TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

‘Shameful day’ as child deaths report ‘signifies our societal failure’

There has been plenty of reaction to a report which examined the deaths of 196 children and young people in contact with State services between 2000 and 2010.

Image: Jesse Milan via Flickr

Update 6.30pm

AN INDEPENDENT REPORT into the deaths of nearly 200 children in the care system between 2000 and 2010 has been described as harrowing and shocking by interest groups reacting to its publication today.

The long awaited report by the Independent Child Death Review Group which examined 196 cases of a child or young person dying while in contact with the care system over a decade found that many were not given adequate protection.

The report called for wide-ranging reform of Ireland’s child protection system as it identified 112 deaths which came about as a result of non-natural causes while 84 deaths were a result of natural causes.

“At its core, the Child Death Review report signifies our societal failure to prioritise children, particularly those most vulnerable to significant harm. It has been said time and again that children have been voiceless in Ireland for far too long,” Barnardos chief executive Fergus Finlay said today.

He said that the report offered a chance to build on positive steps made in recent years to support the needs of children and young people in Ireland and said that the reform of child welfare and the Children’s Rights referendum could not be put off any longer.

He added: “We need a system that is accountable, where everyone is responsible and where clear management structures support the very difficult work that social workers do.

“The most vulnerable children and young people in our society have been too far down our list of priorities for too long.”

The Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children said that the report added to the “shameful neglect and abuse of children” that was identified in the Ryan Report in 2009 and showed that there was “even more systemic failure” identified in this report.

“This failure was not in a bygone era but in the booming years of the Celtic Tiger where money was plentiful but change was not,” the ISPCC said.

Ashley Balbirnie, the ISPCC chief executive, added: “This is a sad, shameful day. Nearly 200 children died showing we still haven’t learnt from the litany of reports published in the last two decades.

“The HSE, the Agency responsible for the care of these vulnerable children, was born on building blocks of crisis management.

“This approach has failed the nation’s children and cannot be allowed to continue. It is time to put children first and ensure we do our utmost as a society to protect vulnerable children.”

At a political level the Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children has said it will hold an urgent meeting with Children’s Minister Frances Fitzgerald tomorrow following the publication of the report.

Committee chairman Jerry Buttimer said: “This report is shocking, makes for grim reading and is a wake-up call for how, as a society, we look after vulnerable children and youths.”

Fianna Fáil, whose former minister Barry Andrews commissioned the report, said that the publication of the it was “a sad day for Ireland” in the words of its spokesperson Charlie McConalogue.

“These problems did not begin when Barry Andrews commissioned this independent review, and they will not end now that the report has been published,” McConalogue said today.

“Right now in cities and towns across Ireland, there are vulnerable young people in homes and on the streets at risk in the same way as the children in this report.”

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams said that the report was a “serious indictment” of child protection systems in the State, adding that it was “deeply shocking” that so many died while in the care or in contact with the State at the “height of the Celtic Tiger”.

He added that it was important that the new Child and Family Support Agency, which is due to be established next year, has the “necessary financial and personnel resources to deal with this very important issue.”

Read: Deaths of many children in care ‘may have been preventable’, report finds

More: ‘Harrowing’ report find deaths of some children in State care were preventable

More: Report on deaths of children in State care shows ‘systemic failure’

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• We are in no position to lecture to previous generations about child abuse for in many respects, under our stewardship, child abuse has become more prevalent.nnChildren are being born every day to growing numbers of drug addicted, amoral, dysfunctional parents. Our children must contend with increasing levels of bullying, drug availability, alcohol abuse, pornography, suicide, depression and family break-up in their lives. They are being sexualised by the media at an earlier age and, worryingly, are themselves perpetrating sex crimes. They are engaging in underage sex and drinking themselves to oblivion in fields every weekend. They are meeting their end prematurely as a result of drug taking. They are becoming members of violent drug gangs and are involved in drug dealing and murder in their early teens. Through lack of discipline they are answerable to nobody and are assaulting their parents, neighbours, gardai, teachers and care workers. The medical profession are feeding them tablets for so called ‘ADHD’ and ‘ODD’. Our children are victims of an increasingly dangerous,amoral and abusive society created by so called ‘liberal’ adults. There is no freedom for children anymore. Parents must struggle to preserve their children’s innocence.nn If we really cared about our children we would create a society that is fit for them. Children need boundaries and support provided through strong families, strong communities and discipline. The liberal experiment has failed.

• I just cannot fathom how this happened but furthermore how in gods name has it gone this far without being addressed.

