Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Column: Occupying NAMA buildings isn’t just a gesture – it’s essential research

Gardaí at the building on Great Strand Street, Dublin on Saturday
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

HOW MANY SPECULATORS does it take to change a light bulb? The answer is none. They still think the broken one works.

The business model of asset price speculation – the model that broke the world – informs the National Assets Management Agency (NAMA), and it is in opposition to it that 70 people occupied a building on Great Strand Street in Dublin last Saturday.

The group that organised the event is called Unlock NAMA, and it has set itself three main tasks: to make NAMA properties available for social and community use; to publish full addresses and details on all properties under NAMA; and to publish full details on all sales of NAMA assets.

The first objective happens to be the stated objective of NAMA as well.

The legislation which created the body states quite clearly that NAMA is required “to contribute to the social and economic development of the State.” The chairman of NAMA, Mr Brendan McDonagh, told the Dáil Public Accounts Committee in October 2011 that not only must NAMA meet certain financial objectives, it “must also meet certain social objectives” as well.

As for the details of the addresses of NAMA properties and sales, well, these are hardly contentious issues, are they?

But such is the legislation which surrounds NAMA that Unlock NAMA has to engage in acts of civil disobedience simply to uncover the paper trail. The tactic appeared to work last Saturday when the receiver was forced to come forward, and told the guards to remove the activists from the building.

Unlock NAMA left the building, but it left with a name. One small piece of the NAMA jigsaw, tucked safely in its pocket.

‘One enforced property down, 849 to go’

We know why NAMA is so reluctant to divulge details surrounding title ownership and sales. It is because a sizeable proportion of the loans in NAMA have incomplete paperwork surrounding them, and in some cases there is simply no paperwork at all. We know all of this because in its 2010 annual report NAMA told us that this was the case.

These dubious loans, for which the State paid €16.1 billion (56 per cent of NAMA debt), lie at the heart of NAMA, along with an undisclosed amount of derivative contracts. But with NAMA exempt from the Freedom of Information act, and with normal channels of research and disclosure blocked to the public, other ways of finding out the information are necessary.

The occupation last Saturday by Unlock NAMA was not only a move towards a more viable and creative city, it was an act of discovery at what actually lies within NAMA.

It’s going to be a long process, but it’s probably fair to say that NAMA will run out of names before the activists run out of buildings. One enforced property down, 849 to go. All to follow the paper trail, the opaque journey of €32 billion of taxpayers’ money, into the world of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings.

I gave a talk at the event on Saturday, and I finished it with a quote from the gospel of St. Mark: “They shall lay their hands on the sick, and they shall recover.”

The words had come into my head earlier that day as I watched the activists tidy the rooms, clean the floors, and wash the windows of a building which had been given the equivalent of tuberculosis by its owners over the years.

In the midst of all the destruction which has enveloped this world, where speculation drowns out viable business models of creation and reproduction, here were ordinary people who were laying their hands upon a sick building, and were doing so not in order to flip it for a buck, but in order to make it well again. Such beauty in action is rare these days. It is deserving of our respect.

Dr Conor McCabe is a historian and author of Sins of the Father: Tracing the Decisions that Shaped the Irish Economy, published by History Press Ireland.

In pictures: Unlock NAMA occupation of building in Dublin city centre>

More: ‘Unlock NAMA’ building occupation ended by gardaí>

Read Next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• damien chaney 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“they have the plant but we have the power”- Lisa simpson
    Great work

• John Murphy 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So where’s the name? Let’s have it.

• Norman Hunter 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why is NAMA so secretive?also why are they exempt fromthe FOI act anyone know?

• Dermot Purcell 30/01/12 #
      Report this comment

the reason its so secretive is you cant rob and pillage and leave a paper trail

• Norman Hunter 30/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Dermot thanks for the answer but it was a serious question.I’m sure the answer you gave would not be seen to be an official explaination.

