TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil TD tells Department of Health chief civil servant to quit

“You’re a disgrace as a public official,” thundered Sean Fleming. “You are not fit for office as chairman of the HSE.”

Sean Fleming said the Department of Health's Ambrose McLoughlin (pictured) was unfit to hold a position like the chairmanship of the HSE.

A FIANNA FÁIL TD has told the senior civil servant at the Department of Health – who only took the position six months ago – to resign, telling him he is “a disgrace as a public official”.

Seán Fleming, the party’s public expenditure spokesman, walked out of the meeting of the Public Accounts Committee after Dr Ambrose McLoughlin said he could not answer an early question about the delay in reaching a deal to cut the price paid by the State for prescription drugs.

McLoughlin – who is also the chairman of the HSE, by virtue of his Department position – said he was legally barred from answering questions on government policy. That prompted a furious outburst from Fleming, who then left the meeting.

“You’re a disgrace as a public official,” the Laois-Offaly TD charged.

You are not fit for office as chairman of the HSE. You should resign. You are a disgrace.

I’m leaving this room. I won’t sit here any further, to this charade of a meeting, which is a disgrace to the Oireachtas and to the people of Ireland.

Both McLoughlin and the HSE’s incoming chief executive Tony O’Brien had opened the meeting by expressing unease at how they had received a draft report from the committee yesterday evening, which made regular reference to policy matters they could not discuss.

Committee chairman John McGuinness, of Fianna Fáil, said the draft report was “not a big issue” – and that it had only been sent to McLoughlin and O’Brien so that they could correct any factual errors in it.

Both Labour’s Michael McCarthy and Fine Gael’s Simon Harris expressed regret at Fleming’s behaviour. Harris said on examining HSE figures for July, he could not find a single hospital which was within its budget by that time.

O’Brien said the higher-than-expected attendances at emergency wards, and the larger numbers who are eligible for medical cards, would contribute to about €200 million of the HSE’s deficit.

That deficit, at the end of September, stood at €374 million. It had been €329 million at the end of August.

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• This new party….Fianna Fail? They seem so bright and have all the answers! Why dont we let them run the country? Oh, I forgot! We did …….for a decade and a half!

• Nearly a year ago I pointed out a loophole and flaw in the medical card scheme and in the prescription of drugs. Nothing has been done about it. The HSE don’t seem to care about wasting money in the area of medication. There are obviously vested interests in the Big Pharma area.

• Aimed,what was the loop hole and who did you point it out to?just interested.

• @Richiefett Sorry for delay. For example, if there are 2 items on a prescription and for some reason the person only gets one item, the 2nd item can be put through the system in the pharmacy, even though the person may never get that item. The person receiving the drugs does not have to sign anything. Plus I hear that sometimes people get more medication than they need do to the size that packets come in!

I no longer take their crap medication because when I did my research I found out that there were lawsuits against the makers. I don’t care if doctors call me “non-compliant” or “a’la carte” because they are so brainwashed by Pharmaceutical companies I know that I know more about the drugs than they do and their side effects. Plus I connect to doctors with experience who know what they are talking about.

GPs are grand when it comes to breaking an arm (for example) where they will refer a person for x-rays and physio (if you are lucky). But when it comes to mental health and nutrition they seem to lack basic training. It was actually medication that helped trigger my “disorder” in the first place. In the form of “anti-depressants”/SSRIs. Not that the doctors at the time would tell me that! Pharmaceutical companies hide negative trials and only publish positive ones (see the work of honest Psychiatrist Professor David Healy).

• I wrote to “The Joint Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children initially, but it would have been forwarded onto the relevant people in the HSE, including James Reilly’s office.

• Did Harris actually tell the room to “chillax”…?

• Why oh why oh why, are Oireachtas members still having meetings with civil servants who can’t say anything?

Govt. copping out of answering questions, no wonder tempers are fraying.

This government need to start taking responsibility for their lack of action in certain areas, political reform and HSE included.

• pot kettle black shame on ye all!

• Just watched this outburst on six one. The manner he carried on was highly unprofessional, I doubt he’d have been shouting like that without tv cameras on him. A professional manner would have topped blustering moral posturing

• A bit rich coming from Fleming

• There really are no words capable of describing the depths of irony here. Despite his lack of self awareness his outburst brings to mind Pat Rabitte’s tirade at “Mr Burns” Carey on Primetime all those years ago. Mind you, The Rabitte is doing his level best to be self unaware now so nothing added but time really…

• FF are in no way whatsoever in a position to lecture anyone on being not fit for office….these guys make my blood boil the way they’re trying to arse lick they’re way back to favour. They should never be trusted again..

