TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: Why politics and music aren’t a million miles apart, by Paul Gogarty

Paul Gogarty launched his new single this week. Here he explains how he left politics for music – and why the journey from the Dáil to the recording desk isn’t too far.

Paul Gogarty

I HAVE ALWAYS been into music, from a very early age. As teenager in Lucan my ghetto blaster preceded me. While in college I busked regularly on the streets of Dublin, something that continued on and off for 13 years. I wrote songs. I recorded demos. But after being elected as a TD I stopped writing songs and I rarely sang.

Political life was incredibly busy and intense. But you know what? In hindsight, I regret not leaving some time aside for music.

It was always at the back of my mind. As part of the filming of the “Naked Election” documentary, I was asked what I would like to do if I didn’t get back into the Dáil. I replied wistfully that I’d love to write a book, or record an album, But I also pointed out on camera that I was a journalist by profession and that as such I’d most likely try and get some media work.

When the programme was actually broadcast, my comments were edited down to “write a book or record an album”. It did, however, lead to RTE’s John Murray show getting in touch to suggest a slot where I would pretend that I was releasing my debut single, as part of an April Fool’s joke.

And so, at the ungodly hour of 9:15am, I sauntered into the studio and sang an old nearly-completed acoustic number, “One Clear Day”. I was initially apprehensive about doing this fearing I might come across as the joke rather than come across as someone who was game for a laugh. But I took a chance, figuring that staying in the public eye might get me a few income openings on the media front.

Bashful bunch

Following this I also got asked onto the Saturday Night Show, to discuss politics and sing a song. This exposure also resulted in my being asked to participate in two reality TV series. One, Charity ICA Bootcamp, helped raise money for Pieta House. The second, Celebrity Bainisteoir, saw me spend four wonderful months travelling up and down to Oughterard for training sessions and matches. Both of these programmes featured me singing. In the former I serenaded the ICA ladies, while for the latter the production team suggested I bring a bashful bunch of footballers into the studio to record a team song (a reworded cover of “I’ve Gotta Feeling”).

Having been back in a recording studio for the first time since 1994, I decided to try my luck with recording an original song. I was already due to sing at a benefit concert in December and added in the vocals as an afterthought to doing a backing track. It turned out way better than I’d expected. The bug had hit me. I had to do it again as soon as possible and in early January 2012 I was back in the recording studio armed with the up-tempo “Know You All My Life”. It was the first song I had written in ages and one which received a very positive response from those that heard it.

This spurred me on to write more new material and as I did so, I thought to myself, why shouldn’t I record an album after all? And so, for the last eight months or so -punctuated by the death of my mother in February and the birth of our third child in July – I have been writing, recording and more recently, publicising my work. The debut single, “Wishing On A Photograph” was launched this week and the album is getting closer and closer to the final editing and mastering process.

Put yourself out there

My music is being sold under the name of His Sweet Surprise. The thoughts of a former politician, especially a ‘controversial’ one, recording music would generally be perceived as more cringe-factor than X Factor, so I felt that my stage name should reflect these expectations but also challenge people to listen for themselves and see if they could overcome their understandable suspicions.

In many ways, promoting music is like politics. And just like politics you know that there are some people who will appreciate what you are doing, some who are open to persuasion but leading extremely busy lives and others still who will never give you a fair hearing, no matter what.

You don’t get to knock on half as many doors, but you do have to put yourself out there and try and persuade people to give you a shot. My journalistic training has again come in handy in terms of the communications work required; mountains of letters, emails, tweets and posts, design and printing of promo CDs and cover art, shooting of videos, all similar types of work to what politicians do to communicate with constituents.

Wherever my musical journey brings me, I plan to enjoy it. All you can do is your best, to stay positive and remain true to yourself. Life has thrown me an opportunity to do something different that I love and I am grabbing it with open arms.

His Sweet Surprise’s debut single Wishing On A Photograph is available to download now on iTunes and selected digital media. The debut album, His Sweet Surprise, is scheduled for release in late 2012/early 2013.

Pictures: What’s Paul Gogarty up to in his new music video?>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• F**k you Deputy Stagg!

• rubot 29/08/12 #

“As a teenager in Lucan my ghetto blaster preceded me. ”

Brilliant.