• John Murphy 30/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Norman.
      NAMA does not consider itself to be a public body and it’s incorporation under the legislation as a combination of a Master ‘Special Propose Vehicle’ (SPV) 51%- National Asset Management Ltd and a limited holding company –
      National Asset Management Agency Ltd 49% can allow it operate outside the FOI Act.
      There have been many calls for it to be included like for instance from the Ombudsman Emily O’Reilly and Labour TD Joe Costello no less, and I believe The National Union of Journalists.
      The loans were bought with a E51m contribution from the included banks towards the subscribed capital of E100m with the rest made up of Government Bonds to acquire 77Bn worth of dodgy debt.
      Basically the whole thing is wrapped in such legal/legislative conundrum that their is no oversight or accountability to my mind.

• Eoghan McMahon 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Nice article, interesting way of looking at these kinds of occupations. In Cork they managed to force a dissolved company, Padlake Ltd, to re-register to force them out. So now they’ll have to either start paying back their loans again, or go for insolvency I’d imagine. Either way, the public wins in terms of forcing light on the issue.

• Dave 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

We own these buildings anyway, so I dont see any problem!

• Donal Murray 30/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Poor Dave……

he thinks we “own” these buildings…. coz NAMA has bought the loan(s) from whatever Bank(s) extended credit to the “developer(s)”…..at Long Term Economic Value…..measured in Nov. 2009

oh dear…..oh dear….oh dear!!!!

• John Murphy 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Combined loan book at time of being taken by NAMA – 77Bn
      Current estimated market value of assets – 47Bn
      Only one in four loans in NAMA are performing…

• Neil McRedmond 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@ donal very true.It brings into question the apparant democracy were supposed to be living in.Politicians are only there to give you the feeling or idea that you have rights & free speech. Well YOU don’t..YOU & i are owned by corporate businessmen,they own US

• Neil McRedmond 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@ Dave very true..there is obvious corruption involved.I’m guessing there’s politicians involved also that’s why it’s not accessible to the public..Any other reasons??? With regards “we own them” ideology,that’s as daft as Leo varadkar! Politicians are there to give US the impression we live in a Democracy and that we have the right to free speech,we don’t have either.YOU & I are owned by corporate elite & wealthy powerful buisnessmen,when you start to realize this it becomes much clearer.I’m not a conspiracy beatbox just a plain auld bogman.the evidence is there,do yourself a favor & do a bit of research,what you will find is very interesting,it will unlock your answers!!

I think this occupy NAMA has alot of big boys running shit scared calling on there contacts to change laws quickly to there interests.just watch for it.

Well done occupy NAMA.hope ye get to the othe 849…:-)

• Mark Rodgers 30/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Act of civil disobedience!

You don’t need to be a product of the Kings Inn to know that this description is grossly inaccurate of the illegal occupation over the weekend of private property by an unelected mob who had to be removed by the Gardai.
    In the interest of dealing in facts the author should be corrected on the inaccurate statement that the Guards were acting on the instruction of the liquidator of the business concerned. The Gardai are upholding the law and nothing more.
    When groups of people decide that law breaking is perfectly acceptable for them because they hold some grievance over Government policy or Acts of our Parliament then we need to worry that their next foray might turn much more ugly.

• Leon O Haodhagain 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

So, if a laws passed it should be obeyed no matter how idiotic or wrong it is? Ever hear of the Law for the Restoration of the Professional Civil Service? It was passed in Germany in the 30′s to stop Jews from becoming civil servants. Sounds pretty wrong but hey……we wouldn’t wanna break the law now would we?

• John Murphy 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Nor does one have to be a ‘product’ of the King’s Inns to understand that for Gardai to remove anyone from private property where a sit in/protest occurs normally requires a court injunction acquired by the registered owner of the property. The Gardai are not the arbitrators of ownership or title and can only uphold the law in ensuring orderly conduct between the parties in dispute. As the article makes clear once an individual came forward to claim (not prove) title the occupants peacefully left and the Gardai secured the premises.

• Alan Devlin 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

So instead, you propose…..what exactly?

Indeed the Gardaí are upholding the law but I think perhaps that people are having a problem with the law serving the interests of multinational multimillionaires at the expense of the people of this country.

I’m curious Mark, if one of these “Acts of our Parliament” which you so revere started impinging on your life, would you just keep your head down and tip your cap? Or would you get angry, and try and do whatever you could to make your voice heard?

