TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: The Ireland women’s rugby team is being ignored. They deserve better.

The squad is treated as an afterthought with a media blackout and chronic underfunding. This would never happen to the men’s team, writes Joan O’Connell.

Joan O'Connell

You may be aware of something called the Six Nations. It’s a rugby thing.

You may not, however, be aware that there is an Ireland senior women’s side. Yes, Ireland has two senior rugby squads. Count ‘em. They both represent this country, they both play in the Six Nations, they both play to qualify and succeed in the Rugby World Cup, and more.

But sadly, it seems that that’s where the similarities end. “Glass ceiling” doesn’t even begin to describe it. It’s reached the stage where there is now a petition with several hundred signatures and counting which will be presented to the IRFU at the end of next month over the organisation’s unequal treatment of the women’s rugby game.

It has to change

On Monday, rugby legend Shane Byrne voiced his utter disbelief at the treatment of the women’s squad ahead of their crucial game against France at the weekend.

He gave this description of what had happened to the team last weekend:

“The ladies lost by one point, right down in the south of France. And just to [be] very critical of the IRFU, they had 27 hours travel. They arrived down there [in Pau] at 3 o’clock in the morning [on] the day of the game,” said Byrne. “Absolute disgrace”.

“You know [...] they’re representing the country. They’re putting on the green jersey for us. And they’re amateur, they do it for the joy of it. And to be treated like that, absolutely terrible”.

“They flew into Paris and got the cattle train down to the south of France, when there was umpteen options to fly down south”.

“You know, I just think it’s a disgrace, in this day and age. We’ve heard long ago when the women’s game was set together that that’s the way they were treated, but nowadays it shouldn’t happen”.

“It has to change”.

The events of last weekend

You remember last Saturday? While everyone, it seemed, was apoplectic about what wasn’t happening that night, most people outside of the rugby world were oblivious about what had happened earlier.

On Tuesday, journalist Gavin Cummiskey filled us in with more detail in The Irish Times. A former Ireland player, Jeanette Feighery, was moved to write to the paper on Wednesday.

Based on the drip-feed of information, we can roughly establish the following timeline of events:

• Friday morning: The men’s team leaves for Paris on a chartered flight.

• Friday afternoon: The women’s team leaves for Paris on (presumably) a scheduled commercial flight. They arrive in Charles de Gaulle airport, board a bus and promptly get caught up in Friday evening Paris rush hour traffic.

As a consequence, they are two hours late for their high speed train to the town of Pau in the foothills of the Pyrenees at the other end of the country. There are at least two major international airports near Pau, as well as an airport which serves the town itself.

Meanwhile, due to freezing weather conditions across France, the game has been brought forward from by three hours to 2:30pm (Irish time).

• Saturday morning, 7am: The team finally arrives in Pau. (Shane Byrne was out by five hours.) Before starting their day, they sleep for a total of three hours.

• Saturday afternoon: The team plays ferociously, but lose by an agonising single point to France.

Moreover, unlike their competitors, the team have not played an international match together since the last Six Nations tournament. A full year.

Hard luck and move on – right?

The total preparation for the competition was four weeks of training. It looks likely that the same will be the case when Six Nations 2013 rolls around.

So?

So who cares anyway? Hard luck, and move on – right?

Not only would it be wholly unacceptable if Paul O’Connell and the rest of the team had been subjected to this farce, but what’s worse is that the women’s World Cup takes place in 2014. The IRB recently announced that for certain countries to qualify – including Ireland – will depend on (can you guess?) their performance in the Six Nations 2012 and 2013.

France, as World Cup hosts in 2014, and England, as World Cup winners in 2010, automatically qualify. The top two of the remaining Six Nations will go through to the 2014 competition. It is absolutely crucial that Ireland performs to the best of their ability in order to qualify.

But stay with me, my story gets better.

Then there’s 2016. The Olympics has confirmed that the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro will include rugby for the first time. The. Olympic. Games. Can we guess what it will take to qualify for that tournament? All we need to know is that this year the IRFU are not fielding a women’s team that is eligible for the Games.

Invisible and sidelined

One reason why people may hardly realise it exists at all is the almost total media blackout when it comes to coverage. Despite some progress you will still struggle to find a paragraph anywhere in the major sports pages – online or in print. And that includes those publications with big, impressive Six Nations supplements with fancy graphics. And you can basically forget about broadcast media.

Even the governing bodies relegate the women to back-of-the-bus status.