• a shit politician and a shit musician.

• This article could have been used to promote an up and coming artist, someone who could do with the exposure. What a waste.

• I’d imagine that TDs pension is a great comfort if your music bombs.Hope your music is better than your failed politics.

• Have been in formed by Paul he is not in receipt of a pension from the state,so i’ll happily amend my mistake,pity the mistakes you made while in government are not as easily amended.

• Just afollow up Paul i checked you’ll get your 22,000 ayear pension when you hit 50.I assume you already got your 108,000 lump sum.All of the above from a pervious journal article.BTW Paul if you have anything you’d like to challenge me on do it here,my facebook page is for my friends,thanks for understanding:-)

• Someone advised me not to stick my head up and allow some unfair and mean-spirited people to have a go, because that’s what a lot of people do (many of them with Facebook or Twitter accounts set up specifically for that purpose). But I do have to come back at this one.

- I am not getting a pension as I tried to clarify with you privately out of respect. I did not get the lump some you refer to, but TDs of my term did get seven months of termination payments at 50-75% pay to compensate for the fact that its a job that requires you give up an existing one and then – unless you keep a teaching job, own a pub, or continue to work as a solicitor – have to try and restart a totally different career.

- It’s a long time until I hit 50 and I never claimed that TDs pay wasn’t generous, but you use it as a stick because my name is out there. Says far more about you than it does about me….

Why don’t you criticise ALL TDs and pensions rather than picking on the guy who THREE times called for pay cuts for TDs, the first back in 2002, during the Celtic Tiger. The same TD who called for Ministerial pay cuts in 2008, who forwent a €12,500 payout for resigning his Council seat in opposition to the dual mandate in 2003. And called for and worked towards a vouched system of expenses and reductions in expenses for members of the Oireachtas.

Just putting that on the record. It’s nothing to do with this article; I’m not in politics for a year and a half now. Nothing to do with music either, but no matter what I do, you’d still be having a go. I don’t take it personally, reflecting what the decent and balanced Alan Hayes said, but I still have to pinch my cheek and remind myself of the anecdotal evidence that nasty, largely anonymous posters are far more likely to post on online commentaries than reasonable, decent, discerning people. A ratio of 10:1 or something like that.

I remember reading something about that by an Irish Times journalist who reflected ruefully on the standard of comments on the online edition of the paper versus emails sent in to the editor.

It’s on the record now. More to be doing than getting into facetious and asinine squabbles.

Those who are interested in music, can find the pre-mastered versions of all the album tracks to date on http://www.soundcloud.com/hissweetsurprise/tracks .

• Paul – my experience is that ad hominem attacks say alot more about the attacker – he obviously has a severe chip on his shoulder. Fair play to you and never mind all the knockers on here-they never had the balls to knock on a door

• Barro 29/08/12 #

Sigh……

• John 29/08/12 #

Really, really crap songs to be honest, the writing and words are atrocious. Lines just thrown in everywhere, no song structure, bad rhyming, ruined my day! Never heard of him as a politician, but my 10yr old son would do better than that.

• Paul you did a shit job and got the fired by the electorate yet you still get paid off so please don’t play the poor mouse. A lot of people lost their jobs thorugh no fauly of their own and got nothing.

• censored 29/08/12 #

Gogarty: At first I thought you had balls coming on here and exposing yourself like this, but after thinking about it I realized you’re too stubborn and obtuse to get the message. You and your party kept FF in power, along with a load of other stupid decisions. You personally acted like a spoilt brat while you were supposedly representing us. Toddle off now like a good man.

• Paul, please stand away from the funny mushrooms.

• Sour and unsurprising. What a chump.

• “Why politics and music aren’t a million miles apart, by Paul Gogarty” Two subjects Paul Gogarty obviously know’s nothing about.

What’s with the Green Party love in at The Journal anyway ???

• What a bunch of miserable mealy mouthed whingers and cringe inducing clowns who attack a man because he had the courage to face down an anonymous contributor who ignorantly got his facts wrong but went on to attack the man when he should have been gracious enough to politely back off with an apology. I never had an ounce of liking for the Green Party or it’s homespun policies that denied economic logic but those of you continued attacking the man with disgusting descriptors wouldn’t be employed by me to sweep the visceral remains of slaughtered cattle into the drains in an abattoir as you wouldn’t pass the defence test for adult human beings.

