TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Spar investigates alleged homophobic incident at Dame Street store

Two men have claimed they were abused after kissing in the shop over the weekend.

File photo (the store has since been renovated and extended)
Image: Google Streetview

SPAR IRELAND SAYS it is investigating an alleged incident of homophobia at a Dublin store last weekend.

In a statement to TheJournal.ie, Spar Ireland said it was aware of the allegations, noting that the Dame Street shop is “independently owned and operated”.

The retail chain has been inundated with social media messages over the past 20 hours after a man alleged he was abused in the store because of his sexuality.

He claimed that while in the Spar on the corner of Dame Street and Georges Street, he kissed another man before being told by security personnel to “take it back into the George, you f****ts”.

The George is a well-known gay bar in the locality.

There have also been allegations of physical harm but it is unclear from the initial message who the alleged attackers were.

Spar has been replying to messages on Facebook and Twitter, stating it is investigating the incident fully.

A spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that they were currently working with the store owner, the Gardaí and the private security company to “establish the facts of the alleged incident”.

However, he added:

Spar Ireland prides itself on respect for all regardless of gender, nationality, colour, creed, or sexual orientation and abhors any action that contravenes that.

The firm has also issued a statement on its Facebook page, noting the concern from other customers and Irish residents.

It added that while the investigation is ongoing, “it is important that we all respect the requirement for due process”.

Integration Centre calls for legislation on hate crimes as racism figures rise

Read next:

Comments (187 Comments)

• I’ve seen a LOT of people on their Facebook page claiming that they’ll never shop in another Spar ever again – not the way to go lads, don’t punish the other staff for one stupid man’s ignorance.

• Barry 29/01/13 #

Very true,
      At a guess I’m thinking the “I’ll never shop in a spar again” type stuff is being said in order to prompt action from Spar.

Although Spar don’t own the shop they could if the investigation finds such an incident did happen strip the shop of all the Spar branding/licensing I’d imagine,

• I was asked to leave that shop before for holding my partners hand. It was a Mauritius manager who started shouting at us. Just left and went to centra

• I’ve been in that spar at 2am once myself and saw the security guy physically and aggressively remove two drunk lads – for what, I have no idea. So yes perhaps that particular spar needs to address some of its staff.

But I’ve seen a lot of people making ridiculous claims that they’re going to march in to their local spar and tell them off for being homophobic. Come on now.. really?!

• peter 29/01/13 #

I see a lot more goes on under the tree at spar…..a homophobic security guard now there’s a thing.

• Never shop in a Spar again in Ireland? You’d go hungry pretty quickly.

• The next time I go in there I’m goin to ride the missus under the tree.

• There should a mass gay Kissathon in the shop. That’d really annoy the homophobes! :)

• @barry cummins – With you leaving Spar to go to Centra makes it easier for the lines of him to take is bigotry back to Mauritius!
      I have noticed with this same Spar store that it is over run by Muslims and Christians.
      By them calling someone a ‘faggot’ etc to me is the equivalent of burning their Qur’an.
      Live and let live and I think Spar owe this couple an apology as do the security company who employed this homophobic hound!

• Christians don’t actually read the Qur’an, Boy Russell. And how do you tell by looking at the staff who’s a Christian?! And why does it matter if they are, or are Muslim? Your comment is equally as bigoted as the ‘bigoted mauritius man’.

• @Karen Carty – I was speaking in actual fact(s) and I am aware who reads the Qur’an and who doesn’t. My point been that a lot of (suspected) Muslims and Christians do have a problem with LGBT livelihoods.
      My point being that if someone has a problem with how the next person lives just because it’s all over their holy book(s) full of receipt and fiction in their (suspected) countries, then by all means take it back there, as this country has fought far too long for gay rights to have them challenged and degraded by another.
      I’ll have my opinions and you have yours but don’t ask me again to explain myself as I’ve explained myself perfectly well.
      Now, off back out in the rain with ya!

• @boi russlle – you said that the store is ‘overrun with Muslims and Christians’ and then used the Qur’an in the very next sentence, so it simply sounded as though you were implying that both Muslims and Christians read the Qur’an.

I agree with you, a lot of overly religious folk do have an issue with LGBT folk. But my point was that a vast amount of them actually don’t at all, and it’s unfair to tar them all with the same brush as the zealots. It’s also nearly impossible to tell who is a Christian simply by looking at them, so you have no idea if the shop is ‘overrun’ or not because you don’t know what religion the staff are.

Telling people to take their issues back to their own country because of what it says in their holy book is ridiculous – the Christian bible condemns homosexuality, so are you telling all the Irish Christian folk who agree with the bible (I don’t at all btw) to pack up and leave?? That’d be virtually all the elderly Catholics gone – and gone back to where? They are Irish to begin with.

I’m not in the rain. I’m indoors, thankfully. It’s pretty horrible out there.

• @Barry – Never accept that kind of discriminatory behaviour. You have every right to hold your partners hand in public and in shouting at you and acting in a clearly homophobic manner, the manager is the one in the wrong, not least from a legal perspective.

In this area, Ireland is actually quite progressive. It is illegal in the areas of employment or in the provision of goods and services for anyone to be treated less favourably on the grounds of their sexual orientation. And this should be made crystal clear by every employer to their staff.

People also need to be informed of their rights and not accept such homophobia. The law is on our side in this respect. Don’t be afraid to use it.

• “Suspected muslims”. Fantastically racist words there.

• It seems that spar have not yet heard from the man in question. So really this only an allegation at this point and I’m frankly surprised at the lynch mob mentality in the comments below. It seems that anybody can make an allegation against anybody. Maybe we should all take a step back and wait and see if its actually true !

