cheeses and real sausages, and watched the Lions in New Zealand. ‘Old certainties have been challenged,’ said McWilliams. ‘We can pick and choose what suits us. The overwhelmingly suffocating inferiority complex – the handmaiden of economic under-achievement – has lifted.’ He ended by telling us that the HiCo nomads – the emigrants, the top of the elite of the Pope’s Children – have returned to Ireland ‘with their own ideas of how things should be done and how the country should be run.’

How different it appeared in October 2008 when the actual power elites in Ireland pulled up and dumped €85billion of shit over the head of every single Hico, Breakfast Roll, RobboPaddy and New Venetian in the State, before driving away into the distance, laughing their asses off.

It’s hard not to think that the macchiatos most certainly came home to roost that day.

It is probably a waste of time telling the middle class of Ireland this – smugness and entitlement and all that – but class is not about choices or purchases or consumption or decking. It is about power. Who has it, and who doesn’t. The last two and a half years in Ireland have seen an exercise in brutal class power. And the middle classes, along with the working classes, have been royally shafted.

In terms of the Irish workforce, middle class occupations make up around 40 to 45% of the total. Working class occupations make up around 55 to 60%. Far from being a majority, the Irish middle class is the minority in Ireland. There are somewhere between 800,000 and 820,000 middle class jobs in Ireland today, out of a salaried population of about 1.8 million, so it’s a sizable proportion of the working population, but… it’s still the minority.

In 2005 David McWilliams wrote the text for a book entitled Saints and Sinners: Top Marketers Analyse Their Prospects in the New Ireland. The final chapter looked to what Ireland would be like in 2029. ‘The two biggest industries will be the “wellness” industry,’ he said, ‘which is likely to have overtaken the health industry, and the sex industry, all connected by instantaneous communications.’ He finished by stating that ‘credit will be abundant.’

It’s hard to know what the future may bring, but in all probability in 2029 we will still be paying for the bank guarantee in one form or another. Class is not about choice. It is about power. And the power of the middle classes is just that: middling.

Warren Buffett once said that there was a class war going on but only one side knows it – the side that is winning. The sooner that the middle classes realise that, and organise themselves, the better it will be for them in the long run. In the meantime, the assault on wages and work conditions will leave the Irish middle class with middle class job descriptions but working class wages.

If they don’t stand up for themselves, then they have nobody to blame but themselves. Voting for Fine Gael? Hoping some well-meaning Labour TDs will save you? It is one thing to get beaten in a fight, but to let someone push you around and con you with a speech about fairness… well, that’s on you.

Dr Conor McCabe is a historian who writes at Irish Left Review. His latest book, Sins of the Father: Tracing the Decisions That Shaped the Irish Economy, is published by History Press Ireland and is also available here. This article originally appeared at Politico.ie.

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• Hard to disagree with the general political argument, but it’s problematic because the author doesn’t define either “middle class” or “working class”. It’s a tricky distinction. Does being working class mean feeling physically tired in the evening instead of mentally tired? Reading the Sun instead of the Irish Times? Or what? However you define it, there were frugal and responsible middle class people in Ireland during the boom, as well as profligate working class people. The main problem in Ireland, as in the US and elsewhere, is the ability of the ueber-rich to pass off their interests as the interests of society as a whole. To some extent, that is the responsibility of people who allow themselves to be taken in, as well as of the “overclass” who deceive them.

• Already €2trillion has been put into European banks. This year in the Dail, Michael Noonan confirmed that a further €36bn would be paid to unguaranteed senior Bondholders (just under half of which are unsecured). There is €10bn of cuts and tax rises to come (mainly cuts). It makes no sense. Time to wake up and smell the coffee.

• Cpm 08/08/11 #

If you’re still experiencing schadenfreude at the misery of the tens of thoudands unemployed and broke people facing ruin Conor, there’s probably something wrong with you.

• Gary 08/08/11 #

Now that’s what I call a facepalm.

