TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Column: To move on from the Troubles we have to face the past with compassion

Behind each death of the Troubles are real, grieving people – many of whom have been waiting for the truth for far too long, writes David McCann.

David McCann

FOLLOWING THE HORRIFIC murder of Detective Adrian Donohue, I watched with astonishment as Gerry Adams rose to his feet in the Dáil and offered an apology on behalf of his party for the murder of Detective Jerry McCabe in 1996. The apology has either been dismissed as a cynical electoral ploy by Sinn Fein or has been welcomed as a necessary part of the process of healing the wounds of the Troubles. That 15 years after the Troubles ended there is still such anger out there illustrates how raw the wounds of the conflict still are. This got me thinking – how well have we really done in dealing with the legacy of the Troubles?

This issue has dogged politics in Northern Ireland for well over a decade and it seems to me that actually very few people have any idea as to how we can actually deal with this issue. So, let’s start off with some facts about the Troubles. Of the 3,529 deaths, roughly 2,000 were killed by republican paramilitaries, 1,000 by loyalist paramilitaries, 360 by the British/Northern Irish security forces and five by the Irish security forces.

Why is it important to regurgitate figures that we hear all so often? Because if we are ever to truly move on we need to remember that each of these numbers represent not just a person killed but a family left behind to deal with such an immense tragedy.

Different views on what caused the Troubles

So why have we been so poor in actually dealing with the legacy of the Troubles? Well, part of the problem is the way in which different sections of the community in Northern Ireland view the conflict. For Sinn Fein, it was a war to achieve the abolition of what they perceived a sectarian state and the attainment of Irish reunification. For Unionists, it was a brutal act of terrorism perpetrated against innocent people for thirty years. Herein lies the problem: the two largest parties in government in Northern Ireland cannot agree on a way forward.

Compounding this problem of competing narratives is the issue of public inquiries. Over the last decade we have seen numerous inquiries into the misdeeds of the British state and we have one ongoing in Dublin over possible collusion between Gardai and the PIRA. While these inquiries have been for many families a necessary component in finding out the truth over events such as Bloody Sunday, they have been generally been derided by Unionists for their cost and length.

Most killing was perpetrated by paramilitaries

But the real problem with inquiries is that they have an almost exclusive focus on the wrongdoings of state actors yet in the case of Northern Ireland the overwhelming amount of killings were done by paramilitary organisations. No person or politician can realistically expect that demanding endless inquires from the British government to heal the wounds of the past. Within the nationalist community, Sinn Fein has led this charge of holding regular audits into British misdeeds. Yet when it comes to their own ranks they seem totally uninterested in facing up to the actions of the Provisional IRA which on their own were responsible for nearly half of the total deaths of the Troubles. If the party wants to be taken seriously on this issue then they need to stop pointing fingers at former foes and look to themselves.

Then there is Unionism, we have today Unionist politicians that are still reluctant to acknowledge discrimination against Catholics throughout the first 50 years of the Northern Ireland state. Aside from David Trimble’s speech in 1998 recognising that the North was ‘a cold house for Catholics’ there has been little reflection within Unionism on this period.  Unionism needs to depart from its hitherto position of the Stormont era as the golden age of good government and accept that in reality it was in many ways a missed opportunity to bring Catholics into the Unionist fold.

Behind each death is a grieving family

The simple reality is that Northern Ireland has no future that is not based on tolerance and mutual respect. The process of truth and reconciliation is in this regard is a necessity if we are ever going to see an end to sectarianism. I do not argue that I have all the answers in how to achieve this goal but I do know that if any progress is to be made then both sides need to address wrongdoings that were committed across the board.

The idea that people will be truthful now may be idealistic but behind each of those 3,529 deaths there are real people, many of whom have been waiting for the truth for far too long and deserve more than having their loved ones consigned to a chapter in a history book.

David McCann is a PhD researcher in Irish politics at the University of Ulster. To read more articles by David for TheJournal.ie click here.