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Hahaha, you have the gall to talk about facts when yesterday you were blatantly making stuff up to suit your agenda.. Trying to accuse me of being a propaganda merchant for the protestors by deliberately misquoting me, and saying they were committing larceny because you saw a kettle and assumed they were using mains electricity (never considered there’s such a thing as a generator!!)

Now you start making stuff up about hypothetical future forays and the level of violence you anticipate based on zero evidence whatsoever..

You are a scream!!

• Mark Rodgers 31/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What an asinine comment to justify the misuse of limited public resources and the forceful illegal entry of private property by a gang of people who know better than everybody else. Next you guys will be suggesting that this behavior is for our own good as somehow we don’t understand the evil being caused by our elected democracy.
    When the participants have to cool their heels in an over crowded cell in Mountjoy which reeks of stale sweat and fear for stupidity then they might realize that the laws of our society have to be respected.
    To equate the actions of Dail Eireann to those of the Third Reich is a clear reflection of your intellectual immaturity. The suggestion also conveys an appalling slur on the victims of Nazi Germany and all of our elected parliamentarians.

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Oh for goodness sake Mark..
      Did you not learn your lesson about logical fallacies over the weekend?

Your choice to describe the protestors as a “mob” is called misleading vividness. It was a PEACEFUL protest, no arrests were made, and the protestors moved on without incident otherwise it would have been reported. “Mob” is a word with negative connotations, it is a deliberate attempt by you to create bias.

Please, leave your assumptions at the door and focus upon the FACTS.

And as for the “it’s the law so we must obey it”, that too is a fallacy. Not all laws are just. The laws that precluded women and black people from equal rights were not just and were overturned after opposition was raised to them.

These guys are drawing attention to the fact that NAMA is failing in its own stated purpose, as referenced in the article – to provide properties for community and social purposes.

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Oops, posted in wrong place, this was referring to the comment below..

Report this comment

John I do believe that you are attempting to represent what was an illegal act as something protected by law. The entry of this building by a large group was clearly behavior likely to disturb and potentially lead to a breach of the peace.
    While I am unaware as to the actual means of entry itself it could reasonable be interpreted in law that the manner rather than the method was indicative of a forced access. Should this be the case then the act itself is criminal in nature and not civil as you suggest.
    My understanding is that the Gardai cleared the building and the Mob (sic) are now trying to suggest that they left voluntarily.
    Mob rule John in any society where people act with a complete disregard for societal norms is something to fear and also be stopped in its tracks. Have we not had enough of that in this country over the years.
    Which Laws or Statutes do you like John and which ones do you believe can be broken. Maybe we will let everyone who reads the Journal have their choice on a daily basis!
    We could even have a poll on the issue!

• Mark Malone 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

First answer John, in the style you argue yourself

Call me part of a “mob”? I call you part of the collaborating class that has allowed injustice to flourish since the inception of the state. That layer of people who put obedience to abusers and cheats and lairs as prefereable to actually giving a fuck about what democracy and solidarity and justice mean for ourselves.

As regards social norms. For the most part the law as a whole does shape social norms. Its extreme social engineering for sure but it works. And what does it do? It elevates greed over care, it criminalises poverty and and polices the poor and makes no attempts to redress the insitutional structures of inequality and injustices.

It was legal to for the state to use women slaves for its washing up to themid 1990′s
      It was legal for men to rape women they where married to for most of the history of this state
      It was legal for people to collect a reward for the state for holding against their will the very children who bravely tried to escape from institutions that abused then. Hold on to the time the law, the garda turned up to lock them up again for being poor
      It is legal for the IFSC to be a hax haven, a massive money landering operation when people live in extreme poverty less that 500m away

There are always people like you who use the terms “mob” for those of us who stand up for ourselves. It was people like you who said the same things when people like me where refused work, refused homes and refused equal status in my society simply because i was borne a Catholic.

Its high time people likeyourself get labelled exactly what you are. Collaborators of injustice.
      “Civil disobedience is not our problem. Our problem is civil obedience. Our problem is that people all over the world have obeyed the dictates of leaders…and millions have been killed because of this obedience…Our problem is that people are obedient allover the world in the face of poverty and starvation and stupidity, and war, and cruelty. Our problem is that people are obedient while the jails are full of petty thieves… (and) the grand thieves are running the country. That’s our problem.”
      ― Howard Zinn

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Nicely Put Mark.. This morons been making quite a lot of biased assumptions about yourself and the other people in attendance over the weekend..