• Ryan'O 29/08/12 #

LOL @ Mick

• One reply to you Mick Collins if you have the intelligence to check( which i doubt) i am not annonymous as you suggest futher i corrected myself after Paul pointed out my error.Will you do the same?somehow i doubt it.

• Ah look,it’s troll extraordinaire,Mick Collins.A man that set up a Twitter account for the purpose of trolling on The Journal.

• The majority of commenters to this article are clearly not anonymous and seem to be in general agreement that they would rather not have to listen to you through any medium. Whilst I can listen to points about how you tried to do good things with the greens, your party always had an opportunity to bring down the destructive force that was Fianna Fail but chose not to until it was far too late. I’m sick of politicians (ex politicians) complaining about the hard lot they have received, you earn handsomely for the privilege of representing the people that vote you in and then ignore them. I’m sure the Irish media will give your new endeavours plenty of coverage, much like they do Jedward.

• “f*** you, deputy stagg!”

Is that the sweet surprise he’s on about?

• The difference between politics and music is you have to have talent to make it big in music.

• Why couldn’t you be “The Artist Formerly Known As Deputy Paul Gogarty”?
    Has more of a ring about it than “His Sweet Surprise”

• “But after being elected as a TD I stopped writing songs and I rarely sang.”

If this is an election ploy to get back in, you’ve got my vote. I’m not even sadistic enough to want to see you unleash that sewage you call music onto the general public, and i hate the bastards. Let this be the number 1 objective regarding Fine Gael waste management policy. ‘keep Gogarty in the green, to stop him joining the music scene’

• Heard this clown loves “Blues” why is this buffoon being entertained? i’m certainly not with the sight of him this morning!

• Why is the journal giving space to a man that was part of the biggest, most incompetent shower of gangsters that ever got power in this country! Gogarty should be ashamed of himself.

• Yes, all our problems started when the greens got in…nothing to do with the previous 15 years. And the fact that there were only a very small minority partner wouldn’t matter either..

• Ryan'O 29/08/12 #

The greens kept the flockers in!!!!! They knew all along they had the power to bring the house down but bottled it. I have murmurous emails to Eamonn Ryan asking him why if he disagrees with what FF were up to then why don’t they pull out and save the country, problem was they hung in until the 11th hour and by that time it was too late. I remember talking to a canvasser at my door asking my to vote green and I told her there will be no more green party after the next election she looked at me and she even knew it herself! As for the crappy music, it’s just that crappy and before every gets up on their high horse it’s just not my genre OK!

• @Ryan’O … they did pull the plug on the government. It was the Greens that called the election more than a year in advance of when it was due. It was too late at that stage of course, but you also have to acknowledge that the damage to Ireland was primarily done by FF and PD’s in 1997 – 2007, and not the Greens in the following governemnt. The Greens biggest mistake was going along with Lenihan’s bank guarantee in 2008, but then again the other parties supported that too.

• Nobody wants to read articles by or about this clown.

• Must be nice to be just asked in to record a song or album and have the benefit of having a public profile to plug it.
    I’m not sure if you’re balancing a full time job around this venture, seeking time off from your employer to play gigs, asking for more time off to attend interviews which may or may not lead to further exposure.

Did you have to go into the bank or credit union to finance this project?
    Did you deny yourself the simple pleasure of having an occasional night out just so you’d have enough money to buy equipment, travel to gigs….. get merchandise done?

Will you be driving in a cramped van across the country to play live, sleeping in the van, eating stale sandwiches brought with you to cut down on costs and then arrive back home the next day wrecked to do what you’re actually paid to do?

Probably not.
    My mates band however spent 10 years doing this until they got some recognition, it took you how long before you were allowed peddle your unoriginal “songs” in the media?

This is not sour grapes, it’s my dismay at people who were once in the public eye getting a leg up so i’m gonna hijack your “rags to riches” story and shamelessly plug my local band here. :P

http://eternalhelcaraxe.net/news

• alan 29/08/12 #

Can anybody come up with an anagram of his sweet surprise that doesn’t include the obvious ‘super shite?