Forget the smugness of middle classes, this article is far smugger

• yes indeedy an eminent lefty telling it as it is…. horse bolted, shut stable doors i say…. our country is in the shit because we are A. greedy little bastards B. greedy big bastards and C. to stupid to know that we were living the highlife on borrowed cash, now I like two or three contributors here i also cut my cloth in the proper proportions and at the time was employed in the Dept Of Defence , our wages at the time were pretty average to the hours but hey it was also a vocation.( 12 punts for 24 hour duty, guards on 56 punts) i look around and see people struggling but from where I am standing its the same people that were struggling even during the fairytale, except there struggling even more…. there is still a mass of rich people in this cess pit and they will ride out the decade or so until we can at least get back into the markets proper…. tho one very valid point the author makes.. the powers to be DID know there was a shit storm coming and McDowell should never be allowed to contribute to irish society in the political arena again… this country is and will continue to be as corrupt as any South American country and our so called leaders have the integrity of gruel… they are ALL still receiving 4000 euro a month in unvouched expenses. They just cannot make a decision between them, 100 euro water charge is an absolute farce… it will not stop people wasting water, get the fecking meters in and pay for the amount you use…i could go on but my frappamochachocachino is getting cold.

• “It’s hard to know what the future may bring, but in all probability in 2029 we will still be paying for the bank guarantee in one form or another.”
    While not everyone has the time to crunch the numbers, this sort of economic illiteracy really is inexcusable from someone who, as a commenter earlier pointed out, smugly writes about the smugness of others. If you want to pass yourself off as being at a higher level of understanding than everyone else, you really should check the facts before you write.

Suppose we close our deficit in the next few years. That being the case, in 2020, the typical household will face a monthly income tax bill of €1,300. About €50 of this will be servicing bank debt – not insignificant certainly but smaller than the €100 spent by each household each month servicing 2007-2017 deficits, which are being run up because the Government is living beyond its means. It is also an order of magnitude smaller than the €800 that is paid over in income tax by each household each month on health, education and social welfare.

It is easy (and in large part justifiable) to be angry about the extra debt we have, due to the banks. However, to get distracted by that is to miss the bigger problem. The Government is living beyond its means and that is unsustainable.

• How does a government live beyond its means ?? Popular myth? It is within the power of government to live within or beyond its means , its a matter of political choices and policy implementation! Even now in the midst of economic depression the powewr still lay with the government to make choices, in the past they followed a particular policy approach, pro free market liberalization, worked for a while but was doomed to failure , which many pointed out at the time ! Then they made the choice to bail them out at the citizens expense, then they take the austerity model choice , its all about choices ! not about means!

• Your both wrong: truth is our government decides nothing anymore – it’s the Germans who call the shots. Our government is just a local authority now.

• “It’s hard to know what the future may bring, but in all probability in 2029 we will still be paying for the bank guarantee in ONE FORM OR ANOTHER. ”

I’m not sure if the venerable economist fully grasps the meaning here, it’s quite simple really, even if the banks have been paid off by 2029 it would have been paid for with money that could have been invested into schools, hospitals and infastructure, these are all long term investments, when you cut back on these it bites you in the ass further down the line. It really is quite rich having a practioner of the dismal science call anyone illiterate out of supposed ignorance of their profession!

• “you really should check the facts before you write.”

Haha! ronan lyons, you follow a call for facts, with this?

“Suppose we close our deficit in the next few years. That being the case,…”

You DO know the difference between a fact and a supposition, yes?

As for this:

“in 2020, the typical household will face a monthly income tax bill of €1,300.”

How the hell are you able to work out the monthly tax bill of a typical household in 2020?

do you have a time machine which allows you to collect ‘facts’ from the future?

what will be the rate of employment / unemployment in 2020? what will the composition of the workforce? What will be the median wage? What will be the spread of income – top decile / bottom decile? what will be the minimum wage?

• Ok Conor we heard you!