• It’s not too hard to fathom. Let’s take an example. There are houses around the country where the HSE care for a number of troubled youths. Let’s say you work there and you notice one of the kids leaving. You follow them out and they are heading towards a black Honda Civic with a junkie looking fella at the wheel. What exactly do you do?

The HSE have their failings like any other organisation but the majority of blame for these kids deaths should be put on their parents. They are the ones that damaged them. They are responsable for them being placed in care. They are the ones that have failed.

• Damn those junkie-loaded black Honda Civics lol

about as subtle as a wrecking ball with your classism here. Why don’t you just say it? you don’t like poor people

• Plenty of good parents who work within limited means. Wealth doesn’t improve parenting.

• I was referring to your insinuation that “junkie looking” fellas who drive Honda Civics must be dangerous

I thought judging the character of the “underclass” by their get-up and physical appearance was something confined to the realms of mid-19th century pseudo-science. Obviously I was wrong.

• Fair point Seanbeag. But the situation you talk about no doubt happened. But how does that account for 196 times.

• My understanding is that it is 196 cases over 10 years and that not all of them were in full time care. Some were the victims of violence and accidental deaths. Some committed suicide. These are things that happen to all children, no matter whose care they are in. It’s easy to read a report and say something could have been done to prevent such deaths but it doesn’t always translate into reality. Do you take the children from bad parents straight away or do you give them a chance to change? Do you lock the children up for their own safety or try and give them some freedom and hope they will be responsable? Social workers face very hard decisions when dealing with these issues, decisions I wouldn’t wish on anyone, and they can’t always make the right ones, no matter what policy is set out.

• @Kerron with the silly last name. Junkie looking fellas in Honda civics are bad news…Seanbeg is right. Maybe you should invite them all over to your place for the weekend and let us know how it goes….

• These kids are so damaged before they get put in care- the parents need to shoulder most of the responsibility. As the saying goes, you need a licence to own a dog…

• Like all the scandals that have and are going on in this country …. Nobody will be brought to justice.

• This is disgraceful and we need to have a response from the HSE that is transparent and addresses how they intend to improve the situation, given the current cutbacks which are in danger of making things worse. However, we need to be careful that we don’t end up with the HSE being so afraid of negative publicity that they don’t intervene as often as they should.

Incidentally, does Gerry Adams ever listen to himself. The idea of him criticising others for not protecting children after the decades when he regarded innocent children as acceptable casualties in the name of a cause is grotesque.

• We need a proper working group with the right people to find a way to help troubled kids. This doesn’t mean a bunch of overpaid politicians and consultants. Teachers, counsellors, gardaí and medical practionioners. These are the people that deal with the children face to face and see the failing in the system. These are the peope who see the trouble they are in. These are the people that can help if given the right powers and resources. It should be taken out of the hands of the HSE and put in the hands of an agency solely dedicated to child protection.

• Nothing that happens in this excuse for a democracy shocks me anymore! We employ some of the highest paid public servants in the world, and it seems that not one of the self serving bastards will ever be held accountable! It’s a massive Kip we live in, and I’d leave tomorrow if only I could!

• The standard HSE response to its scandalous failures is the repetitive apologies and the ‘Helpline.’ It seems that the HSE believes that setting up a helpline after the harm has been done is good enough!

Can anyone say how many HSE helplines there have been set up in the last 5 years?

Maybe they should just keep the helpline open on a permanent basis and forget about their normal function.

• louise 20/06/12 #

Hse is a farce paper pushers

• Even in ur own house u cannot sometimes protect people especially wayward teenagers from themselves.if u over protect them u are curtailing their rights to freedom and freedom then becomes neglect.very thin line with difficult kids.

• 6 children under the age 1 died, unfathomable

The majority of children in the review did not receive an adequate child protection service, it may be a very thin line with difficult kids but these children were meant to be rceiving specialised care.

Almost the HIQA reports on child care services particularly in the area of high support and special care units are damning – year in, year out. Nothing changes for people who don’t have basic constitutional rights.

The Childrens Referendum is needed now

• How many children died in Ireland in those 10 years? What proportion of children were in care during those years? nnI’m not trying to be flippant, but I’d be interested in seeing some control statistics before letting moral outrage fly at the HSE.

• Statistics may make the deaths of children in care more palatable to some but juggling tghe reason for child deaths cannot ever explain the scandalous failure of the HSE to carry out its statutory duty to the children it failed to properly care for.. The HSE deserves ‘moral outrage’ – and legal outrage for failure in its statutory duty.