• Been in that Spar plenty of times, without jumping to conclusions because I’d like to hear the full story first, I do hope we aren’t going down the same road as mainland UK where a tiny minority of religious extremists impose their views on the majority. Irish people are remarkably tolerant of other religions in this country, I’d hate to see that being eroded by a bad bunch of apples (even though, we’d all be better off without religion in the first place).

• The store may be independently owned but they still buy from corporate, pay money to corporate, etc.

Such an incident should not take more than a couple of weeks to investigate. The full findings should be made public. If the employee in question is guilty then his ass should immediately and very publically be FIRED and a strong statement issued in a press conference that such actions will NOT be tolerated in any fashion.

• KEVIN.N 29/01/13 #

Russell what do you mean Christians? Most Irish people are Christian. All the countries where gay marriage is legalized have Christian majorities. As for the post who said the Muslim remark is “racist”….WTF? The overwhelming majority of Arabs are Muslim. There are 5 countries in the world which execute homosexuals and they are all Muslim. All Muslim countries (excluding the only secular one Turkey) jail people for being gay. The majority of Muslims are homophobic, as well as African Christians. Those are just the facts, nothing “racist” about it. My non-Muslim-Pakistani father has experienced his fair share of racism in Ireland, Australia, and America. I agree with Boy Russell, don’t like Irish/Western culture stay in your own country. The UK is a disaster because of letting in such intolerant people.

• Proper lol there!

• “Not the way to go lads.”… Stuff it! We or I don’t need your permission on how we or I choose to to respond to any real or perceived homophobic slight! If it doesn’t concern you then it’s none of ur fking business !

• Alright fine then, avoid every Spar in Ireland for the rest of your life. Tar every single Spar employee across the country with the same brush as this silly homophobic man. Lets all avoid all Spars because clearly they must all be anti-gay. It will greatly help the cause, I’m sure..

• Eh prob gonna get shot down for this.. And I am gay… But I do wish ANY couple would not kiss in public…. Serious face sucking going on sometimes ! Had to endure some couple in their 30-40s shifting the face off each other in the q in the shop on my lunch the last day! Off topic but this issue needs addressing :)

• I’m rather surprised given the amount of people that head to that particular premises after the George for food and whatever, this incident will certainly damage their trade, I will never set foot inside that particular premises again.
    On the kissing in public, I’m usually the first person to say “get a bloody room”, I don’t maul my boyfriend in public but have kissed him affectionately in public and held his hand on occasion.
    It is never okay to abuse a person in that manner, gay or straight, black or white but it does happen and this behaviour must be challenged.
    Also some ppl have no cop on, I was sat having dinner with my boyfriend last week in a popular Galway restaurant; 2 other men were seated next to us chatting about queers and fags, I simply turned to one of them and said you might want to move seats, we have the gay and you never know, you might catch it, he went bright red and his jaw dropped a few inches, utter silence until we left!!!
    Happy gayness and straightness people, share the love and get on with life

• @Tommy Harper Why would you not go to the shop in question again, when you don’t even know if the story is true. Typical hysteria without the facts. You are believing the story of one man who has gone AWOL since the story went viral.

• Eleen 30/01/13 #

Tommy Harper, I have a similar story about being in a restaurant with my partner and having people beside us loudly chatting about gay people in a disrespectful manner. Funny how people don’t realise…we’re everywhere. ^_^

• Big Fecking Deal two guys kissing! It would be worse if one was beating the crap out of the other it’s Ireland 2013 people need to be more tolerant, live and let live!!!!

• A logical solution in this instance is that (given proper proof) the security company terminate the employee’s contract on the grounds of gross misconduct for such an attack. No three strike rule needed in this instance and no comeback for any unfair dismissal.

• When I saw this, I got annoyed. Naturally. A man gets hassled for kissing another in a shop on the weekend.
    It’s not my style per se to wear the face off another out in the world but I have done and I’ve defended my right to do so. Because it is my right.

People would speak about how ‘it’s not right’ or ‘oi don’t want to be lookin ah dah’ .. Which is grand. I don’t like to wait out in the rain while someone counts change into the machine on the bus. However it’s beyond my control so I privately grunt for a moment and move on.

Whom I’m kissing is what’s at the fore of my mind. Not the perspectives of those around me. Some will think ‘I don’t wanna look at that’, then fine, don’t watch. Some will think ‘I don’t want to be even in a position to look at that’, then in this case, what you want is irrelevant. You don’t have to like it or approve.
    It’s beyond your, our control, like slow-movers counting out coppers down to the penny in the pissings of rain.

The man kissed another man and stood up for himself. I’ve done the same and would have done everything he did. If you think you feel that you shouldn’t have to watch, then that’s your business and problem, not that of another. I don’t say that to rub anything in but quite simply, that’s the way it is.
    Violence, which no one should be subjected to, is the only power another has to stop two men or two women or a combination of both from kissing. That’s what happened.

I don’t think you’re wrong to be annoyed, that’s your concern, your mind, do what you want with it.
    It’s not mine or anyone elses and it shouldn’t have to be

• Someday i hope Ireland can accept this as two people showing there affection for each other whether that’s two men two women or man and women instead of people seeing it as a disgusting act! We need as a country to move on and lets all live together in harmony and support our Gay brothers and sisters.

• Centra – now’s your time to come up with a clever ad campaign on the back of this!

• Stephen, if you walk into a shop to spend your money to keep people in gainful employment and an employee or anybody working in that shop told you to take your fagotty ass back to the george how would you react??