• The Irish obsession with class again. Its like a bloody Agatha Christie novel round this country… bunch of jumped up, pretentious twits trying to find out who the villain was.

I was employed during the boom in what would be described as middle class roles however, IMHO, I had to go to work everyday to pay the, vastly overinflated, bills ergo I was at that stage: working class. I didn’t jump on the ‘property ladder’ as I could see how precarious it was nor did I live beyond my means yet I have to do my ‘patriotic duty’ and get it in the f*cking neck along with the 120% mortgage, ‘have you seen my house & BMW’ brigade.

If you want to simplify it further: the vast majority of us are dogs pulling a sled, if you’re not the lead dog guess what’s right in front of your face? Doesn’t matter if you’re dog number 2 or 10..its just the same view. It’s the sled driver who has it easy.

• I really take issue with the phrase ‘we all partied in the good times’. No, not all of us did. In fact, the banks are the main institutions who partied. Partied like there was no tomorrow. The ECB should have acted like a central bank and cautioned the Irish banks for it. But they didn’t. So when it all fell down like a house of wet cards, it my fault, and your fault, for ‘partying’. Ha. You couldn’t make it up!

• I think Conor is in a class of his own, the one that suffers from a superiority complex. I’m off for frotty coffee right now.

• Now that’s all very neat and tidy. Except I don’t fit anywhere. I’ve never been flush enough to be smug, and I’ve worked all my life at what – according to the article – would be classified as middle-class type jobs. I think I’ve had a middle-class job description with working-class wages since forever. During the boom, I know a lot of the working-class wages were much higher than mine. So please get with the reality, and quit drawing out the old tired notions around class distinctions. As one clever comedian said, if you want to know what class you belong to, measure your television… it’s as good a way as any.

• This strikes me as a lazy piece of analysis. By your own figures there are around 800,000 ‘middle class jobs’ (whatever that means) in Ireland today yet to decide to generalise about those people by taking the comments of 9 people.
    I will not generalise – I will be specific. As one who you might describe as middle class who didn’t party particularly hard during the last ten years, at 50 I am facing an uncertain employment future, an increasing tax bill, an almost non existent pension (to which I have contributed over the past 20 years).
    Instead of picking on one so called class of society I realise that I and about 99% of the Irish people are in the same boat. We can fight amongst ourselves or we can work our way out of this mess, so that even if my generation doesn’t see prosperity again the next generation will.

• Comments on this article are a thumping validation of its thesis. Lots of people who can’t let go of the notion of a universal middle-class (excluding the brute underclass, of course, but sure what can you do for them?) who bridle when presented with the truth about where power lies in Ireland.

• Eloquent left whine is still a whine.

• Marx wrote in 1848 of the socialist bourgeois that ‘they desire the existing state of society, minus its revolutionary and disintegrating elements. They wish for a bourgeoisie without a proletariat’. But he was just a big paranoid Marxist meanie and a paid-up member of the people power brigade and we’re all middle class these days so don’t be insulting us.

• All i can say is that if you’re winding the reactionary ****wit brigade up as much as is evident in this thread of comments you know you are doing something right. Excellent article.

• What Mad Durdu said.

• Pretentious, toi ? An article with the words "schadenfreude" and "zeitgeist" in the first two paragraphs can’t be taken seriously. There are plenty of words in the English language without resorting to German. At least Del Boy used French !

• Yes, there are plenty of words in English for “Schadenfreude.” Seven of them in fact: “shameful enjoyment of the misfortunes of others.” That’s precisely the reason that people use the German word–because there isn’t a corresponding word in English. This is possibly due to the fact that English speakers would never indulge in the vice, or (more likely) would not admit it to themselves if they did so.

• Hard to see anyone actually saying the word schadenfreude an keeping a straight face. I will try it in my local Friday night, but only if the zeitgeist is right.

