TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Sinn Féin to hold protest over Government funding cut for Dublin City Council

A protest will be held outside City Hall at 6pm tomorrow in response to the decision of the Minister for Local Government to reduce funding for the Council based on the level of Household Charge collection.

Phil Hogan in the mailing room of the Household Charge Bureau in Dublin inMarch
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN IS to hold a protest tomorrow outside the monthly meeting of Dublin City Council in response to the decision of the Minister for Environment, Community and Local Government Phil Hogan to reduce funding for the Council based on the level of Household Charge collection.

Sinn Féin’s Mícheál Mac Donncha described the move as “an attack by the Fine Gael/Labour Government on local services for the citizens and communities of Dublin City”.

Sinn Féin Councillor Mícheál Mac Donncha, chairperson of the Council’s Finance Committee, said: “In 2011 Dublin City Council was allocated €60.2 million from the Local Government Fund which is disbursed centrally by the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government. In Budget 2012 this was reduced to €54.8 million.”

“Now the Council has been told by Minister Hogan’s Department that this is further reduced to €50.1 million. And the minister has directly linked the reduction to the level of collection of the Household Charge in Dublin Cit… It is outrageous for a minister to slash the funding for local government in mid-year, significantly reducing the allocation signalled at the start of the year. It typifies the slash and burn approach of this Government.”

Sinn Féin is to table an emergency motion at the monthly meeting of Dublin City Council on Monday 3 September, reading:

In light of the impending financial crisis facing Dublin City Council and local authorities throughout this State, Dublin City Council calls on the Minister for Environment, Community and Local Government Phil Hogan TD to reverse the cuts in the Local Government Fund and restore adequate funding for local democracy and the provision of Council services to our citizens and communities.

We deplore the Circular from the Minister’s Department to all local authorities announcing further reductions in the Local Government Fund and linking reductions of funding for individual Councils, including Dublin City Council, to the level of collection of the inequitable and uncollectible Household Charge. We call for the replacement of the Household Charge with reformed, equitable taxation based on ability to pay and we warn against the imposition of a further unjust charge based on the market value of homes and without regard to ability to pay.

- Cllrs Larry O’Toole, Críona Ní Dhálaigh, Anthony Connaghan, Séamus McGrattan, Mícheál Mac Donncha.

The protest will be held outside City Hall at 6pm on Monday 3 September

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Philip Hogan emerges out of hiding, to put his two big feet further into the mire of ineptness !

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Saw him yesterday..he wasn’t hiding…

He has rather large sized shoes thou so you could be correct there…fair play -some bit of substance in an other wise bland comment that lacks of any substance really…

• Agreed. If their is one Minister above all else can screw up the electoral chance of this Govt. It is Phil Hogan. He would fit perfectly in any FF gombeen cabinet of the last 30 years. Whatever you think of the tax, charges etc. He is a disaster waiting to happen and he’ll be gone before the locals, either having to resign in disgrace over something stupid or be sacked.

• Ireland is a high tax country when they are all added up. Higher than many of the Social democracies in Europe, where the best of everything is laid out, hospitals, roads,school facilities. They get something in return.

All we get is crap and emigration. The people at the top get tax breaks and loop holes, they get preferential treatment in the courts, they are cosseted by the state and protected from every mistake they make.

We have to put up with over paid incompetents like Phil here, and even if you are a true blue FG’er you had to admit he is crap at his job. We have to tolerate Sean Fitzpatrick swanning around safe in the knowledge that he calls the shots. He didn’t have Cowen carrying his golf bag for no reason at Druids Glen. He was making a statement, about who was boss of who.

We’re sick of being robbed, we’re sick of seeing our tax money go to the same sodding few time after time and then having to listen to them complain about people not pulling their weight because they are looking after their friends. If people can see that we are all in it together, then we’ll take the pain lying down and quiet but you can’t expect people not to be pssd off when it is done like this.

• Hang on a moment. Please don’t treat me like the idiot you are . Sinn Fein lords it over local charges in Northern Ireland and then incite citizens of the Republic to break the law by not paying the Household Charge which is about the cost of three ink cartridges. When the Local Authority doesn’t receive all the funds anticipated because of the totally undemocratic behaviour of Sinn Fein the everybody else is to blame. The electorate must be a bunch of gombeens to accept that dishonesty.
      And all of this after the Clare Daly dishonesty.
      Please spare me!

• Jesus Mick, can you not put your point across without resorting to insults? It says very little for your maturity and your intelect.

• European Socialists believe everyone should pay.
    Irish Socialists believe somebody else should pay.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

But the European socialists are wrong too…everybody is wrong except these people!!! Tis funny they contradict themselves so so much…all to get out of paying up and contributing…the very building blocks that socialism was built upon…

• Looks like you haven’t figured out who caused this mess yet or maybe you have… you just dont give a shit .