• If the alleged accusation is true, then of course it’s deplorable. However, I can’t help but feel that this is trial by Facebook, which is a dangerous precedent.

In no way can I condone the alleged incident, but this is not the method to fix it; this type of public posting, which generally ends up in some form of slanging match isn’t constructive to anyone.

• @ everyone making comments re PDA…. ok fair enough, wouldnt be a massive fan of it myself but gay or straight, you shouldnt be removed from a shop for showing affection…. we can be 99% certain that if they were a straight couple, this wouldnt have happened AND to follow with such a derogatory comment, well that is just unacceptable! Plus, i’m sure they werent waring the face off each other.. it may have been a simple peck!
    Maybe ill pop into this spar on my way to the george some weekend and ware the face of my girlfriend…. because i’d sure as hell love to see him speak to me like that or remove me!
    Sh*t like this just makes me so angry!

• it’s a disgrace that this type of abuse is still happening, I hope the matter is resolved quickly

• This is not unusual and I’m glad the guys had the courage to report and follow up on the incident! This is the way to beat homophobia, zero tolerance!!

• Did anybody take any note that one of the men assaulted the security guard or is that acceptable behavior? Personally I couldn’t give a damn who kissed who or who said what but if you assault someone, get wrestled to the ground and get a few cuts then don’t go about whining about it. If I were these guys I would worry less about the words used (which was wrong) and worry more about the Section 2 assault and the potential 6 months that goes with it.

• That seems to be getting lost here, Brian. It is best to wait till all the facts emerge to see what exactly happened. There is equally no excuse for assaulting someone & there is equally no excuse for being offensive towards someone because they are gay.

• Brian, you will actually find it is against the law to use the word faggot regardless if you give a damn or not and secondly nothing has been missed from the story, the victim claims that the first physical contact came from the security guard.

Yes Brian, lets not whine about it,political correctness gone mad when people think they can just walk around without being abused for being black, gay, female, disabled, transgender. PS. I’m being sarcastic just there.

• Shakespeare uses the word “faggot”. It is a bundle of branches. Call your solicitor.

• Colin you will find that it is not against the law to use the word “faggot” as it can mean a food dis and a bundle of twigs as well as referring to an unpleasant lady (Oxford English Dictionary). In this case it was used in a derogatory sense and so you could argue that the security guard was in breach of Section 6 of the Criminal Justice Act (Public Order), 1994, €550 fine and/or 3 months in jail. Of course it is not a cut and dried case as it is one sides word against the others.

Secondly you might want to re-read the story again where the author says ” I then dragged Emmett towards the deli and the security gaurd followed and again told us to get out of the shop ‘you faggots’ .. Emmett then pushed him away in retaliation after which two lads pinned him to the ground”. This is completely at odds to what you are saying. Like I said Section 2 assault (assuming no harm) €1.500 fine and/or 6 months in prison. If it’s Section 3 it’s 1 to 5 years.

Ah yes and then there is the hypocrisy of it all. Note this post http://i45.tinypic.com/m8lc2d.png by Robbie Lawlor on November 12, 2012/, ” Anthony stop being so anal …. faggooooooot”. Mr Lawlor clearly has no problem using this word toward other people but gets in a tizzy when someone says it to him! So I have lost all sympathy for his case and I am sure that any Judge would be the same if he were to make a complaint in court. against the security guard. On the other hand the assault charge might be a different matter.

All in all if Mr Lawlor thinks that it is OK to post the word faggot online then he shouldn’t be whining about it be used towards him on the street, People is glasshouses and all that.

• It was actually threatening and abusive behaviour on the security guards part. It was more than just words and you can clearly see the difference in use of the term “fagot” in each case. You cannot loose sympathy for someone being told to get out of a shop for kissing because of their sexuality. More people like Emmet should stick up for themselves in situations like that because it shouldn’t happen!! Anyone who would think the situation is right somehow or “to loose sympathy” for someone because over something else they said is completely idiotic.

• It seems my last response to Brian disapeared so I will try again.

Thank you for noting the different contexts of the word “faggot” and where it may or may not be deemed unlawful depending on the use of the word and / or the context of the word.I take it you agree in this case it was used in an unlawful manner.

The young man calling his friend “faggooot” on facebook is not the same as being told “f**k off back to the George you faggots”. One is a clear example of what is called “reclaiming” a discriminatory word and using it in conversation. You might know that “queer” was once a highly popular word used by homophobes, nowadays its commonly used in gay culture and has been reclaimed. However, if somebody was to say to me whilst walking down Oxford Street with my husband “f**k of back to Vauxhall you pair of queers”, the context in which the word is being used is discriminatory and threatening. Whereas if a friend was to say to me, “what you doing today you big queer”, this is not offensive or discriminatory. You probably see many people of various ethnic and other minorities directing words at each other, which may, in other circumstances be deemed highly offensive. There’s a very obvious one.

Thank you for clarifying the physical contact issue which I fully accept I was wrong but I do note that the security guard does not appear to have made any complaint of assault, battery or otherwise that we are aware of. I also believe the response of the young men involved was proportioned given the circumstances.

• So Gary are you condoning the assault on the security guard? His behavior wasn’t threatening but it was abusive. If I went around assaulting everyone that offended me it would be a full time job. Mr Lawlor’s use of the word on a Facebook posting seems acceptable to you but only he is allowed to use it and no one else i, is that what you are saying? I did not lose sympathy over Mr Lawlor’s being told to get out of the shop for kissing his partner, where I lost sympathy for him is his objection to being called a faggot when he himself is quite happy to use that word. It’s double standards and the assaulting of the security guard that lost all of my sympathy.