Tell me, was there swathes of people trying to force their way in as Mark R assumes?

Do you know if someone checked the safety of the access routes and space to be used before the meeting and members of the public were due to arrive (the article above mentions tidying and cleaning windows) to avoid the crazy situation where a large crowd falls over one slipped woman and they all plummet to their deaths as Mark R tried to insinuate?

Were they a “mob” (note the definition of mob: “Noun: A large crowd of people, esp. one that is disorderly and intent on causing trouble or violence.”, or was it a peaceful protest that passed off without incident as the articles and photos here on the Journal suggest?

It would be nice to hear the FACTS, from someone who was there, rather than these crazed notions that our resident shill has been spewing :)

• John Murphy 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Mark.
      Sorry I took such time to get back to you in relation to your reply to me. It was getting late.
      I don’t understand your conclusion that this event was ‘an illegal act’ which you claim to believe I’m defending. I am not.
      There was no accusation made by the Gardai or the claimant owner that any law was broken and no report was made of illegal breaking and entry or of charges forthcoming. If you can show otherwise I will happily agree with your sentiments.
      My understanding from reports and conversations is that once an individual turned up to claim (not prove) title the protesters were happy to accept that and vacated the premises in a peaceful and orderly manner. They did not obstruct the Gardai or dispute the claims of this individual.
      Your reference to ‘mob rule’ in this case is to my mind disingenuous, although your reference to past events does remind me of similar protests of occupation on state owned property which were carried out in defense of ,for example, the Viking remains at Wood Quay or the destruction of Georgian Dublin at the ESB Head Office on Fitzwilliam St. Of course it is interesting to note that the above protests were also aimed at the institutions of the state that you claim to hold in such high regard and it would be useful to ponder for a moment what our capital city would be like if not for the efforts of protesters such as these or, even more to the point, what it would be like if we followed your example on these matters.

• John Murphy 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Mark Malone.
      FGS Mark. Get the names right!

• Neil McRedmond 31/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Mark. U have a point..but,when is enough enough?? When most laws favor the people that have imposed huge losses of negative equity suffered by nama/tax payer and the owners names have to be kept quiet.why should that hold up?that is not good enough I think. Why should the law favor them? I’m lookin at a 50% negative equity,no bank or state body will help me,but they will help the big boys!.and I have to look down the barrel of that gun for 35 years because the government never imposed banking regulations to protect it’s people against non regulated mortgages & greedy bankers and morgage sellers getting huge bones to nail us hard and fast.they knew it was unsustainable,why did they carry on? I’ll tell u why,GREED..this was all a big plan mate by Goldman sack and others alike..Paul haufer for example,why “could” they sell their stock on a saturday when stock markets are closed for I think $8.16 a share?come Monday morning stock markets crashed with shares down to just over a buck..the big banks in USA failed,pushing Europe into recession,sooo bondholders could sell there debt to be bough by umbrella company’s for a quarter of the price forcing governments to borrow massively against state assets..of course country’s can’t pay back,so the big corporate elite move in to take over country’s state assets,get laws changed to suit themselves and hey presto the people get fucked.now I think you sound like ur involved somehow regarding ur statement,clearly not affected by this corruption.so u need to get off ur fox hunting stallion and go look for a piebald pony coz you’ll be facing cuts too!
    Don’t forget,all occupy Nama want is the names of the so called owners of these empty buildings..you obviously think that is asking to much??maybe a move to Russia or Nigeria would suit your personal interests better.

Report this comment

Mark,as for your comment of “misuse of public resources” it was on the radio today about a girl who had her car broken into,handbag taken etc,she had an iPhone so she called the local ‘”public resources” to tell where the phone was showing up,she asked for an email address so she could forward GPS links etc,they are not allowed email,she called 2 more local offices,only to be told the same story.they replied telling her to fax it in!! Are an garda siochana still operating with 1990′s technology?? Now that’s more like a “misuse of public resources” wouldn’t you agree?

Report this comment

Actually Neil they probably are because their resources are used up removing mob type law breakers from causing damage to private locked property!

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Or maybe their resources are used up doing speed checks, insurance checks, attending assaults, or any other crime which happens with far more frequency..