Read: Adams apologises to family of Jerry McCabe and others killed by republicans>

Column: The Troubles may have quietened, but the trauma lives on>

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• mattoid 08/02/13 #

At last, a genuinely balanced article concerning the North.
    Very well written and certainly a change from the usual biased stuff we read, whether leaning towards one side or the other.

• Tom have you ever considered the colonization of the US ? Lands taken from Native Americans by settlers and the even have a big St Patrick’s day march, sorry parade, every year

• Often thought of that and the different outcomes for other countries colonised by various countries. The relatively small populations of the native Americans and the ferocity of the Europeans gave them little chance. Is it just my imagination but is it the case that the countries occupied by Spain and Portugal (Catholic countries) regained their indigenous cultures better than others ?

• “But the real problem with inquiries is that they have an almost exclusive focus on the wrongdoings of state actors yet in the case of Northern Ireland the overwhelming amount of killings were done by paramilitary organisations.”

Have to object to this, though.

There were inquiries into paramilitary activity. They happened in courts throughout the conflict, with many life sentences being imposed.

This notion that there’s somehow a disproportionate focus on state crime seems like apologetics to me – the only difference is that the state gets to wash its dirty linen in howsoever it chooses, exonerating and excusing some, while hanging others out to dray, rather than the guilty parties being dragged before a court and forced to answer.

Having said that, I would, to some extent, be in favour of a truth and reconciliation commission on – it was a dirty war, and nobody’s got clean hands.

• Oppression breeds resistance. Same the world over.

• The colonisation of other people’s lands always ends in trouble. The Protestant population of the Six Counties were given lands belonging to others and feel confused and betrayed.

• Decent article. But the dog’s in the street know the RUC and British army caused the troubles. When you march peacefully for civil rights and are beaten off the road at Burntollet by the state paramilitary police force in conjuction with plained clothes loyalists or murdered by the Parachute regiment in the Bogside the only viable option was armed resistance to state oppression.

• I apologise, I got distracted and did not read the paragraph concerning Unionists.

Incidentally, of the 1000 killings claimed by loyalists, how many were assisted by state forces?

• Completely unbalanced article.

The reason for inquiries into State killings is not because people were killed by state forces, it is because the State (British) has either denied responsibility or involvement in those killings. Or it has said that those killings were in acts of self defence or the killings themselves were never properly investigated by the authorities. As the article states, British state forces were responsible for 360[direct] killings – there isn’t going to be 360 inquiries. Only those killings that fall under the contexts I mention are subject to inquiries.
    As for SF calling for inquiries into IRA killings, is a bit like expecting the Tory party calling for inquiries into British state killings. The only reason inquiries are held is because the British government puts itself forward as the legal authority and under that authority it is illegal to kill someone, and every killing (regardless of who it is) should be investigated properly. Taking the killing of the Gibraltar 3 for instance. The British government has and still regards the IRA as a criminal organisation – there was no war. Therefore, the G3 were just ordinary criminals in the eyes of the state. But by the authority of the State, alleged criminals should be arrested and tried before the courts. Anyone who is familiar with the circumstances of Gibraltar will know that they were unarmed and killed without trial. Such killings occur in war.

• Completely unbalanced comment.

• “The British government has and still regards the IRA as a criminal organisation”, so does the Irish government and most right minded people.

• There was no war the IRA was and are a bunch of criminal murdering thugs.

• Hate to break it to you Patrick, but there was a war. If there wasn’t a war, then why were British soldiers on the streets of the North?

• @Patrick… I am going to ask you a very simplistic question seeming you always participate in topics on here once sinn fein, the North etc etc are mentioned. Forget about the IRA, the recent troubles, Gerry Adams etc for one minute….. do you as a staunch unionist/loyalist accept the fact that the cause of Northern Irelands problems through the years is because of the forced removal of the original Irish off their lands during the plantations and the subsequent brutal policies brought in by a British backed Protestant form of local government over the centuries that degraded Catholics and treated them like second class citizens by refusing them voting rights, jobs, houses and in some cases education?