• The funny thing is that you genuinely believe that pushing someone away from them who is repetitively verbally abusing someone is not ok. Emmet was the one who was assaulted by two people within the shop by the security guard. The poor man only wanted to enjoy time with his boyfriend and get something to eat. You also are clearly not getting the fact that context does matter. The manner of the word and the intent behind it is actually illegal and cannot be done. You cannot lose sympathy for someone who has been horribly wronged by someone just because of the use of a word. As I have said it is the context and the situation that matter here and it is that simple.

• Colin I take your point about the use and context of the word and if I got up on my high horse every time someone called me Paddy or Mick etc in Britain my feet would never have touched the ground! My point is that I also use the same terms myself and so I don’t get offended when someone else used them. Even if I do I either challenge them in a civil manner or walk away. I certainly don’t “push them in retaliation” as Mr Lawlor’s partner did. What ever the wrongs about the slurs, the use of violence can not be condoned.

That being said the security guard should be fired or at least severely reprimanded. I only finished a security course last month and the last thing that any professional guard should be doing is provoking this sort of behavior. This now has led to calls for an occupation of the shop and some commentators here are talking about deliberately baiting the security personnel and cause a confrontation ( See Linda Doyle “Maybe ill pop into this spar on my way to the george some weekend and ware the face of my girlfriend…. because i’d sure as hell love to see him speak to me like that or remove me). That is deliberate provocation and serves to help nobodies cause.

Mr Lawlor has opened a can of worms here and it would not surprise me if there is more to come out of this story.He may well regret his Facebook comments in the future especially the one where he said that his partner was the first to use force!

• Gary I understand that you are a friend of Robbie so I am probably not going to get through to you but here goes.
      In Robbie’s own words “Emmett then pushed him away in retaliation after which two lads pinned him to the ground” Assault and the restraint.

But don’t take my word for it. As posted on the SPAR Facebook page by Ka Ca…………
      ” I was there, saw what happened. They seemed to have sorted out the problem inside the shop, or almost at least and the security guard walked away, then there was a huge crash and the blonde haired guy was flailing around the shelves trying to attack the guard, a spar employee then jumped to the security guards rescue and restrained the blonde guy who was still trying to fight back, once the blonde fella had calmed down he let him go but after only 2 steps he began to attack the guard again, at this stage there was loads of shouting and the spar employee retrained him again and escorted him out the door, where he held him on the ground. In the meantime another employee had rang the Gardai and as we were leaving the shop we heard the ‘victim’ shouting about how he was a doctor and making racial comments towards the employee holding him down.
      I completely agree that stigma towards race, sexual orientation, or sex, is unacceptable and disgraceful but I do think it’s important to be aware of the facts before jumping to conclusions. I wasn’t there for the beginning of the altercation but the ‘victim’ certainly didn’t inspire much sympathy with his equally ignorant comments. Don’t get me wrong I just think that the spar employee who kept his head and tried to calm the whole situation shouldn’t lose his job over a few scratches, he acted incredibly professionally from my perspective.”

Someone isn’t telling the whole truth so who is it? Based on the description given by Ka Ca it would seem that the “poor” Mr Daly may have a lot to answer for! Care to comment on whether Ka Ca’s comments are accurate?

• I know the full story and that is why I am defending them both. I wont discuss it in detail as they are going through legal matters at the moment. I would however like to say that it was not the way. I know why and I have seen the results of what happened. So I will say again like I have said. This was a horrible incident and completely wrong, I know these two people and cannot say how proud I am that they have spoken out against this horrible injustice. They are two incredibly nice guys the incident will hopefully be resolved soon and properly.

• This difference is that homophobia isn’t a crime against one person. Its a crime against a community and keeps old ideas alive about what is or isn’t acceptable, who does and who doesn’t belong in the category of “normal people”. An assault is obviously a crime, but its a bit more interpersonal. Obviously we don’t know the facts in the case but it is likely that there was an element of provocation (verbal and/or physical) and its perhaps a bit easier to understand than an unprovoked homophobic attack on two people who were up until that point probably just living their lives like we all like to do.

• Whats up with showing affection in public….spain, italy and other countries do it……Ireland is so damn repressed….lighten up!!

• Passing a law is the first step. Education is the next. Assuming that all of are enlightened is ridculous.

Unfortunately, in my profession I have found that many companies include discrimination policies in their employee handbooks (if they have handbooks) and request all memebers of staff to read the content. This is not effective nor enough. All organizations, especially custormer facing roles and businesses should include quarterly training. This training would include business related specifics, however a section should always include sensitivity training.

As a facilitator, I have found during sensitivity training there is always one who surprised that a personal habit or actions they find humourous is offensive and pushes the envelope of discrimination.

The sad fact is…. Small companies seldom prioritize such training and medium sized companies do away with such training to save money.

• Terminate the security companies contract as with the security guard and all involved

• God, I love a good witch hunt. Trial by Facebook? Yaaaay!!

• I wouldn’t like to see two men kissing in public but that’s my problem,then my children don’t like to see me kissing my wife in public and thats their problem. Times are changing and people are doing a lot worst in society than having a kiss when they meet.

• We live in a free and equal country regardless if your gay or straight and if two people want to show there affection for each other in public by kissing then that’s there right. If people don’t like it they don’t have to watch it, they can always turn there heads and look at something else.

• What happened to all the comments?

• Apparently the security guard got banged up a bit and was wrestled to the ground! It’s pathetic in this day and age that people discriminate over homosexuality and to do it within walking distance from gay central is crazy.