European bureaucrats believe the innocent should pay

• Irish Socialists should be honest and stop referring to themselves as left-wing and/or socialists, as they are nothing of the sort; rather they are a strange mid of anarchism ( any definition is in flux and can BMW redefined at every moment, all support to the state is suspect as possibly illegitimate ) and neo-feudalism ( rather than aiming to reduce unemployment, we will raise the welfare class to the level of a new upper class, a lewisite class who, while not wealthy, are sacrosanct and beyond question, criticism or reform ). I am 62 years old, And I consider myself a socialist of the “old school”, although I haven’t been politically active since the early 1990s. The current left-wing that are active in Ireland today are an embarrassment, with their emphasis on anti-intellectualism and blatant populist posturing. As an opposition they aid the current government through their incompetence at having a basic political ideology.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Oh god…more guff…explain how we are going to get out of this mess so? Without the usual “everyone is against us” please?

• Mick 02/09/12 #

@ Nikolas..well said..they don’t know the meaning of socialism any more…

• Mick 02/09/12 #

@ Nikolas…well said..they don’t know the meaning of socialism any more

• There’s an opening in the Socialist Party Nikolas maybe you could shake things up.

• Not a chance. I’m neither ambitious or deluded enough. I bowed out of active politicking when a vast number of former Socialists states chose not to continue to be socialist. A slap in the face for my beliefs, but I’m not going to argue with what the majority of a nation clearly decides.

• You can post as much right-wing vile as you like all you conservatives, but no one is taking the bait. You cannot hide your ratings.

• Tim is always a great example of what I was talking about. Thanks for the help, Tim!

• Sorry? So the gambling banks, the bondholders – excuse me, UNSECURED bondholders – the wealthy who spend millions on long bets.. these people should not be held accountable and responsible for their actions?

We should bail them out and continue to create deductions that only the wealthy are applicable to? And Edna Kenny is so awesome that he deserves a €10k increase, putting his salary nearly 30% higher than the next highest leader in any other country? Are you f-n cracked??

• Love the way commentators all refer to SF standing over charges in the North but protesting charges in the south.I have family in the north,they are provided with actual services for their charge.Our taxes in the south funded the services we recieve,obviously the cost outways the income.But before the citizen is hit reform must happen, costs cut.If reform and cost cutting is not targeted,this charge will be more waste taking from alot of people who can ill afford it.

• O'Reilly 02/09/12 #

Norman, the money isn’t there anymore. To say we already pay is to deny reality. There’s less people working, less companies employing. A vicious circle. And the same amount of people using the services now as in the boom. Move on…

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Tell them to give up the fags, or if they won’t to at least buy ones that they’ve pay paid tax on…tell them to hand back their sky dish, maybe stop spending their money down the pub or bookies. If they did all of the above they could afford to pay. They would also be more productive in work-and make more money, or if they don’t have work they would now have more time to look for work…simple!

• mcbab 02/09/12 #

EVERYTHING in the north is subsidised by the British taxpayer. Let’s see how they would cope without that.

• The people up the north have it easy when it comes to financing the state, the mainland UK is paying for them.

• O Reilly where do you propose people that have no more to give it?
      @Mick i’m not your friend so don’t address me as such,considering your response i’m proud not to be.Generalise much?

• Mcbab couldn’t respond to any comment you make.Calling a child names lowers a person in my eyes making them unworthy of my attention.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Ah Norman, don’t be like that…I want to be friends…I promise from now on I won’t question peoples views when they are economically challenged and childish…I promise I will just read the tabloids and regurgitate them here..sure why would one read the details about things? I promise to do all this to be like u xxxx

• @mick if they gave up all that to afford the HHC the govt. would probably lose money because of our ridiculous levels of VAT!

• Perhaps if people had paid the HHC?

• Mick 02/09/12 #

True, very true…can’t have it both ways…oh sorry these people think you can!!!

• Perhaps if there was a fair and comprehensive progressive tax system that was laid down in the first place that didn’t ask someone who is scraping by from week to week, to pay the same as a millionaire – they might have considered it?

Perhaps if people saw their politicians lead by example – You know, Phil Hogan paying his service charges in Portugal… or Irish politicians as a whole taking a pay-cut which reflected the cuts on the rest of society.

Or perhaps the public are afraid of entering the system, because they know down the line – the cost of the household tax is going to dramatically increase to unsustainable levels.

Perhaps if people didn’t see our Government hand over billions to unnamed, ungauranteed bondholders – where they would actually see their extra tax being invested into public services – rather than seeing the complete opposite with cuts in them in an effort to handle private unsustainable debt?

Ah but sure, what do details matter? Just pay up – good a good citizen.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Some who is scraping by isn’t paying the same as a millionaire…don’t be making yerseleves look silly with comments like that….unless you can back it up?????

• …Hmmmm, how do they fund council services in NI, surely Sinn Fein could suggest something similar in ROI…..oh wait…

• Why don’t SF protest in NI out of curiousity?

• “Some who is scraping by isn’t paying the same as a millionaire”

Yes they are. The current household charge is a flat tax, irrespective of one’s actual income.

• €600 million bondholder payment to Anglo Irish Bank tomorrow. Wake up people…

• Rank hypocrisy from SF again.

They encouraged people not to pay for local services, and now complain about the cuts that are due to their actions!