• The Journal.ie has an official policy of aggregating, not editorialising online content. Yet the readership are subjected to this sort of paranoid Marxist tripe, thinly wrapped up as “opinion.” You’d need a house the size of the moon to accommodate the brush strokes this guy is painting with. Sadly for him, he assumes that we all spent the boom years standing outside Café En Seine sipping overpriced caffeinated drinks while posing in the latest designer garb. We definitely became more materialistic during the boom years, but so what? We were also working some of the longest hours in Europe, and earning praise internationally because of it. Given the left’s utter irrelevance in the the modern world, I suppose there’s nothing it hates more than affluence and success.

• ‘The white-collar people slipped quietly into modern society. Whatever history they have had is a history without events; whatever common interests they have do not lead to unity; whatever future they have will not be of their own making. If they aspire at all it is to a middle course, at a time when no middle course is available, and hence to an illusory course in an imaginary society. Internally, they are split, fragmented; externally, they are dependent on larger forces. Even if they gained the will to act, their actions, being unorganized, would be less a movement than a tangle of unconnected contests. As a group, they do not threaten anyone; as individuals, they do not practice an independent way of life.’ – C. Wright Mills, 1951

Party on, dudes!

• Provocative article, but there is a tendency to blame one night – the dreadful night of the bank guarantee. The decision by the EU on Sunday 12th October, 2008 to leave no bank behind is of greater significance – â

• Barry 08/08/11 #

Yeah people like to wrap things into one event, one day, one party that caused all this.
      It really is lovely because it allows people to accept no level of personal responsibility as adults.

Of course everybody that bought a new car, house and went on all those crazy holidays is also part of the issue because they bought into the whole thing without actually thinking about could they afford stuff long term.

Years back I did buy a house but I cut the cloth to suit my means, so even though the bank would have given me 80k more and I could have gotten that much bigger house with the bigger garden etc,

I decided against it because I though long term and I saw that if ANYTHING changed I’d be fecked. As such I got a much smaller mortgage then the bank was more then willing to offer me.

I suppose though if I did go for the higher mortgage I could have just blamed FF or the EU or something so it would have been ok…….

• @Barry,
      We did the same thing. We were going to buy a house that was E120,000 more than the house we did buy. In fact, the bank actually told us we could get a mortgage for E270,000 more than we did get.
      We looked at the repayments, decided that if either of us was out of work due to illness or a downturn, we would not be afford the original house.
      We are not soothsayers or psycics. We just live in the real world.
      we weren’t influenced by any Government in our decision and didn’t look to any Government for advise. we made our own decision.
      As did the majority of people in Ireland during the boom. They made their own decisions.
      Now, they scramble to find someone to blame. Anyone. Rather than face up to the reality that they didn’t look ahead to the future.
      But sure It was the Government and banks that forced mortgages on people. This argument assumes that the majority of people in Ireland are sheep, unable to make their own decisions.
      I’m sorry, but we are an intelligent people, well able to make our own decisions.

• Yeah, to quote Brian Lenihan, “We all partied in the boom yrs”.

• That nonsense that we all partied during the boom years – total tripe. I think we had a couple of roads done in Donegal – wages hardly rose but prices certainly did.

• Only those who partied like to say that we all partied. Makes them feel less foolish.

• Not all of us partied and those who didn’t are perhaps best placed now to deal with all the financial changes coming down the track.

• Sadly, Fergal, those who didn’t will be on the sharp end of those financial changes.

• @Barry. Brian Lenihan said that. It was one of his smaller lies, but it was a lie all the same. The man had a pathological aversion to truth.

• The thing is this is a capitalist society, so therefore what happened always happens eventually, to a greater or lesser degree depending on how high everyone goes before the fall. And those at the bottom didn’t get very far up so therefore don’t have to fall much, but they are paying the most – as always they do. So the middle of the pile who thought they had reached the top and went bananas have got a shock, as they thought they were beyond it all. But this is always going to happen in a capitalist society – ie up and down. So unless you can get to the top before the fall, you are fucked like the rest of us.