Look at the IRFU, the RBS Six Nations and the IRB websites: if you can find the sections relating to women, they’re hidden away past the teenagers and/or past the stats, image gallery and “hostpitality” pages and nestled in the “Club and Community” section.

The visual impact is quite something: it’s as though the women are an afterthought.

RTE has never broadcast a single women’s fixture

The Ireland squad have to my knowledge had a game broadcast a total of once. By Sky Sports. This was due to the fact that England was hosting the World Cup at the time, and Sky had agreed with the RFU to broadcast the England games. (Albeit on Sky Sports 4 – who knew it existed?)

By contrast, the state broadcaster RTÉ has never broadcast a single women’s fixture.

The grassroots support is unquestionably there, just as it was before the men’s rugby went professional: the fans and players (men and women alike) for whom rugby is all there is are hugely supportive of the women’s side. From officialdom, however, the story appears to be very different.

Time for women’s rugby to go pro?

The Irish Times recently described rugby as “just the day job” for Jamie Heaslip. If only it were so for the women. The women’s game, however, is fully amateur. Every player dedicates herself completely and with the utmost professionalism in attitude and commitment; yet not a single player is paid.

They all balance full-time jobs or studies (or both) with their sporting commitments at club, provincial and national level. If they’re putting on the green jersey, they need to put in a leave request with the boss or the dean.

It boggles the mind.

And yet, despite all of this struggle, the intractable attitudes, the countless obstacles, Ireland’s women contend and hold their own with some of the toughest – and far better resourced – teams in the world.

Presumably the IRFU could cobble together a little seed money out of the massive profits generated from the men’s professional game and give the women at least a sporting chance.

Can you imagine the potential, and what the players could really achieve, if anyone who could make a difference actually gave a damn about Irish women’s team?

Joan O’Connell is a writer, editor and co-founder of Gaelick which you can follow on twitter here. She tweets at @clicky_here

Read next:

Comments (94 Comments)

• true sports people love sport for the challenges people put themselves through. the irish ladies have reached the pinacle in their chosen sport and should get better support from the irfu and govt. no team wearing the national colours should be given second class treatment but its up to the girls to fight for themselves.

• Don’t see any reason why they couldn’t have shared the same plane as the men. I for one was tracking their progress that day along with the U 21s. There’s so much potential in Irish rugby. Remember how they were going to do away with Connaght

• I saw the ladies team playing once or twice and some of their back play was brilliant. Imaginative and clean breaking. Surely these girls deserve at least a chance to do well. A 10 year plan, on the same lines of the men’s game, would reap great rewards I think.

• Signed. I can only imagine how frustrating it is for these athletes but there is not not enough support from Women in my opinion. Hopefully articles like this and the petition will bring more interest

• Rte may decide that woman’s sport is “minority”. At the very least it should be obliged to broadcast the results. Then maybe more people would be interested and then . . .

• Im interested to know how they could qualify for the Olympics, and if theres a possibility of that then is there is a possibility of funding from some other source. Nothing would put the sport more on the map in the media than an Olympic hopeful (one would think).

• Seems the qualification is through the international Sevens. Ireland don’t have a sevens team, however. (The IRB outline the details on their website, and ScrumQueens have a huge amount of info on it, too.)

• Not nice to be treated in such a disrespectful way. Reminds me of the international soccer teams preparations 40 years ago. Any person putting on an Irish international jersey to represent their country should be treated accordingly. IRFU hacks, get you act together.

• At a college level I tried to go to the women’s games as much as the men’s ones, and I found them easily as thrilling and nail-biting. It was hard to understand why they don’t get more help- but even at the college level the inequalities of funding and resources given between the male and female teams was terrible.

All I can say is “H’on the ladies”.

• Can we just look at the modern women’s tennis game (professional, high-profile, gets coverage,sponsorship, etc)? As a woman, I am absolutely all for equality in absolutely every aspect of life – and I would hope most people are- but you can’t force people to share an interest in something just because its ‘politically right’ to do/say so. If a good product is offered, people will tune in (the Steffi, Seles, Hingis Sanchez-Vicario period in the 90s did a huge amount for women’s tennis – the quality,ratings,sponsorhip etc and the argument for near-equality in terms of pay was strengthened somewhat). But when it comes to women’s tennis over the past 10 years, for example, the only thing equal is the pay and, in my opinion, undeservedly so. The workload isn’t the same, the excitement isn’t the same (anymore), the quality of tennis isn’t the same, the money generated through sponsorship and viewing figures isn’t the same. How can you justify Victoria Azarenka getting 1million quid for an hour’s work in the final, whilst Djokovijc gets the exact same for 6 hour marathon? And they weren’t once-offs. Women’s matches right through all sections of the draw in most competitions barely go over an hour on aregular basis (usually 2 set drubbings until the latter stages of grand-slams) whilst most men’s games go over three hours – from the first round right through to the final. Equal pay for equal work. Last time I used a calculator, 6 hours and 1 hour were not equal.