Yet in NI Ireland where they control many councils they are happy to charge homes ?1,000 each

• Could you only imagine the dishonesty the fraud and the appalling International relations never mind the closing down of all inward investment if that pack EVER helped to form an Administration.

• If that ever happened Mick, most normal people would just leave.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Figures and policies don’t stack up…maybe they will rob a bank or something to get all the money they need for their policies…as long as its not our banks they rob I suppose….no wait…they have history there too…

• You are aware of the services people in the north recieve for their charge, water and bins to name but two.

• The level of services that they get in the North is much higher than here, we’ll get sfa for this and well you know it. By the time FG dole this money out to themselves and their friends their will be very little left.

As if FG have all off a sudden been converted to acting for the national good and have become honest managers of public funds. Pull the other one.

• Ah Irish tax payer, your ignorance is unreal. They may pay a charge in the north but they have No School books or school transport costs in the North
      Both of these costs are covered in the rates charge paid by residents in the North, as well as no bin charges, NO water charges, cheap car tax, NO hospital 0r A&E charges, No road tolls, NO prescription charges, No house hold charge ( as a separate cost). Parks , lighting, ambulance, , High spec leisure centres. So who’s better off those paying a flat rate, or those paying for these services as separate charges. I have a feeling us in the south would gladly pay the rates amount paid in the north, as long as we got the services they get.

• mcbab 02/09/12 #

I’d say you protesters could arrange to meet in a phone box. You’d all fit in! Some of us have jobs to do.

• Ya couldn’t make it up. They said don’t pay cause it doesn’t actually go to local gov. So people didn’t pay. And now local govs not getting any money cause they didn’t pay. So now they’re holding a protest…technically, against themselves…#howdumbcanyoube

• mcbab 02/09/12 #

Norman get over yourself ! Couldn’t care less if you respond or not. BTW didnt know shinner was a dirty word. Thought you were all puffed up and proud. No worse than Brit I would think? Will let you in on a secret saw a similar comment about the kid on Broadsheet and thought it good. They are much more laid back on Broadsheet. Wouldn’t suit you at all!

• pt 2 … dam touch screen phone ..

they like to say no .. just so they can be heard to say no and offer very little as an alternative …..

• I’m surprised SF haven’t had a protest about the lack of protests about just saying no to everything … They like

• mcbab 02/09/12 #

Just pay people. Join the real world.

• I will not throw good money after a corrupt, overpaid government and public sector.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Snore, go to another country Tim…ur not needed here if you don’t contribute

• toorkeel 02/09/12 #

As you have stated before Tim Tim you don’t agree with paying taxes so don’t worry about it….you surely still have a few Northern Bank notes squirreled away to keep you ticking over until the next bank…post office…cash in transit van etc etc…I could go on….

• Mick,

Unlike you, I do not post under a pseudonym. I am not going to another country and I don’t have to. Why should I either. There are 600,000 other people who would dwarf you in that opinion. It’s not like any of the conservative Blueshirts can do the math, it’s their eternal ignorance of the situation that makes them do dumb to their showing in the polls if early elections happen.

• I think it is unfair to criticise Sinn Féin; they are not the brightest of people – if they were they would not be members of Sinn Féin.

• Breaking News – ‘Sinn Fein in protest over cuts to government funding ‘ … Shocker. Eddie, it’s ineptitude not ineptness, though the point regarding Phil Hogan is valid .

• Breaking news if someone doesn’t protest over cuts then after awhile one would think we actually enjoy them ..silence in itself is a form of endorsement ..dont worry if Sinn Fein do manage to get something for the people due to protest then eveyrone will benefit even you Neil how great that would be eh…

• Hey Brend. How about you and SF pay their way – then everyone will benefit…

• Any bill comes in my door gets paid straight away O’Reilly now if the ESB tried to bill me twice for the same thing then out of respect for myself id have to say that’s not on and bang that bill in the bin .Just imagine telling someone you had no problem paying twice for the same thing they’d be calling the doctor and id be encouraging them.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Tell me, wat are you paying twice for? Water? Nope, successive governments subsidised this down thorough the years….u did nor pay for it….household charge…we weren’t paying that either…now we have to pay because we have an overpaid civil service and because the FF led government messed up the whole country… Now tell me, what are you double paying for again????

• Mick curious where did “successive governments”get the money to pay for water,it wouldn’t have been from the taxpayer now would it?

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Successive governments my friend borrowed borrowed borrowed….that’s where they got it from…can’t keep doing that…

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Oh hold on, ye people don’t understand nor want to understand balancing books and the likes because it’s realty and kind of goes against yer take all but give nothing attitude…I shouldn’t have bothered!!!

• Mick 02/09/12 #

And my friend borrowing means paying back which we are doing at the minute so no, you can’t have your free water any more, and free money to those that won’t find a job will have to be cut…and the croke park agreement will need to be thrown out…because we cannot keep borrowing borrowing borrowing…

• Hey O’Reilly,
      I pay my bills. How about the banks, unsecured bondholders, the wealthy, and YOU pay your own bills?

Add New Comment