If you don’t can you explain why not?

• A fairly balanced article.
    I am disappointed that the author did not support the calls and articulate three needs and benefit of an all Ireland Truth and reconciliation program.
    The proposal had the support of republican and loyalists.
    Only the british and Irish governments, refuse to support I the proposals.
    Some anti reconciliation commenters have mentioned cost as a reason, not to carry one out.
    however, maybe through ignorance or some other reasoning, they are under a very incorrect assumption. The forum is relatively inexpensive, compared to the tribunals run in response to party corruption or atrocities like bloody Sunday.

• Maybe Gerry Adams could tell the truth….get the ball rolling so to speak Cal?

• That is purpose of a truth & reconciliation commission. That all participants could come forward and reveal their level of involvements in the conflict. Adams support this.
      As it is there appears to be calls for Adams to tell the truth even when the issue of the day is hospital cuts, Garda cutbacks, new taxes, magdalene laundries etc…etc…

• Conor 08/02/13 #

Even if the calls come at an inopportune time, it would take less than a minute for Gerry to clarify his involvement and then they can get back to everything else!

• Torkeel … ‘The truth will set you free’
      You did not give your opinion on whether or not an all Island Truth and Reconcilliation Program, run on a similar lines to the South African model post apartheid, is the right way to go.
      I do want to see Adams fess up to all the wrongs he perpetrated on innocent victims and their families, in exactly the same manner as all the other leaders (Political or otherwise).
      I do not see any distinction or hierarchy of victims.
      Torkeel, i am guessing by your comment, that you honestly believe the IRA were the only combatants in a war that lasted from 1967 through to 1998… am i right?
      I personally believe that all sides have honest disclosures to make to the victims. When i say all sides, i mean the IRA, INLA, British Army, UVF, UDA, UDR, RUC, Garda Suiochana, British Government, British Army and the Irish Government.
      There were so many wrongs and disgusting acts carried out by all those groupings collectively. To try and say otherwise, is just more of the same rhetorical one-sided intransigent nonsense that will do nothing to help the peoples on this Island move forward.
      Lets face facts, because of the Good Friday Agreement, none of the perpetrators that own to their actions from this period, will face prosecutions.
      So, in my honest opinion, refusing to support this proposal, is to deny the victims the truth about what happened their loved ones. Please note, i have not mentioned any single atrocity in this comment. I do not think spending 100′s of millions to give the truth and some of solace to victims families. The South African Truth and Reconcilliation program cost relatively very little.
      Do we want to be sitting here typing more messages in 30 years about how we should have had this forum when the victims families were still alive?
      Think about the families of the victims of the Magdeline Laudrys etc … How long have they waited to hear an honest “Sorry”.
      I am not being Political when i write this request. Nelson Mandela and Bishop Desmond Tutu have written articles/letters many times on the need for this Island to follow their model. They have offered to facilitate it, if we get agreement on having one.
      Remove the one-sided blinkers and self-preservation mentality and look to what could be achieved by having the Program.
      All victims/survivors and families impacted, can finally start to move on. They wont be instilling their anguish, suspicions and in some case vengeful hatred into the next generation. They will have some peace. Do ALL the victims not deserve that?

• Conor 08/02/13 #

Cal if Gerry is so keen on this idea why doesn’t he set the ball rolling? You don’t need a commission to stand up and tell the truth.

• Conor, once more … If Adams goes off in isolation and makes apologies to each individual victim that resulted from IRA actions, that leaves no onus whatsoever on any of the reset of the combatants from that period.
      Really, i do not see why you think that only Adams needs to give apologies. If all the groups agree to doing the right thing, then ALL the victims can have their day of acknowledgment.
      I wrote a blog last week, within minutes of Adams apologizing for the murder of Gerry McCabe, that while i understood the logic and , i was also extremely fearful of creating a hierarchy of victims… ie only IRA victims deserve apologies..
      By you repeated comment and the comment of Torkeel above, really re-enforces that view. Neither of you have made any suggestion that any other party involved in the troubles should give/lead by example. You have automatically jumped on the band-wagon of the usual rhetoric that only the IRA killed people.
      This is why an Island Truth and Reconcilliation program is so important. ALL the victims deserve their apologies, and as long as there are people like yourself and Torkeel making repeated calls fro only one side to make retribution, the long overdue process cannot get kicked off.