• Delighted something is actually being done for a change. Would be great to see a public apology :)

• There are 2 sides to every story & one must wait to see the final outcome to see what exactly did happen. Some people really overdo it with the kissing in public & at times u feel like saying – “Enough already. Get a room”. While it is much better to see 2 people ( gay & straight ) show love towards one another than hate, there are times when many simply don’t want to see it. Especially if drink is on board. We have moved on in leaps & bounds re sexual equality & with that comes responsibility. If this store security staff member did say the “faggot” word, that is regrettable & one must also try to understand his point of view, too. Yes – he shouldn’t have used it if he used it just as the 2 guys involved should have exercised some discretion with their behaviour. I agree with your points, Karin Carthy. I have always said that we have to & must exercise our own personal accountability & responsibility for our behaviour & anyone engaging is “rosemantic” behaviour in public, whether gay or straight, need to bear in mind that others don’t want to see it.

• We need more positive images of the lgbt community in main stream advertising, it increases awareness and reduces homophobia

• Right so – calls for a flashmob of male kissing at Dame Street Spar – now who’s gonna sign up?

• General PDA is not the issue here. It is the persons own business to kiss/not kiss/hold hands/ not hold hands, it simply is a persons right to do what ever. The matter is that these two guys were singled out because they where gay. They stood up for themselves which I am sure most people would in that sort of situation. It is clear to see how wrong peoples view are when they are trying to poke holes in something that is just not right and will never will be. People should not be abused verbally or physically because they are showing a caring affection for each other. Also if it wasn’t put on Facebook, would there have been such outrage and publicity on the matter? It raised peoples awareness that this still does happen, and it is completely 100% wrong!

• We should organise a big gay field trip to Spar =D

• What happened to this couple is absolutely outrageous and I hope Spar management realise just how serious this is. Firstly, discrimination on the basis of sexuality is illegal under Ireland’s robust equality legislation. Therefore the homophobic staff member and his repulsive comments has brought the store into conflict with this legislation. And secondly, a gay couple has as much right to show affection anywhere in public on exactly the same basis as straight couples, and again this is something that can be vindicated under law.

This incident must be thoroughly investigated and Spar and the as yet unknown security company who also must take serious responsibility here, must demonstrate beyond any doubt that homophobic behaviour will not be tolerated among their staff. The LGBT community and beyond must be completely reassured in this respect. All the more so considering the location of the branch in question and how LGBT customers have no doubt contributed greatly to this shop’s profits over the years…

• I avoid rip off convenience stores at all costs anyway.
    Dame street/Dublin has been ruined by ugly Spar’s and the likes. Hideous shopfronts. Their “windows” are more like sticker displays with about 1% see through window. Clearly the owners are just as ugly, if proof was needed.

• That would never have happened in John Charles McQuade’s day!

• If what is being alleged is verified, then that is completely and utterly unacceptable and cannot be justified. A member of staff of any business does not get to call people “faggots” and demand that “you faggots” get out of the store. That amounts to a lot more than making a nasty remark. It is serious discrimination and is rightly illegal under our equality laws.The company itself has said it “abhors” prejudice, including on the grounds of sexual orientation. Now it must prove that without undue delay.

And finally, the background of the security guard in question could not be more irrelevant. This incident happened in Ireland – Irish laws and rules apply equally to everyone, regardless of race or nationality etc.

• in fairness theres a time and a place to be maulin the face of each other ………..but under the tree at spar …….ahhh now lads

• Do people really expect this incident to be sorted out on Facebook?!? What do they want the store to provide in terms of instant gratification? Trial by Facebook?

This is a real world incident that requires due process in the real world. In fairness to Spar, they’ve responded well and what else can they say until they’ve got all parties involved into a process to get it resolved. It’s impossible for the folks running the Facebook page or Twitter account to have full oversight of what happens in any Spar branded store. Even reading the original post on Facebook it is difficult to follow who was involved and who did what.

Given that there are reports of physical violence and homophobic taunts it may well be a matter for the law and that takes it out of the hands of Spar to a certain extent.

• Why is it called Homophobic, Isn’t a phobia meant to be a fear ?

• OU812 29/01/13 #

But… But… But… The tree always has a fairy…

Not cool spar security guy. Not cool at all.

• i’d say there were quite a few Emmet Dalys across the country who had some explaining to do to their wives/girlfriends

• All this is, is attention seeking just like the Facebook post! Who stops in the middle of a shop to kiss their partner apart from teenagers. Whether they’re gay or straight it its fairly immature, although if the security guard said it he is in the wrong.

• The attitudes of some commenters here are horrendous. Who cares if you dont like public displays of affection. My gay and lesbian brothers and sisters have grown up bombarded with heterosexual imagery and public affections on a daily, minute by minute basis. There is no escaping heterosexuality, it is a component of living, as is homosexuality. Those of you who have an issue with public displays of affection have obviously either A – never been in love/lust or B – had a very sad education and upbringing, and i feel sorry for you. You will live life deprived of many wonderful experiences. In modern Ireland of 2013 everyone should feel safe to express their love for their partner when they so wish. I for one as a married gay man will oftentimes walk hand in hand with my husband and sometimes, I will look at him and be overwhelmed with love and then, god damnit I will lean in and kiss him. The way young lovers do. Sadly then in this hideous world of ignorance, anger, religious fervour, hate, and stupidity, I know that my actions can endanger us, make us a target for that hate. This is unacceptable. People need to wise up, grow the f… up. At least the security guard was open in his homophobia, its the passivity and subtle homophobia of people like the respondents here that really gets under my skin. Out with hate. In with Love.