Report this comment

Neil the latter part of your intellectual contribution sounded like a threat.
    When you obtain the location of all these properties that have been taken into State ownership are you then going to proceed with the threat to take over many of them for your homeless charities etc.?
    You do realize that the State cannot allow that to happen and sooner rather than later there will be a confrontation where someone will be injured and may die.
    This frightening scenario is being caused by misguided dreamers who think they have all the questions and every single one of the answers.
    I am beginning to also see a pattern her and frequently I recognize faces and therefore it is only a matter of time before your personal lives are fully known. Do you wish to pay that price?

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Seriously man do you even think about what you are saying?
      “sooner rather than later there will be a confrontation where someone will be injured and may die.”
      The classic slippery slope fallacy, implying dire consequences with no evidence to support the claim.
      “This frightening scenario is being caused by misguided dreamers” again, twisting words and placing assumptions, you were at this yesterday too.. What’s frightening besides your twisted interpretation?
      “I am beginning to also see a pattern her and frequently I recognize faces and therefore it is only a matter of time before your personal lives are fully known. Do you wish to pay that price?” back to the slippery slope fallacy with a false dilemma thrown on top.

Seriously dude.. Your logic is twisted..

Report this comment

No mark it wasn’t a treat.how could you take a treat from that? Your taking it out of context! “I presume your talking about the cuts you will face also or the horse you’ll have to change. That simply means you’ll be changing your merc for a fiat punto just like the rest of your countrymen. Don’t get so cranky,you seem to be taking it very personal which in my book suggests your deeper in this shit than your letting on. As in the later part of your
      Comment sounds like a personal treat to me directly,that is my name and I have noting to fear from you or any other party.come find me if you so choose,you might need to call on your public resources though,don’t email them whatever you do!

Report this comment

By the way,I’m not in these shitty premises that the owners names are protected.hey,if it takes someone of the street for a night out of that cold weather,well that’s fine in my book..you seen to have lost your humanity along your capitalistic road…..you never answered my question,why are the names on the Nama list keep quiet??????

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Dont worry Neil he tried very hard to insinuate that my support for the protest implied presence or organisational links.. Now he’s trying it on you..

He’s clutching at straws and has no idea when he has been put in his place. You won’t get an answer from him, just a ton of red herrings and perhaps another more direct personal attack.. The guys (I assume by the name “Mark Rodgers” that it is indeed male, where’s Reada when you need her?) obviously an idiot – or a politician..

Report this comment

Seventy people forced their way into a somewhat derelict building………Shanti…with a name like that you must have a couple of fired up synapses that can help you with the bigger picture?
    Someone slips on a stair and another falls over the body and four crash through the banisters all the way to the ground floor. The neck of one person is lying at an odd angle to her face……..?
    You don’t need to have violence but you can put it in if you want. All this suits the organizers of the group. In fact they get off on stuff like that. It gives them bold headlines and they start to believe their own rhetoric. Invincible.
    Now you tell me with this Mob…….how many days before this happens. Go and wash your hands!

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

1. What are you implying about the name Shanti?

2. “Someone slips on a stair and another falls over the body and four crash through the banisters all the way to the ground floor. The neck of one person is lying at an odd angle to her face……..?”
      More slippery slope fallacies man, there’s no reason to assume there is a large group flooding into the building simultaneously, your scenario implies a rush comparable to an escape from a fire, if you would care to read the article above, it is implied that the organisers would arrive ahead of time to clean and set up, one would hope that they check out any unsafe areas and divert people away from them before the meeting is due to start..

3. “You don’t need to have violence but you can put it in if you want. All this suits the organizers of the group. In fact they get off on stuff like that. It gives them bold headlines and they start to believe their own rhetoric. Invincible.”
      Straw man or wild goose chase – who are you to say that the organisers “get off” on anything? You are offering a characatured version of hypothesised ideals based upon your assumptions rather than fact.

4. “Now you tell me with this Mob…….how many days before this happens. Go and wash your hands!”
      Again with the weasel words, using “mob” to infer negative connotations upon the group, and the false dilemma that your slippery slope fallacy holds any logical reasoning.