• Kevin Myers tried to make that same argument recently but somehow you seem less hate-filled!

Of course you’re right, for a few years there women’s tennis was more entertaining as the men’s game degenerated into a serving competition. But in the recent Aussie open one set of the men’s final was longer than the entire women’s final and played with a level of skill and intensity that was on a whole other level. Equal pay for that is unjust

It’s tangental to the article though…..

• yes indeed, its all about the love with me – but, oh, i’ll have to check out kevin’s article all the same!
      apologies for going off on a tangent…i’m prone to that !!! but guess it all comes under the umbrella of women’s sport! certainly lively debate, which is always welcome!

• It happens to everything outside the men’s versions of the four main sports.

The women’s GAA championships? A grudging mention in the sports reports.

The cricket team? We’ll hear if they beat Pakistan or England, but how many know they are playing in Kenya at the moment.

I assume we have basketball and hockey teams, but you wouldn’t know from what you hear of them.

• Peil na mBan is being pushed very successfully by TG4

• Really

• Hm. Rugby, GAA, Crickey, Basketball and Hockey. Hey, aren’t they all recognised and funded by the Sports Council?

Right now, Ashling Miller is 30 minutes away from shooting for Ireland in Finland in the European Airgun Championships, unfunded, unsupported, unreported and up against 560-odd fully funded, fully supported competitors who were legally able to start training ten years before she was. And it’s going out live on Finnish national television. Here, not only is her NGB the only Olympic governing body not recognised by the Sports Council, but she has to give up her right to medical privacy, her right to not have her home searched at random, use her vacation time to represent our country abroad in an Olympic sport, and pay for everything from her own pocket, and generally gets talked about by TDs, Prime Time and TV3 as though she was a criminal in waiting, as do all Irish target shooters, including the three other Irish shooters out there who represented Ireland this morning and who will do so again tomorrow morning while chasing after the last quota places for London.

The ladies rugby team does need to be treated better, no question or dispute there. But seriously ladies, you’re complaining about unfashionable shoes while there are others out there in Irish Sport who’ve had their feet cut off.

• Those of you claiming there was no “interest” in this womans match take note, there were 10,000 spectators there.

• It’s great the commitment these lady’s have to the game, and to the country. just wish the IRFU would show the same commitment to the lady’s.

• Please please please sign the petition that was mentioned in the above artical, it really would mean a lot. We need as much support as we can get. Thank you

• Petition signed. Fair play to you ladies… Hopefully the irfu give you the recognition you deserve…

• I don’t think Joan’s article is about “forcing” people to be interested in women’s rugby (as one commentator suggests). I think it is essentially about a fair go, not even an equal go (where funding is concerned at least). There should be sufficient funding for the national team to prepare and perform to the highest possible standard. Preparation should not be hampered by lack of financial support by the IRFU. Neither should their performance in a crucial Six Nations match be impacted upon by skimping on the arrangements for travel and accommodation. Similarly, our national broadcaster should provide more airtime for the game, as well as publicising the fixtures and the results from games. This is especially important as RTE is funded by the taxpayers and the licence-payers, both of which groups are statistically likely to have substantial representation of females. Commercial media will generally follow the bucks.

Although the GAA is the outright winner in terms of the number of females participation in their sports, I think the their model, where the female aspects of the gaelic codes are managed by separate structures, is deeply flawed. The gaelic codes are the gaelic codes and if the gender of the player requires a different organisational structure, then it is an outdated and fundamentally flawed model. The IRFU has opted for inclusion in terms of structure but has obviously not followed through with the money and the strategy to develop the female participation in the playing of the game to the level that it should. Those are my views for what they are worth. An article like this was always going to draw some comments from among the leaf-litter but was great to read and I am delighted it was written and published.