• “And so, at the ungodly hour of 9:15am”
    Ya poor thing having to get up and ready for 9.15am.. The political live has you spoiled.

• Em, I think he was talking about singing at 9:15am, not getting up. That is an ungodly hour if you’ve ever sang. The vocal chords tend to loosen up during the day.

• Em…he actually said he “sauntered” in at 9:15 not sang at 9:15….actually does it matter, by saying he sauntered in evokes images of him bleary eyed, coffee in one hand and the other pressed to his mouth to stifle a yawn, must be tough for him but at least he didn’t have to “saunter” in at 8 and start erecting scaffolding for a mere fraction of what he earned for shouting obscenities across the floor of that big circus on Kildare street.

• Em, if people are trying to be pedantic, “saunter” by the dictionary definition means to walk at a leisurely pace, in a relaxed manner. Presumably he had made sure he arrived at the studio in time so why would he rush? It’s probably natural for people trying to make a point to take their own interpretation to suit a purpose, but that’s what the dictionary says, folks!

The original poster made an issue of the “ungodly hour of 9:15am”. Again, that is very early to be singing live on national radio, as any singer will tell you.

Reading the posts here, it appears that while there are some genuine comments, a lot of people are splitting hairs to try and have a go at the man.

Dermot McLoughlin, further down you also bemoan the fact that your band haven’t got any coverage. Maybe you should link to a video here or something. You can’t ask people to forget their previous history when starting out new ventures. Of course people in the public eye get a leg up, due to media interest. But if anything, for said Mr Gogarty, it’s probably a disadvantage, judging by the comments here as no-one is going to take him seriously. Maybe for some documentary someone should play his tunes to strangers without saying who it is behind them. Then we’d know if it was a “sweet surprise” or not. If they still hate it then he’s definitely a shit musician lol.

Did George Lee try and hide his RTE job? Should Bob Geldof had tried to get contracts for his Planet 24 company by sending in someone else and not trading on his name? Maybe Linda McCartney sausages should have just been called sausages, given that the late wife of Sir Paul McCartney was a photographer and keyboard player rather than a culinary expert.

To me, it doesn’t matter whether the song is written and performed by a sinner, a saint, a fool or a wise man (Gary Glitter excepted). It’s either universally accepted as outstanding, mediocre or crap and filtered by the type of music you are normally into. I love R&B music, for example, but that doesn’t mean I am going to diss dubstep or dance or ceili music for that matter.

The argument is a bit like sour grapes IMHO, but that’s not saying anything negative about the band you plug. If you’ve been going for five years you should have some material recorded by now, so why don’t you let all the posters hear know about by sending us a link rather than just a photo of a gig advert?

I am sure there are a few people hear who will give it a fair listen. Bring it on!

• 2 EP’s and a full length album out sir.
      Signed to an American label recently that caters for such music and all done through perseverance and sacrifice and like all bands of their chosen genre rarely mentioned in Irish media.

Like Mr Gogarty here this country is awash with mediocrity and people getting to dump their uninspiring rubbish on the public by virtue of being something else previously…..a politician who turns into a musician and then bemoans publicly that him being a politician previously could hinder his success???

He’s gaining a public ear exactly becasue he was a politician, he’s using his notoriety to gain a leg up but true to form in this country we award failure – Jedward appeared on TV show where it became apparent that they were talentless yet are now making millions for being failures, freaking boy bands who were manufactured by record labels to mangle songs penned by true musicians whose only talent is to appear good looking (?) and throw a few dance moves around, maybe thrust your pelvic region into the faces of spotty teenagers.

My mates band will probably make no money out of their music, maybe a bit but they’re creating their music and putting their life’s worth into it because they want to play this music, they get no helping hand from any media source yet a failed politician gets free reign to publicize his wares just becasue he is a failed politician and that’s where the source of my ambivalence arise from – he gets media attention becasue he was once a politician and cry all he wants about this fact hindering him he would probably remain unknown only for it.

Rant over – all hail the mighty Eternal Helcaraxe – brutal Irish black metal assault :P

• “Does it sound anything like the fiddles heard when Bertie Nero and his Green Party prop-up merchants guzzled what was left of the fat before Ireland burned? May you be as successful with this venture as the country is after your disgraceful performance as a party in the Dáil.”