• mike 09/10/12 #

Ha ha ha…
    Ff and the pds publicly stated it would take years to turn the health service around when they appointed Mary Harney. Now they want heads to role when someone hasn’t cleaned up their mess in 6 months..

• Everybody got told to “Chillax” afterwards though, so I reckon things will be fine. It would appear that Carlton from the Fresh Prince of Bel Air is chairing proceedings, and his dad’s a judge, so he’ll be well fit to keep a lid on things from here on in. That or we hired Alan Partridge in for the day, and he’s well used to dealing with farces like this.

• I loved the “I don’t know that there’s parliamentary language for this, but chillax”. I think the deputy will find, if he really strains his brain, the word he’s looking for is “relax”.

• Fianna Fail playing to the gallery to garner support from the public.The Fianna Fail fight back has started,and sadly it will work too.Most people in this country have the memory span of a goldfish,which suits the gombeen men and women down to the ground.Around and around we go!!!

• coming from a member of the party that bankrupted Ireland 3 times this can only be treated as a joke. I really wish FF would disband.

• At least TDs can be voted out. At least this Td stood up to the ‘untouchables’ in the senior civil service who think they’re accountable to no one. Not exactly a fan of the TD himself either.

• Read the article, civil servants are legally not allowed comment on policy, I assume that is the role of the minister, as civil servants have to work with any and all parties, and their various policies, dependant upon who gets elected.

Now if they ignored those policy directions that is a different matter.

• @Thomas O’Donnell. Civil Servants are not, save in very limited circumstances (see para 2 below), directly accountable to the Oireachtas. That is how the law is framed, and deliberately so. The Secretary General of a Department is accountable to the Minister for the exercise of his/her duties under the Public Service Management Act, 1997. Other civil servants, operating under the authority of the Minister, implement Government policy set by the Minister. And since the function and capacity of civil servants in general is to act in the name of the Minister, it follows that the capacity in which civil servants appear before an Oireachtas Committee (with the exception of the Accounting Officer at the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) – see below) is on behalf of the Minister. Moreover, reflecting the different responsibilities of Ministers and civil servants there is a statutory PROHIBITION on civil servants expressing an opinion on the merits or the merits of the objectives of a particular policy, whether in the Oireachtas, in the media or in any public forum. While civil servants can factually explain existing policies as outlined by Ministers/Government, policy determination is the responsibility of Ministers who are accountable for it to the Oireachtas. This is presumably the reason why Ambrose McLoughlin refused to answer the question put to him by Sean Fleming.

There is, however, as alluded to above, one crucial exception to the rules on accountability of civil servants to the Oireachtas, and that is when the Secretary General of a Department appears before the PAC in his capacity as Accounting Officer (separate from his/her capacity as Secretary-General). In this capacity, he or she is accountable to the PAC in relation to the regularity and propriety of the transactions in the Department’s accounts; the economy and efficiency of the Department in the use of its resources; and the systems, procedures and practices used by the Department for the purpose of evaluating effectiveness (value-for-money). However, in accordance with the general position described above, the terms of reference of the PAC explicitly states that “The Committee shall refrain from…enquiring into the merits of a policy or policies of the Government or a member of the Government or the merits of the objectives of such policies.”

The crux of the issue, therefore, is whether Sean Fleming was questioning McLoughlin on the merits of the Government’s policy or its objectives on prescription drugs or on a purely accounting matter. I haven’t been able to get a hold of the transcript, so am unable to give a view on this.

• FF giving out about the HSE.
    Yeah, because Harney, a former FF member and the last of the PDs in government, did a great job under the last government.

We all know that Reilly is a complete tool, but throwing a hissy fit won’t solve anything.

• Sorry, you lost me after the word “fianna”

• Its just too too late for Fianna Fail to start pretending to care about the country’s wellbeing,

• The posturing the opposition go on with is so parish pump it makes me sick. We have no opposition and previous little government !

• We all know what Fianna Fáil did ad nauseum at this stage so I won’t repeat it, at the same time, we shouldn’t expect any TD or Senator to sit on their hole and say nothing just because of their parties past performance, even if we can’t even get our Taoiseach to engage in anything above primary-school classroom debates. And don’t forget, it’s the same civil servants in the background whoever is in power, making an absolute boll*x of everything, I wouldn’t trust them with a pair of scissors.