• It seems to be a case of spending the money where the money’s to be made. It’s a sad truth that affects all minority sports, and I’s include most, if not all, womens sports in the term “minority sports”. Believe me I know all about lack of funding I play BASEBALL (in Ireland!). Most of our annual bills are only met through fundraising.

But I agree the IRFU should be doing everything they can to support RUGBY in IRELAND, regardless of whether it’s Women’s Rugby, Gay Rugby, Youth Rugby or Men’s Rugby.

It is, however, a difficult balancing act because you can’t “cut off your nose to spite your face”. It is Men’s Rugby that makes the money.

• professinal sport is just about money. the silly part is that the pros and amatuers are run by same irfu. all amatuers should band together to look after own affairs. look at the farce the AIL has become

• It simply boils down to this. There is no interest in womens rugby or other team sports for women. It is about entertainment and the money it generates. Will hold my hands up and say not interested in womens rugby. If you look at attendances for their games i am definately not alone. Its a cruel world and in an ideal society the womens team would be equal but it is not and cant see it being anywhere close anytime soon.

• Okay all joking aside, I agree with you, the interest is not there, but the IRFU are making enough money to look after its international teams. 20+ hours to travel to France for a game is not acceptable.

• 1,775 views, with 25 comments (and counting) in less than an hour, and you say there’s no interest?

Moreover, how can anyone tell, when no one has the opportunity to watch games that aren’t broadcast?

• (That was in reply to the original comment.)

• Oh please Joan, there’s a big bloody difference between reading an article and going to watch a full match, get real!

• Get real indeed.

It might actually help matters if games were advertised, broadcast, held in central and accessible locations (say, Dublin, rather than the wilds of county Meath), and the team demonstrably supported by the sport’s governing body.

In other words, if the team had the same support and hype as their male counterparts (or even their male juniors), then the interest and support of rugby fans could at least be put into practice.

• I agree Joan, if it was broadcast and publicised people would watch it. There’s always something compelling in watching a strongly fought match with good skill levels.

People often can’t see through their programmed expectations, like Begrudgy above when he says there’s no interest in women’s team sports, in response to a national article on the subject! Women playing quality rugby has just not been programmed into the general consciousness!

• I saw the letter about this in the Times and thought the treatment the women’s team got in relation to their travel arrangements was shocking. Some of your other points are unfair though

It’s fair enough if you want to say that they deserve more media attention but that’s not the same as saying there’s a media blackout

They aren’t going to get the same ‘support and hype’ as the men because they don’t generate the same money and to be brutal about it the game isn’t played at the same level

You make out that the IRFU has tons of money but in reality they’re running to stand still in the men’s game when it comes to salaries, especially compared to the French – and you can’t demand equal treatment with the team that is generating all the money that keeps both teams afloat

Before you say it, I’ve been to see the women’s team twice and on both occasions they were sharing the bill with the U20s. Neither occasion was in Dublin but some of us country people like rugby too. The attendance didn’t even sell out Bucc’s home ground

I think success would breed more interest, just like it did for the cricket team. Then maybe the women’s game would have some money of it’s own. So yeah; arranging flights at reasonable hours would help with that

• @ Chuck: I can see where you’re coming from, but I don’t think some of those points hold: for instance, there’s the fact that the women’s game doesn’t have the chance to make money.

(Apart from the fact that they’re amateur) if genuinely equal treatment and investment were given to the women’s game, I think the results would surprise a lot of people.

If the women don’t have a level playing field to begin with, how can they even start to proe themselves?

The IRFU should view this as an opportunity, if nothing else, and go for it. If they can do that for the u20s boys, they can do it for the senior women.

• If the IRFU put half it’s resources into the women’s game then all the top men’s players would be poached by clubs in other countries and the game would die on it’s feet in Ireland.

Having amateur players shouldn’t stop anyone turning a profit, it’s actually helped the GAA.

I don’t see how you can say they don’t have a chance to make money. How do they not?? Cumann Peil na mBan make money. They get help from the GAA rather than depending entirely on it’s largesse to survive. The GAA still accommodates women’s teams at it’s grounds but at he top level a dedicated women’s association has overall responsibility. Maybe a women’s Union dedicated to the Women’s game is what’s needed? It could have a similar relationship but it’s own treasury

You’re still being treated better than Connacht!