Courtesy of Pól Mac Giolla Chomhaill who is unable to comment here at this time :P

• Cum on then boyo! Put your music where your mouth is! Where’s the link to the song or the video ;-)

• You want a link then I’ll give you a link but I hope you’re not expecting some half arsed acoustic shite..actually there’s a link above to their website which contains many many links to their tunes, click on site, click aural and enjoy the black metal assault forged in the hills of Cavan over a decade without help from the journal or any other Irish media.

• Here we are http://soundcloud.com/eternalhelcaraxe for the Journal.ie readers’ pleasure.

=================================

Praetorian – Guitars,Keys & Vocals
      Maulgrim – Guitars & Vocals
      Thule – Bass & Vocals
      Tyrith – Drums

Epic black metal 4 piece based in cavan, Ireland. In March 2008 released our first MCD entitled “Palest Kingdom”. Shortly after this release In August 2009 released our second MCD entitled “To Whatever End”.
      Our first album titled “Against All Odds” is available now on Abyss Records (US).

Praetorian also plays in Eadochas

===============================

Not an expert in black metal, but it sounds good for its genre. Maybe some metal heads here might be able to give a more informed opinion. But there are a lot of readers of this article so maybe some might stumble upon your band now.

I don’t think the His Sweet Surprise stuff http://soundcloud.com/hissweetsurprise/sets/tracks/ would be comparing like with like, though.

• Cheers chap :P

Talented musicians who could quite possibly better anything Mr Gogarty wheels out if they wanted…but they won’t..they’re too grim for pop :P

• he should do a cover of The Pi?a Colada Song…i. just see the video him walking along dolly mount in his speados and Mary hearny running after him…..do you like making love at midnight…..id say its just the break he needs

• Real life David Brent. Monster blind spot.

• A mediocre singer and a politician well versed in political expediency who called student protestors muppets and praised the guards for baton charging and riding them down with horses during a peaceful protest, well, if they were going to remake the film “Bob Roberts” we know who the right man is to induce the same sense of cringe and revulsion.
    I was going to call him a muppet over his attempted brake into music but then I thought, when the muppets make a music video its funny, not because its pretentious dance pop that lacks the fun, uplifting tone and camp value that make up the redeeming values of the genre like Paul’s “work” and he doesn’t know it, but because that’s what they were aiming for.
    Gogarty is more like a mole; usually harmless but annoying, hard to get rid of and with the ever present worry that it may start to spread.

• I don’t know about the baton charing bit, have to take you for your word. But were the students he called muppets the ones who allegedly barricaded themselves into his office, with a member of staff still in there? I seem to remember this is what he was alluding to in a University Times article. The ‘muppets’ accusation featured strongly in the headlines.

I know USI had no problems with him and found him honest and above board to work with. The guys who ransacked the office were from a group called FEE, made up of various socialist workers, socialists and a couple of shinners.

I remember laughing at the time because apparently they broke in on a Wednesday demanding to see him, when Gogarty was actually stuck in the Dáil, having to be present for votes.

Maybe he’s worse than a muppet, have to take your personal word if you know him, but ,erm, it seemed the students he specifically referred to behaved like muppets!

• Not the ones caught out in the street, many of whom were just ordinary students who got caught up in the crowd and where unable to lead due to the Garda cordon, Gogarty’s comments were insensitive and premature and lead many to believe that the government of the day had already made up their minds about any investigation of the Guards actions, I know public order is one of the hardest duties for any police force but their actions were totally off the reservation, I don’t blame the actions on the day on the Gardai on the ground but on their commander on the day who allowed a total brake down of command and control leaving other officers to make snap decisions on the bases of poor information.
      Gogarty should have allowed the Ombudsman to complete their investigation before commenting.

• Fair play Paul. Best of luck with your music. Judging by some comments, its just the word Politician which carries a stain.Less personal i imagine. Great advertisement for future politicians to get involved though “You were a politician so I hate you now” mentality is very forward thinking.

• “stain”
      Your word, not mine.

• you should listen to his music, if you dare.