• This crisis is a failure or politics, not capitalism. Many economies like the Nordic countries and Switzerland don’t experience large booms and busts because their governments actively reduce the severity of the business cycle. FF fueled our boom and it was always going to end in disaster. The solution is more democracy, not less capitalism.

• That is the smuggest pile of horse manure I have ever read, even if there are “facts” in there I completely discredit the whole thing based on the tone of it. Hard lefties are just as dodgy and insane as hard right wingers. This is proof!

• The Rich rode the working class of Ireland. FACT.
    And we will be paying for it for YEARS to come. FACT.
    Macchiato is an expensive Coffee. FACT.
    The article is accurate.
    thank you.

• Ruairi 08/08/11 #

Nice article, but I’m always a bit bewildered by any discussion of ‘middle-classes’ and the like. Its just a label, it’s not a real tangible thing, and labels are inherently subjective. I am by all accounts ‘middle-class’, but my dad was by most descriptions ‘working-class’. But is he now middle-class? When did the change happen?

Putting humanity with all its complexities into neat-boxes which we can then use to berate them helps no one. The problem is when we mistake labels and words for real things.

A simpler definition might be, there are people, and there are people with power. And 99% of us don’t have power.

• ‘A simpler definition might be, there are people, and there are people with power. And 99% of us don’t have power.’

That’s actually the point Conor is making. That just because you see yourself a middle class doesn’t mean that you are, or that you have power to influence decisions taken by the elite.

I prefer a more traditional class analysis that defines people as working class if they are employees (under than senior management or very highly paid professionals in directional roles), but it’s difficult to use the term working class anymore because people see class in cultural terms, consumption categories, whether they are engaged in manual or mental labour, and education levels, rather than their position in relation to the power structure i.e. whether they have control over the production or service process ,or not. That would leave at least 90% of the population as working class because they must sell their labour to survive, which is the classic Marxist definition.

I also think a lot of people have misunderstood the article. It doesn’t blame ‘one night’ for our troubles and ini fact ties it into power within Irish society going back decades which allowed the bank guarantee to happen.

Ronan Lyons’ statistics take an incredibly narrow view of the effects of the banking/property collapse. The reason we have a fiscal deficit is because of the property crash which destoyed our unsustainable property-dependent tax base and caused income tax to rocket and social welfare payments to plumment due to losses of jobs in the construction sector, which had a knock on effect on other areas of the economy. That’s also why the costs of borrowing grew which affect all the money we borrow, not just money to bail out the banks.

• Ruairi 08/08/11 #

“I prefer a more traditional class analysis that defines people as working class if they are employees (under than senior management or very highly paid professionals in directional roles), but it’s difficult to use the term working class anymore because people see class in cultural terms, ”

I definitely agree with this, and I agree with the overall point Conor made too. I liked the article, I just find the whole debate framed within these terms is not helping over all (look at the back and forth in the comments here) To take your quote for example, this makes sense, but as these labels are subjective and ill-defined, when we use them, we end up talking about labels and not the real problems.

• You don’t think the reason that people talk about labels is not because class isn’t real, but rather that supporters of neo-liberalism like to pretend it isn’t, or that it doesn’t matter, because it suits their ideology? It’s obfuscation, pure and simply.

• Great article Conor. Don’t mind the stupid begrudgers – they’re still living with their over extended middle class delusion.

They feel so stupid (because they were) and they don’t like being reminded of it.

Keep up the great work.

(and to all the red thumbers – lets see your articles)

• Gary 08/08/11 #

I think you’ve managed to miss everyone’s point entirely.

How did you manage to tie peoples opinions to your statement, “They feel so stupid (because they were) and they don’t like being reminded of it.”. Nothing anyone said hints at this at all.

• It’s hilarious how all the people power brigade who say all men should be equal, are actually the ones who invent these classes and classify people. I would consider myself middle class by the somewhat vague description of it, yet, I never partied, I never was smug, I never had multiple credit cards, I never indebted myself etc etc etc, so if people like Conor and yourself stopped using broad strokes, the people of this country would be much better served than when you are jumping on some sort of high horse, bandwagon brigade!

