TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Column: Is mathematical ability just something you’re born with?

A new method suggests anyone can excel with numbers – and nobody should count themselves out, writes Pamela Fitzgerald.

Image: dsb nola via Flickr

PEOPLE TEND TO classify themselves into two groups: those who are mathematical and those who are not. We think of mathematical ability as a character trait like eye colour, you are born with or without it.

From an early age, people label themselves (or are labelled by others) as being good or bad at maths, more so than any other subject. By the time students reach the Leaving Cert, that mindset appears deeply embedded. In 2012, only 22 per cent of students took Higher Level Maths, compared to 37 per cent in Irish and 65 per cent in English.

The decision to award extra CAO points to students taking Higher Level Maths in the Leaving Certificate has helped to increase the number of students taking the Higher Level paper (from 16 per cent in 2011 to 22 per cent in 2012). But for many, this intervention is too little too late. The decision to take the Higher Level Paper is made between 16 and 18 years of age, but many have implicitly made this decision much earlier, when they fall behind in class.

Furthermore, the bonus points intervention has had no impact on reducing the number of people taking Foundation Level Maths – on average 11 per cent of students in the last three years. Do we believe that after 14 years of compulsory maths education, only 22 per cent of students can master differential equations and advanced calculus in the Higher Level Paper, while 11 per cent of students can only deal with the basic maths in the Foundation Level paper? Do we believe that 11 per cent of students are fundamentally not mathematical?

Ladder

John Mighton, a Canadian mathematician, disagrees and passionately believes that any child can be taught to excel at maths. Although differences of ability will always exist between people, there is no need for the wide variation in performance that we see today. He believes that to effectively teach maths, it must be broken into a series of very small steps, which in combination leads to the full mastery of the topic.

“No step is too small to ignore,” Mighton says. “Math is like a ladder. If you miss a step, sometimes you can’t go on. And then you start losing your confidence and then the hierarchies develop”. All too often, children miss a step in this ladder and soon, the class has moved on and the gap in performance between children grows.

Mighton started JUMP (Junior Undiscovered Mathematical Prodigies) in Canada in 2002 to address this issue. The programme is based on a methodology that breaks questions and challenges down into very small steps – manageable, systematic strides towards success. Mighton terms this “guided discovery”. It has been running in Canada for nearly 10 years and is now being taught to roughly 86,000 students annually. Research supports the methodology, with randomised controlled studies concluding that JUMP is more successful than the incumbent Canadian programme at improving the mathematical abilities of students.

Most significantly, JUMP helps to raise outcomes for all students while simultaneously narrowing the achievement gap – the process is designed to ensure that all students advance together. In one school in Toronto, in her first year of using JUMP, a teacher lifted her class’s average ranking from the 66th to 92nd percentile, based on standardised testing.  In her second year using JUMP, she moved her next class from the 55th to 98th percentiles. As Mighton says: “They start developing a love of the subject and the interesting thing is they don’t compete so much anymore against each other. They start competing against the problem collectively.”

Transformative

Teachers also praise the JUMP programme, as many feel the sequential approach allows them to build up their own confidence and knowledge of the subject. As one teacher in Vancouver noted: “My experiences with JUMP has been transformative, for my students and for myself. I struggled greatly as a student from a very early age and since I began supplementing with JUMP it has given me the motivation, skills, knowledge and confidence to pursue math.”

In Ireland, much of the focus around maths has been our poor international performance. Between 2000 and 2009, Ireland dropped from 16th to 32nd in international rankings. Although our outcomes stayed relatively constant during this time period, other countries are racing ahead. While it must be a national priority to improve our maths outcomes, we must focus on addressing the roots of the problem, as well as using stopgap measures such as bonus points.

Mighton came to Ireland in March 2012 as part of Change Nation and performed a demonstration of the JUMP method to a class of students, keeping both adults and students enthralled. A shy, soft-spoken man, he relied neither on trickery nor sleight of hand in his demonstration; he relied on the JUMP methodology he has created over a decade, which is based on evidence and research, a methodology that he knows is effective.

As a result of his visit in March, a consortium of organisations came together to explore the possibility of launching a pilot programme in Ireland, which is now planned for roll-out in 2013. At a time when negativity abounds in our newspapers and airwaves, it is uplifting to see a group of private, public and social sector stakeholders voluntarily coming together to work on innovative solutions to our nation’s most pressing problems.

If you would like to find out more about the JUMP maths programme, please see details at Change Nation or contact: pamela.fitzgerald@gmail.com.

Change Nation is an initiative of Ashoka.

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• Up until Junior Cert I thought I was brutal at maths. Whenever I asked a question the teacher looked at me as if I had two heads and asked in amazement how come I couldn’t understand it. After the first year I stopped asking questions or paying attention.

I went into Leaving Cert and had a new teacher. He was able to explain things properly and made an effort to actually teach and not embarrass, it was then realised I wasn’t actually bad at maths but that a crappy teacher had made me think I was.

That was over ten years ago but now I’m doing an online course on logic and am signed up for courses on algebra, calculus, and algorithms. I’m hoping to start a degree in physics in the next couple of years.