• My point though, without having any stats to hand, is whether the HSE can be expected to be any more vigilant than parents regarding drugs, suicide and other complex issues which affect children. nnYou can’t watch a teenager all the time, and a mixed up kid can still go on a destructive path, despite the best intentions of a foster parent, social worker, doctor or whoever. nnI guarantee that there won’t be one person involved in any of these cases who hasn’t thought ‘I could have done more’, but sometimes we just don’t know what that more is.nnThat’s why I’d like some control information. It think it’s disingenuous to use this to bash the HSE as some sort of uncaring bureaucracy that ignores troubled kids. These are the most troubled of cases, and they should be studied to improve processes, not as a means to beat up the frontline workers. I work a 9 to 5 that never improves lives – these people bring the troubles of others into their own lives and we shouldn’t be so quick to judge them on these cases that are at the very fringe of social and mental well being.

• Spot on TJD. Tell it like it is!

• I cannot see how this can be described as a “societal failure”. No more than the failing health service, education system, criminal justice system, financial regulation and economic governance is due to the negligence of society but of the state.
    It’s a bit rich Finlay blaming society for the states negligence.
    In the areas of tax collection and filling their own pockets, the state does not appear to have any deficiencies.
    Its high time society began to look past the state for solutions as the state clearly lacks the competence to responsibly meet it’s duty of care in these areas.

• it is the fault of society. Our drinking culture has spread to children. Where you around on Paddys Day? People afraid to go near town because of 12 and 13 year olds puking all over the place. As a society we tolerate and encourage massively excessive alcohol abuse and then want to blame someone when a kid gets alcohol poisoning?

Of course the HSE can’t cope, this is a new phenomenom in Irish society. No personal responsability. If a kid gets bad test results, blame the teacher. If he gets drunk, blame the off licence. If he gets arrested, blame the Gardaí.How is a government organisation supposed to overcome that level of reckless upbringing?

• “New phenomenem”?? There has been a drinking culture in Ireland for centuries. What’s new is that many people don’t care much for their own kids. Not to mind the welfare of relations or neighbours kids because that’s what the state gets paid to do.
      We have half a million people unemployed. Yet we have the state unsuccessfully attempting to reinvent the wheel. Trying to do, in it’s own incompetent way, what communities across Ireland did successfully for centuries. Look after the most vulnerable in society.

• But Sean.. Have we demanded transparency and a better system- NO!!!! the status qou exists and thus we are part of that as a so called democracy

• Doesn’t stand up Nigel.
      Irish communities and families have survived famine, oppression, discrimination, wars and now are disintegrating thanks to an all-knowing, interfering, busybody, incompetent state. While communities are expected to sit back, unemployed and looking on.
      Tragic system.

• Died in Care? What sort of Care?? The couldn’t Care less kind…????

• The hse is a disgrace !!!! And parenting skills in this country are a disgrace !! Woman who have drug addictions, who are involved in violent relationships , who are alcoholics, who think that it’s ok to allow there children to do what they like , young teens drinking , taking drugs and having underage sex is all the parents fault !! Its no wonder there are some many child deaths when the parenting of a lot of children is just plain neglectful !!! parents should be blamed and punished severely and the hse needs to be taken apart And fixed because it dose Notting at all to help children who by no fault of there own are born into these family’s that care more about there drinking and drugging lifestyle then they do about there kids !!! This country has big big problems and our government and health board are useless pack of good for Notting arseholes who are more concerned about protecting greedy bankers then they are of protecting our children !!!

• While the previous government was shouting to the world about how great we were and our Celtic cod economy,they were simultaneously turning a blind eye to this scandalous scenario !
    The HSE said today, only, that certain people had been ‘disciplined ‘ on foot of the report .. That probably means they got a slap on the wrist and 100 lines,knowing the accountability and justice in our public system!!
    Shame on all who had any responsibility at any point from HSE to government .. Shame on you

• I would say it was more likely agency workers who weren’t even involved with the specific case.

Certain people had been disciplined doesn’t essentially translate the people involved been disciplined – HSE speak can be diffcult to translate!

• If these sad deaths had taken place in Church run schools everyone would be calling for the banishment of every priest, nun and bishop from this country but as they have taken place in State run care them seems to me to be double standards- where is the statement from the Taoiseach in the Dail, where are the calls for resignation?
    I am horrified at what took place in Church run institutions- it’s seems that the State run institutions are just as bad!
    We will ever learn???

• This is another example of how opinions in law allow some people to commit crimes and hide the evidence. I would suggest that this report is incomplete.

Anybody using opinions in law can hide the evidence / details and incapacitate the system of so called justice.

Those employed in law who did nothing about the systematic use of opinions to do harm to the Irish People over the decades should be dealt with.

The very same people and culture still exist in using opinions to steal from Social Welfare Recipients. I wonder what it would take to end the use of opinions in Irish Law.

Add New Comment