• Conor 08/02/13 #

I think they should all come clean, but there’s no point pontificating from a pulpit that everyone should do it at the same time. Gerry should lead by example and come clean and by doing this encourage others from all sides to do it.

No need for a commission at all, just for one person to take the first step no matter what side of the spectrum he’s on.

• Conor, when Adams made his apology to the McCabe family last week … it had the opposite effect of what you are proposing… It entrenched the Governments view even more that it would be seen to be a surrender, if they gave into the request for a full National Truth and reconciliation program.
      We need to have it agreed … up front, that every victim was equal, and that no one group of victims would be left out, when its being dealt with.
      How would you feel if you were the Mother/Brother/Sister/Son//Daughter of a victim that was being entirely ignored, when other victims were getting some sort of acknowledgement. It would only compound the hurt and distrust. You would be made feel even smaller and more worthless ….
      I am not arguing about Adams needing to fess up… please, i have said this many many times. I am saying, that any apologies need to be done in a manner and forum that will treat all the victims equally… I hope you see where i am coming from

• Conor 08/02/13 #

Just before I’m accused of being anti Sinn Fein, I think that both sides were murderous thugs with delusions of grandeur.

Fair play to him for saying sorry to one persons family, but the fact is both him and every other person involved in the troubles have a lot more to be sorry for.

They should all apologise but that will never happen. If Gerry is serious in his contrite he should apologise for everything else he has done, set an example for the rest of them.

There will never be answers for every family, no matter whether there is a commission for this or that. If Gerry is genuinely sorry he should stand up bravely and apologise for his misdeeds rather than waiting for everyone else to do it with him.

• Cal, you are missing the point slightly. As the author stated, SF are quick to look for truth commissions about others but when it comes to their own…they are silent. I agree, Everybody who was involved in the conflict in Northern Ireland should come out and tell the truth, be they State organisations or paramilitary. Nobody believes Gerry Adams when he says he was not in the IRA or involved in the “Troubles”. He needs to come clean on everything from his involvement in bombings, shootings and the disappeared, then maybe people might start to take him a little more seriously. As I said, why doesn’t he make the first move and tell the truth about his past. It would be a huge leap forward towards trying to right the so many wrongs that happened on every side.
      On another note, I wasn’t aware there was a war in Northern Ireland. A conflict on religious/political lines yes, but not a war.

• An open, internationally mediated, truth process where every organisation involved provides a ‘warts and all’ account is what the shinners have been calling for for years, yet it gets dismissed every time it’s mentioned. The British govt. are particularly against it.

• Why does the Journal continue to give a platform to this bloke?

This article again displays his lack of understanding of conflict on a global scale. State violence is a very different beast to violence used by paramilitaries for a whole host of reasons

The author would do well to pick up any Chomsky book, which, I’d have thought would be the foundational body of work when using the dialectic to discuss state violence Vs paramilitary violence

this might do for starters: http://www.chomsky.info/articles/199112–02.htm

Also, it’s telling that the author omits collusion. How can you expect to be taken seriously and omit that? collusion was basically the British state having the cop on not to commit acts of violence itself for fear of international condemnation and instead assisting loyalists or in most cases giving them free reign to do as they pleased. Ergo plenty of UVF/UDA/LVF attacks were British state violence!

• Freedom of speech – what a terrible concept. It should be mandatory for everybody to support IRA/SF thuggery.

• Not because what he’s saying is “wrong” in mine or anyone else’s opinion, but because he comes to conclusions without using any sort of foundation in political theory, and he’s supposed to be doing a PhD in politics.