5. The implication that I must wash my hands, are you trying to assert that I am one of the protestors again Mark? Because you failed on that one yesterday and had no answer for me when challenged. Just as you were unable to answer any questions posed to you about your illogical ramblings.

You are cordially invited to make any sense whatsoever, please leave the fallacies at the designated disposal unit before entry..

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It appears you are innumerate too.. In the article yesterday it stated that 50 people attended, these people did not force their way in. They would have been seperate to the organisers of whom we do not know the number nor how many it took to gain entry.
      Your statement implies that a group of 70 people forced their way in, through what appears to be one door.. That must have been some crush! It’s a wonder no one was hurt!

Report this comment

Well said shanti..he has tunnel vision..sounds like a politician or a judge of some kind that is wanting to protect his rich buddies that are part of a corrup system that will do anything to keep public opinion down.it’s the system that has contributed to ruining our country for over 90 years.

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Exactly Neil. I handed his ass to him on a platter on the article about the Gards moving the protestors on that’s linked above in the article. And he didn’t know when to stop, he ended up reducing himself to the level of a child who has lost the argument and believes “you’re a poo poo head” will win it for him..

The amount of sheer fallacy and deliberate false rhetoric he spews does indicate a deeper involvement with elements who resent those who do their patriotic duty and stand up to injustice. One of my first questions to him was “are you sure you’re not one of our ministers”, he sure talks like a politician.. Or perhaps he is one of the developers being protected by NAMAs secrecy? He seems incapable of answering a direct question, and is either spewing fallacies because of a lack of education and a hopelessly illogical mind, or purposefully to attempt to create bias.
      Sadly, there is no evidence to back up any of these notions besides his behaviour and choice of words.. He says he’s a pensioner (and was very interested in his opponents employment – from the interest of “morality” whatever the hell that was supposed to mean..) I don’t really believe him, nor do I actually believe his name is Mark Rodgers.

Report this comment

Ooh shanti…I feel a more united public is coming..he has definatley got some kind of connection to either Nama,politics or corporate ties..hey actually aren’t they all inter mingled anyway?? Hehe!! I tell ya shanti I’ll die fighting on my feet before I beg on my knees before these corrupt w*****s..I think there era is coming to an end.They ought to head to there Swiss banks with a connecting flight to the cayman islands:-)

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well.. Something has got to give, I can’t claim to have any knowledge on future events, more a gut instinct that something big is on its way..
      We certainly live in interesting times.. I just hope its not in the Discworld sense!!

Report this comment

The more they utter the more they say!

• Shanti Om 31/01/12 #
      Report this comment

For once I will agree with you Mark.
      Between your constant deflections, red herrings, slippery slopes, weasel words, ad hominems, guilt by association, spotlight fallacies, refusal to answer ANY question..

Which sorts of roles in society are famous for this sort of rhetoric?

• Report this comment

I think I will change my Name

• Report this comment

Stalin , Hitler and Mau made Lovely so called laws to keep the owners of their countries down just like today. “When injustice becomes law, rebellion becomes duty”? and if you disagree you are part of the problem. In Ireland like in many countries there are a lot of sucker uppers who would do anything to climb the social ladder and walk on the heads of the real owners of the land just because they are being paid off . there is only one law “The Law Of The Land” do no harm . when you support criminals and corruption you are acting unlawfully in the same way they are. When you are standing up for what is right you are the opposite. In Ireland today the working people are paying the wages and bonuses of failed ,useless bankers and Politicians and then being demonized by uneducated fools when they decide to do something about such tyranny. The so called system (which is only in place to benefit a few criminals and their minions) is rotten to the core in this country and someone needs to fix that

• kat fitz 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

i think it was purposely set up this way using commercial sensitivity to allow them to operate without true accountability to the citizens who are bankrolling yet another scam and devise to manipulate the property market.

• Kevin Barrington 31/03/12 #
    Report this comment

Went along to the Unlock Nama meeting last night and this is a freeform review of the gig.

I was criticising Conor McCabe on Vincent Browne for not presenting a compelling alternative to our dysfunctional system.
    And Jesus it’s probably just as well he did not.
    Cos if it sounded anything like the one he gave tonight he would have terminated the possibility of any empathy with the cause he espouses.
    But tonight we got it and sadly the vision sounded way too like division to me.
    Not the predictable Judaen People’s Liberation front variety – although boy did we have that – but the sort of division that the Pope lacks.
    War!
    Take to the tanks and take em out.
    Seriously we had a rabble rousing call to arms!