• Ahhh Ru you must be part of the Intelligence Branch of Sinn Fein with accusations like that. The reason I set up the account was to contribute some balancing views to much of the mealy mouthed negativity that flows like effluent from a sizeable quarter on this site. I could provide an address and telephone number if it would help with your paranoid and inaccurate description but then I don’t use a nom de plume or a name in the Irish tongue or all the other giveaways for your ilk. I simply use my name and direct views on a range of subjects which sometimes get under skins and you have to get your techie pals to see if they can track down my IP address or locate me on Twitter. Why would you want to do that? Surely that’s a very threatening form of behaviour in response to opinions you don’t share.
      Ah that’s the Free State for you.
      Intelligence my arse.
      Mick Collins.

• I have never voted nor am I a member of or ever have been,a member of Sinn Fein.Obviously Mick using words like “nom de plume” don’t really make you look that intelligent when 1.You seemingly don’t know how to reply to the post you intended replying too 2.If you weren’t such a moron,you might have known that just by clicking on your ID beside your avatar,brings you to your “unused” Twitter account.Sadly no crack team of “techies”!!! Which one of us is truly paranoid ???

So taking these points I have made into consideration,then I’m lead to assume,you have no idea what a troll actually is??? while exhibiting all the classic symptoms of a troll.Do you understand,irony ??? Lastly,if you consider me clicking on your Twitter account,as a form “threatening behaviour”,please feel free to contact the Gardai,I assume your telephone skills are far better than your computer skills??? but obviously being a troll,you’re just blow air!!!

• Hey Paul. One thing that music and politics has in common is that you need balls of steel to be involved in either.

Good luck with this new departure in your career.

• Politics and blues are closely related, and you tried to play them both.

Give over

• Mike , you’re a fool if you actually believe that

• Should I stay or should I gogarty?

• Greens were a junior partner to FF- FF had been ruining the country Long before that coalition came in. Greens Were involved in approving bank guarantee- there would be no money in country if that had not been done.ALSO even the tragically doomed Finance Minister Brian Lenihan was Lied to over what was involved in that- he was a senior barrister who got into politics- Not an accountant or economist .So who lied to him? other FFers with far longer ministerial experience ( i.e longer experience in ruining the country ). This included former Finance Minister Brian Cowan. Other former FF Ministers included Willie O’Dea, who I think still has a website- is anyone posting abusive comments re ruination of the country by corrupt incompetent politicians on his website or on sites of any other FF politicians?
    I haven’t heard Paul’s music yet,but I quite liked his ability with amusing verses which he entertained the staff with when we worked on a trade mag 13 yrs ago- and I’m not in publishing either now.As anyone who worked in freelance journalism knows it is both very hard to break into- and hard to keep going as publications keep folding. So starting in journalism is not an easy life-I’d say it teaches resilience. 13 yrs ago GP had not many elected reps, and I was more sceptical about them too, though I did regard them as being honest.However i did regard Pauls endless and tireless campaigning in Lucan at that time as praise worthy- so after leaving the mag, I wasn’t surprised to hear he’d been elected the next yr for 1st time as councillor.Hope it all goes well in his next career moves- God loves a trier.

• “But after being elected as a TD I stopped writing songs and I rarely sang.”

If this is an election ploy to get back in, you’ve got my vote. I’m not even sadistic enough to want to see you unleash that sewage you call music onto the general public, and i hate the bastards. Let this be the number 1 objective regarding Fine Gael waste management policy. ‘keep Gogarty in the green, away from the music scene’

• Poem and song for every politician to sing along too. Very relevant!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2-msgCpOec&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Les Rock 29/08/12 #

It was like Gogarty’s stuff s***

• @les, and after a 5 star review with music review, Ireland, and Hot Press, can you please elaborate why it’s shit?? You seem in the know!? Explain where I it can go from here?!? All that honesty/passion in one song.

You clearly didn’t listen. This song was wrote on personal anger towards all politicians who’ve disgraced my country over the last decade or so (including today’s smug numb skulls)
      It was written to push the message home. It was written to highlight the suicide rates due to pressures and financial difficulties. It was written with a heavy heart with the understanding that the greater public could relate and feel the pain in song and poem.
      But not you Les, not you!

Your opinion all the same, yet not vital!

• Oh and @Les – In the most unparliamentary/in journalistic language, F##k you Les, F##k you!

• Poem and song for every politician to sing along too. Very relevant!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2-msgCpOec&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Add New Comment