• I like the notion that it was “the people power brigade” who invented the notions of class. Perhaps you’ve heard of the aristocracy, or privileged classes of priests, or hereditary chieftains in ancient tribes. Or any other of the myriad examples from human history across the globe that demonstrate that classes were not made up when Marx and Engels wrote the Communist Manifesto.

But sure, you don’t recognise yourself in these descriptions, therefore they can have no objective validity. Yeah,

• Oh lordie, where do I start with that comment. If you took the time to read my comment you actually have proved it yet again. What I said was no one else outside of the hard left people talk about classes. No one! For a group that claim to be sensitive to peoples problems and be all for the people and not the profit, you seem to take an awful lot of pleasure in trying to poke fun at a group of people (what you would call the middle classes) who were not responsible for any of the crap that has hit the fan, and have done nothing but worked in the so called “boom” and continue to work in this train wreck we find ourselves in. So excuse me if I poke fun back at a bunch of hypocritical, smug, deluded gobshites whose ideals would have more clout in an Anne and Barry book than in reality!

• That was for @garabaldi!

• I did read your comment

“It’s hilarious how all the people power brigade who say all men should be equal, are actually the ones who invent these classes and classify people.”

That’s a clear statement that classes were the invention of the people from the left who analyse society in class terms. I simply pointed out that classes have a much, much longer history than that. Your statement quoted above is patently not the same as what you said subsequently

” What I said was no one else outside of the hard left people talk about classes. No one! ”

And perhaps you’ve heard of people like sociologists, or marketing people who classify society. Or maybe, perhaps, people liek Colm McCarthy, or Aengus Fanning or any of the other right-wing commentators who constantly go on about the middle classes.

• Middle class jobs with working class wages? I’m not sure I see that one. And since there’s no figures in this article to back up these claims, it’s impossible for me to see anything.

If the middle class are on low wages, then what are the working classes on? Last time I checked we had one of the highest minimum wages in Europe. It’s hardly that bad.

The real problem is not the plight of those who are in work, it’s the plight of those who are OUT of work.

As for the FG/Labour co-alition, it seems to be the best middle class option out there. We know where FF’s loyalties lie and all the other looney-left parties are only concerned with taxing the middle classes to give it to the working classes. I’m not against wealth distribution, but socialism ain’t the answer.

• Having earned good money at the start of the Noughties, we soon realized that although we were working harder than ever, fees and margins were being squeezed and the quality jobs we would normally expect to see coming our way were being hoovered up by 100-200 person practices by 2007.

We were taking home less than a nurse when the costs of running the business was taken into account.
      On top of that prices were going crazy, with the cost of a meat and two veg lunch in one pub doubling from 2003 to 2007.

Smugness was not an emotion I saw much of in the Tiger – I saw well founded fear that it was all going to end that started with the “property market correction” in late 2001 and continued until it eventually did crash in 2008 and took everything down with it.

Now we see a double dip recession and the writer of this opinion piece rubbing people’s noses in it.
      Far from being provocative, I find this article poorly researched, condescending and in bad taste.

Did someone pay him to write this?

• But who are the middle class? Perhaps the public sector workers with notions til the government cut their wages and levied their pensions!, Perhaps the “middle management” who thought they were important til they were thrown on the dole heap with the rest of the “workers”, Perhaps the knobs who voted FF and PD and saw nothing negative in neo-liberalism, til negative equity bite em on the ass! Perhaps the mouths in RTE and the rest in the media who thought the sun shone out the ass of people like Sean Quinn and Sean Fitzpatrick et al, truth is anyone who works for a living is whether they like it or not “working class” , the last few years has proven that beyond doubt!

• Sorry a bit shocked

apparently I’m working class!!!! <:-o

I would have assumed anyone working for a salary like public servants, private sector salaried workers were middle class.

Add New Comment