McCabe rightly pointed out that much of the cancer that blights our society is actually legal.
    Ok it’s not illegal but is it right?
    According to Conor it doesn’t matter.
    They are right.
    We too are right.
    Who are ‘they’ and who are ‘we’.
    Sadly we were back to simplistic class cliche to work out who the enemy is.
    The Occupy movement – as distinct from the local Khmer Rouge wing about which there will be more later – struck a chord because it emerged from the modern world and jettisoned class cliche with its more pertinent 99% versus 1%.
    (It in itself a somewhat simplistic acknowledgement of the radical shift of wealth distribution in the past 20 years)
    The ‘working class’ as a social/political phenomenon now, as far as I can see, lives in Asia.
    While back in the West the predatory lions of capitalism roam the denuded ‘wild’ seeking to devour the gazelles irrespective of their preference of tweed over donkey jackets.
    But apparently the savannah ain’t big enough for the two of us.
    So someone has gotta go… grave side.
    That’s fighting talk!

Meanwhile history has granted us an unprecedented moment to question the lion’s right to prey.
    The perfect storm of total economic breakdown, the once in 50 lifetimes opportunity is here now as we speak.
    So here’s the moment to look at capitalism in terms of the social carnage it has created and to posit some alternative vision for the future.

And Conor, speaking honestly to his credit, did posit a vision for the future.

Forget fighting corruption within the current system cos the system itself is corrupt.
    Cool. So far so good.
    Forget wrong or right.
    Hmmm
    They are right. We are right.
    Big Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    The difference?
    The difference is, as I mentioned already, some ill defined outdated notion of class
    Both competing sides are valid so we just crush their side. We declare war.
    Rousing stuff. That’s what meetings are for. Or so they say.

So it’s just as well Conor did not do justice to his vision on TV the other night…cos ultimately it seems to come down to some Darwinian supremacy.

WAR BABY

My gang is bigger than your gang!

Instantly the Khmer Rouge wing of the Occupy meeting was on its feet.

One of them threw a deadly barb at Conor: “Middle class.”

Another bearded cadre, the one who appeared in the truly embarassing Occupy the Aras clip, and his mate shouted “coward”.

Barely had war been declared and the room filled with cries of dick size. What a surprise. That’s war for you.
    Messy. Unpredictable. And profoundly male.

Thankfully sense came in the usual shape of a woman. But the dame comes later.

I had been previously been wondering when I stuck up notices of the meeting both here and in the other gaffe about the choice of words: Unlock Nama and had presumed that feuding had ruled out the use of Occupy.

I also found it strange that I was publicising a meeting on a topic of huge interest to the Irish people.
    That recent youtube clip of the attempted eviction near Athy (?) got over 300,000 views.

300.000 and there are no jokes, no violence, no nudity.
    Nor is there even any sound legal advice to be gleamed.
    And still 300,000.
    You don’t need to be a genius to know that this is raw, visceral stuff.
    This is the stuff revolutions are made of.
    But if we’re gonna have a revolution, let’s not get too male on it.
    Let’s get it right.

But tonight despite inadvertently doing their best to ensure a limited attendance there were about 120 people there. (Sure why inform the public?)
    A lot though were the usual suspects though.
    Which is probably just as well cos Joe public is not that wild about the idea of war.
    (Thanks be to God)

I have quite some respect for Mr McCabe.
    And despite appearances, I don’t entirely rule out the concept of warfare.
    But I have very little time for the concept of beautiful losers.
    Especially when there is so much at stake.
    And especially – and I know this is hard for quite a few people in that room to accept- when there is finally a possibility of winning.

If you are going to declare war, you do it when you are sure of winning and you do it for the right reasons.
    And you don’t do it when you only have mustered 120 people on a life and death issue.
    A rank and file of 120 people.
    That’s scary! In the wrong way.
    Cos that’s not enough for a decent mini marathon never to mind military manoeuvre.