• Snatcher, I see plenty of couples, mostly hetero, stopping in the middle of a shop to kiss/hug/cuddle/grope.* Most of them would be young, but definitely not just teenagers.

*And they’re usually doing it right when they’re at the checkout with me behind them waiting for them to pay and get outta my way!!

• Well said!!!!

• That was well said to Jaime btw. Most sensible comment on here. :)

• Well said Jaime. Excellently put!

• Aside from this, Spar do a great roll after a drunken night on the town!

• Spar in hillcrest are brilliant. They always give my daughter a toy that has damaged packaging and are always friendly to anyone who goes in. So this keeps my faith. Also keep in mind that it was allegedly a security guard that was abusive. And also you dont kbow that the person involved wasnt cauing trouble before hand. Still no right to say things like that (if they were said that is)

• There was a time (and not that long ago) when this would be taken with a pinch of salt and probably laughed at or they would have told the security guard to get a life. We are so poitically correct now that you can’t say anything and anything that is said is taken so seriously. I’m not saying I agree with what was said but c’mon……there are a lot more serious things going on out there. This just seems to petty.

• It’s nothing to do with political correctness. It’s to do with discrimination on the grounds of someone’s sexual orientation. It’s not acceptable regardless of how little it effects you or how ‘politically correct’ you think it is to disagree with it.

• People like you create an environment where this kind of discrimination can go uncriticised. You’re as bad as the security guard in my book.

• What a truly extraordinary comment…Calling someone a ‘faggot’ and telling them to get out of the store is not something to be taken with ‘a pinch of salt’. Are you seriously suggesting that customers should have to put up with being abused and called highly offensive names?!

We are not talking about about ‘political correctness’ here – We are talking about a basic level of professional behaviour and where people have the right not to be abused and ridiculed simply for being themselves. And all the more so when that person is not only indulging their own ignorant prejudices, but actually acting on behalf of a company who are legally required to adhere to equality law, which includes sexual orientation.

• Is the member of staff from a security firm? Does not make any difference but it would confirm if it was a spar employee

• Liam 29/01/13 #

In mauds best tone ” somebody think of the children”

:)

• Ah journal! Where have you been?! You really should spend more time on twitter.

• I agree that what the security guard said is disgusting, not acceptable and the person who said it should lose their job however if your a non national, gay , transgender, a traveller, black blue green or anyone who has been subject to verbal abuse it doent mean you can go and attack the person who said it.

One of the guys was abused was taken to floor and removed from the store because he pushed the security guard, thus he assaulted the security guard first so the person wasn’t attacked for being gay.

I have been called worse but It doesnt give me the right assault someone and use the excuse of I was called a vulgar name and when I get taken down after assaulting the person start complaining

• Meh 29/01/13 #

Gays attacking non-nationals,non-nationals attacking gays what’s the world coming to?

• Again, any physical altercation afterwards would have been a direct result of the abusive and completely unacceptable language of the security guard.

Once that staff member decided to target the couple for being gay, he committed a major breach of even the most basic professionalism required. And he brought his employers into direct conflict with equality legislation. Nothing that may have happened afterwards impinges on that central, overriding fact.

Spar and the security complany involved must demonstrate beyond any doubt that they do not allow homophobic abuse in their names.

Btw, this incident has now been picked up in UK media and is not going to go away until clear action is taken. We have fought long and hard for equality laws to prevent this exact type of behaviour going unpunished.

• Meh 30/01/13 #

I’d say it’s less about equality or bullying and more about He said, He said.

Also it’s been admitted that one of the innocents pushed the security guard in reaction to his alleged comments. Therefore not showing restraint and physically assaulting the security guard, probably because he was also a non-national, constitutes a HATE CRIME in my opinion.

Anyway some security guard with a dumb opinion and a loose mouth is probably out of a job now and his children have to suffer, just so these lovely innocent men can kiss and behave in whatever fashion they like anywhere they want because that’s more important.

• @Meh

I suspect you are simply a troll looking for a reaction but if you do really believe that nonsense you posted:

Homophobic abuse is never acceptable, not from a security guard employed in a shop or anyone else for that matter. And that applies to everyone, regardless of nationality, cultural beliefs etc. Irish laws apply to everyone living and working here. So to bring up something as utterly irrelevant as the offenders nationality in an attempt to defend his actions only shows up your own ignorance – or again, you could just be fishing for a reaction.

Bottom line: Someone working with the public does not get away with hurling bigoted, homophobic slurs at said public. There must be consequences.

• I think this might be a bit of an overreaction. True the security guard should be sanctioned for misconduct but seriously, if someone called me a paki in the derogatory sense (I’m not for the record) I would do well to ignore them and carry on. Why is there an hysterical reaction to the grievance because it has something to do with homosexual people? If a heterosexual couple were having a smooch on front of a security guard and he told them to get a room or something, do you think there’d be a bloody news report on that? No of course not because it’s not news.

• Barry 29/01/13 #

Couldn’t the same argument be used against all the black people that for decades have been abused with the word n***err? “Sure just ignore it”.

Sometimes its just not ok anymore to ignore levels of abuse.

• They weren’t told to get a room, they were called “faggots” on two occassions.

• So you’re ok with racism and homophobic behaviour David?

• @ Barry:
      you say -
      “Couldn’t the same argument be used against all the black people that for decades have been abused ….”

not the same, at all, at all.
      people don’t choose the colour of their skin.

• Nice sh1t stirring comment there michael.

• Michael, people don’t choose their sexuality either.