• Some of the replies here talk about the internationals not playing at the same level as the male counterparts. This is true. The reason however is that even at club level we are battling to be treated equally. We battle to get and pay for good coaches whose pay comes from fundraising we do. We battle for new jerseys and not just “hand-me-downs” from the J5s team donkeys years ago of which we are missing certain numbered shirts. While other teams in our club have meals put on for them after matches, we spend the morning of matches making sandwiches and soup to bring along to feed our opponents. We all pay our club subs. We should all be equal. This is not isolated to our club alone. We are treated like a nuisance in some (not all) cases.
      But this is not the forum to talk about that matter. The women’s international team are amateur in status. Is it unreasonable to ask that they are treated in a decent manner? @Chuckfarrelly, the match you went to “didn’t even sell out Bucc’s ground”. How many club games have Buc’s sold out? Because that’s the level that the women’s International team are in comparison to men. They are treated on a par with club rugby. Come to think of it, I remember going to the Men’s Leinster games 7 or 8 years ago before they all became “celebrities” and they didn’t sell out Wesley’s grounds in the then equivalent of RABO direct matches. Women’s club teams are on a par with the mini’s. For one of our league games last year, the youths were allowed to train on the pitch before us and the ground was like a farm yard after them. But we have to accept it. Who do we complain to? The Club? The IRFU?

We’re not asking for a chartered flight for them. We’re not asking for a salary for them (It would be nice but let’s be realistic). The women’s rugby community want to be treated equally in a humane way. TG4 could cover a match for instance. RTE could mention the score in their sports bulletins. Let’s be honest, how many people snigger when the subject of womens rugby comes up? Or how many people would honestly admit that they feel women shouldn’t play rugby? I know quite a few of my male friends who have those thoughts. I can see it in their eyes and by their throwaway comments. When did we take a step backwards in society that we have become so sexist?

• M Clark, my reply was taken down – no idea why

• I love watching women’s rugby. The skill and finesse of the game can be incredible. Don’t get me wrong, I watch every match I can of men’s rugby especially if it’s Munster, Leinster or Ireland. I love the GAME and women play it brilliantly. Joan O’Connell, good article. Thanks.

• Ardo Ci 18/02/12 #

This is typical of the media who streamline everything to such an extent that if they don’t highlight and report it then it doesn’t exist. It’s simply down to money. So the RFU disgracefully put little support behind ‘this group’ because of the limited interest which in turn is added to by media disinterest. Same with music and films. So much good stuff out there but not all of it brought to the attention of the public – result: we’re all the poorer for it. It’s maddening but that’s just the way it is. Galling if not laughable that anyone should represent their country in anything let alone Rugby and simply be ignored. These girls deserve more respect.

• What next, female boxers ? ;-)

• All of this is unbelievable – the flight, the train, the TV, the newspapers, comments made by people like Popsicle Pete. Going to sign that petition and rant on Twitter because it’s the only agency I have.

• I’m sorry that you feel sidelined, but there are many examples of minority sports that don’t capture the public imagination; poor media coverage simply reflects a lack of popular interest. There’s no great conspiracy here

• I agree with a the comments on here. I think the cold hard facts are that three general public do not have any interest in womens rugby.
    The All Ireland finals in GAA are televised and the crowds always look pitiful.
    It has nothing to do with sexism, sports are nothing without spectators and most people aren’t interested in womens rugby/gaa/football

• The hunky dory team seem ok

• Women are playing sport now!!! Wow! They’ll be looking to vote next.

• terry 18/02/12 #

Maybe if they brought out a calendar

• 750 views and only one female comment. i agree that the status quo isnt fair but those interested need to push for change. it wont happen by itself

• Woman’s volleyball is class

• Thats a very well put argument Joan , could you point me in the direction of all your previous reports on Ladies rugby so I can catch up on the movers and shakers, Be it here or on other Websites ,thank you in advance Joan.

• too many blazers, not enough bras!!!

• disgraceful and sad :-(

• Who?

• and i suppose u r drop dead gorgeous as well :/
    ugly men say crap like that about women

• Fair dues to them but I won’t be watching. Women aren’t designed for sports like this, it’s nothing to do with sexism, it’s a simple fact.

• Do elaborate?

• Men are stronger, faster and leaner. In any physical sport men have the edge, obviously there are exceptions and female athletes just as talented as men, I’m well aware of that but for the most part sport is a mans world. Men’s physicality makes it more entertaining. Women have the upper hand in many other aspects of life but not sport. Men are genetically designed for sport, simple as, don’t be an eejit man, it’s a fact of life.