• I would say about 30% of people are good at maths and the other 80% are crap.

• The real lesson here is as Bernard Shaw stated ” never let your schooling interfere with your education.

• Fair play to you Barry. Good luck with it

• Anyone can improve there mathematical skill or any cognitive skill but some are born with greater potential. John Nash springs to mind.

• I would very much like to try out the JUMP programme in my school, if only to boost my confidence in maths. I’m in 5th yr, and just 6 weeks into the Project Maths course, myself and many of my classmates are completely lost. I’ve never been amazing at maths, but I always did decently in it and would’ve previously considered myself a higher level student. Now I’m considering dropping to pass maths, even with these bonus points. Indeed, if not for the points I would’ve taken lower maths, and I can confidently say the same for many of my classmates.
    The way maths is taught needs to be re-examined, and not this project maths stuff. All life has been sucked out of maths. I can see how maths is fun, and indeed the rare times I get a question right I feel happy. But the way it is (extra classes, constant reminders that we are behind schedule, spending hours at homework) its a surprise that students take it, even with the added incentive. I wish I could enjoy the subject – while what we learn has no application in real life, (beyond some algebra, trig and calc) it’s fascinating to see how everything can be solved with basic methods. Math needs more real life applications. Project maths attempted to do this, but I’m sorry to say, it’s not impressing me so far. (apologies for any errors, I’m on my phone. If you would like to prove me wrong, I would welcome it. I need to learn to like maths again.)

• “Maths needs more real life applications.”

You know that chair you’re sitting on, maths was used to make that chair. It was used to make your house, your computer, everything.

Clouds are fractal, fractal patterns occur naturally in nature, but in order for us to understand them and describe them mathematically we need to do something quite odd, we need to take the square root of a negative number it’s amazing and lovely and marvellous and you say maths doesn’t relate to the real world. Maths IS the real world.

What the hell are they teaching you?

• Damocles, bad wording on my part. I meant to say that the maths in schools needs to be applied to more real life situations. Rather than endless pages of figures, questions focusing on how I, as someone who can see the use of maths in everyday life but don’t know how to apply it, *can* apply it would be great. Project maths, at least from what I have heard, is meant to help that issue. Honestly, from my (admittedly inexperienced) point of view, there’s not a whole lot going on that is different from the old course.

• I may have over reacted.

Ready any book by Ian Stewart.

• Damocles has a point – a very valid one. Everyone looks for “practical” applications of maths – look around you. You don’t need a teacher to tell you that, open your eyes, the yoke you’re looking at, typing on – maths. All maths.

• If you want to apply maths to real life, study physics!

• Superkaner, fair play to you lad – keep the head down and I hope it clicks for you, you’re obviously putting a lot of effort in. While the lads here are saying that math is all around, while that’s true it might not really help you out as a 17 year old trying to find usefulness and meaning in what is so often an abstract subject.

One thing though – the interweb yoke there will definitely help. For example a quick google search for “uses of calculus” found this: http://www.ehow.com/info_8524020_uses-calculus-real-life.html
      Make use of quotes in google and it should help you find practical uses for different areas of math.

• I did a free online course recently where they taught you trigonometry and physics by getting you to calculate the power/angles/etc required to shoot a cannon from a cliff and take out approaching pirate ships. If I was taught like that in school I’d have aced maths, instead I bearly passed.

• Your brain is hard wired to do maths.

We actually train ourselves to think that maths is hard, when it isn’t. Really.

I’m a bit passionate about this.

• Thanks everyone for the encouragement. I’m not really a maths girl at all – languages are my passion but I do find it interesting to see how *much* of it had shaped and created the world we live in, and can be found everywhere. From the Fibonacci sequence (which was in our book when doing indices, but skipped over – something that was at least a bit interesting!) to pi, it’s fascinating!

Paul, that’s exactly the sort of stuff I’m talking about! Perhaps not applicable to the real world, but fun and makes it enjoyable to study.

• Some links that got me from failing maths to getting a 2.1 in 6 months without going to class:

http://www.khanacademy.org (problems logging in there sometimes if you’re using chrome)

This book is worth it’s weight in gold! (no previous experience necessary) :

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mathematics-Engineers-MyMathLab-Global-Pack/dp/1408263238/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350640072&sr=8-1

free college:

http://www.udacity.com/

particularly this one:

http://www.udacity.com/overview/Course/ph100/CourseRev/1

• calm down Damocles! Stephen Hawking you ain’t! he’s talking about basic maths taught in schools and they’re practical use. I finished school ten years ago and still haven’t had to find x since!

• Never considered myself “good” at maths but never actually failed an exam, studied maths at third level and always got good results? After leaving school entering the Merchant Marine astronomical navigation was so fascinating l forgot it was mathematical and just enjoyed the subject.

• Having had really bad math teachers practically all my life and ending up working in the educational system in my own opinion I believe it’s very hard to find good math teachers. They are out there but hard to find. This is my own experience

• Will Hunting was born with it, he was good.

• same story with me as the 1st post, wasn’t great until second level, on way to being an accountant now and have most calculations done in my head before classmates have them done on calculators!