But in any case, if this account is accurate, it’s not down to the couple’s sexuality, or skin colour, or anything else. It’s down to how the security guard dealt with the issue. He chose to use discriminatory language, which he should have known would only make the situation worse. Even if the guys were going way overboard in how expressive they were getting, there’s no call for using the language he did.

This wouldn’t be the first time a security guard has asked a couple, gay or straight, to tone things down a bit. But the fact that it’s only making news now means that most of those know how to handle the situation sensitively.

• Michael O’Toole – what century are you living in??

• @ Brian O’Sullivan:
      my comment was a responce to the comment that equated the ‘carry on’ of the two geezers in the shop, to that of a person being black.
      i repeat – THERE IS NO COMPARISON, at all, at all.

as for boycotting the Spar shop !
      i’d be more inclined to avoid a shop where the ‘carry on’ as reported was the norm -
      especially if i had my children with me

• Michael you said people don’t choose the colour of their skin as if to imply people choose to be gay. Initially I thought you were sh1t stirring but now it appears you were putting it forward as a legitimate argument!

• @ Justin Donoghue:
      i did say that peole can’t choose the colour of their skin,
      & i do say that people can choose how they behave in a public place
      & that’s why i disagreed with the comparison made by an earlier commentator,
      & that is my “legitomate argument”.

• Well Michael it looks like you interpreted Barry’s comment incorrectly in the first place.

• @ Justin Donoghue:
      i’ve just re-read the comment in question.
      the guy compared the alleged “abuse” to the two geezers for their ‘carry on’ in a public place, to the abuse of a person simply because of the colour of their skin.

as i stated earlier – THERE IS NO COMPARISON
      a person can’t choose the colour of their skin
      i don’t understand why you don’t seem to want to admit to understanding that.

• Michael, Barry’s comment (which you responded to) was not about comparing the ‘carry on’ to racial abuse so I think you need to read his comment again. It was about comparing homophobic abuse to racial abuse which your response seemed to imply was different because people can’t choose the colour of their skin and therefore implied that people could choose their sexual orientation.

• @ Justin Donoghue:
      as reported – the geezers were not “abused” for being homosexuals, but for their ‘carry on’ in a public place.
      i.m no expert, but AFIK people can’t choose their “sexual orientation”.
      but – a person can choose how he behaves in public.

a person certainly can’t choose their skin colour, & even if one goes to the extremes of the late Michael Jackson, one can’t change it either.
      that’s why I’m so opposed to racism.
      that’s why I objected to the earlier comment, & to your vain attempts to defend it, & indeed your vain attempts to vilify me.

• Michael, of course they were abused for being homosexuals, they were called faggots. If that’s not homophobic abuse then what is. Stop digging a hole for yourself.

• Seriously, if the only worry you had in life was to be called a faggot, you must have a pretty easy life. Being called a faggot is NOT news. Consider if the people were not gay and the guard called them a faggot. The news title if any would be as follows: Two heterosexual men were called faggots today by a security guard….and now the weather!

• And now we’ve come full circle.
      Seriously, if the only worry you had in life was to be called a ni**er, you must have a pretty easy life. Being called a ni**er is NOT news. Consider if the people were not black and the guard called them a ni**er. The news title if any would be as follows: Two white men were called ni**ers today by a security guard….and now the weather!

• Boohoo..

• Daniel R 29/01/13 #

My nephew’s childminder used to call him a faggot in the most adorable voice. She was of a different generation and apparently it meant a sausage. Bless.
    If the security man was shrewd he’d give that excuse lol. But that’s obviously not what he meant and he should reprimanded or even sacked. No place for that crap in today’s society, we’ve made great leaps forward in this area.

• The person who said his boyfriend was attacked actually said on the Facebook post that his partner pushed the security guard so I think he deserved being taken to the floor and removed for putting his hands on the security guard first. If the security guard made homophobic comments prior to that there is no excuse and its disgusting but I have no sympathy if you assault the guard first.

• The whole incident sprang out of a security guard demanding that “you faggots take it back to the George” and that “you faggots” leave the store. Whatever else happened afterwards sprang out of those vile and utterly unacceptable comments. That is the context here. An employee of Spar and Security Company decided to target a gay couple for homophobic abuse and for behaving in a way that if it involved a straight couple, no one would have batted an eye lid. That alone requires serious action on the part of Spar.

And LGBT people do not have to put up with that kind of abuse in these times and there is legal redress available if necessary. Much will depend on how the employers respond. And we’re still waiting for that…

• Spar should have same sex couples in their advertising strategy in general

• …ultimately its about the Gay Euro, pinch them where it hurts. We decide where to spend our Euros or not. Spar needs to come clean, up yours to all the homophobes, who the hell gives a damn about them, like the old saying goes , opinions are like backsides everyone has one. As Gays or Lesbians we are not asking anyone for our rights we are taking them!

• Just because you don’t like seeing two males kissing doesn’t make you anti gay. I’m not going to abuse them for it just rather not see it

• Well your personal hang-ups about gay men does not override the right of same-sex couples to display affection in public on exactly the same terms as anyone else. Just a shame there are still exists small minded people who insist on objecting to behaviour that straight people take for granted and engage in everyday. But I’m hopeful that education and a younger generation is changing that.

• &adam I don’t have personal hang ups about gay people, should I be afraid to say I don’t like seeing men kiss in public because I don’t. I’ve no issues with people been gay that’s up to them but as I said I’m not going to abuse them just rather not see it

• If you have no issues with gay men, then why feel the need to publicly express your discomfort towards them and any PDA….This comes down to being secure in ones sexuality. As a gay man, opposite sex couples showing affection towards each other is of no interest to me, but neither does it make me feel uncomfortable. And also because it is not my place to pass comment on something that is none of my business in the first place.