So this is the time for communication, not conflict.
    And first there is the issue of what is being communicated

Conor presented a vision where we merely change the people who oppress others.
    Admittedly on behalf of what is supposedly a majority.
    Allowing for the greater beneficiaries, there was still something so naked and so brutish in the bellicose vision.
    The whole doing wrong for right gig.
    Ends/means yabba yabba yabba.

But why go so lazy. Why stick to that old yellowing script?

The people are clamouring for that difficult elusive concept: a fair and just alternative.

It’s not as rousing as declaring war. Well not to the boys anyhow.

The women can be a bit better when it comes to an alternative.

And the time has never been better for delivering one.

An alternative.

Not just a change in the accents administering power.

Somewhere in the structure of power and our evolving relation to it lies the root of the tension between the Occupy movement – as distinct from Khmer Rouge wing that were aptly vocal and present tonight – and the traditional left.

Although still vague and diffuse, the left still clings to much of the patriarchal, vertical structures of power; the power structures which were born out of the printing press: you know the whole reasoned rational democratic debate gig that’s built around some medieval might.

The embryonic political structures emerging out of the digital revolution clash big time with the old left world view.

Now of course there are issues of clarity, focus and organisation but somewhere in the animosity lies the roots of something new.

There is still something new on a meta level despite the dispute we witnessed tonight between Occupy debris and leftie stalwart being perhaps more familiar to a caveman than Paul Mason.

But as Mason too gropes to explain; somewhere in the changing manner of processing knowledge and then there’s the weird new undefined dimension, a new metaphysics which seems to have its roots, without sounding too Simpson like, in the technology.

And we are talking something more profound than a hipster hail Apple song.

So here we were in the political protest clash of civilisations.
    But all was not in vain thanks to the input of one woman who instinctively knew what was to be done.
    A trade unionist teacher with the energy to run a country got up a made a speech about the lack of space for classes and how some, presumably adult education classes were being conducted in buildings that were being rented.
    Funds restricting classes. Funds going on rent. Empty building. Join the dots. Go figure. Some common sense.

The oh so obvious solution: help people.

Short of a fleet to tabloids to help your sell your martial plans and a historical tradition of putting the boot in to help recruit grunts, declaring war is not attractive.
    People don’t like it.
    If you spend some time in one, it’s very easy to see why they it’s not best selling idea to people.
    That’s goes some way to explain the concept of conscription.

People generally prefer living to dying.

Although they now seem condemned to a new zone between the two – a paupers’ purgatory.

And it’s all getting too much for some.

But all the more reason to help them live.

Give the people a class room for their kids not a class war.

Give the people a creche.

If people trust you to mind their children, they’ll trust you with anything.

With enough people you wont have to go to war.

And from experience we all know that killing people is really messy. Things go off-script.

The guy tonight living in Argentina spoke of the slogan: No Houses Without People, No People Without Houses.

We need a new Land League.

We need an office.

We need a database.

There are lots of skilled people with nothing to do.

Do up ghosts estates. Start handing them out to the needy.

Maybe use the corpo housing list at first so favouritism is not an option/issue.

Looking at the response to the household charge, could you imagine anyone trying to stop you doing up a ghost estate to house people.

Don’t think so.

The first creche, the first adult eduction centre, the first ghost estate brought to life will bring a victory far greater than any battle against any supposed class enemy.

I can just see us out there, the Marxist Militia, AK in one hand and calculator in the other:
    “OK so the car is part of your work and allowing for taxes… eh… still… when I add everything up you are 20 quid over the limit and I therefore declare you a class enemy and sentence you to death.” BANG.
    You won’t be needing that car now.
    Ooops meet the new boss etc

So thanks to the teacher the idea got aired.

And the post declaration of war shouts about who was middle class, who was a coward, who ran from the police did nothing to detract from an idea whose time has come.

You offer the people a service and they will see you are for real.

Despite what you said Conor, the problem is ultimately not the other side are legal, it’s that they are wrong.
    Profoundly so.
    To ape their power structures means we too would be wrong.
    And it’s not the right time to be wrong.

I, for one, will offer any assistance I can provide to occupy Nama. To give back to the people the property that belongs to them.
    That they have paid for through bailouts and subsidies.

No people without houses, no houses without people

http://www.politicalworld.org/showthread.php?t=11459

Add New Comment