• Exactly right Gaius, summed up in one. TDs and ministers are just the faces of the system thats always there

• Gaius

Can you contribute anything on this site without being foul mouthed . It clearly shows some form of educational ,intellectual or social deficit. Indeed it is even more likely that the three are involved .
      Wash your mouth out.

• FFS Paddy. Chillax!

• FartBox 09/10/12 #

give paddy Rodgers a saucer of milk, he’s clearly having a bad day :-D

• He made clear valid points Paddy, unlike you. I agree with him in that regard. You however have nothing to say, obviously.

• @Gaius: It is simply ridiculous to generalise that civil servants are making “an absolute boll*x of everything”. Just as it would be ridiculous to state that all private sector workers or all bank workers in the country screwed up our country. If you can’t rise above such cheap generalisations, then better to stay quiet.

Civil servants, despite the perception cultivated by Yes Minister, do not form policy. That is the Government’s job. Some have clearly been better than others. Most civil servants are people around you, people who seek to do a good job; many are deeply patriotic people, who could be earning a lot more in the private sector (yes, even in this time of recession). Yes, there are civil servants who under-perform, and probably more than there should be, and they should be sanctioned (and this is increasingly happening).

• Ambrose McLoughlin’s last job was CEO of the pharmacy regulator. It became a bloated organization of tick boxers while he was there. It will never spot a Harold Shipman type case because they are busy chasing trivial stuff and making a big deal about it. Let’s see how he does in the DOH?

• I think its Mr Flemming’s grandstanding that is “a disgrace to the Oireachtas and to the people of Ireland” – regardless of his party affiliations. Questions certainly need to be asked, and answers given, so if Mr. McLoughlin was unable to deal with the questions being asked because of being legally barred from doing so, then surely the correct route to take would be to put the questions to someone who is not so legally restricted. Throwing a fit-of-outrage in sheer frustration is hardly what we expect from our elected representatives. If they can’t get answers who can? Why pay them to sit on committees?

• So many fake names on here my god why afraid to post under own name ???

• let’s just get the facts right here… who is in power is pretty irrelevant… it’s the civil servant pictured here and his fellow colleagues who sit and give the Irish electorate the two fingers….
    I’m not arsed who fires the shot at the civil servant but it’s bloody high time the irish electorate figured out the real disease in the system and held these civil servants to account……
    The pharmacy industry knows that if they have these puppets in the bag then they don’t need to worry about the come and go TD,s…
    these smug buggers represent exactly why Ireland is stuck with the Croke park deal and every other useless quango we are feeding millions into and getting only out of date reports back off….
    this country needs someone to drive a coach and horses straight through the corps of civil servants and start to rescue the Irish state from the utter wrack and ruin it finds itself in today……
    I’m off…..

• Right on. Let’s not forget that there are 300,000 of them and they cost 13 billion Euro. Every year. No wonder we’re bust.

• @Eggfuel: “The real disease in the system” is the current electoral system which perpetuates a culture of cronyism and local gombeen politics. Civil servants are not faultless – some are undoubtedly lazy, some are undoubtedly incompetent, just like in the private sector – but they implement policy set by the Government, i.e. the politicians. In this case, the civil servant was perfectly right to refuse to engage on a matter of Government policy. In fact, he was legally compelled to refuse, on the basis of laws made by the same politicians, for right or for wrong.

• Sorry predictive type and porter collide! I meant precious little government, as in poor rather than small. Too many bog arabs mouthing and posturing with zero social conscience or understanding and less care for what politics should really be about !

• Successive govts obviously have struck a deal with all the pharmaceutical companies to keep prices high otherwise they’d all be gone to the far east by now!!!!!!!! And the country would be rightly baahhhhaall luck sed !!!

• Isn’t it sad that this country hasn’t got a political party that’s actually fit to govern it. If there were an election tomorrow, I genuinely wouldn’t have a clue who to vote for. Even independents and small parties like Joe Higgins crowd have proved themselves to be no better than the mainstream crowd when the heat’s applied! How in gods name did it ever come to this?

• Maybe run for election yourself Roddy.

• Both Labour’s Michael McCarthy and Fine Gael’s Simon Harris expressed regret at Fleming’s behaviour.

Two obscure brown-nosers!

• Pat 09/10/12 #

So now for reasons unknown to anyone but themselves the “civil servants” are deliberately wrecking the country cause they can and for the great personal benefit they accrue
    queue the massive salary and pensions floodgate of comments

Add New Comment