And more to the point, how you feel about gay men (and funny how it is always men…) is completely irrelevant in the context of this topic. Unless of course you are seeking to justify the security guard’s homophobic reaction to the couple involved – who again had as much right to express themselves in a way that straight people do all the time.

• I wonder if it was the 2 lads in the ‘ahh heeeor leeav ihr ouuhh’ video, they look like they be well able to handle a security guard. :P

• Lou Mac 29/01/13 #

Security guards are often sent from agencies. I’m sure Spar want everyone’s money. I’d say this’ll affect the security company more as they’ll be reemed for this. I doubt Spar have a hostile attitude to gays, especially the location of this one, it’s beside the George so it doesn’t make good business sense. The security industry was only regulated a few years ago. Security in Ireland is miles behind other countries in terms of customer service and proper training, objection handling etc. It amazes me how bigoted so many people are in this country still. This should give them a kick in the pants to cop on.

• Test

• Have to say, having lived outside Ireland as a student for just over a year, I am continually shocked on my return how discrimination in general is so prevalent. It spreads far beyond homophobia, I have been heckled for walking down my local street in loud shirts! There is a sect of society that will settle for none other then complete conforming to what they see as normal. While I recognise we are a nation of talented and generally open minded people, having returned to work in Kildare over the summer, I will not be staying long term in Ireland again. In truth, I found the little narrow mindedness that was prevalent, too much to handle. In a first world country of this day and age it was staggering, and I found myself beginning to hate the place I’d always loved so much. More must be done to tackle people like this in our society, I know from my experience in a state run secondary school that not enough is done to discourage homophobia, racism etc. I look forward to a brighter future for Ireland and I’m sure the day will come when too men can walk into a supermarket hand in hand without having to suffer the abuse of those who don’t understand.

• Reading through these comments, I am almost annoyed to read that the security guards, and the shop staff on duty etc’s version of events have been glossed over. According to their version, the apparent victims, where racially abusive, disruptive, damaged property and were racially insulting but this has all apparently been justified by an ALLEGED homophobic comment.

Lets call a spade a spade here, two guys, practically eating each other in a shop were asked to tone it down and then one of the parties completely kicked off, this does nothing to further the LGBT cause and using it as such will not benefit us in anyway.

• Where does it say that the abuser was a member of staff?

• Ruth 29/01/13 #

Personally I don’t like seeing any couples gay or straight kiss in public, the security guard should have asked them to leave nicely rather than cause such a scene but in the heat of the moment shit happens and I wud have probably done the same myself if it was them or a straight couple, I have nothin against gays, I just think such things as kissing etc. are not for public places. I dont like to see it on the street, in a park, in a shop – anywhere!!! Keep it inside the house / private place people…

• Well then in fairness its you who has the problem because kissing is the most natural thing in the world and if a couple in love have affection for each other then why not celebrate it rather than decry it ? And why hide it behind closed doors ?

Some of the reaction on here to kissing in public is because most of us in Ireland have been cultured for decades by the Catholic Church who taught us that sex is a dirty act. The Italians and Spanish have long ago thrown off the shackles of the Church which might go some way to explaining why they are so much more affectionate in public than we are here.

Look away if it bothers you, problem solved.

• Ruth

I have only one thing to say

Male love not war!

• Séamus 29/01/13 #

Derek , Spain, Italy have a totally different culture to ours. Comparing is nonsense.

• Ok. It wasn’t a very nice thing to to say, but Jesus, talk about blowing things out of proportion. The guy is a security guard, doing the night shift in one of the busiest shops in Dublin (I presume) and would spend most of his nights surrounded by complete muppets, so cut him some slack. God forbid someone gets offended. We’re all so precious these days and have to chastise, fire or persecute someone, so we can all feel better from the comfort of our keyboards. None of us are angels. Live and let live.

• @Stephen Browner

So do you believe it is acceptable for members of staff to act out their prejudices to their hearts desire and without sanction, to abuse any member of a group in society they personally dislike…

Or is it just when the abuse is of a homophobic nature that we should all calm down, laugh it off and pretend businesses don’t have to adhere to equality legislation?

• I’m pretty confident that the security guard gets plenty of abuse, left, right & center at that job for a multitude of reasons including race etc and I’m pretty confident he doesn’t go on face book trying to get people sacked etc. He said a nasty thing. That’s all. Also, we don’t know the whole story, so lets not crucify him yet please.

• If what is being alleged is verified, then that is completely and utterly unacceptable and cannot be justified. A member of staff of any business does not get to call people “faggots” and demand that “you faggots” get out of the store. That amounts to a lot more than making a nasty remark. It is serious discrimination and is rightly illegal under our equality laws.The company itself has said it “abhors” prejudice, including on the grounds of sexual orientation. Now it must prove that without undue delay.

And finally, the background of the security guard in question could not be more irrelevant. This incident happened in Ireland – Irish laws and rules apply equally to everyone, regardless of race or nationality etc.

• It is horrifying that two men were kissing in this Spar. Spar must take action immediately. Society abhors such vile behaviour. Imagine if there were children present in this shop? And to think that they have the proverbial stones to report this incident. Outrageous.

• Meh 29/01/13 #

Loads of straight people get called faggot all the time.

• John 30/01/13 #

Would this have been a plan by the gays to publicise their sex? I have never seen straight people kissing in a shop.

Add New Comment