• Eh, you do realise they play against other women so your logic goes right out the window.

Should I stop playing 6 a side football because the ladies arsenal team are better than me?

• This is exactly the same argument used for years to deny women quality in the workplace, or cultural or political life. However, as its now the 21st century we have, thankfully, moved on in most parts of life. No-one today would say that a job was “unsuitable for a woman because they are not designed for it”, any more than the vote or higher education studies are unsuitable for women because “they have smaller brains”, or any of the other pseudo-scientific claptrap that was used to justify discrimination for centuries.

In fact there is now only one area where this we continue to hear this ignorant bullshit – and that is sport. The last refuge of the unreconstructed neanderthal. Only in here do we see statements like “women are not designed for sports like this”.

To begin with, if you really think sport is all about physical strength then you have a very strange idea about sport. But more seriously, anyone who has seen the Irish women’s team in action in recent years could not fail to see that they are an incredibly exciting and attractive team to watch – by any criteria you could possibly measure. People in the 10,000 crowd in Pau last weekend said it was the best Six Nations rugby game of the weekend – bar none, and including all the men’s games.

And we have to take their word for it because it was not broadcast. Anywhere. No audience? How would anyone know?

Get these girls on TV, let the viewing public judge. They are terrific athletes, hugely talented players – and coherent interviewees as well. If TV can turn darts and snooker players into celebrities, international women’s rugby should be a doddle.

• Oh they play against women?? Thanks for informing me. My point, since you are lost is that the physicality men bring to sport makes for a more visceral and therefore more entertaining viewing experience.

And I’m not talking about the workplace. Women are for the most part much more capable than men in the workplace. But not sport. Don’t be liberal for the sake of being liberal. Women have their strengths and men have theirs. For women physical sports isn’t one of them. So what?

• @ John Birch: I never said women have smaller brains, nasty of you to make such an accusation. Pseudo-science? The fact that the male of our species evolved genetically to be stronger than women for hunting is pseudo-science??? Get a grip

For the last time, men make for more entertaining watching when playing physical sport. That doesn’t mean I’m against women playing sport, why would I be? It’s just the way it is, it has nothing and I mean NOTHING, to do with equality, it’s a fact of life.

• Pete, how do you know that the men’s game is more entertaining to watch? Unless you get to attend a game you’ll the chance to see the women’s side.

(That’s kind of one of the point being made, repeatedly. Do keep up.)

• Pete, how do you know that the men’s game is more entertaining to watch? Unless you get to attend a game you’ll never get the chance to see the women’s side.

(That’s kind of one of the point being made, repeatedly. Do keep up.)

• Visceral – ” not intellectual : instinctive, unreasoning” (Meriam Webster). Say no more…

If your sole reason for watching sport is to see men tear each other apart then… I am sorry for you. You really do have no hope and are hugely missing out. Really.

There is much more to sport than blood and viscera on the floor – there is skill, and speed, and competition, and pride, and character. There is athleticism, and beauty, and finesse, and quickness of thought, and the breathless moment when someone does something that seemed impossible. Women’s sport has all of this.

But if the only thing that turns you on is the blood and gore and brainless pummelling you’ll never get it.

• ” Women are for the most part much more capable than men in the workplace.”

Where do you work??

• @ Joan, I have seen women play rugby, I didn’t like. (Do keep up)

• Joan can you point me in the direction of your previous match reports / blog on the womens game so I can catch up , thanks.

• The NFL Lingerie league gets quite a few viewers, maybe if the IRFU/IRB could do something like that? Would that be a runner Joan?

• I used to play rugby when I was younger. It was not unenjoyable. Occasionally I will watch a major rugby match if I’ve nothing better to do. But I have no interest in who wins, one way or the other. Sports fandom is displaced nationalism, and I’m not a nationalist of any kind. BTW, women’s rugby sounds somewhat bizarre–a bit like a men’s knitting circle or something. By all means do it if you want, but don’t expect me to watch.

• Womens sport , there’s an oxymoron if I ever saw one.
    The public really aren’t overly bothered with most womens sports,, and it’s as simple as that.

• Cpm 18/02/12 #

Women’s sports temd to be crap

• Why was the Men’s game cancelled on the same day?

• Damn swype texting on my smart phone!!!

• Retta F 24/02/12 #

Rugger women should do roller derby in the off season. Flat track is real, hard hitting, requires strategy, and has almost as many rules ;)

Add New Comment