• Maths is like building a house. For most people the exciting part of a house is how it looks the interior decorations, the paint that design. However all that is useless and impossible without solid foundations. Maths requires the foundations and these are basically what is thought in schools and need to be thought. Alas there is little that can be done to by pass that.

• It’s the old ” nature v’s nurture” debate. In my opinion our genes set the stage and our experience writes the play!!! In other words our genes certainly play a part in mathematical competence but it’s teachers that either make or break
    us!!! I even know one teacher who failed LC higher maths and is teaching maths now!!! Crazy world!!!!

• I was always okay at maths but when it came to LC I had fairly bad teacher and ended up getting lost with a lot of stuff. My class did higher level maths and we managed to get by with the help of extra tuition and Saturday classes, but the confusion still stuck with me.

I went on to do a degree in physics and astronomy and throughout the course, while I was catching up with what I didn’t understand, the maths was advancing just as fast. So for a lot of college I felt lost with much of the maths. Pain in the ass! But now I’m catching up again, and doing a couple of online courses that involve maths and one coming up that’ll help me revise the stuff I missed out on!

Maths really is something you need to practice regularly; you won’t just “get it”.

• There is definitely a genetic predisposition. I remember my first encounter with maths in first class. Numbers just did not appeal to me. I remember thinking the cutesy characters on the page, which were supposed to make it fun, were in complete dissonance with the pain I felt having to deal with numbers. Some good teachers made it less painful but it was always a drag to me. My first reading class by contrast on the same day was a liberation, I still have fabulous cursive handwriting, read my way through my childhood and now make a living writing. For all else I use a calculator. My sister on the other hand was born seeing the world in numbers and has a phd in physics… and isnt the world all the better for the diversity? Maths teachers however need to do a better job not crushing the less numerate of us.

• This is how I feel. My little sister is in 2nd yr (I’m in 5th) and I can assure you that if I handed her my maths book, she’d be doing problems I have trouble with within the hour. I wish I could say I’m the humanities student here, but unfortunately she is amazing at languages and art as well. Some people get all the luck! But, you know, I don’t begrudge her in the slightest. Maths isn’t my thing. I wish it was, but whatever. I can be happy with my good standard of English and maybe go further with it, like yourself!

• TNR 19/10/12 #

The analogy of the ladder is perfect, if u miss a step it’s difficult to progress. Personally I think the provision of good maths teachers who have a passion for their subject would be a major advantage. Everyone is capable of leaving cert maths standard if they have a decent teacher. I don’t agree with the bonus points though, I find it unfair to award additional points to those who already had a grasp on maths already.

• I always felt that I had an inherent weakness when it came to maths — or, to put it more accurately, a weakness when it came to the way maths has been taught in this country for decades (abstract ideas, removed from the everyday context that otherwise drives us towards mastery).
    I DO think everybody can be good at it, but the system doesn’t cater to people of all abilities. I didn’t grasp the core meaning of a lot of commonplace mathematical concepts until I (accidentally) took maths science as a subject in the first year of my degree. Des McHale totally changed how I thought about those rote-learned ideas, but it took me a long time (plus a repeat exam) to get to grips with it all. That year really illustrated the gulf between second and third level (please read, national and international standards).

• In 6th year “maths” now and of late it seems there’s as much letters in it as English and its as useless as Irish

• Not only are we falling behind in maths this has a major implication for engineering and science level maths in college and we need people like that for the future!

I’m in DIT and I got the shock of my life with the level of maths in DIT’s engineering program’s! It is a huge step and that is because DIT and rightfully so, refuse to leer the bar for their standard of maths education and this now makes one of the only college’a that is approved by Engineers Ireland

• I thought it had been shown ages ago that the same part of the brain that processes language processes maths.

Assuming you can manage more than a simple sentence you should be fine with maths.

• I always imagined people were either good at Mathis or not. I very much fall into the latter. The more i thought about my lack of ability the more i felt there must be something like dyslexia but for maths, not that you see the numbers mixed up necessarily but just a hardwired “thing” that the logic of maths does not sink in. I was good and very interested in other subjects in school like history, geography, english, biology. Im also a big reader. I’d love to be better at maths especially as it very much limited my choices for third level.

• M O Sé 18/10/12 #

Intelligence for math is largely due to yer breeding as we would say in Ireland. It is true of course there is always skips and each person has two parents.

I myself have a serious science degree but have always struggled with math where friends of mine shone with little effort.

Of course IQ scores have increased with the flynn effect and its main causes – decreasing family size and therefore more investment from parents, better nutrition and people being raised by parents who themselves have had better education then their forebearers.

Innate skill in maths is a gift from genetics in large part. Pretending otherwise and believing in a blank slate form of intelligence is damaging to how we will all progress together as humans on this planet.

• ‘Pretending otherwise and believing in a blank slate form of intelligence is damaging to how we will all progress together as humans on this planet.’

Any more damaging than approaching the teaching of maths as ‘either you’re born to do it or there’s no point in you being here’? The genetic factors in intelligence are grossly overstated and there’s nothing more damaging to ‘progress’ (whatever that means) than believing that all our abilities are genetically predetermined.

Add New Comment