He’s just writing what he thinks public opinion wants to hear i.e wishy washy middle of the road liberalism

and besides I don’t know why I’m engaging with you. You’re the biggest odd ball of a troll on here.

Speaking of thugs; you’re like a thug with a keyboard. You contribute nothing and just sh*t stir

• We did Gerry Adams apologise for the murder of Detective Mc Cabe, sure there is no connection between the IRA and SF or have I missed something.

• Pierce, i am surprised you didnt give an opinion on whether or not we need a Truth and reconcilliation program. You jumped in with the other commenters to highlight only the IRAs activities, while very clearly and deliberately ignoring the fact that the IRA were only one single grouping in a very very complex and dirty war.
      Did you know that the IRA murdered 800 civilians? Did you know that the British Army and its paramilitary wings killed almost double that number of civilians?
      When i say civilians, i am talking about non-paramilitary aligned civilians… ie people who did not carry guns or support any type of armed grouping?
      I quote these figures in the hope that while i respect that the IRA must fess up to its activities, to try and single that group out versus the other groups, just ranks of hypocrisy.
      I am directing my comment to you specifically, because, i know for the most part, you seem a reasonable soul.

I genuinely want to know why you keep saying its the IRA and Adams that needs to be singled out for all the murders in the North during this period.
      I also want to highlight to you, that it was the British Paramlilitary wings that planted the first bombs and carried out the first shootings between 1967 and 1969 … before the IRA even commenced their campaign.
      I have never, and will never condone civilian murders. NONE.
      But i will not sit here and read totally one-sided hateful comments directed at a group that was created out of murder and mayhem that was being inflicted on the Irish population in the North for not only years, but decades .
      We need a balanced approach to dealing with the legacy. Calling on one group only to fess up is not going to solve anything… it will only continue to drive the perception that the Irish victims of the conflict are worth less than their Unionist equivalent. I really hope you see what i am trying to get at.

• Cal, I think the ira/sf/uvf/inla et al need firstly to recognise the difference between what are legal actions done by representatives of the government and therefore the people of a Sovereign state and the actions committed by terrorists and thugs.

All perpetrators of illegal actions should be pursued through the courts.

On a sidebar question, I think there are some very good people within the SF organisation, who speak sense and would be good for the country, I just don’t know why they align themselves with what was a mouthpiece for murderers for 40 years.

• Pierce, you deliberately left out state sanctioned terrorism… why? I agree that all the other groups murderd people. But so did the Irish and British. They did not use internationally recognised means to carry out those murders, so, as far as i am concerned, you are deliberately leaving victims out in the cold. I am not talking about IRA members who were killed. If they carry guns, then they know the risks, as did the British Army, RUC, UDR etc…
      Its the civilians that were murdered at the behest/collusion of both Irish and British governments that i have issue with. You are leaving their families out of your entire argument, and i want to know the logic behind it.

• All perpetrators of illegal actions should be pursued through the courts.

I think that covers all of your questions, just because it is sanctioned doesn’t make it legal.

Pursue people through the court system, if you have no luck with national courts try the ones in Europe

• It was as politically expedient for Sinn Fein/IRA to murder during the troubles as it is for them to ‘apologise’ now.
    Ultimately it’s all about power for them. They would go back to terrorism again any time if it suited their needs.

• Equally politically “expedient” for the British government to shoot peaceful civil rights protesters in the streets and the Unionist establishment to impose a deeply unequal, sectarian state by force.

Would people please drop the “it was de ‘Ra wot done it” platitudes, it was a complicated conflict, and nobody’s got clean hands.

• We could all just grow up a little…

• When are the TV stations going stop showing video footage of the sad events in the north of Ireland it is a constant reminder of the troubles and for healing to take place we surly need less of this. By doing this we are not and will never forget the struggle of the people in the north, We need a positive outlook and need to forget the past.

Add New Comment